(2003) Brides of year 2003

flowee,
Tell your FH that if no diamond ring = no baby

this should work. But don't tell him I teach one if not he will come after me hahahahahaha

Wa, Lyne,
I think i should work harder...

Any lobang for Cruise Wedding? Had a fren who has his wedding on a "China" cruise 4 years back. sounds interesting... but wonder if the guests would get sea sick. : P

Hiya Priviledged

I would suggest to you to get package that are more comprehensive. A lot of the well-known photographers are tied up with different great designer bridal boutiques too. Usually you'll get a better deal off like this.

God bless.

Hi Tarsier,

haha..work harder? Think we are quite on par...

Cruise wedding sounds good...

Anyway, I have decided to elope for my wedding in my next life..haha...

Hi Yi,

Pls dun keep your shoes in your walk-in..If not, soon u will faint when u walk in..(jus kidding).

Honestly, my friend walk-in is also lovely...when opened up, whew..the smell of the shoes..Beware!

halo there,
i'm back =)

wat are some of the tung lok restaurants?
heard their food is good.

Hey wat groom2003 said is true abt the "upgrading" of yr diamond rings!
happen to be at Lee Hwa Jewelery to accompany my mom to buy my uncle's wedding gift, they mentioned that if after a year, you think yr diamond accessory is out of fashion, you can upgrade to another fashion, even a bigger diamond!

Flowee,

I was pretty upset to realise that we cannot put in a king size bed in the master bedroom

So i console myself by saying that with a queen size bed, i need not buy a big washing machine to wash the bedsheets.. haaa... that saves money

flowee,
Almost done all the preparation already. Just waiting for the day to come.
Dunno why my FW super stress now.

Dew
So you girl can also come up with some funny reason to upgrade hor. like out of fashion, diamond ring old already, after birth finger grow bigger cannot wear, need something special for our first year together ...... than is second year than is third year .....................

hi ladies & a gentlemen!
Good Morning

hi lilac,
wat a coincidence!
i know the groom. We were once ex-collegues. U know the groom or bride??
Our paths might have crossed at the dinner huh!

hi flowee & wannabebride,
You gals seems to have done very good research on the bridal packages out there!! tat's very good....mi @ the moment is still CLUELESS
about it. :D glad tat you gals share the cost and details......

Hi dew,
welcome back!! you can go to this link http://www.tunglok.com to check out the group of tunglok rest. The food i agree is excellent!!!

hi naturally,
wat i remember is the road further in(where the LRT station suppose to be), is still kena block. no access to cars yet. So i cannot see my blks in close proximity yet.

flowee,

You are rite, as long as the couple feel that their love nest is the best and comfortable in it, thatz most important!

If I'm not wrong I think your house is similar to one of my frens, also in Sengkang coz they also never hack but did a small walk-in wardrobe instead.

My this fren also wanted to delay the reno but as she longs to have her own house, both he and hubby started their reno too although their wedding is next year too!

Sure must do it b4 next year coz it would be more expensive to both buy furniture and reno too!

Hi kk,

One other thing you would save is queen size mattress is cheaper and quilt cover also cheaper!

Anyway, I got a queen-sized bed too although I hacked my rooms coz dun c the need of having a king sized!

gd mornin gers

kk

oh i din koe a king size bed can go in2 our master bedrm...
we dun think we need such a big bed a queen size is 'big' enough 4 the 2 of us onli nt 'long' enough coz we r tall ppl... :P
r u custom makin ur bed frame or buy from off the shelf???

yi

i will think my love nest is the best of all 2...
ur frenz stayin in which blk???
who koes she is our neighbour??? ( rite kk )

how many reno u look in2 b4 decidin on which one 2 hire???
we hv onli look in2 6 id so far...
waitin 4 2 2 get back 2 mi...
the veri 1st 1 we went 2 din get back 2 us @ all...
i kinda like the idea of one of the reno but the pricin pretti ex...
we r keepin our minds open nw still lookin ard lor...
so no hurry 2 commit lor...
will definateli do up my place b4 next yr...
my parents r so cute they say can hv hse warmin durin x'mas time...
lol...

groom2003

so when will ur rom daz b???
i supposed ur mrs 2 b is super stress out coz she is afraid things might nt turn out as planned...
tell her 2 relax dun worri so muz coz everythin will turn out fine...
congrates & do remember 2 show us ur pixs...

sunflower

i am more in2 bridal stuff when i lookin ard 4 someone 2 do my rom outfit...
manage 2 find out some of the pricin of diff bridal shop...
if u r lookin @ a mtm outfit, u gonna sign up with ur ideal bridal 9mths b4 ur intended weddin date...
if its a otr outfit, 6mths b4 ur intended weddin date...
hope the above infor helps...

dew

tunglok restaurant r pretti hot places 2 hold weddin dinner...
u can check them out...

Heeee.. we have never slept on a big bed before mah, so definitely looking forward to having one.. hehehee...but too bad cannot lor.. then bobian also..have to make do with queen size one

Flowee jie, we are buying the bed off the shelf. No point custom made one lor. Anyway, for sleeping only mah, not for show.. hahaha...
i guess most importantly is the mattress. Must be comfy enough

Now i am confused who is staying where.. hahaha... yah lor, end up everybody is neighbour to one another.. hahahaa... but that is very good!

Flowee jie, wow, u look for so many id firms.. hahaha... i only look for 2. But i dun really put a lot of attention on the 2nd quote i get coz the first item i see on the quote already disappoints me. The homo tiles are $2000+++ more expensive than my first quote, which is given by my current ID firm who responsible for my flat now.

Yah lor, flowee jie, u have not got the keys, so can continue hunting
take ur time

I was wondering whether can have house warming this year too. But i asked my hubby and he say house warming come after customary wedding leh, true?
Ur parents good hor, so fast look forward to house warming. hahaha...

Hi Sunflower, I am actually the bride's colleague. Just out of curiosity, did you happen to be wearing a blue dress that night?

Morning all!

sunflower, i think so too... patience, u'll get to see your new home soon!
Btw, just let u know, i went to hyatt last evening, simply bowled over by the grandeur... it's got this classic almost colonial look with the chandeliers, i can almost imagine myself as a princess already... but wonder if relatives may feel overwhelmed? Also, i'll prob need to get an elaborate gown to match the ballroom, but then i like clean simple cuts.... and yes, they won't be adding the 2% GST increase for now! Tempting... isn't it?

2003Groom,
Congrats for your upcoming ROM!

I dun know if your FW is stressed for the same reasons as i was, but for me, i kinda got the pre-wedding jitters, u know, the frets abt whether i made the right choice etc... u know u're happy with this man u're going to marry, but u just can't help worrying if this will indeed last... i started to get more picky on him, we had more quarrels in the few mths b4 our ROM, though if u ask me now, i can't remember wat they were abt...
But that's the point, those weren't real quarrels, it was just me feeling stressed!

So just a gentle reminder, be understanding to your wife hor, she's not having second thots, just in need of more assurances, that's all!

flowee,

I think my fren is staying in either Blk 184/187, dun really remember leh!

Actually, me and hubby never realli source for any id or reno firms. As kenny is recommended by my bro-in-law, we decided to engage him since itz easier to negotiate for additional items and works!
But nevertheless, very pleased with his works which meets our budget too!

Well, thatz always the case, the better the more $ required!

Me decides to hold my house-warming after my customary next year though!

Girls,

Talking about bed, have you girls heard any comments of the brand called "tempur". I only got the pillow and find it quite good but dunno how's the feedback for the bed. My bf says he wants to get that bed. Thanxs in advance .

hi flowee,
tks for the info

hi lilac,
*hee* nope....mi not women in blue tat day....
i'm wearing a jacket suit......*does tat ring a bell*??

hi naturally,
wow, u make haytt sounds like so nice!!!! izzit the same ballroom as the dbs commercial? with all those chandeliers.....nice huh! hey if u really like it, u should go ahead and make your dream come true,...get a princess style gown....
. Haytt not gonna increase the GST price?? so good??

Hello Trinity03,
Thanks for the advice. I will be going a-hunting next month. My budget should be around the 3K range. Don't really want to spend beyond 4K. Hope there are good pckgs for that price. Am I being realistic about the budget?

you signed up with Bridal Veil. What's their package like?

I'm so glad to have found this forum. i've gotten so many ideas here.

Have a great day everyone!

hi sunflower,

the dbs commercial is shot at hyatt?? i must go back tonight and try to catch it...
Some of their smaller ballrooms (28/30 capacity) has got the chandeliers too... but then the grand ballroom most grand lor... though a bit dark, not much of a cheery/cosy/modern feel compared to other ballrooms... but i like its old-fashioned charm... plus i'm a sucker for discounts
, the mgr really said they won't increase the price for now, 'cos no directives from the top, at least not yet... have i made u xin1 dong4, or are u still for fullerton?

Hi Lyne,

No lah, sure put lotsa of refreshner if really put shoes. If not can put in the bomb shelter coz I din have a big shoe cabinet!

BTW, if the structure of your masterbed room permits, you can actually have a small walk-in wardrobe though!

Hi Trinity03,
Yeah... I called up Cedric of Bridal Veil to inquire about the promotions. Anyway, I thou my wedding is still far ahead , I thought of settling sarong kebaya first before I decide on the bridal boutique. I think I will wait for their Sept show and book then loh.... meanwhile, I will shop around as I am pretty keen on Kevin Seah and Sih.....

Hi Priviledged,
Nice meeting you. The comprehensive package that Trinity book at Bridal Veil is $4,980. The others that are mentioned here like Sih and Kevin Seah are in the region of 5K+ (including photography).... I am sure there are good packages around the region on 3-4K, just shop around !

Hi Astrud,
Where are you ? Have not hear dorm you for a long time...Anyway, just want to check with you reqarding Kevin Seah... I saw from the posting in this forum about Kevin...is it true that he has delivery problems ? I tried to call and drop by the shop couple of time...No one is in the shop and no one pick up the phone.. Canyou share your packages with me ?

Hi kiroro,
sorry to be missing in action..have been so busy until can die.

Yes, i have heard abt the delivery probs some ppl have mentioned abt kevin. heard fr another fren who had her pkg with kevin, kevin needs some reminding at times. i personally have not experienced at any of the delivery probs yet...mebbe coz i'm only at the design confirmation stage and he hasn't started to work on the gowns yet.

i'd guess i'm not too bothered yet - anyway, i have already signed up and besides, i'm quite gan cheong so i believe i will be bugging him so much nearer to my deliverables date dat he won't forget abt anything...hahaha

When did u call the shop? Kevin's closed on Mon and Sun is by appt only. Funny coz i usually have no probs contacting him leh....hmmm....everytime i call to chit chat with him, he's always around. Why dun u try calling him at abt lunch time? He may be running errands in the late afternoon such as choosing and picking up fabrics fr his suppliers etc.

Anyway, juz to share my pkg....i think it shld cost abt $5,400 ++ now with groom suit to take back.

I booked before kevin increased his price so my $4,800 pkge then includes MTM WG, EG and groom suit for rental only...makeup/hair, accessories, bouquets, car deco & photography with either Image Garden, Benny Ang, O Studio or The Edge (i think there are more photographers he ties up with but i can't recall)

Photography is the std - 20 pcs of 8R, no negatives returned and the 100++ pcs of 3R fotos returned.

Guess that's it...hope i din leave out anything.

Let me know if u need to know anything else.

Cheerios

kk mei

i wld like 2 custom make the whole bedrm set in my id contract...
i agree the mattress is more impt than the bed frame...
hvnt look in 2 the diff brands yet but heard of gd comments of simmons mattress...
any of u gers bought simmons???

yes been 2 6 id oredi...
but i still cant find the ideal choice coz of the price factor...
as i had mentioned the one i like will b ard 42k includin everythin except the mattress, dinin table & sofa set...

one of the id also quoted the ceramic tiles pricin more than the other id...
pretti puzzled over it lor...

we r takin our own sweet time goin thru the diff id lor...
pretti sick till 2daz onli like the 42k one onli...
the 2nd ideal quote will b my frenz's quotation of 33k+...
the interior design will b those typical showflat u gers c...
but we wana somethin diff from the rest which the 42k id can provide us with...

if we dun hold our hse warmin b4 our customary, then it wont b a 'new' hse anymore dun u agree???
coz our weddin date will b onli end of next yr...
i supposed there aint any hard & fast rule 2 when 2 hold hse warmin...

my parents r renovatin their place 2 after we reno ours...
they can stay @ my place 1st when their place is under reno...

yi

then ur frenz is stayin near kk & myself...

so kenny is recommended thru ur bil...
did he charge u guys any cheaper or give u guys any freebies???

will u hold ur hse warmin b4 ur customary if ur weddin date is end of next yr???

ling

sorie i cant comment on the "tempur" brand coz hvnt done any research on beds...

thks flowee!

I always thot foodwise, restaurents bound to be better!

How's your reno coming up? Got your keys yet? Your sengkang area's quite populated hor... good for u, unlike some p21 blks which still look quite deserted...

hihi naturally

np juz my 2cent thought coz heard from frenz mah...
she also from sb forum booked grand hyatt 4 her weddin in may 2003 oredi...

still lookin ard 4 id...
collectin my keys next mon...
though sk is quite populated oredi but my blk still pretti empty...
many units r taken up onli thru the walk-in in apr...

went 4 my 1st lesson on nfp...
pretti interestin topics they will b coverin... :P
do u still chart???

flowee jie,

wow...42K,then u must have a lot of in-built furniture then?

Actually not surprising about great different quotes. As i am in the project management line, we see all kinds of funny quotes everyday.. hhaa... some quote very ridiculous prices for items.

Yah hor, so that's why we might give the housewarming a miss since it is no longer considered "new" to us when it is next year end :P

Yi,

I guess u must have gotten quite a lot of offers from ur id. hhaha...
For my case, this id recommended by my brother. So slowly we realise actually he is giving us a lot of perks. And most importantly he is not collecting any money from us at the moment. I think only the full payment will be given when everything is done.

Your last qn really got me! *sheepish grin*

To be truthful, now i just check ard the ovulation days, and just before my menses (u know the temperature drop)... no one checking my charts now, so lazy to get readings everyday!

*shh... dun tell teresa... ha!

So u find it interesting too? I remember she had this funny reason why guys shd learn too, so that they know whether their wives are bluffing them or not! haha!

hi Mae... good choice!!
did thot of having mine there too, but i would have less than 270 pple!!!

flowee,

I guess the fees kenny charged us is definitely cheaper than outside coz everyone who came to my place feel that itz worth the $ due to the many custom-made furniture! And our walk-in wardrobe is of better quality in the sense that the shelfing r all in wenge rather than those normal white colour one! (Dun know how to describe)

Actually, my house was ready early Jan 02 and my wedding in Jan 03 and till now, still no plan for house-warming but some frens and relatives have came over during the CNY though!

wow, S$42k is a lot huh, you must have lotsa of custom-made furniture then!

kk,

Yeap, since I know the ID, what I get is better quality at a lower price I think!

And as we know him, he has help in overseeing a lot of things and wait for some of our deliveries too! All in all, it really saves us time in searching for a ID or reno firm too!

kk & yi

i think almost everythin is custom made if i chose this quote...
the quote includes estimated price 4 air-cond, plumbin, electrical, curtains, lightings & some other items...
but we hv 2 buy a mattress, a dinin set & a sofa set...
we r still keepin an open mind @ this moment of time...

yi

ur place tat long oredi ah???
thought u juz reno...

Hi Yi,

Think u better place ur shoes in the storeroom...

Dun want to be a wet blanket...but with the freshener and shoes, it will soon gif u ur smell...

I can have a walk-in in the masterbedroom...but it will be a bit tight...built-in good enuff for me...tks for the thot

hi naturally,
yeah i heard so its Grand Haytt on the DBS commercial....like palace setting hor....
be sure to catch it on TV.......

No lah. no 'xin dong' yet,...i'm going there for wedding dinner next month mah,...until then, i shall tell u if i'm xin dong!!!

Hi there!

I'm new to this thread ... have seen it around but never got down to read it. My big day is supposed to be in 2003's end Aug / early Sept, but not confirmed yet.

I've started looking around some of the hotels, but they're really expensive !!!
Some of those that i considered, eg Westin is $907nett per table !!!
No need to talk abt Ritz Carlton of course ...

Did any of you manage to book a good price for a good hotel?

Hi Astrud,
Thanks for your information. I must say that Kevin Seah Gown is really breathtaking. You are a smart gal to book him before he increase his price. At this moment, I think I cannot afford him.... My budget is 5K and I have to be very strict on it loh.....
. I guess I will still go with Bridal Veil.....
Take Care and don;t work too hard ! How is your renovation coming along? Rem to let me know when you go for your first appointment with him

flowee,

There are actually pros and cons to custome-made furniture though! One of the cons is itz difficult to remove if you decided to change them! Lightings included? Mean itz normal lights or designer lights? If you are talking about only having to get that 3 items then S$42k is quite worth it but are there any hidden costs?

Yeap, my place is ready in Jan 02 liao! We try to get everything completed b4 I started my semester in Jan mah!

Harros Kiroro,
Actually BV is juz as good though the gowns would be cleaner in design. I think BV's pkg is very comprehensive and wld be a good deal. if kevin charges $5.4K before i signed up, i wld not have considered him too. Personally, i feel that any bridal pkg above $5K is too much to pay for.

It's better to stick to budget if not there wld be a lot of opportunities to bust it.

Nope, have not started on reno yet. Apparently, there's delay in the TOP date of my parents' new flat. If they get their new flat, i can't start as well. I did start on furniture shopping and saw some furniture that i like. wanted to buy them on impulse and get the shop to store them for 3-4 mths...hehe..thk goodness, i din.

Trying not to work too hard....dun think dat's possible in my industry. Wld be going outstation to Beijing and Shanghai next mth for the whole mth.
Will miss my hubby then.

yi

i like custom made furniture veri muz coz its neater in some sense...
i dun c myself shiftin out of sk in the next 5yrs or more...
the hod & hoob, the sink, the vanity basin ( 4 my master toilet ), the taps, washin machine r nt included in the sum of 42k...
no hidden cost...
lightin r tokin abt those lightin fixture...

Yi,

Yah rite. I am really happy that my id firm can handle everything for me..the gas supply, the SCV connection, and the deliveries when we miss them.

If renovation is handled by firm that is recommended by relatives/family members, we more or less feel safer, dun u think so?

Flowee jie,

Which means to say that for the lightings, the person will bring u to select the design, etc? Curtains to be handled by id firms, i think, is more expensive than if we buy ourselves. This is wat my id firm told me. But me and my hubby lazy to hunt for those curtain things. So we might ask the id firm to do it for us afterall.

Mine include aircon too. One of the bonus in the quote. Coz a lot of id firms and contractors dun like to handle air con issues.

But Flowee jie, u have to be mentally prepared that next time when u want to sell the flat, the built in furniture dun really bring u a higher selling value. Buyers will normally try to say that those built in furniture they dun like and they need to spend money to tear them down, so they will delibrately cut down on ur price.

Flowee jie, do u have lots of built in furniture for the 2 bedrooms too? My hubby's sister has a friend who has a lot of built in furniture in her whole house and she spend around ur amt too.

Sunflower, I know which one was you already, the one in black suit and pink camisole inside right? Hehe, actually I just saw the photos lah, my colleague brought them for us to see.

kk

the id will tell us wat 2 get 4 the lightings & also the furniture which kinds is suitable...
curtains is in the quote 2 but nt within the id quote...
the id quote 4 all the wet works & capentry is ard 32k...
the 42k i mentioned is inclusive of the air-cond, plumbin, electrical, curtains, lightings & some other items...
on top of tat we hv 2 buy the hod & hoob, the sink, the vanity basin ( 4 my master toilet ), the taps, washin machine, mattress, a dinin set & a sofa set which will add up 2 50k or more...

i understand when it comes 2 resale flat the next owner might nt wana the custom made furniture...
i was lookin @ resale flats b4 we bought the sk unit...
in the buyer shoe i told the owner i dun like ur furniture & i dun think i will pay the amt u asked 4 coz its a fulli furnished hse in live in cond... :P

the 2nd bedrm is 2 b left empty as 4 the 3rd bedrm its a study cum guest room...
might b custom makin the cabinets within if nt then get those off the reack also can...
those off the rack shd b cheaper rite???

naturally

so u dun chart as often oredi ah...
erm i sure hope i wont 4get wat i learn from teresa after the nfp course...
i asked my mil abt the chartin pattern & she told mi tat also the older way of chartin...
more or less the same but ours shd b more accurate coz we chart everydaz...

durin ur course, is teresa's hubby there 2???

yes i find the course interestin coz its a way 2 koe more abt ourselves mah...
furthermore my guy he is there with mi... :P
he said he dun mind attendin with mi so i dragged him along lor...
its a gd way 2 educate men... :P

I also tot abt the shoe thingy... so decided to have a shoe cabinet at the entrance.... also more convenient.

Yi,
Have you moved into your nest already? If not when convenient for me to drop by? (scared? i serious one... hehe)

Anyone else interested? Lyne? then the burmuda triangle will merge... ; P

Hi Sunflower,

thanks for the website address, it sure is useful.
Had just told my boy boy that we shld start visit one each weekend to see if it's wat we want. =)

Hi flowee,
thanks to your advice too. so it'll mean that i hv to book early in case they are all snatched up.

hi LILAC
you are rite! tat's me

hmm....me confused now, dunno if i've seen you in the crowd tat day...
*hee*
wat a small world huh!

hi DEW
You are most welcome

flowee,

Ya, lights, sink and taps also cost alot leh! Got a shock when we were purchasing the items together with my ID! Coz a tap costs ard S$130! :P

As for my house, there are no custom made furniture in my master room, I only have a custom-made TV console, dining table, shoe cabinet and kitchen cabinet. Think itz better to have custom made furniture in the living area coz of the uniformity and colour concept!

If the 42k does not include the items you mentioned, the quote seems abit too high hor! Just my opinion lah!

kk,

Ya lor, they can try to accomodate your timing rather we accomodating theirs rite? Then we dun need to take off to wait for these and that! My ID even help to arrange for cleaners to clean up my love nest and shift things for us! So when the reno was completed, we did not really did much cleaning up too coz the house quite clean already!

flowee,
ROM will be in 2 weeks time.

naturally,
So I should consider myself lucky, my FW isn't very picky with me yet, just that she keep telling my she is afraid of this and that. Me understand and try to explain thing to her and me give me if cannot solve lor.

What chart are you girl toking abt?????

Hi Lyne,

Itz okay, it just a suggestion anyway!

Hi Tarsier,

I haven't shift in lah, just treating it as a chalet and staying there once during the weekdays, weekends and PHs. When is convenient for you? Weekends?