(2003) Brides of year 2003

kk mei

guess most mums share the same sentiments...
cant do without a weddin banquet...
furthermore my parents onli hv 2 daughters they sure wana 2 treat our relatives & frenz 2 their children's weddin banquet...
i am lookin 4ward 2 my weddin daz bein a happi bride...

Dew,

Thks Dew, glad to hear more 'normal' weddings from all of you!

I sure felt left out when I started seeing all these brides-to-be preparing for their lavish wedding. Starting to feel so small.... well, i am very happy for these brides-to-be ( they're really blessed).... but they are definitely turning me green with envy!!!

dew

tks 4 the suggestion on restaurants...
noble hse i hv been there 4 normal dinner but dun reali like their food perhaps coz its ala carte buffet dinner tat servin r a bit cold...

i am lookin 4 restaurants who offer nice food & nice ambience...
able 2 cater 2 40 tables...
any suggestion???

kk

yan palace the food nt bad onli located a bit funie lor dun u think so???
their package sounds reasonable 2...
then can afford a wkend dinner oredi lor...

wannabebride

u do sound like a green eye monster... :p
glad u r feelin better oredi...

my guy felt tat i am veri muz bein 'influenced' by the lavish weddin brides r hvin in sb forum...
his theory is alwazs 'livin within ur means'...
i got 2 understand tat better when we started 2 look ard 4 a reno 2 do up our love nest...
everythin involves $$$...

hv a gd tok with ur fh...
discuss abt ur priority...
ur love nest, weddin banquet, bridal, honeymn, etc...
i am sure there's a way out 2 every prob...

do take care...
u aint alone coz there r 'normal' brides in sb forum 2...

dear wannabebride,
actually, (juz my personal opinion lah) u have to take wat's being said here with a pinch of salt... people may have the tendency to exaggerate... u know wat i mean?

Anyway, most of wat's being said here are enquiries, and u don't have to qualify before making an enquiry, right? For example when i ask people abt fullerton/tiffany rings/upclass bridal boutiques, it doesn't mean i have the $$$, neither does it mean i'm crazy enuf to splurge! It just means i'm curious to know, tat's all! And those who replied? Some heard from friends, some may have pretended, and of cos there are those who are real "princesses"....

Anyway, in short, i just want to say that a wedding shd be the most wonderful memory a gal can ever have, why spoil it by sulking over wat other gals have? Look at Irene Gan, her wedding was so splendid, like a page out of a fairy-tale... and so wat? Sorrie, no offence to anyone....

Hmmm... just wondering, why can't we have a fairytale wedding at a restaurent? U can use the $$ saved to do floral decor, u want to turn the whole restaurent into jungle also can!

Hope everyone's feeling better now!

well said naturally! Recently I attended my colleague's wedding at a restaurant and everybody enjoyed the dinner alot. The couple though is living in a condo, they had chosen not to splurge unnecesarily. To make up for the imperfection, the bride personally did the menu and table number card for all tables and they played jazz music through the dinner to create the ballroom ambience.

Hi Nancy, (welcome!)

My sis went to Mauritius for her honeymoon. she said it was fun. Should be a good choice. Oh no, asking where my banquet is? i haven decide!!!! in fact, haven even confirm what to do... very cham. initially wanted to hold it at the nite safari, but too ex.

Yi, if i hold it at safari, this one confirm BIG lugi... they quoted me 20k+ for a 200 pax.. so each one must give me a $100 ang pao.. and i still lugi a bit... hehe
hmm... but you keep mentioning your ex-bf leh... sure you have forgotten?? ;P *kidding*
Just realised that you said last sem in july, still studying? (can dun answer if u consider too personal, i just kpo...) : )

Mei jie,

Yooo..me no time see flowee jie's photos. u make me so tempted :P i think i have to go see see look look liao :P

Anybody of u try cambridge diet? I think i ask for fun only, coz when i am hungry, i can't really survive on those things :P

Flowee jie,

My mum chatted with me on this before and she say dun give dinner better, then not so troublesome.. hahaa.. anyway both my elder brothers married alredy and my family "organise" this kind of dinner before, so never mind liao.. haaa.. me not under pressure. Me and my hubby talked before and say who knows, there might not be any dinner.. haaa...

yah, yan palace is good. But hor, looks old leh.. heeeeee.. somemore the one at hong lim complex beside the road, very funny *grinzzz*
I haven't visited the one at outram park.

Hi Yi & Tarsier,
My dinner is at Mandarin Hotel. Don't know whether will 'lugi' or not...but mentally prepared for it already!

Tarsier, it's new to hold it at night safari...normally people hold their banquets at hotels or restaurants. Can consider holding it at Fort Canning...my colleague is having a reception there in Dec after her ROM cos' her dinner in Jan is for relatives and close friends!

How are both your wedding prep coming along? gowns designs etc?

I tried before but only took them for about four or five days....after a few days, I felt like vomiting after drinking them...moreover I felt hungry when I see people eating so I stop taking the cambridge diet.

Hi flowee,

you left the chatroom liao... I went back but couldn't see anybody already. I think I was too late.

I try to login more, but me busy now. Tat's why the other day I only came and left so soon.

humm.. seems like everybody here now is talking about keeping slim...how about keeping pimples away? do you know of any ways?

Me more concern about pimples rather than weight. Got alot of blemish on my face, chest and back
sian

Elaine,

Try laser. Think the doctor told me that laser can get rid of pimples as well.

KK,

I took the cambridge diet before. I stop after a week. it was a terrible experience cos' you will want to eat and it won't curb your fight for food.
Just hate the feeling.

Lost abit but gain back really fast. The ntuc diet is better. at leaast it is food. Lost much more than the cambridge diet and stays much longer.

Hi Gers,

Do you all go for facial hah? Me has never gone for facial b4 and my frens told me that if I have never gone b4 dun start coz they feel that it seems like a drug. They would have lots of outbreak when their facial appt is due.

As for slimming down, me now depends on my skipping, carrying abit of weights and paying more attention to my diet to maintain my weight. Actually me want to lose another 2 more kgs!

Hi Tarsier,

Confirmed plus chopped forget about ex-bf liao! But hubby knows that I am still in contact with my ex coz we are still frens! Hubby wun mind I having dinner with ex too!

I have got a fren with a small crowd is holding her dinner at Beaufort Hotel in Sentosa, you might want to consider that place too! You are rite, I guess the market rate now is S$80 per pax rite? You sure lugi wan! What about Hotel Rendezvous and Traders Hotel? You mus decide already coz itz just 7 mths away leh! Yours weekdays or weekends?

Yeap, I'm taking my part-time degree course in SIM and this coming July is my last semester (ending in early Nov)! Then I can start looking forward to my big day! Just got my 2nd semester results yesterday!

Hi Nancy,

Not much preparations leh! My love nest renovated already, banquest destination booked already and gowns designed already, so nothing much to be done except wait for 1st fitting in July/August. What abt u?

Yi,

I do go for facial. I have packages in bella as well as Helioasia. Well, for me it thought so intially as i heard a lotsa myth about going for facial.

But you know what, it is really very relaxing and you feel so refresh after the facial as if your skin glow.

For me, there is no outbreak and I go when I feel like it. But I think Going 3weeks or once a mth is ideal or if you wnat once in 2mths also can.

It is an additional part of grooming yourself.

Try not to go to places like adonis cos' they dun have individual rooms and they are not as good.

I'm new here and saw that most of you are getting married next year. I am thinking of having it next year March also but had yet decide on several stuff other than my wedding package....Maybe we can share some info on our preparation for our wedding?

Hi annmelody,

You have to book your banquet now, coz people usually book 1 year in advance, to get their prefered venue. You're a little late liao. So better check with those places your wanted, coz they might be booked too.

For your wedding package, if you're doing MTM, your latest month to start is July.

Mine is also march.

Hi annmelody,

Welcome to this thread!

Elaine is rite, you are quite late liao! Some people even booked one and a half year in advance! So you better hurry!

My wedding is in Jan 03 and I've booked both my banquet and bridal package.

Hi ling,

I only tried facial once when I am in secondary school coz itz a voucher given by my sister. Never again will go coz got such a painful experience!

Now, I just do mask at home myself twice a week as part of grooming.

Elaine,

it is the same doctor that did the laser for my freckles. You can call up this no. and check. 64548422. the doctor is Mr Tan. It is a clinic in AMK. if you want , you can also go down to skin centre. but got to wait long long.

I dunno how much he charges for pimples but for mine he charges $250 for my whole face cos I have a lot and he give me one price.
If 1 freckles is $10 each. That day when we meet up, I have just done the laser for a week.

Just call them up and see how loh.

Yi,
Since you are doing mask twice a week, i think should be ok. nonetheless, I still love facials and spa.

ANnmelody,

Welcome here. There are other things like photograhers and videographers that you needto source for. try looking at their work before any confirmation.

Cheers !!!!

wannabebride,
Wedding is between you and you FH, who care abt high end hotel or whatever, who care abt your diamond carat, who care where you go for honeymoon, who care how much you spent. The bottom line is keep to your budget.

If you will to overspent and get all the best in the world but in the end got to repay all the debt for a few year do you think its worth it?

Banquet is just for a night and will your guest remember where you hold your banquet after a few year down the road?

Diamond just get one around 1 mth your FH salary will be just nice, no point getting one that is out of your budget, you can always 'Upgrade' once your FH have more $$$$$ to spare. Don't worry you have a lifetime with him to get a chance to 'Upgrade' you diamond carat.

Most important in a wedding is to be happy. You don't need to spent a million to have a special wedding. Like what me and my FW say, we can have a special/happy wedding even have banquet under at void deck / honeymoon in Malaysia / a tiny diamond ring as long as we are both happy together Once again its HAPPY TOGETHER.

So there are really lot of normally ppl out here.

Stole some time to check out the thread...

Yi, i haven done anything!!!!!! argh!!!!!! i quite a procrastinator too.... haven even write in to hdb to request for deferment of ROM... supposed to rom within 3 mths from getting keys.. and i think my keys will come in Jul.

Cant find a suitable and CHEAP place to hold the dinner... photo thing also not settle, but i think i shd be able to confirm a bridal studio by this weekend...

sigh... wish i can start things going soon...

I also taking a part-time cse at SIM... next sem starting in jul too... so will be very busssyyyyy... somemore "changing job" (still in same coy but different dept) in jul as well.... big changes for me in all aspects.

One question for you.
If my FW dress is champagne in colour, what kind of flower and colour should the hand bouquet be?

Thanks in advance, need this for her ROM.

Hi Elaine,

Thanks for your advice!

Hi 2003groom,

I should think white rose or tulips would be nice with some small flowers and green leaves. Dun really know what are the small flowers and leaves called but the main thing is the roses/tulips.

Hi Tarsier,

Wow, you really got a handful of things to do leh!

You also taking a course in SIM. What course are you taking and which year?

I think Next Jan alot of the weekends should be taken up already. Urs weekdays or wkends?

Glad that you would be settling your bridal package this weekend. Think the next thing is your banquet liao! Did you ever consider Le Meridien? They have renovated their ballroom and it looks nice!

2003groom,

Woww...diamond one mth FH salary is a lot!! Heeeee.... the diamond will be real shiny :P

Yah lor. Actually i just hope to have a small buffet for my wedding and that's it. Less the hassle that comes with a dinner.

Sigh... if only weddings were so simple....

Unfortunately for the rest of us social creatures, we still crave for our families' and friends' acceptance... the higher up the social ladder, the higher the expectation.... lucky both me and FH come from humble backgrounds... hope his rich bosses/friends won't mind.... it's not that i have a materialistic thinking, but then quite paiseh to be too han2 suan1 leh.... don't tell me abt "who care if they like the dinner or not", i do care, otherwise i wouldn't invite them right!

Maybe it's the mars vs venus thingy, but every lady will definitely want to have a memorable wedding day... are u really sure your FW agreed to a void deck wedding??? Maybe she knows u're only kidding lah.... heehee!

Btw, my diamond ring not even half his mthly salary! But i dun mind, cos i find that a diamond too big looks kinda ugly on my finger... am i the only one with weird fingers? I'm small-sized, plus fingers not long, so a bigger diamond really makes my finger look short! Hence i chose a smaller carat... my FH was so relieved!

Just now i heard something abt tung lok group closing their restaurents over the radio, dun know hk only or here as well?? Let me go check...

kk and naturally,
1 mth salary too much????? I tot it is quite ok. If I post here earlier than maybe me don't have to spent so much on the diamond ring, still don't understand why girl like diamond so much. ^_^

naturally,
the void deck is just an example lah. We say that if we dun have any $$$$ left we can at least still have a banquet at the void deck ..... but void deck also not cheap you know.

After all reading all the posting, sometime I really wonder ...... is the wedding for me and my FW or for my friend / relative ??? No choice its not our fault its society fault

guys & gers

like to share with u tat i din hv a diamond engagement ring...
anyone of u more 'pathetice' than i am???
but i am reali contented 2 hv a weddin band which we like it veri muz though its consider a high end weddin band ( cost us 1.7k 4 a pair )...
hope he will b able 2 get mi one when i bear him his 1st kid... :P

naturally

i told my guy i wont wana a void deck weddin dinner either...
i feel han2 suan1 also especiali 2wards my dad's biz associates...
am i materialistic 2???

u heard tung lok closin dn???

groom2003

u muz b real glad ur mrs dun think like us...
a void deck weddin i reali cant take it...

kk

so u aint holdin a weddin banquet???
money issues will b less complicated i supposed coz involved onli honeymoon weddin...
muz go somewhere u like ok...

Oh, if 1 mth salary for one pair, also expensive.. hhahaa.. for my case, our pair is much less than his 1 mth salary :P

tong lok closing? i dun think so lor. thought their singapore business very good

Flowee jie,

I really hope i dun have to. I dun think it is compulsory. And neither is it necessary for me.. heeeeeee...

Elaine
I oso have pimples on back n chest! so 'tao yan' rite? now got 1 huge volcano erupting on my left cheek.. so depressed the other day so wen for my 1st facial. tot it'll help... anyway, it's stil erupting but my face do feel cleaner. facial veri relaxed except for the squeezing part.. I wen to Expressions ..

Ling
I mite call ur doc n try laser.. had this pimple prob 4 yrs oredi.. got worse wen da yi ma is here...

annmelody
u r really quite late if u've not done anything! Mine oso in March n i'll be going for my design session in July. banquet oso booked oredi. u must 'jia you' if not wil not get the venue u wan.

hi groom2003
think white tulips will look good.

2003Groom,
I don't know why gals like diamonds, but then again, i also don't know why guys like cars so much! Your wife very lucky u don't know wat's the "standard" rate!
Nobody's fault lah, we just want our friends and relatives to be as happy as we are on our wedding day, right?

If u have the means to pamper your wife with a lavish wedding, then good for u!
Otherwise, u can also make up for it in other ways... like having special wedding favours, have a different theme (like jazz-mood? Or how abt going extreme CHINESE, if u have a restaurent with oriental setting?) Main idea is: cheaper venues does not have to mean less fun! I think most of us feel quite down when we see other gals having glam weddings, just can't help comparing... but who says cheaper weddings can't be as good? We can put in more effort to think of unique ideas, so everyone (incl the cynic) can still have a good time!

If there's a will, there's a way!

Dear flowee,
hope u'll bear him a fat baby soon! (Er.. not so soon hor, wait after the customary...
Have fun at the nfp class!

guys & gers

sorie 4 nt replyin 2daz...
been real buz 2molo hv 2 come back 2 work ot...

mei & elaine

u can look 4 skin doc 2 get rid of the marks & pimples on ur back & chest...
there's one doc who is pretti gd @ tampines...
can pass u the contacts if u wana...
many ppl travel all the way 2 tampines 2 get her diagnosis & hv 2 wait 4 some time b4 its ur turn...

mei jie

i also hv the prob of outbreakin when my ta yi ma is ard the corner...
reali hate it...

annmelody

welcome 2 the threat...
hv u selected a date 4 ur weddin???
tat's the most impt thing 2 settle b4 gettin ur bridal & ur weddin banquet...
tong shu nt out 4 the 2003 u might wana 2 check out http://chinesefortunecalendar.com/GoodEvents.htm 4 the dates...
work along those auspicious dates...
as 4 bridal & banquet venues gonna book by asap oredi when the date is settled...

congrates & hv fun in ur weddin preparation...

groom2003

i will recommend green roses ( white roses with a green rim along the edge of the petals ) with freesia & green leaves...
slk had tat 4 her rom bouquet & the bouquet turn out veri nice ( accordin 2 her )...
tulips wont b as 'fresh' after hrs of u guys out in the humid weather...

juz my 2cent thought...

naturally

waitin 4 my guy 2 pick mi up 2 attend the nfp course...
i wont wana a fat baby a healthy baby is most impt...

guys & gers

enjoy ur wkends...
*sob sob* hv 2 work ot 2molo...

Hi Tarsier,

I agree with Yi that you should settle the banquet soon....cos' weekends are hot dates! As for photos, normally bridal boutiques have packages that include photography, so not much worries! Unless you have a photographer in mind, like me, then you have to book the photographer fast!

Hi Yi,
My prep so so okie! Today went Orchard to look for the bridal shoes.....finally found a pair! I went for my first fitting already...designed the evening gown too...I guess I'll have more things to do from August onwards!

hi gers,
itz a few days since i ve logged in. wow, all e toks abt slimming down. every1 jia you okie, but i m sure whatever shape or size u re in on ur weddg day, ur hubby will still thk u re e most beautiful bride in e world.

flowee
iz e clinic which u recommend at blk 800plus there? cant remb e name of e clinic offhand. i also ve scars behind my back, wan to get rid of them too.

2003groom
my florist told me tat tulips re not as lastg too.

Having my weddng in Jan 03.

Was supposed to be in Sep 03.

Everything pushed up till Jan 03 becos we got the flat. Will be getiing the keys in abt 3 mths time. Felt silly keeping the house empty till Sep 03 and so it has been brought fwd

As for honeymoon, likely to be taking a really quiet good break either in Maldives, Mauritius or Phuket.

All your honeymoon destinations sound good and an ideal break. My advice for those who intend to go USA/Europe/S.Africa - don't go immediately after your wedding. It will be tiring esp if you are on a tour group. On top of this, you won't be enjoying each other's company very much as you will be living out of your suitcase during the trip.

Unless it is DIY honeymoons, can enjoy walks/drives, relaxing moments as you have ample time to yourselves.

Just some food for thot.

Enjoy your preps in the meantime

Ling - 10s! for the info, I'll call your doc. btw, how long was your laser process? Does your freckles really gone? I didn't see any during the outing.

Flowee - I'm a regular customer at skin centre. I've been going there for many years. I think got 6-8 years liao. Had already taken 4 kinds of medicine. each medicine last for 3 months. sian...
doc also said tat mine is hormone inbalance. each time go there is $60 - $80
I think I rather spend more for better treatment.

Mei - Think we same boat...veri sian hor. I can understand how you feel. Me had this since primary school until now.

2003groom,

Another suggestion from me - white lilies with small flowers and leaves. Looks pretty good. I have them for my ROM last month.

I have all the skin problems too. Even on my face! But I have got used to it and "accepted the fact" already.. heee.. so i am no longer upset over it.
I treat that as "natural beauty" lor. hee...

Elaine,

The process takes about 30mins or less for the laser itself.cos' I told the doctor that I scare tat i am painful so he apply a cream and i wait for 45mins b4 the laser and he see other patients.

U did not see clearly. my freckles are still there, it is just tat it lighten by a lot. My whole cheek and my nose got lotsa freckles and it is very visible. (that's why there's no pimples on my cheeks)

As for the process, it is a bit painful but it is during the laser and 10mins after it. It is like a burning sensation. after that, i feel nothing already. But you will have dots on the laser spot for 3-5days. The doctor will give you a cream to apply. and after 3-5 days, the dots will drop themselves.

Try calling the doctor and see what he says.

Cheers!!!

elaine
so going to the skin centre doesn't help ah.. mi oso hormone inbalance..

flowee
can i hv the skin doc contact?

Think itz very normal and every gal's prob to have outbreak b4 da yi ma is here. But since I started using BOITHERM Balancing Purifying Mask, I can see that my outbreaks are less frequent. I have since recommended my sisters to use them too!

Heard from a fren who has frequent outbreaks that our daily diet is also very important. If there is too much oil and toxic, there would be more outbreaks!

As for skin centre, my ex-bf used to go there but after years of treatment also no use leh! Somemore not cheap and wait very long!

Do you all know how to deal with occassional rashes on the chest and back?

Hi Nancy,

My designer also asked my to get my bridal shoes b4 my 1st fitting in August but so far never go shop around for one. Think I better start searching now coz my next semester starting in July. Taking 3 subjects this semester, so sure very siong!

Actually, I can't wait to see how my gowns look like leh! :P

Hi Lyne,

Welcome to this thread!

Thanks for your advice! If I'm really going to Europe, would most probably go ard April/May.

Hi Gers,

Have you all got your love nest already? Renovated?

Hi gals! finally cam talk at peace in the morning.. not working mah.

i know i better hurry hurry... its ok, worse come to worse, dun wan wedding dinner.. then I will have one less thing to worry abt. Ha! but at least I know that my reno can be considered settled. signed up a contract and the ideas for the flat are flowing non-stop... btw, anyone of u thinkng of doing a walk-in wardrobe?

Hi Lyne,
Now that your wedding brought fwd, u have a lot of things to settle too rite? how are they going??

Hi Kiroro

Next appointment not fixed yet as wedding day is still far ahead. The promotion I got was to have larger pictures for my photos. I'm not too good with all these measurements eg. inches. Overal they are pretty comprehensive in terms of package. Like other high-end boutique, they dont have bridal car, that's all.

Have you decided on yours ?

Hi Tarsier,

You are rite, when you are doing your reno, ideas are always flowing non-stop but slowly everything will be cutted down due to budget constraint and inflexibility! When I was doing up my love nest, flipped alot of magazines but dun you think all the ideas from magazines are very impractical and expensive? They are very nice bot very costly to do in real life leh!

Yeap, I have a walk-in wardrobe in my love nest! Finally got a large wardrobe to store my many clothes, bags and shoes already! You think of doing one?