(2003) Brides of year 2003

lilac,
Are there hotels that charge sunday rates same as mon-thur?? Sorry, i have not come across any, pray tell us if u find one!

hi lilac,
on my list, only fullerton lor. not cheap but cheaper than SAT dinner :P by about $40. not much diff lah.... their dinner for friday and sunday is same price.

btw, mi oso gonna stay on the 10th floor

naturally,
share your sentiments....but no choice lo...coz we are the one who want a perfect wedding rite.....even lugi also once in a lifetime onie....
as long as the couple enjoy the wedding........

hi gers

naturally

ur mum had enlightened u with her theory???
i share her sentiments 2 tat's y i cant aim tat high...
hv 2 settle 4 a place with nice food & nice ambience...
wont wana 2 lu gi tat muz coz i cant afford tat...

I am a Sept 02 Bride. Just happened to pass by tis tread.........thinking back, last year this time I was just beginning to plan my wedding. 1 important thing to start is to book you banquet coz Sept being the lunar 8th month are very popular esp on weekend. So gals.......get your restaurant/ hotel book asap. The others, you can take you time but have a schedule so that you will not be too stress nearer to the date.

Hi flowee,

You r rite man! Still remember that time when I went for aerobics lesson with my frens, really difficult to keep up! All the rest look like experts xiao!

Me also difficult to maintain, u know! Weight will flunctuate very easily! Actually, me used to be ard 68kg! Hehehe

yi

i can imagine u tryin so hard 2 catch up...
perhaps we can enrol 4 an aerobics course 2gether can motivate each other...
but definateli nt with amore...

nt bad u can maintain @ 55kg nw...
wats ur method of slimmin???
my heaviest is 72kg keke... :p

Yi and Flowee,

If you go for aerobics class, choose the new body. dun need to move here and there. just take the band and some weight. good for toning also.

I remember when I my bf was in the army, I join the unlimited one and i go every day and work out for at least 1 hr. but that didn't last cos' my bf was downgraded and i also got no determination.

If you girls are interested , we can go and join together.

Flowee, where do you recommend ?
@-&-

Hi Yi,

Havent tot of where to go honeymoon yet... but Africa is an option... hehe... if not, Japan.. or US (i wanna go DisneyLand) then again, like you said, will depend on how much $ we have left then.

Wah, you bi4 nian2 issit?? cos CNY next year is 1 Feb (i think...). I like Koh Samui too... wanted to go last year for a trip but tot it was quite ex. the place should be quite romantic.. phuket, if you go patong beach, very re4 nao4. which do you prefer? you dive??
hehe, maybe if my budget is tite, can also consider Koh Samui. definitely cheaper than Africa..

heard a lot of frens say that usually wedding dinner usually wun lugi one... hopefully all those you invite give you the right "market rate"...

Hey, i can't believe u girls can slim down.. heeee.... last time i managed to cut 3kg, then up goes another 3 kg after some time.. haaa... maybe sometimes i am too satisfied with that (colleagues say i slim down... become proud.. hahaa) then start to eat again :P

Aerobics is indeed very siong. Maybe tha's why until now me and my friend still haven't sign up *grinzzz* still idling and eating all the way :P
I tell my hubby i give up dieting also. No use. Whenever i am hungry, i start eating like crazy again. I can't resist food :P

Julia andrew,

What if it is Oct or Nov? Will it be that popular too? I always think that year end is always the busiest period for marriage.

I can only book restaurant in Oct or Nov this year as i haven't confirmed the date.

Flowee jie,

budget constraint and scared lugi. that's why i switch to restaurant instead of hotel.

kk mei

which restaurant wld u recommend???
i wish 2 hv mine in a hotel but a restaurant will b fine 2 since hv 2 dump so muz money on reno...

ling, yi & kk

i tried pilates b4...
supposed 2 built up a nice body posture...
din continue after the 1st stage...

as 4 aerobics, hvnt tried b4...
heard from some they eat more when they exercise...
there might nt b a reduce in wt but sure there's effect on the tonin up...

anyone game 4 some exercise???

flowee jie,

I intend to hold dinner in cheap cheap restaurant can liao.. haaaa.. dun intend to spend too much on it unless we strike toto or watever :P

I am thinking of Rivercity, Happy Restaurant or Yan Palace.

Guess it depends on your priority, whether to have the perfect wedding of your dreams, after all it's only once-in-a-lifetime..... or to do good reno on your flat which u can live in (and perhaps also show off, hee!
) for at least 5 yrs.... Budget constraint is so hateful, but at least it makes u think hard abt your priorities, and wat u shd be focussing on..... wedding preps can be so complicated that we sometimes forget why we want to marry in the first place! Ha! Watever.... all i want is a happily-ever-after for my hubby and I!

flowee,
wat can i say? mothers are always right!
She doesn't want to be guilty of costing my hubby a fortune in order to marry me, scared my inlaws will ill-treat me in future, hahaha!
At least now i'll factor in this possible "loss", see how lah!

Hi Yi & Tarsier,
If you all don't mind me joining your discussion...I'm thinking of going to Maldives or Mauritius in June....cos' I cannot go on leave until June. But thinking of going for a short trip to Langkawi over the weekend after the wedding.
Phuket and Koh Samui - nice place! They are good places for relaxation and unwinding, after so much preparations.

HI Naturally,

I am not the one who loves to move around, so i will make my place as best as i want it to be and hopefully live in it forever! Heee... so i never come to think of 5 yrs or 10 yrs.

Yah lor. Sometimes i think it would be nice if we were to just hold a simple customary ceremony and then have a simple buffet catering and then go for honeymoon, that's it.. heeee...

Hahaha.. good to save for husband. ANyway money is not easily earned. But hor, my mum say, cannot do until she has bring up a daughter for nothing. heeee... so when it comes to money matters, we still have to make the other party to give us what we want :P

flowee

so sorrie...my ROM pics will have to show you all during the next meet up liao

mi and FH both dun like low floors so if really cannot find anything suitable then i will try the mature estate balloting in July...hai dun noe how ah...

toking abt exercise...i am really one who has no determination and simply lazy...i sign up with planet fitness and california b4 with some frends and in the end, the 1st 2 wks we go 3 times per week then slowly twice per week then 1st per week and then 2 whole months never go...hee hee everytime we try to make it to the gym we succumb to the temptation of dinner and coffee instead

so now i totally give up liao...i just cut down on carbohydrates and the quantity of food i eat, i avoid buffet and take lots of soupy stuff which will fill me up...i think this method work best for mi

yi, sue & kk

u can take a look @ my rom pixs @
http://uk.photos.yahoo.com/sweetiepie0911

sherine

no scanner???
dun koe when r we meetin again...
nvm then look 4ward 2 ur rom pixs soon...

r u guys in2 senbawang area???
heard from my colleagues hdb done up tents 4 the comin walk-in oredi...

kk

dun koe how 2 explaine 2 u how pilates is like...
its involves tonin of our body parts & also meditation...

Hi flowee,

Itz not easy to maintain @ 55kg leh! Got to cut down on snacks and ice-cream....

But I skip regularly, at least 4 times a week for 2,000 times per time. When I started with my hubby about 2 years plus ago, I was 68kg and thus hubby now can see a vast difference!

Hi kk,

Got to give and take lor, if wan to slim down then gotta cut down on food intake and exercise! I try to keep to my schedule of skipping at least 4 times a week so whatever how late I reach home, I will still skip and carry weights while watching TV.

Hi Gers,

I am agreeable that aerobics does helps to tone up which is wat I need most now coz colleagues said if I slim down further, wedding not nice already so they asked me to tone up instead!

So who else is game on exercise?

Hi Sherine,

Itz okay to indulge in buffet every now and then but the next day, just take light food and lesser to compensate lor!

As I am someone who puts on weight real fast, gotta really pay attention to it!

I guess at this moment, I would say Sept & Oct will b quite a hot month as in lunar calender it is 8th (prosperous) & 9th (forever) It will be no harm shopping for it now. It you are not particular about a date & you need not check the "Tung shu" then I guess there will b more gain then harm to book early.

Make sure you prepare yourself b4 u visit them. Try to get the best bargain. Check:

1. price(nett/+++)
2. venue
3. no pax
4. free beer
5. no. of night stay
6. deco (flowers, chair covers, sash)
7. wedding favors
8. cockage
9. menu
10.room charges if you have overseas guess

Decide what you need & don't need. Try to trade for things that you don't need. I traded my ice craving for lilies as Grand Hyatt want 2 charge extra for lilies. I also traded the fruit cake wedding favors for food tasting as Grand Hyatt charges for food tasting. I have bought my own wedding favors (a aromatheraphy incense holder in the shape of leaf)As for wedding favors, start searching early......personalised favors will cost more ($2.5 onwards) but some you could just DIY.

If you gals need any advise, you could write to me at [email protected] (don't worry, I don't charge!!

Hi Tarsier and Nancy,

Not true about the lugi part coz my 2nd sister lugi S$10k+ for the dinner at Pan Pac! Thatz y I very worried lah!

But if finance permits, I would surely chose to go Europe in April/May but if not, just treat the after-wedding short trip to either Phuket/Koh Samui as a honeymoon and probably goes for a longer one on the 1st anniversary lor!

Me and hubby quite tied coz reno and his car has taken up a fair bit of our savings so gotta really pray hard! I only pray for break even and not lugi!

On the other note, I have been to Phuket 5 years back, itz really a nice place. Nice people, cheap food and nice beach. I can still remember the sunset! But went there with my ex-bf lah!

Hi Nancy,

My colleague's fren went Maldives for honeymoon and commented that itz a very romantic getaway, just nice for honeymoon! Great choice!

Hi Sunflower & Naturally, I think Rasa Sentosa also considers Sun as a weekday. Heard it from somebody from the other thread.

Hi Lilac,
i would believe so. Becoz since Rasa Sentosa is not so accessible.

Gals!
For those interested in booking with Merchant Court.....For the month of Nov &Dec 2003, the weekends are available for bookings.
For Dec, i think 2 weekends is oredi taken up.

I went to meet the banq. mgr yesterday,....he showed mi the list of reservations for next year. Lucky we are at year end, coz those popular mths like june,aug, sept, most weekends already been booked.

Weekdays are also HOT at MC...... act fast gals! not kiasu lah. but if u really a big fan of MC.....

Saw their 2 new sets of wedding cards and wedding gift. Quite nice esp. the guest gift,...2 piece chocolates with a cartoon of bride and groom printed....cute!

I tried the NTUC 3 day diet veri effective for me lei...but hor, must be veri disciplined. i oso wen swimming during dieting. now lazy nv excercise oredi..
Now maintaining at 51kg... am 1.64m tall.. heaviest was 58kg!!!

Flowee n kk, it's mi ur mei jie jie.. hehe..
aiyo flowee, u so tall, i oso need to look up wen toking to u..

BTW, I'm a March 03 bride to be..

I heard yoga is gd. wanted to try but can't squeeze out any time ..

Yi
I tried skipping too but very tired n sweaty so stopped! At least swimming I nv perspire.. hehe..

dear gers

u can try 2 click on the link again...
shd b ok oredi...

mei jie

nw the 3 of us in the 2003 brides threats...
so nice 2 hv kk & u here...

the ntuc diet din reali work 4 mi...
coz i reali cant take it eatin so so little food... :P

yi

i like sweet stuff veri muz especiali ice cream & cakes...
even my mil she koes i like ice cream...
she will buy when she koes i am headin 2 her place... :P
& my mum she bakes veri well...
so u c y i cant lose wt coz of all the nice food ard...

btw kk, mei & myself r neighbours juz few blks away from each other...

Hi Sunflower,

nope, haven't set my mind on mariott yet, nor hv i made a booking with them. They are only on my list ... still haven't got the time to pay them a visit ...

Hi Naturally,

Is Sunday cheaper for wedding dinners?
Tot' they share the same rate as Sat & Fri ... as they are considered the weekend rates!
These people sure knows how to make more $$

Hmmm ... i don't think people like dinners to start late leh ... i juz went to one recently. Invitation says it starts at 7pm, but u know ppl lah, they don't come on time, instead, all rush in abt 7:30 to 8pm. That's the time the bridegroom & his helpers get very very busy. By 8:30pm, i'm already hearing the whole table (where i'm sitted) complaining why the dinner isn't starting yet.

In the end, the dinner starts at 8:45pm (some starts at 9pm!!). You'll realise that the waitress sort of "rush" u thru' the dishes.

but what can i say, unless our guess comes on time, one is not able to start early or even on time!! btw, heard that once 70% of the guests arrived, dinner can start.

hi flowee,

u r most welcome

MC say the rate for nov/dec 2003 another $20 more per table price,& the charge is 1.16 lor. since GST is gonna be 5%

and the menu might change,...the new menu will be out by sept.......

I don't think i'll meet the Min Req. set by them 38 tables......most prob. i'll not be holding it there....

Naturally & Sunflower,

Is Sunflower's blk the one facing the LRT ... where there's a commercial centre? .. think i can recall a bit liao

Agreed with wat naturally said abt the pros & cons. However, i'm not sure if our blk will be quieter, esp in the evenings ... i presume there'll be a lot of kids at the playground that time ... hee, that's why i choose the blk further from the playground

One good thing abt our blks, is that it hv a North-South facing .. that means we don't hv the setting sun problem .. and ppl say such facing brings wind (which i'm not sure how true => )

I'm a flower & nature lover. I intend to do up my own wedding bouquet & surrounding flower decors.

Btw, if you would like to, i'm most willing to do up yours at a lower price compared to the hotels.

Oh yes, if you want your boy boy/ or hubby to send you flowers on special days like Valentine, but afraid that it'll burn a hole in his pocket too, not to worry, u can pass my contact to them!
hahahaaa
both parties will be happy this way right?

Hi Flowee,

if your priority is good food .. then start looking at restaurants for yr wedding. Some hv nice ambience too.

Some recommendations which i wld like to hv but can't because other relatives & colleagues had their wedding there before already =0(

* Noble House (at UIC bldg, Shenton Way)
in chinese, it's called jin1 yu4 man3 tang2

* Tian1 Chu2 (if directly translate, it's sky kitchen =P ) at King Corpthorn (River Vally Rd)This however doesn't hv very "wide" view, got some pillars here and there ...

Hi flowee,

Saw your pics liao! Real nice! My ROM pics not so nice leh coz I not photogenic at all! Think my post-ROM honeymoon pics look so much nicer!

I have a sweet tooth too but try not to indulge too much coz i put on weight very easily!

Whenever I dine at my PIL's hse, his mum also comment how come I eat so little when got enuf and that I am growing thinner etc! When I told her I need to fit into my gowns, she says never mind lah!

My hubby also everytime complain that I eat more titbits and lesser during main meals which is not good for my health. As my hubby is a small eater, thus our fav pastime wun be eating which helps me to maintain my weight.

NTUC 3-day diet is effective meh! But my fren says the food sucks leh! Haven't tried b4 though!

Feel happy for you to get to know neighbours b4 you shift in huh!

Ling
Rest assured, I will put my ROM pics on Air but must choose the best ones..

How's your preparation?

AA,
I felt that your reno start a bit too late. My friend had adviced me to give myself 2 mths break before the wedding. Not to overwork myself and become hagger look and can't enjoy myself on the actual day.

Only once in the lifetime, must put on the best look.

Julia andrew,
Your advice is really help.. Thank you
I will take note of it.. especially when I have a tight budget.

So you will be celebrating your one year anniversary this sept. So nice..

Hi Yi & Tarsier,
About the dinner part, I think it varies from case to case. One of my friend earns near 8K from his banquet at Swissotel(Westin) but another losts 4K from her banquet at InterContinential. It really depends on whether people gives more than the per person/per table rate.

I went to Phuket 2 years back and stayed at Allamanda resort...same area as Banyan Tree, Sheraton Laguna...It's a nice place cos' the rooms are either 1-bedroom or 2-bedroom suites. I checked out many agencies about the prices then. For 3 days 2 nites, about 300 plus - airticket on Thai Airways, transfers and breakfast. But if you wanna get to Patong Beach, you need to pay for the transport from resort to town. I think the prices might have gone up by a bit over the 2 years =)
Where are your banquets held? How are your prep now?

Hi Flowee and yi,

I wanted to sign up for the aerobics leh. Ask me along if you gers are interested. REally need to tone up. think i am getting flabby already.

Or maybe we can even sign up for Aqua areobics. I tried before. It helps a bit cos; it is quite tedious.

Mei,

Actually, I thought of Yoga before but there are so many types of yoga until I blur . dunno which is the correct one. Afterward train the wrong type how. Any recommendations?

Hi Nancy,

I have a fren who also earn more than S$10k from her dinner at Dragon Gate! Real hope break even can already!

My banquet will be in Swissotel Merchant Court. What about urs?

Phuket is really a very nice place to just eat and relax. I actually have a pic of my and ex-bf during sunset that is very very nice! Itz taken by a local there. But now cannot take out and see if not hubby tot I still thinking of him! Hehehehe

Flowee,

The pilates good or not? Will really improve your posture? Think of trying for ages but still did not sign up.

HI ALL,

WELL, I'VE BEEN READING....ALL THIS WHILE, I WAS ALMOST DAMN SURE THAT ALL OF YOU OR YOUR HTB MUST BE RATHER WELL-OFF COZ I'VE CAME ACROSS MANY BRIDES-TO-BE HOLDING THEIR WEDDINGS AT CONRAD, RITZ, ETC.. ALL THESE V.HIGH END HOTELS.

AS SOME OF YOU ALREADY KNOW, I SIGNED UP MY DINNER VENUE DURING THE WEDDING SHOW, ON IMPULSE. AND NOW WE ARE ARGUING OVER THIS... COZ OF BUDGET CONSTRAINT. THE FOOD FOR THE LOWEST RANGE REALLY SUCKS. BUT IF WE GO FOR THE BETTER FOOD, IT WILL WORK OUT TO BE BE MORE THAN $1000 PER TABLE AFTER THE +++. IT WILL DEFINITELY BE A ' LUGI ' TILL XIAO SITUATION AND WE REALLY CANNOT AFFORD IT.

AND THEN, I READ SO MUCH ABOUT THEIR TIFFANY, CARTIER, FLOWER, HOF, $3000 ++++, 0.5 CARAT PROPOSAL RINGS... WHILE MY IS ABOUT HALF OF THAT.

WELL, NOW AT LEAST I KNOW I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE, THERE ARE NORMAL PPLE OUT THERE, WHO'S ON A BUDGET TOO.

JUST CURIOUS. SO HOW MUCH WOULD YOU EXPECT YOUR GUY TO SPEND ON YOUR PROSPOSAL RING? HOW MUCH SHOULD WE SPEND ON WEDDING BANDS?

ANY OF YOU STARTED LOOKING FOR BRIDAL PACKAGE YET? ANY RECOMMENDATIONS? WAT ABOUT GOLDEN HORSE AWARDS, GRACEFUL IMAGE? SAW THEIR GOWNS IN THE MAGAZINES, QUITE NICE... ANY IDEA WAT THERE CHARGES ARE LIKE???

Have a nice day!

wannabebride

Hi Wannabebride,

Don't worry, there sure are a lot of normal ppl out there =)

Do u belive it! Both our parents are OK when we said we would like to go on honeymoon wedding & THAT's IT!

Somehow, my boy boy said we shld get our good frens & relatives & colleagues to "acknowledge" us so we shld at least hv a reception, and that's why i had in mind of a BBQ or buffet =0)

Suddenly, i also felt i shld coz a bride doesn't seem like one if you don't hv all the attention for ONE night right ? "*haha*

We'r keeping it simple .. but my priority is hopefully a outdoor one.

Hey, no need to held it at hotels or restaurants too, can held at country club, ie Orchid Ctry Club, heard there's a roof-top venue at The British Club, saw a newspaper article on a wedding dinner held at a pub !!

Don't despair, talk nicely with yr HTB ...

rgds

*sigh* looks like tonite i will skip exercise again.. hahaha... i have been skipping for so many days liao.. actually some nites before i sleep, i will do crunches and sit ups and push ups. Last few weeks i was sick, so i did not do them. Today shift office until me a bit blur blur already. And feel sick as the HQ here very packed, cubicle very small

I think i squeeze myself in and out of my cubicle will get me thin *grinzz*

Flowee jie,

me love chocolates and ice cream too *grinzzzz*

wannatobebride,

For wedding bands, just get a pair both of u are comfortable with. Need not spend too much on them

If spend too much, and rings too beautiful, u may not dare to wear it coz afraid the diamonds may not shine due to daily rain and shine. hahaha...

For bridal package, i signed up with Fame Bridal at Tampines. I heard that the customer service at Golden Horse is getting from bad to worse.

Wa flowee.. u look gd in the fotos! at last know how u look like... so tall n pretty...

ling,
I dunno abt yoga. i oni heard tt it improves blood circulation n helps to relax our minds. Philip Wain has it but i dunno gd or not.

well, the ntuc diet really is veri horrible.. i forced myself to take lo... had a terrible time cos can't eat my fav food. I made a vow tt aft the diet I'm nv gonna take it again! oways remind myself wen I eat 2 much!

naturally

i am sure ur mum koes wats the best 4 u...
its juz tat we might nt c eye 2 eye with our parents in certain issues...

i wld prefer a nice home 2 show off than a weddin dinner tat cost us a bomb...
my parents in law dun mind us 2 go 4 honeymoon weddin but my parents wana a decent weddin dinner...
glad tat my parents r understandin enough nt 2 wana 2 hold the dinner @ hotel ballrm, i am the onli one who is veri fond of the idea...
reality is cruel i gonna wake up from my childhood dreams since i can collect the keys 4 my love nest in 2wks time...
reno budget is the current major issue...

2molo will b the 1st lesson on nfp...
lookin 4ward 2 learn more abt women... :P