(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi pacific, thanks for the info

well its ok for the invitation card to be simple, but if it is really obiang then may have to consider printing them elsewhere and that will incur some costs. My colleague who recently had her wedding in a chinese restaurant, actually made her own menu and table number card cos' she said the original ones look really bad. So in the end, she had to spend extra money and extra work.

sunflower

the natural family planning course i was tokin abt is intro thru naturally...
its held within church premises...
as 4 the marriage preparation course, its held by fei yue centre...

as 4 x-zen, one of the gers i koe from sb forum she is with them....
they aint under my shortlisted bridal, i cant comment...
as 4 my bridal more or less settled with the one they did my rom outfit...

gers

sorie i got nothin 2 share on the banquets venues coz hvnt started with tt part...

since u say u had attend 2 wedding dinner there, maybe u can refer to the invitation card u rec. maybe it fm the hotel.

Actually are u looking at other hotel ?? or u had decided on plaza ??

HI Sunflower, mine is blk 64X facing the playground and garden. I chose it because there is no blockage in front of the blk. Anyway, really can't wait to be able to renovate and move it. That's why so happy to hear about the progress.

I have not started on serious "shopping" yet so can't contribute much. *paiseh* :P

hi sue,

hi flowee,

yup, placed the order with her.
white freesias and white/greenish roses wiith sala leaves, 60 bucks

she looks like a very nice lady

Hi flowee,

thanks for offering the details on the marriage prep course, but i won't be attending lah, 'cos hubby is quite uncomfortable with this kind of thing... my guy is near mid-30s, he says the participants will likely be younger chaps, and he won't fit in... anyway he doesn't think it's necessary lor, 'cos we know each other's pattern already, he's fussy, i'm chin chai, he's likes to lead, i like to follow...

But it shd be very interesting, esp for couples who are both shy to talk abt certain issues, like who manages financial matters, joint a/c or separate, how much jia1 yong4 to contribute, or even things like when to have a kid! Heard a bit from my catholic galfriend who attended similar course at her church, she really enjoyed it!

Btw, the 13 people attending nfp include spouse or not?? That's quite a big group, but i suppose she can handle since she confirmed the appointment...
And if she asks abt who recommended u, she doesn't know my english name, just say i'm a grateful student! Happy learning!

tiara,
Just to let u know, wat i did was to check the hotels' email adresses thru the internet, then send mass-email to enquire abt their package (bcc of cos), then i just wait to be flooded with quotations lor, hee!
Give it a try, or if u face problems, then give me your email address, i'll send my quotes to u then, okie?

ava,
Hi there!

Yah sunflower, we have long collected our keys since early this year..but quite busy wif work thus drag until now then source for reno contractors..moreover my HB on biz trip now so have to drag again! :p

you mentioned MC rate is $530 & $560 on weekday? this year or next year? coz my fren got a quotation indicating $540 & $580 leh..for next year till Auguest 2003. That's why I am curious what is the rate for MC after August 2003.

One thing not good abt MC is the seat covers are not FOC rite? anybody nego successfully for FOC seat covers with MC??

Hi pacific, unfortunately, I did not keep the invitation cards. Plaza Hotel would likely be the one cos' I have a fairly small guest list <300 and budget about $600 - $650 per table (taxes inclusive). Therefore, not many choices to choose from. I am thinking of meeting up with them some time in July and August and is all is ok, I will probably sign up with them.

hi flowee,
ic, i guess the marriage prep. course must be quite interesting.
------------------------------------------------
Hi Lilac,
i think i 'aga aga' know where your block is.
there is oso child care and resident center below rite. I wanted to choose tat few blocks but all got selected
at my time of selection. You are lucky!
------------------------------------------------
Hi Wy,
so sorrie, forgot to add tat the price i mention is valid till end August 2003 only!

i've yet to talk to MC yet. Trying to fix an appt with them too....
-------------------------------------------------

wrote to CHIJMES, still got no reply yet! they are the slowest amongst all tat i sent....hmmm wonder if the banquet manager have left. Still lazy to call them up yet.....
:P

Hi Lilac, me also got the same budget and no. of guest as u
and i agree wif u not many choices to choose from.

Did u make inquiry at "Hotel Grand Central" and "Excelsior Hotel" think they got $400+ package if u dun mind their enviroment and surrounding.

Think i will be booking mine at Holiday Inn.

Hi sunflower

Thanks! I have done quite a bit of research on the hotel venues, it's the bridal boutique that I can't decide, but then again I am too early for that isn't it?

Hi naturally

I tried emailing Charlton twice but no reply from them at all - wonder why they set up an electronic link then. So, I am not considering them at all (also due to what I saw over the weekend at the hotel). I've actually placed a tentative booking with MM, just tot I will take a look at Charlton package since it looks quite nice after the reno

Gals, any of you having a church wedding? Hope to be able to share some ideas with each other

Take Care all

sunflower,
forgot to reply to your earlier posting...
We'll most prob be there on sun too, thomas suggested we view the place by ourselves at abt 5pm, he'll contact us again on next mon. Yeah, we may bump into each other, let's see if i have enough sixth sense to identify u! haha!

oh, i mention nfp as it is a healthier alternative to taking contraceptive pills, in addition, knowing exactly when u're fertile also helps u to plan when u want to conceive. Quite KPO lah, but then i was puzzled how come nobody mention it at all, at least the catholics would know wat, since their religion forbades artificial contraceptive methods like condoms... i concluded catholics don't browse thru threads containing words such as "birth pills", "condoms" etc...!

Didn't ask from chijmes, so can't pass u the quotes... as for merchant court, better call them now for an appt if interested... they are very very hot!

tiara,
U can view carlton's package for 2002 at their website, they have openly placed even their menu there, prob the only hotel that did that!

For 2003, maybe add 2% more for GST.

Wy

i was told by Jennifer of Merchant court the pricing will b an additional of $20 per table 4 the mth of nov/dec 2003...
: $530 &amp; $560 per table for Weekdays
(Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays)
Minimum of 35 tables of 10 persons each
: $620 &amp; $650 per table for Weekends
(Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Eves of Public Holidays and Public Holidays)
Minimum of 38 tables of 10 persons each
Prices are subject to 10% service charge and prevailing government taxes including GST
even if we were 2 book nw, they aint goin 2 waive on the extra 2% gst 4 yr 2003...

they wont negiotate on any extra items coz MC is a hot place 2 hold weddin dinner...
the mgmt aint worried abt no couples bookin them 4 their weddin banquet...
they r one of the hotels with onli 1 ballrm...
ur guests wont attend the wrong weddin dinner...

tiara

i hv the pricin list 4 Carlton Hotel Singapore...
can 4ward 2 u if u wana it...
as 4 bridal stuff, 4 mtm gowns u can sign up 9mths b4...
otr 6mths b4 ur intended date...

naturally

my guy also dun keen 2 go 4 the marriage preparation course...
i dun mind attendin...
nvr lor c how things go then...

as 4 the nfp, its 5 couples &amp; 3 ladies ( romed by hubby aint headin with them )...

sunflower

u r also interested in Merchant court???
u hv a weddin date oredi???

tiara,
i will most probably do research on bridal packages end of year. see how things goes, as what flowee said as long as its within 6mths grace should be all rite huh? maybe allow at least 9 months grace would be better.

So you are shortlisting Carlton? looking at any other ballrooms?

naturally,
i'll be there around 4pm late noon oso,....
most prob we might bump into each other. give me a wink if u think u see me lah!

Flowee,
i'm shortlisting fullerton as the top priorty, Merchant court is one of the list oso....see how things goes with fullerton first ...haven't got the quotes from CHIJMES oso,...gotta do comparison first....
Wedding date have not been set yet,...preferred date would be @ Nov 2003....
yeah MC is very hot,...i think they are not so worried that they cannot get any couples to book with them.

sunflower

Hi flowee

Thanks! Yah, I think I will start my bridal boutique shopping after CNY next year
I will not consider Carlton anymore, thanks though flowee for offering

sunflower

No, Carlton is not on my shortlist. Fiance likes MM but I am still dreaming about 4 Seasons

Hi sunflower,

Just look out for the girl who keeps winking at everybody! hahaha!

But i'll prob be later, not meeting any manager so can take own sweet time!

flowee,
marriage prep course must go as a couple right? Else no point leh... but nfp can go alone, it's after all a girl thing, but guys can learn to read charts also, so that when their wife say today cannot, they know if it's true!!

Aiyah, never rom also can go, she ain't gonna treat u like a catholic and scold u for having premarital sex, don't worry! Me also went with galfriend b4 rom...

I've been to Carlton this May and the ballroom looks not too bad.

I think it can hold 30+ tables but it's quite cramp... more comfortable if its abt 25 tables

The reception area for cocktails can get a little crowded before dinner if the guest hang around for too long.

Food &amp; Service not to bad
no complaints

Overall, quite good for 25 tables banquet

Today I'll be going to Four Seasons
also my dream venue ;p

I am also planning to have my wedding in Sept 2003 but understand that the tong shu is not out yet, so can't settle on a good date yet. It seems like some of u here have managed to get a date? May I know how?

There r gonna be so many things to prepare as the mths flies but my FH and I r not sure where to really get started. We have only discussed on going bridal shopping next mth cox' he's bz with work. Banquet venue also not fixed...wow it's interesting to hear some of u here r already going to book a banquet venue. Can I check has anyone attended a small ceremony in Alkaff Mansion b4? We r planning to have a personalised ceremony there with just immediate family and close friends.

Or does anyone has suugestions on a good venue for abt 15-20 tables? Would appreciate any inputs. Tks,

yan yan

By the way, Sept 2003 and PUNGGOL 21 brides-to-be out there, my new flat will also be in Punggol 21!

yan yan

Hi Sunflower and Naturally,

don't know you saw my posting under one of the PG21 thread about the recreational site near our place. I bought a new street directory and our blks are all there and in our area, there is a site marked as "future recreational site", I guess it could be reserved for a swimming / sports complex. Could be a Safra or NTUC club too. Happy? :P

lilac,

REALLY huh!
Tat will be great!
Do u think those blocks within our vicinity facing towards Coney island are able to see the sea view? I tot of choosing that few, but i tot might be blocked by future developments of condo near the sea area.
our area are quite near to the sea, planning to buy bicycle already!

searching for the P21 thread, cannot find the thread u mention *blur liao*

sunflower

I may be a Dec 03 bride too... just maybe.

Why Maybe?? Let me tell you why... it really sounds silly.

The story goes like this...

Well, my bf and I attended a wedding show/reception at one of the hotels. The catch is that for those who sign up for their wedding reception on the day itself, stands to win a wedding gown worth $ 5000. So the both of us, after some "ini mini mani mo", signed up. We do not have a date in mind of course.... coz we never really seriously talked about "wedding"....and never thought of having a wedding dinner. But We had to put a date down no matter what... so we settled for the last sunday of the year- 28-12-2003.

Well, I told my bf that we have to be prepared to lose the deposit - $ 4000 ... cos we didn't plan for the wedding in year 2003 in the first place.

It was pretty exciting when we signed up... but now that the heat has cooled ,we are back to 'earth'... no concrete plans or action done yet...we will cross the bridge when we come to it.

We were really silly to make such a big commitment.

And we didn't win the gown, of course!

lilac, sunflower,
Great!

Have not gone swimming for so long, wonder if i still remember?? ha!

wanabe,
gee... $4000 on the spot, u must be really impressed with the hotel, or was it the lucky draw prize they were dangling in front of u? heehee! So where are u holding the banquet?
~singing congratulations and celebrations... !

kpo a bit here...

sunflower,
i have booked with Chijmes for my wedding next july..
The rates are available on http://www.chijmes.com.sg/
Look for Lilian... my FH can click with her but no me...hee hee..

wannabebride,
don't worry, u will look forward to planning next year ya...

hi lilac, flowee...

hi cherubies,
so glad
tat someone is booking with CHIJMES...been looking...coz been trying to reach lilian but always couldn't get her on the phone.

Tks for the info on the website, i've been there...i would like to know more about the hidden cost and such.

Are you holding a sit down dinner there or juz a lunch reception? care to share?

I've juz email Grand Haytt...waiting for their reply. coz they are one of their offical caterers.....

sunflower

sunflower

i din shortlist fullerton coz of my budget constraint...
will concentrate in my hse reno than the bridal &amp; banquet 4 the comin mths...

tiara

no prob...
MM food nt bad furthermore they r one of those hotel offerin a 9 course dinner instead of a 8 course on a wkdaz...
4 season is a great place 2 hold weddin banquet...
i like the ambience...

naturally

yup the marriage preparation course is meant 4 a couple 2 attend 2gether...
he will b attendin the nfp with mi...
no lah juz tellin u tat the grp attendin r all romed or married with kids no other meanin... :P

wannabebride

r u intendin 2 get married in 2003 since u oredi booked the package???
28th dec 2003 is one of dates i had shortlisted...

HI yan yan,

you can consider:

Regent
Traders
Raffles
Mandarin Orchard
Oriental
Hyatt
Four Seasons

I'm looking for abt 15 tables...and has been searching and looking for 3 months already...;-)

Now probably deciding between Raffles and Four Seasons...

Hi sunflower,

hee hee, lilian is very busy...=0P

my FH spent like half an aft just trying to get her...
as far as we noe, no hidden cost other than that on the web site... the hidden cost will come from the caterer... and if u use caterer or florist other than the designated one...when i get the contract, will share with you (cos contract only comes one month after paying the deposit)...

my FH understands that popular dates such as first 3 mths of next year are taken up. so i forsee that once the tongshu comes out the dates for the later part of next year would be taken up quickly... so "jia you" ya...

i'm having a church wedding lunch reception there, have not decided the caterer...

flowee,
me "peng san" and slept alot...
better now, but stil have my headaches...
will be on leave next week to recuperate...
talk to u soon...

Hi girls, 28 Dec is a good date leh....hehehe....cos' its my b'day....*paiseh* Anyway, for those we choose a date too near to Christmas, you may want to think twice cos' usually people like to take long leave and go away for that week. *Juz a thought*

Sunflower, I think I posted about the recreational site under the PG21 Blk 2XX thread. There are also some girls there who are staying in our area.

Naturally, can start practising your swimming skills now and by then you will be expert already.
As I was telling the other girls, we are like living in condo, if the swimming pool in juz a few blks away.:P

Hi pacific, how's the rate like for Holiday Inn? IS the ballroom nice?

Hi Yan Yan, so which part of PG21 r u in?

So KK, you have signed up with Plaza Hotel already?

Hi Sharon,
I've sent to u already. Pls check yr email.

Hi SLK,
yah, it's nice that we happen to be in the same thread again. hope to see u at the next outing!

I missed it the last time.

May I know who sign up with BV? How's their package like? I try not to exceed $5000 for the bridal package if possible.

Hi Flowee,
I'm impressed with JWN but tot of looking around before putting my deposit with them. I made an appt with BV this Sat already. My wedding will be on 25 May so still got time.
I can only reply to all of u at night because I can't access internet at work. Can only talk thru email.

good morning!

liliac,
finally found the P21 thread.....
wah so many postings....read until i blur.
Great to see so many ppl there,..should be a fun town to live in!

cherubies,
thanks for the info,...yeah. still waiting for chijmes and grand haytt to reply.....
they sure take their own sweet time......

flowee,
spoke to the banquet manager of MC, he say there's still available weekends slots for end of next year.
i think they are quite strict on the MIN 38 table policy......will be meeting him soon, see whats the offer.....hopefully they are flexible...coz i'm not thinking of more than 35 tables

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
did anyone buy the last copy of HER WORLD BRIDES? The pink cover one?
i personally like the cover gals make up.....quite sweet colors.

The new copy is out too....
new.gif

some of the gowns featured there quite nice.....

Hi Sept03, tks..that was a great help...I might go into the individual forums for the mentioned hotels and check the comments out.

Hi Lilac, my segment is one of those millenium series one (that's what the HDB officer told me). 600+ blks. r u also a Punggol21 bride?

yan yan

Morning all!

sunflower, i just got the grand hyatt quotation, if u still don't hear from them, can get from me.

lilac, found the thread u were talking abt... how come u gals were discussing blk 6XX under blk2XX thread? hee, but i see the 2XX people are coming back to that thread...
Yeah, p21 town is like a huge condo right? heehee! U mean can see p21 layout on the new street directory? Are our blks marked out already? I've forgotten where is my blk already... Maybe i shd buy one during lunch time today...

Weekend's coming!

Any January 03 brides out there? Saw a lot of postings for Dec 02 brides but didn't see one of Jan 03. Thought we might be able to share wedding prep experiences. ;-)

Bluebonnet

Hi bluebonnet,

I'm a Jan 03 bride too. My wedding day will be on 24 January 2003, Friday. What about urs?

I have booked my bridal package with J&amp;C Collections and banquet at Merchant Court Hotel! What about u?

Glad that someone finally started a thread for Jan 03 brides!

Hi naturally, ya all the blk are marked out already. You can also see the proposed site for other public facilities. I think just across the street from our place, there will be a shopping centre near the blk 120+ . If you are getting the directory, try to get the new one that is about A4 size and with the maps in colour.

Hope all of you had a great morning!

Hmm Naturally,

Yep, I was both impressed with the location and of course the prize has got the pulling factor.

I kinda regret it as soon as i got home and the excitement kinda settle down.... cos when i signed up, I knew very well... the food really sucks for the price that they're charging.

It was really a rash decision. I was captivated by the perfect romantic wedding picture i had in my head... and the hotel ambience definitely masures up to it ... but it all comes at EXTRA COSTS.

It was the first hotel "wedding show" we attended. Originally, I had Goodwood Park in mind... for the romantic feeling it gives me ( remember i want a romantic wedding.. like a knight in a shining armour from a long time ago - GLory of love by Chicago ).. tho' i've not been there to check it out yet.
But one thing for sure, the food is BETTER.

Cherubies,

Right now, I'm still clueless bout how to go about preparing or wat to prepare. I definitely have alot to learn from all of you.

Wat do you all suggest .... wedding package, make up ...etc.... Pls give me some advice.

Well, one thing I'm very sure, my bf and I will get into lots of tension &amp; fights cos MONEY is a major concern now. And also, we don't seem to see eye to eye... coz my ideas are often too ' fairy tale' to him.

Flowee,

Like wat i've mentioned before, because everything was unplanned... so we really have no idea how things will turn out.

One thing, we have not gotten our flat yet. Now that the RFS system is no longer available and the BTO( punggol ) taking place only in the 4th Quarter, we have no place to stay.

Well, tentatively, we leave our options open.... hoping that everything will fall into place naturally.

28th Dec 2003 is the date we are looking at now - cos of the banquet we have signed up but then we had negotiated with them, to give us the allowance of deferring the banquet up till Feb 2004.

You have shortlisted that date too - any idea if it is an auspicious date??? My bf wants to check it out first - cos he's 'pang dang' - but the chinese almanc is not out yet.

Ha Ha... I haven't even break the news to my mum yet...shhhhh!

Have a great day ahead!

Hello Ladies!

Four Seasons was nice

Billy the mgr was nice also.
But they are really very infelxible :> cant get freebie ;p
Wished I had known abt their wedding promotion in April 5% off and free flow wine!

Overall, Four Seasons will deliver wht. you've paid for

WannbeBride:
Food at Goodwood is nice?

lilac,
thanks for the advice, but couldn't find any street directories for sale near my office! Will try later... don't know if they allow me to browse without buying! hee!

sunflower,
tried your streetdirectory.com link, my blk not there leh... mine is 645, meaning my flat will not be ready so soon?? never mind lor, then got more time to do research... self-consolation...

And dear wannabebride,
Impromptu acts are so exciting!

But u must have thought abt marrying already, else u won't be attending a bridal fair right? Or really happened to "innocently" pass by? :p

No point regreting lah, unless u want to forfeit the $4000... wah, i also feel the pinch for u... Foodwise, well, look at it this way, u won't be eating much of it anyway!

First thing though, before u rush into getting bridal gowns and fairy tale fantasies, u have to settle some down-to-earth issues... let your parents know, find a place to stay after wedding. Well, shdn't be that shocking to your parents lah, marriageble age already wat!
don't tell me they don't know u have a bf?? :pp

ava,
got your mind set on four seasons then? congrats!

Sue

woman aka eileen she signed up with BV last sat after their show...
accordin 2 her, the package is $4980 with 20 pcs pixs onli...
4 addition pixs nt sure abt the price...
since u r headin 2 BV this wkend, u can check them out urself...

oink

when SLK invites mi 2 her place i will let u koe ok... :P