(2003) Brides of year 2003

Greetings June 03 brides. I'm new to this forum, and Ive booked 28th June 2003 at The Regent. My church solemnization will take place on the same day.

Wah! Most of you seem to be so organised. *stress*. I haven't even booked my package yet. After reading this forum, I'm getting a little confused - so many bridal shops to choose from.

Do you think it is better to go for all-in-one package or to source for the gowns separately from the photoshoot etc?? Is it more costly that way?

Hope that we can share more as the DAY draws nearer. I'm quite excited to find other June 03 brides.

Love and regards to all!

helo Yi,

I agree with you totally. lots of ideas but not practical. initially, i was still bent on doing it, but slowly slowly tot more about the practicality. still, i think my reno will still cost a bomb. u got "theme" for ur reno?

yap, i shd be doing a walk-in. at first wanted a really HUGE one... hehe, abt half the master bedroom. now i think smaller.. and that saved me $1k...

where's your love nest??

Hi Yi,

Apr/May wld be nice for Europe. Can book during travel fair in Feb 2003. Better deals. I sound like a travel agent huh? Fret not, I am not one :P

Hi Tarsier,

Initially was like a snail train. Then bang, selected the flat during last month's walk-in at CCK. After that has been a roller coaster.

Fortunately, my FH and I are quite decisive, not much ding dong.

We have got the wedding bands, ID company, wedding package, actual day photographer, etc.

Now is just neatening the nitty gritty details.

Magazine home furnishing looks good and cosy. But they are like showrooms at the end of the day. Must have a liveable love nest huh, gals.

I have to keep reminding myself " be practical, think long term" when we were flipping them thru for ideas for our new place.

Keep in touch

Hi Tarsier,

Ya lor, me look at magazine very nice but ask ID and find that itz so expensive to do so forgo lor! Initially, set S$30k for reno but end up spending about 2-3k more!

Me dun really have any theme for my love nest but end up looking abit zen look! Whatever it is, as long as cozy will do rite? Whatz your theme then?

My walk-in wardrobe is real big, half of my master bedroom coz I hacked two rooms to one!

My love nest is in Jurong West. Wherez yours?

Hi Lyne,

Thanks for your advice.

You are rite about the magazine concepts. But on the otherhand, they really looks so nice hor! Have been wondering that such magazine ideas are only suitable for those filthy rich who can spend alot on their reno. With my small budget, can't really accomodate the concepts!

But a love nest must be a place that both parties feel cozy and comfortable in which is most important!

In my case, hubby is the logical one whereas I'm the emotional type. Even until now, I'm still flipping home & decor magazine although my love nest is already done up!

So when you starting your reno?

Hi Yi,

Mine in Wdlds, not that far from u...hehe (frens always say wdlds very ulu). mine is resort style... cos me and FH always go bintan, phuket, tioman, bali that type of places for hols... so resort seemed like a nice theme.. maybe u can see it on mag, cos the ID coy says wants to put our flat on mag... but end of the year...

i also hacked two-rooms into one... more space to move. when will your reno be ready? can i go take a look? : )

Lyne,
which is your wedding package? where's your dinner?

Hi Tarsier,

My ID also wants to place my house reno on magazine but coz hez very busy nowadays, haven't got the time to get the photographer to come!

My reno completed already! It was completed in Dec 02/Jan 03. Now, me and hubby treat it as a chalet during weekends and PHs.

Really love the idea of owning my own house coz I can experiment in the kitchen! Sure, of course you can take a look but I'm only there on either Wed or Thursdays and the weekends. You let me know lah!

Me and hubby chose Jurong coz hubby's house in Jurong but my hse in Central leh so now very far from my parents!

Never tot of choosing other places coz hubby hate Punggol and Sengkang coz he says very inaccessible in driving etc! Myself, I dun really like Sembawang. Was considering Choa Chu Kang and Bukit Panjang but decided on Jurong coz therez a unit near MRT station and the Jurong Point!

gd sat mornin gers

tinki, mei

the skin doc address is as follow:
Maple Clinic
Blk 825, Tampine Street 81, #01-64, S'pore 520825
Tel: 6783 9038
remember 2 call b4 hand ask if the skin doc ( she is doc ong ) is ard or nt...
she will b on holidaz from 17th onwards of this mth...
better call up 2 check b4 headin dn 2 the clinic...

elaine

i used 2 b with the skin clinic when i was younger...
stop visitin them coz dun c muz effect...
had been with this doc 4 sometime...
but the outbreak still comes from time 2 time due 2 the unbalance hormones...
reali hates it when my face is red with blemish & pimple scar...
tat's y i seldom put on make-up coz it will make the skin prob worst...

kk

u used white lily 4 ur rom???
seldom ppl chose lilies 4 rom due 2 their size...
i used calla lilies which is of a smaller version...
the effect is gd 2...

groom2003

u need a florist???
i can recommend u mine...
they r located @ miramar hotel 2nd sty...
u can pick up ur bouquet on ur way 2 the rom vicnity...
perhaps u can consider usin white calla lilies...
veri elegant also but commonli seen among brides those dazs...

guys & gers

last nite when 4 my 1st lesson on natural family planning...
veri interestin topics 4 us newli wedded...
its abt chartin our mucus, understandin when r we ovulatin, when is the peak period of our ovulation, when is the 'do get baby period', etc...
anyone interested 2 find out more abt it???

Hi flowee,

Me use white calla lilies for my ROM too! Thatz my fav flowers!

As for the natural family planning, I really want to know more!

yi

u can contact Teresa @ 9876 1311 2 find out more on the nfp or i can 4ward 2 u the infor when i get 2 office on mon...
lesson in the west r held on fri nite @ holy cross @ clementi ave 1 from 7:30pm...
patrick ( teresa's hubby ) & herself r volunteerin 2 share their knowledge on nfp...
no course fee required juz $5 on material fee...

1st lesson is 2 make us understand the basic chartin system...
subsequent lesson will b monitorin ur own charts & she will discuss more with individual couple...
she will fixed an appt with 2 couples( max )4 an appt if u comfortable with another couple frenz of urs koein abt ur personal stuff...
if nt 1 couple 2 a slot...

ask ur hubby join u in class coz its veri interestin 4 our hubby 2 koe more abt woman biology system...
he can help u with the chartin 2...
Teresa was sayin more 'accurate'... :P

amber she's with mi last nite 4 the course...
perhaps u can gather some of the 2003 brides 2 attend 2gether...

wat say u gers???

so many messages in one morning!

Hi Lyne, welcome! Can see that your preps are going on well even though the wedding date is brought forward!

Yi, better look for the shoes now, if not you still have time to "tailor-made" the shoes at Leaping Lizard. They take about one month to make the shoes. Do go to Tangs & Taka to take a look!

My nest not settled yet - but it should be at Ang Mo Kio or Yio Chu Kang area. Looks like walk-in warerobe is popular....however my hubby doesn't want it cos' he thinks it's not practical...
...sigh... anyway then he has to make sure that there are enough cupboards to house my stuff...but I'm not moving all my things over to my new home.

Yi,
U mean your hse was ready in Dec 01/Jan 02...? really can go see? which part of jurong is it?

Nancy,
Walk-in is actually quite practically cos can dump EVERYTHING into the wardrobe and close the door... hehe. got a fren who also said that its good to house evrything, including luggage bags and stuff in. still can consider.
Your nest not settled? getting re-sale issit?

Flowee jie,

the family planning stuff pretty interesting

Hee..maybe mine is callas lilies too. Coz also small version

Wow! Quite a few Jan 03 brides. ;-) Pai seh...started the thread and went MIA.

Yi,
My wedding is on Jan 04. Dinner will be held at Regent Hotel. My mother-in-law really like the wedding coordinator and food at Regent. Have not booked bridal package or photography yet. I like Ray Ong's pictures too. Still scouting around. Thinking of Monica Eng for actual day. As for the wedding gown, thinking of just picking one off the shelf. Do you think they can alter it and have it ready in one month? Kinda apprehensive about MTM since you never know how it will turn out.

Tarsier,
Seems like ROM and wedding on the same day should be alright if you don't have a church wedding or major 'guo da lian" stuff to do. It does make wedding anniversary date simpler having ROM date and wedding date on the same day. ;-)

Bluebonnet

Hi Yi & Tasier.

One in Woodlands, one in Jurong And I am in CCK. Bermuda Triangle..haha..

Walk-in sounds good. But I want all my bedrooms in tact & so unable to do it

Anyway, I will get me keys either in late Jul or early Aug. Estimate about 2 months to do the reno. 2 weeks to clean and move in the furniture.
By then wld be abt Nov. Wedding in Jan...so the hse will be empty for a while.

My wedding package is with Everbliss @ Marina Sq. That was the only place I went to.

Dinner is at Hotel Otani - the only place I went to also. Don't know why but the place just appeals to me.

I am having a Church wedding, followed by a lunch reception and dinner all on the same day. Wow...superwoman huh? hee hee

Hi Nancy,

As you can see again. I have done quite a lot in a month :P

Happy hunting for ur ideal place.

hi Julia Andrew

I am a Sept 03 bride. I am thinking of holding my wedding dinner at grand hyatt. how was the food there?

flowee,
One diamond ring per baby????? if need a few ring than must work hard

tung lok closin down a few branch in HK lah not in Singapore. In Singapore they earn till crazy.

For the void deck wedding maybe my FW just say say only if really happen she might not want it

Dear sunflower, lilac, dew, and other punggolers,

Yesterday we drove by our site, progress for my blk is 14th floors already!
The rest are at least 8 floors done... But sunflower's precinct even better, all painted already and i even saw one blk with the scaffolding taken off! (is tat wat they call the green netting around the blks?) Sunflower, u're definitely gonna get your keys earlier than us!

Just a wild thot, for windows facing west or north-west, u think we can see pulau ubin???

Hi Visitor

Hv not gone for my food tasting yet but my friend just have her wedding there. Apparently, the food was ok compare to other hotels.

Sorry, can't comment much at the mom. I just went 2 check on the bridal suite, was a bit dissappointing. You probably want to view the room and do something about it.

Hi 2003groom,
so i wasn't hearing things... heehee, it's hk tung lok restaurents tat's closing, not sgp ones... sorry for the false alarm, ladies! (and gentleman)

hi ladies .....
back in action!

Been busy for end of last week....

Juz finish browsing thru the postings....wow!! so much have been said about diamonds and fairy tale weddings......i guess the most import. thing is both couple enjoyed the process of preparing of their wedding,...be it small scale or lavish one, and remember it for the rest of their lives....

hi flowee,
Just to recommend one resturant i attended wedding dinner recently,....Ocean orient....at Miramar hotel....find tat its not bad....i think the banquet price is resonable and ambience is good oso. Think can take 40 tables.. Take a look here...http://www.theweddingfair.com/new/wedding_mall/restaurants/res_orient.htm

Lilac, the wedding dinner i attended also played jazz music....did we attend the same wedding dinner??

Hi dew,
my blk faces the carpark roof garden, not the LRT.....

Naturally,
tks for the info on the building development.......mi blk cannot see the islands leh..
face carpark roof garden......

Hi flowee,

Thanks for the info. U went with your hubby too? Must have njoy yourself rite?

Hi Gers,

Hiaz! Start of a new week again!

Hey sunflower, got such a nice garden view and still frown?? I think i'll prefer greenery anytime! Just a little amused that i'm gonna stay so far on the outskirts that i may actually see pulau ubin!!

Btw, i don't have fond memories of that place, camped there in my NPCC days, all that mosquitoes and ghost stories spoked me lots! Maybe i'll just draw the blinds next time!

Hi Nancy,

Thanks for your reminder! But hubby has been very busy at work to accompany me for shoes-hunting leh! My colleague also just went to Leaping Lizard to tailor-made a pair of wedding shoes at S$89. Think itz quite worth it lah hor!

You getting a resale flat? Ang Mo Kio very expensive area leh!

As for the walk-in wardrobe, itz very practical wat coz of itz bigger space than normal wardrobe, you can store shoes, luggage etc inside there! And most importantly, nobody can see it! As for me, instead of a door, I tailor-made a curtain-like cloth to cover the entrance!

Hi Tarsier,

Yeap, my house was really in Dec 01/Jan 02. Of coz you can come and see it! My love nest is very near to the Boon Lay MRT Station/Jurong Point! You let me know lah!

Hi bluebonnet,

Think you better search early for your gowns. They need time to alter and you need to go for about 2-3 fittings before photoshoot and there will also be a trial make-up session too!

My gowns are all MTM coz I trust the designer!

Hi Lyne,

Oh, so your love nest in CCK, very near my love nest hor!

We decided to hack 2 rooms into 1 because the masterbed room is really very small so might as well since PIL not staying with us! After hacking, the designer say can have a very bid walk-in wardrobe so why not coz I have got lotsa of clothes, shoes, bags etc! Hubby let me decide on the reno things coz hez easy with the things I like!

hi naturally,
yeah, but island view is definately better view than garden rite....
i tot of choosing those facing LRT,....might even get a chance to view the islands....but hor......no more high units left,..so decided to choose one that face garden, not so bad oso lah.....

btw, i guess the sea view most prob. will be blocked by future condo. developments along the coastal area......

You all seen the Open Sesame Interior Design Show on Channel U last nite? Saw the 3 apartments? All very nicely done up hor!

But me and sis were commenting that although the apartments are all done up very modern and nice, itz not reallt practical if with kids! What do you all think?

BTW, did anyone of you get any ideas from this show?

Thanks for all your advise. I have tentatively reserve 1st of June with a hotel but we could not get a date till my FH's brother fixed his. Theirs is in mid Nov 02.

Now I'm worried as they left all arrangement to their dad and he had chosen a cheena restaurant.

I had in the contrary wanted a hotel venue but cannot too expensive in case his dad complain. As such, I'm in a diliema. If i were to hold it in a cheena restaurant then I would rather not hold a wedding banquet!!!

I had wanted my wedding to be on the 23 Mar but could not confirm as his dad would want to consult his "SHIFU".

So i've only so far confirm on my bridal pkg.

Thank you all Nov/Dec 2003Brides&Bridegroom,

It's a lot more comforting after hearing the real 'facts' from real people like all of you here.

Bridegroom2003
1/2 - 1 mth of FH sal? Some guys are earng >$5K, while some are earng half of that...!!!!!
But I'm really appreciate/glad that he'd actually bought the ring >2 yrs ago w/out my knowledge....meant to be a surprise but he couldn't contain it... he let leaked the secret. Till now, I haven't had a hold of it, though i've seen it...cos he wasn't successfully with his proposal back then.

All in all, i guess alot of our wants are being shaped by our own backgrounds and influenced by pple around us.
My FH comes from a v.very humble background, while i come from a middle income family.
While most of my friends' otherhalf either holds a higher edu level than em or comes from well-to-do fam, mine has a lower edu level than me.

Our standards of living and lifestyles was and still is completely different.
So wat seemed a normal wedding to me then, now seems 'lavish'.

Flowee,
Jus FYI, Orient Ocean can take quite a few tables. if I'm not mistaken, my friend actually had abt 58 tables there. She had the whole restuarant for her wedding. However, we went to the restaurant for dinner once, there happened to hv a wedding dinner that nite ( we din kno til half way thru our dinner )... it was quite awkward when we actually 'cross paths' with the couple during their marching in ( cos there's only one entrance and our really bad timing ).
THe price for a wkend dinner is abt $ 450 nett.. I do have a 10% discount card.

kk,
i read alot of comments abt eir bad services too.
kinda 'shaken', dunno to drop em frm my list or wat???
I went to IMM 2 wks ago, the guy at Focus was very good... even my FH was impressed. I would have considered them if not for their photo-effects.

Yi,

I never get any ideas from the open sesame show. hahaa... one thing is they are not really pratical. If i have done up my place like that, my mum will say i am siao.. hahaa...

And looks like those pple sometimes spend a lot... yesterday the third participant spend $90000+++++ on the renovation!!

Girls,

Just to inform you that do not open the file in the brides2003 group sent by hfng05. it contain the worm32 virus.

Yi,

I have watched the open sesame. the houses are all very nices. However, I caught only the last two houses. I like the wardrobe of the second house.
But for hte third house, It is too exagerated to have such a big room for warerobe. However, if i have the space, i wouldn't mind.

Hopefully, after we got married, we will be able to buy a 5+1 rm house. Then one of the room can be wardrobe.

Flowee,

the course like very interesting hoh. I will call theresa later in the day. thanks for your infor. think I have to attend along since my bf so busy with his work.

wannabebride,

I heard that the bridal shops at IMM are not stable and they may be shifting out anytime due to poor business. I dun know how true it is.
But location wise, i think quite far for us, so we did not choose any shop at IMM. We did visited them and we even spent a long time at Easac.

Golden Horse can be very expensive too, besides poor cust service.

Hi kk,

Yeap, these people loaded man! S$90K on reno! But one thing cannot deny is their house really nicely done up hor?

The 3rd participant seems to have totally change the structure of the house hor! Hiaz, its so good to have a bigger budget to work on reno!

Thanks for your info!

Yeap, their toilet all very nicely done up and concealed hor!

I dun really like the 3rd hse wardrobe though coz looks like a locker room in a gym! Not homely enuf! Dun need entire room become wardrobe lah, me now have half a room sized walk-in wardrobe which I think big enuf liao!

The 2nd house very clean and white hor! Really refreshed! My house is a total opposite with most furniture in wenge coz easier to maintain! Me lazy mah!

kk,

I tot Golden Horse would be in the middle range, since it's located in the HDB area. Also, the customer service is of utmost importance to me, so i'll definitely keep your 'warnings' in mind.

I heard so many good comments abt Silhoutte, Bridal Veil, etc but there are expensive i know.
Thinking GHA and GI will be a cheaper choice since they are not in the upmarket locations.

Focus at IMM is rather ok i thnk lor. anyway, IMM is really far for us too.

I'll just 'look see look see' and try read more abt the bridal boutiques in the forums. anyway, its still a long long way to goooooo.

So, when's ur big day???

Hi Naturally, thanks for the update. Happy to hear at least some news for our area. So is the road around the area is muddy and rocky? Maybe would want to go and see see look look also.

Hi Sunflower, the restaurant where the wedding was held is Orient Ocean. Is that the same one you attended?

Lately cannot come in some often liao, cos' got exams but will try to pop by once in a while

Hello Annmelody,

You can try having the wedding at a number of country clubs where the banquet prices are comparable to a Chinese Rest. I've been taking a look at the Republic of Singapore Yatch Club, Punggol Marina and a few others.
Also check out Imperium... a new Tung Lok's new rest at Ngee Ann City.. you can call them at 6733 9833

A friend says that the food is excellent!

gd mon afternn gers

hv 2 rush up 4 a submission 2 authority by end of this wk...
droppin by 2 reply ur postings...

yi

yes we had fun durin the nfp course...
gonna do my chartin from then onwards...
will b meetin teresa in 2 wks time 2 review the results...

i reckon u will enrol 4 it rite???
brin ur hubby along coz its educatin 4 them also...
teresa & patrick r veri nice ppl they will make u guys feel @ ease...

yi, kk & ling

mi aint reali in2 retro design dun reali koe how 2 appreciate the design but i do like the bedrm of the 1st flat the one with the louvres as a partition between the bedrm & the bedrm...
it has a take a peep effect...

the 2nd hse 2 white & cool i cant reali stand the coldness within it but like the door 2 the master toilet the one with a lot of posters on it...

as 4 the 3rd hse, i like the well designed sofa servin as a cosy area in the livin...
the older version of 5 rm flat r muz bigger if they dun require tat rm they r able 2 convert it in2 a walk-in wardrobe...

Annmelody,

understand from my mil if 2 siblings r gettin married near each other u need 2 hold it 3 or 4mths away from each other...
if ur FH's brother is in mid nov 02, urs can b in mid mar 03 afterwards...
if ur fh is agreeable 2 chose a date u guys like then u can go ahead with ur preparations...

thought u mentioned abt reserve a date with a hotel oredi???
how come u afraid of ur fil arrangin ur weddin banquet???

i used 2 hv the same thinkin like u...
if hv my banquet in a cheena restaurant i wont even wana a dinner...
i koe its due 2 peer pressure or the lavish weddin mentioned in sb forum tat makes mi wana those 2...
but then again from the way we approach the issue it sets mi wonderin the real purpose of gettin marrried...
aint its becoz we wana 2 spend the rest of my lifes with the person we love...
the weddin banquet is held 2 share the joy of our union with our relatives & frenz...
juz my 2cents thoughts...

if u r hvin ur weddin in mar, u r reali late in ur weddin preparation oredi...
gonna rush up a bit...

happi preparin...

Hi flowee,

I can only enrol into the nfp course when I know my next semester time-table coz I would be having 3 lessons a week till Oct! Sian!

You mentioned that West-side course held on Fridays rite but scare lesson on that day too!

Ya, really like the toilet door, really innovative. Like the flooring too! But do you agree that it really cost alot to do that!

As for me, as PILs not staying with us, we also hack 2 rooms into 1!

I always like the show coz I can admire people's house but to hubby, he thinks that our love nest is the BEST!

You settle your ID firm already?

sunflower & wannabebride

tks 4 the infor on OOR...
heard from many ppl the food is ok but the ambience veri chinese...
will b attendin a weddin dinner held there end of this yr...
will get 2 experience it myself...
currentli checkin out the pricin 4 orchid country club & qianxi restaurant @ superbowl golf & country club...

wannabebride

r u still hvin ur dinner @ the venue u guys signed up durin the bridal fair???
ur fh muz dote u veri muz coz he wld wana 2 make u happi by signin up without 2nd thoughts...
u mentioned abt bridal packages...
how muz r u willingli 2 spend on ur bridal???
bv prices starts from $4980 whereas silhoutte is ala carte...

yi

yah i agree the 3rd hse spent $90k which is an amt i dun think i can afford...
some of the items within r not feasible 2 hv...
but if i hv the amt i will make my love nest nice nice also...
but i wont hack dn one room 2 make my master bigger...

hvnt select any id yet...
no hurry also...
kenny din get back 2 mi after we meet up 2wks back...

Hi lilac,
I don't know abt the condition of road "punggol central", 'cos we turned one juction earlier, at least the road "behind" the blks (hope i'm making sense) is completed.

Oh, i forgot to tell u gals, C28 and C29 are really VERY close, so those in C29 are also very close to the LRT/commercial centres!

flowee,

Yeap, if I have the $, I would also make my love nest nice nice but hubby think that our love nest is the BEST already!

S$90k is also not an amt I would spend in doing up my house! Those houses are nice to see but not practical to live in hor!

Regarding the hacking, the master-room really too small lah and if I want a walk-in wardrobe really must hack lor!

You collecting your keys next week rite? Renovating immediately? Me and hubby started about 2 months after keys collection though!

flowee,

Still clueless abt the bridal packages. It all depends on whether we'll be having the banquet or not. BV is realyy ex huh, $4980 is a very high price leh ( some more starting px)... So far, $ 3988 seems to be the average price pple are paying for their package.... not including any extras that they might incur when selection.. from the average bridal boutiques.
I still have a lot to learn from all of you.
We hav no concrete plans yet as to whether we'll hv the banquet.. have not talked abt it sine our fight over it, we'll leave it till the Tongshu is out.

Seems like the majority of you will be staying in Punggol. I was supposed to too! We wld hv gotten ours too if we'd sticked to the unit we selected at Blk 3XX ( can't remember ) during the one-off selection. Now we'll hv to wait for the BTO - but when they'll start building is still a question mark. so we'll hv to look for a place to stay if we hold our wedding next yr.

yi

i believe every couple will think think tat their love nest is the best...
my master also nt veri big but enough 2 do a walk-in...

yes collectin next wk but nt in a hurry 2 reno my hse...
but will get it dn by end of 2002 coz of the 5% gst...

wannabebride

yes bridal package comes in all amt...
they come in prices of $2 888 ( all otr gowns ) 2 5k & above...
it reali depends on wat is ur budget lor...

those one stop bridal their charges r less than those pro ones...
some of the one stop bridal r yvonne creation, white link, golden horse, etc...
they r koen as one stop coz they hv designer 4 ur gowns, make-up artist, photographer...

those pro ones r bridal veil, silhoutte, ted wu, kai where the designer will concentrate on the quality & effect of the gowns & the photography part will b taken care by a pro photographer nameli andrew choi, chrisling, etc...

u aint alone i dun hv a confirm weddin date either...
still waitin 4 my guy 2 check it out...
hvnt look in2 my bridal yet might sign up with zann & denn they did my rom outfit...
pretti pleased with suzzanne's workmanship of the outfit...
as 4 weddin dinner, lookin ard 4 a nice ambience & great food restaurant coz investin our money in our love nest...
will b collectin my keys next mon...
its @ sengkang & kk is my neighbour of few blks away...

2003groom

its juz a wish might nt happen...
a diamond ring an most impt issue 2 tackle...
can live without it also mah...