(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Flyn,

BTO means Build To Order, as the name suggest, you can choose the type of the flat you want, from the layout to the location and when you are ready to take the keys. I heard it may take longer to get your flat cos' HDb would wait for a certain percentage of takeup rate to be reached for each blk b4 they start building. Guess that is to prevent oversupply from happening again.

Hi lilac,

BTO system really take longer leh...gosh, i may have to wait for 2-3 years to get a flat then. Seems like we are back to the old system except we can choose wat kind of flat we want. Looks like i have to keep a lookout for resale flats instead.

Hi Flyn,

when my parents selected their flat, all the 4-rooms are taken, only low floors are left from 5-rooms and the only good selection are the executive flats.

If it is within your means, you may want to consider the executive flats and go for the walk-in selection in April. They are more expensive though...average about 360K.... but area of about 128sqm.... hope this helps.....

Hi Lilac,

thks a lot...i was thrilled to noe that EA is still available. In fact, we are interested in the executive flats but the sales person told us oni invited applicants can choose and not open for public. Is it located at Punggol 21? I know there are oni a few blks, dunno how many left?? We thot we may not have chance to select. :P Do u noe where will the EA be located? Is the environment good?

Hi Flyn,

I suggest that you call HDB to confirm if they are releasing the EA for sale in April. From the last selection, there were still some good units with high floors... I think Blk 18X. The ones with better location are Blk 11X (near amenities)but only units with below 10 floor are available.In total, I think about 10 blks of Executive flats were released.

ok thks for ur info, lilac. One more thing, where can we see those blks located? Website? Any ideas which road? Thinking to make a trip to Punggol this weekend and hdb as well for enquiries.

Morning!

FLyn the address is

Blk 105C, Edgefield Plains, #04-67 (4 rm)
Blk 105C, Edgefield Plains, #04-65 (5 rm)

If you want more info on the BTO system, go to www.hdb.gov.sg

If u want info on the plans the gov has for Punggol, go to
http://www.ura.gov.sg/dgp_reports/punggl21/main.html

Aiya FLyn, i pasted the info in this thread before mah. Never read!;P

Flyn U will love it man when you visit the showflts. Very stylooooo. Especially the 5rm.
But i dont think they hve showflats for EA. From what my friend said cos she taking EA as well, they have one extra room and bigger lar.

Hihi Translucent,

Been to the showflats liao b4 u pasted the info leh but i oni want to noe where are the EA blks located? Is it near mrt/lrt? Which road? The last time i went there, there are still some barren site and Lrt under construction. I can't really visualise how is it like? Wants to noe the "future" map loh!!

Aiyah, i think i can forget the whole thing liao, my FH's father refused to sell the current flat (3 rm) so we can't apply our own flat.
I understand his retired father may lugi $40K if he sells away. Now we really dunno wat to do?? My FH is contributing all household bills and flat. He can't finance 2 flats wat even if the branch ofc allowed him to withdraw his name. Sigh!! Long story lah!!!

Pai seh. Haven't been checking this thread for quite some time and hence, my late reply...

Curious:
My package is $4888. Have u sign up with them yet?

Translucent:
Hmm.. I can't really comment on Julia's services. Cos apart from the day I signed up wif them, I had not come into contact with them again. As my wedding is only May 2003, I reckoned I will only have more contact sessions with Julia in the later part of this year.

My church friends who are getting married this May also use JWN. (We only realised that we have signed with the same bridal boutique last Sunday!) The groom is very happy with their photo shoots and we didn't hear of any complaints from them. I guess they are pretty happy with JWN's service.

Hmm..maybe, u can try reading the postings under Bridal Boutiques - Julia Wedding News for more information. Those ladies there have more contact points with JWN than I do.

;)
Cocoa

I haven't been able to catch up with all your postings.
Saw stuff like Perth, Church etc..

Ha ha.. Same here. I am an overseas grad. Came back from Melbourne in July 2000.
Also a Christian attending a baptist church @ Serangoon Garden.

Hey! Any suggestion for a venue for the church wedding?! Someone mentioned the church beside Queenstown MRT, ya? That church name is True Way Presbyterian Church. My friends got married there last March and they paid $1000 for the rental.

As for me, dunno which church to book. Some churches only allow booking for their own members.. Sigh.. Any suggestion?

Right now, dunno which hotel to book. Any idea? We r thinking of the following:
1. Westin
2. Conrad
3. Hyatt
4. Hotel Intercon

My FH is very particular abt the quality of food and the serving must be SUFFICIENT to feed all the mouths. Ha ha.. Sorry.. cos me more concerned abt the ambience (Die Hard Romantic what.) Anyway, I respect his desire and after all, we need to accomodate his parents' wishes too. ;)

So how, what's ur comments for the above hotels, ladies? I wish I can do without a banquet and save some $$$ but sometimes, it's good to make everyone happy.. including our parents. ;)

Flyn OIC. Misunderstood u.;P If only i have my plan here in Perth, i can tell you the address. Hey why not u go to this thread titled "What to look out for when selecting HDB flats", all of those girls who partipated in the thread are gonna live in Punggol. They may know where are the EA located. That is if you can still buy a flat lar. Poor thing leh you. THen how? Have to stay with the dad already huh?

Hi Rain you are back here again!;)))

Cocoa

It's alright. I'm taking a break from my wedding research too.;)So, don't have any suggestions at the moment as well.

Cocoa which Uni are you from?

Hi Joc,

Yeah, I am back...for a while...saw some postings so I KPO ....

Yup, I did mentioned about the church near Queenstown...now i remember after cocoa mentioned--True Way Presbyterian Church. Heard from a Colleague that the place is really beautiful. And i think $1K is alright ....some churches require more...

HI Flyn,

if you want the exact road name, I may have to go back and check the maps.... will let you know ok...

Hi translucent & rain,

I don't think i can stay with them, not that i dun want to stay with his father. It's juz that his place is old and messy (3 rm flat)...his dad likes to bring hm a lot of old stuffs and occupied the whole living room. He's weird lah!! My FH also cannot tahan him, wat to do? He can't control his father. My FH and his father each has protected territory wan leh. His dad occupied the living room, kitchen (most stuffs)& his room whereas my FH has a room and those upgraded utility (small like storeroom) room, tat's all. Sigh!!

Most gals have problems with MIL whereas i have problems with future FIL...hahaha!! We juz want a place of our own.
I dun mind his dad stay with us if we have bigger flat and as long as he dun bring home old stuffs from the streets. I can understand his dad also dun want to lugi 40K lah!! I'm so lost!!! sigh...arghhh...

FLyn your FIL sounds like mine leh. Karang Guni man. hehe. He likes to collect stuff n cramped in all in the house. My MIL also cannot tahan and give up on him long time ago. U know when he found out I like mosaic mirrors n mentioned I may want to learn the craft when i graduate, he immediately go collect some mirror from outside and give me sayin i can try on it. *piangzzzz*

I don't mind them living with us too provided he don't anyhow put his junk collections in the house. My PIl staying in 3 rm flat too. But lucky the house is under the dad's name. So it's ok and the dad said he don't wanna sell the flat too.
GOt sendimental value mah. ;)

Lilac are you in the 1st quarter selection? SO you choose your flat already?

hi gals, iz good to see this thread "alive" again

translucent, u went 4 ur selectn oredi rite? so sorrie, cant recall which blk u selected. care to refresh my memory???

cocoa, u re gettg married next May? me too leh!
I went 4 a wedding dinner at Westin last yr. I like e ballroom a lot n e food iz quite okie too. I ve shortlisted a few hotels too. Hyatt iz 1 of them, do u roughly noe how much izzit?

flyn, i heard frm friends who had gone 4 selection in e 1st quarter. they told me quite a lot of EA units left. so maybe u can call HDB up n see wat they say.

cherubies, HDB called u up to pay ur 20% downpaymt oredi? coz i too hvt heard frm them since i selected my flat last dec. n mine iz those "keys avail" kind.

Hi Tinki

Yar was in the 1st quarter. But we decided not to select our flat. By the time it was out turn, no more good ones left. All low floors. Except the EA which we couldn't afford yet. Very disheartening. So we take it as a sign that it is not meant to be yet lor. But very happy for those who are selecting Punggol. COs they are gonna stay in my dream estate. ;)

Tinki your selection was last 4th quarter and was on the 27th of 30 days? Did you manage to get the flat you want?

Hi Tinki,

Nope, HDB have not done anything yet (write or call)... wah, your "got keys" type and they didn't do anything...

mine was in oct..but those not built yet...never mind, just call them once in a while to find out status
... suppose to go to the HDB website to check but can't find which category (anyone got any idea?)

i've been to hyatt last year for a wedding (sorry, forgot which month). food not bad and portion enough for 10 person (me big eater somemore)..ballroom spacious (think got about 40something table)... not sure how much the tables cost though...

hi translucent and flyn,

you two are really tough and optimistic!!!
me too, have problems with FIL but not MIL as she is a very nice lady. hang on there gals!!! just remember, FH loves u alot... that's what I always tell myself..

Translucent:
Hi. I'll be taking a break from the wedding preps too.. after we booked the hotel. Think will spend time looking for church later. Think church can't book too early also. Some churches only allow booking 6 mths in advance (from some hear-says)...

I am from Monash Uni - Caulfield Campus.

Curious:

My package includes:
1. WG (MTM)
2. EG (Latest Collection - Brand New)
3. 2 sets of Groom suit (1 MTM (New) & 1 OTR - Rental)

Indoor/ Outdoor Photoshoot
4. 4 sets of gown change with makeover
5. 2 sets of suits change for the Groom during photo shoot

6. Studio, Actual Day Makeup
7. 25 x 15R photo album
8. 1 table top
9. 1 portrait
10. 1 3R photo album (pics same as the big album)
11. 100 thank u cards with our photos on it
12. Deco for the bridal car (+ 2 sets of ribbon for ah-yee cars)
13. Hand bouquet + corsages (actual day, not studio)

Freebies:
1. Daddy's coat
2. Flower Gal & Page Boy's attire
3. 1st anniversary pics, Baby shoot (next time for our baby).

I think it's the Standard Package. The only goodies are the freebie they threw in. Hope I didn't miss out any other item..

Tinki:
Think Hyatt also costs around $800 plus for weekends. I think Westin is a bit more expensive than Hyatt.. basically, not a lot of diff, I believe. Hey! U also next May huh? Congrats! Congrats! So, we will be stressed around the same period for the year. Hee.

Hope I didn't miss any queries here...

Keep me posted on your research on hotel ballrooms, ya?

Quan Kao Ni Men Le!

cocoa

hi cocoa...
have been off this wedding website for a while..
very busy at work...
my 2 cents worth on ballroom...
hotel intercon: peranakan style but nice ballroom food not bad..
westin: alot of ballrooms, may not be exclusive but price ok... food so so..
conrad: only for small tables like max 35 tables of 12... very exclusive ballroom and 6 star hotel.. per table abt 1k plus for 12 pple
hyatt: ex and food not nice always cold
many ballooms too...

you must think of how many tables and guests you are looking at and your budget before u can go down on the hotels...

hi translucent
i oni start shortlistg around e 24th day coz no pt shortlistg so early n then get more disappt. in e end we got our so-called 1st choice. iz a 5th flr unit, a bit low lah, but that was e best among e worst at tat time. so wat re ur plans now? y dun u join e ballotg?

hi cherubies.
aiyo, wat to do? i called HDB so many times oredi, they not pai sey, i pai sey oredi.

thanx 4 all e feedbk gals, really appreciate them.
WOW, Hyatt so X. actually my budget is abt $750per table. i ll be callg e hotels to ask them to send me brochers next wk b4 i actually go n see them. if any1 needs more info abt any hotel, juz lemme noe n i ll see if i can help.

enjoy ur wkend gals

Hi Tinki,

bo bian (no choice)thick skin a bit

i get my FH to call
... let me go check out where in the world they hide the category where we can just check online... so that we no need call them so often...

everyone, weekend is here!!! have a good rest!!!

Tinki,

I didnt start shortlisting till few days before my selection date too. We want really high flrs like 9 and above. Not used to living in lower flrs lar since i've been living in high flr all my life. Plan now is to wait for the nxt quarter and see lor. I hope the price stays the same if not lower though. hehe. ANyways the price for the 1st quarter considered good already. Good for you! BTW, how much is ur flat huh? Your's is 5 rm right?The 5rm flat started at 280+ initially leh. So if u get urs for ard 210+ very good man!

Also, Hyatt is considered one of the high-end hotels? Together with Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton i think. Of course ex lar. I can only attend other's wedding in these hotels, but not mine. hehe.;P

Hi Cocoa,

Thks for the info. The package sounds pretty comprehensive. But i think $4888 is pretty expensive leh(my budget is nothing exceeding 4K). Almost the same as other designer boutiques. I've went to Ivory Aisle and their pricing is pretty reasonable also. But of course, Julia has got many good comments. So their quality must be good lor. I met one of my galfriends and she said her colleagues also sign up with Julia and they are very happy customers! You've made the rite choice!

Hi Curious,

You are welcome. Ya, I agree that the package we signed up is really ex. Our budget was everything under $5000 (including extra prints) but obviously now, we had blow our budget. Hee hee.. Guess we were quite satisfied with JWN gowns, offering & service then.

I personnally feel that once u set a budget, try to work within ur budget & maximise ur $. No harm looking around and find some offering within ur budget. Ivory Aisle is pretty popular but do visit more boutiques to give u a better gauge.

Some of my frens signed up with Emanual B Couture & The Wedding Present. Both receive fav reviews too. Do check them out!

Take care!

Hi Cocoa,
i ve got some hotels to send me info on their wedding banquet packages.

1. Merchant Court(wkday:$530,560/wkend:620,650)
2. Grand Copthorne(wkday:598/ wkend:718)
both subjected to abt 14% taxes n service charges

3.Crown Prince(wkday:588,628/ wkend:728)
4.Rasa Sentosa(wkday:598,618,638/ wkend:668,688,708)
5.Hilton(wkday:638/ wkend:738)
6.Orchard Hotel(wkday:638/ wkend:738)
7.Regent(wkday:688-1248/ wkend:798-1358)
8.Hyatt (wkday:648,668,688/ wkend:788,808,828)

Hotels 3-8 re nett pxs. Still waitg 4 Pan Pac, Conrad n Oriental. e hotel px listg in SB web is quite updated too, maybe tat ll give u a better guide. I m looking at e wkday packages, not willing to spend so much on e dinner. so far, thk Orchard gives me a better deal, coz i thk i ll need free flow of beer. Hyatt ballrm seems veri nice frm e photos.

Hope e info helps

Hi Tinki,

Althought the msg is for cocoa, but thanks for posting on behalf of everyone. we all have a reference too. =0)

thanks for your hard work....

Mi also 2003 brides, would like to join in the discussion too...

Now sourcing for renovation contractor and hotels.. have a few in mind but dun know whether how is the food there...would appreciate any comments.

i) Marian Mandarin
ii) Crown Prince
iii)Pan pacific
iv) Orchard Hotel
v) Grand Copthorne waterfront hotel
vi) Grand Plaza hotel

Hi cherubies,
u re most welcome!
Btw, i ve rec Pan Pac n Conrad packages liao...

1. Pan Pac(wkday:$618+++/wkend:718,768,818+++)
2. Conrad(wkday:$918,948/wkend:1018,1048-net pxs, table of 12)

Hi bubbles, welcome! I m not so sure abt e hotels' quality of food. diff pple gave me diff feedbk. For eg, my friend told me Orchard Hotel's food not too bad but i saw some comments tat e food iz not good, so i guess diff pple ve diff standards n expectatn. i also veri "fan", dun noe who to listen to....so which mth ll u be gettg married in?

Hi Tinki

Thanks for ur reply.. Actually I have not decided which month but will be around 3rd quarter. I am actually look for hotels that offer less than $800 per table. quite reasonable right..

I could see from the earlier thread that u have already do a lot of survey on different hotels. urs in May right.

So have u selected ur flat, me now sourcing for contractor, another headache....

Hi Ladies!

Sorry, haven't been checking this website cos I was busy working on a project! Today, I am on MC cos I just extracted my wisdom tooth!! Now, 3 out of 4 wisdom teeth are gone. Can't believe this! I am so thankful that the surgery is over. Thank God! Was trembling thru' out the whole procedure. *phew*

Tinki:
I am really touched when I read ur posting.. *sob sob* thank u very much for typing the details out.. neatly & in order. Thanks.. Thank you very much.. I appreciate your kind gesture.

My HTB & I haven't really embark on the hotel searching mission yet cos he's having his In Camp Training. SIGH.. We only been to Hyatt so far. Hyatt's offering is not bad but I dun really like their ballroom. (The one on the 2nd floor.) They got a really nice & huge ballroom on the 3rd floor but we can't meet that ballroom min. requirement.

Westin, Conrad, Goodwood Park & Hotel Inter-continental are in the pipeline. Hope to get well soon (from the op) so that I can pay these hotels a visit. Have applied for leave to do so.. Ha ha..

How about u, Tinki? Have u selected yours yet?

Curious:
I think the wedding packages at Emanual & Wedding Present costs around $3-$5k. My colleague paid $4k+ for Emanual & my church mates' wedding package at Wedding Present costs close to 5k. But I think they got less costly alternatives... My colleague showed me the Emanual B. brochure before and they got some packages at $3k+.
Hope u can find one that's suitable for u...

Sigh sigh... I must agree with Tinki. Hunting for a hotel is indeed a very "fan" thing. In fact, my HTB & I had a conflict bcos of this. Very stressful.. u want the best of both worlds - Good Food & Nice ambience. Dunno lah. Malay style at the void deck & be the Queen of the day! Ha ha..

Okay, just wanna de-stress here.. gum still bleeding man.. sian..

juz me,
cocoa

Hi cococa,
man...really admire ur courage!
my dentist advised me to extract my wisdom tooth too, but i still dun ve enuff courage to do so, u re really 1 brave gal man...guess u ll ve to survive on porridge 4 e next few days.

Conrad, Orchard Hotel, Grand Copthorne are e 3 which I finally shortlisted, will be gg down to see their ballrooms 2olo n next wk. I ve a problem w Conrad, coz their ballrm can oni hold abt 408 guests. I might ve more guests, scared ballrm ll looked veri squeze.

I understand wat u mean abt e conflicts, we too ve our share of problems. I tend to like to make e final decision on almost all matters, at 1st, i tot my bf dun mind, but recently, found tat he has been veri accomodatg all these time, so really muz learn to give n take. talking abt void deck my bf initially suggested vg dinner at some restaurants(no offense to anybody)but i insisted no, so in e end compromised e dinner to wkday.

yup bubbles, my love nest iz at Punggol. u leh? my father iz in e renovatn line, so at least e renovatn part shld be quite well taken of. phew! but i understand coz iz gg to be a large sum of $ involved. but u really ve to get e contractors to write down everythg in black n white juz to safeguard urself k?

ciao gals....n take care cocoa

Hi Tinki

Mine is Sengkang.. A lot of contractors will only give u the quotation or drawings after u paid a certain amount of $...really hard to compare prices...

Will be going to Four Seasons to see their ballroom next week.. have u seen their ballroom before? Mi also keen in Orchare Hotel and Grand Copthorne. keep me info after u see their ballroom okie....

but for conrad, be careful cos i have heard a lot of bad comments about them and in their forum too...

Hi Cococa

So brave of you to extract 3 wisdom tooth at one time.. take care!!!!!!!

Cocoa,
bravo!!
but guess you really going to lose a lot of weight from the tooth extraction...can't eat much...

u take care and have a good weekend.

tinki, which part of P21 is your new house?

I am also 2003 brides to be. Now sourching for bridal and good hotel which cost abt 800. Any recommendation? I ever thought of golden horse award but heard a lot of bad comment abt them.

Hi kuti welcome! As u can see frm e earlier msgs, a few of us sourcg 4 hotels too, hope wat we re sharg here can help u.

Gals, I went down to ve a feel of Conrad n GCW ballrm laz wk. I spoke to Conrad’s director of catering, she gave me quite a good deal(e beer part) but e ballrm is rather small. e ballrm is cosy if u re not invitg so many pple. Personlly, I prefer GCW ballroom, more spacious n looks “grand-er” too. But of course if u re talking abt svrs, Conrad shld be e best.

1 pt to note gals, remb to ask abt e seat cover thg. Initially, Conrad gives free seat covers, but she told me later tat since our wedding iz next yr, e seat covers ll be old oredi. They ll be changg new seat covers, n e new ones ll be charged.

Bubbles, how iz 4 Seasons?

Cocoa, visited any hotels? I like Westin too but it seems that e ballrm ve pillars rite?

Btw, if anybody interested in Orchard Hotel, they vg a wedding dinner tiz Sat, thk u can go down at around 6pm to take a look.

Cherubies, mine iz blk 176. urs leh? U got e passwrd to access to e website where u can check e status of ur flat? Coz I remb u mentioned it sometime ago, I got mine few wks ago.

Really gettg excited over e wedding preparatn. ve fun gals!!!

Hi Tinki,

mine is 638C. ya got my password last week. but got lost on the web as to how to obtain our status. in the end my FH managed to locate it and the comment is they are still processing.

happy hunting for your hotel... =0)

My FH and I just got our flat at Cassia Crescent during the Balloting Exercise.

We're looking at several places for the wedding but at the moment I'm fancying Rasa Sentosa. However would also like to have more info about the other hotels like Conrad and GCW.

I'm also interested to know more about the different packages various Boutiques are offering. Myself, I quite like Ted Wu and Allure's design. they look pretty good.

Hi Tulips,

There's a bridal show at Rasa on 29 Mar (Good Friday). The Bridal is X-zen. I think maybe Rasa will be having promo package?

Hello Ladies..

Hee Hee.. First of all, I must apologise.. Errr... I extracted 1 wisdom tooth last Friday... the other 2 were extracted last March. Sorry for the confusion... Hee hee. As I was reading through ur cheers & bravos, I nearly want to dig a hole to bury my head... sigh.. pai seh pai seh. Me not that brave to extract 3 at one go.. the bravest act was only 2 at one go...

Tinki:
I have visited a few hotels this week. Went to Hotel Intercontinental, Conrad, Westin & Goodwood Park. Also visited Hyatt a couple of weeks ago. We like Hotel Intercon & Conrad most... and were thinking of using Conrad. Didn't know about the new seat covers issue. Alamak! They act 'blur' huh? Must call & ask.. if not, got hidden costs involved also dunno.

cherubies & bubbles:
aiyo... so pai seh about the wisdom tooth thingy.. actually, i got pretty good appetite still.. have been eating quite a bit. Lose weight? Unlikely lor..

Take care and enjoy ur weekend, Ladies...

1 tooth less,
cocoa

Hi Tinki (tinki)

I think i will not take up four seasons lah, their package quite expensive and cannot bargain much. furthermore their ballroom does not look grand and no seat cover provided. The reason is that their chair is presentable and does not require seat covers.

I have ask for more hotels to send me their packages and will see more hotels... but i think will be in Apr cos mi now busy with sourcing for contractor. Really headache...

Hi Kuti

When will be your wedding?? which stage are you at now??

Enjoy your weekend...

Hi Bubbles

I am surprised you said that the ballroom at four seasons doesn't look good, have u been there?...I went down and felt that it looked really nice in comparison to what they show in the crummy photos on their website...what are your recommendations?

I'm planning to do mine in march 03...anyone khakis who want to discuss discuss wedding preps with me out there? Would love to hear from u...