(2003) Brides of year 2003

are

meow... we are 'rushing' the parents to give out theirs asap lor, esp since mine is 1st. will give/send out frens' & colleagues' by tis week.

some ppl think tat if u give very near the date, its cos you dun have enuff ppl to fill the table, then might not go lor. nov is a v popular mth also, so if they already agree to another dinner, then cant go yours liao.

so if your cards are ready, i wld advise you to send out soon. no one wld mind an early card one lah. anyway, get a load off your mind also. i'm already moving on to bao ang baos liao. i dun want to rush near the date! ;P

kerenelu

Hi Cath,

I am already facing problems with seating arrangement liao. There are tables with 9 pax. Do u have such prob? How u deal with it?

kopibean

Besse,
I suddenly remembered i owe you the bomb shelther storerack contact...
The shop is : NAIYA FURNITURE CENTRE
tel : six seven four four one seven nine eight
so sorry for the long delay

Meow,
I send my invite cards to my colleagues 2wks b4 my AD then relatives n frens will be ard 1mth or 3wks...

priviledged

Hi Joyful,
You're right. Housework is never-ending. I'm here as a tai-tai, (although a poor one) I'm enjoying my self reading and surfing the net and working on my cooking skills. I've been trying out many recipes.

Trust that all the June brides are well. Anybody expecting yet
?

blue2003

Hi Cath..

I have just finished my seating arrangemet late last night. we worked till 1am for past two days. I also have the same problem...9pax for some tables cos cant anyhow chuck someone who do ot know the pple well. Luckily only 3 tables have these arrangement. How about relatives?? I had a hard time putting their names down. It's impossible. Friends and colleagues are much easier to organize and also attendance will be almost 100%. Let see how lor..

what else r u guys doing now beside seating arrangment? How many reserves?

teatree

good morning chicory,

all the best for your trial. hee... tell us about it afterwards okay?

hi cutiechar,

if you have snsitive skin, think better don't try anything since your wedding is coming soon. those rahses come over night but take a long time to disappear. maybe you can ask your make-up artist to put some shimmery powder on your back to cover the uneven skin tone

about your earlier question, i have actually finished most of my preparations. hee... i have printed my invites, bought my guo da li (indonesian style), done with the guest list, food tasting, ordered wedding favors blah blah... i'm left with sending the invites.

cia yu to you too and everybody!

sg_oc

Hi leo29,
Did the Beauty world uncle ask u to buy a lot of things? Is he friendly? What is the shop name and the location? Is it 01-15? Is there few shop in beauty world selling all this stuff?
Are their things expensive?

Rgds

aloevera

meow, i distributed d cards yesterday. wana get it done fast so can concentrate on other things. as for our relatives, i guess my parents will give them during GDL so dun hv 2 write & distribute now lor.

btw, i sent an email to Nicholson but no reply frm him yet. seems like he's not interested in videography. might hv 2 look 4 lobang elsewhere liao.

so u going thailand huh? me still headache abt where 2 go.. wana go US or europe but weather will be cold, so prob go for short trip.. but still undecided abt the destination.. : (

leo29

Feb,

Don like that lei.... Actually me helping Yve to count down lah. She said have to go for meeting very sianz... so...

Meow,

I will send out my invites 2-3 weeks before wedding. Will start informing and getting addy from guests 1 mth before wedding. Last nite we finished printing, typing and tying of hubby oversea/local business associates and colleagues. Very happy, now got the urge to finish all but cannot becos it's too early to check the attendances.

feb

Leo

You a lot of excuses leh...hee hee...Ok lah..I believe u that you are actually helping others to count down...

leo29

sg_oc,

I never buy anythings from this uncle. Already bought most of my things. Was there yesterday to see the bedsheet so went to those shops to kpo kpo. Pai seh, I never take down the shop name and unit. Juz remember it's near a dental.

sg_oc

leo29,
Thanks, eventhough u din buy anything he still entertain u, I think should be ok if to buy from him, he won push as much things for us?
You bought the stuff from where?
I know the china town one will push a lot of things to you and if you tell them you don't wnat this n that, they show face to you.

jady

hi gals!

i'm bk! finally all over!! the 2 days were very smooth going!!
today juz came bk to work. & finally a big load of my mind, now looking fwd to NZ honeymoon trip.

juz abit disappointed tat i made quite a loss on banquet....
but overall still glad nothg goes wrong..

hotel banquet manager & staff are gd, food is gd, have Daniel for my Emcee who's v gd! JP David Loh is v nice! My wine supplier is gd too as v hassle free, just tell them my budget over phone & they gave me a gd wine tat nite! Last thks to my makeup artist cos he did a v gd job....

so happy it's finally over!!!!!

Next will be u gal's turn v v soon....excited?nervous?

jady

hi kk,

table of 9 is ok...

initially we got only 4 tables of 9. then on actual day, we got some friends last min din turn up , end up i got abt 7/8 tables of 7/8 pax each! but it's quite impossible to start shifting every1 round so we just leave it loh..

leo29

Sg,

I bought it from Jurong. They are not specialise on wedding stuffs but my mum know the shop since young so she want to go back there and buy. Basic items all have but those very traditional things they don't carry. Some of their things is cheap, eg teaset cost only $14. Before that the cheapest i found is $15.

Ya... china town shop very jia lat one. If can avoid try not to go there. A few of my frds bought from there also complaint either too expensive or they will show you face.

Just buy whatever you think is necessary. Reject him or tell him you already bought if he want you to buy those unnecessary things. Just like the pyjamas(Our parents generation) and towel(very cheena, got big Xi), very traditional, get from outside if possible.

When is your wedding?

chicory

Hi Aloevera,

Read that you have sent an email to Nicholson but he has yet to reply you. Actually, i have met up with him and he is still very interested in videography, maybe he has been quite busy recently so he hasn't been able to reply your mail. When is your wedding?

Sorry to gatecrash here...

chicory

Hi teatree,

Ok, i will... tomorrow is the trial already. Got to rush to BS after attending a course at Jurong West

Wow, you are very efficient... you have done almost everything already, as for me, i am the opposites of you.. hahaha...

meowie

I think i'll set my target to sent the cards and pass most of them to my colleagues by next monday. And by this friday must confirm the seating arrangment in case some say can't attend.

cath

Hi kk & Kor,
I have the same problem too, table of 7, 8, 9.. so incomplete.. then I called my co-ordinator and asked if i can have 11 pax per table.. she told me ok, cos that is just nice... thus.. instead of so many odd table no, i'll hv 4-5 table of 11s.

Asked my colleague who had her wedding last yr abt the arrangement... she too had tables of 11 and she advised not to have table of 8-9 pax cos in the event that the 8-9table has absentees, then the table will look empty... have more rather than less.

As for the arrangement, I chuck those who will be coming only as a couple into 9pax table to make it 11pax, and those 7pax to have 4 couples...

Aso, if you have a baby chair for the 10pax table, do not add another 1 pax to it cos baby chair also consider as 1 space take up.

As for the reseves, i'm still leaving it at 2 tables, one side each.. just in case..

After this, we need to do up the program for the day as a guide..

sg_oc

Leo29
My wedding is on 18 Nov 03 at Goodwood park hotel. How about you? What are the basic things you are referring to? Heard alot of version for different dialect so now getting very confuse. When are you wearing the new pyjamas? The night before your AD? What are the towels for? Is it for my hubby side family members like sister and brother? Do we need to buy indoor slipper for myself and my hubby? One of my colleague told me to buy slipper for my MIL & FIL. Have you heard about this before?

yve

hi gers,

I also like are, want to finish off things asap.. but hubby say i kiasi and kiasu.. so angry with him..

cath

Hi Kor,
To add on regarding the relatives, perhaps you can check with yr parents on who must sit with who, they will noe better...

are

yve... our parents hv already sprung some surprises on us, so now we want to do things tat can be cleared asap, so we can handle further 'surprises'!

leo29

Yve,

. Must kick his back side for you... just joking...

Sg,

Mine is 23 Nov at Orchard hotel. Basic things is teaset, bath tub, face basin, urin urn, mug, toothpaste, toothbrush(Get from outside becos i want the good one), lamp, towel, face towel, sewing kit(Box, needle, scissor, thread, tape).

Pyjamas to be wear on AD nite. Towels is for groom and bride. Don't mix up the Guo Da Li things and jia zhuang(Above items). Towel for hubby's sister and brother and shoe for PIL is during GDL. PIL shoe, i will used AB to replace. Indoor slipper, not very sure. Not going to buy. You hokkien?

Just go to a shop and let them prepare for you. Differnt shop have their own follows and some are asking you to take more, just be more careful.

leo29

Meow,

Yesterday went to the shop at beauty world that you bought your things. Their things is more modern... but the lady inside quite yaya.. Their mug is in a pair. You buy that?

sg_oc

Leo29
Are the jia zhuang meant for AD? Some says I need to wear the pyjamas on the eve when combing hair. Does it means I need to buy 2 pyjamas? Yah I am hokkien and my hubby is cantonese.

aloevera

hi chicory
finally nicholson return my call.. : ) luckily he's not booked on my wed day yet.. will be mtg him tis sun nite to look at his video works.

sweets

Hi all, nice to see this thread "revived "
Like you Priviledged, I'm also not working at the moment....same same,....also poor "tai tai " What recipes have you been trying out ?
Hi Joyful
even if don't open the windows, still got dust...horrible hor

Take care

chicory

hi aloevera,

He called me jus now to cfm my wedding date and i told him about you, so actually before i tell him, he already called you cuz' he says he is meeting a couple this sunday and he asked if i want to go along to see his works... so you are the one he is meeting this sunday! haha... so coincidence. But i told him i won't be able to make it cuz' kinda late and i stay very far away from your meeting place...

leo29

Sg,

Jia Zhuang are to be sent over to your/IL house during GDL. Pyjamas for comb hair ceremony, i not too sure becos not having it.

jady

hi rhs,

my videographer & photographer haven't upload any pics or pass me cd yet, so no AD pics now...
when i hv it, will send u website..:p

fishball

hi jady,
Congrats! Happy
for you dat yr turn's over and evyth went well for you! Daniel said he heard ppl said u are v pretty n it's no doubt abt dat! Me oso excited 2 c yr pics liao.

Aiyah, me think sure make loss lah, in times like this, can't blame them, just dat we bad timing lor... anyway, must prepare to make loss lor, if break even, must feel very lucky liaoz....

Now, it appears there's another batch coming this weekend!

best wishes to Cookiecorgie, Vio, and RHS! Hope to catch up wif all of ya after our big days!

liching

Ay yoh! Both my MIL & Mom still say "Chin Cai" no last minute will give me heart-attacks on buying things for Xia Ping.
SO far only know they want :
1) Can pig legs (any qty but in multiples of 2)
2) Oranges (also in multiples of 2)
3) Red lamps.
4) Long-Feng Candles.
5) Cakes for my relatives.
MIL did mentioned B4 no need basin & those toileties items....

Any more stuff important & sure must have...i hope i dun recieved any late-minute suprises..man!

meowie

Aloe and Chicory, Nicholson called me in the afternoon too. He said he'll meet all couples on this coming sunday evening at Bishan J8 delifrance right? Aloe, where did he say he'll meet you?

Leo, i got the things from the guy than the lady. I didn't buy the mug. When is GDL and Jia Zhuang? Not given on the same day meh?

akira

girls, any one knows of any good band (preferably jazzy sounds) whom you have personally heard?? thinking of getting a band (v last min hor)as worried tat guests would be bored without entertainment. (I won't be doing slide show cos dun like to take photos/videos etc.)

leo29

Akira,

Me too not going to have slide but video still pending. You may have to approach event organisor to arrange for you. Originally planned to do in this way also but never proceed becos we find it ex.

Meow,

Yes ah.... same day. My jia zhuang is refering to the bath tub, face basin.... lei. You mixed up by me liao hah.

I'm back too! The two days were fantastic and by far, this is the best time of my life. Don't think too much about things not turning out right on your big day. Things can always happen and no matter what they are, they should not affect the fact that it is YOUR day!

I let my friends worry about the problems :p

meowie

Yes Aloe, i'll be going. But before that i'll be going to my bridal shop at 3pm, so i'll try to make it on time.

Leo, yeah very confuse liao. As my colleague says, dun take me and stir hor.

serene75_serene

Hi Jady & matka,
Welcome back!...Congrats.

Me still struggling with my guest lists and my work..sigh..think can only take 2-3days before my wedding for rest ...hope i can breakeven

I got 11 paxs tables..the worse is 8 paxs..no choice..cannot chuck these pple together cos some are hubby's relatives and our frens..think i will leave it as it is...

Any good place to recommend for pedicure and manicure and not too expensive..thinking of doing French manicure this time

mtmtmt

Hi sg,
agree with Leo abt shoes can replace with AB, am doing that... but then my PIL didn't ask for shoes in 1st place they also blur abt what to ask so since I know just give more in case wait relatives that side complain...

Hi Leo,
hmm yah some shops are terrible. Eg. my mum very simplified don't want most preps, went to buy towels, suddenly got blur and the devious sales got her to buy longfeng candles (which the GUY's side buy lah not us!)

Luckily PIL didn't buy (abit blur also), I cover up for my mum boo-boo by telling PIL that my mum shun4 bian4 buy on their behalf (then they paid back money lah).

Hi DK,
same with my MIL, got exemption from toiletries and what-not, but my list has your items (except pig trotters) and additionally, towels. Seems towels important cos there's a paper coin you can buy to put in- supposed to ensure harmony between us and them.

And MIL (dunno GDL or AD) need to give chopsticks, rice bowls and rice cooker for "have rice, have job" symbolism (maybe new invention I dunno).

priviledged

Hi Sweets. Are you still in Singapore? Or have you gone off somewhere else again
? I brought along a few recipe books. The most valuable are the Singaporean Cooking book by Mrs Leong Yee Soo, and the Periplus book called Delicious Hongkong Style Recipes. I also have a salad book and two other western cook books

blue2003

Congrats to all brides who are back!!! Best wishes and stay cheerful! Really enjoy this forum...it's been so useful and helpful...

kerenelu

For my case, if there is really no choice, i will really mix my guests up like "rojak", so i dun mind relatives sitting together with friends.. hahaha... but we will arrange such that at least 2 known friends are together in whatever table we arrange them to be, so that they won't feel bored.

aries

I don't mind doing the slide show but does anyone know who we can approach to help us 'piece' the photos together, plus background music?
Tks.