(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi, I'm looking for specifically June 2003 brides here. Of course all are welcome to share too. But I would like to know other brides who are getting married on the same month and same year as me.

My tentative wedding day is on 14 June 2003. I've attended a few bridal shows, went around viewing some hotel ballrooms. Currently gathering info, downloading some wedding music to cut into CD. My wedding preparation has started but will only go into full force after my ROM in Jan 2003.

My ROM is 2 months away! Most of the matters are more or less settled except for the clothes for myself and FH.

What about you all the other June 2003 brides?

Hi Tango,

Don't worry if you are planning for September 2001, as that in the lunar calendar is "August"..

Now your bf wants July 2002? hmm... from 2003 to april 2002, then to sept 2002, now it's july 2002... will he tell you next "let's get married NOW"??? :p

Ask him once and for all, "When do you want to marry me?" Set the date first, otherwise, you "cannot" really start with anything.

Allure, Allure, Allure... maybe you want to discuss it with meimei further?

Serene

Guys, always say "Anything, anytime, tomorrow also can" Sigh ....

Well, the reason why we have to push back from Sept 2002 is becos it's the chinese 8th month, wrote wrongly that it's the 9th month. August is 7th month.

If we cannot get a date by jul2002, then, I guess can wait another few more months then it's 2003 ! :P

Actually, have been planning for so long until xian of planning liao, so trying to settle asap also good lor.

So, now in the hands of the hotel and church, dunno any more dates available.

Btw, BV called me up and said they have a promotion with Female mag till end of Nov. Sign up and get $600 worth of stuff that consists of 1 large picture (if you take Chris or Kim), additional suit for the men, additional EG all on rental.

Dunno if BV called any others as well.

BB, wow! you've really been preparing yourself well for your big day!

Hi BB,
What a coincidence! I'm also thinking of getting married in June 2003...prob around your date...so that I can beat the more unpredictable weather conditions for the later part of the year for the purpose of photoshoot. And of course, the whole idea of being a lunar may bride sounds great....

However, my situation is a little odd, making the dates still tentative btw june (most preferrable) to oct 2003.

Reason is that i'm taking over my parents' flat but i can only do so when their new flat in Sengkang is ready for occupation in early 2003. Since HDB has a track record of completing half a yr earlier than stated date, we may be able to move in and start renovation work 3rd Qtr next yr. And given that we want to stagger everything, we are seriously keeping our fingers crossed that we can go through our customary in June 2003.

We will prob have a more concrete schedule by early next yr, say ard Feb - Mar. Do you gather that we would still have adequate time to get the dinner venue, settle the church for June 2003?

i'm seriously worried that aft planning for so long, my enthusiasm may wear off and get sian like what Tango has mentioned.

i'm also trying to spread out the tasks so that it gets more interesting and there's more to look forward to.

So bb, which hotels have u visited? I'm looking at Westin, Regent, Pan Pac, Hyatt or Grand Copthorne. u have any info on these hotels that u can share with me?

Have u signed up with a bridal yet? i juz did last weekend with kevin seah. So that's a load off my mind.

currently, i'm preoccupied with the selection of a photography package as well as planning the theme for my photoshoot and dinner so i'm in the midst of selecting pictures/songs that match the theme.

I really hope i'm not pre-empting things too much...but since i have gotten into it, it has been so exciting that i can't think abt anything else except planning for "IT"....i wonder if u feel the same

Congrats on your upcoming ROM....is it going to be an elaborate affair? I juz had mine in Sept. Do u need any ideas for ROM wear? I managed to get a 2nd hand wedding gown for $120 and hubby tailor-made an olive black suit/shirt from a tailor at Peninsula shopping centre....pretty good workmanship...

Do let us know if u need any help, ok?

Hi Tango,
Good luck on finding a preferred date....it's really tough trying to get everything to coincide...church and dinner...i'm sure i'm going to face the same problem too.

I didn't manage to attend the ted wu show. it was a wedding collections lucky draw that i sent in for. guess i'm pretty lucky....

i haven't seen the gown yet so i'm gonna decide what to do with it aft my 1st fitting end of this month.

And for the bridal shops that i have visited, i have actually tried on their gowns except for the Taiwanese shops, ted wu and emmanuel b, so most of my personal opinions are based on actual trial...evaluation aft comparing one shop to the other.

Understand u are considering silh and allure, i think they are great choices. both shops have really good workmanship and besides their designers are friendly and approachable. both silh and allure are considerably more versatile in creating a variety of styles as compared to many other bridals.

with either one of these bridals, i believe u are in good hands...

wow astrud! i felt like reading a letter instead of a reply from the forum.

yes, i think u would still have ample time for everything if u r to be firm on ur wedding date next feb/mar.

i also intend to book the banquet only in feb next yr.

currently what're left on my list are the following:

- grand copthorne
- merchant court
- sheraton
- conrad
- hilton
- fullerton
- otani
- inter con

after this weekend, i should be able to strike out some more becos i'll be viewing conrad, sheraton and hilton this sat.

for your list, i've not been to westin and regent. hyatt, there're pillars. pan pac, only with 50 tables u would be able to take that pacific ballrm which is the best among the other ballrms in pan pac. grand cop, ballrm is close to perfect but reception area not exclusive enuff.

u've already signed up with kevin? that's fast. it's more than 1.5 year away! i'll be visiting bridal shops only after my ROM in Jan 2002. will decide on one ard apr 2002.

u mean kevin's doesnt come with a photography package?

as for my ROM, i'll be having it in oriental hotel's suite. a v. huge suite. inviting 25 guests for a tea reception in the suite. simple yet personal.

yes, i need ideas for ROM dress as i've not got one yet. am still trying to slim down more first. i do have the intention to visit le galleria to make one. where did u get ur 2nd hand wedding gown?

which particular tailor shop have u been to in penisular plaza. how much does it costs to make a suit and pants? does it has plenty of materials to select from? and plenty of designs to look at on papers?

hi astrud, mind to share wat r the songs u've selected? i'll be selecting some romantic love songs but not those current pop songs. more like jazz. wat abt u? i dont listen to songs most of the time, thus i'm really helpless in finding songs.

Hi BB,
:P I tend to be quite long -winded...sorri abt dat.

wow...u have started visiting the places already?Well...i'm like looking at prices only...haven't started looking yet. Like u...i thinking of booking venue only sometime Feb-Mar 2002.

i din noe that pan pac won't allow u the whole ballroom...i hv 40-45 tables...do u think i can try for pacific ballroom? lemme noe what your views are aft visiting conrad and sheraton ok?

i have signed up with kevin last week....i noe i quite kan cheong...but i'd guess u can when u r very certain of it. besides, i wanted to sign up b4 increases his prices.

And yes...kevin's package comes with photography...Benny Ang and Image Gdn. i haven't confirmed the photography pkg...trying to find a better photographer that suits my preference. in case i dun, i 'd guess i will take on image gdn.

i got my ROM gown fr FLUV - they were closing down their bridal ops & were clearing their gowns. what's ur budget? If it's anything above $300, u can always tailor. u can try La Vie at OUB Ctr or Charis. kevin also does ROM dresses but quite ex abt $650.

For men suit, u can try Men's Traditions @ Penninsula S.C. Look for Daniel. Abt $400++ dpding on material chosen. Tel :336 9286. He can help your FH choose fabrics, designs and colour to complement ur dress. I feel dat his workmanship is good. Why dun u check him out?

Hmmm....songs that i have choosen are mainly bossanova jazz pcs by Astrud Gilberto, Stan Getz ...blues by Chet Baker...Latin oldies by Nat King Cole and other oldies by Louis Armstrong and Ella Fitzerald (hope I've spelled correctly).
I hv shortlisted abt 80 songs...will be narrowing them down. wat abt ur selection?

Hi Astrud,

I'm not getting married in 2003, but I just happen to read your messages, coz your nick-name caught my attention!!!

Just wanted to tell you that you have EXCELLENT taste, in the choice of music for your wedding!!! Astrud Gilberto is my all-time favourite singer. In fact, I've just finished helping my best friend with her preparation, and we have chosen songs from all those artists you shortlisted. We also added some tracks from Miles Davis, and Omara, Jobim / Mendonca, and some tracks from Frank Sinatra! It took me about 2 months to beg and borrow CDs from friends and relatives, because some tracks are not in the archives of Limewire!!!

Don't worry about being too long-winded. I too, write very long posts.....guess we are just being detailed!!!!

Gee...thanks howesy. Astrud Gilberto is my favourite jazz singer too!

I wld also like to include some songs from Miles Davis but i hvn't really heard much of his works. Will prob pop by Gramaphone to take a look.

i'm actually looking for more songs from the 40's and 50's era. Which other singers wld you recommend? And pardon me for asking, what's limewire? Sounds like an archive like napster...a music archive is what i need.

Smiles

astrud, it's alright, i dun mind reading long long replies ;)

i guess we've a different approach for banquet finding. for me, the first round i'll shortlist some hotels based on sixth sense. then second round, shortlist those with nice ambience and ballroom, last round would be cost and service and food.

u might want to try negotiating with pan pac to allow ur 45 tables in the pacific ballrm.

so u mean fluv has closed down already? i sill tot of going to take a look. what color did u wear?

hey!!!!!!! i think we've the same taste. i like this kind of songs too - ella especially. but i dont listen to songs really. do u mind if u can let me have the list of 80 songs or even better, do u have the mp3 of these songs?

i think it takes too long to download. i've only downloaded abt 10. i need them for my ROM reception. and wedding day also.

howsesy, so we 3 are of the same taste when comes to songs! is there any way u can pass me a copy of the songs u've helped ur friend prepare? i think it's also good, then when comes ur turn, ur music selection will be settled already.

Hi BB,
Yep...FLUV has closed down already but i think the designer is still free-lancing - their floral ops have moved to Club St.

I wore a 2nd wedding gown off-white for my ROM - A-line bustier gown with embroidery on the bodice and on the hem of the gown. Back is translucent.
I felt it was a little too grand but it did give me a feeling of getting married which is good coz lotsa of ppl juz treat the ROM as a formality. I wanted it to be low key but more memorable than that.

i dun have the song list with me at work but I cld share my list with u tomorrow. I tink i may have some Nat King Cole -latin ones on mp3..i gotta check in case my bro has deleted them. Can u share ur selection as well?

Wow...it sounds that u are having a rather elaborate ROM...sounds really fun !

Hi Astrud,

I'm sooooo thrilled to know that you like songs from the 40's and 50's!!!! I absolutely adore songs from that "genteel" era, and I think the romanticism is beautifully captured in songs, poetry, plays....etc...... My parents always laugh at me, and say that I am born thirty years too late!!!

One of my favourite male singer from the 40's and 50's is Tommy Edwards. I couldn't find any of his CDs here, and had to ask HMV to import them. I guess that's probably becoz his music is too old, for them to even consider stocking up!!!

I picked a few of Andy Williams' songs, coz his voice always reminds me of Christmas. Johnny Mathis an Tony Bennett are also safe bets.

As for Miles Davis, I picked "It Never Entered My Mind". My best friend's hubby is a huge Miles Davis' fan, and my friend say that "die die also must include one of Miles' hits". I listened to almost all Miles' albums, and only found one hit which I think is suitable. No offence to Miles' ardent fans. but some of his music is a little "heavy" (for a lack of better word)" for my friend's wedding theme. But do listen to some of his albums, if you can, and you might pick something you like!!!

Yup, LimeWire is a file-sharing portal, very much like Napster. To use LimeWire, you need to download the utilites from

http://www.limewire.com

When you are using LimeWire, it is very, very important to have a firewall, on your computer. I use Zonelabs, and if you need more information on firewalls, I can send you the link!

I still prefer Napster, coz LimeWire's archives are not as extensive for certain genres. I miss Napster.....sigh...... My only regret is not downloading more songs from Napster, before it was forced to shut down.....(double-sigh)!!!

Maybe one day we can go shopping for CDs together!!! Agree with you, Gramaphone does have a very good selection of "oldies"!!!

Right now, I'm working on another list of compilation. This time, I am picking songs from French, Italian and Spanish artists. Quite difficult becoz my knowledge of Italian is quite limited, and I need to get the songs translated, so at least I know I've not picked anything inappropriate, for the wedding!!! French songs are manageable, and for Latin songs, I'm sticking to Luis Miguel, Omara and some smooth bossanova numbers!! I'm trying to have something to cater to everyone, since there are foreign guests as well!!!!

I'm soooo glad that I've "met" another khaki who loves music from the 40's and 50's!!! Now I can stop shopping for CDs with my old uncles and my god-father!!!

Gosh, I can go on and on and on about music, but I would rather not take up unneccessary space here!!! Maybe we can chat either on AOL AIM or Yahoo Messenger. ICQ tends to create havoc on my computer, so I prefer not to use it at work!!!!

Cheerio!

hi howesy, i would like to have a copy/list of the songs u've prepared for ur fren.

hi howesy,

I also like love songs of earlier years but never know the singner names or song titles, pai sei. Can you share with me your list so that I can check them out for my reception?Please email me at [email protected]

hi howesy, care to share with us the list of songs u've got?

Dear PiggyMinnie and Carol,

I don't have the list at work. The complete list is with my friend's husband. We were using his Mac to do all the editing, and for the multi-media presentation. They're on their honeymoon now, and I'll print it out from their Mac, when they return from their honeymoon!!!

If I remembered correctly, the list is very long, and I think I would let Chin Leng have it, so that he can put it on the site, for all to download!!

howsesy, that's a great idea. but is it possible to borrow the CD from you or when they're back from honeymoon?

Hey Bridalbliss,

In order not to get into trouble with copy-right laws, I don't think it's a good idea to borrow non-authorised compilations. My brother works for a record company, and we all need to be quite cautious about such things.

You should have no problem sourcing for the songs, either from CD shops or the world wide web.

thanks howesy,

looking forward for Ching Ling to put it on the website

hi howesy, shouldnt have copyright problem becos we're only going to select a few songs out of it. if u dun feel ok with it, then nevermind, it's alright.

Hi Bridalbliss,

Acutally, even just downloading songs from the internet is already infringing on the copy-right laws. If you look at any medium, there is usually a clause that says that "No unauthorised copying, hiring, public performance and broadcasting prohibited". Or some other clause, but with the same meaning and effect.

So, to do the multi-media presentation for my friend, and to use the selected tracks for the wedding ceremonies (they had 1 church wedding, 2 wedding dinners), we wrote to the various record companies (my brother is in the record industry) and told them that we were using these tracks for a wedding, and these tracks are from original CDs, which are the private collections of different individuals.

Therefore, it would be unethical for my friend to circulate the music compilations which they made.

We are just being very cautious, becoz of my brother's position in the record industry, and also our parents are both lawyers, we need to be mindful of our actions.

Hi howesy,
Sorri...wasn't able to revert earlier.

And yes..we should go music shopping together

Actually, I only just started appreciating music from the old so i'm still not too familiar with the artistes from the era. Hope i can learn more from you if u dun mind.

Yes..I heard that Miles Davis' music is rather "heavy" and I initially thot that Chet Baker is already that (he's pretty melancholic), until the guy at Gramophone corrected me.

I will probably go and check out the singers you have mentioned. I wonder if they are the more "jazzy" types. My dad doesn't fancy this genre...he prefers to the "pop music" of the era...such as Platters & so on, so my only plausible avenue is lost to me...fortunately, I found an expert in you.

I wonder if you are able to offer any song suggestions to conjure a "glamourous 40's-50's nightclubby" feel. If I'm not wrong, that's when the Latin/Spanish songs were in trend and I was thinking alone the lines of Nat King Cole's Latin compilation such as Quizas Quizas. I also picked some songs from Pink Martini's album...mix of French, Italian and Spanish. And some Spanish bossanova. Any other recommendations? It's pretty hard to find some more upbeat ones for the march-in that suits the theme.

And I absolutely agree with you abt checking the translation. Luckily, I have a French colleague who can help with the French songs. :P. For the rest, i suppose i can run some by u and if u dun noe, i think i'm juz gonna go ahead and use it...hehehe...

Would love to chat with you offline - what abt on Yahoo Messenger then? You can drop me an email at [email protected] and I will provide u with my yahoo ID.

talk to u soon.

Smiles!

hi howesy,

do you know anything about songs after a certain number of years, they will be free to be used for public ? i.e. no copyright on them....that was what i was told by someone. tried searching for that on the internet but wasn't able to find anything about it...

good to know some people likes the classics....i;m not as familiar as i would like to be...still learning.

i'm still compiling the songs to be used for my wedding....a good mix of ella, frank sinatra, chet baker and johnny mathis....

thinking of barry white but i think he would be out of place...hahah...
recommendations for anyone is always welcomed!

same sentiments about napster....
really regretted not downloading more songs....aiyah..

Hi breeze,

I am planning to have my customary wedding in 2003, but have not done any preparation yet so far...:P

Hi breeze,

are you one of them?? hehehe

me also planning on 2003...is it too early to plan? But I think it's just nice to start looking around...

hi cldc & Hazel
hehehe... ya ya.. i also one of them...
that's y i am here

i saw alot of threads on 2002..just wondering if I was too kiasu to start scouting and browsing around...
i would be having my ROM and customary all on the same day in 2003... when's yours gals? have you book any package or banquet reservations already??
what's the first thing we should do now huh?? i mean where do we start?? any ideas?
It's really great to find you gals on the web..

Me also bride in 2003. But i am KS type, me going to book banquet already.... and me book actual day photographer oreadi oso coz can't resist le...

great to c brides in 03 in the forum as well! Maybe we can all share pointers...

rgds

corrine

hi corrine,
i think i am a ks bride too

i am glad we can come on line to share ideas

where did you book your banquet? I have begun to look around for banquet and bridal... have actually arrange for a tentative booking for a banquet... haven put deposit though

who's your photographer? book any bridal package already? btw.. forget to ask you when is your wedding?
i really think we 2003brides should continue to keep in touch

my rom coming soon...2nd Mar 2002. Most of the preparation for ROM oredi completed only left the lunch venue. wat abt you gals' ROM?

me have not started any preparation for the customary wedding yet, but mostly likely will be sourcing for wedding venues after ROM.

My hse oso coming..what abt you gals? whr's your lovenest?

so happy can find kakis here!! :D

my rom should be on the same day as the customary... but dunno will the whole day be very tight .. still thinking whether to put to 2days? any comments?
cldc- have you shortlisted any lunch venues so far? i am taking a resale flat somewhere near my mum near the city area... what abt you gals?

me have not shortlist lunch venue lor...very worry now.

my lovenest at P21, actually suppose to collect my key this fri but defer till after my ROM.

breeze, you have not bot the resale flat yet? be careful of property agent leh.

and i think rom and customary on the same day quite siong leh..unless you skip outdoor phototaking session...but still have the tea ceremony at both sides leh? got enuf time or not?
scare you too shack huh, wun look pretty for the wedding banquet leh..

what kind of venue you looking for for your rom lunch? maybe you can try oaks & grills at tanglin mall level 1... they got a garden and an indoor area where you cn have you buffet etc etc... price not that steep too... i dunno your budget though...

so you won't be renovating your house till after ROM? when you reach that time let me know... coz maybe by then, i also renovating our house then can share some pointers

point taken.. in fact i very wary of these property agents too ...you have bad experiences with them?

i oso know if i put rom and customary together very siong.. on the other hand, we felt it's meaningful too.. to have all these in one day.. i am still thinking about how to go around it... i was actually thinking of incorporating some outdoor shot!! very greedy hoh??then i still wan to look pretty leh.. hehehe... how??

you shortlisted any venues for your dinner and bridal apckae so far?

hi gals!

me also KS bride too!! hahhaha..

Have you all have a specific date for 2003? Breeze, how did you know which date to choose for 2003? I can't chose yet, 'cos the lunar calendar not out yet??

me shortlisting some banquet venues..Breeze, which venue did you choose? can share?

I am a 2003 bride too!! My ROM will be on 27 Feb 02 and my customary on 8 Jan 03. Me a super kiasu bride. Already booked bridal and actual day phtographer. Now looking for hotels. Having real headache.

So glad to know other 2003 brides. Now we can all share our experiences.

Hi Breeze,

Me have already make tentative booking for dinner in Four Seasons, haven't pay the deposit though, going to pay think end of the mth....

For actual day, photography, me already book with Barnabas Hong, coz i saw his work done on a fren, beri nice, cannot resist, so juz went ahead to book after my 'banker' agrees.

I ROM already last year, on the Valentine's so.... my actual day not so 'shiong', still have time to even go outdoor for pix... (thinking of chjmes, but beri x le... gotta pay S$300 juz to take photography there)...

And me currently sourcing around for good live band, maybe jazz for my actual event. anibody got lobang, cheap and good one..

Thinking of booking bridal package in JB, the shop recommended by one of the SB brides. The photo is quite nice and most of all its cheap!

Btw, anybody got lobangs for actual day videographer? Saw some of the threads that recommended Saints and Mirage, me quite interested but dunno quality how... cannot go for Academy Video coz really too x... now everything must cut cost coz cannot be everything the best, must set my priorities rite other my banker sure to make lots of noise...

Somemore, now must save money to renovate our love nest liao. But will only renovate nxt yr coz moving in only next year.

Anybody got lobang for cheap and good contractor?
As for our wedding date, we did not wait for the lunar calendar coz we are not 'pantang' abt these things, so juz went ahead with a date which is meaningful to us lor... its on the 11/11/03, but on a Tuesday though....

Glad me found a grp of gals in the same boat as me so we can alll share tips..

rgds

corrine

I'm also a 2003 bride. Finally someone starts this thread. My ROM is the same as Leng on 27 Feb 02 and my wedding on 16 Jan 03. I'm very KS too.

I got my ROM dress last Mar 01. I have also booked my bridal with Milan and banquet with Marina Mandarin. Everything paid deposit liao. KS right! but heeee was trying to get hold of the 2001 pricing. I have not booked any actual day photographer or videographer. Felt pinch of having to cater another at least $1K for these.

Hi Leng
what time is your ROM? Mine is at 11:45am. Do you know where for lunch? How come you select this date? I have mine calculated by the geomancer.

Hi Corrine & Dap,

How do you select the banquet venues? Me need help!!! Do you call them up to ask them to fax the details to you and make appointment to meet the coordinator?? All hotels and restaurants have 2003 price list already?

HI Hazel_77,

I have 28tables, and we wanted it to be in Orchard road, so the only 2 hotels left for us would be Four Seasons and Hyatt. Went to Hyatt, didn't really like the place, find it too commercialized and no privacy coz they have a shared foyer....

Yeah, first call the hotel you are interested, then get them to send in the details of the package by fax or email. Currently most of the hotels are still going by 02 prices, so if you were to book now for 03, you will hedge the risk of increased pricing, as rates will only go upwards and not downwards, but most probably, the rates will stay the same for this year coz of the downturn economics....

But for our case, we go for the date,and also in case there's any price revision, even if its marginal...

hope it helps..but most imptly, discuss with our fiance on what are you looking for ie. the ambience, food, locality etc.

rgds

corrine

I'm a 2003 bride too.... I've already ROM, my customary will be on 07.01.2003.

I've already booked my wedding banquet at Pan Pac, bridal package also booked liao.. from Seletar Broadway..

Flat already selected liao... at Punggol 21

Me now waiting for May to come... then will select my gown.

Cheerz

So glad that there's so many of us getting marry in year 2003.

Hi Icemilo!!

how did most of you select the date to get marry in 2003? coz my mum keep telling me dunno the date coz still too far..but i scared by the time she tell me the date..most of the hotel venue i want will be booked liao. :P

i have not source bridal package yet..but eyeing silhoutte coz seems not bad leh..the gowns.

cldc,

me having the same problem as you leh..the date!!! signn...i not "pangtang" one, but the date still has to please the parents!! When Corrine said that she had already book her banquet for Nov 2003, I getting a little anxious liao!!!

but we booked the bridal package liao. so that's one off my mind..next is the house and banquet...

check with you gals, do your husband-to-be help you to plan also? sign..my guy always think got a lot of time! How to make him understand that it's good to start planning early?

alamak hazel, den me worst rite, everything oso not settle yet...now really worried!

my bf oso like dat! he always very lazy sometimes me oso lazy den two of us "nuan" lor! :P but i think he worst sometimes i will panick but he always forever think its still far away so can slow and steady..i scared by the time..slow but not steady ar!!

me oso not pandang! but my parent are!! so boh pian have to wait for them..keep reminding them to give me the date soon...*sigh*

Aiya cldc! you where got everything not settle lah...me still no roof over my head yet leh...me still waiting for that HDB! so we both sama sama..

sian hor? waiting for the date...signn..maybe what you can do now is to do up your estimate guest lists lor..

Guys!! what to do with them?? I think they are also thinking "Girls, what to do with them, forever so anxious!" heheheh

Me lucky i guess, coz both side parents oso not 'pantang' as long as its not the Hungry ghost can alady.... so we thot why not make it a date we first date?

Bf not supportive, me oso have this problem, but neva mind coz i like doing all the planning, better still you make the decision, but bf pays,so the most important part is you like the place/arrangement or not....

I already resigned myself to it, but this way better coz no arguments ma... so in the end the guys cannot say anything liao coz they didn't want to join the planning in the first place. Juz think it this way lor....

But a word of caution, better book early if you want the event to be in late of the year coz its a popular date, somemore can take your time to prepare other things ma....

rgds

corrine

corrine, thanks for all the advise!

I also like planning..but hor sometimes without his input also hard to plan..example like asking him to come out with the estimate guest list, he say next year mah, so early give for what?? aiyo! want to vomit blood!
sign..looks like i also have to resigned to it..

allo hazel_77,

i have also been ur stage, but me beri smart, i told him straight away, if he's willing to pay for the hike rates for wedding banquet, i m fine... so in the end, no choice lor... gotta come up with the est. guest list...

I know beri bad.. but sometimes must use this type of method then can work... talk about money, everthing also can.... they feel the pinch wat...

but of course, after that must be 'xiao niao yi ren' sweet talk a bit... (ha ha ha) we women will always have the last laugh 1 (hehehe)

good luck!

corrine

keke...must know how to "do" to "hon" our guys rite?

me din faced much prob asking for est. guest list from him..only thing is find him to relax lor..ask him to do this ..he said still early..do tat..still early. he very lazy lor!

Hi dap,

My ROM is at 11am, so maybe we may bump into each other.
My date was also chosen by a geomancer based on me and my fh's birthdates as well as our parents'.

I have booked my bridal package with Kevin Seah, studio photographer Imagegarden and Monica Eng as my actual day photographer.

Now in process of choosing the hotel. Icemilo, I am also considering Pan Pac. Quite satisfied with the package. However, as I only have about 25 to 28 tables, I am quite apprenhensive that the ballroom may not look as nice when partitioned cos they are giving me Pacific 3. How many tables are you having? If I choose Pan Pac, then your wedding will be one day before mine.
Which ballroom are you taking?

I have selected my flat in Bukit Batok, now waiting for keys. Looking for a contractor now. Was at Suntec on Sun for the Whiteboard homeshow. Their designs seems quite good but a bit ex. Does anyone have any good interior designers or contractors to recommend?

Dap,

About the venue for ROM reception, I have not decided yet. But considering Crown Price Hotel. You have any place in mind?