(2003) Brides of year 2003

Attendance(9 Person): Meow, Amore, Leo, Grace, Akira, wedsoon, Are, Min, Wen

Un-confirm: Yve, Shirlynn, Feb, Sunnyling

Time:7-730pm

Venue : Joaqium(Suntec)

Grace,
you dismiss at 5:30 or 6pm huh? I meet you first want?

dear all!!

tomorrow is the DAY!!just doing last minute packing and try to make myself feel relaxed...

can't imagine my wedding is just tomorrow...

hopefully nothing goes wrong and would enjoy my
BIG DAY!!

see you gals!

Hi May: Same here i thot i can try to cook on weekdays and weekend but then i give up. I have to rush back to cook and by the time i finished everything it is already 8pm. It is already over my dinner time and my stomach cant take it. i am too hungry that i cant eat anymore. I dun enjoy my food anymore.

It is hard to cook for two. wat do u normally cook? Can give some tips??

Kare: b4 i forget, enjoy ur trip ok!!!!

-ballroom decor (flowers, cutlery, table decor, reception decor, table cloth etc)
-emcee
-music (walk-in & background music, 1st fanfare etc)
-buy wine, liqour
-book honeymoon
-studio & outdoor photography (before he goes)
-book actual day photographer & videographer
-settle bridal transportation
-transportation for parents and wedding entourage
-ang pows
-catering for actual day
-church (if any)
-montage (if any)
-etc

bonnie, just holler if you need help!
if hubby is not around, get your jie meis to go w you!

you poor thing .... i thot my hubster studying for exams in oct is bad enough, but your's is even more cham. Poor thing you .... well, there's now you and me on the same boat ... preparing everything ourselves!

May & Pausini
Thanks!! I'll be back on the 26th June.

Regarding getting used to married life (everyone is asking me that, do you all get the same questions too?), I'm still not getting used to staying with strangers as I'm now staying temporarily with my brother in law and his family. Good thing is they leave the house at around 10am in the morning and gets home around the same time. By the time they're back, I'll be in my own room. As for dinner, it is an expectation for us to go over to my PIL to have dinner. Because the house we're staying in now is really close to theirs. On Tuesday, I managed to entice husband to dine out and immediately he was questioned how come he didn't go back for dinner. Hmpf! Good thing of course, is that I didn't have to bother with cooking dinner as well as doing any house work (the brother's maid does all the washings for us). I'm afraid that after I move into my house later this year, I'll be so dependent and so lazy! LOL!!!

yeah really very scared but at least i thik your huuby is in singapore...mine is not....then wedding is like 2 person stuff.

actaully he can choose not to go but i felt it is a rare opportunity.

feeling so down

Kare: One solution! Get a maid too.. hahaha...

oh u cant imagine the amt of work u need to do at home. Now i know how hard my mum need to work after she got back from work. No wonder mother is the greatest!!..

Now we wash our clothes alternate days, change bath sheets and towel every two weeks, mop and vacumm the floor once every weekend. Clean the toilet very 1.5 weeks..

can i know why some pple have to clean the toilet everyday har.. Is it that dirty????

Ocassional will help to wipe the cabinet.
Iron the clothes once a week.

Ok me not superwoman, some is done by hubby.
Last time before we live together i always complaint that he doesnt know how to cook. Now cant complaint much cos he help alot in other household chorus. No complaint of this hubby now...

Hi Shirlynn,
wah your teadress materials sound interesting! I just went Arab St too and bought for my cocktail dress (I decided to save on Kua
). Black embroidered and beaded netting over white lining. Now must pysche elderly relatives slowllly or else that day they get shock! So many other nice materials there... ~drroool~ temptation for another maybe in full french lace but shouldn't. But very tempted!

Hi Wen, yeah the shoes big problem, the really high ones I need very ugly. After wedding I'd chuck aside unless wear with my ROM or cocktail dress length.

Hihi Pausini
U collect holy water for?? U a catholic?

Hihi May
So far the only meat I cook for my hubby is chicken. I usually cook veg, crab stick, scallop, tor fu,...
My mum taught me to brew chicken soup wif dates, winter melon, scallop. Use chicken drumstick. The last time I cook it, everyone, including my parents said it taste superb. The secret brew v v long hrs.

I find marriage live more tiring. Gotta allocate time for hsework, office work, parents (my mum calls me everyday), parent in law (more flexible I dun go when I m busy). Sometimes I feel I can't breathe.

Me Mrs Lee

Hi beibei,

Congrats! And since we are using the same hotel, tell me what to expect! And do you tell them what song u're using for the first dish presentation? How soon do you have to give to them?

Hi Shook:
no lah me buddhist!!! i wanted to get it for my catholic colleagues but end up i still have one bottle left. I already give him one bottle liao. Very siao hor. that time my luggae is like very heavy liao still very siao siao go and collect the water.

Actually i have pix of the snow mountain we vist but is photo and i didnt scan it. next time when we have house visit to each other house i show u all lah... That time my 1st time see snow and on top of mountain (not really the top) very exciting. Like crazy woman like that... hahaha...

I joke with my ex-colleagues that we go Europe tour when we our kid are old enough , can take care themselves liao and we can go for the senior citizen fare. So all cheaper... Dun know still can walk or not... hahaha...

Wah u can brew soup! I try too lah but my hubby always complaint it taste tasteless. Cos my MIL using the charcoal to brew the soup. like that where got the same RIGHT!!! no need to take care of fire and can let it brew slowly...

Ur mum really miss u, call u everyday!!!
How do u jaga between all these. How do u go to work to sengkang, far???

pausini: i guess the good thing is i enjoyed cooking and hubby will help out. same, same...by the time i reach home is ard 7 pm and when i am done with cooking, it will be 8 pm. Having dinner at 8 pm is ok for us. Like last nite, we had dinner at 8.30 pm. By the time, we finished cleaning up it is already past 9 pm.

i also wash clothes on alternate days. thank god for the invention of washing machine. i just dump everything in it. u know what, i still not finished with washing all the clothes we wore on our honeymoon. massive washing this weekend. sometimes i use the dryer to speed things up.

we clean our hse every weekend. which my hubby does not understand. He mops the floor while i clean the two bathrooms. Clean bathroom everyday..siao...

luckily, my hubby helps out in the housework. he is the one that does the ironing - twice a week. i dunno how to iron...hee...

what i cook...simple meals...like last nite, i bake honey ribs, brocolli, potatos and carrots for dinner.

the nite before, i fried vegetables, egg and steam prawns.

only on sat, then i will brewed soup...coz take very long time. must cook three hours... hubby love my soup...but i just go to Eu Yan Sang and must the herb packet...buy black chicken and dump all in to cook for 3 hours. then the soup is yummy...u shld try ...not tasteless.

don't let wedding blues spoil your day!
like u said, its a rare opportunity ... such golden opportunities don't come knocking on your door twice, so it was a wise decision!

dun worry too much abt the wedding prep, things will somehow fall in place on the actual day itself. Just appoint a few good & reliable jie meis to help you out. start early, and delegate.

hi 1027,

saw from another thread that u r having 85 tables! it must be a massive feat to plan the sitting arrangements! I am having problem with even 32 tables. btw where is ur wedding held?

yeah, 85 and another 5 KIV.
I'm holding my banquet at westin, not very many choices coz of the sheer size of my guest list.
sigh ... actually i'm very xian at the thot of 850 guests, half of which i dun even know!

expenses are terribly high with this volume too ... my wine alone already costs me almost $4k !!

Hi bonnie,

Yeap… Yeap
Agreed with 1027…
Things would more or less be done when it’s nearer the date…

I am also stressed at this moment…
Seems like umpteen things not completed…
But FH assured me that things are fine and the pace is not too bad…

Guess would have to rely on your jie-meis
They can offer their opinion and views in your selection of gowns, photos, music for montage, music for march-in etc etc

agree agree with jus
just get 1 or 2 close friends as jie mei to give constructive advise.
dun get a large gang of friends ... coz opinions differ and they will be giving many counter suggestions that will make the deicion-making process even more difficult for you.

jus, what are u stressing over?
i was stressed last week, when i was trying out so many different types of wine. One night, my monster and i drank up 3 bottles of red wine. Initially to taste, after that realised i didn;t have enough wine savers cork, so we forced ourselves to finish it.

Wah liew, we were damn high that night! I never drank so much before in a single night, but i thot it was good trainig for my hubster !!

Kare: u very lucky leh...still got BIL's maid to do washing for you all. Cherish it all you can now as when u have a home of your own...you will be like us...slogging w housework. u will really fee the difference.

When is your new house ready? and where?

really you all must have dinner at PIL's house every night? Even weekend? hey, then u all where got time to go dating??

Shook: i agree w you abt married life. = husband + home + freedom + privacy + HOUSEWORK. i also very tired...now no have luxury to watch tv liao...sigh...

i hardly visit my IL...but i try to go home to my mom's place for lunch every sunday. my mom dont call me everyday...

wah your mom got so many things to talk to you??
she must really miss u lots.

Hihi Pausini
Hahaha I like dat. Go to Europe when we r old.
Brew soup wif charcoal definitely taste superb. I brewed soup over the gas stove for 4 hrs. U try adding dried scallop, oh yes 4got to mention dried abalone (muz soak both in water over the night) n dates. My mum said can put mushroom n ji zhi (the little red seeds gd 4 eyesight) or put in a packet of shi sheng (4 types of herbs) or liu wei (6 types of herbs). My mum said my SIL likes to add chicken cube but my parents find the taste v artificial.
U bet! My mum calls me everyday. Whenever I leave her hse, she will ask when I m going again. There wz once when I rushed home by bus, did hsework then rushed to her hse. She called 3 times I din pick up the call. When I reached home, she asked y I din ans her call. I told her I wouldn't b able to reach there (close to 9pm) by dat time if I ans her call. She asked if I taken my dinner. I said I can't even afford to take a sip of water. My dad reprimanded me 4 giving priorty to hse work over my health. I really feel v v tired. I can't breathe. Lucky my hubby helps wif hsework. I m still struggling. As I m planning 4 honeymoon now, gd excuse not to PIL n my parents' home. Of coz my mum still calls lar.
I have a direct bus to my office but the journey itself takes 1 hr. My hubby drives me to work. How abt u?

Hihi May
If I cook I oso finish cooking ard 8:30 to 9:00pm depending on wat time we leave office. My hubby doesn't help wif cooking but he cleans the kitchen after I cooked.
Wow, u need to wash laundry every alternate day. I do it once a wk. I separate white n color clothing. Sometimes accumulate until my hubby runs outta underwear
. No choice, my washing machine gives unbalance error when I put in too little laundry.
U can cook v well, so many interesting variations.

hi 1027,
u must be very excited!! mind to share how's it going? mine is still in july leh ... now only done 1st fitting

Continuing discussion abt starting a family. I read an article in marie claire, it said that women produce a limited number of eggs in her lifetime. Every month our body will release one, starting from the best one. That's one reason why it's better to have children before hitting 30, so the egg quality is still good. After mid-30, the possibility of having a child with down syndrome will be higher. Just fyi ...

May
Yah lor... but I think I will make it a point to get my SO to go back to my side once a week. And leave a day for dating. If not, like that, our marriage is going to sizzle out very soon. heh....

My house will only be ready at the end of this year. It'll be at Bukit Batok.

Pausini
No lar. Can't afford maids at the moment LOL! But hubby intends to employ a maid once we have kids though.

Pausini: i also got the same tot to go Europe when u r old...enjoy senior citizens rate mah...we shld travel together...ha..ha 2 old couple.

Shook: u actually bother to rush back to yr mom's place after doing housework? u only child??? i hope your mom's place was near yr house.

cannot leh, if i accumulate my clothes, i feel uncomfortable. Hubby also complains that i am washing clothes. But the laundry basket is hlaf full liao still dont wash.

After the honeymoon, the laundry basket is overfull.

Kare: bukit batok near my mom place...
yes, think u shld try to work out a schedule abt dinner. actually yr IL shld understand that you all newly wed still wants to have some time to date.

dear rhs: SURE! actually i'm all geared up & excited abt the photoshoot but there are so many things to do before the shoot! Plus the eye bags around my eyes ....

Actually this is my 2nd photoshoot. had my first in April. That was quite fun too!

yah, read abt that too. But i feel the need to have some freedom as a couple before being tied down with kids and all.... i kinda like the carefree life as a couple eg taking off for a holiday anytime etc. Plus the house is nice and new now .... somehow with kids you'll have toys all over the place etc.

family can wait lah ... i must have at least 2 years freedom before starting a family. Unless kenah honeymoon baby or something, than too bad lah.

Hi 1027,

Wah… drink so much…
Good training for the wedding night… hee hee

I m not stressed over the wine (hee hee, leaving that to my future FIL)
Just felt that a lot of things are not done yet…
e.g., cards (now more or less ok),
wedding favours (wanted to source for something extra for my guests, but on tight budget – in the end dropped the idea – convinced by my FH and photographer – not to waste unnecessarily… )
painting of his room (still have not started… moreover we all first-time painting)
bedsheet (got a set, but wanted to get a better one… see, me so fickle!)
photo selection (photos are out, but still haven’t really choose… )
etc etc…
although the bigger things are more or less done… these nitty-gritty things are driving me nuts!!!

How about yourself? How’s preparation?

Hi rhs,

Are you planning to start a family right after your wedding?
My FH wanted to start soon (say having a kid in the second year)
But I prefer to delay a little, coz no money!!!
Though I m aware of the risks involved… ; (

Hihi May

I oso wanna go Europe when I m old. 3 couples liao. Any more??

Till now, I visited my in-law 3 times after my customary.

I m not the only child but the only daughter n the youngest one. So can understand my mum misses me a lot lor. Dat's y I take the effort to visit her whenver possible. Lucky she stays in Pasir Ris. Even then, so near n yet so far.

Your washing machine no problem when u have little laudry?

Hi Shook: No lah hubby dun have a car. he wanted to get one but finanically is too heavy for us. So i say NO NO... took bus & MRT to work lor..
My mum dun call me everyday only when she need me to help on something or ask me whether to come back for dinner lor. However, my MIL calls my hubby everyday.. still the same habit never change one. sometime i feel extreme irriating, i do complaint but wat to do it is like a norm to them liao... She called to said, what he ate in the noon, dinner. Have he done this and that.... whenever my home phone rings i knew is her. i just dun bother to pick up the call. Let my hubby do it.

I also cant do the laundry once a week. Wat brand of washing machine are u getting?? I will not have enough pole to hang them...

May: Yah lor, can go europe tour when we get old... No worries anymore, may be expense paid by the children also leh... hahaha
U hubby still help out in the kitchen, that is good! my hubby will stand there look stupid and dun know where to start. so i normally ask him to wait for me and only get him to get ready the table.
He also very lazy to wash up the dishes so normally i "pow" all the stuffs in kitchen and he will handle the rst of the house..

Kare: u hubby also very sayang u leh..

hi jus

yah, its the smaller nitty gritties that's quite terok also.

altho the main things are outta the way, i'm stressing myself coz my monster is going to start studying soon.

managed to settle quite alot of things over the last 2 weeks, but i think there's still more to come. eg i haven't decided on the menu, date for food tasting, cards, got to choose photos after my shoot next thurs, thank you gifts, etc

aiyah, so much to do!
starting to be xian already.

hahaha, jus!
no no, no training for me.
i'm not going to drink on that night, and neither am i going to give a speech. will act as a demure quiet bride that night. hahahaha (like real!)

same same ... i will only start the family in the 2nd year of marriage. Money is #1 issue - having kids is a lifelong thing and no money = no milk powder & diapers!

Hi 1027,

I know that previously (few years back), brides are supposed to be demure…
But nowadays, brides also join in the fun!!!
So, we also must have fun on our wedding day, yea…

Agreed..
Having kids would be financially draining…
Hence, but save more or less there first before contemplating having a kid…
And also, must eat ‘bu’ things and ensure that our body is healthy first…

haw haw haw haw haw ahwaw h !!!
yeah, i'll have my fun, but in my own way!
definitely no speech for me, in fact i'm not even going upstage!

have you started planning for your honeymoon yet?

May
Heh.. I talked to my hubby already and he agreed. So now once a week I'll go back to my mum's for dinner and another day we will dine out, but not necessarily expensive food. Fine with me as long as I can have some alone time with my hubby.

Pausini
Yah, I also think so. Heh.. he spoilt me rotten already in fact. LOL!

Hihi Pausini
My washing machine is Sanyo.
I only bought 3 poles, I hang my clothing on clothes hanger then hang the hanger on the pole. In tis way, I can hang more clothing.
My hubby oso dun help wif cooking. He juz sit in the living rm n wait 4 food. Luckily he v zhi tong help to clean the kitchen n wash the dishes.

Hihi May
Ya ya agree w you abt married life. = husband + home + freedom + privacy + HOUSEWORK
Oso gotta allot time to office work, friends. I dun have the luxuary to watch tv since few mths b4 my customary. After customary, can't even afford to read papers. I told my hubby I can't breathe. Think he got the hint. He used to sleep b4 I go to bed. Now he helps me wif more hsework n sleep @ the same time as me. Only thing he can't help is cooking lor.

Hihi Kare
Ya boy, your hubby dotes on u v much.

In fact I find dat most of the May brides' hubby dotes their May bride --- Vin, May, Kare .....

Wah! Amerline! U have problem filling 32 tables. I have problems even with 20!
So sian everytime I think of how to cope wif the issue on tables. Sometimes I jus wanna elope! Sighhhhh.....now i know why I chose my nickname when I first went into the forum. Hiazzzzz

hahahahahahaha !!! i also thot eloping would save us alot of money !!!

Imagine ... all this money spent on the wedding could have been channeled to better uses! sigh ...

Hi Maya/cherubies

My friend using flash...so no way I can edit it cos I know nothing about that. Anyway, I've my draft ready liao and think it's looking great. the breaking news is a big issue...hope he will understand...

Wow, you ladies deliver cakes? I think if I have, I will go for cake vouchers. Actually, which one is cheaper?

Do you have any red wines? My family told me not necessary but I read forum as if it's a normal thing....

i went to a frd's dinner last night, 52 tables, very stressful at the sheer size of the ballroom. i am really impressed with 1027's 85 tables.

i agree that weddings are expensive events but the memories last quite long, somehow i feel its not complete without the dinner, just feel like something missing.....

soon this Oct'03 thread will become a family planning thread...heehee.....time really flies, we were just stressing over PS, now is table planning, actual day events, soon its when to have a baby.....

Shook
So does yours ah
I think it's not the things they say, but the things they do? Like you hubby also helps out in the housework without asking. I think that action itself says a lot, doesn't it? Heh .. we must remind ourselves not to take our SO for granted.

Hi gers!!

Thanks for the well-wishes. It was an eventful day. Ritz Carlton was very ex but the view is beautiful!! Contract is signed with limited terms and conditions in favour of me.. hohoho..

hi sleepy, ladies,

no choice lah, mom wanted the cakes, somemore wanted the cantonese traditional type which is more biscuits. THose shops no way got vouchers. Actually price for both cake or voucher shld be abt same. But not all shops have vouchers, so it limits your choice of shops. THose who have may not be the cheapest.

I'm opposite, I dun want wine, my mom say must have. I think someone got lobang for cheap wines. Can try asking price.