(2003) Brides of year 2003

sunnyling... oh no... we were so close to getting a loan from standchard! they sounded pretty professional over the phone leh. & how come interest is as per income? isn't it a fixed rate? when did you apply?

Hi are

They will saying duno how much income per month than got less interest rate so we reach it by joint income but later approve ah they charge us a higher interest rate say base on my hubby income only. Wow liao we so pissed off leh but too tired to argue with them liao. I applied on last year July.

Hi Elaine,

Jia you! Everything will fall into place & proceed smoothly. Aiyoh, how come visa not approved? Have u both got any other destination in mind?

sunnyling... hmmm, will let hubby know abt this. if he really still want, then i will prob visit them & ask them all these things clearly. best if got black & white. thanx for highlighting!

How come i always seemed to be quoted higher prices??? Cherub, when i enquired last Oct, barnabas' standard actual day package was $1.7K for 25 pages of album (so-called journalistic style) + 350 pics in digital format... how come yours only $1000+? I think he may give discount if u also take studio package from him, but $700 discount is a lot leh!
*scratch head*

Naturally,mine is only in the normal slot-in album so mayb itz cheaper?He had another package is the paper kinda album which he charge abt $1,500.

Hi May: Saw yr pixs liao. They are very nice. Really like the back of yr WG, very beautiful & grand. Is it detachable?

Hi Pausini: It's ok. I tot you hv taken some shots during yr PS like May did. As for WG, I'll be wearing it twice. Told my FH abt yr comments & he's not pang tan abt it. My mum also said she never know abt such things so dun bother. It's alright for you to complain lah. I think all of us here have complained abt something we are unhappy with. I dun mind & I'm sure the rest won't mind lending u their listening ears.

Hi taddess

My train also not v. long altho starting i wanted it longer but they say 2 long very diff to handle. Me very chor lor want, so better not

Agree with pucca, it's a woman thing.

Hi pucca

Glad u like yr photos.
How many addtn'l did u choose on top of those given to u? I kpo only

Hi priviledged

No, i did not print a lot. Their standard for dinner is normal print on ivory paper but I hv a hot-stamp on the cover of the card. I printing 250 for dinner, cost ard $168. As for the church invi, printing 300 pcs using 290 gms ivory paper, hv to be hot-stamping for this one cos gold printing n we purchased extra 50 envelopes cos we only inviting some colleagues to church. Programmes we r doing on own. Collecting sample from reverend this evening when I meet him.

Enjoy yr outing okie

Hi Wendyl,

Videography packages usually range from about 1k to 2k+ depending on the camera resolution, type of storage media used, length of footage etc. Should pay them a visit and watch sample videos to get an idea of whether their style is suited to your taste.

I've booked my videographer and He came highly recommended by my friend who's got his wedding video taken by him too. Mine's in dvd format using 3CCD video cam. He has cheaper options in VCD format or lower resolution video cam too. Met him and found him to be a very nice and friendly guy, and my fh & I felt that we can trust him to do a good job. Important thing to to be able to feel at ease with the videographer.

U can visit his website at www.novexmedia.com

hi cherub,

are you using Barnabas for your studio photography? He doesn't reply to email much is it? Been trying to get his packages from him but he's very slow... do you know whether he charges for return of negatives for studio shots? I'm thinking of signing up with him at Dang if the prices are right.. You met up with him before? How is he as a person?

Hi sunnyling,

Thanks for alerting me on this... But like wat are mentioned... They sound really professional. my contractor refer me to the person in charge in the reno loan dept and she told us that once we have completed the form she will get her courier to collect from us and will reply within 48 hours leh...

then I must reconfirm on the interest rate again before I get "cheated"... I have heard from other banks like HSBC.. the interest rate is based on the main applicant's income. If >3K, interest rate lesser...

Meow,

Thanks for your advice... Okay, I will bring a spoon to check on the toilet tiles... Wah.. think I will have to spend many hours there liao... have to check this and that... Really not an easy task..

My MIL seek the help of a professional from a temple and he picked an auspicious date for us... Still have timing to follow. We thought of asking him to help us find the best place for our altar...

Heard from my MIL that we have to bring rice, salt, josssticks, hammer, etc... Kinda excited about it...

Did you gals went through these when you first enter your new love nest??

are,

You also in the midst of applying for reno loan... I have a recommendation here... Maybe you can try to borrow from NTUC Thrift? Min. income $2K. Can borrow up to 30K @ 4.5% flat pa. Repayment over 5 years maxi. Sounds reasonable...

Here is the website: www.ntucthrift.com.sg

Hi vivace (vivace)

MM stands 2 Marina Mandarin.

FBH & I looking to go within 30 tables,nothing more than tat.-hehehe
most cut cost mah.

Wow!! u really act fast hor!! me,still looking ard 4 help & guidance,like a lost lamb.

sure, wish u luck and do share wif us,should it goes well.

looking 4ward from hearing u.

Morning!

Jus: Here's the contact:
Gracious Image Marketing
Blk 51 Chin Swee Road
#01-83 S(160051)
Tel: 6-532-2710
Fax: 6-532-5760
email: [email protected]
(suggest you visit expo to take a look at their fabric etc and bargain for a good price)- think there are around 8 curtain shops there.

I go for 24th April too..let me think of a place to meet, then I will let you all know.

Confirmed ok on 24 Apr:
Fishball
vio

hi tingting,

Dun mind me answering on cherub's behalf, cos i'm taking Barbabas for studio photography as part of my LG package. One thing is, he does digital photography, so there's no negatives to return, but i'm not sure if he charges for return of all pics in digital format. Doesn't Dang have his package details? I know he doesn't reply emails fast, but if u could just give him a call, u can fix an appt with him to check out his studio and packages in just 5 mins!

My FH thinks he's quite a nice chap, prob because they can discuss "man" issues like cars, shop rental rates, computers, haha! I myself think he's a friendly guy, no airs at all. But u and your FH must meet him for yourselves, u know sometimes different people click differently....

Oh, btw, if u want to visit his studio, u might want to check out Andrew Choi and Utopia (are they part of Dang's package?) as well, cos their studios are just nearby.

Hi cherub,
oic, think he was quoting me for the paper kinda album, hmm, didn't know can reduce the price by asking for normal slot-in albums... i quite like his actual day pics, esp the collage work (is collage the right word? the kind with multi-pics-in-1?)

thanx serrich! i went to check it out, sounds too gd to be true? u also reminded me tat i can take a policy loan from income. anyone else know of any other insurance company that does policy loans?

hmm... i wonder why the banks charge so much when they charge so low???

Hihi May, Pausini
The shop I mentioned is near to a shop oso selling guo da li stuff behind CK. But tis shop behind CK is v crowded n feeback fm the forum the stuff r ex. The shop I mentioned is next to another shop selling guo da li stuff oso. The owner is a lady and her shop is not the corner shop.

Hihi May
Ya tell the lady wat is your dialect (she wz the one who asked me actually). As I got info fm the forum wat to buy and I asked for those. She said some r for Cantonese. Hockkian (I m a Hockchia, close to Hockkian) dun need. Find her v honest, won't ask u to buy unnecessary things. Besides, she recommend me to buy those cheaper stickers. When I picked an expensive one, she recommend me the alternative one which is cheaper. But I prefer the design lor so dun care it is more x.
Saw your photos. Your EG is v elegant. I oso want long train coz my hotel's aisle is fairly long. Gonna tell White Link I want a long train. Like your calla lily too.

May: i simply love your gown. very very beautiful. i like the long long train with the flowers, very romantic and flowy. EG looks very rich and suit your colour tone very well. Must send us pics of PS when out okie? i looking foward to receiving it! : )
For the GDL I didn't spend much. only bought the teapot set and these pair of lamps (battery operated) total cost less than $80. My parents bought it from this shop at Jurong West. It was advertised in the Singapore brides so i just told them to go there. I don't really place much emphasis on this part, just doing the bare minimum to satisfy parents. As for the going home on weekends, no more bed to sleep even if i go home because she wants to remove decker bed. : ) photos are ready but i haven't gone to pick. have been working late, weekday nights cannot make it. i should be trying to see if can do it this weekend. actually trying to put it off so that FH can see it together with me. see how. also, worry not nice so.....

Pausini: i can understand her feeling. it's ok, i am beginning new chapter of my life so i should be happy, not let this matter make me sad. If retaking the photos is going to make up much happier, i think you should go for it. As for your hubby, don't be angry with him. Guys are like that one, they find such activities a hassle. But i am sure after you communicate with him and he know how much it means to you. he will be happy to do it even though he now don't seem so willing. is it the photographer? if you retake, you taking the same photographer or requesting for change?

Jazz: That's alot to cover! Vancouver and Calgary are very far apart right? You both driving? Must be very exciting. You must go whale watching in Victoria. My office got this girl who did that and she said it was superb! Thanks for suggesting Korea. Yes, that is one of our alternatives but it is still much more expensive than HK and FH still thinking about it. As for HK, hopefully by then things will clear up. Understand HK held a press conference to tell the world that everything is under control. We just have to be more careful. I know what you mean. The feeling is not nice. I was very sad too. Altho we not close, I still entitle to half the room. But the comment was no point to take up space if you no longer stays here. sigh. what can i say right, it's true i won't be staying there after marriage. anyway, don't think too much. i focus on happy part. ie the wedding and new life. : ) You do the same too yeah.

Shook & Sue: Haven't settled song list too. not too particular so i will just grab any of those CD i have. save money.

Shook: Agree you should try to retain room but be ready lor. If they start to have children, then i think you room most likely will have to be sacrifice. i gather your SIL is staying with you.

are,

I went to NTUC Insurance online to check out there loan rates too... also @4.5% pa.... But you must be their policyholder for at least 2 years.... So I am not applicable to take their loan...

Right now, I am considering Standard Chartered and NTUC Thrift... But it's not guarantee that the loan from NTUC Thrift will be approved... Once approved, a guarantor will be required...

Hi taddess,
i have some pics on my PS but all the gowns are not my actual day gown. If u still interested can email me at [email protected]

Hi Abrinas,
i have already think of the EG colour liao. Hope my bridal shop have that colour.

serrich... not oni tat, it says life policy. so i muz also check, cos mine is endowment. but really wondering if there's a catch for the thrift? how come you are still considering when the rates for thrift is so much lower? and its made out to the borrower, thats 1 of our biggest headache solved!

abrinas,
we hv 26 in our pakage n we topped up for 24 pix n 1 pix is given free 2 us for the album's front cover ... a lot hor

so fast ... 2+ mths to june liao

Hihi Jan

How abt putting a sofa bed in your hse. Can sleep on it next time u go home.

Yap my SIL is staying wif me.

If u need someone to go select photo wif u, I can go wif u. My office is @ Gateway, walking distance to Xzen

pucca

I guess all of us the same, see nice must buy
When me and FH chose tt time, he took out the not-so-nice ones n refused to part with the rest so tt's why we topped up 30 ... both of our eyes very weak
... we sama sama ... a lot of photos but i guess they r for our memories

ya lor, very fast. from 21/3, it will be exactly 3 mths to mine

tingting, i have made an appt to see beetles @ work tomorrow, will update you on the visit. I heard that he is going to raise his price soon, so i panic and quickly set an appt to see Kelvin...

Mrs Quake, welcome back. Are you feeling more energised and recharged after a short trip
? I also wish to go for a short trip...
work can be so stressful.

how's everybody so far. By the way, anyone in the same situation like me - getting married and moving into new place about the same time. Care to share tips on how to manage both?

hi naturally,

thanks for explaining..so he's more of a "phone" guy than a "email" one..
Will try to meet up with him one of these days..Andrew Choi ties up with Dang as well, but i think not for Utopia..

hi chicory,

do update us after u see beetles@work!

are,

i know its the cheapest but have to join as THRIFT member mah... Anyway I just joined yesterday so will be applying for the loan soon... Hope that will be approved...

what abt you? Confirmed applying from SC?

serrich... not cfm. hubby will make the decision. i will hv to discuss with him tonite then. anyway, we might not be able to start reno soon, so no point getting the loan now, pay extra interest.

<FONT COLOR="orange">wenn</FONT> - Not sure when will approve...by time it approve, we'll miss the flight
Now got some other destination in mind, but haven't decided which 1.

<FONT COLOR="purple">berry</FONT> - Yup, I'm still here

Hi Elaine..think want to chat with u here. Much more easier

So U mean all that pose were actually your idea given to that photographer?

Hi berry,

Not all, some of it he changed &amp; some are candit shots, I think he was abit offended when I keep telling him, like this, like tat, so I just let him change some. But some are wat I wanted.

Hi Elaine..

I understand cause we are also designer..sometimes some of the things just that we think is nice..

But those indoor shoots is by your idea rite?

Hi May, can I see your pix too? [email protected]

Pausini, dun be sad abt the pix. Are there really not enough to form an album? Think really hard be4 you re-do again. Need time, effort, and then what if pic still not to your liking? Also, samples are b4 touch-ups. So may not look so good now. I like your wrist corsage, very elegant. Mine very colourful, bright colours. I dun have the equipment to download for all to see, too bad.

Aiyah, remembered that still got to do my album of songs to play at wedding dinner.....another item to go.....

Hi pooh, I want to see...Hee can email me the photos? I also have my actual WG and EG photos...but EG one don't have the make up so its not nice...

Those posting for me, I will reply tonite. Pai seh busy today. Got oversea customer here. Now going to send him to hotel

Hi maya,

thanks for the compliments.
I feel better now abt my album. u know i feel extremely stressful when i step out tg pagar MRT station when i know i am going to see my pix. i have this strong feeling on Monday. i will be going down with my best friend again tonight. they will help me and give comment. yah, u are right retake need time and effort. The outdoor shot still ok. so even if i want to retake, i will not retake outdoor shots but opt for indoor cos most of the indoor doesnt turn out well.

Wedding prep is really stressful. when one things goes wrong, the rest start to follows. I want to be in control of the situation then situation controls me.

i am still finding my song.....

wow...so many postings
19002.gif

gals, better book your actual day photography early...most of the popular once are taken when I started sourcing in jan...

heard that andrew tay from the edge is quite hot...

i've engaged Ray Ong from Photolang for my actual day photography...here's he's charges:
- $1.2K for 10 rolls of color films with 4R prints in pocket album
- $1.6K for 10 rolls of color films with 4R prints, 10pcs of 8R prints and 20pcs of 6R prints.in paper albums
* negative returnable

here's the latest update...
<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>02 Dec</U></FONT>
enya, KAI , MM

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>06 Dec</U></FONT>
dinny, Graceful Image , Oriental Hotel
Mrs Quake, Dang ,Crown Prince Hotel

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>07 Dec</U></FONT>
jbride, KAI , Inter-Con
happygal, JLC , Amara
freesia, Le Galleria , Holiday Inn
Sunshine, BV , Beaufort
mickey,Thomson Wed'g Design, CrownPrice
wendyl, Bridal Concept, -

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>08 Dec</U></FONT>
Roro, J&amp;C , Grand Corpt

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>10 Dec</U></FONT>
Erin, Sophia , Tunglok Rest

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>13 Dec</U></FONT>
Babydoll, - , Hyatt
Ting Ting, - , Carlton Htl
Ming, - , Sheraton
Iris, Ted Wu , Raffles Town Club
sos, - , -

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>14 Dec</U></FONT>
<FONT COLOR="119911">mexx, silhouette, -</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="119911">Cherub, Allure Charix, MM</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>18 Dec</U></FONT>
piper, Milan , Grand Corpt
Jacq, Milan , Hilton

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>21 Dec</U></FONT>
sandgirl72, Seletar Broadway, Mandarin
Naturally, Le Galleria , Hyatt
bobomagic, Bridal Zone , Rasa Sentosa

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>22 Dec</U></FONT>
renee, Julia Wedding News, Hyatt

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>27 Dec</U></FONT>
cutiechar, - , traders

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>28 Dec</U></FONT>
EL, GHA , Holiday Inn
Mio, JLC , Hyatt
Babyblue, Divine Couture , Conrad
Pam, - , Fulleton
rinoa, BV, raffles the plaza

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>30 Dec</U></FONT>
loving3377, Jawn Happy Ever After, -
chicory, -, -

?
tintin , Jawn Happy ever after , OCC
Tiara, -, Oriental Hotel

Hi shirsweetiepie

I actually start doing the ribbon roses during the lunch time, the product are so-so, will try to do few more wif diff materials tonight

dont worry! if you hv any problem in organising your wedding, feel free to share wif us...

Hi Pausini, a suggestion. If you want to re-do indoor shots only, if there's going to be extra cost, can try to arrange for those make-over photo sessions, bringing along your wedding gowns. Of cse you have to be able to convince your studio to allow you to bring out your gown. Those make-over studios are much cheaper and the quality equally good. They also do make-up.

Hi berry,

hehehee...

Also not all the indoor shoots are my idea, those you see funni, not those usual safe kind is my idea.

I actually requested more of my prefered shots for outdoor, then by the end of the day, I think the photographer was abit unhappy but at least I can get some of it I wanted

I just did my PS today. It was tiring but great fun. Managed to steal some shots from my digital camera. For those who want to take a peek (only WG), you can check out my website. I've emailed some my website address previously. It's the same site.

Hi Yi,

Do you have any formate for Emcee? Those standard phrases/wordings? Or did your friend prepare it him/herself?

Can I have a copy if you have it?

Hi gals..

Super busy day! Went visited Nick Goh juz now.. think Serene was there too .. *waves to serene*..

hmm.. v sian cos Nick taken by Nov Groom.. so now i actual photographerless and at a loss.. but will check out more.. thanks for contacts Leo..

Btw, anyone heard of Choon Huat before? How's he? Anyone has his contact?

Leo Leo

Wat you working as? oso got overseas client?? Hee. sorry hv to sms you ysday evening.. i hv no internet access, oni have the namelist on my laptop when i was off site.. so sms you lor..

The wine tasting went well.. din know that the Chateau at Pheonix Hotel is such a nice wine cellar/watering hole.. love it there! Wines were nice.. esp the sparkling wine.. but think it's too expensive to spend for the wedding - avg abt 34 bucks a bot!

DK.
I went visited Dang last evening.. she's a v v nice lady!! gowns wise - ok lar.. will see how.. maybe visit other bridals 1st...

haiz.. in a sian mood. I have fat upper arms and a thick waist.. so every time i v low self esteem when i walked out of a bridal shop.. no gowns seemed to look WOW on me! &amp;sulk&amp;

Hi Sunrise

Me oso set wedding on 2nd Nov.. where's your banquet?? so you found boutique.. i kena warn by frens.. cos i now nt yet shortlisted any.. *grrr...

Wendy,
Why not post your question on hilarion Goh? I think he should be able to answer your questions. He's an expert and i saw some posting from him regarding cameras etc...so maybe he can be of some help to you.

Serrich/are,
look out for cracks that are well hiden like recess areas. Mine got many cracks there and also behind doors too. Check if your door stopper(magnetic) can work or not. Windows can close properly or not. Mine got problems there too. My advise, open up your bomb shelter door and allow the air to flow. But of course open those small windows found near to the ceilings too. This allows ventilation of air.

Serrich,
My MIL also got bring hammer, joss sticks and papers. Even "fu" to burn at certain areas. Hammer must knock lightly on all walls to signify starting to work. Me also got timing too, she brought many stuffs. Salt and rice to scatter all around and also flowers too.

Besse,
I've heard of his(Choon Huat) name. But i can't help you much, i never meet up with him. His contact is hp:96967682. His package as far as i got hold last year starts from $850 and $950 for 8 rolls all colour. He got website too: www.fspphotos.com , email at: [email protected] Hope all these will help.
You went to visit Nick at his shop or meet up with him somewhere?