(2003) Brides of year 2003

Pausini: your corsages are lovely. I can tell that you really put in the effort. How did you hold the flowers together w wire or the ribbon? I like the ribbons very much...so sweet.
So how many are you making? For all your jie meis?

Hi Ally

Okie dok,will give Alan a call later 2 check out on his avaliablity.

Seeems tat he's "selling like hot cakes" hor!

Yup,hv engaged Lezen as my bridal studio.

I see we have got some new company, welcome sandgirl72 and cherub!

Just came back from KL/genting, very tiring but at least i won a bit of $$$ in the casino...
It's not a lot, but i think can sponsor my bridal shoes liao!

Erin,
sorry, just read your posting today, my package does not include any artwork. They will just place all the photos (in sequence) into a normal slot album. If i feel rich enough after the wedding (which i strongly doubt...
), then i may select some nicer photos and go back to them later to compile into artwork album. I think there's nothing much else in the package, except for cost of additional film? Let me check and revert to u via email, okie?

Jbride,
yeah, nothing much for us to do liao, except for bridal shoes.... think we can take our time to do reno, after all, the place is still very quiet and inaccessible! I shd be getting my keys next month, i feel so excited! But is it wise to move in all the furniture and electrical appliances so soon?? I scared abt security issue leh....

Mrs Quake,
so u went to KL too, hope u have a nice trip!

Hello ladies,

Long time never been here. Just went for my PS last Friday, and I am really lucky to have a sunny day throughout. Enjoyed the PS very much but oh boy, I am so tired after the session. Now hoping the effect will be good. Will be able to view the pix in two weeks time.

I am surprise my hubby enjoy the session too cause normally when we go on holiday, he is reluctant to take pix. How about your FHs?

I took some pix on my camera, anyone interested can email me at [email protected] I will then send the pix to you. The pix so so only so did not load them in any yahoo or fuji album.

I am not confirm on tomorrow's meet, if I go, I will bring my camera to show you gals the pix k?

i think most of us will be staying around sengkang / punggol? I'll be staying at punggol, and will be getting my keys next month too... : ) but haven't submitted the loan application form yet..

Hi May,

Can email your pix to me too? My email address is [email protected]

I just took mine last Friday. I email to you too? What is your email address?

Jazz,

Some caucasian congratulated us too and an old couple took a pix of me and my hubby while we were posing for our photographer to shoot. hee hee

Wen,

Good wat! Very safe! You don’t have to worry stranger follow you into the lift….
As Punggol is a new estate so certain area is still very quiet, just like my area, 10pm and you can’t see any ppl around. We only stay over the wkend. Hee...., holiday chalet.

Kopitiam? You mean the one beside the Econ? Yah, lor nothing to eat and food taste, yiak. There is a foodcourt further in, u know? Next to Prime supermarket. Also nothing much but at least got one more choice. You just have to endure, it’s a new estate. Pray hard that the central will be ready soon.

PS on sunday? Many ppl lei. Wait the photograher
had difficulties capture 2 of you only. Start at 2pm, I don't think you can finish in/out door unless the photograher do it very fast or you cut down the photos qty. Normally,PS will start around 10am. Most of the photographer and makeup artist will charge extra for different days.

Hi Leo29

I go to the Kopitiam next to econ there to eat b4 last time their Zhi Chai still not bad but now they change cook liao so lousy the food. Then the rest of the food more jiat lat.

Hi Wen

I opt for 2 day PS also. My bridal shop charge me $50 for the extra make-up.

May-Thanks for sending the pics. You look great. Must have enjoyed your PS.

Peabrain-Don't worry, I also have not get my invitation card printed.

Pausini-Nice WC, I am also making for my Ah Yi's, but have not souce for the materials yet.

Anybody got (PS) pictures to share!! Can e-mail me : [email protected]

Hi May,
wonder if you are the same May on the Scandinavia honeymoon thread. If so, appreciate if you can help me with some questions I posted there.

Hi Leo29,

Is it?? Me at Blk 126A.. what about you?? Only moving there in April this year... temporary staying at my hubby's place at AMK... with his mum.. once his sis is back from her training.. we will shift to our new place

Leo29,
No difference wat. When u open the gate, the stranger still can go in w u. Worse, both trapped inside.

ai ya... both also not nice... the aircon kopitiam is expensive and so so only... after much research, the best is still Riverale Mall... things there are cheaper... but v far leh...

Maybe go to wu-loo wu-loo places lor... no people... only lallang, tree and pond...
cannot go to cozy bay n sentosa liao...
as long as makeup artist s ok... dun mind sunday... if sunday... only need to pay $100 for photographer... two days is $700 for photographer n makeup artist...

Hi Abrinas,
these few days very busy.

Cos having my hse warming this sun and sat still need to go Natas fair. Have to look for design for my gown as i have to go MTM next wkend.

Office work also very busy thats y unable to meet up tmr.

Leo29,

You making tealight for your wedding?

How are you going to do play your video or project your photos on the stage for guests as I was told Orchard Hotel doesn't provide equipments like projector, VCD player ect. Any suggestion what I should do or how I should do it if I wanted to scan my photos in a disc and play it.

hi vivace and shirsweetiepie...read from the thread that alan's partner is not bad too. maybe can consider him if alan's not available. btw, both your weddings are on which day? come to think of it, i better give alan a call quickly in case he's not available on my wedding day!

I'm gonna be a dec bride(14 Dec) too !
Having my gown done at silhouette.

Apart from booking bridal boutique, photographer, banquet & wedding venue... what other preparations do we need to do early ?

When do people usually start sourcing for cars & florists(venue decoration) ? would 2 mths prior to the event be sufficient ?

hi ally & shirsweetiepie

ok, I will call Alan again to check with his partner again. btw, no obligation in viewing his portfolio rite?

my wedding date is on 14th Sept, how abt 2 of u?

I intend to do the wrist coasage by myself, any ideas where can I find the material or reference book for doing these?

Hi taddess

What will happen to the previous person who wore them? The coats shd be clean
Maybe u can tell them tt tailoring the coats r ex??

Hi Beanie

My FH enjoyed the PS 2 n like yr FH, he 2 don't like to take photos. After we view the photos, think he's beginning to like to take photos liao
We were given a table-top n supposed to choose a photo which normally is a pic of the bride alone only. He chose 1 which had both of us so no choice lah, no 15R one in the hse tt only has me in it

Hi pooh

Wah, u really busy. me 2 maybe going to NATAS fair. For the design of yr gown, maybe u can check out this month's Herworld Brides. Got some nice gowns inside. Me also cannot meet them tmr cos I got pre-marriage counselling by my reverend in church.

uh oh
:o

my boss just informed me that I'll have to work late tonight.

When she says that, the earliest i can expect to get off is 10pm.

Sorry ladies, i really wanted to come today

I'll try to come as soon as i finish (prob call vio to check first). Dun wait for me.

Sorryyyy......

May: don't worry lah. i won't be offended so easily. all of you gals are just trying to be helpful by giving me your opinions. i more than happy, will not be unhappy. it helps to know that people care lor. MIL and SIL issues? i haven't gone to that topic before. really that bad huh? aiyoh, why like that. sigh. i usually just access this topic lor. see when free i will pop by. things aren't exactly rosy at home too so going home to de-stress is also not such an appealing idea. of course i do agree that it's definitely better than staying there and getting in trouble with my SIL and MIL. will speak to hubby about it. keep you updated. : ) According to dats given by Shook, seems like Qing Ming is about 10days, starts on 5 Apr, end on 15 Apr. distribute card by end of this month? tough. we haven't settle guest list yet. but same as you, i broadcasting actual date of wedding in apr. now too early. How was your PS? When can see pics? must share, very excited! Know what you mean about spending for PS. I spent alot for mani,pedi and body massage and scrub! Very broke after that. hahaha!
Cat: i worry too. My MIL says she needs more tables and this is even before she started counting the actual people she is going to invite. worry about the money part. if keep increasing table numbers we will run into big problem of paying lor. sigh.

Pausini: all of you so nice. i want to weep already. know what you mean. i trying to get out of the way. i need to brush up my social skills. i am that kind that don't know how to sweet talk. i just say what comes to my mind and i always make a stand ie either i like or don't like. i don't like to sit on the fence. think very lose out when it comes to this because SIL very good with words. i just blurt out my thoughts. dumb but very difficult to change. plus i am that kind who can don't talk for days, can just read and live in my own world but SIL very socialable, everything also consult MIL. i just like to be left alone and i can make my own decisions. cannot imagine everything also consult MIL, it's like you have no opinion/mind of your own! but that's why my MIL likes about her!!!!!! Horrors when i heard about it! MIL says, SIL respects her and keep her updated on everything in her life. my gosh! i thought women nowadays are more independent already. i agree with Shook, it's the smile that steals the night. we try our best to change our size but we cannot never change that stunning smile. it's usually the way the bride carrys herself on that day that is most important. compared to those in states we consider quite ok size already. that's how i console myself because when i bought those bridal magazines from states, the brides are mostly size 14 and above and they still look as stunning and regal in those gown. dont' worry and be sad. looks are secondary, what is important is we are all happy yeah!

Shook: Thanks, i got the file already. As for printing of cards, as long as you are happy, just do it. not sure about printer being able to print purple words but if you keen can check out and see how much lor. you using laser colour jet? if not must be careful. last time my colleague did that, wasted alot of paper and ink she said because even sneeze also smudge ink. : ) make sure dry hands yeah.

Kare2711: thanks, trying my best to be sincere. but can tell you very tough especially after i try my very best still hear comments that she like her better and SIL is better in this and that. tough road. yup you are right. FH also say as long as he loves me, don't care and think so much. so sweet hor. : ) heehee! you also got a tough job ahead especially already with 3 infront of you to set standards. but jia you! we support you. agree with you, just be ourselves, cannot never make everyone happy.

Maya: i thought you mia. so long no see you in forum. As for your FH, all guys are like that. my FH also bocup. be very busy flying here and there. i try my best to do what i can. when he comes back in apr, i waiting to see him scramble abit lor. hahaha! very wicked hor. what to do, keep telling him not much time left but they all feel the same, no need to worry and hurry, still got time. so i let him take his own sweet time lor. no use to be angry and then quarrel mah. : ) you take care of health yeah. if can then one of these sundays go for massage? very relaxing, must pamper yourself.

Hi Abrinas,
i saw a WG i like in one of the mag. But i have already choose my WG so will ask can i MTM lor. As for EG should be using one of the WG design i wore during my PS (the one look like 2 pcs) and MTM it to a EG.

Till now no time forthe wedding cards yet. So during qin ming period i still will prepare things for wedding like printing cards and planning my honeymoon lor.

Hi Cherub & Mexx.

welcome! Cherub, do update us on your wedding particulars!

Mexx, i think it is better to book the timeslots of people whose services u'll need on the actual wedding day, like boutique, photographer, banquet, etc... cos u can't change ur wedding date rite? I'm also thinking of booking a car early, but not sure whether with a freelancer (not sure if they'll sell off their car?!) or a company (more expensive). But for all things, it's better to read up and find out more earlier so that you can make decisions more easily.

hi jenny,

I have email you my wedding pics link.

wheres everyone?

hi elaine,

must be feeling excited as your big day is just days away huh?
remember relax and be a happy and beautiful bride on that day.

Sunnyling,

Yah, their Chi Char very lousy. I buy 2 times and non of it I can finish all, half way thru I throw away.

Shirlynn,

My block is 134. Wow, very near.

Wen,

Imagine comically 2 of you being trap inside, you look at me and I look at you, really make me laugh man. But he can’t escape if he commit crime, right? If you see stranger, don’t open the gate lor, pretend you waiting for ppl.

Min,

Nope, I only want to make wrisk corsages. Meow is the one that make tealight. OH can rent you the projector, don’t worry. Just that you have to pay lor. Just now went home to check OH package for you, touch or not. You owe me a meal. Just joking! My package is Free cockage for all hard liquor and first 40 wine. Subsequent wine at $10.

What is tealights...?? Me super blur queen!!!

Novgroom,
is ok... cos he meet up with me the day after you...
leo29,
We normally play 30cents 60 cents... only CNY play 50 cents $1. Very siong.... CNY lose alot...
So must remember to call me hor...

Meow,
Thank for suggesting... Nick say that he can make it in the evening cos Novgroom is half day ceremony. So it will be his senior in the morning and Nick in the evening. Do you think is a good idea??? Why not much people into taking videography on the actual day??? Can anyone let me know...??

Punggol ladies,
I also take punggol leh!!! but due to the main contractor meet some difficulties for the whole building my blk has been stopped works!!!! SOBSOB!!! My blk is 203A.. is jus behind the busstop after the Tampines expressway..Sian... spoils all my plans...

hi hi...

looking at ur postings abt booking a car...I was joking with my friend, asking him to loan his Jag for weddings...he said he might consider...dunno about the charges.

If u all are keen, i'll ask him if he is really serious about loaning out his Jag...driver inclusive.

think that day he was joking about weekday $500 per day...dunno wat was his weekend charges...got to find out more from him

Serene,
Its okay to be blur. I also learn these terms later. Well if i'm not even married yet. Dun think i'll ever know what they are. Tealights - those center pieces place on tables with small candles floating or not in small little cups.

Sounds Okay to me. As long as he's there, i have no worries. At most maybe have double shoots for your gowns and such. I believe he'll a very good job for you too.
But what about the charges? $490 right if i'm not wrong.

Novgroom,
How come yours is a half day??

Min,
Its me lah. Dun get confuse.
I dun really make them. Jus deco them only

Serene,

I was so lucky during CNY. I 1 kar win 3 kar and win $300 plus. Hahaha.... so far that is biggest winning i got, so happy man. Will call you if really have a chance to play.

Videography is depend very much on individual. I will go for it. For my case, I want to record down my happiest moment. But some of them find photos is more then enough.

Your block suppose to finish by 3rd quarter right? Now 1 of the block already finish painting? I was given to choose that few blocks but in the end we choose the premier apt becos the flooring and tiolet was done by HDB. Another thing is the leadtime, we don't want to wait so long. So I guess you about the same timing as us when selecting flat.

hi vivace... yup, no obligation in viewing his portfolio. my wedding is on 27 sep, 2 weeks after yours
about the wrist cosages, let me check with my friend who does quite some bit of this and i'll get back to u ok?

Hi Abrinas,

Maybe we got to thank our photographer. I really got to thank Travis, his been very nice and helpful and can click with my FH. Who is your photographer?

Me too only given a table top. I upgraded my package, so all pix in the album will be 15R. Really can't wait to view the pix....

are/meow,

thanks, at least now i noe what's wrist corsages. is it necessary for the Ah Yees to wear it? Been Ah Yees a no. of times but din remember wearing it. Btw, perhaps it's too late now that i join this thread, so sotong when reading these few old msgs....

Serene,
e main cont for your Punggol flat realli stops work? gosh. Bit hard to believe mann. Mine's at Punggol too...Blk 63X but haven't get my keys yet.

sunrise

hows every1 doin???
mi goin 4 my fittin this comin sat...
sure hope din grow any fatter since then... :P
keep u gers in the loop!!!

yi

hows things gettin along???
r u feelin ok???
mike's mission kinda of confirmed i supposed...
the news on the war is out 2daz...
sigh!!!

Sunrise,
Its never late to ask. Dun understand jus ask, we will help if we can.
Wrist corsages is not a must. Maybe some take it as a form of thanks and appreciation to their ah yees. It mainly also depends on time too if one decide to make them by themselves.

You wanna sent your details to me as well? So i can compile the novbrides list? Anyway, you wanna join our gathering as well on next friday at Esplanade?

i'm back from tioman! wah lau eh, wanted to suntean after the photoshoot, but never buy suntan lotion, used sunblock... not tanned at all! ahahahahah :P

very tiring! climbed rocks n stuff, the best part is the FOOD.. i like this special burger they sell (exclusive to malay stalls, singapore pasar malam also got sell)... sinful but i ate on both days!?!?! ahahahahaha

Special Malay Egg n Cheese Recipe:

first, they use this flat pan (for roti prata type), put some oil, press the burger bun facing down to heat it up, then another side they fry one egg, then they put salt n pepper, then they spread butter on 1 side of the hot n crispy bun, put the egg on the bun, put chilli sauce/ketchup, put one slice of cheese, then some chilli sauce again, some vege, then another pc of cheese, then mayonnnaise on the other pc of bun then put the entire thing together! whahahahahaha sinful? but i did not put on any wt (usually i dun during tour)... i took other things like mee goreng, ice cream, milkshake, tapioca chips, cheese flavoured twisties, walkers shortbread during the trip... ahahahahahah oops :P

i'll post some pictures of the tioman trip after i collect the pics tomolo.. will send it for 1 hour developing tomolo n scan them @ nite

Shanice

Hi piper,

if your friend's really serious, let us know about the colour, price etc? Saw another posting elsewhere that a freelance BMW is renting for only $300, so ur friend also got to price competitively...

hi!

Welcome Cherub and mexx!

Naturally: Wow! Won some $$$! So lucky.
Thanks for replying my qn. my fh went down to 'o'studio liao. He's ok with it but seems to be more interested in getting kc from greymatters as our actual day photographer. About $800 which is above my budget but it's photojournalistic and it's arranged in story book form.

Leo29,

Very touched leh. Really appreciate your effort. Your corkages for wine is so cheap. My coordinator told me he's charging me $17+++ per bottle of wine. Yours is a 40 tables wedding? That is why no corkages for the first 40 bottles. But do you think 40 bottles sufficient for you? Do you think I can negotiate with my coordinator for lower corkage charge for wine?

Meow,
sorry, getting a bit confused on who is doing what. I now remember I haven't email you my particulars. Always wanted to do so but after surfing the net, forgot all about it. I try to do it before I log off later.

hi ting ting,

have not meet up with him yet. appt wif him this sat. but heard his photos (around 360 - 400) are all taken by digicam. so he will also provide a vcd, photos arranged in a story book album for u (there are 3 sizes).

u can check out his website at www.greymatterphotography.com.

Will provide u with more details after i meet up with him.

Hi May: I want to look @ yr photos. Can email me at [email protected] Thanks. Linn is very gd so your photos will turn out well.

Hi Peabrain: You're not alone. I've collected my cards but have not done anything. Really 'pei fu' you to make your invites personally.

Hi Shook: I also intend to go down to the NATAS fair this weekend to book for honeymoon. I know both the Chinese songs you selected for yr wedding. They are nice songs & very suitable for wedding. The 'Zhao Yong Hua' one is very meaningful. You've done a lot for yr wedding, I've not even finalise my song lists.

Hi Pausini: Yr photos are ready for viewing? If they are, can email me? Actually I'll be wearing my WG to be marry off the 1st weekend. Then, the following weekend, I'll be wearing it again for the S'pore dinner becos I've solemnisation. Most brides wear it twice too, once in the morning & the other time @ night for 1st march in. So, does that mean wearing it twice?

Hi Maya & Jan: Guess all guys behave the same way. I wrote down a "to do" list for my FH so he just needs to do & check it.

Wen,
This is for your actual day? U been to Memphis & pond? Have U seen Everafter's & Colonjay's?
U can visit also try visiting Monica next the door of Pond's office..My brother is getting Monica's for actual day.

Yes Memphis & Pond does share the same office. Wesley rent up a space from Pond's photographer sori, i can't recall his name)...

When we visited the office, only Wesley is around...So din check on Pond's charges...but some of his works displayed are pretty nice..

Both of them actually do alot of Theatre Works posters & other commercial photography...Their style i s pretty different...So dun be surprised to see that not all photos have U in it...it captures the event not jus the wedding couple...

Preference is very individual....asked a couple of my frens who'd seen Wesley's work...majority din really like his style...
And also his work mainly B/W...

We like B/W, his office very near my parents' place & my FH likes Wesley style & felt comfortable with him...so we'll probably get him for actual day photography. And as for Studio/Outdoor we're still considering...Reason-Charges Ex...

Wen, perhaps U would prefer to call me on my mobile on talk about this?

Oh! i visited Ted Wu & Bridal Veil last Sat....
Bridal Veil is out...my FH din like the crystals...
Ted Wu is in...my FH nods on approval got embroidery...as for me...i think it's pretty expensive..lor...

i am new to the site. i am also getting married this june. very excited and stress with work and preparation.

can anyone tell me where can i get a good printer for wedding cards. yet to confirm anyone though the hotel does have some recommendation, but being ks, wants to standby another few.

Hi Vivace & Ally

Haallo!!

My wedding is on 21/09/03.

yup,i'm oso thinking of doing the wrist corsages myself. looking ard for info too.

Ally,maybe u can check wif u frendz and do share wif us the outcome,okie!

So where r both of ur banquets going to be? I will be hving mine @ MM.

Hi Meow,
Hey is a good idea to have a gathering and everyone making their wrist coursage.
I have ask the gal before and she say she got the fabric rose from Arab street but which shop I am not sure.

Min,
Furama actually don't charge me any corkage charge for either wine or hard liquour and they give free flow of beer too but must book under their bridal show package and if above 20 tables got $1000 cash voucher to be used in the hotel's room and F&B outlets and for every additional 10 tables they will give extra $500 worth of cash voucher. They are also giving me use the projector for free and all sit covers are included.
Maybe you can call to attend their bridal show on the 6 April (Sunday) per couple $10, but must call them earlier to book places and the bridal show is with Graceful Image bridal shop and they also giving a $500 voucher from Graceful Image.
Their ballroom is very nice, no pillars and very nicely done their deco and they even have a private lift that serve from the car park to the ballroom level. Their Honeymoon Suite that those bridal couple are going to stay overnight is so huge, got living room, 1 bedroom, 1 kitchen (got microwave oven and stove), 1 bathroom with Jacruzzi and 1 toliet at the living room area. So actually their package is very reasonable and worth it but just abit disappointed with the building outlook only, exclude from that everything is fine.

Hi Sunrise,
Welcome to our thread, who says its late to join our group..! Anytime can join one.
Where you having your dinner and when is your actual day?