(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Tarsier,
Ted Wu is good! and there's where I saw your Ray Ong's portfolio. Have you chosen the photographer? (if you're taking it from Ted Wu - the photography is outside the package).
Jean from Ted Wu is very helpful...when I went there to try their gowns. Good Choice!!

cherubies--My weddding is on 21 July 2003.

LT --have spoken to any of ST wedding consultant?
Try pushing for 20 tables, I think they can accomodate that just that you may have to help
them out on the cost of Ballroom decor.

Hi Tarsier,

My next semester lesson also on Mon, Wed and Fri too! I'm taking BBBA (HRM) at SIM too! Guess, we are schoolmates huh?!

I've settled the banquet and wedding banquet, have even designed my gowns. Going for my 1st fitting in August and photoshoot in Oct, but may shift it earlier in case it crashes with study week or exams etc! Real sian! Luckily, this is my last semester (hopefully, if I pass!)! U?

Yi,

What are u studying now? Sounds really busy for u this coming semester :P
My time table not out yet

Ikea got sell curtains of our sengkang flat window size? If that is the case, then i will buy off the shelf from ikea and no need to custom made liao.

Yi, taka curtains expensive?

Mei jie, we will be going to the flat later this afternoon to meet the carpenter. Saturday and Sunday won't be popping by already coz we will be having a short stay over the weekend at Rasa Sentosa Hotel. Never go before, so hope it is going to be a great weekend! Hee... me so excited now :P.. Long time no such relaxation liao.

JUju and bijou,

hazel, Both of you and I have the same dates. 20 Sept 03. Seems like 20 sept is a hot date.

Maybe we can might meet when taking outdoor shoots

so have you book anything yet?

Aug03,

Think the hotels will let you sign the contract for next years date with new rates. I have sign up with sheratons and the rates were more expensive as shown on the magazine by $100+.

Flowee,

Thanks for your help

Yi,

Actually think you can come tonight 8.00pm if you are free. cos i heard from theresa that there is another girl. and the next one will be weeks later.

I will be going alone since i am going home early today and then go straight from my house at btbatok.

Flowee,

Just to check with you, is there any thing that I will have to bring?
Thnaks once again. next time treat you for coffee. ok

Hi kk,

I'm pursuing my bachelor of business in business administration majoring in human resource management. July is the start of my last semester and itz really going to be real packed coz I will be having 2 individual and 4 group projects, 3 lessons a week and 3 examinations in Oct/Nov! So can only relax in Nov to await my big day in Jan! Hiaz!

BTW, I dun think IKEA has off-the-shelf curtains that can fit HDB flats coz they are very long so I actually custom-made one set of day and night curtains and buy from taka another set! The curtains at taka cost about S$49.80 (night) and S$79.80 (day) but I bought them during sale period! You can try robinsons too, the brand is Accessories!

Hi ling,

So sorry, I have got prior arrangements tonight so wun be able to join you leh! Really interested in the course leh! But seeing my time-table for next semester really gives me headaches!

Hi juju, ling,

I am looking for bridal package now... seems like real early, so taking my time. Any good ones to recommend?

To other sept brides,

Any rasa brides?

Hi LT,

so u the earliest!!!

i visited imagegarden yesterday...
meng and mavis are very friendly...
tomorrow, i will be going to silhouette..

Hi LT,

so you will be the earliest in the month btw the 3 of us now...

i visited image garden yesterday...
meng and his wife, mavis are very friendly...
i will be visiting silhouette tomorrow..
compare notes ya, since u've been there...ok?

Hi Astrud, Kiroro,
Seems like we're all jetsetting people. My FH is doing his PhD in the States at present. he'll be back only for 2 months in July-Aug. Then again next April until the wedding. Then we'll both be going off for him to finish.

I've been doing lots of legwork and when he comes back next month, we'll be rushing as much of the preparations as possible. Fortunately, we're not worrying about a place to live at present. We'll probably bunk in at parents/in-laws place temporarily until our Punggol flat is ready. (We're still in the so-called 'queue' and waiting to be called up to select really soon)

Kiroro, are you looking for a nice kebaya to wear? Are you Peranakan? My mum wants me to wear a kebaya instead of the EG. We know of a very good kebaya tailor stationed in KL. Supposed to have excellent cutting. He comes in to S'pore once a month. Can make special designs. Not cheap, though. The next time he comes, I'm going to see his designs and talk to him to see what he can come up with. I don't want to end up looking just like all my cousins, aunties and grand-aunties on the the wedding night. Must be different, right?

HI ALL,

KINDA QUIET TODAY HUH?

WELL, THIS IS URGENT.

SOME OF YOU MUST READ FROM MY PREVIOUS POSTINGS THAT I'VE NOT SELECTED MY FLAT.. WAS UNSUCCESSFUL IN THE PREVIOUS EXERCISES. VERY DESPERATE FOR OUR OWN FLAT NOW.

I JUST RECEIVED SOMETHING FROM THE HDB TO HAVE OURFINAL CHANCE AT THE SELECTION AGAIN, BEFORE THE FLATS ARE RELEASED TO THE PUBLIC FOR THE WIS.

ANYONE ANY IDEA IF IT WILL BE BASED ON OUR RFS QUEUE NUMBER OR ON A FIRST-COME-FIRST SERVE BASIS???? I REALLY WOULDN'T WANT TO QUEUE FOR 4 DAYS !!! OR DOES ANYONE THINK THAT IT'S BETTER TO WAIT FOR THE BTO THAT'LL TAKE PLACE IN THE 4TH QUARTER??

wannebebride

the final selection 4 extg left-over units is based on ur rfs number...
perhaps u can check with hdb 4 more accurate details...

do go thru the booklet with ur fh...
take dn the blks & units u guys r interested in...
check out on site if they r extg flats in ur list...
hv a feel of the surrroundin b4 decidin which blk & unit u wana 2 get as ur love nest...
its wise 2 select a few units juz in case ur ideal is taken up when its ur turn...

if i aint wrong there r other solutions 2 hvin a love nest...
u can chose 2 withdraw from the rfs queue...
hdb will return ur rfs registration fee & get a resale flat instead or u can chose 2 go under their bto scheme...

i applied 4 the 1st round of bto units under sk...
cancelled it as my selection is on the last daz of selection...
dun wana low rise flats...
but manage 2 book a unit thru the wis @ sk mths back...
i wont advise u 2 go 4 bto units coz hdb will onli hand u the keys in say 3yrs time...
if u r gettin married & required a love nest asap, gettin a unit thru the final selection will b a better choice...
juz my thoughts...

ling

dun mentioned it lah...
i get the contact thru naturally from sb forum also mah...
juz spreadin the news ard onli...

gers

hv a great wkend ahead...

Yi,

My second last semester starts in July too. And i guess there are just 2-3 more weeks for me to relax

*sigh* the id cancelled our appointment today, so we gotta meet him up tomorrow morning for the carpentry work.

So we pop by ikea today. Yes! There are off the shelf curtains for our HDB flat. Can always ask for advice from the sales pple there. They are really friendly. And of course they also provide customisation service. We can choose our own fabric. We asked for a quotation, the fabric being the most expensive there. And it will cost us around $530 for the whole house - living room + 3 bedrooms. Reasonable?

flowee jie,

Yah lor, me taking part time MSc in nus. Still ok lah, not as hectic as the times being full time student.. ehee.. i kind of enjoy it, probably i enjoy the course a lot

I am pretty free at work now. Feeling too relaxed.. hahaa... What to do? Economy down, so not many projects to do coz unknown budget and less approval of funds...

I managed to wake up early so get to log in to say "Good Morning Gals!", will be going out soon.

Have a great weekend gals!!

Hi wannabebride!

Looks like u've really decided to wed in dec03!

yah, flowee is right, bto too slow lah... unless u don't mind staying with inlaws or renting a place in meantime before your bto flat is up.... and resale flats will definitely require more cash than new HDB ones.... i also think walk-in-selection is most ideal, only thing is the many days of queuing up... maybe u can rotate with your hubby, u take day shift, he take night shift?? And see who else wants to help... siblings?

Hi wannabebride,

yah, BTO is too slow. I was offered BTO @Sembawang but it'll only be ready (if met the required %) in 5 years time, whereas i'may be getting my Punggol flat in 3 years (at that time)!

As wat naturally had mentioned, you may choose to buy reseale, live with in laws & i've got one more choice for U ! ... but u may need to find out more from hdb.

HDB "rents" temporary 3 rm units to couples (ROMed)waiting for their flats. Such units are (used to be) released to applicants every qtr, may or may not be in matured estates & heard it's at a cheaper rental rate. Do chk it out. =0)

Thank you ladies!

I've got my FH to check with the HDB. My appointment will be on the 2nd day of selection.. so i reckon my chances of getting a 4Rm unit is almost ZERO. The first time round, mine was on the 3rd day.. but on the first day itself, all the 4 RM were snapped up. So I guess this time round history will repeat itself, especially since this will be a last chance for those in the RFS queue.

There seems to have more units available compared to the first round of the one-off selection earlier this year. But still the units that are eligible for chinese are still limited.

BTO, is the next option open... but like wat you all know, it's gonna be a long long wait. We won't even know when they will meet the quota of 75%??????? It's like wat pple always say " tan liew lian ka laut"!
I did think of renting a place first too but then if we were to rent a place for the time being, it's almost impossible to save for the new house.

hey, thanks Dew, for the information on the 3 RM rented flat. I'll check it out.

All I can do now is to keep my fingers crossed. Hope for the best, prepare for the worst.

Thanks again. Have a great weekend!

Hihi...

Me an April 2003 bride. Me booking with Amara hotel... initially wanted Mandarin & GH, but 2003 prices are too high...

Hi Astrud,

How are you?

It had been a long time since i visited this tread!

Check with you, how much does a Kevin Seah WG cost if i were to buy or rent WG only? What can of style does KS has for his WG?

Thks.

mei jie,

how's ur stay at ur flat over the weekends?

Guess u must be busy doing housework :P

The hotel stay is pretty enjoyable. But the deluxe room is not as good as what we expected it to be. But facilities wise, it is ok

Hi Louie,
Welcome to the thread....I dun think there's any April 03 thread in the forum. Have u book yr bridal package?

Hi mae,

wen to silhouette last sat.
we spoke to miah...
he's very nice and pleasant..
i tried on three gowns and fell in love with one...

as i don't need EG, and photography (they tied up with Robin, Andrew Choi, Chris ling and many more, i think they have the most), my package (mtm - all on rent) was abt $3400, gown, suit, make up, bouquets, corsages.

i did not take up the package even though i love the gown and miah actually sketch someting i like on the spot...my fh even got to try on two suit, one chinese collar and one a morning coat... the reason is it's out of our budget.

mae, if u r interested, can make appointment with them. =0) they are very nice...

Hi kk,

Ya lor, my semester also starts on 09 July so only abt 3 weeks to njoy only! Hiaz!

You got to check probably coz the last time, I bought a set of the off-the-shelf curtain and realised that the width is too small and length too long. So we end up paying S$300plus to custom-made a day and night curtain instead! So better take your windows measurement first!

On Friday evening, I just went to the bedlinen sale event at Taka and bought another set of curtain at S$49.80. You might want to go and have a look if the event is still around!

Hi Priviledged,
I am not a nonya but my FH is a baba. So I decided to wear a kebaya. However I not not wearing it as a EG. I am using the kebaya as a kua.... and wearing it after the church wedding and mingle around with the guest after the church reception. As I plan to wear a ball gown with a long train...it will not be easy for me to mingle around with the WG...... Oh, I tailor made with kebaya at one shop called amor meus at chijmes. The price is quite competitive and the workmanship and cutting is excellent. Lots of bride to be go there to made their kebaya. ....Check it out. I have a very outstanding kebaya (look like kua as well)...it is in red with 2 pheonix in front and 1 at the back ....very glam with all the beadings.....

Hi gers,

finally got my invitation letter from HDB
the wait is finally over...

my selection date is on the 26th, would appreciate any comments from any of you about flats in punggol since i haven't gone to "study" the area yet...dun know how and where to start...what did you gers look out for when you got the whole list of flats from HDB? So far we only decided that we want high floor, other then that dun know which other criteria should come into play?

Thou HDB told us @ the point when we applied that there are no more 4-room in punggol, the selection list still have about 3 pages of 4-room flats, many with keys available...anyway we are looking at 5-room std or premium...which is better?

Hi Sherine,

finally!!! congrats!

depends on what you want...
how i selected my P21 flat is like this:
1. must be the highest floor
2. premium flat
3. no aft sun...

blk 63x and 64x flats are north south facing so ok... heard that these flats are still available..
then list the flats available...
can ask which blk in the 63x - 64x are still availble?

pray hard your flats u want are still available.
i chose premium so that i can use my cpf to pay most of the stuff.
standard is good if u want to have your own design from scratch...

hope it's useful for u...

Hi cherubies,

thanks...eh how to determine pt.3? my mum oso tell me to choose those without morning sun shining in directly cos beri hot otherwise but i told her then we have to go punggol every morning and see where the sun shine in for all our choices??? or do you just bring along a compass? how to gauge?

i didn't bring my selection list to the office, will tell you tomolo which blks still available k...

hi sherine,

eh, there's already a "compass" on the "map" / diagram where all the blocks are shown...
so we estimated where our block is, then see if got sun or no sun lor, based on the facing...
i like morning sun not aft sun cos come home will be very hot...

but as most of the blks (even 63x n 64x are almost ready) are up, u may want to try popping down in the morning n aft to see where the sun shines...

have fun...

Hi sherine,

Congrats to you too!

My love nest is in Jurong so unable to give much advice but like what cherubies said, if you have designs in mind, better to choose a standard flat coz premium flat, quite a no. of things already done for you! And if you do not like it and wan to overlay, then you lugi coz you have paid for the items already!

As for the afternoon sun thing, my love nest also got afternoon sun in the living room but once I close the curtain, itz okay liao! And by the time, I reach home at about 6plus, dun feel the warmth at all!

Most important, must feel comforatble with the environment!

Hi Delannie,
How are u? Glad to see u back on this thread again....

As for ur question, I'm not sure if I have the answer. What I do know is that Kevin does ala carte packages too...I think it should be in the region of $1,000 or $1,500 for a MTM WG. I dun think he rents out the WG though. Why dun u give him a tinker to confirm? His no. is 63230119.

Kevin's good with beads and laces on clean lines. Hard to describe but i think his gowns are more elaborate than most i have seen. Why dun u make an appt to see him and try out his gowns? u can also find out abt the WG only charges too.

Hi flowee,

You getting keys today hah? Excited hor?

BTW, happy sms-ing with you yesterday.

Remember hor, dun be too upset about that thing hah!

I'm back. ;-) Have been busy checking out wedding day photographers and getting quotes from them. Who have you all engaged for the actual day photographers?

Hey Yi,
What have you been up to?

Bluebonnet

Just came back from a short trip to Tioman!

Hi bluebonnet,
I got Ray Ong for both studio/outdoor and actual day photography. We are very impressed after seeing his portfolio at Ted Wu, and of course we made comparisons with other photographers too. Quite a number of my friends got Kim cos' they wanted black and white pictures!
You can consider those posted on the Singapore Brides webpage cos they are all pretty good! Do go down to their studio to take a look at their recent works so you can make a comparison.

HI Astrud, does Kevin Seah hard sell? I wanted to try the gown but does not want to commit anything yet! Is he friendly & patient?

I am actually looking at Divine Couture WG too
Currently i already have a package with another bridal shop, so now if i want to buy another WG from somewhere else... i wonder whether that bridal shop can deduce some $ since im not getting theirs now.....

Hi bluebonnet and nancy,

Welcome back to this thread!

Me haven't settle on actual day photography leh! Anyway, also dun know who to choose? Me only anxious to see how my gowns look like only!

Hi bluebonnet,

Me? Nothing much leh! Just hope that July wun come so soon coz real sian to start class again lah!

Last weekend, just went to hubby's fren wedding at Holiday Inn Park View and Sunday spent at my love nest and dinner with PILs lor!

How have you been?

Yi,

yup, we measured our curtains and we bring the measurements along with us all the time. hahaa,.. just in case we pass by any curtain shop when shopping.. heee...

We gave the pple at ikea the measurements and they gave their opinions on what size to take.

Anyway my mil say she is going to pay for the curtains (i think old pple dun like the idea of getting things from ikea, dun know why) and she is going to go to one of the neighbourhood shops to get it done.

Definitely not, Delannie. So dun worry. You can make an appt to see him to find out more abt his pkges and try some gowns too. He will probably tell you abt the pkge details but he won't hardsell. typically, such designers will ask u to look around and think carefully before signing up. Same for Divine.

I have visited Divine too and i have experienced nothing close to hardselling. Divine and kevin are very diff in style so u may want to visit both to come to a conclusion.

i think it shld be possible for the deduction fr ur other bridal shop, though i'm not sure if they wld return u in cash. Normally, they shld allow u to replace with more fotos or other stuff.

Hi kk,

OIC! Coz when we are searching for curtains, hubby did not bring the measurements and decided to take the risk and thus get one that is too long and too narrow!

Well, if your MIL is getting it done for you all, think you better let her know what style and colour you all wan, if not ..........

You know lah, elders always have different taste!