(2003) Brides of year 2003

Floweee jie,

Oh, so that 42K includes those misc things that u have to get urself (less the items u mentioned) and u have included them in addition to the the id's quote rite?

haa..it really depends. Now i feel that buying off the shelf may not that cheap either. Depends on what quality u are getting. Good wood furniture is normally not that cheap nowadays

The only pro is that off the shelf items can be shifted easily. So if u dun like it to be place in this room, u can shift it to the other room as and when u like

My 2 bedrooms will totally be empty.. hahaa.. maybe just have a computer table.

Yi,

Wow..ur tap must be really good type.. hahaa.. what kind of tap? My kitchen tap only around $20++. We can't bear to buy those really expensive ones coz there are lots more things to buy in fact.

I also have a custom made shoe cabinet. That's all that is custom made in my living room. And for the master, only the walk in wardrobe is custom made.

Yah lor, custom made furniture u can blend in the colour nicely. Unlike me, now all the colours all mix mix already.. hhahaa....

Flowee jie,

To confirm again, ur id quote is only $32K? Me a bit confused :P
Actually depends on the tiles u are getting. And how many custom made items u have. But ceramic tiles u are using rite? Not supposed to be very expensive. That is one of the cost factors.

Yi,

U mean the cleaners come to clean ur place, in addition to the acid wash that u had?
I heard that for the first few months, the place sure dirty wan, coz there is still dirt everywhere else when the area is not too populated yet. So every weekend needs thorough cleaning.

kk,

All my sink and taps get from Sim Siang Choon at IMM (hope I spell correctly). Itz all stainless steel one lor! To look into long-term use, hubby decides to get the better ones lor!

Yeap, 4get my master room also has a walk-in wardrobe!

Ya, the cleaner came to clean up my house a few times till itz really quite clean!

U r rite about the dust though but itz not only the 1st few months only! Now, every weekend also must spring clean! Hiaz!

kk and flowee,

Me and hubby dun want to leave the other room empty so we bought over hubby's house sofa bed and place a cabinet and my exercise bike in there! When all places are occupied, the whole place looks more cozy mah!

Hi Mae,

welcome!!!=0)
glad that not only LT and me are the only july 03 brides...
sheraton's great!! heard nice ballroom...
have booked your bridal package???

LT,

i will probably be going to silhouette tis sat...
i need to book my bridal stuff by jul cos wen school start, will not have time... need to do my thesis too ...=0(

how's all your prep??? =0)
sorry for mia..
i was drowning with alot of work...

i should be visiting sillhouette tis sat..
anyone signed up with them?
i need to make a decision by july...

Hi Astrud,
Thanks for your comment... I even encourage me further not to bust my budget. I guess I will stick with Bridal Veil.....
I understand the outstation part... I suppose to be outstation for a year(whole of 2002) in Paris but I could not as i will not have time to prepare for my wedding..and my FH....therefore I turn down the assignment loh...At least, yours is only for a month....
1 month is quite fast to pass...
Have a nice trip !

Morning all!

flowee, yes patrick was there too, he just read newspapers in the corner, cos my guy didn't go... he just cannot imagine discussing sexual matters with another man! (bit of a stick-in-the-mud, but i figure this kind of men are getting extinct soon, better grab fast!... hee!hee!

2003groom,
yes, that's the way man!
Just out of curiosity, u're not a world cup fan hor, else u wouldn't choose to rom during football season??(rom centre got no tv hor..) hee!

Well, for your info, we're toking abt natural family planning here, charting the female fertility cycle.... err... a bit funny to be talking to a man abt this, get your missus to talk to us if she's interested lah!

Wah...Paris, that's so exciting..

My FH was in a similar situation too. He was supposed to be outstationed in the states for 6-9 mths and be back juz before the wedding. We were quite torn as to what to do then with the wedding & house all coming at the same time & me frequently outstation(at least once a month) Thank goodness, there was a change of plans in his company and then he din have to go.

I wonder if my FH is feeling a tingle of regret not going? Hmmm...

Ok, i will try to take time & have fun while on the trip. Meanwhile, u take care ok?

Hi Lyne,

I am also having a church wedding, then a lunch reception and dinner at nite. Who have you engaged for lunch catering? Any recommendations?

Bluebonnet

hi cherubies.... are you doing your masters now?? well.... how long more to graduation??

have you been to silhouette before? guessed you would love them. the guy who served me... miah.. is really patient and professional. so are you confirmed with them?

HI Sunflower, no lah, you probably din see me that nite, I was sitting quite far away from the centre stage. Just saw you look like from the photos.

Hi LT,

ya lor, one more year to go... some more must do thesis. now reading up for my thesis...so boring ...

no, will be going to silhouette tis sat... ya, the person who spoke to me was miah...
he sounded nice on the phone.
think i'm to look for him on sat...

i have shortlisted to WP, Emmanuel, J&M...
silhouette on standby pending tis sat visit...

Yi,

my taps also all from sim siang choon. The basin and every toilet accessories are from there too. Heee...maybe we chose the cheaper ones :P

I guess singapore air is very polluted nowadays. Looks like dust is everywhere, regardless where we stay. Last time pple say dun live near roads then the place will be clean. Haa.. looks like the thoery cannot be applied now :P

For my other two rooms, there will be lots of mattresses i guess.. haha...

kk,

Yap, u also get from there? But hubby and I never noticed cheaper ones leh! My master room toilet basin costs us S$130 too! I just know that we spent about S$700plus there the last time including 2 heater units.

Ya, you are rite about the pollution! Can you imagine, me and hubby clean the house thoroughly once a week, just only a few days (coz we go back during one of the weekdays) when we go back, my hubby will keep sneezing coz hez allergic to dust. As for me, I will have rashes! As for bedsheets, although never stay there often also must change coz in close contact with our body.

Even our rooms with the windows closed all the time also got alot of dust. Hiaz!

Think got to go back Sim Siang Choon to get some toiletries racks again! Spend $$$ again!

You mean you will put lotsa of "di lum" in the 2 rooms? Maybe one of the rooms can be mahjong room (although I also dun play!)! :P

Yi,

We got the taps and everything from Sim Siang Choon, Paya Lebar Post Centre. Oh, i did not get any basins for the toilets as we are having vanity tops and the basins come with the vanity tops. For this, the id will handle.

Yah lor,actually quite surprised. How come close windows the dirt still come in. hahaha... too bad lor, got to wipe everythig.

For racks, i got those stainless steel racks from Song Cho at Bugis Seiyu. Variety at Sim Siang Choon i feel is too little... U know, i spend about $800++ on all those stainless steel items.

hahaha... i forbid my hubby to put mahjong table in the house as i won't allow any mahjong games to be played in my house.. hahha... so we won't have any mahjong room :P

hi yi & kk

sorie din reply 2 ur postin promptli coz i aint @ work 2daz...
attended a gf rom solemnization...
took 1 daz leave had my mani/pedi & haircut done...

called kenny yesterdaz my quotation is ready...
he wana 2 meet up with us again...
but 4 wat i c in the 2 quotes kenny's quotation on floor tiles r muz more ex than my ideal id...
but hvnt reali gone thru item by item...
my guy & i cant compete coz we onli hv this quotation @ the moment...

Hi bluebonnet,

Mine is done by a relative who is in the catering business.

Wow...same itinerary for our wedding day..

We must keep fit and really practise smiling away..

Sorrie me like mia for sometime now, but will still come here to look, look, see, see.

Me veri busy & stress now until my face and back veri cham
Got 2 huge volcanos on my face + alot of small ones too, sian

Ling - Me called the Dr on Sat but nobody pick up the phone. Will try again.

btw, did you go there and the DR straight away quote you or do you still have to make another trip down to do the laser? Me veri veri interested liao. But only thing is I scared do already, then few months down pimples come out again and all my money wasted.

Naturally,
Football, have or dun have also can. If just nice got time than see the match lor. Me 100% not football fan, cos when I am in UK I didn't even went to a single match. My friend say me siao. Got such a good chance and didn't even go for one.

Will ask my FW if she is interested in the charting thing.

Hi kk,

I will go down to Bugis Seiyu to take a look too then since itz near to my house!

As for mahjong room, my hubby knows I dun play so suggested his fren who stays at Sengkang to have one at their place instead so that hybby can pop over at times! Hubby actually wan to teach me but I insist I dun want to learn.

Hi flowee,

Wow, this gf sure very close or important one, you still have to do mani/pedi and cut hair to attend!

So you meetg up kenny to discuss the quotation? Let him know your concern lor!

Yi,

Ok. Song Cho is located in Bugis Seiyu near the DIY corner. More choices there. U find the prices slightly more expensive there but there is lifetime warranty for their items. And good thing is that the racks can be customised any pattern u like it to be.

Flowee jie,

U must "ai mei" very much, that's why spend so much efforts to attend the ROM.. heee...

gd mornin kk & yi

u gers got it wrong...
i did my mani/pedi & haircut after her rom... :p

yi

tks 4 ur concern....
will let him koe abt our concern...

Knock Knock, Anyone in ???.. It is getting quiet here...

At last, I know my date...
It is on 20th Sept... defintely in 2003...
Really looking forward..

Anyone have the same date as mine?

I will start to do my research on early Aug...

Aug03, welcome to Sept 2003 circle..

Hi kk,

Thanks alot for the info. Will surely go down and take a look this Friday! But will be going down to my favourite IKEA first! Hehehehe

Can be customized? Then must be real expensive then!

BTW, your house completed already hah?

Hi Bluebonnet,
Perhaps you can try Kriston for the church reception. Their food and layout is excellent. One of my friend did hers with Kriston and other with Java Coffee Catering (if not then is Java Catering). Good menu - got Japanese food, Chinese food, Italian food etc - wide selection.

Hi Yi,
Me not getting a resale flat...perhaps a resale condo. I did go to Thomson View to see one of the unit...no blockage. However the condo is about 20 years old already, and it is not freehold.
I went shoe hunting with my mum...can try Hue at Scotts Shopping Centre or CK Tangs. I went over to Leaping Lizard too, but don't like the design. My designer says that buying off the shelves can be cheaper than "tailor-made" from Leaping Lizard. Can consider =)

Hi Juju,

I got same date as you. My church wedding is on the 20 sept and the dinner on 21 sept.

Have you book ur bridal package and banquet venue?

Hi flowee,

OIC, tot u went to do it specially for your gf's ROM!

Itz ok, coz itz afterall a place you and your loved one is going to stay in for the next 5 years, got to make the right choice!

So Gers,

When are you all visiting my love nest? Me going back tonight. Really miss it!

Hi Cherubies,

I hv booked my bridal package with Bridal Veil.
I heard that Silhouette provide great gowns n services, my friend signed up with them and was served by Minda.

I have less than 270 pple for my banquet too. Call Sheraton to find out more abt their packages, they are quite accomodating.

Hi Nancy,

My designer also told me to get off the shelf since I need only at most 2 inches but got to really hunt ard now coz when class starts in July, it occupying 3 days a week! Sian!

Thanks for your info.

BTW, happy house hunting too!

Hi Mae,

oh, so you have signed up with BV...
have they told you when is your first appt?
when's your wedding date?

mine is on 26 Jul 2003...=0)

Hello juju

Congratulations on finally deciding on the date.
It's one of the most "headache" things to decide on, esp if you need to consult the tongshu.

Mine will be 30 Aug 03 ... my headache is to find a hotel that's large enough and available on that date.

If you start looking for banquet venues now ... you're still in time. As it is, some hotels are already booked on the date that i want!

Oh by the way, i learnt that most hotels revise their banquet prices every year at around this time, and the new prices are effective (usually) 1 Sept onwards. Maybe you can confirm your banquet menu now and try to negotiate with them to fix your price per table before they revise the prices.

Happy searching !

Nancy,

OK, I'll check out Kriston. Thanks. Sounds like what I might be looking for. I like tasty food but I also want pretty looking food for the wedding. That's what wedding it's about, right? ;-) OK, not really. But you get the picture. ;-)

Lyne,
Yup, indeed we need to practice smiling.

I'm enquiring about MooMedia (one of the new photograhers Chin Leng added) and Choon Huat for photography. Has anyone seen their work?

Yi,

Heee... sorry lah, me not good in words :P
what i mean for the customisation is that u can actually get whatever kind of rack or handlers u want and u can simply hook them together. It is very convenient!

What i get for myself is a dish rack to mount on the wall above my kitchen sink, and beside this dish rack, i hang one knife holder, and on the other side, i hang etc etc etc. So in this way, i form one complete set which makes my kitchen work more convenient

My flat not complete renovation yet. three weeks already. I bought all the things coz i want the contractor to put eveything up for me. We lazy mah :P... and those dish rack everyrhing need to drill, etc... so very troublesome wan, better let the contractor do :P

Flowee, yi,

tomorrow going to my new flat to meet the carpenter. I think we gotta choose the colour for our kitchen cabinet and all other built in furniture, like the walk in wardrobe.

kk,

OIC!
You got me confused!

We have got the dish rack from IKEA (not stainless steel one lah!) Just need to get toiletries rack coz need stainless steel ones lor!

We also got everything b4 reno completed so that can get them to drill for us! We got our curtain rods too!

Happy colours and material choosing tomorrow! Itz a real headache! :p

Elaine,

You call during weekdays loh. Maybe they are buzy.

You can do immeidately after the doctor quote you. For me, I did not do immeidately. THe doctor do one sample for me and let me know how it feels like and after a week, I go back to him cos that sample was gone.

I also bought one cleaser from the doctor. Seems quite good. Face remain quite clear (free from blackheads and whiteheads) $45 or $50 only ( Sorry I forgot) .

I also called ken for the quote for the MTV but too bad the bridal boutique does not allow us to bring any camera for the outdoor shoots. So I suggested to the shop that they buy one video cam to shoot for the couple and ask them to pay.
Dunno they will buy or not...

JUJU,

Hazel , you and me are having the same date. Think hazel will be the buziest.

So have you book anything yet? :

Flowee,
I called Theresa already and said that i am recommended by you. She will be meeting me this friday 8pm. Do you remember the room?. cos i only remember that she told me is basement. but I forgot the room. Think I will be going myself since by BF will be back late.

Girls,
Anyone free to go to yi's house???

hi Mae,
as my wedding would be on sunday, they are looking at 30 tables min (of 12). so i think even if they are willing to go down to 28 tables, it would be difficult for me to even meet 300 pple!!!!

yi

its @ Church of the Holy Cross
450 Clementi Ave 1 (next to Nan Hua Sec School)
St. Anne's Room is on the same level as the carparks (there will be an A4 paper pasted on the door)
i will b meetin up with her on 21th june 4 her review...
enjoy ur nfp course...

Yi,

we are still so lazy in getting the curtain railings.. hahaa... look like we are going to get the contractor to do it for us

hi kk,

Mi and hubby decided to get the curtain rods from IKEA instead coz itz cheaper. We bought 2 rods for the day and night curtains then bought curtains from off-the-shelf at Takashimaya for our living room. As for the rooms, we have roman blinds from IKEA too!

You might want to get IKEA and have a look!

Me veri veri bz wif work & fren's wedding..
Attended my fren's wedding dner at Conrad yest... any 1 of u having it there? Me one of the Ah Yi .. however, didn't manage to get a good 'feng shou'!
Ambience was quite good but food not that fantastic. Anyway, my personal opinion.

hi kk, me going back to new hse tonite. will be there till sunday. u r welcome to look 4 me!

flowee,
jux check wif u .. do u or hubby happen to have the sirname 'seah'?

kk and yi
i had roller blinds for my whole hse. cost $1200. Initially wanted to get from IKEA too but lazy to wash .. roller blinds oni need to vacumm hehe

Poor Elaine.. i understand how u feel ... my volcano has erupted at last! but now there is a 'crater'... me veri sad..

I haven call the doc yet.. now veri broke..

mei jie

nice 2 hv u back...
yesterdaz is a gd daz 4 marriage???
i attended a rom solemnization @ the rom premises...

thought conrad food shd b nice???
perhaps nt tat great after all coz hotels they charge more on the ambience than the food serviced...
juz my thought...

neither my hub nor myself hv the surname of seah...
wat make u ask???

kk & yi

u gers r hvin a gd time chattin over ur reno...
cant contribute liao since nothin is settled...

elaine

u muz drink a lot of water hor...
mayb 2 heaty tat's y u get pimples on ur face...

ling

the msg is 4 u attn 2 yi instead...

its @ Church of the Holy Cross
450 Clementi Ave 1 (next to Nan Hua Sec School)
St. Anne's Room is on the same level as the carparks (there will be an A4 paper pasted on the door)
i will b meetin up with her on 21th june 4 her review...
enjoy ur nfp course...

yi

sorie abt tat

Hi mei,

Mi also get roller blinds from IKEA for my study room (2 small windows).

You sure roller blinds only vacuum? Mi dun know coz after 6 mths, only wash curtains never touch the blinds coz they look okay to me!

Hi flowee,

Itz okay wat, you can join us in our discussion too! When you have settle yours, then you have more to contribute!

Ok abt the wrong posting coz I know itz for ling! :p

Me cannot go for the nfp already coz next semester time table out and having lessons on Mon, Wed and Fri! Hiaz!

hi flowee
no la.. my ID called me yesterday say got one couple staying in Blk 183 plus wanted to view my flat.. immediately tot of u.. ID told me hubby is Mr Seah.. hehe.. anyway wrong no!

dunno if it's a good day yest.. but it rained heavily n i was wet! imagine wear until nice nice..

yi
tt's wat the man told me when he installed the blinds.IKEA got roller blinds meh? i tot theirs all curtains wan..

hi mei,

Yap, IKEA have roman blinds and roller blinds too, somemore different materials also have! Not only curtains lah! Hubby and I wan to get from there coz cheaper mah! :P

mei jie

oh ur id bringin ppl 2 view ur hse ah...
shd b niceli done lor tat's y he wana 2 brin ppl 2 c mah...

kk & myself can drop by then kk's flat is done up...
then we can hv pot luck lunch or dinner lor...

yi

since u aint able 2 attend the nfp @ the moment after ur course durin the holidazs then u give teresa a call lor...
she is a veri frenli lady...

been workin late lateli...
2nite hv 2 do ot again...
*sigh*
so aint able 2 confirm when will i b able 2 visit ur love nest...
sorie abt tat...

guys & gers

i attended a gf's solemnization yesterdaz mornin...
the rom premise is so empty...
perhaps its due 2 the world cup... :P

naturally

patrick he did voice out his views from time 2 time i guess becoz we brought our hubby along...

there's 9 of us...
3 couples & 3 gers...

groom2003

i guess u guys r all ready & set 4 ur rom solemnization...
congrates 4 ur forth comin rom...
remember 2 share with us ur pixs...

Blubonnet, you may want to try Raffles Choice. Their food is quite good. Tried it when my colig held his baby's man yue... yum yum... nice setup too. also got sashimi... ;P

Yi,
My sem also starting... agree with you that 3 times a week quite tedious. mine is mon, wed, fri. yours? oops i think last time forgot to tell u that i m taking GD HRM with SIM.

I hope to settle my wedding package and hotel venue by next week... decided on ted wu and hotel rendezvous... cant find another more affordable and convenient and nice outdoor location. Hope I can announce my good news next week! oh, and my wedding date too... hehe ; )