(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Yi,

Tks for the info on J&C. I am still sourcing ard... have went to ted wu and flamingo bridal. maybe next week go bridal veil to take a look. hmm.. since you strongly recommend, think i will make an appt with J&C as well.

Have all of you ROMed already? i m thinking of doing solemnisation and customary on same day, no banquet tho, at most buffet dinner aft solemnisation. not sure how to go abt planning it... very tedious... argh!!! ideas, anyone?

hi Sue,
were u there at BV yesterday? i was there to ret. my ROM dress at abt 12plus. aiya, shld ve seen ur postg earlier then we could ve meet up there. I signed up w them in April. I dun thk e 1st appt would be tat early rite, still ve a yr to go. maybe in Sept.

hi flowee,
u uploaded ur ROM pixs in yahoo photos rite? i ve a problem, my friends cant access them even though i ve changed e settings to public viewg, iz there anythg else which i shld do?

Hi! Me too Jan 2003 bride. I've booked my package with Le Galleria - Doreen Chee. Doreen did my ROM package - MTM dress, makeup and hair last year, and was very impressed and satisfied with her services - warm and friendly. I signed up a studio/outdoor and actual day phtography with Ray Ong - photo shot in November.

Yes Tinki, I was there yesterday but my appt was 2pm. Nevermind, if I sign up wif BV then we can meet up at BV...

I've read those postings under BV & seen lots of +ve feedback. Have u pick yr photographer? I like Kim's work.

Flowee,

Yah lor. We are eyeing Thursday but sigh, if the elders really prefer weekends, then we got to obey lor. heee... but definitely a saturday, not sunday. I hate sundays! Every Sunday, i will get the monday blues :o( And normally, i dun like to attend dinners on sundays :P

I think most likely we are going for Oct or Nov :o)

Good News that u are collecting the keys! U must be really excited rite? Heee... Hmm..hopefully by then my flat will finish renovation :o)

hi cherubies,

i haven't decide on a venue yet. still shopping around... have shortlisted conrad.

as for bridal boutiques, been hunting around too, and shortlisted Bridal Veil, Stilhouette (oops, guessed i spelt wrongly
) and Ted Wu, but i won't make any decision till around oct.

right now also busy finding a good renovator for our flat!!

I'm going to be an Oct Bride, and i tot it's no harm joining you ladies at the Nov/Dec forum discussion, right? =)

Wow! I was "passing by" only ... didn't realised that you ladies are already planning so much even though your weddings are 1.5 yrs later! I guess i'll hv to start bugging on my boyfriend to do something liao! =P

Hi LT,

me on leave...
me will be staying in Ponggol...
where's your new house?

oh..good to see more..
i have not visited BV, silthouette and ted wu..

hear from you soon.

Hi tinki,

So sorry for the disappointment. Sure, you all can visit me another time!

Hi flowee,

Sorry, I never call you back on friday coz I just finish skipping and went for a shower. After that, felt tired and went straight to bed!

Got to skip to maintain for wedding mah! :P

Howz your reno discussions going along?

Hi tarsier,

Itz okay! Yap, think you should make an appointment with J&C (Cynthia), shez good! Although she is not a good salesperspn, you would be totally impressed when she starts to design your gowns!

Cynthia manages to design both my gowns when me myself has no ideas what I want in the 1st place! I simply love both gowns she designed!

My 1st fitting will be in August and photoshoot in Oct! But before that my last semester starts in July. Arrggghh!

Good morning ladies!

Hi Dew, welcome!
glad to see another 2003 bride!

Hi Naturally,
Went to view Fullerton yesterday, talked to the manager,....not bad, she's quite nice. The ballroom is small and cosy. The kind of size i'm looking for. Not too big and not too small.....

Didn't see anyone winking at me leh.
I'm there around 4-5pm. Did u go to view?

sunflower

Hi to all sept 2003 brides and pg21 neighbour,

Sorry Ling and Liliac, failed to reply you promptly (Me Lousy host).. juz came back to work today.. Went for a short PRE-honeymoon right after my ROM on 21 May.. After then, fell sick.. Moreover, NO internet access at home... *** VERY PAISAI***...

I have not choose a day for my customary and place for the wedding dinner.. NO time lah, need to prepare for my exam first. Would only able to start on Mid Aug cos hubby going for reservist at end of july.. Don't have much time left.. but no choice, so many hold backs..

KK and Jo, share the same idea.. Hubby and I may choose restaurant :o) unless hotel can meet our tight budget .. $400 to $450 for restaurant and $450 to $550 for hotel.. Ha Ha!! really tight, right?? Any recommendation to share…

Have anyone book the bridal package with any bridal shop?

PG21 neighbours, I have a booked a PG21 apt at 197A since Feb but have not get the key.... Maybe, HDB forgot about me and my hubby… Hee Hee.. Good!!! I can keep my money in the bank to roll for more interest….

Knock, knock, Anyone stay near me?? I have done enough renovation research.. no choice, need to put on hold 1st.. Anyone need renovation info, can check with me… Don't worry, No consultation charge..

Hi Juju,

welcome back! Was wondering at one point where you went to. So you feeling better now? I think I will also start preparation in Aug or Sep.... bit lazy lah..... Blk 190+, isn't it near the future shopping complex?

gd mornin gers...

sue & tinki

u gers r buz with ur bridal stuff oredi???

yi

as 4 my reno preparation, met up with 2 id durin the wkends...
i pretti like their proposal...
will b lookin ard 4 others nt commitin so soon...
i am able 2 collect my keys on 17th june...
btw did u buy ur home protection scheme from hdb or pte???
we wld like 2 get from pte any 2 recommend???

morning gals,

Sue,
yup i like Kim's style better too. i told mic tat i prefer e conventional style not those contemp. 1 n she suggested kim. hope iz e rite choice. ur hotel leh, booked oredi?

Yi,
wow u veri e on n discipline leh. keep it up! I "jing sheng shang" support u!

flowee,
how gal? u can help solve my yahoo photos prob?
u collectg ur keys so soon? dun wan to defer oredi? i thk mine cmg soon too, i defer until end of june.

Hi Lilac,

Feel slightly better.. Future shopping complex??? Don't know leh!!! Haven't really WACKY WACKY that place, ever since the booking confirmation...

Through the tread, you would like to arrange yr wedding dinner at plaza hotel. Is it confirm for your big day on 14 Sept?

Hi juju,

this date is not confirm yet....will wait for tong shu to be out and check if it is a good date.

Haven't really looked around for banquet venue but I have attended weddings at Plaza Hotel twice and quite like the place. Maybe come Aug / Sep will go into serious hunting around. At the moment also too busy with work and studies to have time for other things.

Hi flowee,

Me got my HPS from private one, I think from AIG/AIA if I'm not wrong coz itz purchase from my FH's previous colleagues. If you need the recommendation, I get contact nos. from FH.

Hi tinki,

Ya, must maintain lah coz I already took measurement for my gowns already, won't want to go for my 1st fitting and can't fit! Won't mind alter smaller, definitely dun wan alter bigger rite?!

Anyway, I have been skipping regularly, at least 4 times a week! Trying very hard to maintain my weight.

Hi Liliac,

Juz like me oso busy preparing for my exam and my work commitment.. Nowadays, it really tough to be a woman.. (Woman talk). Now learning to complain to my hubby so that he will SA YANG me more. But cannot too much. if not, side effect..

Dew,

i get the impression that normally guys dun do the planning wan. hahaa.. my hubby do nothing. He is just waiting for me to hunt for all info for him, "present" to him then he tell me his ideas.. hahhaa.. headache for me to get him to seek info :P

well sunflower, my guy was ill last weekend, so didn't manage to view fullerton, sorry to make u go staring at every gal to see if they wink at u!

Actually we are dropping fullerton from our list... no choice, out of budget lah... don't want to end up having the grandest wedding yet without a penny left to our name... i think he's afraid i'll like it so much that he can't bear to turn me down... so better don't even let me view, haha!
We're thinking of viewing grand hyatt and marriott next weekend, think grand hyatt's package is a better offer (just my personal opinion), but maybe marriott has a nicer ballroom? Dunno, have to check it out first... btw have u viewed these 2 ballrooms?

Fellow p21 neighbours,
Me finally laid my hands on a Mighty Mind!
Yeap, saw the site lilac mentioned due for recreation facilities, my blk's just beside it! If there's really a swimming pool, then it'll be like condo-style where u can see the clear sparkling pool downstairs!

Oops, just remembered a joke... there was this girl who told me why she didn't choose a unit facing a future swimming complex..... she don't want her husband to ogle at girls in swimwear!!
I can just picture the scenario, husband furgitively spying on skimpily clad girls with his binoculars, wife catches him in the act, and PINCH his ear...
I think i'll prob pester my hubby to pass me the bino, 'cos if there's sexy girls, then sure got macho guys too right!!

Hi Naturally, so you recently went to our PG1, so what is the progress now? Hubby too lazy to drive me there leh
so got to depend on you girls on the latest news. Mine is blk 647, what's yours?

hi naturally ,

glad to see u back in action.
ha ha ha, no lah didn't stare at every gal, else ppl will think i'm a psycho or wat......

i've not been to grand haytt or marriott b4 ballroom, so cannot comment. But their banquet price also more or less on the high side also rite?

I've only seen pictures of grand haytt table decor at CHIJMES website. Got their quotes for their outside catering but now , dropping the idea to hold wedding @ chijmes coz mind more or less fixed on Fullerton liaoz....

I'm going to a haytt wedding dinner this july, maybe can share with you after tat.....

sunflower

hi gers

sorie din reply asap coz real buz 2daz...
hv 2 work ot somemore...
*sigh*

tinki

y dun u give mi ur password???
i try 4 u...
wat say u???

yes i will b collectin my keys on 17th june...
dun intend 2 defer oredi coz of the gst 4 reno goin up 4 2003...
shd b gettin my flat reno by the end of 2002 though weddin bells aint ringin earlier than urs...
treatin my love nest as my chalet lor...:P
r u deferin ur collection of ur keys again after june 2002???

yi

yes i wld love 2 get ur contacts...
tks so muz 4 the contacts hope i din brin u any trouble...
we r lookin ard 4 HPS...
checkin on diff companies offerin HPS...

tinki & yi

how muz r u gers contributin mthli payment 2 hdb 4 ur love nest???
50% of the mthli amt???

Hi flowee,

No prob lah! Will give the contact nos. to you by tomorrow when I get from hubby!

As for the monthly CPF contribution to HDB, I'm not contributing coz all deduct from hubby's CPF. I very bad, I told hubby I wan to c my CPF account growing so please do not deduct mine! Hehehehe! Even the monthly PUB charges also deduct from hubby's bank account, feel real bad!

yi,
wow, so fast taken ur measuremt oredi,muz be so excited. when iz ur weddg? wat's ur gown like? btw how long do u skip per session? i remb i tried skipping long ago, but gets tired after a few mins, like no effect like tat leh.

flowee,
i ve sent my passwd to ur singnet a/c oredi. thanx a million
but do it oni when u re free k. no hurry.
yah lor, everythg gg up in 2003 coz of e GST
. i dun thk i can defer it coz i oredi defered it once. juz not veri willing to pay e convs charges evry mth when i m not stayg in e new hse. wasted... like wat u say, will treat it as a mini "wkend getaway" when e hse is ready.
we ll be splitg half half. thking iz oni CPF, cant be bothered to work out a %, too troublesome. but if my guy iz earng muz muz more than me, it ll be another story lah.
u leh?
dun work too late, go home earlier k. same to e rez of e gals....

Err.. sorry lilac, gave u the wrong impression, i mean i saw the site... on the mighty minds street directory lah! Hubby also very lazy to drive, plus the road's still muddy near our blks, he don't want to have to wash the car leh! But if we do drive over, will u gals know!

Sunflower,
It's not everyday u have a chance to be psychotic!
Glad u made up your mind abt fullerton, well hyatt and marriott are less pricey, their sat package is abt $100+ less per table compared to fullerton... at first i also thot they're abt same range, until i realised fullerton's pricing is +++ while hyatt and marriott's pricing is at NETT! The 16% tax and service charges can amt to more than $100 per table, scary...

Oh, do tell me if u like hyatt, after your friend's wedding, okie?
One thing bad though is the weekend traffic at orchard, dinner sure have to start late!

Where are all of you? This thread is getting inactive already leh! Wake up wake up!

Hi All, I'm also a Sep 2003 bride. Mine will be on either 13th or 14th depending whether we're going to have lunch or dinner banquet.

I've got my re-sale flat already. My renovation would probably start in Jun 2003. Thus a bit too early to source for these things.

As for bridal package, not yet too. Still on diet! Hopefully by this year Sep, there'd be some results!

SLK shld be honeymooning....must tell her to share share her ROM pixs....

Hi Tinki,
I also like Kim's work & saw my cousin's wedding photos taken by Kim, very nice & natural. I booked Conrad already.

Will be meeting Barnabas Hong this Wed to see his portfolio for the actual day photo. He is quite popular so better book first. I very kiasu because FH not around so I'm planning the wedding on my own and just show him the quotation, he just need to sign off can liao!

Hi Flowee,
Dun work too late, I normally tell myself to go home by 8pm if possible. Today, got training so can come home earlier.

Hi Yi,
Where did u book yr bridal package? Taking measurement now, yr wedding must be early 2003.

Yawn... hehe.. paiseh paiseh... (i can only surf internet at nite after work... office only got an internet terminal, not very convenient.)

Nancy,
You taking ray ong?!!! that's good, i have seen his portfolio and i really like his style, so casual and natural. have you talked to him yet?

I am having a slight problem with my "supposed" wedding (since nothin concrete yet).. hope you can give me suggestions. I have actually started another thread on "Solemnisation and customary on the same day".. anyone thinking of doing the same thing? (cos no one answered on the already-rom-thingy).
: )

yi

sorie 2 hv 2 trouble u with the hps...
tks 4 ur effort...
*envy envy* how i wish i wont need 2 use my cpf 2 pay 4 mthli but then again its our love nest shdnt take it 2 personal...
in other words, u dun hv 2 get the hps rite since u aint contributin???

tinki

had tried 2 retify the prob but seems like my yahoo pixs also facin the same prob...
will try again 2molo...
sorie i peep thru ur pixs...
u guys look radiant...
so how do u find sandy's make-up???

so u will b collectin ur keys also lor???
gd gd then we hv more topics 2 tok over...

my guy he will b payin more than myself coz i had contributed more when we 1st collected our keys...
beside the 20% hdb will take all the money in both our cpf accounts...
we will loan watever amt which is leftover after the deduction...
how many yrs of loan r u intendin 2 get from hdb???

sue

yup slk is nw @ kl enjoyin her honeymn...

i pretti like kim's works 2 but heard tat he is a quiet person might hv diff communicatin when its photo takin time...
juz my 2 cents thought...
chrisling he is nt bad 2 but dun reali like his studio pixs...
his outdr r more natural...
utopia they r gd @ takin outdr pixs...
they r the 3 who bv tied up with if mi aint wrong... :P

as 4 Barnabas Hong, heard he used 2 b with andrew choi...
he might possess some of andrew choi's style when its come 2 his pixs takin...
is hilarion goh in ur list???
he is the one who took zoe tay weddin pixs...
u might wana 2 check him out...

& tks so muz 4 ur concern...
waitin 4 my guy 2 pick mi up...

Thks for the detailed infor, Flowee

I read abt Hilarion Goh but never thot of checking him out...maybe I'll do that since u mention.
yah, u r right abt the 3 photographers working wif BV!!

hi Sue,
i was thkg of Conrad in e 1st place too but after takg a look at e ballrm realised iz too small 4 me. Imagine both of us "fightg" 4 e same ballrm...kekeke. we gettg married on e same day, thk we better not clashed w our plannings. i thot of gettg Tan Choon Huat, heard good comments abt him but muz go down n look at hiz portfolio too. btw where's ur FH?

flowee,
muz really send u a flying kiss...*muack*
thanx! dun say sorlie lah, iz 4 ur viewing too. i wished i ve taken more outdoor photos, like them better than indoors, but my guy was meltg under e hot sun, so we juz chop chop n go. sandy's makeup so so oni, like wat u said iz juz natural nothg fantastic but i like e way she did my hair.
yup, u re rite. those 3 re tied up w BV. heard abt kim being reserved too, hv spoken to him, quite humble man, thk i ll be more comfortable prefer not to hv those chatty kind.
abt e loan, we still hvt decide yet. will get my parent's opinion coz both of us quite blur abt tiz. wat abt u n ur guy?

Suzanne,
u ve any photos to share 4 e journalistic photographer which u recommend? me lookg 4 1 4 my actual day.

hi cherubies,

my new flat would be at toa payoh - a balloted flat.

wow..... so now are you enjoying your self at home?? how long is your leave??

tomolo am going to view holiday inn ballroom. been there once, but gonna bring my hubby down for 'approval' too....hehehe

am thinking of going down to amara and hilton to see the ballrooms too.

are you holding your wedding banquet at chijmes too???

Hi Tarsier,
I went to Ted Wu and saw Ray Ong's portfolio. One of my best friend recommended him too! Before I went over to his studio, I spoke to him over the phone and corresponded thru emails. I went over to his studio to pay the deposit. A friendly guy....If you are thinking of getting Ray to do your photography, call him soon cos' he is very busy. He accepts booking one year in advance. From now to Jan is about 7 months, I think some plans should get started....
Solemnisation and customary on the same day should be quite okie - but you may feel tired...just my idea =)
All of my friends did their solemnisation and customary on separate occasions.

Tinki, we won't fight lah. u have yr dinner the next day right?? Actually I'll be having two wedding banquets, veri siong! One in S'pore & one in M'sia. If I've one wedding then Conrad will nt fit my table size liao. My FH is a M'sian & he is in Australia now, coming home only at the end of the yr. Yah, heard abt Choon Huat from my friend and she can't get him for her Dec wedding. U have to book him early....
What fotos is Flowee talking abt? Yr ROM pixs is it? May I take a peep if u dun mind?

hi Sue,
yup, i forgotten hor, my dinner iz on e next day.
. oh ic...u muz hv missed him terribly.
give u a kiss to make up 4 it.

flowee,
e photos can c oredi. think iz e system's problem. thanx ger! btw ur doggie veri cute

ling,
good news! i can c ur photos too.

gers,
my ROM pix 4 ur viewg:
http://sg.photos.yahoo.com/felchia19

hi LT,

ya, now r&r... will be returning to work on thurs...

good to see u making a decision on your banquet venue..

nope,we are hoping to avoid a wedding dinner..hee hee

Hi tinki,
My wedding is on 24 Jan 2003. Actually, not really excited about it yet coz itz 7 months away mah! Somemore, my class starting in July again! Hiaz!

My wedding gown is a bustier and evening gown is in full lace. Really like the design Cynthia did for me.

I skipped about 2,000 times a week, at least 30 mins a day. As I have been skipping for years so I dun really feel tired but I do sweat alot so maybe itz why I slim down abit!

Hi Sue,
I booked my bridal package from J&C Bridal Collections. Although, itz not really very strongly recommended in this forum, I should say I m very impressed by them. Not pushy services, very personalized and simple loved Cynthia's designs!

Yeap, my wedding will be on 24 January 2002 (a week b4 CNY).

Poor Sue, hubby not around and you have to source everything alone. Let me know if therez anything I can help! My hubby also not ard until Thursday leh!

Hi flowee,
Ya lah, thatz why I feel bad that my FH is contributing all. But my FH has this thinking that a man must provides for the wife after marriage leh! So just let him pay then I try to save more lor! But too bad, I'm actually a shopaholic!

BTW, the contact is Hong Guan H/P:98156581. You can just quote that Michael (his previous colleague) recommended you! You can check with him coz if I'm not wrong, we bought a so-called joint HPS that we pay every yearly!

Hi tarsier and nancy,

I ROMed last May and will be holding my wedding only in Jan 03. Meanwhile, we have finished renovating our love nest. I believe getting ROM and the actual wedding separate is good in the sense that it gave us both financial and time allowance, me and hubby went for a mini-honeymoon to Australia after the ROM in May 02. We are able to spend the $ coz hubby says next year which is 2002 got to save up for house and customary liao so thatz the best time to go!

2 months after we came back from Australia, we got our house keys and by early this year, the house is fully renovated liao! So meanwhile from now till next Jan is save save save lor!

Another prob is itz really tired to do 2 things at one time!

tinki,

I can see your photos liao.
Thanks for sharing your photo. Wow, your hair so long dun need to keep on waiting for it to grow like me. Makes me so itchy every now and then.

You want to slim down???? dun need already. You already have a great figure.

Yi,
My friends sis took from J & C and was very satisfied with them as well. She actually develop lotsa photos until the whole thing cost 10k plus.

Think i am going to start skipping.

Are we going to your house this week Yi?

Sue,
Hilarion is a very nice guy. the good thing about him is that he does Wedding photos out of interest and not of $$$$. He is quite flexible. Maybe you can contact him @

Homepage: www.hilariongoh.com
Telephone: (65) 7000 008 0088
Message Beeper: (65) 9500 0088
Facsimile: (65) 6345 8389

Hope it is easier for you.

I have engage him for my actual day. He didn't want to collect the deposit though he states 30% to be paid for confirmation.

Flowee,
you getting your keys in less than 2 weeks . excited or not? ;)

Hello ladies,

juz happen to kaypoh & reading the paris bridal thread,...read until i blur
,...seems like is a horrible experience to go thru that when engaging bridal package services....
Hope we won't have to go thru that.....

hi naturally,
yah will definately let u know of any feedback at haytt.

Hi tinki,

Me also see your photos liao! Now, I can associate your face to your nickname already! Hehehe! Maybe I will try to scan and post my ROM and mini-honeymoon fotos on the net too!

Hi ling,

10k? My goodness! I have told my hubby to restrict me to at most extra 10 pics from my package. Dun want hubby to spend too much on fotos that nobody else will be interested after the wedding!

I'm actually skipping to maintain my weight lah! Dun want to put on as now I start to munch on titbits again leh! My colleagues actually told me to tone up instead of dieting further coz they say I too skinny not nice! Hiaz, real headache, plump people comment, slim people also comment!

Trip to my house this Thursday? I'm on, wat about the rest? You okay?

Hi Yi,

You must be very slim already. For me after my ROM, I have since been eating quite a lot and not doing my bedtime exercise anymore. So a bit increase in size. feeling guilty now....
Think i better go start doing some exercise. otherwise I can't imagine growing and growing horizontally.

This thursday , i am ok. but i dunno the rest.

Flowee, flyn, Hazel, Oink, Tinki,

Are you girls free to go?

sorry hasn't been replying for the past few days. bz at work n home pc dieded :P

ling, yi,

this thurs i cannot confirm leh, need to be out of office to attend course, not sure whether can make it or not. how to contact u all?

oink

Hi ling,

Me actually slim down abit more after ROM. My hubby's buddies always joke with me that I dun need to diet anymore coz COE already signed. But I believe in still maintaining after marriage to look mei mei for hubby! (Dun know whether I would still be skipping after customary! hehehehe) Me also bought an exercise bike for love nest coz love nest's floor is homogenous and laminate so cannot skip anymore if not damage!

Hi oink,

Ya, you have been missing for quite awhile! So when can you confirm whether you can join us?

Hi flowee, tinki, hazel, flyn,

What about all of you? This thursday at 6.30pm, Boon Lay MRT Station?