(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi abrinas,
glad that u enjoy ur PS.

My case same as u go for the outdoor 1st then indoor. Luckily during the outdoor the weather is good so didnt get any burn.

I will be viewing my samples this sat. Hope it turn out nice.

HI All My dear May Birdes' Friends,

Finally back to this thread...

How's everything??? Preparation, renovation... etc

Hihi Jazz
I think of going to Switzerland, France, Venice or may be Scandinavian. Any gd recommendation?
Sorry I din do any search on videography charges. May get my brother-in-law to do 4 us.

Hihi May
My dad said Europe is badly hit by the cold weather lately. Some of the places r badly destroyed n dirty. Wonder if the places r done up by May.
Y do u said that it is perfect to go Europe in May?

Hihi Meekoo
My hubby been to Mt Kinabalu twice. Besides, find it too taxing 4 honeymoon.

Hihi Vin
Mrs Young, u r back!! How wz your wedding?
I m busy wif CNY stuff. Not doing love nest n wedding preparation @ the moment. Will do them in the 2nd phase, after CNY

Or if u have a fren who is their club member, u can sign in as guests..... not sure if u still have to pay, but at least will be much lesser!

Meekoo, maybe, you're too stressed, that could contribute to the lateness. When I was studying in Aust, my 'aunty' didn't come for about six months that I was so worried. I went to see a doc there, but she just told me to relax, and it'll most probably come a month or two later. And true enough, when I came back to Singapore, it came back. I guess it could be because of dietary habit as well as stress.

We don't have video-cam, and not easy to borrow one, so I think better to get somebody more professional. My fren had some fren to help her do videography, but there were some portions that we heard voices but the cam was either pointing down on the ground or to somewhere else 'cos the videography was busy talking to somebody else, without realizing the cam was not off or not pointing at the right place. So, to save all the hassel, just spend some money and get a videographer instead.

Vin, good to hear your 'voice'! Welcome back!
How did your wedding in Malsysia went?

May, thanks for the info! I'll go check out that one.

Shook, thought of going Italy and Switzerland? My fren is going to spend their honeymoon there, renting a car and driving around. Italy is known for being a very 'romantic' place. ;)

Hi pooh

Don't worry - shd be nice.
Those that you posted and showed us are nice, so the samples should be nice too.

Me going home liao. Sick - did not sleep at all last night, sneezing n coughing thru'out. Headache liao. Talk to u all tomorrow.

taddess,

U can try
Changi Beach
Sentosa
Labrodor Park
Fullerton
Boat Quay
Singapore Art Musuem
Punggol park which they called it lalang
Chijmes

or some places which have special meaning to you and your hubby!

as for the light colored polish,I presumme you have to put on a light colored nail polish.for my case I use those silvery purple for my PS.

Taddess,
Jiayou for your exercise routine!!me trying hard too!

Hi Yi

So envy you. Going to Switzerland for almost the whole month of Feb 03...Wow....

Hi flowee

Ya ya ...I have not been to any of your outing and I want to look at Yi's wedding photo provided the day you all choose I can make it lah...Keep me informed hor...

Eustoma,
Your shoe look nice.

Are,
If they never develop for you, that mean all your photos is without touch up lor. You not worry? I think most of the wedding album photos that we see are with touch up, that why it’s look pretty.

Grace,
My friend bridal shop boss told her to buy silver color shoe. So it can go with WG and EG. At least silver we still can wear it during normal day/function. I think no need to spend so much or so much time on the shoe lor, becos no much ppl will notice, it’s cover by the gown, :o.

leo29,
agree with buying silver shoes, which can match both WG and EG if they are cool-color tone.. yep, i think no one will notice the shoe.. like no one will notice your car deco (unless it is very bad).. ha..

hello all,

Didn't log on for the pass few days. was sick and on mc.

May: I haven't gone for fitting yet. What's it like for first fitting? Trial makeup also no news yet. I hope to hear from them soon. Now getting anxious.worried that the gown will not turn out nice. sigh. after the first fitting, you mean we have many more? i thought just one more before wedding. think i need some enlightenment!

Jazz: no problem lah. if don't have then i will just settle for any form of transport. i not so picky when this is concern, it's my FH lah, he very picky on transport. we don't have video-cam too, wil have to borrow from someone then get friend to help. videography very expensive so i thot do away with it lor. sigh. everything needs money.

Vin: welcome back. tell us more about your wedding! honeymoon planned or have you gone and came back? any helpful tips for us to look out for during our wedding dinner so make things run smoothly?

Hi Bear,

"eg" is me, typo error, just in case you dunno. pls dun say that, not everyone has model figures, but a bride is always beautiful
Wow seems you have done quite alot of things, not bad!

Hi Ram,

Think keeping lean n fit is quite an obstacle for us march brides coz of the CNY goodies dun you think? But heck, eat 1st then say, hahaha!

I've just collected my invitation cards. Should be getting down to confirm my invitation list and start writing!

Like shir, I also confirmed the date for guo da li. Now finding wedding cake shop.

The schedule is still a blur. Dunno when it'll be done. =P

Hee hee, its really hard to be disciplined and exercise regularly. Hope I can get my jog done this week! =P

Very upset today. Have been having problems with my contractor. He is driving me crazy and last nite i had a screaming match with him on the phone. I didnt feel good after that coz i am quite a mild person unless seriously aggravated.
The good thing is i got the message across and he is rectifing the work now, but i am very concern about the workmanship. Why r they no good contractors that take pride in their workmanship...Sigh...

Shook: they say that weather is nice in Europe. Isnt it Spring? anyway, everyone is asking me to go there for Honeymoon.

Jan: Oh dear, u have been sick since u r back from Japan. Poor thing...u missing your FH very badly is it?
Mayb you want to call xzen to check about fitting. I went for my fitting last Dec and will be going for another fitting plus Trial Makeup b4 PS. There will also b another fitting b4 my wedding to make sure that all is well for the big day.

May: oh dear, why like that. you got the same problem as me. i got cheated by the contractor. they used inferior paint to paint my room. i kicked up big fuss, they try to rectify but cannot do much since i press for time. long story. anyway, i find that they are terrible bunch of people. they don't take pride in their work and most of them don't keep their words. i wonder why it's like that too. for your case, maybe have to go and monitor when he rectify the wrong. if not, i will also be worried if i am in your shoes. poor you, must have had a terrible time screaming into the phone just to get the man to be reasonable. i hate doing that because after the session, you are completely drain and you feel lousy. sympathise with you. been thru that too. sigh.

Yah, just called xzen. not ready yet but soon.so she will call me when ready. she said not to worry. photoshoot also not fix, nothing confirm. plus my fiance not around, she ask how to fit his suit. i also lost.think have to go talk to fiance soon. So in total, will have to expect at least 3 fittings i guess. yah, u are right. have been sick since back from trip. miss him partly, the other is the change in weather and also because i ate too many heaty stuff while i was there.

Hihi Jazz
Switerland definitely YES. Heard dat Italy is v dirty. It is v romantic, ok will consider.
Your friend on free n easy huh, when your friend going?

Hihi May
I had a v bad experience wif the curtain supplier. Can understand how u feel. I am also a mild person, will fire back only will seriously aggravated.
I reminds me of the lousy incidence whenever i c the curtains in my love nest n i HATE the curtains.
Go Europe 4 honeymoon lei. May b we can go together if u n your hubby don't mind?

i'm also a nov03 bride. now looking for actual day photography and videography.

care to share/recommend urs?

its been a-g-e-s since i exercise, only did some decent exercise for a short period when i just started pak-tor with my hubby, then lazy again, now he influenced by me instead, keke! very buay-ta-han the itchiness when jogging also ley...

Hi leafy,
i hope this will be useful to you! =) it's taken from www.theknot.com

JANUARY & FEBRUARY
Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Bali, Belize, Brazil, Canada (ski destinations), Caribbean, Central & South Africa, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Maldives, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, The Florida Keys, USA (ski destinations)

MARCH
Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Belize, Brazil, Canada (ski destinations), Caribbean, Central & South Africa, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Egypt, French Polynesia, Hawaii, Maldives, Mexico, Morocco, The Florida Keys, USA (ski destinations, Southeast, Southwest)

APRIL
Argentina, Bahamas, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Caribbean, Central & South Africa, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Egypt, French Polynesia, Hawaii, Italy, Maldives, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Spain, The Florida Keys, USA

MAY
Belize, Bermuda, Brazil, Britain, Canada, Caribbean, Central & South Africa, Czech Republic, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Greece, Hawaii, Ireland, Italy, Madagascar, Maldives, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Seychelles, Spain, Thailand, The Florida Keys, USA

JUNE
Bermuda, Brazil, Britain, Canada, Central & South Africa, Czech Republic, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Greece, Hawaii, Ireland, Italy, Madagascar, Maldives, Mauritius, Seychelles, Spain, Thailand, USA (Alaska, Northeast)

JULY & AUGUST
Bermuda, Brazil, Britain, Canada, Central & South Africa, Czech Republic, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Ireland, Kenya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Seychelles, Thailand, USA (Alaska, Northeast)

SEPTEMBER
Australia, Bermuda, Brazil, Britain, Canada, Central & South Africa, Czech Republic, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Madagascar, Maldives, Mauritius, Seychelles, Spain, Thailand, USA

OCTOBER
Australia, Bali, Belize, Bermuda, Brazil, Canada, Central & South Africa, Egypt, Fiji, French Polynesia, Hawaii, Italy, Madagascar, Maldives, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Seychelles, Spain, USA

NOVEMBER
Australia, Bahamas, Bali, Belize, Brazil, Canada (ski destinations), Central & South Africa, Egypt, French Polynesia, Hawaii, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, Seychelles, Spain, USA (ski destinations, Southeast, Southwest)

DECEMBER
Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Bali, Belize, Brazil, Canada (ski destinations), Caribbean, Central & South Africa, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, The Florida Keys, USA (ski destinations)

WEATHER BY DESTINATION
Frost be damned, you want to go to Paris? We'd be the last person to stop you! But, we feel morally obligated to remind you, that your dream destination may not be so dreamy in the dead of winter, or heat of summer. Below, some of the most popular honeymoon destinations -- some because they enjoy relatively sublime weather year-round -- and their not so pretty seasons.

HAWAII

Best months: March to July, October and November

Worst months: Far from horrible, December and January are coolest (average afternoon temperature is 75 degrees); August and September are hottest (average 92 degrees). The wettest months are from November to March.

Note: In general, every island's northern shore gets more rain than the southern. Kaui and the Big Island's northern shores receive slightly more than other islands.

BAHAMAS

Best months: November to April

Worst months: It is hottest (up to 89 degrees on average) and rainiest from June to October

BERMUDA

Best months: May to October

Worst month: January and February

CARIBBEAN

Best months: Technically, December to May, when the area is coolest and enjoys the most wind, but average temperatures year-round hover between 78 and 88 degrees

Worst months: "Official" hurricane season runs from June to November; the worst months are August, September, and October (islands near South America -- Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao, Trinidad, and Tobago -- are outside the hurricane danger zone)

Note: High-altitude and coastal spots are cooled by trade winds year-round (a good salve during the hotter and more humid summer months)

EUROPE

Best months: May through September or October

Worst months: December to February

FLORIDA

Best months: March, April, October, November

Worst months: May to September

Note: The Florida Keys experience temperate Caribbean-like weather year-round.

LAS VEGA

Best months: March, April, October, November

Worst months: June to September

Note: July and August are scorchers here, but at least it's a "dry" heat (humidity is very low year-round)

MEXICO

Best months: October to May

Worst months: Rainy season runs June through September, but usually only involves a short daily dousing. It is also hotter during the summer months.

Note: Coastal playgrounds and low-lying sections of the country are hotter than higher-altitude destinations such as Mexico City, Guadalajara, and the heartland "Silver Cities."

SOUTHEAST ASIA (BALI, THAILAND)

Best months: October to February

Worst months: Hottest between March and May; rainy from June to September

SOUTH PACIFIC (FIJI, FRENCH POLYNESIA)

Best months: May to October

Worst months: December to February (hot, humid, and rainy); Tahiti lies well outside the Pacific cyclone zone and while Fiji does not, it is rarely hit during the highest-risk months of January and February

hi clyne, yes, it's some sort of velvet feeling but not velvet material i think. it's also not leather definitely.

hi ah girl, i dont intend to hv actual day videography, so i cant help. for photography, it'll be memphis west.

leafy, i really haven't given the honeymoon very much thot other than the cost involved. Who knows, i may be so broke after the wedding i may just have to honeymoon in kusu island !!!

cath, wow! that was a very useful list. thanks !
if money were not an issue, i would like to go to US or Spain for my honeymoon !

Thanks cath!
Quite a good guide indeed!

I've good impression of kusu island leh! Nice, clean and quiet beach.

ehh... Let's hope we'll receive fat ang-bao from our guest huh?

Someone mentioned tt there'll be a gathering? count me in!

hi bear aka shirley

not bad wat! u've done quite a lot! the cakes and other stuff wil be settled by hubby, so i no need to wori..

to all :

wat u all reali must be disciplined to exercise! me cannot... can't resist food and nv exercise somemore... die
I guess wen the wedding is nearer, i'll go on a crash diet! hehe...

Jan: oh no, did u pay alot for the painting? i also worried that they will use inferior paint. So i stated all the codes carefully and fax it to him, i have got black and white. He better not cheat me. I am really so frustrated already. Tonite must go check the workmanship...arghh...house reno very stressful...
I hope when u r in Japan, your FH got pamper you after all that you have to handle on your own.
Basically, i am the bad person while hubby is the good person but he also very frustrated with contractor already...
Your FH coming back for CNY? If yes, he can go fit the suit. Better start to shop around for shirts. We r trying to do that...if cant find suitable shirt, will tailor at $69 for one. Expensive or not?

BTW, you better start shopping for your wedding shoes. I manage to buy the wedding shoes at Tangs before Christmas, cost me about S$50. Like it very much. I went to Leaping Lizards to make evening shoes for $79. So X - but no choice and i dont even find their design nice. I made a plain one, coz to add pearls or crystals was way to x. i plan to add them myself.

If you plan to custom made - better do it soon, u need it in time for ps.

Have u bought your wedding rings?

Shook: Thanks for comforting me. Sometimes, i wish i am those v fierce person so that i dont get bully. But i am not. So sad...just feel that i am bad at handling people. Dont know how to be smart and get what i want...sigh...

Europe very expensive leh... very unlikely, even though i want to go to Italy and Venice too. But if plans change will let you know. So r u going to book for your package at the Natas Tour? I am not really a package tour person, hubby and i prefer F&E.

Hi Grace,
me huh...lost. Going to get nail art to hide my ugly nails. Can also ask them to paint. But not cheap. Called and told Jane my prob, she said she'll help me the best she can. She dun even charge me if i were to buy my own stick-ons and ask them to stick for me. Soooo nice of her.

Twinkle, Eustoma and Ah-girl,
First of all must welcome both ofyou to this forum

could you sent the following details to [email protected], once i've compile the list, i'll sent one copy to you as well. Those unconfirm one, just leave it blank lor.
Details :
1) Nickname
2) Real Name
3) Birthday (DD/MM/YY)
4) ROM Date
5) Actual Day
6) Venue of Banquet
7) Email address
8) New Home Location
9) Contact Nos
10) Name of bridal

Eustoma,
I must say your shoes are beautiful. Very nice.

Ah girl,
My photographer is Nick Goh for ROM and actual day. Nice pixs

Err.... 1-6 ling cannot make it, 11-28 Yi cannot make it. How about end of this month(Jan)? After Yi's wedding? or begining of mar?

How about venue/eating place?
- NYDC
- Cafe Cartel
- Swensons
- Billy Bommbers
- Sake
- Food Court
Any others?

Hey Natash, I went to Sentosa for my PS too, on 3 Jan. Lucky didn't rain but got bitten by mosquitoes.

Jazz, the feature colour is fantasy orange dulux. It's kinda bright orange. I only painted 1 big wall, and a small balcony wall that colour, the rest will be lighter orange. Cannot whole hse that colour, will headache man!

May, aiyoh, poor thing! I can udnerstd. My contractor is already quite nice but I also had some issues with him that I wasn't happy with. Then bec you want to make sure they do things rite, you end up going up and down your place and that is tiring too. Some of the woodwork didn't come out the way I wanted but cannot be undone already so I'll live with it.

BTW, need to check something with you ladies. I bought a ELba 731 cooker running on electricity. I dind't know you can connect to a power pt to start it, or you can use fire starter gun. So I didn't cater for a power pt near to the cooker. Nearest one means wire gotta stretch across wall which is not nice. I aksed if it's really necc to fix the wire connection and shop says that no need but "better". my mom's hse cooker uses fire starter and I'm ok with that. Do I really need to connect the cooker to the power pt? I will need to drill thru the kitchen top for the wire to emerge to connect to the power pt. Then also prob with wire running across wall. Shld I just forget abt the power pt and stick with fire starter gun? I don't think I will be doing much cooking.

Also, there's one row of wall tiles in my kitchen and toilet which is patterned. I don't like it but don't want to spend $ to remove/replace. Might damage surrounding tiles too. Was adviced not to spray paint too as those areas come into contact with water frequently and paint won't last. Was thinking of buying those stick-on borders to cover them up. WHere can I find wide variety? Those I found in hardware shops have limited variety. Any other options to cover ugly tiles?

May.. you're so lucky to get your shoes. I'm now searching hard and low for my wedding shoes. And I'm thinking of getting one pair for both day and night. But looks like it's not going to be possible as my evening gown is more warm-toned.

Also, anyone knows where to buy corsets? I'm having problems finding this too. Sigh. Saw the one in Triumph but they don't have my size. Anyone knows?

And I haven't found my actual day photographer. Heh.. lazy to find. Greymatter is so expensive too! So 'fan'!!

ladies

how abt end feb or beginnin mar???

elaine

anythin lah...
hv 2 settle the date 1st mah...
the venue can come later lor...
n u hv 2 brin along ur studio album hor...

Hihi May
Is your shoe opened or closed toes?
My hubby n me like to go 4 free n easy in Europe. However we r afraid of language problem . Oso not enuff time to read up material on Europe. Most friends said dat guided tour is cheaper. So most likely will go 4 guided tour. Will look out @ the NATAS fair then decide.
We r very much alike. I always get bullied too. Wish I m more assertive, aggressive (better still
My classmate ever commented dat I have to learn to say NO

Hihi Maya
Check wif the sales guy if it is alrite to use fire starter gun alone 4 your cooker b4 u do anything on it.
U can go to DIY shop to look 4 stickers for the tiles.

Maya: is yours a new flat or resale flat? My kitchen has a row of pattern tiles too and i hated it. I got my contractor to remove them and replace them with the plain tiles. What they did was cut out the particular tile and replaced. They did a good job for this but did a horrid job for my kitchen mosaic tiles. I am very upset about it and i threaten not to pay for the mosaic. If yours is a new flat, you cant do much as we are not allow to "touch" the toilet. Try home fix DIY store for the stick on borders. But not sure if they will last if comes into frequent contact with water.

As for the cooker, i think it is ok to use the fire starter to start. But dont u need the electricity to turn on your cooker hood (chimmy). I know mine is connect to both hob and hood.

Kare: Someone in this forum says that Peddle Works also do custom made shoes and much cheaper. You might want to check them out. Better do so fast as they need 1 month to do the shoes. Dont forget you need the shoes for PS. As for corsets -what about Marks & Spencer and BLUSH? Do you really need to wear one? My designer discourage me to wear as she says you will see lines and the fats will be redistributed to somewhere else. Anyway, i also cannot wear coz my gown designs are low back. Your cut must be tight fitting?
I also have not confirm actual photography. lazy...

Shook: The wedding shoes i bought at Tangs is closed toe slip in. The evening shoes i made at leaping lizards is open toes sling shoes. I am quite tall and my hubby not very. so i can only go for 2" heels.

I also plan to go to Natas fair to check out. why dont you go for a package tour and then extend a few days for f&e in Europe?

Halo gals,

I'm so sad that my trip to europe might be cancelled coz they can't get 15pax to move.

As for the gathering, I'm ok with any dates after my wedding if my trip is cancelled. Any venue is ok with me too.

Hi leafy,

really ah ? Kusu island ???
I'm going on leave for 2 weeks after chinese new year and i was just wondering where to go. Maybe one of my stops will be Kusu island !

Believe it or not, i've never been there before !

yi,

can imagine how disappted u r...so where's the nxt alternative destination u considering?

hi gals , wat abt 25th feb?

leafy,
after house & banquet, no more $$ for honeymoon. like what 1027 said, we may end up in sentosa..:p

cath, thks for the list!

nobody reply to me when they want the gathering leh...
ok, just select fr these dates then: feb 11/12/18/19 or u gals want in march?