(2003) Brides of year 2003

Leo29,
today, lady boss around so can't surf net. But she'll be overseas soon, so i can join in again. PC's here all connect to intranet and not internet. Sian

Amore,
7pm sharp huh? That means i need to apply half day again? Can i be late or not huh?

Sunnyling,
receive the quote liao. Think its about the same, didn't print out and compare. But at least the $1500 one got 2 more film lor. Talk to her see can go cheaper or not.

Ok cher and leo29, please check your mails.

hi kk mei,

i just cannot understand why pple can sit for hours even till dawn for mahjong.
as i feel that mahjong is only a game for 4 and thus the rest of the pple will be neglected so never love mahjong!
actually i oso cannot stand the noise! hehehe :P

as for driving, i like to be able to relax and look ard and even sleep then having to be alert all the times as the road is dangerous with so many cars.
thus, my mum always complain i spend so much to get licence yet dun drive. hehehe
my colleague oso say since hubby got car, can drive to go shopping at times mah, but i replied i rather take mrt and bus then drive. hahaha

Hi Simon,

i guess wat matters is that both of u r ok with just choosing the dates urselves. for me, my parents and in-laws are rather particular as both me & FH are the 1st in the family to get married

how's the preparation? all done? ROM yet?

leo29 & cher ... wld like to recommend ur the bridal shop I signed up wif whereby price is reasonable and service is very gd. I think amore also knows. If ur interested, I can email ur my bridal package FYI.

Amore ... wish I can join in with ur but got company AD&D. Hee ... food is more impt mah

Annmelody ... welcome here ... hmmm ... got a suggestion for u ... y dun u try Tung Lok Restaurants. For one thing sure, the food is very good. Maybe you can try Noble House.

Wow, u gals so active during the day...me so beezee at work...

I 'm almost done with my cards...I used black pen to write my invites cos I printed my cards with black ink... But dunno abt my ILs... still pending printing of their cards.

I had my food tasting a long time ago before I signed up for my package... wanted to try the food before signing up... so I dun have to worry abt food tasting now.

I think I hv too much liquor for my wedding. I am having a very small dinner(around 15-18 tables). But I have 24 bottles of red wine and 50L of beer...is that way too much? How? Stress...too much worry too much...too little worry not enuff...

Couple of my frens told me not to plan my sitting arrangement so soon...they said that there will be a lot of last minute changes so best to leave that till the last...like a couple of days before the wedding....

Hi Shook,

I think you're right. There are some scratch marks on our wedding bands oredi!
The first time I noticed the 'white' coming off my engagement ring, I was actually quite upset and asked my hubby if his love will change too, like the color of the ring! Anyway, if I had knew earlier, I would have selected the platinum one anytime!

Hi Jan2003... actually Tokyo rings might be cheaper than if you buy in Singapore because I do understand from Goldheart that some of their wedding band collection is from Japan. Maybe I share with you what I know about actual day photographers... the older ones i.e. more experienced ones actually know all the customs of different dialect groups (and even racial grps!) so its good to have them if you yourself not familiar with the customs. However, they take mostly posed pictures (which I don't like coz posed seems to be = fake and I don't really think wedding photos should be posed). As for the younger photographers (or maybe I should say new-age photographers), photos are natural as they do the photo-taking 'behind the scene'. Whether or not they know all the customs, I'm not sure but I appreciate them for their 'style' (being a photographer myself). So maybe you would want to consider these factors when you select your photographer. Remember that experience does count (coz you cannot 'repeat' your wedding day) so have to be very selective and careful!! hehe.... so how was the eldest son's wedding photos? If they turned out ok, then I guess not so bad lor!

hiya everyone!!!

yes yes .. more and more dec brides to be!!! hiaks hiaks .. told my bf about pre-anniversary, and complained y he din celebrate with me yesterday .. hehehehe he finally gave in and said okiez okiez, this long weekend think think of how to celebrate .. ehehehehhehe ... now must really eat less n workout more leh ... less than a year away!!! chum ah ...

wendy: y u not having dindin? issit going to be a reception instead?

I have cream cards for friends & colleagues, red cards for relatives. Got silver & gold ink Zebra pen @ $1.20 each...cheap right ? quite good also. You can get them at Giant.

Me also facing problem with the seating arrangement. As I'm in HR, i got to deal with a lot of fellow colleagues day in day out. I'll be inviting quite a number of them (about 5 tables). The problem lies in that there's a lot of politics and protocols in my company. So I have to be very discreet when it comes to seating arrangement. My boss adviced me to just give free seating and not allocate the table number as it would appear rather obvious that the colleagues who are at loggerheads should not be sitting together. Agree with Vodka that it might turn out chaotic...but no choice lah...cannot please everyone at the same time...let them have their own choice of seating lor...hopefully this way won't offend anyone..just need to indicate clearly which are the tables allocated for them by placing the signage on the table...the choice is theirs..

Keep thinking about my tea dress that i selected last weekend..rather regret about the selection...it seemed to be the best one among all that were available in the bridal shop..but it seems rather cheena. It is a chilly red A-line dress with a thick layer of white beads at the waistline ! Sounds awful right?
Besides wearing for the tea ceremony, actually intending to wear it at the end of the dinner when sending off guests..but now having 2nd thought...maybe wait for christmas sale then get another one as standby lor...

oops...read till i blur blur..can only manage to cm in n chat at nite..too bz wif work..jus now went to search for restaurants..sigh..another disapointing results..on the 1st already booked..panic liao..

hi annmelody,
welcome on board!!! yr date on weekdays shld be easy to book for banquets. when is yr date? littlerabbit suggests noble house, u can try..its gd.

hi meow,
mayb tmr i have to go down to imm n chevrons to ask liao..mayb get to tok to the person in charge..can u ask yr coordinator? c if still got space? thanks!

hi amore,
my fingernails so short leh..oso can go for manicure?? nbr go b4 oso.

Can I join too?? Both my ROM and customary will be held in 2003...

This thread is really lively.... I have a difficult time going through the history so please pardon me if I missed out anything...

Hi annmelody,
Good to see you here too!!

Hi serrich, welcome.

leo & cher will send you details of the package this weekend.. hubby too busy to retreive the contract for me at these couple of days. cher, I also eyeing bustier and A-line can can type of gowns. great minds think alike

amore, maybe next Fri will also pop by.. just to chit-chat with you girls, not manicure.. that is provided can finish packing in time.. gotta move house next Sat. will sms you then

Hi Serrich,
We welcome you to join us here. Know that your wedding was brought forward just like blusher. Could you sent me a mail to [email protected] with the followings? I'll sent you a copy of our Nov brides.
1) Nickname
2) Real Name
3) Birthday (DD/MM/YY)
4) ROM Date
5) Actual Day
6) Venue of Banquet
7) Email address
8) New Home Location
9) Contact Nos
10) Name of bridal

Okea,
What you want me to check with my coordinator? Of course i can ask her to attend to you. Space? Dun understand, can elaborate?

Hi totoro,
I am a bride of Dang,first you look at her you may be thought she is not friently, but actually
she is very kind and helpful lady. Many of our friends are satify with her service. Make an appointment and discuss with her again, I belief you will like her.

Hihi Michele
Plantimum has it's weakness 2. It scratches easily. The day of my solemnization, I took out my ring thinking of taking picture of my ring. Alas!! It dropped on the road. My wedding band got tiny holes on the surface. I wz v v sad
. Dat wz the 1st day I wore it. My hubby consoled me "never mind, let's bring the ring back to Gold Heart Jewelry, SURE they can do something abt it". Then I felt better. Dat wz a bad memory on my ROM.
Every kind of material has it's flaw. It depends on ur preference n level of tolerance.

me bk!
can some1 tell me roughly how much does a bed frame alone(not those woody type) & queen mattress alone(Seahorse, KingKoil, Simmons) usually cost?

kk mei, some1 advise that my fiance sleep on the new bed b4 our customary. is this necessary?

Thks

Hi amore

I can make it on 13 Dec but cant leave too late cos need to go airport and pick up a friend at night around maybe 9 to 10pm. It wun take so long right?

Zao An ladies. it's count down time... 1 more day to long weeeeekends.

Hello Serrich, welcome to nov03 thread

Meow,
I receive yr package liao. Xie xie ni...

akira,
oki. no rush.

littlerabbit,
yes yes, pls send me yr package too. i'm curious to see what's inside

Question of the day:
Have you ever tot wat your colour you want your EG to be? :P

morning gals,

welcome Serrich

Yesterday went down to my bridal boutique & shortlisted an ROM gown which i like it alot. Was very surprised tat my kind of figure can fit into a gown. haha
Now getting real excited for February to come. Hope by then can slim down more more man. haha

amore, thanks for the offer
but i cant go, cos got xmas exchange wif my pals. Enjoy the session! btw, me also never go manicure before. Quite SK too. keke.

twink|ets ~

hehe, wendy, your ROM is same day as my pre-anni, and your ROM anni will be on my wedding day, and and my wedding anni will be your 2nd yr ROM anni!! hahaha...

And did u use the parco card to offset your bridal package price? If i'm not wrong, can get some discount right?

Lucky u, can get away without holding a wedding dinner! So are u and hubby gonna fly off for honeymoon right after the customary (or church matrimony)? That's cool... tell us more leh!

a v gd morning to all! ;P

welcome serrich...

ok, here's my report on my 1st pedi/mani, juz a word of caution for those going for... be prepare to speand at least 1 1/2 hrs there!!! first, 7pm is their hot hours, so you might hv to wait for your turn... last nite it took me 1 1/2hrs!!! so do grab a bite before you go! ;P

eh naturally,

very confusing leh...must draw time-line then understand what's the relationship btw ur dates & wendy's date.

Thanks kk!
Been seeing those words eg an chuang and guo da li on this website very often, but never understood what they meant.

Oops, i guess never mind lah....i've already slept on my bed several times. er, actually many times since i sleep there every weekend. It's almost a seasoned old bed by the time my wedding comes!

Hi Jady, some of my friends get their fiances to shift into their new home first. Acts as a "jaga" i guess, rather than to leave the house empty.

As for price of bed, i paid about $2k for a King storage bed with headboard from Slumberland. A queen should be cheaper i guess, but it also depends on the quality of the mattress & its brand (eg Simmons more expensive).

Morning gals.

A warm welcome to serrich.

Cher ... will send u my package when I'm back tonite. EG colour ... haven't think of it cos' it all depends of which design turns out to look gd on us. But I think I definitely won't choose those too bright colours.

Hi Jen

you are taking the off-the-rack package? Mine also and i'm facing similar problem. Can't find a nice EG when I went for selection last week. Very worried. But I'll be going back again on 16 Dec to see if they have new stock. Why dun you call your coordinator and let her know you still dun like that gown and ask her to look out for nicer piece.

I'm bk after MIA for quite some time agn...
been having some family problems & still busy sourcing for gd & affordable contractors/IDs & busy doing reseach on electrical appliances & furnishings.....i'm so tired...

yi, i actually went to c doc & got 2 days MC on my bday!! cos the outer layer of my cornea of my left eye 'came out'. well, not the whole piece but u know when u blink, that layer fold up & dn as if u wearing soft lens & the lens fold down?
so i cancel my bday dinners for that 2 days. luckily fiance celebrated for me during the wkend.
so anyway, my eye recvr on wed. but on fri it became swollen like 'eye needle'. so go to c doc on sat agn cos real bad. only recvr yesterday evening....sigh...
so many things...i so tired now..

kk, haha. i'm a mj player. every now & then,my friends will self arrange to come my house for a game. in fact, i'm playing tonite. depends on individual lah, when u r having a big gathering, it's true the rest feel left out so not so nice to play but if just 4 of u feeling bored, i find it's a gd game to kill time & we always chitchat & laugh during the game too.

flowee, got my license for nearly 9 yrs liao. still drive abit now & then , now seldom cos fiance just bought a car half yr ago. my car is manual gear one cos auto got no horsepower. ya, i'm a speedist, likes to speed but still quite poor in parallel parking. no prob with vertival lah. i'm a F1 fan so has some tech. knowledge abt cars thats y i choose manual cos i luv the fast pickup! but then again, in SGP, can't really drive too fast. fastest i go only 140km/h & mine is a normal saloon car..haha . so here, auto better esp. got jams, manual can kill my feet boy!

ok lah, such a long mail...u all take care ah!!

naturally: me oso v confusing .. just know everything on 21 dec issit?? heheheheheh .. think if u tell ur FH, he sure go cranky liaoz!!!!!

wendy: good ... initially i wanted to scrap the dindin idea too, wanted a simple luncheon or garden party .. but everyone complained garden party .. HOT!!

Hi Yi Jie,

haha..last time i also dun understand, but now i understand liao. But can be very tiring on the body. Backache ah.. hahaha... good to play over weekend, but can't imagine playing everyday! And time actually pass very fast once u sit down for a game.

Having to attend driving lessons is a nightmare for me last time. I just simply hate it. I dun love the thrill of driving. Dun understand why guys so excited about it. I just agree on the convenience it brings. I am so glad i pass driving on my 21st birthday. That was a great great birthday gift for me! No more driving lessons, hooray! I spend a lot of money on the lesons, coz i blur until only get to pass on the 4th attempt :P

Last time my ex colleagues who have cars won't drive out during lunchtime, coz they drive until sick already.. hahaa..so they rather take carpool rather than drive their own cars out, unless not enough cars available for lunch outings like farewell lunch, etc.

Meow,
Received your email liao. Thank you! How much you pay hah? Sori if I have ask you 2nd time.

Littlerabbit,
Ok. Tks!

Akira,
OK. No problem!

Hi Serrich,
Welcome!

Twinklets,
So qiao, my xmas dinner/present xchange also fall on 13 dec.

Hi Jady,

haha..what i know is the opposite leh. Nobody supposed to sleep on new mattress till customary. On the customary day, can get some kids to roll on the bed. Those old generation who want boys will get the boys to roll on the bed lor. I think next year i get girls to roll on it coz i prefer daughters to sons! haha...

I am aiming for Simmons mattress. Now there is special offer at robinsons. But i am waiting till GSS next year to get it, where there will be a more attractive offer. Now i think a queen size mattress around $1200 and a king size around $1500. But it also depends on what type of mattress u want and how thick lor. Me have not actually taken a closer look at it.

Hi 1027,

Dun worry, i think ur elders are very clear of an chuang and guo da li.. haha.. especially guo da li

For me and hubby, we sleep on "di lam" in another bedroom. We dare not touch the master bedroom at all. The old pple always say must leave the master bedroom untouched till customary.

Depends lah, some really not so superstitious, so should be ok

meow... can... since abt 6 of us... then they can oni do 4 at a time... so a few of us need to wait lor... so it's okie to late...

okeanosmao.. i oso first time leh...i beary suaku hee... i oso short nails... from today to next friday got a week plus... dun trim nails lor... i think we cant do french mani with short nails.. oni normal mani....

sunnyling... think won't be long since we oni do mani... unless u wanna do pedi as well.. asked the lady liao... mani abt 45 mins....

and i "booked" yesterday liao... so think they'll reserve for us lah...hope so!!

welcome on board serrich!!

Shook: mayb i shld check out Alan Dai's works. Will do so next year, now very busy with reno. Trying to get it started and completed b4 CNY.

I agree that platinium rings scratches easily and white gold tarnish to yellowish. Guess we cany have the best of both ...

Any of you gals, have gone to Jln Baseh? Need to go this sat to buy kitchen sink, water storage heater and other fittings. Any shops i shld avoid or any that is good. Plse recommend.

cher... for me huh... nebber thot of it yet....

ladies... just my opinion... when choosing colour of ur EG hor... better check with ur hotel/restaurant wat's their colour theme... so wont crash!!!

amore.. its okie.. no need to do french manicure this time. normal one can liao.. never try before =P

Just asking, after the manicure, u gals want to do dinner together?

Amore, do you know what bus there is at the side of liang court and the liang court bus stop?

hi serrich..welcome

clyne... heee thank u thank u... becoz i beary eng in office mah... hehehe... better dun let my boss see this..

grace... okie with me if u all wanna go dinner together..

Buses opp Liang Court 32, 54, 195
Buses at UE Square are 32, 54, 139
Buses opp Shell House are 143, 123, 64

er there's oso a shuttle bus from city hall to UE sq... the pickup point is outside the city hall mrt.. same place where u wanna take those shuttle to go to suntec... it's FOC.. just look for a bus with a UE2 sign... got timing one... evening first bus is 1635 last bus is 1845..

if i'm not wrong got a shuttle from city hall to liang court oso but i dunno the time and the freqency.. it's a bus plus...

if possible... u all can get bus and align @ ue or shell house...and we meet there... from ue and shell house walk to mohd sultan nearer..

hello kk, i think my in-laws are ok lah. They are fully aware that my hub and i are sleeping on the master bed, but they didn't make any comments.

Hi 2003 brides,

Me oso thinking of having our ROM and customary next year.. no date fixed yet.. so need some advices..

what do we start doing 1st? we dun need to get a flat cos i'll be moving in to live with his family.. so 1 thing out..

my BF at lost of wat duties he need to do too..

Wow,the thread is realli very active. all of us are eating snakes leh.

Micky: When is ur customary date?

Naturally: That gd, i also like 21/12 so i chose it for my ROM lor.I din have the parco card so i cannot offset lor,u are rite ,can get discount.After our customary wedding,my FH said cos Dec is peak period to go holiday,so we are planning to go around mid Jan 04.Alot of places i like to go,so haven't decide yet?

Enya: ya,garden party is hot leh,later ur make up all melt liao,not nice leh.

Wendy

no... he will think I"M CRANKY, hahha!!

hey, u gals thought abt where to go for honeymoon?? Everyone seems to want to go Europe... but it's gonna be so COLD in dec! I'm thinking of perhaps NZ...

Hi Ivory,

Hmm..perhaps u could try to get a date first? U having ROM and customary together on same day or spliting them up?

Have u signed up for bridal package and source for the venue yet?

Hi 1027,

Then good! Things are so much easier when the elders are not so superstitious.

One of my friends here also doing that i think. And she mentioned that on the day of an chuang, she will simply flip the mattress over to complete the process.

we not planning for honeymoon in dec03 .. bcos school holiday, go everywhere all packed and EX!! ahahah we planning durning CNY in 04, so can escape from ANGBAO giving .. hahahah cheapo hor? ;P

we planning either europe (paris, switzerland or greece) .. or mauritius!!! ;P or mayb aust oso not bad, can drive around .. but def no package tours, so rush macham like sheep like that!!!

yeah, no garden lar, later all the old folks oso faint from heatstroke, somemore dec rainy season then lagi better, all fall sick ... ahahahahahahhahaha

haha... I dun think I need to bother with 'an chuang' anymore, cos my hub n I already moved in our appt already.
My parents oso wif us. Oso I dun think it is a custom for Cantonese, rite? I only heard my mum talk abt guo da li.

btw, ask u guys... anyone go 4 spas n stuff? R u expected to give tips to d staff there?