(2003) Brides of year 2003

haha... i think i'm really *fated* to meet you gals man, we've got so many things in common...

firstly of cos... we are all nov 2003 brides, but surprised to find hainanese too, then i'm oso 'dragon' like some of you... and best of all, me and hubby will be together for 3 yrs in feb too!!! hahahaha... so coincidental...
and yes, my hubby din propose too. we juz tok, tok, tok till we suddenly realised that with the things happenning in our lives next year, we gotta get married by our plans else we wun be able to find the right time till 2004!!!

and of coz another *major* point... i'm also addicted to this thread!!!

Hi fishball! no lah, my BD not 27 Oct either !!
It just happened to be 10:27am when i started this thread sometime back !!

hi ladies ...

hey i only away for about 2 hours, so many messages being posted ..

amore and bombom .. really thanx for your info, the website is really helpful .. i like those gowns very much .. don't konw which one to select liao .. me sua gu hor .. i hardly flip thru bridal magazines ..

leo .. hey yours rom anniversary is coming but ar mine already over leh .. me even kia su?? hehe .. hey and don't sad and envy about others, who knows mayb your hubby treats you much much more better than us ..

clyne .. oh come on ... you still young la .. nui ren (lady) san shi (thirty year-old) yi duo hua (flower), anyway you stil have long way to 30 ..

twinklets .. thanx for the info

ya .. today many ppl eat snake ...

Hello everyone,

Can I join in the chat? I'm oso a Jan 2003 bride.
What I have done so far...I hve taken my photoshoot and have spent another $3k odd on extra photos :P
I have oso sent my cards for printing... awaiting for the collection.
Planned to have my food tasting next month...
My wedding date is 19 jan and GDL is 15 Jan.
Very blurrr... seems like still have alot of things to do so wish to get some guidelines from you girls..

Hi Flowee jie,

Yah lor, the upstair neighbour never do properly. The HDB pple are coming over tomorrow to check lor. My id's man say that new flats under warranty, so should be ok lor.

Hi cherry
wow your GDL so early? Actually i'm very free in office lately so decide to start see see look look first on roast pig and other stuff. Which dialect you following? Mine is Hokkein.

Milan photo not bad la. quite like my indoor shoot. dun really like my outdoor as I went out to the beach too early at 1pm so the sun was so hot until many photos i appear frowning. regret.

Collecting the album end of the month, maybe can scan some and share with you'll.

Hi dew, I'm refering to Allure at Raffles City. Hee.. Those wih more budget can try Song and Kelly at Taka.

Hi blurzzsg
I have compiled a list of things to do. if you want I can share with you. give me your email.

Hi Fishball,

didn't get chance to chat with u last thursday.. haha.. and moreover i need to prepare for exam, so i log out fast to go revise :P

Yah, i saw Prime. Is it near the FJSquare as well? I saw one foodcourt beside it

Hahah... switch to HR? then u got to prepare to work under Doreen :P

are,
Oh, you all are so young. Dragon is 26 right?

Am I the oldest here? 29.

antz,
Lucky me not the Kiasuest one. When you ROM? ROM early, just like me because of the house key? Actually my HB did buy flower and proposed to me. But not romantic 1 lah. He didn't even dare to say the 4 words. Actually I pretend don't know why he buy flower for me but end up give in becos he wrap the bouquet himself. When I see it, I want to laugh. At least he show his sincerity. It's true, he is not romantic but he love me very much.

Hi Wenn,

My wedding is just 1 day after yours & I m 1yr younger than u.

Biodata:
FH age: 27
Length of Relationship: 9yrs +
Church ROM & Customary: 27 Sep 03 (Sat)
Banquet: Mandarin Singapore
Bridal: Silver Cloak Courture
Photography: Still sourcing

leo29... i'm dragon but oni 25.. i was born in those 'conflicting' periods lah, b4 the CNY. but not young anymore!!!

oh ya... not trying to pressurize you, but i agree with them that you shd really start looking for your venue... its really quite booked everywhere, esp the hotels, i think. all our FHs dun believe us and call us kiasu, but when they start to see their choices less and less, also scared liao!!! rite gals???

for my teochew city, i took the last sat available in nov 2003. and nov 2002 is not even over!!!
we muz be getting married in the best year of the century eh???

U r really great, had made most of the arrangement. As for me, I'm sourcing for Bridal Package. Can anyone out there recommend BP less that $4k (all in one). fyi my Love Nest is P21.

Hi Bobomagic...

Welcome to join us

Seems like dec is a good month to get married

Hi enya...

Think MM poolside will be quite nice.

for those staying in sengkang, p21, jurong west, bt panjang, can i ask u 2 questions:

1. where's u n ur FH's workplace?
2. do u own a car?

flowee n ling, what makes u choose freddy. does he has a website?

hi flowee,

a stalk of rose is sweet enuf!

long time hubby never get flowers for me liao,
last time used to send me a bouquet whenever we
quarrel.

hi kk mei,

dun let all these things affect your exam ok?
all the best!
when is it ending?

Hi Yi Jie,

Yoo.. those things won't affect my mood for exam. Hubby can gao ding everything.. kkeee.. tomorrow he is taking leave to go new house settle with HDB pple... i stay home and study

Another paper this sat. That's all

Sat is 8.30 am paper *yawn*

hi kk mei,

tatz great!
my hubby oso very good, when i'm studying, he does
all housework so that i can concentrate.

but i very bad, after exam still lazy to share the housework. hehehe

so how was your other papers?
8.30am is real early hor!
but never mind, very soon can relax liao!
last semester too?
me enjoying myself with the free time after exams!
trying to go gym at least twice every week now as
not much time away from my big day liao. hehehe

ya hor, maybe i shd drop by sengkang one of these
days to shop at compass point. hehehe

Hi cherry,

U like the lime green bustier wif organza lace addon top by Fl or the fully beaded charcoal grey wif rose embriodery fr avana?

Hi dew,

I went to avana n find their EGs not bad...on the high end but the details r much more elaborate than daniel yam or celia loe.

Hi Yi n Dew,

Wow...spend few $k on additional photos. hope i wun b spendin so much cos alrdy spend alot of gowns, dessert buffet n jewellery. anyway, i can take bac all the negatives so unlikely tat i will develop alot of photos of my weddin album...keepin my fingers crossed...haha.

another qn? hav u all decided on ur march in songs?

we'd chosen "After All" as our 1st march in n "In this life" as our 2nd.

Hi Leo29

i'm also turning 29 this year. so we two seem to be the oldest...

btw when's your wedding date? shld try to book your dinner venue asap cos' some of the popular venues are actually being booked way ahead. what's your preference, restaurant or hotel?

Are

i think teochew city is a gd choice. so far all my colleagues who hv attended wedding dinners there said that their food were good. as for myself, i've attended a promotion dinner there i think in 2001, food portion ok and yummy too.

hey bear, no inconvenience at all.. glad u got such a nice place..

me at orchid country club.. think b'coz i called up too late, only late sep then i start looking for venue, a lot of hotels taken up.. and i need more tables and most hotel take only max 30..
anyway, also love occ a lot..
also, which bridal shop u go at jb??

shir, outdoor venue not confirm yet.. they are suggesting a few places.. think will decide on the day lor..

let me have a 'peep' at u gals lovely photo too, when its ready.. ok

Hi nov brides ... very scary here ... jus within a day n the list had been so long. Having a hard time to catch up
. Really envy ur can sneak in here during daytime. Me hardly got such chances ... but still will try to come in when i'm back home ... cos addicated here oreadi

Bombom, thanx 4 creating our personal thread n the list.

Meow, thanx 4 the explanation.

Leo29, we r not going 2 renovate our hse as the condition of our hse is still v gd. Even my parents commented that no painting is required. But will at least have to wipe and clean the pl up before moving in. Think that we'll jus choose an auspicious date to move in (staying over night). Still considering shd hv any hse warming or not ... if so very broke now after paying 4 the hse n also got too many pple to invite.

Hmmm ... actually comes to think abt it ... i prefer "si dian jian"
. Hee me very realistic hoh. with $ then i can spent on some other things more realistic rather than dun bear to wear it (always think that its so ex n what if i either lost it or hv chips on it).

My FH & myself hv known each other 4 abt 10 yrs but only together 4 the last 5 yrs. Yap he did propose to me on my b-day ... but didn't surprise me cos' i oreadi expected it ... hee cos' nothing can escape my eyes. But anyway its sweet of him to put in the effort.

leo... ya.. i agree with are and novlkf22.... when i started looking for banquet venues in sept... started asking for quotes from hotel and their available saturdays in nov.. was quite shocked to know not much left... then me n hubby become quite worried as we do not required much tables... and hotel serving our required no. of tables oso not alot... so in the end compromise... take a friday one..

micky_m: yeahh .. i tot MM poolside quite nice, of cos got to assess budget ... hmm ... but c how lar... actually preferred solemnization on the same day, but cannot, bcos of the house coming!!! u wan to make ur own cards ah? no need lar, waste $$$ .. i never keep my frens' wedding cards .. hahahaha based on past experience, wedding cards are not really that impt, what matters more is good food and service!!!!!!

jbride: saw ur posting under KAI .. me sticking with 8R ... me scouting for actual day photographer, who can take nice shots of me on actual day .. ehheheheheh now thinking where are good places for outdoor shoots on that day!!!
geeez ..what if it rains?? i think me getting paranoid leh!!

march-in songs?!?!? long way to go leh ... going to let my bf think, so that can "force" him to be more involved in the preparations .. ahhahaha me notti sia!!!

anyone going for marriage preparation workshops?

Oh my god, so many things to read huh? Didn't check for a few hours only leh.

Twinklets,
My ROM is in Jan 18th. They have a wide range of gowns. As for those ROM dresses, its not places together with those actual day ones. So won't get any chance to wear them unless they allow me to choose from there instead. Hee

Anyone needs to know some brief info about gold or diamond can ask me. I used to work with Lee Hwa, so know a little knowledge. True enough, si dian jin is for Teochew. But my mum is and my dad Canton. But for my sis, her MIL gave her gold leh. Think got bracelet and other items lor.

I'm with my FH for 4yrs plus. He didn't even propose to me yet. But he bought a diamond ring for me. One that i choose with a GIA cert and a design i like. Waiting for him to propose. He only start to panick when one of his frieds(same age as him) said that he's getting marry. Some more his friend only know this girl less than a yr. My FH is 7yrs older than me, but i know he dotes me alot.
He also very shy and quiet. but he's cute to me. He dun look like a 31yrs old. Maybe when i have my ROM photo, i show to everyone.

I've sent a new list to everyone with Leo29 included and some other updates. Do check again and let me know if something is not right.

Hi Meow,
It's good to have a husband so much older. Mine is only 1 year older, infact just a few months only. But he's mature and responsible lor...

I will be finishing my renovation of my flat early next year and we have plans to stay over the weekends. But But... I dun know how to tell my mum! She is the typical conservative woman!
I really wish to have er ren shi jie with my hubby before baby planning... Any advise?
I dun even stay at my hubby house at all now...

Bonjour mademoiselles!!

Jojok: wow, wat a long relationship u've got! me only frens w FH for 2 years before we go steady a year ago... how's silver cloak couture service & package?

AA: me staying @ tampines now. used to have a car. FH & I work in the same company. office @ city hall. so, we use the mrt more now...

Shook: will try to see your pics using my friends pc this weekend when i pop over to her place. see can or not. let's hope can lah. everyone can see but i cannot, no fun lah.

Pausini: nevermind lor. at least you go what you want right. you went to melandas warehouse at Sg Kadut huh? got good deal? think i will have to pay those warehouses at Sg Kadut a visit soon. you think worth a visit?

May: it's ok, i will check it out later. tv not so critical for me since i can make do with my 14 inch first. plus can help lighten my cash flow.

1027, ya went to perth for a wk for holiday then to KL to work.
where's yr banquet agn? now also start to source for gd & affordable contractor/ID.

kk, think i've asked for yr quotation in Home & decor thread but no reply fr u leh.(provided u r the same kk or u r Helen?)

new flat in Sembawang.anyone there?

Serene & all :gathering-prefer wkday dinner. u gals?
wat abt 3rd dec? who's in? any other dates?

Hi Jady!

You're a lucky girl to go travelling !!
I'm going to be deprived of long holidays coz we're so broke after doing up the house. Aiyoh ... it'll be a long wait till the honeymoon!

My banquet is at Swissotel (Westin).

Sorry, i can't promise my attendance at the outing. End of the year is my peak period in the office, and my hours can get v unpredictable. So you girls go ahead. Maybe nearer the date, when everything is confirmed, then you can post the location of the gathering here. If i can make it, i'll go!
BTW, thanks so much for arranging Jady!

hi vodka,

I have a total of 52 photos in 44 pages in my album so i spent an additional of S$2.2k on the extra photos and upgrading of portrait to 3 pixs. To me consider alot liao, dun wanna spend anymore.

as for march-in songs, hubby and i have chosen "I Finally Found Someone" as 1st march-in, "Everyday I Love U" or "In This Life" as the 2nd march-in and "Only Time" for champagne pouring.

seems like a lot of us are looking ard for dresses! hehehe

Gals, finally bought the cupboard from Lami International. That's the best match I can find for my house. My fren assured that their service is good. I'm hoping and crossing my fingers on that too...

Anyway, for Barang Barang, the best part was before all this delivery started, there was some squabble with two sales guy 'cos there seems to be a conflict to them for attending to us. So I think, the other sales guy was not happy, and kept staring at us when we were making our payment. That was the last time I entered Barang Barang. *sigh*

Pausini, yes, me stay in Bedok too!
I stayed at Bedok North Ave 3, near the temple. Which part do you stay in?

Jan, how about trying POSB or May bank? I think for POSB, the mastercard is free for 3 years, and if you use your card for a certain number of times, your next subscription will be waived. For May bank, I heard that the first year is free, then if you use the card for 18 transactions (regardless of the amount) per year, your next year is free...

Here's the compilation of bridal shops that I've gathered for the brides at this forum...

May - Jawn Happy Ever After
Pausini - ???
Shook - White Link
Jan - X-Zen
Vin - Julia Wedding Collections
Sue - ???
Maya - ???
Jazz - Flamingo

Let me know if I've missed out anybody. Feel free to add anything in too.

leo... i look at ur particulars... not sure are u someone I noe leh... beary familiar...

meow... really thank u from compiling the list.... think maybe ur sister's MIL a teochew...

sweetie... think my mum will be like dat oso... occasionally i'll go to my bf place to stay over the weekends.. dat time not ROM yet... my mum say "Gal go guyz there to stay not beary nice.".. she did not scold lah... just say oni.. think best is to respect ur mum lor... u have to "ren" lor... still can have ur er ren si jie after ur customary mah?... or u test water first... keh keh ask her...??

wah... most of u getting ur keys liao... me still waiting leh.... hai ya must wait until next yr june...

hi enya...

It will depends on your bugdet,MM poolside will be nice, but anyway it just a ROM, why not save that $ for the actual day?

Actually ROM on the same day it might be very tiring and rushing and need to control the timing also.

Think most people ROM 1st due to the house. I also same case here..

I will use back the card since most people said its a waste of $$$.

Jan: Their warehouse is really nothing. I travel all the way from Bedok to Boon lay and i got nothing back. No really worth a visit. Unless u want to get things from novena. Their warehouse is there too. really nothing.

Jazz: I live at Bedok North Ave 1. Opp the road is the famous Shing Song supper Market.

I got my wedding package at Jazreel Low collection. I like the service and they are nice pple i can bargain with. Everything also can and give.

morning gals
11477.gif
!

It is Wednesday .. 2 more days will be friday ..
& will be Nov 15 brides countdown for tat day! kaka..

Whether our FHs are romantic or not romantic, bottomline is whether they luvs us truely or not, tat's the most important part.

Think one of the sweetest moments is having our FH gives us something which he personally makes for us. Even the gift is a simple thing, but we'll be touched deep down in our heart.

Thanks Meow! have recx the list, will print out & put on my notice board here..
.. 'cos dun want to keep askin' repetitve ques.. pai say mah ..

Sweetie,
Tat's great! Think u must be very excited hor?! hee.. Understand that you've already ROM this year june rite?
Just tell your mum how u feel .. ? Put it nicely, think your mum will understand 1.

So wat's ur plan for baby planning? As for myself, I think give ourselves 2 yrs er ren shi jie .. dun want to comit to start a family so soon. Psychologically & physically still not prepared yet. Furthermore, i intend to slim down for my big day .. i dun want so fast to balloon out after my tons of efforts.

Ok .. tat's for all now. Going to work now.. later!
11478.gif

twink|ets ~

Thanks for the warning on the banquet issue. Ya, me also kan chiong but those hotel that I went so far, I don't really feel comfortable with. Today will go Hyatt and Inter-continental. Hope can settle with either one. Ya lor, my hubby fault also, say no need kan chiong so we start looking for date only last mth. I tot 1 year is more then enough who know 11/2 is the right period.

are,
Ai yah, 25 still not young ah. When u touch 30 then you know what is not young.
Actually 25/26 is my ideal age to marry but me and my hubby is workaholic so delay until now.

novlkf22,
Really..... At least now I'm not the odd one out.
My wedding Nov 23.

littlerabbit,
If this is the case, find an auspicious to open door and move in. Yah stay 1 nite will do, you also know hah. I do that also. I also never do hse warming, very Lei chye lah.

Meow,
I think propose or not is not really an issue. Most important is that they must love and doted us. This are more important right? I heard older
(Age gap bigger not saying your husband old) husband tend to take care of their wife as compare to those that age gap is not to far apart. How you know him?

Will be glad if you can show us your ROM photos.
Thanks for the updated list.

Sweetie,
You ROM already? Can tell your parent, ROM by law is consider husband and wife already. Basicall customary is just to inform your relatives and friends that you are married. Me also stay over at wkend only. Very wasted lei.

Never stay over at your hubby place..... You are such a good gal. Can I

Pheow..... finally finish my long essay, hahaha.....

good morning!

welcome to our thread blurzzzsg!!

daffy,dew,blurzzzsg,jen,hong.....please send your wedding detials to my email address leh....

Yi - i think Celia dresses are quite sweet for their day dress, you can check it out. Wow, bday dress huh, can buy more expensive ones mah...like the BCBG ones, very nice range now....

daffy - yup, GDL is more than a month earlier coz i wanted a weekend and my FIL gives me this date so i just take it lor, don't want to risk him giving me a weekday, i've got not much leaves already....can you send me the list of things to do as well? thanks!

Vodka - i like the lime green bustier with organza....very sweet and unique....i don't intend to spend so much on the photos (cross me fingers)...coz i'm getting back all my negatives and proofs...so i guess probably spend ard $1200 extra?? budget budget.....

as for the songs, i've only chosen Only Time so far as my 1st march in...hmm....don't know yet lah....champagne pouring also need to choose songs one meh

Hi Bluebonnet,

Avana has 2 outlets, one is at Shaw Centre (where Lido is) on level 1, opposite Macdonalds, the other is located at Great World City but don't know which level.

My wedding pkg is with Christian Creation. Yes, that infamous place!

I went to Nan Wah warehse over the weekend. They got quite a good lot of stuff at very low prices. They are having another clearance sale this weekend. You ladies might want to check it out. Basins were as low as $39, toilet bowls - $129, shower sets+mixer - pkg deal abt $180.

But I was told that the clearance sale is for those rejected items (by previous customers) and have no after sales service. Prices for these are very low. Those under the normal warehse sale, there will be after sales services provided. Prices I quote above is for the normal warehse sale. Only drawback is that the place quite far, at Changi, near Simei MRT.

Went to Hoe Kee too. Prices there are quite cheap too, esp for kitchen/bathroom accessories.

Hi Jady,

No wonder find u familiar.. kekeke... so i guess might be the same person but since most of the time i am a bit sotong, i scared i make mistake so i didn't ask u whether u are that jady :P

Hi Yi Jie,

Now hor, i dun even mop the floor already.. ahhaah... i lazy :P Last weekend i even lazy to wash the toilet floors which is my "responsibility" actually :P

i have only 2 papers. Another one this sat lor.
8.30 am not the issue. But the paper is scheduled to be held in an ulu ulu place where we never went before.. hahaa.. so everyone was asking where is the exam hall :P So i guess i have to be very early to search for the place.

I have one more semester to go next year till apr :P

Yes, after exam, i have more time too! Thinking of what to do.. kekee.. maybe start to get lobang for next semester notes and then can at least read a bit :P