(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi gals...

I feel like signing with crown prince... due to it can hold min 25 tables, location and also the
promotion they are having now.
The promotion end today!! so i got to make the
decision today!!! Do you have any advise???
The table cost $728 nett for 9 course dish, 20litres of beer and 10 bottles of red wine, free cockage for hard liq., all chair covers, 80% confirm guest wedding cards, only 25 tickets of parking, free use of deluxe room for co-ordinators(friends) form 2pm-6pm, 1 night stay in bridal suite with american breakfast, food tasting for 6 person for 6 dishes(but can choose to add $150 for 10 person and 9dishes)

But under promotion :

$1,000 off the total bill... that makes each table
$688 nett if based on 25 tables
Free cockage for red wine
Additional night stay at bridal suite with breakfast
Complimentary room service pre-dinner snacks prior
to the Wedding Banquet.

My hubby and i think of trading off 10 bottles of
red wine and deluxe usage from 2pm to 6pm for
another 20 litres of beer... since the corkage charge for red wine during promotion is free.
Please help me to think anyother thing can be neg??
Really need some advide... hope u gals can help me......

beibei,
ur photos are hot leh ... so mani ppl wan to see ... ;p

well, i guess tts the risk of MTM gowns lah ... keep ur fingers x for tt ...

hi bijou & flowee... have you guys started designes on gowns yet?

acutally thot of meeting up amanda lee, but in the end, thot give it a miss then, met up with many other bridal designers, but in the end decided with FL cos of his 'dramatic' design styles...hee

hi flowee

Wishing u a happy birthday first.... tmr not working so got no pc to access the forum.

mmmm..... rose... must be secret admirer...

hi kk mei,

ya lor, agree with floweee as long never disturb u can liao.

cheer up!

hi flowee,

i oso date mike on 26th liao so 27th itz his calling. hehehe
he say buy pyjamas, i say dun want liao but i oso dun know what i want.
BTW, wish u a HAPPY 26TH BIRTHDAY in advance.

hi cherry,

hokkein no si dian jin meh? my fren all have leh!
i'm a teochew so by right should have lah i think.
mil want to get something that i wld wear and i
think i wld get white gold coz i dun wear yellow.
my mil is quite an easy person and hubby only son mah!

dun worry and be happy!

Hi Yi,

yup, that's what i heard also, only have a pair of gold bracelets....haha my hubby's the eldest leh....has a younger brother but already married...

gals,
Enjoy your weekend!!

Amore,
I agree with you. We park at Cairnhill carpark too on weekends if we go to taka area. At least per entry is only $2 after 5pm.

Twinklets,
My ROM is on Jan 18th 03(sat) sure kanna the 5% GST increse. Think the goodwood park offer ending soon leh.

My PIL doesn't like the food at Dragon Pearl, that's why didn't chose that restaurant for our banquet. But never try their dim sum. Maybe it taste better hor? Anyone going to try that out? My FH bringing me to New Otani Hotel to reccee that place. Think he mention the food not bad and near ROM centre. May try it out tomorrow. If i did try, will let all of you know whether good or not.

Hi Yi Jie,

Ask ur hubby get something for the house which u can use or admire.. then it is the best birthday present for u :P

Hi Flowee jie,

Happy Birthday! Didn't wish them few days ago coz i can't exactly remember when is ur birthday:P

Remember that time when i mistaken my customary to be in nov, u told me i can celebrate anniversary and ur birthday as well? haha.. so somehow i recall ur birthday in nov.

My friends a lot birthday in Nov. One of my bfs even sms me ask me where is his birthday card coz i send cards to them every year. They very "not friend" wan, i send to them, they never send me.. hahaa.. anyway, i told him me so busy. I still owe 3-4 pple birthday cards since early Oct :P

hi kk mei,

but i oso dun koe what to get for the house leh!
my love nest like everything have liao.
any recommendations?

hi cherry,

think tat was the case b4 but now like all brides
have leh! anyway, never mind lah just respect the
elders, have have lor, dun have dun have lor rite?
just stay happy for our BIG Day!

Enjoy your weekend!

hi Yi,

ya lor, lucky my hubby not that stingy....he recently bought a diamond ring for me to make up for not proposing 2 yrs ago...haha

Yah, you are all right. i didn't a flat. i am moving into my fiance's place. don't feel welcome. stuck in the middle. the parents and siblings don't seem to want to move their stuff of out of the room for reno. all talk but no action for months already. now they use my fiance's room as part store room too because he is single and house got no space lor! sick and tired of asking when they will be moving the stuff out. talk, talk and talk but no action at all. i feel sandwhich because on one hand, not my house, i have no right to demand for anything. on the other hand, i want them to move the stuff so that i can plan and do my stuff. with all their delays, i also sian. no more interest in this whole affair lor. kill my enthusiam lor.

Hi Mickey,

It may not be very wise to be pressurised by the promo due date... wat if u regret later on???

If u're still interested, i'm sure they can hold the date for u for a while more, say something like hubby is overseas? Or parents are overseas, and u want to get their opinion first out of respect?? Or some other good excuse lor... let them know pressure tactics won't work on u, if they can't extend the offer, too bad lor, your hubby actually prefers another hotel, but because u're attracted by the price offer, u managed to convinced him otherwise... ask the coordinator please please ask his manager for an extension!

hehe, hope this will be useful, of cos if u really like crown prince, and u don't need to compare further, then ignore me!

But being the perfectionist brides-to-be that we all are, haha, perhaps u might want to compare around first before deciding??

Hi beibei

Saw your photo thanks for showing...guess what me also at bridal zone and mm...such a coincidence...
Anyway glad they fulfilled your dreams...me haven't even gone down to select...they say oth first if cannot find then mtm...

hi naturally....

Really thanks for your comment... but truely i like crown prince and it can meet my budget and tables limitation..

Hahaha think we r all trying to be a perfectionist brides-to-be...thats why we are in this forum

hi micky_m,

agree with naturally....actually i delayed my payment to the hotel bcos we haven't got our citibank credit card. my FH told the coordinator that he's on overseas assignment and will be back only a week later..

think it's ok to tell white lies sometimes..

try to bargain for more stuff like the deluxe room, ask if can change to voucher for other day stay instead; waiver of corkage for champaign (if u gonna have any); more parkings if most of your guests are driving etc etc....

pai seh
....sounds like i very "yeow kwee" but can always try to ask for more things if u gonna spend that kind of $$

hi.. piper...

Actually telling white lies its ok if we could get more perks for benefit

Hi all gals..

Want to check out whether u gals know where got cheap rental of projector? cos the crown prince dont actually have free usage got to rent it at $350+++.... u gals got to use projector for free?

Any of u actually hear of this.. cannot attend other peoples wedding 4 months pior to your own wedding and after 4 months too.

Hi kk,
I guess MOE just want all the teachers to be trained first before sending to school. If I were you, I will prefer to go to NIE. You don't have lesson everyday and the timing is quite flexible. Now if you go in, try to get to know the senior( July batch), they can be a great help.
At my time, most of us are in July batch. I guess the intake increase now and so they have 2 intakes. sometime, they are just so inefficient.

Thanks for your suggestion!
Actually, still don't have to urge to start coz my hubby is just so simply bochap!

the b4 & after thingy hor...got alot of versions...

my mum tell me 3 mths b4 & after, my MIL tells me is 2 mths after....then my colleague tell me is 4mths b4 & after!

think better check with ur old folks to see which one they want to follow, if not they "pan tang" and get angry with u. no point right?

Hi Jan,
one trick but i dun know does it work. As ur contractor to come and see (u have not) or see again.

Then let them heard when the contractor is start doing his job. as loud as possible, if they still dun want to shift then no choice till the day the contractor came down to reno u room they would have to shift they items.

I mean that is the worst case if u in-law side still no willing to shift their items out. Of course, inform them upfront that someone is doing something in the room at which date and request your FH's sibling to get the items out of the room. U dun want to be responsible for it.

Hi Lorraine,

I got the letter that told me to go for the NIE jan intake. But i can't coz i have ongoing part time masters course. Cannot concurrent study NIE and take part time course at the same time for sure rite? I can't abandon my masters course coz i will have graduated in apr 03. I wouldn't want my 2 yr efforts and money gone to waste. So the only way is to ask them to defer my NIE intake to July 03 lor. I asked the personnel to check it out for me today but the one i spoke to previously was always MIA when i tried to look for her. So guess got to wait for her to be back next week.

My hubby also very bochap about wedding preparations wan. So we have to have the urge and push them. If not end up all last minute work :P

Hi Yi Jie,

wow, u asked me such a tough question. haha.. hmm..i also not sure what u can ask from ur hubby. keke.. what about small tv set for the master bedroom? u have already? Or more practical, tell him to give u money enough to do weeks of marketing. hahaa..

i heard it's 3mths b4 and after, and u cannot even receive and send out wedding invitations to these ppl as well!!

Ya Piper....my colleague was also advising me that if the old folks dun like it....better dun go against them....else next time got any problem, they may just start to put the blame on us.....

Hi all and pausini,

thanks for the advice. tried that already. no use one. they know the exact date months ago but so what?
i am tired of worrying and being sandwhich already. if my fiance wants to talk, then let him go and talk all he wants. at the end of the day, when the contractor comes and no room to reno then too bad lor. my fiance won't be around, i won't be too. so if they don't want to clear, no room, no reno, no wedding i guess. simple. as for the sibling stuff, they can keep all the stuff since no need to renovate. fed-up with the situation already. think i need a break from work and everything. sigh. you all have good weekend.

Yah lor. That's why I don't even dare to go to my good friend's wedding next year. Scarly got anything problem, both of us kena blamed.

Mi wedding in Oct.. Just wondering what have you people done so far? I have finalised hotel, now into bridal packages. In the meantime an what other preparation required?

Any advise appreciated

Hihi Jan
U may like to look 4 re-sale flat which is fully furnished n new, I mean the owner doesn't stay in there. My neighbour got a re-sale flat whereby the owner stayed wif the in-law n left the flat unoccupied. When it reaches 5 yrs, the owner juz sold off wif the funiture. So all my neighbour got to do is to move her belongings. Try look 4 flat which is 5 yrs old.

Hi kk,
Don't worry too much. You can call a few of them. I am sure one of them can help you. If still useless, look for the highest authority.
Forgot to tell you, my new place is in Yishun.

Beibei,
Nice gown
makes you looks very princessy and dreamy
hehehe

your designer really did well !! anymore pics? EG done ?

Hi cherry,

hubby oso bought a diamond early tis yr 2 make up for not havin 1 when we ROMed....he just got the stone n then brought me 2 jewellery shop 2 set it into a ring, so totful of him.

by rite, teochew brides hav the 'right' 2 request 4 si dian jin. But nowadays alot of pp 'practice' si dian jin, it's like a gift fr hubby or ILs to bride. But i oso noe many who doesnt hav si dian jin so it really depends on individual f'lies.

Hubby got me si dian jin for GDL even though i'm foochow n he hokkien. both mum n ILs feel tat i can do wout the dragon/phoenix bangle cos it's not practical. Mum suggested hubby 2 replace the bangles wif sth tat i can wear after weddin. my parents oso let me decide watever jewellery i wan2 buy as dowry...hehe...so now got 2 sets.

Hi Yi,

Gotta wait 2-3 wks b4 i get 2 c my fotos. BTW, who's ur photographer?

Hi Lorraine,

Is urs a new flat? U stayed in Yishun previously too? Moved in already? Me kaypo hor? kekeke..

Hi HF,

Welcome to this thread!

I think most of us here have booked package and dinner venue. For me, i have done both. I booked my package from Wedding Affairs (previously Fame Bridal) and dinner venue at Qianxi (Farrer Park). What about urs?

Now see see look look. May be going to try gown in Jan coz preparing for photoshoot in June.

my cousin getting married in Oct

my colleague & my FH's cousin getting married in Nov...so we can't attend all the three weddings lor.

this kind of thing better follow what the old folks say to play safe...dunno if they will forbid me to see my FH the day b4 the wedding or not??

Hi, I think Sep03 brides thread is v. quiet.

Just checking, how old are all of u?

I'm 26 for coming to 1 month.

leo...just came back from the dinner in merchant court... the food was good... and nice ballroom.... my fren actually choose a saturday menu though it's a friday nite....

ladies ... it's oredi nov'02 .. meaning next year at this time, we will be really excited, for all the last minute preparations!!!!!! 1 year more to go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Haha....yalor....imagine 1 year ago same time....I was busy preparing for my ROM stuff
...n time flies fast...

Enya: So glad for u...I think a poolside wedding is quite different n unique

Like to seek u gals opinion....whether u wld also be engaging a videographer for the actual day?

Hi dear all,

Seems quite a number of u oreadi planning way ahead 4 ur ROM.

Have a suggestion for ur that is 'Tea House' (if I didn't get the name wrong) in Chinatown, the one next to Chinatown Market. It serves tim sum all day. But dunno whether still got promotion.

By the way, have ur start sourcing 4 the actual day photographer?

Hi Meow,

Dun seems to receive the list u mention? Can forward a copy 2 me oso. Thanx.