(2003) Brides of year 2003

yes, my name is shirley.... getting hitched on 23 march at holiday inn park view

hmmm, i came back from indoor ps last week, got to go back again as i only managed to do 2 our of 8 outfits

hi ladies ..

i agree with meow .. ask for si dian juan as we hardly wear gold nowadays ... hehe ..

meow .. you must have received the four juans right?! ..

hi mickey_m,

the hotel only provide 1 type or 2? for my case, the white color cards is ugly, so i think i'll be getting all the red ones. besides, dun have to worry abt how many white & how many red.

if u have a budget, then print ur own cards. but no point spending so much on the cards. experience tells me that nobody will keep all these cards for remembrance except the couple themselves.

just my opinion though...

Hi HF, no no 1027 doesn't mean my banquet is on 27Oct. Quite close actually .... its on 04 Oct 03. Hmmm ... maybe i should change my nick eh ?

HI Jady! Haven't heard from you for a long long time! On holiday somewhere?

hi kk mei,

me quite some time never go shopping liao coz these few days started to go gym to work out so as to tone up for my wedding.

hubby keep asking what i want but i really dun koe leh. maybe just get a dress etc.

hi flowee,

great that u enjoy your birthday celebration with max.
i just love it when itz my birthday, just felt special that particular day. hehehe

went gym again yesterday and maybe going again this thursday.

Morning everybody!!!

me sooooo happy! cause chin leng changed the heading of our thread!!!
now it's really OUR thread!!!

NOVEMBER BRIDES ALL THE WAY!!!
11402.gif

Hihi Jan
U mean ur company's pc blocked u fm going into the link?? Do u access to Singaporebrides.com using ur company's pc?

hi daffy,

welcome to this thread!

hi dew,

I oso spent an additional S$2.2k on additional photos plus upgrading of portrait.
to me, itz alot too but hubby says okay coz he likes those pixs.

hi jen,

maybe u can try daniel yam, CK tangs etc and look ard. me oso might be hunting for another dressas backup teadress too although studio provides 1 OTR.

wow, all of u printing invitation cards and food-tasting liao ah? i got my cards from MC liao but haven't send for printing yet and food-tasting is next month.

hubby and i really dun know what else is to be done.

for cakes, can try prima deli, quite nice cakes.

sweetie... huh thot u and ur hubby need to be there?... coz they are talking abt both of ur wedding mah???

meow... went there for a normal dinner...ard Apr i think... quite like the ballroom... heard they have 2 ballroom?... i went to the one on the second floor... need to use the lift or spiral stairs to go up...

ya it's quite true... be abit direct leh.. he/she not scare that they scare u away... coz to me wat we will scare of is changing hands of banquet mgr and bridal owner etc... will be beary messy when this kinda things happen... dunno the previous contact u signed or agreement still stand anot when this things happen...

my fren just told me of a bridal shop her cousin went to... change owner and nobody inform her.... but lucky the new owner honour the previous contract... and gave her more photos....

meow... hehe... ya shld ask for diamonds.... but dunno will my MIL bring me along ti choose my si dian jin leh....

bombom... thanks!!... hehehe finally a thread subject that belongs to us!!!...

Jazz: Barang Barang is terrible.

Me friend recently bought a dinning table from Novena and the salesperson quoted her S$ 400 for a glass table and 4 chairs. Reasonable hor... then after they confirmed the order and pay. The salesperson a called up a few days later and said that he made a mistake. Only the dinning table is S$ 400, the 4 chairs cost S$ 150 each. So it should be S$ 1000 for the set. Can u gals believe it? The invoice was already written and payment made - how can he make such a mistake. He still could beg my friends to be understanding coz if not he will have to pay the diff S$ 600 out of his own pocket. The sales manager even called and explain that the guy is new that was why made such a big mistake. My friend hubby got so angry and told them off that he only got budget to pay another S$ 150 for the whole thing, either they take this S$ 150 and deliver or refund them the full payment. Otherwise he will go to the media with the story. So the sales manager no choice agree and asked them to pay the S$ 150 to the delivery man when he delivers the dining set. On the day, when the set was delivered, the delivery man did not even asked for the S$ 150 cash. My friend also kept quiet. hee...it has been a month...no call from Novena (touch wood).
Why is it our furniture industry sucks so bad - service and designs. I feel that there is not much to choose from.

Jan: Go apply for the Citibank Clear Card - first year subscription is free - and if you accumulated S$ 7500 expenditure in a year - can get free renewal. This is the credit card that i have from citibank. Free what so apply lor. Some more got quite a few good benefits.
Plus, you can use this credit card to settle your dinner cost. Just call the bank and asked them to increase your credit limit. This way you definitely can get free renewal next year.
So no worries..ok...

Shook: I also want to see you ROM pictures. Email me at [email protected]

morning gals!!

yes yes! i juz realize today when i look for our nov/dec threads!

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">NOV BRIDES WAN SHUI!!!</FONT>
11405.gif

Geeee... i dunno nowadays got "4 dian juan" 1 ..
i like .. i like ..
11406.gif

Ehh .. nowadays still got 'ti xing" 1 hah? i tot we already prepare everything liao, still need hah?? or issit together wif the dowry session? Ms blur here...

Lil' Rabbit,
FH is keen on preparation, juz tat everything i gotta kickstart 1st lor, if not everything will be dragging slowly slowly slowly...
11407.gif

cheers!!

twink|ets ~

Hi Yi Jie,

hmm...good idea to get dress. Now the shopping outlets are already displaying their christmas fashion

Hi Flowee Jie,

So how's cleaning up thus far?

u r right, feel the pinch lesser now after so many days. the more comforting thing is i got back all sample photos too. alwys heard that ppl do spend a lot on photos like 2-3K, but yet to really verify.

Seems like at least Yi, Jen, Cherry are aso looking for dresses or EG. actually i'm considering whether to buy my dress after Christmas --post-christmas sale!!

i jus went to Daniel yam at wisma, scotts and taka to research, some new stuff, but i think most are older designs (hmmmm...remember some designs fr long ago..) should have more nearer Dec. i think it's one of the more affordable brands, but simple and classic design. will be going to celia loe, will let ya know my findings again.

Hi HF,

which part of sengkang are u staying in? Interested to join another thread on sengkang? U can search for it in the forum. It is still very active

Nov Brides,

Si Dian Juan, difficult lah unless your MIL really dot you so much and willing to invest so much on you, :P. Alternative way is to ask for White Gold, many of my friends go for White gold, the 'gold' refer to Jin also.

Will you all choose the Si Dian Jin yourself? So envy my frds, their MIL just give them an amount and ask them to buy the Si Dian Jin themself. Good hor, at least can choose the design they want.

Hai....... me not so lucky lor, I think my MIL already bought the Shi Dian Jin long long time ago. By now design should be outdated already. Pray hard that she used it on her own because it's quite sometime already.

littlerabbit,

Are you going to do renovation for your hse? Becos opening and moving in all got procedure to follow one lei.

Antz,

I think your FH should follow. Ummmmm, I better check.

Meow,

I will email my particular to you by today.

welcome daffy!! your wedding date is just one day b4 mine! wow, you are so fast, my food tasting will only be next month! and everything else next month also.....when's yur GDL?? i think for your attendance, don't worry.....just confirm the no. of tables nearer to the actual day like 2 or 1 week in advance after you do your RSVP.

dew - i found one Yen's dress at CK Tang, thgt if i go to the boutique more variety mah....my hubby thinks that Celia Loe dresses are not worth the money since it's plain and normal.

Yi - if you really feel uncomfortable with your bridal shop's tea dress, get one yourself...you wouldn't want to regret on your day rite??

As for cakes, haven source yet so don't know but i know Prima Deli ones are nice but more expensive...i think $8 per box of those 10 pcs ones.

gals,

I think we shld compile a list for our thread so we'll remember each other wedding date more accurately....so please send me your particulars as follow to [email protected]

1) Nick
2) Real Name
3) Wedding Date
4) GDL date
5) Venue
6) Bridal Shop
7) Love nest
8) DOB
9) ROM date
and whatever you want to reveal for eg. your HP no.??

Amore,
there's actually 3 ballroom but open up to be a big one. Mine will be like that. It's actually the 3rd floor, think you forgotten liao. And yes, need to take a lift up. Jus know that e assistant manager i always talk to now pregnant, but will be due soon. So won't affect me much. Well at least she's direct and true mah.

Hmmmm.... Si dian zuan for me is impossible. I dun wear earrings. My left ear is slightly higher than the right one so will look awkward. Maybe the bracelet, chocker and ring lor, do ask for tennis bracelet hor. One whole stretch of diamonds ones.

Yap i realise the change to. Think one of our girl ask Chin Leng to do it. Is it bombom?

Twinklets,
i think now no more ti ching liao. Parents of both side jus sit and talk about us i guess..

Hi Jazz,

U have quite a lot of experiences to share. Thanks! infact, I have start introducing my FH to read the posting in the forum and he enjoy reading it too.

I have a friend working in Barang Barang as an interior desinger. May be i can feedback to him on this matter.

Mattress is a good buy but the sale lady called my FH that the warehouse do not have the stock we wanted and she is still checking for us. SO waiting for her reply.

I live in Bedok, are u too?

Got a bed finally, at Melandas. Hope the after service gonna be good else i am those kind that will compliant the sale person upside down. Sound crude. oops!

Jan,
U can always try to apply citibank cos they really have alot of offer at many places or UOB or POSB, DBS bank which offered interest fee installament at major shops. Sometime small shops also have. Well, u dun have to worry for the subscription. U can always call them to ask them to wavie off. They are willing to, cos losing customer is easiler than gaining one.

I just signed up my wedding package on weekend.
I got three items down from my list. Now still left Coffee table, Tv Console, TV, Home theatre set and i am almost done.

Anyone getting married on 3rd May?

Shir

I have 8 outfits to do but the make up took 2 hrs////, got to go back again
my outdoor wld be in jan/Feb , waiting for moonsoon to be over before i head to Batu Raya. I changed from Tioman to there

hee hee, i not in sengkang.... my hse in woodlands, i m living with hubby now at bukit merah

Pausini: Which bridal did you choose.
Speaking of TV, do you know there is a very good deal for Samsung's TVs tied up with UOB credit cards? If you buy a 29" TV and use UOB to pay instalment. UOB will absorb 2 months of the instalment and if you buy TV bigger than 29" like 34" Flatscreen TV (that one i eyeing on) or the 43" projection TV. You pay only 9 months instalment, UOB absorbs 3 months which is worth about S$ 600 and above. You need to go down to Samsung Office opp. IMM to buy the TV. It is not avilable at dealers. And the TV must be delivered by first week of Jan.

hi all... guess wat... i'm also a pure hainanese!! ;P hahaha... me will also be having the suckling pig, and some canned pig trotters.

i dun know if this is good or bad, but for my side, my sis already got married, so will prob follow wat my parents asked for then. as for my hubby side, his bro got married last yr, so will prob also follow wat my MIL did for her DIL. so that leaves me with not much headache (or rather choice?)

Hi May,

I am getting Jazreel Low for my wedding packages.

My FH doesnt like Samsung TV so no choice. BTW, how much is the flatscreen TV.

I just went to IMM during the weekend. Very far for me leh.

Hi dew
I can't find the thread about banquet attendance. can help?

Hi cherry
my GDL on 5 Jan 03. yours? Going to buy the stuff next month. Next month will meet up with banquet manager to decide on flowers, decor and other logistic. I very Kan Cheong one always call and bother him;)

Hi Yi
yup also heard about Prima Deli. still going around comparing prices.

Anyone going to order roast pig for wedding day/ So far the cheapest quote that i've gotten is 15kg for $238 with delivery. Wonder if there's any more cheaper ones.

Jen- for EG dress, can try this shop (can't remember name now) besides CK boutique at Raffles City. Also there are a few shops at Capitol. Or you can look out for any sales from bridal studio. Actually, I'm worried about getting my EG too. Mine is OTR package from Milan and a lot of people said Milan don't have many nice EG. Going for my first selection end of this month.

Hi Ram,

Apologised for not replying to you and missing out in this thread. How's things been for you?
Yeap! Really good to find someone in the 'same boat', we can share and give each other moral support along with the rest of the Mar brides.

I missed out reading your replied on the mattress and purchased mine just last weekend. I went down to S'pore Expo &uml;C Gracious Living Exhibition. Actually, just got to know the exhibition thru the website..thought of taking a look only. Was caught in dilemma..deciding between Kingcoil and Dunnlop...In the end, decided on Kingcoil. There wasn't any exhibit on simmons mattress, and only heard from my friend that it is a good brand but expensive. Didn't expect it to be so pricy.
Is box spring divan better? Really so 'green' with all these... I didn't choose the box spring divan. Instead, purchased the entire set of mattress together with the headboard, comes with free pillow, mattress protector. Cost $2300. Hopefully, it's not too pricy and value for money.

Do you have the address for furniture mall? Do they sell dressing table? I am hoping to find one. Went down Ikea over the weekend, but too many people...not easy to check out things.

Oh..Hyatt don't provide free food tasting. I heard that they don't have a kitchen of their own for Chinese banquet, they subcontract, hence probably that's why you need to pay for your food tasting. So, will you go for it? Tough choice, not cheap at $380+++.

I haven't taken my pixs yet. So, yours in late Nov won't be too late.
Have you decide on which place for your outdoor shoot?

hi daffy,

my GDL's on 15th Dec, wow you are so onz ah! doing everything so early....already source the roast pig for actual day!!!!!! haha...i think i can only advice you IF my mother wants roast pig and i'll let you know once my mum give me a list of things to buy....

Any photos to show us?? Heard that Milan's photos are nice.

I haven done anything for my GDL, don't really know what to expect yet....i'm just concentrating on my photoshoot next week...

As for your EG, you can go and select 1st and if you really don't like, you can go and buy rite?? Don't have to be so gan cheong.....maybe you'll find something that you like and suits you very much leh...

hi hi ..

hi clyne .. me too, i think my hubby is paying for the si dian jin/juan, as his mum not working and dad passed away few years ago .. also my money hor .. but la but .. the juan is very attractive leh ..

hi leo29 .. don't know whether my hubby will buy juan for me but i told him i like juan lor
.. if really no juan, then get white gold lo ..

meow .. i like tennis bracelet toooooooo .. but ex leh, average cost about 5k for 50-60 small diamonds .. price of course is b4 discount ..

Shook: Yes, one big pop out screen saying that access denied. so irritating. but i can access this forum. don't know why?

May: agree with you our furniture industry sucks. if they don't hard sell, they slap us with all sort of unacceptable conditions or bad after sale service, later delivery etc etc etc. no standard at all. Ok, will check out the citibank clear card deal this weekend. samsung deal not bad, think i will go and convince my hubby to buy a tv for me. we wanted to save cost so was thinking of sticking to my current 14 inch. how much does a normal 21 inch cost for samsung?

pausini: good for barang barang if you can feedback. at this rate, they won't last very long. don't worry about mattress. got a colleague same as you. bought from simmons then no stock. they upgraded her to the next avail range which is more expensive (according to her lah) at no cost! let's hope that happens to you too. good luck!
i also keen on bed from melandas. which one did you purchase? how long can they store it for you? i want to get mine asap too but no place to store. want to avoid the gst hike to save cost. i remember there used to be someone in this forum called "woodstock" getting married on 3rd May but seldom see her in here anymore. samsung tv not bad. my family using one. they are trying to promote their brand. end up having alot of campaign that gives free service like the recent one, they came to fix up my washing machine and even gave my dad a t-shirt. can still remember my dad's beaming face on their good service. think when it's free, everything is good! hahaha!

Hello Ladies!

My goodness! the topics change so fast!
from food to GOLD!
hee hee hee

Lucky for me
my parents are quite religious so... no need to follow traditions
all traditions will be on my FH side
so he'll take care ;) hee he ehe

It's true lah ladies, men don't like to plan
they find it all so troublesome
But don't take it too hard okie?
'cos at the end
I'm sure they'll appreciate all the hard work
and i think it makes them secretly happy when the wedding is successful and friends pay them compliments
they know it's all 'cos they've chosen to marry the lady he loves is so capable!

Wow..... so many of you or your FH is teochew.

Amore,

Can I know which hotel ballroom you mentioning? Just Kpo!

Twinklets,

Ti Qing is just an Yi Shi. A respect to our parent. Ti Qing and Xia Ping is different day. Ti Qing first to discuss what our parent want, like dowry, dinner table etc and Xia Ping is the day where they bring the things to us.

Clyne,

Is you or your FH teochew? Shi Dian Jin a must lei for teochew. They have to give it to you when Xia Ping. If your FH/you pay then just treat it as a big gift for yourself for the hardwork that you have done for the wedding. Be happy.....

shir
me not in the sengkang thread, r u there??
yeah, me also nothing much to do yet, now waiting for outdoor ps next wed and indoor in dec...

hey bear, so u are the one who booked HIPV ah.. me wanted that hotel also but... too late, when i called up, they say already taken... hehe and its by u..
anyway, i manage to book another place..
but really like the ballroom at HIPV.. have u seem their invitation cards?? how is it??

hulo gals..

lunchbreak time!
11419.gif

Are,
haha *shake hands wif u now * so "qiao"! hard to find much pure hainanese here.

I think my parents dun really bother much abt my wedding this time round .. 'cos i'm the 3rd daughter to be married out .. &amp; .. sighs.. they dun show muz enthusiasm towards my big day at all.
Throughout this whole preparation of bridal &amp; banquet, only me &amp; my FH taking care of everything. We two only let them noe which date we have chosen &amp; whether they approve it or not..

Leo29,
thanks for the explaination .. hee or else i'm still gabra gabra ..

Btw gals, when u planning to go for the 1st appointment for your bridal package?

haha.. additional new topic again ..

twink|ets ~

Antz,
I believe if you like it, he will buy for you. Don't request for all juan lah, ask for 1-2 item lor.

Antz and Meow,
I like tennis bracelet also...... Have been eyeing long time ago but can't bear to buy for myself.

Meow,
I have email my particular to you liao.

Ava,
It's true, men don't like planning. But no matter how have to get them involve. Very unfair to us if we are the one planning. Me very Da Nu Ren one.

It's seem like everyone is moving very fast on the Ti Qing lah, Xia Ping lah..... I tot all this will only done 1-2 month before our wedding? Am I too slow?

gd afternn ladies

yi

oh u still hv nothin in mind u wana 4 ur bdaz???
still hv time 2 think over it...

kk mei

hvnt reali clean up the place coz this wkend still hv ppl comin in 2 do some works...
sure hope will b able 2 do some real cleanin up after sat...
so far manage 2 mop the flr 2x oredi...
also clean the common toilet n also the kitchen cabinets...
n also some of the windows...

Pausini: I cant remember the 34" flatscreem how much but the monthly instalment is S$ 205 per mth i think. So it works out to about S$ 1845. And they throw in a free dvd as well. The offer is very attractive. Plus it is 100hz and got double spit screen - meaning u can watch 2 channels at a go. It is made in Korea and the offer is till the end of the year.

Comparatively, the cheaper 34" flatscreen Sony TV costs i think $2499.

Jazreel low was one of those taht i shortlisted. I like their package and gowns too.

Jan: I dont know if 21" TV is available for this promo. I only know my sister-in-law bought the 29" flatscreen TV for S$ 1399. She pays about S$140 instalment per month.

Flowee jie,

Remember i told u about the leakage? My id sent his pple over and find that they can't do anything coz obviously it is the upstairs pple fault AARRGGHH the upstairs neighbour did not do the thing properly during their reno, thus cause blockage. So we are advised to get the town council pple to help out. The town council will ask the HDB pple to come down take a look. Dunno how long this will take..

First time mopping very tiring hor? Coz our legs are dirty when we step into the house.. haha... so as we mop and step, mop and step, it can never be clean :P

Twinklets,

I will start looking around dec. Bridal Package,
I think don't have to be so kan chiong lah hor. You book the dinner already? Me still hanging around lei. Those hotel I want alreday taken up and now so far not a single hotel ballroom caught my eye.

It's better for us to work on our own. Too many ppl involve will have alots of suggestion you will be very fan one. I'm lucky, both side parent just leave everythings to us so we decide on our own, not refering to traditional thing.

Amore,
Ai yah, 4get to tell you, I have drop Merchant Court. The date I want already taken up. Thanks for your feedback. Just when I browse the early msg then notice your msg.

Hihi May
My photos r posted in anything under the sun, a place to share your ROM, wedding and honeymoon photos, Shook's ROM photos to share.

Hihi Pausini
Congrats, another item off ur list. Jazeel's design is v unique. My cousin used Jazeel 4 her wedding.

Hihi Jan
Oh boy, then how 2 share my photos wif u har??

Hi Leo,

Yup true that it will have lesser hassels if only me &amp; FH are the 1 deciding &amp; planning. Much easier too, no doubt abt it.
Just that tat time when i announced my marriage to them, both of them sian sian cool cool 1.. think i expect them to make a big hoo-haa bah. *lol*

Anw, hope they'll show more enthusiasm wben the day comes nearer.
11425.gif

Yup, have already booked our banquet venue. Hee.. better be kiasu than sorry mah .. tat's my motto in here..

Not that u are slow lar.. or we are fast.. watever come into our minds, think we'll juz ask.

lunchbreak over..
*poooff*

twink|ets ~

hi daffy - u can go to the "wedding banquet"thread and look for this topic "Calling ex-brides to help, pls!!!!" i was following this thread, maybe u can revive the thread again?

Is the shop selling EG at Raffles City on 2nd storey, called BLUM?? I think i went there before, doesn't look like new gowns, dunno whether i was seeing the right things or not?
there's an Allure at Raffles City, can browse for EG too.

hi cherry, u went to Celia Loe before? izit the evening gown flagship store at Scotts? agree that it is of higher price range but lesser than avana, i think.

Jan: Simmon mattress got stock so no upgrade. Too bad.
i got the "Contra" bed (215X170) with leather covering cos FH like leather very much for King Size is $1399 with 12 months installment again. Need cash flow but still within every month affordable range. quite similar to "Hologen" which have two big cushion on the headboard only that we do not have the cushion. the diameter may be too long so we are getting this model which is not display at most of the showroom but we saw it at their warehouse at Sg Kadut.

May: have u signed up with any package?
34" flatscreen TV, I keep thinking it was the LCD screen TV then worth getting lor. Hee!
Will consider, very good price leh

hi hi ..

leo29 .. hey what about crystal?? not ex and nice ... get the si dian jing (crystal) from swarovski .. hehe .. btw is it a must to have the si dian jing??

clyne .. good idea .. wait for great singapore sale .. but, my colleague told me that, sometime members will have better discount especially on the birthday month ..

twinklets .. my first app is on march next year ..