(2003) Brides of year 2003

aiyah twinklets!!!

u very the greedy huh?
11347.gif

but ME TOO!!! secretly wishing maybe they'll surprise me wif something!!! hee hee!!!
11348.gif

twink|ets... dun sad... me here oso... keep asking him when to meet up for our parents... to talk abt ping jin, guo da li and stuff.... but he like act blur and say dunno... then got one time i realy angry... i sms him... I dun marry u liao... hehehee i think we gals always like dat... then he reply and say ok ok we discuss when we go home today... i supposed guyz are like dat lor... dun worry...

think still abit early... coz i oso consulted my fren who got married this Feb... she told me wat they did was... they both ask theirs parents what they want and things like dat... the real discussion is oni during food tasting day... but to me personally... wait until food tasting abit too late lah...

so wat I'm going to do is.. I'll initiate a dinner... maybe sometime ard April or May... with my parents, hubby and his parents.... my parents oso chin chai... my mum oni say she wants suckling pig.... not much "demand"... just scare his parents beary traditional... hope my plan works

i logged in sometime ago. my date is also on 11/1. i have taken photos, now waiting to collect the album. will be printing the invites soon. now looking for EG to buy and keep. somebody here bought from Avana? any comments about their gowns and the price range and service? cheerios

Yi - wow buy another dress ah...hehe....so good, my hubby was like a bit nagging when i told him i want to buy tea dress already....

dew - i pop by Avana yesterday, they have quite a collection of EG at their Shaw Ctr branch but i think they are expensive lor range from $300 (very simple ones)....your bridal shop not providing any EG meh??

gals, anyone where's Arther Yen or not?? i want to see their dresses leh....

hi cherry,

no lah, just look ard lor if dun have then take the 1 from the bridal studio lor.

the teadress is actually okay but i find it rather short coz i'm tall and it cannot be alter longer anymore so tatz wat bothering me.

i think there is a Yen shop at jurong point but the 1 at wisma close down liao rite? or shift to upstairs?

hi dew,

welcome back!
never been to avana so no comments.

Yi Jie,

Good then. Get some shopping vouchers from ur hubby.. hahahaa... i felt so great to go shopping with my friends' metro voucher. Hahha.. yah, i have gotten the shoes. And my hubby say very nice when i showed him that evening
As the voucher is $50, i bought 2 tees for my hubby and in the end i only paid 20 cents.. kekeke...

Flowee Jie,

Hope u like the card

Hi Bombom,

kee.. now then u noe i'm greedy huh ..
sshhsshhh .. wait FH runs off...

Surprises??!! hee.. hmm got hint hint abit to him?

Hi Amore,

I think i'll behave the same like you.. sms him..
Will be damn pissed if keep asking & no responding hor.
Suckling Pig? Are you a hainanese? I think this suckling pig is part of the hainan wedding culture..
1st time both your parents will be meeting up? Keep us updated .. hee..

twink|ets ~

Yen at wisma not there anymore. i went to the jrong point one sometime ago, had clearance sale. at that time, they had mainly long or knee-length, one-colour dresses, simple designs, no sequins or beads. Have u tried Tangs, Daniel Yam and Celia Loe? there'll be more dresses near Christmas.

I can rent EG from bridal shop but i want to keep, so maybe more worthwhile to buy, izit? some mag feature Avana dresses but i also think the price is high, so it's out for me. i'll be trying celia loe.

Anyone here planning to get cakes/confectionery to distribute? any good shops to recommend?

hi beibei,
got ur pic oredi, thanks. The gown really fits u like a glove....very classic and elegant indeed. Dun think u need to lose anymore weight though

I only hope i will look as good as u in my bustier gown. I will be going for my 1st fitting end of the month and shld keep u all updated abt it.

Till then

twink|ets.... ya my mum hainanese... my dad khek... but think will most prob follow mum side lah.. coz my dad dun really bother abt this kinda things...

hmm dunno do u call dat first time.. coz during my ROM they saw each other liao.... but if u are toking abt really sit down and discuss.. nope not yet...

hhee i oso waiting for my MIL to ask me wat I want for me si dian jin leh... my hubby teochew... heard teochew beary particular abt giving their DIL si dian jin... hehehehehe

can I join in too? My wedding on 16 Jan 03. Hope to share with you gals about my preparation, at least there's some guide as to what to do. I have just sent my cards for printing, food tasting this friday and collecting my album this month end. As my package OTR, I'll only have my first gown selection this month end.

Meanwhile, I'm also sourcing for cakes for relatives and starting to do table arrangement. Can help? Also looking for shoes to go with Kwa. Any suggestion? As my wedding is on a Thur, very worried about attendance and also dun know how many tables to confirm (should reduce no. of tabels?).

bombom, i've receive it finally. Thanks.

Twinklets. Dun be sad lor. I think can discuss when they meet or treat them to a dinner so they can discuss this matter over. For my sister, they discuss it over their food tasting. Me.... i also dun know when's the right time maybe after my sis's wedding.

hi amore,

hee.. i'm a pure hainanese here.. i think they'll ask for the suckling pig too..

Yes yes yes heard tat teochew very particular on tat.. *nod nod*

my FMIL is also a teochew, hope they'll follow the tradiitonal 4 dian jin too? Btw, other dialects have 4 dian jin or not hah?
11359.gif

However, i hope my FMIL dun follow the usual early hours of customary.. pls nooooo...
11360.gif

hi meow,
today u seem bz hor?
I'm ok liao, thanks gals. Juz now msn him again, he "ok ok ok", let him go & settle man. Normally the food tasting is how many months before the customary hah?
We intend to have our food tasting for our ROM .. may be June to Sept.. maybe tat's a good idea to have the dowry session? Hmm ..

yippie.. gog to knock off now.. see ya gals tomorow.
ciao!!!!
11361.gif

twink|ets ~

Hello HF

Welcome to the thread! Fret not, the basic things to do now is to settle your banquet date & location, followed by your bridal boutique.

If you like to prepare in advance, perhaps you can do the following:

1. more detailed guest list
2. source for actual day photographer
3. source for studio photographer (if not already included in your package)
4. prepare the actual day schedule
5. assign duties to your helpers
6. engage the help of close friends & relatives as helpers
7. list down some of the music you like
8. source for a caterer
9. source for wedding favours (if any)
10. start keeping wedding invitation cards that you can use as a sample when you do your own cards
11. source for reputable shops that will sell you wine at reasonable places
12. prepare a checklist of things to pack for your actual day (moving fr place to place as well as for the overnight stay at the hotel)
13. plan for your honeymoon (research alittle more into the place you intend to visit)
14. if you already know the design and colour of your gowns, start shopping around for shoes & accessories
15. exchange for new notes during Chinese New Year (so that you have nice new notes in the ang pows you give to helpers / younger siblings & relatives)

That about all i can think of at the moment.
Hope this helps you alittle!

juz a poll on photos, if u dun mind.
i spent 2000 on extra photos, is this the norm?
to me, it's a.a..a... lot ?

twink|ets... yayaya... praying hard she follow the si dian jin but not the hours of the customary!!!.... wait must wake up at 3 a.m to get ready and wait for hubby!!!!!... then die look like panda man... on the wedding day...

food tasting... usually 1 or 1/2 mth b4 the wedding day... depends on rest and hotel...

hi piper...

Actually did not manage to get anything extra... just change 10 bottles for red wines to another 20 litres of beer...

but now the wedding cards provided by the hotels look not nice

Hi Beibei

My first appointment is only on the sixteen of nov. Next saturday...mine is OTR then if cannot find suitable one then MTM. What's yours huh? Cause I think most probably i will want to MTM. My wedding is on the ten of june 03. Also irene at MM. Such a coincidence...

Hi dew

me spent $1,440 extra. so i think quite normal. dun worry about spending too much. after you've made the payment, you won't feel the pinch after a while.

I just sent the wedding cards for printing last weekend...rather surprised that it will be ready within 10 days...perhaps the quantity is small (180pcs)...just invited my close relatives over to view our love nest at PG21 yesterday..might consider to have an actual housewarming after our wedding on 19 Jan..now too busy with the weddin preparation liao...

Thinking of getting another EG as stand-by as i don't really like the OTR from the studio. The off-yellow colour makes me look plump...i also feel uncomfortable with the netting at the neckline...wonder whether my studio will allow me to swap for another one....any recommendation for EG for a budget of $200 ?

hi shir and bear,
new.gif

me new here.. hehe, my wedding and rom is also on 23march03..
so where u two having yr wedding dinner??
me at orchid country club..
so far what have been done or confirmed? like venue, bridal package etc etc..
sorry didnt really go thru all the threads so not sure if u guys have already stated in the earlier conversation..

hihi again,
saw a few threads, seem like quite a number of u staying at sengkang.. me too! me too!
we got our 4rm flat thru the walk in selection, me and my hubby to-be had already move in after the renovation, juz slight before the seventh mth.. me at blk311x

hi bombom

didn't receive your mail. can send me one again. sorry to trouble u.

I am the new bride on this channel and very pressurized now. I seen that all of you have booked your dinner and studio.

Well is it behind schedule for me? My wedding date is on 13 Dec 03. Tentatviely decided on Raffles Town Club but my family were complaining its too expensive to be paying for only a club.

My phtographer is Eric Er and for the bridal studio still torn between TanYoong and TedWu.

*Stessed* everything is still not fixed

it's me again
11385.gif

Welcome Liza
11386.gif

Here's the update...
11387.gif

enya 02 Dec , KAI , MM
jbride 07 Dec , KAI , Inter-Con
happygal 07 Dec , JLC , Amara
freesia 07 Dec , - , Holiday Inn
Sunshine 07 Dec , BV , Beaufort
mickey_m 07 Dec ,Thomson Wedding Design,CrownPrice
Babydoll 13 Dec , - , GH
Ming 13 Dec , - , Sheraton
Liza 13 Dec , - , -
piper 18 Dec , Milan , Grand Corpt
Jacq 18 Dec , Milan , Hilton
Naturally 21 Dec , Le Galleria , GH
EL 28 Dec , GHA , -
Mio 28 Dec , JLC , GH
Babyblue 28 Dec , Divine Couture , Conrad

Yep, agree with Amore, food tasting only about a month before the actual itself. If too early, what if the cook left that restaurant? Well, that's what my restaurant told me.

Hey girls,
Dun ask for Si Dian Jin. Ask for Si Dian Zuan(Diamonds). Thinks its the "in" thing now. But for value for money, of course its still gold.

hihi bear n field
wa so 'qiao'.. ours on the same date...

bear, your name shirley huh? me too....keke..

me at hotel intercon... u lei?

field
i've settled banquet n bridal oredi... now doing nothing much... except to go for fitting... think will oni be bz in dec....
I'm staying in Sengkang too... are u in the thread Sengkang - a place for gathering?

Wow, so many messages had been posted for the past few days...

My electrical appliances came, quite on time. The fridge is confirmed opened from left to right.

However, my furniture still had problems. Barang Barang actually dared to deliver to us the same piece of defected stool from last week. They actually painted the stool over but unfortunately, it cannot hide the chipped off dent at the corner. The sales guy even asked us to come and pick up the stool from the shop ourselves... in the end, had an argument with them... Anyway, they promised to deliver the stool to us this coming sat (which will be the 4th time). We gave up on Barang Barang. We're very surprised that Barang Barang had such bad services, considering the reputation that they have, and that the sales guy was very good to us. But after-sales service showed a different side. That'll be the first but the last time we're buying from them.
Apologies if I've bored with gals with my complaints...

Pausini, wow, you've got a very very good buy for a Simmons Bed!!! I didn't know that Maximum Credit actually have a shop in Bedok too. Do you happen to stay somewhere in Bedok?

Shook, sorry for the late info. The shop at Alexandra is at Blk 121, #01-12, Bukit Merah Lane. It's opposite Safra. The person to contact is Vincent.

Shook, saw your ROM picts. Wah, you looked very sweet and radiant!

Hi Liza! Welcome to the club!

Dun stress dun stress! U r not the only one!
Do the immediate task first....wedding pkg can wait....but banquet can't! If Raffles Club is too ex, do you have a second option? How many tables are u looking for?

Hi KK

my banquet will be at Oriental. Still sourcing around for wedding packages. What a headache

Me also staying at SengKang.

Hi Serene

Thanks, its really a great help.

So what have you done so far? banquet and wedding packages?

Just curious, your nickname 1027, is ur wedding at 27 Oct?

heyo heyo

jbride: u decided on 8R or 15R oredi?

wow .. very exciting seeing everyone booking their packages and everything else!!!! look at that long list of brides!!! how come me the onie 2 dec bride?? hmm ... alamak .. *piak forehead* .. me 1st to be missus sia!! oh no!!!!!!!! less time to lose weight ...!!!

me now thinking about where to hold the ROM .. anyone has any suggestions?
))))

Hi are,
Wat's WIS? Sorry abit sua ku
. So any idea wat wld ur MIL be planning to do wif ur new hse? Me oso in the progress of my application to take over my new hse (resale unit) n wondering wat procedure got 2 be perform before moving in?

Bombom,
Didn't rec the list. Can email me again at [email protected]? Thanx in advance.
Actually, u dun hv 2 b upset. In fact, me n my FH oso didn't celebrate anything like this. Somemore my FH not the romantic kind.

Meow, ur FH very funny hoh

Hi twinklets & amore,
I thot I'm the only one whose FH not keen in the preparation. Seems like most guys r like that

Ya ya meow, i oso agree wif u ... shd ask 4 'si dian juan'.

anyone knows what are the wedding shops along tanjong pager , the one Jazreel low wedding boutique is located. what other boutiques are there.
need to go down soon

Hihi Jazz
No lar, u din bored me wif ur complaints, fm ur complaints, I learned which shop not to go to. Thx 4 sharing the info.
Thx 4 ur compliment. Bet every bride looks radiant

will your husband be accompanying his parents when they come to "ti qing"? my hubby says he dun need to go with his parents leh... then me? do I need to be around too?

Littlerabbit,
WIS means Walk In Selection. Its for those new HDB houses, where couples jus select what they like. Every month on the 10th, HDB will release a place for others to view the flats. Some sort like a tour as there's a bus to bring you around the neighbourhood. Am i right? Mine is not under WIS. I hus walk in to the area and find myself.

Not really very sure what will be going on Think my FMIL will "ask" god which date is nice. Then will buy some offerings and burn some paper money lor. Details, i'm not sure.

Amore,
Thanks for your info. You went there as normal dinner or wedding dinner? Yep that's what my restaurant assistant manager told me. Well i think its quite true too, what if its another cook and the food doesn't taste the same if i try it many months back?

gd mornin ladies

pai seh din reply ur postin coz been buz @ work...

yi

had a great time experiencin the sky dinin...

kk mei

tks 4 the card...
veri nice of u...

Shook: i cannot see your pics. my office pc don't allow me to access and my home pc cannnot support. so Shao(3) Xing(4)

Jazz: no lah, i am sure all of us very thankful that everyone is sharing information to help one another. prevent us from buying from bad shops. good that you pointed out about barang barang. similar to you, my fiance and myself were very impressed with the sales staff. they know their product and was very helpful yet not pushy. but after hearing from you, i totally gave their shop a miss. terrible of them to try to pass off the same stool twice. must check properly this time round. if stil cannot, suggest you talk to their management. it's bad publicity for them. don't they know word of mouth is a very powerful advertising tool!

May: me and fiance not young. we took the long way where education was concern that's why only started work for a while plus with army and longer study period and the bad ecomomy, my fiance only got work not long ago. that's why no savings lor. we also courtship long long.
if no need army and have money etc think we would have tied the knot much earlier.

Citibank cannot afford. their normal card subscription double that of other banks. i will to look around first. may end up giving simmons a miss. budget constraint.

after putting on a long disappearing act, I'm back!
Welcome all new Oct 2003 brides.

btw, who's got their love nest in Sembawang? I just book a flat there.

I'm thinking of a gathering for us here cos I've just been to my bridal shop's brides gathering. We met for the 1st time after posting via this forum & it was enjoyable! We can finally match names to the nicks here. What do u gals think?