(2003) Brides of year 2003

hi hi gers
10602.gif

naturally, yep...i've booked with Kai but i've not visited their boutique. I didn't get to talk to Kai too coz he's bz chatting when I signed up at the show

i've run thru all previous postings to gather all our wedding dates...i will try to include all dec brides-to-be in the list...
10603.gif

07 dec - jbride, happygal
13 dec - babydoll, ming
18 dec - piper
21 dec - naturally
25 dec - sunshine
28 dec - EL, mio, babyblue

enya, jacqueline, minmin, tintin, tiara, cutechar, & those i've missed out

keep us posted when you've got your date confirmed

Nice you see you gals again

<FONT COLOR="red">Flowee</FONT> - Me finally bought my shoes liao
3 shoes total cost is $97.70 I think you are right, of not custom-making the wedding shoe, if not its more ex than these 3 shoes.

You still left with actual photograher to settle?
Started your gown design already?

Hi wind2000 and ava

sunnyling has a pt. it boils down to what you want in the house and what design u like...though custom-made furniture will look good esp when you hv a theme for your house but may also add to the reno.cost. does the premium flat comes with kithcen cabinets? if not also hv to budget for the kitchen cabinets. Not to forget electrical works such as installation of water heater, lights and installation of air-con also need to be done. actually u gals can source for few contractors, ask them for quotation and compare their rates.

elaine

nice 2 hv u back...
worh u mia 4 a while oredi hor... :P

finali bought all ur shoes liao n they sure add up 2 less than a custom made WG shoe...

yah onli left with my actual daz photographer...
goin thru mag n website 2 check out my ideal gown...

hows ur preparations???
foto shot soon rite???

hi all march brides,

i'm also hving my wedding in mar, the 15. thinking of sharing with march brides to buy/share wines since our dates are so near. anybody keen?

Hi Ava

Think 10K abit low maybe shd adjust your budget to around 15K. I duno where got sell good suit cos my hubby he go and source and buy himself a suit from Giogio Armani but the suit is nice and suit him.

Novlkf22

Premium dun come with kitchen cabinet only the flooring and toilet is done up.

hi jbride,

u r so kind to compile the list for us

so excited!!

but quite a headache planning the preliminary guest list....r u gals facing the same problems??

sunnyling

tks for the clarification. mine a std flat only the toilet is done up. initially i think i was being offered the blocks of premium flats starting from blk 638 or something like that. but my hubby and i preferred a flat that has a balcony, dunno why also..:P so we landed up choosing a 6-flr std unit at blk 101 side instead.

Hello gals,

Hi kk,
Yup..my MIL very modern, hehee.more fashionable than me..dunno whether i can be as trendy as her when I grow old..kekeke
My hubby is same age as me, we are both 27yrs old..me younger by 6mths in exact...my bdy not over yet...so still 26+
Hmm..think it is up to individual whether you want to give hong bao..if you feel like giving..think all the kids will gladly accept yr hong bao

Do you gals feel that time seem to fly after we pass 21yrs old..dun want to think of my age..hmm..scared that next time will look older than hubby..cos woman grow old faster

Initially my crieteria was to find one at least 2-3yrs older than me..too bad...cannot find one that is suitable enuff...maybe it is all FATED!!

Hullo!

Mio, wow! free flow beer, wish I signed up at the show. We signed up a few months ago.

Naturally, don't worry about the numbers too much. Better for the room to be bigger than too small rite! My FH and I have the opposite problem. We want a small wedding, and upgraded to a larger room ie the Hibiscus because we prefered it to the smaller room, so we have to pay a surcharge on each table, unless we add more tables.

Piper, we found it difficult to compile the guest list, eg who to include, who would be offended if not included etc, and on top of listing names, figuring out roughly how many people would actually turn up as we have a lot of overseas guests. Hows your list going ?

This thread is getting exciting huh? It's been a long time since i m here.

I'm in the HR field. Vvv busy even though the economy is still bad.

Hey, have all of u booked the actual day photographer? I hvnt leh.... *PANIC*

Hi All Ladies,
Wow ! I got a shock when I check this thread. I am currently still in Hong Kong delivering a task. I am in the IT line. Hi to all new comers !
I have done most of the stuff like such
Hotel- Conrad
Bridal - Sih, designed and measurement taken for WG and EG. My sarong kebaya is done already from Amos Meurs.
Church Wedding - confirm church, confirm lunch reception
Photography and Actual Day photography - Linn Kong.
Astrud, are you still around ? You should be doing your gowns with Kevin Seah .... whats the status ?

babydoll,

actually mine is same case as yours!! We also topped up to lower the minimum no. and we also signed up mths before the show, so no free flow beer too!!

halo ladies and to all the new ladies here in this thread...!!! hi hi!!!
long time never come here......
i'm a 2nd NOV 2003 bride!....
glad to see so many of the same date!!!

hi serene,

haha..now i actually realise that old pple are more trendy than some of us youngsters :P..they wear until very red... kekeke...

Yah lor, seem so old now. ANd memory is failing me.. keep forgetting a lot of things.. memory not as good as before.. last time can memorise whole chunk of history text, think now got problem remembering just few lines of text.. kekekee... but hor, looks dun change leh. I still look very "baby face".. even my mil and my hubby's godmother say so. May not be a good thing lor

At first i want to find one partner older by just 1-2 yrs so no generation gap.. but end up older by 4 yrs.. hahaha.. but good also lor, more matured and stable

Not much time to log in over the weekend and bam! So many messages! I like.

Besse,
How's your trip planning coming along? I was in Scotland and UK in 1998. Not sure if it's going to be of much help, but will help if I can. It is afterall, 4 yrs ago. :p

Hi to Kiroro, Cutie22, Delannie,
Big big hello! Hope to see you gals more often! Know you're all quite busy though...

By the way, I'm in the healthcare industry, paramedical side.

Cheers all!

Hi Meow,

Thanks 4 the advice. Ya got our banquet booked oreadi. In fact also got a bridal shop too. So now no worry, jus c c look look to c what other info can be gathered for consideration.

Hi Josephine,

Glad to know u having the same wedding date as us too!

hi babydoll,

same problems exactly!! my list has been revised for the nth time....and till now, i still dunno if i shud be inviting all the managers in my co!

frankly speaking, coz my dinner will be on a weekday &amp; nearing xmas, i'm worried that the turnout will not be very good.

r we being a bit ks to plan such things 14 mths in advance!? my hubby said it's a bit too early to do up the guest list now...wat's ur comments?

hi abrinas,

My wedding is on 7/6/03 at Marina Mandarin.This sun I am trying my MTM gowns and trial makeup liao!Kiasu hor?

Thanks to pucca 75 for listing out the particulars of all June 03 brides!Does anyone know how to complie all particulars of the brides and make it like a phone directory?So that we can keep one another in contact?

Hi Flowee,

Thanks for the info. You sure done your homework well..
Amanda is nice to you... hopefully she's nice to me too..

I am not into anything specific like embroidery or crystals, juz wanted the overall effect and flow of the gown. I dun really know how to describe it. Guess, it's juz the feeling.

Kai's gowns looked so nice in the magazines. But it's over our budget.i wanted nicer honeymoon so can't spend too much on the gowns... sob..

So, i will see how things go on Sat then..

gd mornin bijou

dun worri lah...
i m sure amanda treats everyone the same way..
my gf she is also signin up with amanda soon after she gets her date...
she's also with travis...

dun sound so despair i wld like 2 hv my honeymn...
but gonna c how things goes...
i m sure u will b able 2 find ur dream gown...
juz gonna walk ard...
hv fun on sat...

Hi Sweets
My 1st appt was ok, fun but a bit tiring from the trying.
me MTM for both. However, made a blunder - I forgot to tell the girl that I need a shawl for my EG *aarrgghh* Don't know whether need to go down again to take measurements for the shawl. Cannot don't hv shawl, wait very fleshy. *hehehe*

Hi Delannie
Good thing u started this, otherwise won't get to know so many other brides.

Hi Besse
That's the only good thing abt being a secretary.
Other than that, if I don't get killed in a tongue slashing battle, very heng alreadi!!

Hi Cutie22/Privileged
Me too hv not booked church caterer/actual day photographer. Church decorator also not yet. they always say no need so early.

Hi Beibei
Must be quite excited abt trying the MTM gowns. Mine only ready early Jan for 1st fitting/makeup but PS 2 wks the fitting. Must start going for facial alreadi.

flowee,

right now, we are slowly planning for the things which we may need to do. as much as possible.

well, i guess most of the things are done.
(bridal,photo,banquet,bed,makeup,--settled)

left with buffet to book for the actual day.

Honeymoon need not book so soon. so can book next year since we will not be going off immediately.

jan, will be tailoring of the gowns and suits.(divine) and will be choosing the dress(photo package)

feb will be taking the photos(photo package)

what else do we need???
10645.gif

how bout you, your house ready??

Hi Ram,

Welcome to the thread!

Btw, we shared the same wedding date!
Where's your banquet?

How's preparations been for all of you? I haven't log on for the past week.. so hope to catch up with you gals.

hello everyone

i haven been logging in for quite some time too...jus started my hse reno...wil b going for photshoot soon...any suggestions where 2 go?

'stole' a little time from work to log in...got 2 go...enjoy ur preparations!

02 Nov - Furlin, Padre, Nov bride, little rabbit,
Josephine
08 Nov - Bombom, Feb, Ava, TCC, Twinklets
14 Nov - Sunnyling, Meow, novlkf22
15 Nov - Clyne,Cocopopzz
25 Nov - Edde
28 Nov - Amore
30 Nov - Sweetie, wind2000

Welcome Josephine. Looks like there's alot of brides on 2 Nov 03

Hi Piper,

Don't think you are being kiasu at all! I think its good to have all the names down at least so that u can have a rough estimate for all the people u want to have at the dinner...don't worry,give your close friends and family early warning about wedding date and they should make it a point to block their calendar rite?

Thats what me and FH are hoping anyway, hopefully good friends will plan their christmas holiday around our wedding date!!

have all of you started trying gowns etc?? What should we look out for as part of the packages?? I haven't done anything about that yet!

hi everyone (And A Big Hi to kiroro
),
Sorry for being infrequent. Has been veri busy recently with work (i'm a market researcher so I have to travel very often) and home renovation.

Some updates on my end:
Bridal: Took my measurements with kevin seah 2 weeks ago and will be going for my 1st fitting end of Nov. kevin says that my EG will be quite a lot work for him so he's going to start on it first.
Hotel: Hilton
Church Wedding: confirm SJC church oredi and going for EE in Dec, but hv not confirm whether it is going to be a wedding svc or full mass. Decorator also not confirmed. Dun think i can have a reception due to time constraints, but nnothing is certain yet.
Photography and Actual Day photography: ImageGarden (PS in Mar) and Andrew Tay The Edge respectively

So nothing much on the bridal end at least till Jan, but renovation is giving me an headache. Still haven't confirm the ID firm yet even after a search of 1.5 months....Arggghhh....but bought some furniture oredi coz wanna avoid the GST hike.

Have all u finish renovation yet?

hi ling

oredi settled my dinner venue, bridal, studio, make up artist, etc...
finali settled my bridal last sat...
next will b my actual daz photographer...
n also checkin out website n mag gettin an idea of my ideal WG...
gonna confirmed my design in jan 03...
photo shots is scheduled on 9th jun 03...

as 4 my love nest, carpenter retifyin the outstdin...
shd b ready soon...

Hi kk,
Seemed like the thread is rather quiet recently, maybe all too busy to enter Internet...only U and me ..hehee
Hmm..yalor..some older generation can be quite fashion conscious also

Heee...sama sama, memory also failing ..sometimes cannot even remember wat i ate the day before ..kekekee..sounds quite bad...
Good to have baby face mah, my sister is married with one kid and is pregnant with another..she still got baby face..some pple thought that she is my younger sister cos she is shorter than me and got baby fats on her face...then will be younger than hubby..me scared that i will look older than him as yrs passess by

Hmm..in life..we dun always get wat we want..we may have certain expectations of finding a life partner but it turn out that the guy we found may not be the one that suits all the criterias...hehee..find it strange too..don't u think so..

hi all Nov'03 brides,

glad to know from this thread that there are sooooo many Nov'03 brides... seems like wedding on 02-Nov'03 is leading the rest now as I am also a 02-Nov'03 bride.... so that makes the number to 6. wonder whether the road will be full of bridal cars on this day...hee

Hi Astrud,

Yeah, I'm now in the midst of confirming the reno stuff....got so many thigs to think through and settle....Yup, know what you mean....reno is really a big headache...so much nitty gritty things to look into....guess we are all trying to beat the GST!!
grin.gif

As for the church decor, caterer, I plan to do it next year too....at least get the house done up first!

Dolphie

Hey, thanks for offering to help with the trip.. how long did you spend in UK and scotland for that trip? 1998 wasn't too long ago lah. You went with your hubby?

Perhaps you can email me and we can chat more in private than flood this thread .. (click on my nick)

Gals.. I think my wedding date is more or less confirm - Feb 2004.. hehe.. so have half a yr more time to prep.. now can rest and relax!!!

Welcome Icy to the family.

Aiyo, why they can't let me to be a 02 Nov 03 bride? So good it falls on a saturday right?

02 Nov - Furlin, Padre, Nov bride, little rabbit, Josephine, Icy
08 Nov - Bombom, Feb, Ava, TCC, Twinklets
14 Nov - Sunnyling, Meow, novlkf22
15 Nov - Clyne,Cocopopzz
25 Nov - Edde
28 Nov - Amore
30 Nov - Sweetie, wind2000

To all newcomers, i hope all brides by now have already book you banquet

Hello Again!

Yep
I think all the cars will be decorating the roads come Nov next year!

SO happy to be part of this Nov family! ;)

Sunnyling &amp; Norfolk, thnks for the info :p I'll try to adjust our budget to 15k...yesterday just went to look see look see at courts... sale also electrical stuff is not cheap huh...

A little at a loss now... so many things to plan ;) hee hee hee nvm..
most imptly we are enjoying the process of planning

Anyone going away this Devali hols?

Thanx for the reassurance, Ming...

when's ur big day?

I've signed up wif Milan for the gowns coz my sis had hers there as well. quite like their photos &amp; service..

things to look out for....hidden costs, types of gowns, no. of outfits, no. of photos etc etc...too many to list down.

Joyful,so we same same then

Reno is the only thing I have on my mind right now. Can't believe that i visited some IDs like 3-4 times and still find myself omitting some specs.....Ahhhhhh.....

So where's your place? Mine's a resale 4 room at AMK. Which IDs have u shortlisted?

So far...I hv bought the sofa, coffee table, mattress and bed linen. Hopefully, in the next 2 weeks, settle the dinning table, bedframe and some major electrical appliances such as fridge, aircon, washing machine and hob. Wat abt u?

Hi Delanie,
Juz scrolled up and saw u addressing a liner to me. Sorry, din notice it juz now. paiseh...

pity u din get 2 visit kevin but i hv heard lots of gd stuff abt Jawn too. Ya...kevin's getting really ex nowadays, gd thing is i signed up before he upped his prices.

So how's the progress wif ur WG and EG? Both MTM? How's other preps?

so sorry. our wedding album is actually in "circulation" now...colleagues, friends and family members are all "fighting" to see it...fortunately, no negative feedback so far...only one commented that I looked
a bit plump in my evening gown...

anyway, we haven't scanned the photos, so no soft copy to share yet. Perhaps we can meet up to have a sharing session together once you all have collected your album ?

Thanks for all your advice on the GDL and the no. of helpers required. As I am a Teochew, si dian jin is a must. However, we don't intend to splurge on these items as I only get to wear during formal occasions. Acutally, I would prefer white gold instead as it is more trendy. But I think my parents are "pan dang" abt it. Maybe compromise by having half gold and white gold ? But looks awful right? hehe....

hi joy2003,

mine is at hyatt. how abt yrs? where are u planning for yr honeymoon? we r thinking of australia, which is in autumn then.

Hi astrud,
You're going for your first fitting in end Nov? Eeps. I think my design confirmation is end Dec! Oh no, is that late? *chews fingers*
(PS, I'm having Imagegarden as my photog too!)

Besse,
Will email you when I get home. At work can only glance through all the messages quick quick, not much time to think.

Hi Meow

2nd Nov I think is a Sunday, ya loh I cant choose any weekend for me and my hubby actually prefer weekend but bo bian.

Hi ava

It not easy to own a house loh so many thing and efford needed and most of alot of $$$ involve me also very broke now after renovating our house sighhhhh. Actually want to go Msia for a tour but non of my friend want to go leh so sad me and my hubby dun want to go alone.

Hi Serene n kk,

I tink d others quite busy this time of year, some also got exams... maybe when we go 4 our bridal appts n fittings then hv more to say...

Rite now, still trying to figure out wat is bateau or jewel necklines, basque waist or mermaid cut for my gowns.

kk,

I'm also like u - baby-face... den hor, d designer at IW told me that d make-up artist have to darken my face at jawline to make my face look sharper (gua zi lian) for photoshoot....Yukes!!!

Hi Dolphie,
Dun worry - u shld hv enuff time. i noe of a bride whose wedding was in early Jan 02 and confirmed her designer only in Aug 01. She made it for her PS in Nov still. So u shld be alright- 3 mths is abt the amt of time needed
If u are worried, u can request your designer to do it a month earlier.

There wld be quite a lot of beadwork to be done on my EG so the designer is starting to work on it earlier. He gathers that he wld need 4-5 mths to complete work on it amongst working on my WG and tending to other brides' gowns.

So both of us using ImageGarden? I'm going wif a 40-50's theme so i thot IG's b/w style wld be most suitable. Wat abt u?

Nice speaking wif u!