I'm going for EE in Mar 03

Okie... must get back to work

C YA ALL!

Hi jacq and enya,

Me getting Daniel as my emcee too. Any of you gals met up with him already?

Thanks Wenn. ambience wise, Amara has a hold over Meridien coz it's renovated ballroom is so much nicer than Meridien and it's Lobby is at ground level and more posh. The tricky part is Meridien provides free flow of beer for weekday and A does not! dilemna now....

Hi ava,

I'm also going in Mar 03 leh! Since there's only 1 EE session in Mar, so I'll be meeting u there ..

I haven't register yet cos now only 4 couples in the list so still got time..u?

an update...
I won't be choosing sept03 liao, cos fengshui master said we're more suitable for dates after lunar 9th month..dunno which day.

Can only calculate a date for us next month (not sure why)... so i guess gotta wait very patiently lor...

hi everyone!

is any of u going for marriage preparation workshops?

EL: nope have not met up with him, but seen v good remarks under another thread!

yi

mine is on the 9th...

urs is on 24th rite???
yah lor my mum sure bake my favourite blueberry cake every yr without fail...
but last yr max bought mi a cake chocolate banana veri nice also...
yummy...

i think he looks cool in the pix u guys sittin on
the planks...

ling

urs also rite???

U girls are pretty fast...So most of u have booked ur actual day photography??? I haven't and think it's a bit too early to book now...from now till our wedding, there is still one yr...My FH doesn't want to book too early too...But btw, which photographer are uall considering???

From what I've read, most of u are designing ur gown after chinese new yr..me too..I'll be taking photo in June...School Holiday mah...more convenient for me..

I'll be staying in Bukit Gombak after getting married...Anyone staying there also???

hi flowee,

mike and my birthday on 27th lah.
u then no heart er.

normally, no cakes for us coz dun koe who
to buy for who. hahahaha

o, must tell mike liao
he sure very happy
ya, tat shot we both not smiling mah!

trying to look cool though. hehehe

Shook: your dunlop mattress is it the one called ortho care? how much did you pay for it? can share? i thought the lady told me dunlop mattress most don't need to flip and ortho care was one of those she showed me leh. now i am confused. let's hope jazz can help us out.

Maya: i also very confuse leh. how come some of the girls got their mattress so expensive then mega can sell at $300 to $400? ok lah, sure got a bit of difference in quality but the difference calls for at least $800??? how come? any of you can help us out here? how come so much price difference?

SLK: sorry to hear about the incident. agree with you. if he just dump his wife and child here, he's a very irresponsible man unless he got good reasons why he has to head straight back to canada lah. but think most important thing is for them to sort things out,don't think in such situations others can do much. do give her lots of support, she will need it. as for being unfaithful, sigh. MAN in general not so faithful as compared to females. this is a fact. my colleagues told me, if you put a married man and a wowan (stranger) together, initally the man will reject but slowly slowly, their determination will break one. it's a matter of time. affairs usually happen in a moment of folly. the man in THAT moment cannot control then commit the act then that's it, they just have to continue lor because they don't know how to settle the issue. i worry too. i had a good friend, married less than a year, divorce. her husband cheated on her in the 8th month of their marriage. she broke down and had to seek help. all of us including her parents were worried. now she also seldom talk to us anymore. esp when it comes to wedding, no-no topic at all. i also very scared but i think life is a gamble. if we don't try, we will never know i guess. u think so?

hi serene,

Compass rose last time weekend quite nice, got pple but not many. And we always had its buffet lunch. Quite worth it
But after that hor, it implemented timing. So guests can only stay there for 2 hrs. Then we "boycott" already coz what's the point of going there and then just spend 2 hours?? Not enough to admire the scenery! I guess the place becoming so much popular that it has to implement the scheme.

I dun work in MINDEF. I worked in DSTA. We built systems for MINDEF
Gradually after 2 yrs there, i find that i dun like IT, so i intend to switch line. So i resigned and i am going teaching this coming Jan

Yes, me think that roses last longer than tulips too! i had tulips for my ROM, but they dun last

hi kk mei,

i have emailed u the pics liao.
feel free to give me your comments.

howz your revision?

hi Yi,

ya lor....prob bcos most of the Jan brides are not active in forum...

hey saw your photos!! Very well-taken!! so good that you have such beautiful photos for keeps...

i hope the weather will be good to me lor, raining everyday now leh...

i think you shld print your cards earlier since you have the time in your hands now.....can slowly write the names mah....

Hi cherry,

i'm sure everything will go smoothly for u. Just be yourself and your photo will turn out natural and u will look radiant. In fact, my hubby & I looked rather awkward when the photographer asked us to pose. We found ourselves like robots...so stiff and unnatural...luckily the photographer was kind enough to give us lots of tips on how to pose naturally...should have done some "research" b4hand....hehe...

Actually, i was sick on the photo-shoot day. Had sore throat and cough....imagine I got to take lozenges throughout the session to avoid coughing too much and "cracking" my make-up !! hehe...
Fortunately, i managed to "survive" till we called for the day. My session lasted from morning 10am till 8pm at night....was tempted to split the indoor and outdoor sessions into 2 separate days...but didn't want to go thr'u the hassle of make-up and hairdo again...

Mayb tis thread is inactive bcos Jan brides r all bz wif the preps now.

How abt we make it active? Make it a pt to update on watever we did in our weddin prep, like tat everyone contribute a bit then the thread active liao lor.

Let me start...

Was bz over the long wkend cos my PS is 2molo. Went for final fittin on Fri,
went shoppin wif mum for her outfit n went TY to discuss design of my cocktail dress on Sat
did my nails n got myself swaroski crystal tattoo on Mon

Now must go zzzzzzzzzz liao or else hav eyebags 2molo...kekeke

Gd nite

beibei!
Wow, to have the exact gown of your dreams....must be an all time high !!!! wow! your PS over 2 days ah ? how come....I tot normally just 1 day of PS ?

Thanks ava, for your help. I'm hoping one of my friend who's tagging along will give me more comments. Oh, i receive your mail too

Feb,
I've receive it, and i did reply something to you.

Are,
So did you sent your date to me? I suppose that's ROM date right? Why do you prefer to wear qi pao huh? Traditional isit? I didn't bother if my FH looks nice in chinese collar, the most important is that i must find something i like. Hee hee\clipart(biggrin}

Clyne,
What EE stands for huh?

Sweetie,
Me backside not qiao enough.\clipart(biggrin} Maybe wear not very nice. But if no choice then i'll wear that lor.

Thanks twinklets, i'll try it out one of these days. If still can't, may need to consult you again.

Helloo Micky m!

So now one more couple on 7 Dec....that adds up to 4 couples on this day!

So have you settle your bridal pkg, venue...etc already?

Hi SLK: Sorry to hear abt yr family problem. Family support is very impt for yr sister now & u've gotta b there for her if possible. Such thing happened to my friend during her 2nd yr of marriage & that time, her baby then was also abt few mths old. She went thru it with support from family & friends and we constantly keep her company & talk to her. Now, she is a happy single mother and living happily with her daughter. Of course, she would want to work things out but sometimes, things might not turn out how we want it to be. Whatever it is, just be there for yr sister.

Hi Jan: Agree with you. Marriage is a gamble, we'll never know how it will turn out if we din go into it.

Hihi Jan
I paid $1,498 for Ortho care Dunlop mattress Divan. The sales girl told me another brand need flipping but din mention anything abt Dunlop Ortho care. So I dunno whether it needs flipping or not.
Some of the girls paid higher price as compared to Mega Mattress may b bcoz the price they mentioned includes bedframe, or it is a divan set.

Hihi SLK
Your sis needs a lot of support fm the family. Her problem casts a black cloud over the whole family. Guess it oso affects u badly emotionally. Talk to us. We give u a pair of listening ears n moral support.

Hihi Sue
Can't agree more. Every decision we made in life is a gamble.

gd mornin yi

alamak!!!
mi remembered wrongli ur date... :P
pai seh pai seh...
but hor @ least i koe u nov baby hor...

yah lor u guys dun koe who buy 4 who hor...

got let mike koe jen say he cool lookin??? :P

i agree this threat pretti quiet perhaps coz most bride 2 b r buz with work, studies or weddin preparations...

kk mei

hows ur revision comin along???
wish u all the best 4 ur comin papers...

yes, have to agree life is a gamble! i took the wrong gamble this morning. was super late for work so i took the cab. Being the usual unethical them, took me for a long ride even after i told him which way to go. ended up paying almost half more than my usual fare by cab and arrived later than if i would have taken the mrt and walk! boiling mad! i simply detest taxis! sometimes i wish their trade just die off! i will just make do with public transport even if i am late now! terrible way to earn more money!

Shook: ok, got you. i will only need the mattress because fiance don't like divan. he wants to let the dogs sleep under the bed! i am trying hard to object to this idea. stink up the place lah. sigh. wanted to ask you if you know whether ortho care is a new or old model? some of the brands like simmons has so many models!

May: Let me know the simmons gallery you go to. very keen on $999 king size. think that's the price i have to pay for a dunlop one too. any advise if i should take up dunlop's ortho care or simmons backcare 1?

HI SLK,

Hope everything fine with your sis. Bet she must be very panic. Remember to company her and gv her a full support, don't let her "hu xi luan xiang".

How can your BIL irresponsible like this?? Really don't know what he think abt!!!

HI Pausini,

Welcome to our big family....

HI Pinkbottle,

My wedding is in January 2003. The bridal shop that I choose is Julia. And my banquet is at Sheraton Towers. Just a small dinner as well. Should be less than 25 tables. Will have another one in Malaysia before my actual day.

For those who want the contact of the ladies who can supply favors, pls drop me an e-mail. It's not very nice to public out her contact....

Din get a chance to go down to Mega Mattress. Most probably will just call them to check out. Anyway, I dun think much abt flipping beds unless the bed start to sink.

Maya, some of the mattresses are cheap, but is of normal quality, definintely not those back care type. I told the lady my budget, and so she introduced me to those mid-range mattresses for me to try on. In the end, we decided on the "chiro-whatever that is called" King Koil (king size).

Shook, I'll check with the lady if the ortho care needs flipping. I bought all my electrical appliances from Ban Kim Chuan. Btw, delivery is free and I think they got quite a number of customers from Sengkang too. The lady boss very nice too. The shop at Alexandra Village is slightly cheaper (not that much diff lah) but very far from my place, but very near to workplace, and I believed they're not opened on Sunday. One of these days, when I drop by, I'll go try and get the namecard for you. If not, will check with my fren if she has it.

SLK, wah, your BIL is so irresponsible...
Hope that your sis will be able to pick up her life with support from you and your family members.

Jan, I cannot remember if Celini is also from the same company of Novena. You might want to check and confirm that. If so, then it's better to avoid them. I've heard abt 4 complaints from my frens and colleagues abt Novena. One of the best stories is that the cupboard actually crashed onto the floor. Can you imagine if a baby is right under the cupboard!?!?!?! The impact was so great that my fren's neighbour thought what the hell happened.

I bought my sofa from Crawford Italia, the supposedly supplier for Melandas. It took my three months to finally get my sofa right, can you imagine? We bought our sofa end of June, and the sofa was fixed only in Sept. The service was bad and lots of stupid problems with the ppl there, very irresponsible. My hubby and I were almost on the verge of lodging complaints to CASE. Anyway, heard Melandas was equally bad...

I saw a very nice cupboard from Lami International at Great World City and was tempted to buy. But now, after the incident with Barang Barang and Crawford Italia, I'm very skeptical and hestitant to order from big companies 'cos I'm scared the same problem will occur again. *sigh* Anybody bought from Lami before?

hi meow... do you mean the info for the list? i sent you long ago... din get it? ya.. tot it would be nice to wear something other than a gown, and traditional would be nice lor...

halo flowee,

ya lor, so normally every year oso no cake
hahaha
yesterday, i ask mike how he celebrating my
birthday for me and he grumbled that i always
folied his plans coz i always last min change
plans.
for the past 2 years, he made dinner bookings
liao and last min i tell him lets go east coast
hawker centre instead. hehehe
he says i'm a wet blanket!

o, forgot to tell him coz i work late yesterday
and when he buy dinner for me, we just discuss
abt wedding preparations etc only.
wld tell him later.

oic, all brides 2 b busy huh?
now, we very free hor?

hi kk mei,

must study hard okay?
take care hah.

Hi Jazz, thks for the info. This Ban Kim Chuan, where is it? Do they sell cooker and hobs? Lookng for that now b4 can start my kitchen reno.

Sigh! Seems like all the big furniture shops got probs. Maybe shld go to neighbourhood shops to buy furniture....

hi cherry,

thanks for your compliments
photos nice? so happy to receive positive
comments. was scared that fotos wun turn out
well too.

dun worry so much abt the weather etc, okay?
the more you worry, the more u wun be able to
relax. just take things easy and it will turn out
well. that day, we took foto, itz raining too so
i oso got no blue sky but a cloudy one.

no matter how the sky is, the photographer koe
what to do. dun worry okay?

ya, probably will print next week or so
hubby and i very relaxed and free leh!

nothing much has been done for our wedding yet!

hi vodka,

all the best to your fotoshoot!
update us okay?

Jan: I went to the Simmons Gallery at IMM. It is on the 2nd level. Dont waste your trip. Give a call to them and confirm the price for backcare 1. Also ask them if the price they quote got 15% discount or not. If you pay by citibank credit card, u get another 5% discount and if you have krisflyer card, u enjoy 10% discount. But use krisflyer cannot pay instalment. Use citibank, can pay instalment. No harm, checking how much is backcare 2.

U may also want to call Robinsons and asked them how much they are selling backcare 1. I know lots of places are offering discounts for backcare 1 and 2 because they launches the new backcare 3 and 4 which are very x. now the old backcare 1 and 2 very affordable. But backcare must flip every 6 months.

If you do decide to buy simmons mattress - try to bargain for the free neckcare pillows and mattress pad. Very worth it...tell them you are newly weds. I know if the salesperson wants to get your deal badly, they will throw in all these feebies.

You can check out the simmons website - www.simmons.com.sg
It will tell you the diff prices for the diff range. If your budget is 1K with the 15% discount - i think you can get one quite easily.
I dont have the tel number for the IMM shop in the office - perhaps they list in the website?

Prices for mattress is quite huge. Because i travel very often - mattress is really important to me. I hate lumpy beds. So i decided to spend the $$ and go for Simmons. Dont forget your bed is going to be your playground...

All: according to the experts. You must flip your mattress every 3 or 6 months to maintain your matress. Lots of us cant be bothered coz it is so heavy. And because most of us cant be bothered, some smart man invented the nonflip mattress to entice us. Of course there are some like my hubby cannot understand why nonflip no need to flip and the mattress can be maintain. I also dunno...but we woman are such suckers for new technology or invention..

Jazz: Your firdge very cheap leh..somemore big..hm...what colors it comes in? I tot most fridge open from left to right?

Shook: My wall also on the right side so i also cannot open 180 degrees. FYI, i went to courts yesterday and Mitsubishi fridge got discount. The 508l one selling for S$1169. Which i am considering.

Sue: i also hope that my gown will be nice...after 1st fitting will let you know.

SLK: Maybe he escape to canada to do some serious thinking? Sometimes u need to get away to see the big picture.

I have got a friend who was pregnant with the 1st baby when she walked into her home's guest room and found her hubby in bed with another woman. Dont know whether to give credit to the husband that at least he has the conscience not to do it on their bed but in the guest's room. They are now divorced and she is bringing up the daughter herself.

hi clyne
we're intending 2 go 4 EE in march 03 as well. do u noe which weekend it'll be?
btw, are u guys catholic as well?

hi bombom,

I'll be going for the 14/3-16/3 weekend..
I'm a catholic but my FH is not..
I guess those getting married ard Oct/Nov will go for the Mar weekend..
I just check the website..there's 2 session in Mar- one in mid Mar, the other in end Mar..there's 4 couples currently on the list in mid Mar and none in end Mar..

Thanks for the warm welcome. Wah look like i am misssing alot. Saw a few posting on the mattress, look like time for me to add in something here.

Hei girls, have u try this mattress center at Aljunied Rd. It is very near to the Aljunied MRT. They are truely cheaper than Mega Mattress, they give free delivery too. I am eyeing on one of the dunlop mattress that have a layer of special foam on top so when u sleep on it. it is very comfy, they only quote be $899, free delivery too.

I got my mitsubish fridge at Hoe Kee at only $850 for a 400++L I also like to have a big big fridge so i can put in a lot of things alot only two of us in the house but i plan for future mah. Too bad lah, we tested that if we get a fridge too big, whenever we need to open the fridge, we would need to stand at the toilet doorway to open it... *sigh* too bad so i have to downsize them.

I got a samsung washer too at a neighbour store. belive me u can bargain for it. sometime it is cheaper than what u get in Best or Court etc.

There is a electrical shop at Bt Merah. Is is just opp the old HDb or at the henderson industrial. Forgot the name of the store. selling things very cheap too.

Check that out girls.

hi clyne
same 4 me! i'm catholic but he's not... so which church u getting married in? ours will be at holy family at east coast...
btw, could u tell me the EE website add pls?
thanks!!!
11036.gif

Hi Flowee jie,

thanks for ur regards!

Hi Yi Jie,

Preparation 7788 liao lor. Now keeping fingers crossed.. kekekee...

I guess that's normal. Sometimes me and my hubby plan where to eat beforehand. But when it comes to weekends or special occasions, i change my mind.. hahaha.. then end up we eat something else :P

The photos nice nice.. but blur lor, so cannot really see ur WG well
The EG very nice! Wah, u very tall hor? I so short, when it is my turn to wear gowns, i think i will look like potato

Hi Jazz,

I am very tempting to get a bed form Lami international. But they dun allow discount, same for Melandas.

Is Melandas that bad? I considering their bed too.