(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Jan, were you the one who wants to use London Cab as wedding car? Can u give me yr email address? I will let u know the details. Thanks.

Hi Lorraine,

when the time comes, i would need ur advice on how to work "smart".. hahaa... so i guess u must have been a "smart" student

I'm amazed at the activity on this thread. I'm lost too! It's really getting exciting.

Hi MMAY, don't worry. Beibei is the earliest to do do her PS, I think. I'm only going for my gown design this afternoon. Think I'll be the latest for photoshoot, cos FH is away and won't be back til mid-April. Then he has to get his suit done. Our PS will only be in May.

Hi Piper

Exactly same sentiments here!
Previously, I never like B/W photos, but after seeing Benny's works, I kinda of captivated by those moments being captured....

N same problem too....I'm still evaluating abt the cost....it's really beyond what I've budgeted....

hi kk mei,

why cannot give headlights as present.
hubby likes cars u see, tatz y like to beautify his car alot.

ya lor, hubby and i also like to experiment different shakes and blend. he say he is trying out something new this weekend. hehehe

o, we got our oven early this year liao but oso seldom use. i bake cookies a couple of times though. maybe sld start cooking with it liao.

why next year not free?

mmay,
hi!I have roughly chose my locations but don't know if my photographers would think it is convenient or not!

Besse,
Looking at the weather nowadays I really wish for sunny day on 22/11 ah!I dun mind hot weather but just that my hubby hate the heat!Keeping my fingers crossed though!

Hi lyne,

i can email to u but i need your email add mah!

very blur pics lah coz scanner lousy mah!

hi vodka,

glad u enjoy your ps yesterday.

u r rite, the photographer is very important in making the bride & groom feel at ease for the ps.

my photographer joked with us and took pics when we are not aware so rather natural lor!

hi cherry,

i think it is a form of courtesy for them to meet and discuss abt their children's wedding.

i insist that my hubby arrange for it though!

I think a bridal shower is something like a hen's nite?

hi jen,

i did not wax my hands and was not requested to do it too leh!

btw, i saw goldheart having 20% storewide discount.

hi freesia,

generally, i think for b/w photos, the focus will be on the people rather than the color. once the color element is removed, you can concentrate better on the "feel" of the photo.

so which other photographers have u shortlisted? i'm still sourcing ard, getting quotations & stuff. very headache now.

My thinking is that actual day photographer is more important than studio one coz there's no rehersal & turning back on the actual day. If the photos are well taken on actual day, the prints will help us relive the atmosphere. think u all will understand what i'm trying to put across here...

Jen - wow!! 3 layers of make up!! sure or not??? i only know it'll be thicker than the actual day one....i don't think need to wax hand lah, i asked my makeup artist and she told me that it'll not show in the photos one.....i think a few of them are having sales some time back, don't know whether still have or not. Tianpo has a few variety and i feel that Poh Heng has very limited variety. I don't think Gold Heart has gold leh or only very little??

Yi - I know they shld meet up, but now if we were to arrange, it's either my father or his parents.....none of them wants to change their off days....headache ah....

err....what's a hen's nite?? sorry me sua ku l

Hi Shook,

That is the model, may be i got the capacity wrong. They have two kind, one is broader and the other is slimer kind. I got the slimer one.

jan2003,
that is the shop. we are thinking for getting the dunlop one but havent got it yet. that is the cheapest we come across. I fogotten the model. i think i will only recongise once i saw the mattress i wanted. the delivery is free, but whether prompt, i'm really not sure.

May, I went to the OM outlet at Marine Square and they only one bed to offer. nothing much to see, is there anymore other OM outlet i can visit?

We went to Marine Square Celini yesterday and saw a bed we may thinking of getting. Now knowing it is part of Novena really scare me off a bit. I went to Sungei Kadut on the weekend and saw Castilla is part of Novena but didnt come across Celini. Only know Celini, Melandas and Novena is local brand. The lady attendant told me their bed is ship over to Australia to sell. they are doing more on oversea sale. The wood they using at MDF - Mid Density Fibre. Which is of the mid range.

Sue: no not me. May is the one i think.

pausini: OM have no more outlets, one at IMM and the other one i kow is at centrepoint. do u happen to have the number for the shop selling the mattress. thought of giving them a call to ask if i buy now they can deliver in Apr 03 or not? also want to check out prices. mega is selling the dunlop ortho care for $799 for queen. so pretty much within my budget. if can get it cheaper of cos even better. yes, i went to celini at marina square. saw the bed i like that's why asking for advice. but now realised the bed is very expensive. bed frame alone is already $1200, this is even more expensive than our mattress?? looks like our taste quite similar
i also like bed from melandas and OM. sigh but expensive. still thinking about it.

Hi Yi Jie,

Hee..no lah, not that cannot give. Just find it cute lor.. kekeke..

I want blender because some desserts require pre-blending. Especially those jelly that is strawberry-flavoured, etc so must blend the fruits first lor.

Next year start teaching already. Then go NIE in July. Will be very stressed, so no time lor.. kekekeee... somemore a lot of wedding preparations to do!

HI Jan2003,

I dun have the number with me now. going over to FH house tonite. I will get it from him and post it tm. Can wait?

I like the bed in Melandas and Celini too. I dun mind paying for 1K++ for the bed. we doesnt want to get something we dun like and face the items day after day. i think bed and mattress is something that is going to be with u for 3 - 5 years so we really want to get something we really like. So end up, the things we getting are more expansive, of course better quality.

I think u can still negotiate with the person in Celini if u really like the bed. we talk to the lady and she said if we really like she can do something to it. May be the price or throw in more freebies.

Jen,

I bought mine 2 wks bac when Aspial n Soo Kee have 30-32% discount but now no more liao. But Soo Kee havin another promo, a diamond fair.

if u lookin for classic designs, i suggest u go to those traditional goldsmit like On Cheong, faster svc. e.g. my tennis bracelet too long, they can alter 4 me immediately (abt an hr) n oso deduct the balance fr price. I bought another diamond bracelet fr Soo Kee n it was oso too long. Was told tat i must keep the remainder after they alter the length n they dun deduct the price...so end up pay 4 workmanship 2 make the remainin diamonds into a pendant. N they cant do it immediately for me, must wait for 2 weeks.

Wax no use one, I used La Mer's refinin scrub 2 scrub my hand the mornin of PS n then moisturise them wif body lotion.

Yi,

My photographer is Robin n he's sure a funny guy. He was great n easy 2 work wif n veri accomodatin too.

hi meow... yes you r rite, me and hubby both are buffet ppl!!
for dim sum, i dun noe of any buffet, but if ala carte, i will recommend you hong xin, which is opp central mall. long history of serving good dim sum. else, can also try teahouse (under tung lok grp) @ china sq, heard its pretty good too, and they serve dim sum all day. wanted to go but yet to hv the chance.

meow, ava... thanx for all your suggestions. now hubby say want to try get restaurants in hotels, or those in not so busi buildings, so our entrance not like we juz went shopping and happen to walk in!
so will start seeking the hotels out. am quite interested in tsui heng at hotel asia, any info from there?

hulo gals..

so buzi for past few days.. how's things so far? think i miss out alot hor?

Are,
There are some restaurants in my mind .. but not sure whether w/in your budget or not..

(1) Prima Tower
(2) Copthorne Orchid Hotel ( think there's a restuarant there... ? )
(3) Teochew Restaurant at Centrepoint
(4) Rivercity Restaurant (think at Excleisor hotel?)
(5) think there's a Dragon Restaurant at Raffles shopping centre .. ?

ehh .. tat's abt all from me.. pai say hor..i'm not sure of their exact full names ..

Did you buy the bridal magazine to check out?

twink|ets ~

hi kk mei,

oic, no lah since hubby loves cars so much so i
might as well gives him something he likes and
wld use everyday. hehehe
anyway, oso run out of ideas what to give liao!

oh, u like to make dessert alot hor?

oic, next year teacher liao huh?
dun worry lah, wedding nothing much to do until
closer to the date 1!
like me and hubby, now still very free although
wedding is 3 months' time coz we dun koe what to
do leh! hehehe

Hi everibodi

My hubby and I very kiasu, already book the wedding banquet already. As all of u maybe aware of the increase of GST to 5% next yr so we start 2 look out 4 potential places 4 our wedding earlier this May.

My actual day is 15/11/2003 and have already book Crown Prince Hotel for our wedding banquet.

hi cherry,

i koe how difficult it is to arrange but if really
both parties dun mind not meeting then let it be.
for me, i insist coz i feel that it is a form of
respect for my parents coz they marrying their
daughter off.

dun be so vexed out okay?

o, a hen's nite is something like a bachelor's
nite before wedding.

hi vodka,

ya, itz good to have a good photographer.
I have a friend whose photographer is lousy so
photos dun turn out well. she was so sad!

hi bink!!!

We are going to wed on the same day!
11108.gif

Mine will be at Holiday Inn Park View.

Hee.. u are not the only kiasu 1 here.. there are tons of us here ...

cheers,
twink|ets ~

Afternoon Yi Jie,

Moreover, whenever he see the head lights, he will think of u.. hahaa... :P

I have been making desserts every weekend.. kekeke... I do enjoy cooking a lot, not just desserts
Now cooking lunch and dinner has become very common for me when i am at sk

Oh yah, ask u something hor. For shoes hor, need to buy those with beads on them wan? Would it only look nice and appropriate with small beads on? If no beads, will it look too casual?

Hi Pausini/Jan,

Since you like the bed, maybe, you might consider getting it there? But you just have to watch out for their service, call them regularly to ensure that the delivery is not delayed, and remember to state in the delivery list that all defects will be rejected etc. Check if all the goods are intact, no defects etc. Just keep a close eye on them.

For me, I sourced around for bedframes, but because I can't really find any of what I wanted. The closest was actually Novena, but after all the incidents that I've heard, I decided not to. I custom-made the bedframe, and it cost about the same.

*grin* My fren's family had to call the guy from Novena to come down personally to take a look at what happened to the cupboard 'cos the staff didn't believe it.

Shook, finally found the name card. It's called Maximum Credit Co at Blk 121, #01-12. The number is 62763331, the person is called Vincent. My fren recommended me this shop. She bought her electrical appliances from there.

Btw, I passed by Taka yesterday, saw the mattress section so asked the lady on the Dunlop ortho mattress. She confirmed no need to flip the ortho care mattress.

HI Jazz,

I also got my washing machine at Maximum Credit Co at Bedok. Actually i was thinking of getting the cooker as well but they didnt have the cooker with floral design. most of them are the metallic brown so i only get the washer.

I think i am the very very particular person. so if there is any defect i will call and complaint till they come down to change it for me.

I got my 3 seater sofa at Harvey Norman. Is a full leather that cost us 1.6k

One the day of delivery, we spotted there is two tiny hole on one of the seats. So happen we spotted it after the delivery men left so i called up the sale person at the show room to report my case. He is very nice and after he consult his manager and checked that there is still stock in his warehouse. he offered to change the sofa the next day without any much question ask.

We dun know how the hole came about, but we are very statisfy with this service.

I am a very service oriented person, i expected good service from them else i dun want to buy the item no matter how good it is.

I dun know what u girls think?

Hi Yi,

actually i also feel that his parents don't really respect my parents when his mum simply say don't need to meet, just ask your parents to list down what they wants...kind of angry you see....nvr mind lah...see how it goes lor....looks like we have to accodomate their schedule which is always the case (even for our wedding date)....they even expect my parents to go to their shop and discuss if we really want to meet....like so bo chap hor...

yup, i agree a good photographer is crucial, my fren's one is no good, taking all the series photos and end up that unless she choose to upgrade to magazine style, she don't have much photos since they are all similar...

pausini: of cos can wait. take your time. agree with you we will be spending alot of time on the bed, that's why i think i have to rework my budget see if can spend more on bed and mattress and less on the others. which celini you go to? the one at marina? i got served by this guy, he only offered 10% discount. nothing more.
service i feel so very important. will check out harvey norman since you gave positive feedback. understand they sell beds too. which one is the biggest and best? any idea? i know some of their branch very small.

Jazz: thanks for asking for dunlop. definitely on my target list. price still within my budget.

Shook: did you try out other mattress at mega before you decided on dunlop's ortho care? need some advice from you so that i can narrow my target list.

do agree that actual day photographer is v impt,cos there's no turning back,and if u get a real lousy one, then u can't flare up at on the actual day,and u can't do retakes!!

benny is too ex ... i might consider choon huat though

Beibei,

Thank you, I got your pix. Wow, your gown is simple and nice. So happy for you. How I wish mine is ready too, but not so soon cause I am only going down to Kai next month though already signed up with them. BTW, who did you sign up with?

my ILs oso like tat, veri bo chap....quite frustratin sometimes. but at least they r willin 2 cooperate eventually lah....just a bit leh cheh lor. but better than those super ma fun ones rite, everythg oso wan2 hav a say n do it their way.

i feel so fake thruout the PS, so scared the fotos turned out veri drama, posey, plastic...now me so anxious 2 c how the fotos turn out.

hi all.....

bijou - the package is the normal package.

cherubies - yah i got my designs from websites and foreign mags too... indeed they r more creative!!!

flowee- i'd decided on picture box - marcus mok cos like the way he uses colours that match well with pictures taken, and he take sharp pict too!!

me will be meeting up FL this week to discuss designs. how about the rest of you?

and of course been real busy shopping for furniture....

Hi freesia,

Glad to know that u are staying there too...so when is the tentative completion date for ur flat? Mine is next yr Dec...If I'm not wrong, ur flat is the furthest one from the MRT station, right?? And urs is all 5 rm..am I correct???... Mine is the 2nd block nearest to the MRT station..and the progress is still quite slow...Dun think I'll be getting it before wedding.. SOP SOP...Yes I'm staying with my hubby only...U staying with in laws??? Nice to know a neighbour here (though a few blocks away)

Hi twinlets

So coincidence. We'll be having wedding on the same day.

So is there anybody having any catholic church wedding as we will be having one?

hi kk mei,

wow, become housewife already huh?

shoes? u mean wedding shoes?
mine is without beads, itz just with silverish
shiny dust which makes it shining.
got it from OG Albert at S$31.90.

as for teadress, i got a pair of red shoes at
METRO for S$19.90 only.

hi bink!!!
my wedding will be at holy family church on nov 8... think clyne n ava are having catholic church weddings as well???
are u going for MPC or EE?
welcome to the nov 2003 club!!!
11126.gif

hi cherry,

o, tatz bad!
for me, better coz MIL oso feel that both parents
must meet so easier lor.

PILs dun really bother much abt wedding preps.
when we decided on merchant court, just go back &
tell them and they are okay wif it.

now, me waiting to shop for my si dian jin that
MIL wld be bringing me to choose.

we make things easier by letting them meet during
food-tasting lor.

hi vodka,

itz normal to long to see the pics after ps.

i'm like that too. only after seeing then feel
relieved and settled to study for exam.