(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi freesia,

Oh! So you are the culprit! :P

It's ok lah. I'm sure HappyGal will find a venue which she likes.

Sweets,
Tot indoor and outdoor on one day can be very tiring...so pay extra $50 to have it separately..now only hope 22nd Nov dun rain ah!!
my indoor on 17th nov sun.pray hard for 22/11/02!

Now flipping thru bridal mag and see see which kind of poses i like for my photoshots...ya.must maintain or even lose some weight if not will spoil my gowns and the photos!!

So I am the first one taking photoshoots among June 03 brides??

HappyGal has already decided on Amara Hotel rite??
And I think she's gonna have a poolside reception too,izzit??? She's still a HappyGal!

Rite, HappyGal???

Hihi Pansini
The only Mitsubishi 3 door fridge dat I found is MR-V42J-M. Dun think the capacity is 490 litre. I will check it out the next time.

Been a while since I joined you all.

Looks like things are going rather smoothly for all...

So Yi, where are your photos that Cherry saw?

See see leh...share leh :P

meow... i went 3 restaurants yesterday, dragon pearl, long jiang & ocean garden. oni liked dragon pearl@taka cos of the food they serve and within my budget lor. thinking of visiting teochew garden@republic plaza and grand city@raffles city. would like to have suckling pig and yam paste in the menu so a bit restricted lor. other tung lok restaurants are either too ex or out of the way... sigh... so headache...

A few days of not checking posts, and I'm just lost now.

Beibei, must show pics of your beautiful gowns okay? And don't worry. It WILL NOT rain on 17th Nov! *dances sundance*

By the way, has anyone heard from Besse? Besse, just in case you're reading, I've emailed you a week ago regarding the brief itinerary for my UK trip. But no reply, so was wondering if I've got the right email address?

Are,
You want to try Brilliant Garden at Chevrons(Jurong)? Their package not very ex. Starts from $398 nett with free flow of beer. If possible, take their ballroom. Last time i went there for one dinner at dragon pearl. His family comments the food not very tasty. Can consider Dragon gate too. Food not bad but got 2 pillars for the small ballroom and 4 for the other.

Hi Gals...

Thanks for all your welcome
Really feel that we are on family
Ya its seems a hot day on 07 Dec....

I have already sign up wif Thomson Wedding Design and now still search for wedding dinner venue... very headache cos we only have abt 22-24 tables... very limited places.... u all gals have any recommendations? Actually quite like M hotel but its booked on that day.
So "hot" day as i said.

Wat u all think of Crown prince? Please help me!!!

are... wat abt the revolving rest @ WTC.... my cousin had hers there... the food not bad leh...

had a wedding @ dragon pearl @ taka last yr nov... I did not go coz grandfather passed away last yr nov... but hubby went... but went for their extra table treat... the food soso...

ya tung lok ones are ex... when to their bridal show in sept with x-zen... 700+++... too ex for a rest which was formerly a disco....

leo... hee ya beary forgetful nowadays.... haiya... maybe too many things in my mind... and Feb like beary long time ago leh...

sorrie meow... left out your 2nd qn... we're looking @ 25-28 tables, else i would be able to go for charming garden.

bink.. sorrie spell your nick wrongly!

HI Micky M,

what's your budget like? how abt orchard hotel. My FH said the food there not bad...but the hotel a bit old.

Hi sunshine, u very observant eh! Thks for adding my bridal shop!

Wow, i can hardly keep up with u gals, really an excited bunch of brides-to-be!!

Always felt Beaufort is a very romantic place for weddings, across the sea, in a little castle, on a little isle, ah... the perfect setting for a fairy-tale wedding... *dreamz* But then, my FH says no, too far, too troublesome for guests... sigh, too bad! I thought it's usually the old folks who minds, but then again, some exercise may do them good!!

Mickey,
Sorry, the only thing i know abt crown prince is that their mooncake very nice!! hehe! Or how abt hyatt? Their hibiscus ballroom shd do fine, i think min is 25 tables, but u can bargain down one... happy hunting!

meow, amore... thanx for all your suggestions. i'm also quite concerned abt transportation lor, dun want the relatives to complain and make our parents lose face, so the jurong one shd be out. as for the WTC ones, my dad also say very far, so out also. me and hubby actually like dragon gate. went there for their ala carte buffet once, was so good we wished we could eat all the dishes!
ha... here's another suggestion for a buffet, muz go if you a buffet person! ;P

we r not teochew, but my hubby like yam paste lor. so tho' we prob wun get to eat much, juz tot we would like these two 'better' dishes.
will change the menu. so far, all i visited say can, but muz find one restaurant i like 1st!

Hi Naturally...

Thanks for the recommendations.. but heard from fren the food there is served cold...

So u still thinking of your fairy tale wedding huh... so u looking for where now?

I also need contacts for contractors.
can you all can give me your frens' contact via email to [email protected] too.

Happy
My new flat is also in Punggol. Should be collecting keys next year too. Mine is at 638. Where is yours?

Hi kk,
haha! I am a secondary school teacher. I am teaching maths as well. So have you got your school posting? You so lucky. You will in NIE when you get married in october.
So now you understand why I see stress next year. ;)

hi micky_m

MM quotes 659 for weekday dindin, and u get free flow of beer, plus 1 free table for bookings above 20 tables (i think) if u sign up now!

service and food pretty good there! and u get corkage waived for wine too!

oops .. 2 excited, hit the submit button 2 early .. hahahah

anyway, jbride: me confirmed with leon lim for make up oredi!!!! was ur sister happy with his work last year? yeeaaaahhh .. not going 4 upgrade to 15R ... u checking out with utopia rite? pls let me know how u feel okie? and who u taking for actual day photographer?

Jazz: you are right. i called to check. Celini same company as Novena, they handle different range that's all. now have to seriously think about it. Like May, i find their package for bed not bad lor. now have to re-think. very tired of looking around. Wah, cupboard drop off no joke, should have sued them. terrible if there was a baby there too. how can give such shoddy work. that's why i stop going to novena. didn't even consider it after my family's own bad experience and of cos my future sister-in-law's lah. can still remember her livid face! i same as Shook because of budget, looking at ortho care now. keep us updated if you happen to check if it needs flipping. thankyou.

May: Like your term very much, i nearly forgot about my playground!
if must flip then i will skip because hubby will be out of town often so no one help me to flip and of cos i must admit lah. lazy lor. will check out their website. see if they got other range that is affordable and need not flip. i no citibank or krisflyer card so.... will see how and keep you updated. have to say. you friend is very strong. if it happens to me, i really wonder if i can cope. sigh. woman sometimes ...... we give so much yet sometimes have to suffer like this. sigh. by the way, i also considering this bed at OM. but very expensive. without side table $1400+ more expensive then my budget for mattress that's why hesitating. you?

pausini: which one at aljunied? is it this one that is beside this building called CPA house and near coffee shop one? very much cheaper? you bought yours from there? how is the delivery, prompt? can share with us the model you buy and of cos price? sorry, so many question. now that May reminded me, i must get good mattress but yet stick to my budget. very shiong! i also considering Melandas bed leh. but very expensive. and the girls seem to have bad feedback on their service.

Shook: no problem. i forget about the taxi driver already. don't want to waste my time on them, not worth it. terrible man he was.

Hi freesia and Jacq,

Yes I'm staying at the new flats near Bukit Gombak that are still under construction...So feesia u quite observant huh...are u staying there also???

Are,
You say you prefer dragon date. But your dad say WTC is out. Isn't dragon gate at WTC? Actually, transport is not a very big issue for me. Maybe you can consider this as well. My FH has a big group of relatives that stay near Bt Panjang and Teck Whye(they used to stay in Lim Chu Kang). So he intend to cater some buses to bring his relatives there. That's what his cousins has been doing so far. 1st they dun have to worry of drinking too much cannot drive, second no problems on parking.Hee

Did you try Merchant Court? Some friends tell me its good.

Are,
What about QianXi? They got free flow beer and stout. Price not too bad neither. I've got some details from Dragon gate, QianXi. You interested can ask from me. Else tell me what restaurants you want, maybe i have their details

just came bac fr my PS n dead tired fr all the posin. It was rainin until late afternoon so din get to take alot of outdoor shots. Only went Conrad n took some photos in lobby, staircase, outside ballrm, at swimmin pool and outside of the hotel. Went Marina South after Conrad 2 take pics wif my dogs. Glad tat it's all over...enjoy it but felt veri fake/plastic the whole day n 2wards late afternoon my face cramp liao....kekeke.

Cherry, i tink it's normal 2 feel nervous, i was too excited 2 sleep last nite. N when i was at the studio, din noe wat 2 do...photographer told us 2 seat here, stand there, look up or down or sideways, tilt head up, slant, down...OMG. So funny n comical. When u r @ the studio n if u r really nervous, just tink abt all other brides, I'm sure all of us feel more or less the same unless the bride is a professional model...haha

Hi All!

Photoshoot? *panic mode* I haven't even narrowed down to a photographer yet! Anyone here using Ray Ong of Photo Language? His charges seem a bit more reasonable than like Andrew Choi or Chris Ling.

Beibei.... ok, me praying for you for nov 22. Have you chosen your locations yet?

Yi - hiazz...now don't know how to arrange liaozzz...my hubby also "wu to shiu"....

Lyne - hi hi!! how's your preps coming along?

Vodka - glad you enjoyed your photoshoot! haha....so cute the way you say abt the poses, i'm sure all of us will feel more or less the same lah...when it's my turn, i'll update you ok?

counting down now.....another 12 days tomy photoshoot..hehehehehehe

sorry forgot to ask you gals

what is a bridal shower?? my gf that day was asking me whether i would like to have one but she refuse to tell me what is it!!

hi micky_m

MM stands for marina mandarin lar!! aiyohh ... heard club chinois food not bad, but i dunno about the place and service though! other places u can check out are hilton, oriental, GH? i think marriott for weekday is pretty okay too!

Hi mio
Heehee...y I know? B'coz me oso going to stay there too!
Which block would u be staying at? Mine is that tallest one on the extreme left facing mrt track..forget abt block no...that block structure oreadi completed liao....

R u living with your hubby only? the second half of next year must be very xiong, rite? got wedding n flat preparations....heee...now one more common thing between us liao...

Hi piper, how's ur visit to Benny? Let us know ur comments, okay?

Dolphie..

Yup yup rec your email.. DANKS! I juz replied you ysday.. or was it today *eyes crossed*

no chance to log on for almoz a whole week...

Bei Bei.. i oso wanna see your photos.. will join dolphie in her sundance! ;) hehe.. but not too sunny ihope.. else you will be hot hot hot..

mmay... andrew choi's standard pricing quite pricy.. but if u like his style.. probably is worth it to pay for a once in a lifetime event... Anyone using Lynn Kong? I quite like her style..

Hi enya...

Sorry i type the wrong msg to u... actually wanted to ask icyflame whether she meant orchard parade hotel is club chinos.

But really thanks for your recommendations.

Are,
sounds like you love to eat buffet. Any idea of good and reasonably price dim sum besides Dragon gate? My sis is having her banquet there. So don't wish to eat there again.

hey
11080.gif
looks like most of us has settled our banquet & bridal
11081.gif

Here's the update...sorry if i miss anyone
11082.gif

enya 02 Dec , KAI , MM
jbride 07 Dec , KAI , Inter-Con
happygal 07 Dec , JLC , Amara
freesia 07 Dec , - , Holiday Inn
Sunshine 07 Dec , BV , Beaufort
mickey_m 07 Dec , Thomson Wedding Design , -
Babydoll 13 Dec , - , GH
Ming 13 Dec , - , Sheraton
piper 18 Dec , Milan , Grand Corpt
Jacq 18 Dec , Milan , Hilton
Naturally 21 Dec , Le Galleria , GH
EL 28 Dec , GHA , -
Mio 28 Dec , JLC , GH
Babyblue 28 Dec , Divine Couture , Conrad

enya, my sis is very satisfied with Leon's makeup...i like it too..i've arranged an appt with Utopia this sat to view the 8R & 15R...will keep u update
11083.gif
i've not source for my actual day photographer yet...but i've seen some of their websites...will start sourcing next week...how abt u?

btw, happygal, freesia, sunshine, mickey,
have u guys confirmed any actual day photographer?
can share share...then i dun have to meet them if u guys have taken them
11084.gif

Vodka - I share your thoughts that most brides would feel rather artificial with the thick make-up....esp my make-up artiste specialises in Taiwanese style...i remember he applied at least 3 layers of powder for me and i tried not to smile too hard as i was worried it might crack ....hehe...actually, my beautician made the mistake of squeezing a few pimples on my face a few days prior to the photo-shoot....so end up he make-up could not cover the pimples marks...but luckily with the touch up on the photos, the pimple marks seem to "disappear" !! As I do not have the habit of applying mascara and fake eyelashes....i don't feel comfortable applying them esp when i wear contact lenses....however, my hubby liked it as he said i looked like a doll...hehe...

btw, did your bridal shop ask you to wax your hands? Being blur blur that day, i was "conned" to wax my hands which cost $20 as they claimed that my hands would appear smoother on photos! I don't think it's worthwhile as i couldn't really see much effect on the photo...

Do u gals know of any jewellery shop having promotion? Need to start looking out 4 si dian jin liao....

Hi Lorraine,

Hahaha..coincidence! What else are u teaching besides maths?

I have not got my school posting. Will get roughly one month before starting work rite?

Why am i lucky?? I thought NIE is equally stressful?? In fact more stressful??

hello everyone...

the visit to Benny's studio was good. Personally, i feel that his b/w shots are better than the colored ones. According to him, the color photos are more of the wedding process and for people who are posing for the shots.

The b/w are more "spontaneous" (dunno if i got the spelling correct). anyway, the b/w are the so called "moments" shots. I feel that they are more natural as the people are not posing and the mood and atmosphere is well captured.

The studio shots are taken very well as well. There are details which we fail to see but Benny has managed to bring out these details.

But one big obstacle : his charges. A bit on the high end. Think i'll look around for more photographers b4 committing.

Who else has visited Benny? Please comment as well...

Hi kk,
I teach Computer Application.
In NIE, you are a student. At least you will have more time to prepare than in school. If you can work "smart", NIE is actually your honeymoon period. ;)

Clyne

sorry...it's SVDP...st vincent de paul ;)
hvnt decided yet cos SVDP is near our new home and my FIL also ;) will c how lah... most likely CTK ;) me also not that 'on' lah ;) only when i was younger...

Are

Dragon City food is good... but it might be a little small and pricey...

Meow

Dim Sum... how abt the one at Arena Club in Jurong...food also quite gd...but very far leh...
i'll go think some more than let you know

For all Buffet lovers...
Goodwood park hotel is having a one for one promotion now
I'll be going tomorrow ;) hee he ehee ;p
it's 27+++ for 2 persons but must pay by UOB credit card cos' it's a promo with that card.