(2003) Brides of year 2003

hi flowee,

maybe that is a good date, but haven't checked out w FIL. not sure if they want to come down for ROM cos the plane tix from mauritius quite ex. About S$1K.

Actual day booked with bridal shop cos have seen their posed & journalistic pix. Quite nice and not bad. Not getting dream car. Booked the big-small eye merc from them too. Too lazy to go & source liao. Let the shop handle for me and lesser headache

Checked out the london cab ($550) but my parent objected. OSO, I checked out before, to rent a BMW for actual day cost S$900+. Actually, company director got jaguar but decided not to borrow from him cos dunno whether want to change jobs or not...

Hee hee, choped 1st since FH liked it very much

I'm sure ur designer would come up with a very beautiful gown for u

Hihi May
U may like to check wif the sales personnel if u can have the fridge door open fm the right. Yrs back when I shifted hse, the sales personnel said they can fix the hinge 4 the door to be opened fm the right or left. However u gotta specify when u place order. Once the hinge is fixed, they can't change it again.

Hihi SLK
Feel so sorry 4 ur sis. Tis creates chaos to ur family. Did ur sis had a gd talk wif ur BIL? May b they can go 4 counselling. Hope things turn well 4 ur sis eventually.

Just want to share with you all my MTM gowns!!
I went for MTM gown fitting on Sun as well as trial makeup!!Initially I had this fear that they might not turn out to be what I want..luckily my bridal shop managed to give me what I want exactly!!really ao happy!!My trial makeup was perfect!!looking for my photoshooting this 17th and 22nd!

hi flowee,

ya lor, about 3 months away from my BIG day.
now exams over, can divert all my attention to
my wedding liao. so happy and relaxed! hehehe

yap, mike and my birthday ard the corner
dun koe what we wld be doing though but he ask
me what i want for birthday liao.

the feeling of owing your own place good rite?
so happy for you, finally love nest ok liao.

sure, wld share with you my 3 miserable pixs.

me too
i felt relieved after i've settled my banquet, bridal & photography
10971.gif
i'm sourcing for my actual day photography & will try to get it done by next few weeks

freesia,
my sis has engaged Margaret & Benny for her wedding last year...she's very pleased with her gown & photos

enya, i'll start my gown design after CNY too
10972.gif
it's supposed to be ard May but kath suggest that i can start early...

hi cherry,

dun worry so much abt your photoshoot lah.
u real paranoid leh!
dun worry abt the weather coz let nature takes it
course and relax coz the more u worry, the more
things dun go your way.
as for my photoshoot, that day raining and the
sky cloudy also but photos turn out okay.

dun koe when i wld be sending the cards for
printing leh. yap, i have all the time now to
plan for my wedding liao.

Wow .. few days din come in & here has become so busy!!
Abit gabra now .. hee..
How's day today ?

Juz back from holiday,& have increased 2 to 3 kgs! GOSH! GOSH!!! I'm going to start my diet & exercise plan again. So demoralizing ..
10974.gif

Weight seems like a yoyo game.. goes up .. & goes down .....

I'm so worried I cant slim down by next yr Feb u noe .... sighs ..

Ehh .. i'm not counting down the days yet .. not really really extremely excited abt it lor .. 'cos still "bah bah" mah .. hence cant keep my enthusiasm up..
10975.gif

Bom Bom,
There's alot of websites that offer cute emoticons. You can go to the below link & surf aro.

http://www.emotipad.com/links.html

Are,
The marriage preparation workshop sounds interesting & good. I think both me & my FH will engage in session like this too. Btw, where's this session conducted at? How many hrs? 1 day?
I also strongly feel that all couples should attend this kinda session lor. At least it gives you a clearer picture of how marriage life will be liked, & how ur FH always feel abt you, stuffs like tat. It openly gives us the chance to say all things up, which most of the times we both tend to suppress deep inside us.

Today can't lobor too much, 'cos so many stuffs to clear.
10976.gif
Arrrrrgghhh .. ok later..!

cheers,
twink|ets ~

Are,
Thanks for the advise, dun think i'll spent the money on that. Will rather spent it on my photographer. Since i only wear it once. Actually there is one that i think it looks good. Its actually a Qi pao. But wonder if it'll look awkward to wear one.

Oops, Freesia! Sorry for the mix-up, just realised the other freesia in P21 threads doesn't have a registered nick!
So where will u be staying?

Didn't visit Margaret brides nor Dang, so can't offer any comments, but since u feel comfortable with margaret, why don't u consider her? Like enya says, service very impt! Wat matters is whether u feel comfortable with her or not...
As for negative comments on the forum, well take it with a pinch of salt, it doesn't mean u will have the same bad experience, right?? Who knows maybe u will have a much better working relationship with your bridal shop, now that u know wat to look out for!

Hi enya,
We've booked the grand ballroom at gh, it was love at first sight, hehe!

U're at MM, right? Me attending a colleague's dinner there this fri, at Les Oiseaux, is yours the same ballroom? Will feedback next week!

twinklets,
Jus wondering how do you input them? I mean what's the command use? Is it the same as the one in this forum?

yi

u can finali enjoy ur plannin 4 ur weddin without the exams stress...

btw when u guo da li???

mine is this wkend...
wonder wat max had planned 4 mi... :P

its definateli nice 2 own my place finali after mths of renovation works...
cleanin up can b fun 2...
my neighbours r nice ppl 2...
there's a famili @ 13th sty ( directli under my unit )...
think they heard noises n the mum looks up from their kitchen n saw mi instructin max where 2 clean 4 the toilet louvres...
i said hi 2 her from my window... :P

tks 4 sharin ur nice nice weddin pixs...
veri nice...

Beibei, great to hear that the fitting went well. Now u are all geared up to be a "meimei" bride for your fotoshoot.

I did a lot of shopping last wkend - bought my dining table from Liano, hob/ washing machine from Ariston and fridge fr Indesit. Now the only last big items to buy is the bedframe and the aircon. And keeping my fingers crossed that I can sign off my ID firm today

Hi Enya....I'll be visiting Benny ....kinda of anticipation 'coz from the other Benny Ang's thread, there are all good positive comments abt his works.
However, his actual day rates are very high...

Hi jbride, your sister a satisfied customer with Margaret? Did she encounter any not in time delivery of products from Margaret? B'coz what I gather from the other thread is that she tends to do things last minute. And being brides, we would tend to be anxious...so I dun hope to c such things...since we value service so much....

Hi Naturally...oh...I dunno there's another Freesia in the forum...... =p

beibei,
nice to hear everything for the gowns turns out fine ...

so now must maintain "mei mei" ok... when ur photos are out ... must share share hor okie ?...
:P

wenn

mayb u can consider hvin ur rom in the rom premise in the mornin or hvin it durin ur weddin dinner @ noble hse...
able 2 save some money on airfare n also wont hv 2 pay 4 the rom expenses...
juz my thots...

i hvnt check out the actual daz photographer nor bridal car rental...

will b meetin my designer in dec 2 show her some pixs of my ideal gown...

Hi SLK,

Sorry to hear abt your sister. Like what Shook has said, hope that you sister and BIL can have a good talk to help savage the situation.

Hi Shook,

The model is Hitachi R-560MX, but 2 door. Hitachi also have 3 doors one, but with smaller capacity. My Hitachi cost abt $900 plus, cheaper than the Mitsubishi fridge (of the comparable range), but has higher capacity. I bought from the shop called Ban Kim Chuan. I need to go back home to get the contacts. I need to drop by to check out the name of the other shop at Alexandra.

Hi May,

I think you can check with the shops if they can help you get the ones that open from right to left. *puzzled* I thought that most fridge opens from right to left. Do you want to consider Hitachi if you don't mind? I got the Hitachi for abt $900 plus with 2 doors only, I think opens from right to left (I've a wall on the right side as well), capacity is abt 558litres (gross).

Hi Meow,

You gotta type ---> \ image{text}
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Note: there's NO spacing between \ &amp; image.</FONT> I gotta add spacing so tat can show u how to add the emoticons.
Once u type the words, as usual, go &amp; view your message. Then POST the message, it will prompt you which file u wanna add in. From there, go to search for your desired emoticon file.

Hope i'm not tat lou sor.

twink|ets ~

Hi are,

I'm also going to marriage preparation course..compulsory for me as I'm having a church wedding..
Glad to know both of u enjoyed it..

Hihi Jazz
I need 3 door fridge. Bcoz of space limitation, I can't open fridge door @ 180 degree. So, 4see a problem when opening the vege compartment.
I have the address of Ban Kim Chuan. Could u pls let me have the address 4 the one @ Alexendra.
U bought ur electrical appliances fm different shops? Me thot of geeting all fm the same shop so they can perhaps give better px n waive delivery charge.

hi twinklets... the course we attending is conducted by Reach @ Bishan. there are a lot of diff bodies conducting these workshops, you can check them out @http://www.aboutfamilylife.org.sg. but do give them a call and chk their schedule. ours is 4 sessions, 2 consec fri/sat. fri is 2hrs, sat is 4hrs. like wat you said, it does give us an opportunity to open up on issues, and learn from other couples.

meow... i wanted to wear a qipao for my ROM 2! ;P but too bad lah, my hubby look very funny in chinese collar, so had to drop the idea. we v siao, our 'theme' is casual, i'm in a short dress and he in short sleeve shirt, and both in red!

hi everyone!
jbride: u going 2 upgrade to 15R for ur photos? we are not going to .. budget budget budget! and now me sourcing 4 actual day photographer 2 ..videographer as well! what are your choices?

naturally: mine isn't at Les Oiseaux ... that's on level 5! mine is on the level 1 .. the bigger ballroom! do let me know what u feel about the food and service okay? the grand ballroom at GH is HUGE!! it can seat up to 50 over tables right? wow! did u sign up at the show to enjoy the perks then?

freesia: i think service is really v impt .. benny ang not bad, but not 2 sure about actual day rates, do u have any idea? let me know!

did any of u book daniel for your emcee?

opps... so sorrie all... dun know why the previous msg was uploaded twice.

hi clyne... glad to hear you going too. do go with an open mind and try to participate in the discussions. there are a few couples in my class who are very quiet, so in the end, the more vocal ones (me included of coz
) juz tok and the counselor had such a hard time to get them to open up. i brought up a prob and another couple who have gone thru it gave us some solutions and i think they were really useful!

May: Yes interested. which one gallery you go to? backcare 1, ok or not? never tried it before. any others on offer? felixity out of my budget. i thought you got good buy. with the pillows etc and can deliver in feb, ok. i need mine delivered in apr. so have to ask around see if they hold.

Maya: i also got to know about flipping of mattress from the sales people who sold mattress. according to them if the mattress we purchase is not flip-proof, every 3 months must rotate the mattress! i was horrified lah of course. all my years of sleeping, i never flip my mattres before at all. wonder if it's necessary and they insist it's a must! so i was puzzled. Shook has given us the best description for all the bed parts!
must thank her for all the detail description! let's wait for Jazz to come back about the flipping part, she's going to check with mega mattress! as for buying from JL or Robinsons, i think like the rest of the girls. mega mattress like offer better deal except no installment payment lor. i think i should get mine from them lah. but trying to avoid paying 5% GST so must see how. i bought furniture from vhive before. ok only. this chair which my mum bought didn't last us for more than 1 year though. the legs which is made of metal started to turn rested then eventually it was broke.

SLK: you ok? must be tough for your sis now. agree with the rest. see if they can talk it out. you to stay above water too for yourself and you sis. terrible thing to happen but i guess we all know such things do happen. now it's the salvage part that is going to zap up all the energy. i know. must be very busy and stress that's why you didn't log on to this forum. hope you are feeling better too. if need anyone to talk to, can always let us know.

Jazz: no problem. keep us updated on the flipping of mattress part. very curious now. good to hear mega is on time and thanks for the update on barang barang. i wanted to get the sofa bed from them. now i think i have to think twice. why like that, very bad of them. however have to say, this very common in the furniture industry. my family bought dining table set from novena. no good. when the chairs came, alot of chip off on table and chairs. all the people so is used paint and marker to touch up. they refuse to exchange. so terrible. they say very common for touch up jobs! anyway terrible, my future sister in law got their bed from them too. didn't arrive on time, think it was one day late! so terrible because it was just a few days before their actual wedding date. how can have no bed! by the way, any bad comments from celini? i saw this bed but still thinking about it.

Shook: thanks a million for the detailed infor. have printed out your info so that i can read and sent to my fiance too. both of us very very confused. hahaha! you should have seen our frowns when the sales persons was sprouting all the technical terms of beds!
maybe i will try the balistier branch. the lady at jurong say not possible if my delivery date is in apr next year.

ALL: wanted to ask if there is gST charge on jewellery? if yes then i think we better buy early? by the way, just realised this weekend when i went ikea that they can only store your items for you for 14 days. every extra day is a $5 charge. so terrible. we not aware of this, pick out items then realised. end up had to put items back. lucky not that many items.

hi flowee,

ya lor, i would be buying stuff from spotlight to
trial and error made my own wrist corsage this week. so happy and stress-free. hehehe

good to have nice neighbours.
we also just exchange house and mobile nos. with our neighbours too. they are all yound couples.

o, your birthday this weekend hah?
so how u celebrating?

the pixs abit blur hor?
thanks for your positive comments.
real glad that it turns out well.

Hi are,

Oh oh, I'm those quiet ones..shy lah..
The open discussions are up to individuals whether they want to share isit?
I'll be attending EE which will be over 1 weekend..guess the topics are more or less the same..

Hihi Jazz
If u r going to Mega Mattress, can help me to check if Dunlopillo artho care mattress needs flipping?

Hihi Jan
U r most welcome. I was oso bomb wif the technical jargon intially.

Thx 4 the info on Novena n Ikea.

flowee,

yup, have included customary date for ROM date consideration... now waiting for FH to talk to FIL.

thanks for ur suggestion

hi clyne... dun worry.. after you get warmed up after a while, then up to you the extend you want to share. but they are juz tots, dun have to tell if you are uncomfortable. in any case, you shd be discussing 'anticipated' probs, so juz say whatever your tots are, there are no rite or wrong answers! ;P

Hi Lollol,
Welcome and CONGrats! i ask the temple to check for the auspicious date, maybe you can ask your MIL to check for you..think must not "chong" the sheng xiao of the couple and both their parents

Hi kk,
Heee..Equinox is quite romantic place except that it gets abit crowded towards the nite...more like a family, friends gathering restaturant..price is slightly cheaper than Compass Rose...think I prefer Compass Rose more cos it is more serene and not so crowded. Did you work in MINDEF last time?

Hmm..my hubby not too bad lah..sometimes we just have to hint hint abit that we want surprises esp for birthday/ROM day etc ..kekeke..
Yup..my flowers already withered ..so fast..think roses are more lasting than tulips

I also wanted to enrol for the marriage course but was rejected by my hubby. He says he has 100% faith and confidence, so no need... aye...what to say?

I bought a daniel yam dress for my rom in June. Now, its washed and kept in my wardrobe. Maybe I will wear it to the tea ceremony next year.
Qi Pao needs courage and high self esteem to wear it nicely. Must walk lady like too. :p

Jazz, you going to MegaM tomorrow? Pls find out if the prices are really reasonable. I saw in the papers on Sun that they were offering KK and Dunlop Queen for as low as $300-$400. Got so cheap meh? Also, what's this flipping thing? I really didn't know abt this until this forum. What's so impt abt flipping? Or is it something that they try to con you into getting something more ex?

Ladies, after all that talk and search, I bought a Whirlpool fridge, something never considered until I was at Courts. This Court sales guy is very knowledgeable and sincere and he spent abt an hr explaining the diff types of fridge, models, what's good, bad, what to watch for. At the end, I think I'm quite convinced that WP is one of the better models. I've known all along that WP is good but a bit pricey but after listenng to him, lookng at the models, touching them, I went for the WP 420l at $939. Also, altho we found lower prices at other places for this fridge, the free gift, and gift vouchers abt make up for it so am quite satisfied with my purchase.
Now I'm looking for a WP washer too.....
Ok, for furniture, any recommendations for quality and decent pricing? I thot vhive was quite ok but seems like some of you have so-so experience with them. What abt Picket and Rail? I got my bed set from them at a fantastic discount ($999 vs $3000+) bec of the anniv sale. Tempted to get their latest sofa set ($999 vs $2000+)which had nice dark green, yellow, navy blue, maroon colours to chose from. Are their prices really that high or they jack up for the sale? I mean, a simple dressing table stool is like $300?? So ex one meh?
Any one know if Hoe Kee is cheap for bathroom accessories?

hi cherry and wenn,

ok, i wld email u the pixs
but they are quite blur so can't
really see properly coz scanner no good lah.

let me koe your comments okay?

I am also a tentative Sept bride...now looking out for banquets....and considering Amara and Meridien...anyone has any comments for these 2 hotels? TIA!

yi

u no heart ah???
dun remember mi nov baby also...

no plans on the celebration yet coz max din mentioned anythin...
but my mum she is bakin mi a bdaz cake like any other yr...

my neighbours aint young couples...
but there's a young couple opp my place whom i yet 2 meet...
sure hv chance 1 lor...

the pixs aint veri clear but can c lah...
mike sure looks happi with his beautiful bride 2 b beside him...

flowee,

of coz, i remember you're nov baby, but 4got the
date lah. izit 10 or 09 nov? sorry!
we also never make plans 1 coz make plans sure
never go as planned.

wow, so good, your mummy somemore bake cake

ya lor, mike smile in all pixs like that 1!
my frens oso say hez very happy huh? hehehe
thanks for your compliments
i'm really relieved that the pixs turn out well.

hi may,jan,shook,jazz,

thanks for your concern. my BIL is canadian chinese and last week, he suddenly disappeared..... only got a call a day later from him saying he's back in canada! what an irresponsible person

anyway, my sis is staying at my place now. they did talk a couple of times... also dunno what is the final conclusion.

sigh..... one of my good friends also recently found out that her hubby's having an affair.... so scary

btw jazz, my wedding is on 29 May 2003

hi sweetie... then you muz tell your hubby that the course does not only help you 'stay married', but it widens your tots on how to make the marriage more enjoyable! ;P

meow... i have finally confirmed my date!!! wat a nice day to get an answer finally, a mth from my 'legally married' status! now you can put a confirmed date in your list...

Hi Pucca
My best friend's not into the food thing. She's into the "mood" thing so she's spending a lot of time on the "mood" rather than evaluating the food. I believe that the food's not so good - normally for country clubs, their food not that fabulous.

Hi Beanie
Sorry that I forgot u booked with Rasa.

Outdoor venues - no, did not think abt it. Might leave it up to photographer to decide. Just a few "no nos" - no jungles, no places with lots of lalangs/small long kangs etc - Though they look very nice on pictures but man, there are lots of blood suckers (mosquitoes) and do not wish to hv red patches every where. I am very "attractive" to such suckers. Don't want to take risks.

Nope, did not ask abt the price for photo invite cards. However, read from the thread regarding wedding cards that it is not advisable as they say "where do u think the cards go after the wedding? into the Bin of cos". So I am thinking abt it. Will let u know when I think of something.

Beibei
Glad that your shop made what u wanted n glad u r satisfied. Me now crossing my fingers (and toes) that my gowns will turn out well. *aarrgghh**

Me thinking of making "soap" as wedding favours. Anyone knows of anybody that supplies the materials?

Hi Bei Bei,

Wow, so fun and exciting to have your PS so soon! Yeah, must keep us updated!

Hi Astrud,

Me too! Took the long weekend to settle all my house stuff....finally finished buying all the major items...$ outflow all the way...Really quite tiring!

Hi goldilocks,

i've attended dinner @ amara 2 weekends ago. ambience-wise is not bad. due to FH's fren having 50 tables,,, it cos dinner to be late, food was cold and practically every dish has seafood in it. waiters were blur, and tables squashed together... if u have 50 tables, then dun chose amara.... lesser tables would be fine.

attended cousins dinner 2 years back at meridien. quite ok lah, but I can't remember much about the food liao, sorry. the main ballroom is big and pillar-less. din remember much about that dinner except that of quarrelsome relatives