(2003) Brides of year 2003

sunnyling

my new flat is in Punngol so we r quite near to each other. Like u my husband had moved in around June this year and i'll hv to wait until after next yr's customary wedding.

Hi nov bride

I also jus joined this thread a few days ago. How's your preparation getting along? hv u decided on the bridal boutique and dinner venue?

Twinklets

u hv sum up the reasons why I hv chosen HIPV.

hope that they will keep up with their std of service and good food. It's such a relief to see posting in the HIPV thread that their food is generous and good on the whole.

bombom

gd!
we can be seow together
ha ah

sunnyling

me sengkang near jalan kayu side...
is urs a premium?

Gals & gyus
... So exciting ah
let's keep this happy spirit up!
gd feng shui ;) hee hee

CHEERS!

Hi kelsey

I called her. She sounds friendly over the phone. Thanks for the information.
I'll be meeting her next week. Hopefully, she will be available on my ROM date.

I know how tired this can be. Cannot what will happen if it's the actual day wedding.

hi yan yan,

me studying part time. Just resigned my job in sep and now waiting to start new job in jan. i have been doing part time study for the past 2 yrs. One more semester to go after this semester

Hi fishball,

maybe today everybody busy, that's why this thread very quiet.. kekee..

heee..actually me and my hubby dun mind giving. actually giving ang pow can be a joy too rite?

And most of the kids are from malaysia so we just give ringgit lor :P

yah lor, anyway when the time comes, can RSVP so no need to worry. More worry about relatives..

hi jady

not true lah, you can rom and have your customary any day you want. Why dun u ask a JP to let you have your ROM just before your banquet?

My sis did that. She signed the ROM cert in front of all the guests.
Another friend had her ROM in her bridal suite just before the guests started arriving for the banquet.

Bride 2003, yah i also heard from my friend that first year after marriage no need to give ang pow. I think only certain families practise that; my relatives & most other friends dun ....

Initially when i was planning the date for my banquet, i wanted it to be slightly 1-2 months after chinese new year. Thot we should collect more ang pows just before customary mah, esp since its the last year we can legitimately collect ang pow from the elders. Looks like now cannot already ... Oct get married, and Feb kenah give ang pow already. Cannot even recoup losses in time already start giving out again. Sigh..

Doesn't matter which boutqiue u go to, ask long as you're happy !

Yay !! Its finally a Friday!!
Time flies v fast hor? It seems so recent that i was complaining about moody monday, now its fabulous friday already !

flowee
hv u got the key already ??

AA
it's ok if u hv 4gotten... me just kpo . me using the 5th floor ballrooms cos got onli abt 28- 30 tables.

smart calculation .... at least got more $$$ for renovation. think i can onli affort simple renovating ($$ no enough liao) can we start looking for ID b4 getting the key ?? after getting key then look for ID will it be too late ??

kk,
oic i though how come you come you wakes up so early to go to teach tution.. i thought you full time teaching tution

hi flowee, yes that's right. seems like a long time ago...... so who did u use for ur rom?

hi pacific, i'll check out and let u know. the contract is with my FH. btw, how much is urs per table?

yes of course u can n u shld look for an ID before u get ur key. since urs is a new standard flat, most IDs already had experience with ur layout and they wld be able to suggest smthing for u. hopefully just ard when u getting ur key, u've engaged an ID and then u can bring them to see ur place after u've gotten ur key. ID shopping is not easy too. takes time.

Sweets..

Hey, you still up at this hour?? So you failed maths like me.. *hi 5*.. hahah.. and wat you doing in the finance sector?? private banker? *grin*

Yeah. will be driving. oni like self drive tours cos more relax and can see more of the country. was in Germany and Switzerland in July/Aug self drive. V nice.. looking forward to Scotland though.. winter hols.. may or may not be going.. either this dec or next april..

can I ask u gals, whether RSVP is effective or not? For my parents, they just go, din hear them RSVP except when the host calls.

I c the ang moh countries attach post-paid Reply card with their invites. Wd it be more effective then? Maybe if I include my home # + hp # + email addy wd be good?

Thinking abt it..quite 'lay chay' to call n ask friends 4 their addresses. Anyone thinking abt emailing invites?

Hi ???

Why don't you ask her first whether she's available for your ROM date? That way, you don't make a wasted trip. That's what I did. I made sure she was available before I went down to see her. Afterwards you see her portfolio and really like it but it turns out she's not available, you'll be really disappointed.

i prefer sending the card to them personally. eg colleagues and all will hand deliver
closer friends - try to meet up if i got time
if no time will still call them to inform them first, followed by mailing card

RSVP is v impt i feel, but whether you include postage paid postcard or not it won't make a difference. Its the singaporean culture, i think
need to call up to ask ... alot more effective than handphone / sms / email etc. Imagine those old aunties / uncles won;t know what to do with the postcard !! They'll prob think "eh! got free stamp!"

Don't want to mention my bridal boutique coz not very nice to say bad things yet coz I haven't been there myself.....

All of you girls have cool occupation- computer programmers- no wonder can use the comp so often... I am a Teeeecher....

I think exercising with colleagues really great, in fact I will going jogging in 20 minutes time with my colleagues at a nearby stadium.. cheap and effective.

Where are of you staying... actually a bit lost who's who.

Hi Jes

Yeah, I am logged on almost 16 hours a day.. be it at home or at work.. datz why I am so "talkative" in this thread..

so you teach!! wat subjects? Pri or sec school? in the north east south or west? hahaha.. ask so many questions..

I wanna be a teacher too, but think i am getting to old to go through school for training again.. think i wanna be an art teacher.. maybe when i am ready to retire, i go teach! hehe

I am staying in the west with my parents currently. Clementi.

Hey, where's Dolphie, Abrinas, Mmay??

TGIF! and my good fren coming back for vacation from Germany!!!

wow!!long time never come in and the thread is soooo long!!!

I will be trying my MTMgown next month 3rd and taking indoor and outdoor photos next month too!!

How's everyone preparation??

Yoo Hoo all darlings
I am here. Sorry for being so late. Must read finish what u all talking abt then can reply. This thread is bustling with action *happy*

Hi Sweets
No, the rose candles not ex at all. Actually, My g/f's sister going to BKK next yr and she's nice in offering to buy for me the normal scented candles. But after adding in the costs (incl thank u cost), comes up to be more ex n don't know whether can she find what I want or not, so better buy here. Wait she did not buy what i want n cannot reject her 2 n hv to pay her cos she go so far to buy. Don't like this kind of feeling. * yucks *

I give u moral support for your diet, although mine is not working at all. Give up already - "shun qi zi ran" I admire people who are in the Finance - u can actually work through those numbers!!

If u say monkeys can do yr job, mine too. I'm a secretary - trained to open my ears, open my eyes, shut my mouth. *hahahahaha*

Hi Jes
Mine is 642E and u don't hv to bother thinking where it is cos i m not sure myself. Maybe only the piling. estimated date of completion on Dec 03. Don't worry abt yr bridal shop, different ppl different opinions. U might feel differently abt the shop.

Ye Shanghai's cool. Saw the ad in magazines - like the lanterns. Seems gd atmosphere.

I admire Teachers too - u can actually take screaming kids!! Pei Fu!! Actually me want to be teacher too but not qualified.

Yo Yo Besse
Me here - why change yr username to 'a very bored Besse' - u must be very bored (fei hua). Glad that u r going in a holiday. Only been to M'sia so cannot give u comments on Scotland n UK. Hope u enjoy yourself.

Hi Dolphie
There shouldn't be any problems in changing the date. Normally they shd oblige u - u r the customer, it is yr rights!!

Hi Pucca75
Giving yr friends x-stitch made by u - I give u 2 thumbs up. seems very siong though. But if u r inviting ard 40 friends, shd be able to do it. Just a suggestion - a simple x-stitch wld be to just sew yrs' n yr hub's n wedding date with a few simple designs eg. flowers, heart shapes etc. Use a variety of colors n I think it will look very nice. But u shd get some help if u r really doing it. I give u moral support. Jia You!!

Hi beibei
Yrs real fast - trying yr MTM gown and photography. U getting married in June 2?

Shd stop already. Very long liao!

Just bought my si dian jin recently too.

Well, I do not wear gold jewellery and my in-laws have observed that. They brought me along to buy my white gold stuff.

For some, they do not really like white gold becos it's called "bai jin"...pan tang pan tang...

If your gals and the in laws are not pan tang kind, may consider buying white gold stuff (if you like) as the si dian jin.

Just an alternative suggestion...

BUT cash is still the best for t-ceremony

hi gals...hi to newebies....
bless,
wha finally got one sbo bride same date as me...
flowee we are all wed bride kekekee.....
so bless u also white link bride ar...a lot of white link n bridal zone brides hor...
flowee,
your friend helping so good..I thot of asking the free photographer but end up he cant go becos he got full time job.so have to source again lor...

Gosh, it's been only a few days and it's become so happening here! Me in the IT line too but not in the technical side...Yeah, now too many nic names to remember liao!

Hello

My wedding is also in the month of Nov on the 30th
Dinner is at Marina Mandarin. I also agree with you all that 2003 very popular. Many of the Nov dates are on tentative booking. Mine was also on tentative booking but the hotel allow me to have it provided I confirm immediately.

And my Bridal package is at Fame@Yishun.

My new flat is also in Punngol 21 At Blk 638.

Nice Knowing all of you. Hope we can share ideas.

Hi Novlkf22

Ya loh by the time we move in the flat old liao sigh bo bian.

Ava

Ya mine is a premium cos want to save on renovation mah but in the end oso spend alot.

Welcome wind2000 and Novbride

Hi AA & Pacific,
Wow...u're lucky to have found ur ideal banquet pace. I asked Copthorne waterfront but taken. Must have been booked by u :P

Pacific, I asked MM and they said they only left with a room only accessible by staircase. But have yet to meet them cos their coordinator is so bz

I may be looking at Suntec.

Oh yes btw, I also took up a package with Bridal ZOne

Pacific, if u also booked there, we can meet at the shop someday. Keep me informed!

yan yan,

yah, meantime i am doing full time tuition. i have 5 students on hand. kekekee... so basically running in and out lor.

ling,

thank u

hi 1027,

maybe that's hokkien custom? kekeke.. i dun know leh. when my hubby told me that, it was my first time hearing it :P

hi fishball,

Older generation dun really RSVP, they assume whoever they invite will come. And my parents' practice is after they gather the number of pple they predicted going, they will minus 2 tables. So that there won't be so many empty seats left in case whoever expected to come dun come :P

For our generation, RSVP should be effective lor coz all of us understand what is the situation nowadays so with an understanding in mind, it wouldn't be difficult or pai seh lor

hi all!!

gonna try to address everything at once...

weddingdate - most likely gonna be june 20 but still not absultely confirmed yet. think i shld know for sure in two weeks time.

party favours - went to a wedding and the couple gave out soap in the form of a rose. they put it in an organza bag with ribbons tied on it. think its very nice but must be quite ex!

job - dun complain abt job lah. i'm currently jobless, bored and above all, no money to spend cos no job, hehe!! but i used to be in marketing so if anyone got lobang, lemme know.

weight loss - i'm eating cookies now... so much for trying to lose weight, sigh. joined a gym but i haven;t gone in two weeks. anyone tried using stuff like hollywood diet? i wanna try but afraid it might not work. my FH says exercise is the best but easy to say, difficult to do!

anyone know which bridal shops is good for EG? i already have WG but have to source for the rest of the stuff.

Hi Babylove,

When did you go to Copthorne Waterfront? I made a tentative booking ard mar/apr this year. And placed the deposit ard jun.

Why did u both decide on bridal zone?

AA .... me also 4got how much per table, but
if not wrong is $759 or $789 NET PRICE wif FREE flow beer

Shortlisted Bridal Zone cos their package are quite complete and most impt their price are within my budget...... i guess that few bridal shop u shortlisted cost at least $4k ..... how abt u babylove ??

babylove
hmmmm..... MM left onli that room !! dun think u will like that room. by the way wat is your est no. of tables ??? Ya suntec is having some kind of promotion now ..... maybe u can try Holiday Inn Park view.... quite like their ballroom

U already sign up wif Bridal zone. which package did u take & who is your co-ordinator ??

Hi mmay
If yrs 20 June, then it's a friday. mine's a day after yrs - 21 June, Sat.

Organza bag quite ex - ard $1 - $1.5 for 1. saw them at spotlight. but the soap might not be cos it normally comes in pack of 6 or 8, saw them at the scent shop. If combine altogether, yah, quite ex.

Normally logged on in ofc. On leave on coming Mon to go to bridal shop - 1st appt so c u all on Tue.

Abrinas!!! Must share with us your 1st appt experience ok ? I agree with your decision about not seeking help from your fren.....I also dun like to "qian" qing.....

Think for Organza bag, more economical to sew it than to buy ?

Mmay, cookies...yummy...
..hey, ask FH to exercise with you lar

Besse, no , not private banker, that's my next choice, actually in investment banking i.e. corporate finance , M&A etc....
....boring boring boring....I'm also on the computer many hours a day.....hehhe
that's why also can post a lot when its not that crazy lar
hehehe

Pucca, so reno done everything done liao ah ? So envious people like you with love nest......sigh sigh.....

Have a good weekend everyone!!

Hello all June brides,

I am so happy that this thread is lively again! Im actually the one who started this thread ...(claiming credit now...heheeehee)!

Astrud, are you still in this thread too? How was your WG & EG? I didn't visit Kevin to look at his gowns but i getting mine from Jawn!

Hi Meow

Sorry........i was really blur........mine wedding is on 2 nov 03....

paiseh........

Hi have u all booked your banquet yet?? Mine is at MM.....had hard time searching for one as most of the hotels were already taken.....

hi pacific,

my table is initially $718+++ each. with the citibank promotion, we've got $18+++ off. then we signed up close to the period where they had a wedding show, another $10+++ off. so left, $690+++ per table. with the citibank promotion, we've got 1 free 30l barrel of beer and a few more perks.

Have you all booked any actual day photographers? I am wondering when should we do the booking. Is it too early to book now?

i think I will take march to take my PS. Thanks for all your feedback

oh, btw, me in education line too. So June is a perfect month for marriage prep for extra rest.

anyway, anyone here knows where to get a good eye massager?

Hi 1027,

I'm doing exactly tat. ROM b4 1st dish loh...in front of all guests.

ok, i shall proceed with my original plan..hehe:p

no definitely not early if u think u r sure which one u wanted to choose. dont be late n disappointed.

how come the thread is so quiet these days? me a dec-bride to be .. selecting between ted wu, kai and tan yoong! have u guys chosen your actual day photographer?

Wowowow.. so many people in here now! Happy! *clapclap*

Delannie.. thanks for starting this thread.. other than wedding prep discussion, think we oso getting along v well leh.. too bad i prob not going to be june 2003 bride *sigh*

Trinity03, you oso teacher.. *salute*.. think teachers v wei da! Eye massager.. try getting the Ossim one. works quite alrite. I have one, but hardly use cos too lazy.

Sweets, hmm.. investment banker cool too! hehe.. NYC smore leh.. muz be doing VERY well. Anyway,, organza bag should sew.. easy to sew with machine. Then tie with a nice ribbon (or even two ribbons in matching colors) instead of sewing in the ribbon. Good idea. *take note*

Mmay, what kinda EG you want? Can try Allan Chai .. if you like beaded cheongsam like EG, can oso try this Ted collection at Bugis junction level 3.. they sew nice stuff too..

Abrinas, a secretary is quite "powerful" in an organisation.. hehe. be in her good books and you can see wonders being done when you need to get ard in the organisation!! keke

quite lazy and bored these days.. no motivation to start preparation and sourcing for gowns or banquets.. cos no date fixed.. Arrrrghhh

ladies

latest update...
i signed up with amanda lee oredi...

another item dn...
left with my actual daz photographer...
will b meetin monica eng from vividshots on thurs...

hv a great wkend...

I am back
Heee...went for a short trip to Bintan to recharge myelf.

kk: MIL is 50yrs old this year, very fashionable, she dun wear those auntie auntie clothing..everyone said that she looks like my hubby's elder sister.HAHAHA

Hmm..heard from both of mum and MIL that no need to give hong bao after first yr of "official marriage-customary"..give hongbao quite "siong" cos lots of relatives leh..think next yr can still collect hongbaos..that what MIL said..heheee...since no many pple know

jady: think it is ok to have the reverse of customary before ROM, it is own preference...just find it special cos most pple will have ROM first

Hmm..think for RSVP, will call those friends tat I invite, for relatvies, will leave it up to my parents to do it for me.

Hi flowee jie,

glad that u have signed up ur bridal and settle another thing

have a great weekend and have a nice time meeting up!

hi serene,

wow, ur MIL very modern.. hahaha.. yes, 50 yrs is still very very young
wow, then how old is ur hubby?

heee...glad to know that no need to give ang pow... well, but maybe i will still give.. excited mah.. kekekee... first time giving compare to so many years of receiving :P Like to feel how it is like to give ang pows :P