(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Ladies and Gentlemen,

I am very very very vexed. It's all about the number of tables. Why most hotels need at least 35 tables? I have a max of 22 tables only.

Any recommendations for hotels? I have been to Shangrila, Westin, Fillerton and Merchant Court. Shangrila is the best so far, no pillars and ceiling is high. But it is very steep and must have 35 tables.

- littleVexed

hi pucca75 & joyful

thkx for yr concerns - i've reached a compromise with the ID last weekend. we'll foot $500/ea. a little sore over the extra expenses but well, my ID apologised repeatedly so we decided not to kick up a fuss loh. will be extra careful come selection of materials. thanks 4 yr reminder ;)

Hi Tiara,

I heard Kai is good. I more or less confirmed with Silhouette.Their gowns are not bad when I try it on, my hubby like sil as well.I wanna see Kai but no time to go down so more or less confirm Sil.
As for my banquet, I have not decided yet coz I don wanna have a banquet but after having a big fight with my mum, my hubby suggested that we better had a customary dinner, so now for nothing have to worry abt another banquet. How abt u? have u went hotel searching?I like copthorne waterfront but they need at least 35 ley...i only got 20..I am looking at Traders,Holiday Inn or mayb Carlton..very vexed..hai*..

update me!

Hi Littledevil

I had the same problem as you..the number of heads to fill up the tables..hai*..isnt that a headache?

Hey everyone,
jus check if lets say I have only 20 tables of people , den do i exactly jus book 20 tables or another few extras of tables in case ppl bring along their families or gf/bf?

hi wabbit,

good to hear that things are settled amicably. well, if things get ugly, then won't be too good...

BTW, convenient to let us noe the name of your ID?

Hi Cutiechar,

How did yr 'bf' do the TiQing? Still thinking how I can break the news to MIL.

hi cutechar,

u dun have to confirm the exact no. of tables when u sign your contract. however, u'll need to confirm that u can meet the min no. of tables required (^-^)v

hi ling...

really interested in the personal training sessions....may i noe where u go and how much do u have to pay?...how often is it?...can target problem areas only?...thanks!

I've taken my Hep A/B jabs a few years back. Finished all the three jabs already. Heard need to have "renewal" jabs after 5 years. I should be due for mine soon.

As for actual day photographer, my colleague had hers for $600, unlimited rolls, i think. If you're interested, let me know.

March: How's your furniture shopping? I've just finished mine. =>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Cherubies</FONT> - ok lah, not veri fast lah, need to go for photoshoot 4months before the wedding mah, coz they also need to develope + do the album. Then somemore Feb is CNY, got holiday + shorter days mah. I think your photoshoot will be Mar or April since your wedding is in July.

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Ling</FONT> - U got fishes? Wat fish u rear? I used to rear goldfish but all died
spend alot too. But me still got kois. Now I've changed to rear dwarf hamsters. My mama hamster just gave birth to 6 cute little hamster last monday. Thinking of giving or selling them some away, once they can walk &amp; eat by themselves
9917.gif

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Flowee</FONT> - Which 2 bridal you can't decide? btw, how is BV show? did you manage to decide on BV then? Maybe you can decide on which shop is nearer, which is cheaper or give more things, service, if you find these 2 shops' gowns equally good.

Me decided to go for cheapo shoes, those not more than $30, also decided to get 3 shoes instead.

hi gwen, it was quite tiring actually...we went to a few warehse sales but the items don't seem to be cheaper. in the end, we got most of the things at a shop in furniture mall. slightly above budget but we thot the quality seems better, so bear with the pinch lor...

have purchased most of the 'big' items (furniture &amp; appliances), left things like rice cooker, vaccumm cleaner, cutlery n utensils etc haven't bought. all these no hurry, can wait till when we r moving in...

Hi Gwen, tat's good
u settled your furniture. I'm going shop for my dinning table, 2 TV consoles &amp; study rm's furniture this coming weekend. Hope I can find at least a dinning table...

Any recommendation for furniture shops??? 10s!

yes, i'll still be using my ID.

joyful, i prefer not to reveal the name of my ID on the forum, but will be glad to share with you over email if u wish to know.

wabbit

hi cutechar,

am a 2003 ROM bride-to-be....had helped out in my sis wedding...just some advice...you can buffer for 2-3 tables...so meaning when you confirm with hotel (2-3 wks before actual day) tell them say 20+2 tables...you would have to pay for the 20 tables regardless of the actual turnout...the additional tables opened on the actual day wil be charged accordingly....and hor...always remember to set aside some 10% no-shows..so dun budget until "chun chun" ...:P

hi littledevil,

i think i came across somewhere that hotel rendevous has a max table of 25 or so...their banquet capacity like not very big..you might want to check it out...

I happened to saw a picture of a wedding function held in Chijmes. It's simply elegant and romantic(maybe becoz of the lighting i guess :P).

Anyone has the wedding@Chijmes? It's beautiful!

Hi Kelsey,
Sorry, not sure if it was Sun's papers, but my dad showed me the article. Some couple got married in Carlton and the service sucked. Don't remember the whole thing, but something like dinner was delayed for more than an hour, there was no dry ice, there was no wedding march music etc.

The couple was so upset they withheld payment to the hotel. To get them back, the hotel refused to let their guests who had booked hotel rooms leave! The rooms have been fully paid up. Ridiculous I think, this is between the hotel and the couple, they had no right to hold the guests back and cause all the embarrassment to the couple.

Anyway, think they're not charging the couple for 3 tables. Some other arrangements to be settled. Poor couple, it'll be a great story to tell a few years down the line probably, but a nightmare now.

Hi ling,
I can't drive myself. I don't have licence!

Hi faye,
Same here! I have booked my banquet and bridal too. My flat will be ready in Q1 of 2003, now looking out for actual day photography and renovation too
So which hotel/ restaurant have you booked with?

Hi Jbride,

tks..i din know that.keke..sua ku..

Hey mew,
I was thinking of that as well that but I got to talk with the banquet coordinator, tks! So when is ur ROM date?

Hi littledevil,

Do u mean "asking for hand" from my mother? if it is, den let me tell u, my hubby tiqing when we decided to ROM, he was sweet enough to sit down and approach my mother and ask if we could get ROM, as for the customary, he ask me one nite suddenly if I wanna "officially" marry him..is this wat u wanna ask?.coz i am blur abt ur questions..keke..pardon me

update me gals!

Hi all..

Not sure what furniture you like, but if you like oriental furniture, Just Anothony is great, the services are personalised, and cost v. reasonable.. they found a pair of doors for me from China..

I ve not started buying furniture yet.. no $$$ already from reo and managing the wedding and honeymoon.. also hope to buy the pieces i want first instead of compromising.. heehee.. so one at a timelor..

think i betta take my Hep jabs as well.. you all sure not pain? cuz my friend's feedback is v. pain wan.. me scared to death..

VeiL

oh yar..left out something..
jus know tat u are a groom!..hmm..u can decided and prepare all the things and den tell ur MIL abt it(look sincere). let your bride-to-be to break the news to her first, i think she feel more better..and when u approach her, she feel more comfortable rather than giving u a blur face!
actually I did told my mum before hand and he is jus asking my mum as a form of respect..

don pressure! I give u my support!

Wow..me lost in between the furniture sharing..

I took my Hep A &amp; Hep B jab at one of the Raffles Medical Clinic, and not at Raffles Hospital. Raffles Hospital has a comprehensive pre-marital check up at a few hundred dollars.. I find it expensive and was also told by a married girlfriend of mine, it's not necessary to take up the package, just go for Hep A &amp; B plus Rubella jab will be enough. Hence, didn't take up Raffles Hospital's package.

Veil, you can go to polyclinic or your own family doc to do the jab. Don't worry, it's not very pain.. just an ant bite. It's alright. Better to go through it for the future sake.

Hi all, I'm also a sep 03 bride.

My date is 13 sep. Picked by me n hubby. I think many of u are having a week earlier or a week later than me.

We've only booked our banquet at grand copthorne. Anyone of you having the same place as me?

Now looking for interior designer for our resale flat. Current shortlisted are space-it and human space. Any of you had experience or signing up with them?

I guess next wld be bridal package. Shortlisted are Kai, Federick Lee, Tan Yoong, Allure Charix.

Hi cutiechar

I have decided on my dinner venue - Oriental. I like Grand Copthorne too but cannot meet their minimum tables requirement. Like you, we did not want a banquet to begin with bu my mom would very much like for us to have one.

Sure hope you can find a nice venue. Four Seasons will be great for your 20 tables but price is quite steep. Happy Hunting

Joy2003, I went to Caltex Raffles Medical clinic. Raffles Medical Group (RMG) is my company doctor
So my annual health screening is sponsored by company. There is quite a few health screening packages available at RMG. I must agree that they are quite expensive. But if any of u r interested, can go visit the below website for ref. https://www.raffleshospital.com/ourservices/healthscreening_packages1.asp. The health check can be done at the clinic or hospital.

Veil, it ain't pain. Just let the doctor know your fear. My family doctor knows I scare of pain so she gave me a smaller needle
&amp; it's not pain at all. Maybe she's very skillful...

By the way, where is Oriental furniture? 10s!

Hi Veil, by the way, if your blood test shows u still have the antibiotics for Hap then u don't have to go through the jabs

Hi Bride2003,

the Oct 03 brides thread is here!
Come join us!

Dew, Piggy, JYL: hello, where have u been? V busy with your reno / preparations?

We are just 1 year away from our BIG day !!

I'm back from my photoshoot yesterday.
went to pulau ubin for my day outdoor shoots and fullerton and esplanade for my nite shoots.
real tired, started at 10am and ended only at 8.30pm. :p

pulau ubin is nice coz can take fotos on the boat too. although the weather was hazy yesterday but itz a different feeling and probably my fotos wld have dreamy effect. hehehe 1 plus point is the weather was cool yesterday so no sweat!

the photographer says he took 200+ shoots, think i gonna have problem choosing them. hehehe
i have a total of 6 outfits, ie my WG, EG, teadress, kwa, hubby's airforce overall and casual outfit!
overall, itz a nice experience and the photographer was good and friendly!

hi flowee,

ya lah, max poor thing leh, coz he been to so many bridal shops with you liao. and whatz more only u try and he see. hehehehe

hi elaine,

i oso just bought a red sandal at metro for my teadress at only S$19.90 so you might wanna check out metro and OG coz i got my wedding shoes at OG at S$31.90 only too.

Hi Sep03,

I had book my banquet with Hotel Rendevous &amp; have Choon Huat as my actual day photographer... now only left with bridal....

Can share with me urs?

I have not visit any of the bridal shop yet, but plan to start next mth.. have shortlisted Federick Lee, X-Zen, Jawn happy.ever.after, Silhouette... any comment for the above?

Cheers...

hi lyne and cherry,

me never sleep early on sunday nite lah, still somemore went over to my neighbour's place at my love nest to look at their wedding photos. stayed until abt 11plus and slept at 12plus. hehehe

my ps started at 10am and ended at 8.30pm.
pulau ubin is nice although yesterday quite hazy so probably my photos wld have dreamy effect. hehehe I have a total of 6 outfits, 2 casual, WG, EG, teadress and kwa.

nite shoots at fullerton and esplanade though.
overall, itz a nice experience although tiring.
the photographer was good and can really make us laugh.

they say photos wld be ready for choosing in 3 to 10 days' time. so wld let u all know.

so u gals who have not had your photoshoot thinking of any place?

lyne, where did you go for urs?

Hi neko,

I have booked M Hotel for my wedding dinner and Thomson Wedding D'sign for my bridal. My home will be in Punggol S28, what about you??

gd mornin gers

elaine

hvnt decide which bridal coz they r all so nice...
those i shortlisted they r gd in diff detailin...
ted wu in embroidery, bv in crystals n amanda versatile...
pretti diff 2 make a choice between them...
wont b makin any decision till after my guy's papers...
will b visitin kai also my last stop of bridal shoppin after his papers...
then will conclude which one is the ideal 1 4 mi...

its a gd choice nt 2 custom make ur WG shoes...
no pt coz onli wear once n u will leave it in the store rm oredi... :P

yi

wow dreamy effect ah...
i m still worried the haze might affect ur foto takin session...
glad u had fun n mi lookin 4ward 2 view ur pixs...
remember 2 share with us hor...

as 4 my bridal will check out kai my last stop of bridal shoppin b4 commited which 1 is the rite one 4 mi...
mi dilemma 2 use embroidery or crystals...
plus those bridal i shortlisted r gd in each field...
ted wu in embroidery n bv in crystals...
hard 2 decide!!!

Vodka - anytime!! just come and share with us the process.

Yi - Wow!! you shoot until 8.30pm, must be very tired, are you on leave today to rest?? I'm thinking of Botanical Gdns but don't know whether has enuf time or not. Still has to discuss with my photographer. When will you be selecting your photos?? I will only have 2 outfits to wear on my photoshoot day btw.

gd mornin ladies

ling

my guy he is keen 2 drive on his own...
n i wld love 2 hv my chance 2 take a ride on a coupe...
any lobang 2 where can rent 1???

hi 2 neko, faye, aa, peachcooler, sept03

m a 10th sept 2003 bride 2 b 2...
reno completin this sat...
signed up with utopia 4 my studio package...
oredi booked my dinner venue currentli buz with my bridal shoppin...
oredi shortlisted some but hvin a hard time decidin which one 2 engage...
hvnt reali start 2 check out on actual daz fotographer except meetin up with KC sometime back...

aa

so u had shortlisted some id after ur id search...
u can request them 2 brin u 2 check out their clients place...
u can check out their workmanship n design...
i hv 'fate' in human space but due 2 budget constraint i cant engage them...

amanda

although 20th sept aint stated under the list in femalebrides does nt mean it aint a gd date...
as long as its a gd date 4 the bride n groom the couple will call it a 'gd date'...
mine is selected based on our 'sheng cheng bai zi' n also nt 2 4get nt 2 'chong' with our parents 'sheng xiao'...
hope the infor helps...

hi 1027,

I finally saw this! hahahaa... thanks

Hi Piggy,

wow, u trying to lose weight for ur rom? When i had my rom in May, i dun care about my weight.. haha.. but now cannot already, coz my customary is next year oct. How's ur trimming program like?

Can somebody do a summary for me on everybody's profiles here? I am very new leh.. kekee... i have been talking in other threads, but just saw this today after 1027 post up msg.

A brief intro on myself. My new flat is at sengkang, just finished reno few months back. Now dropping by on weekends and some weekdays. Have booked bridal shop and dinner venue. Actual wedding date is 26 Oct 03. Have planned to have photoshoot in June so might be choosing gowns in Feb or Mar 03. What about u all?

hi peachcooler...

hhmmm...so you were the one who booked choonhuat!...me didn't have a chance to meet up with him b4 you booked him!...heheh...anyway, i'm very happy wif my actual day photographer....KC...

my wedding would be at four seasons...small party for close relatives and friends...hhmm as for bridal...i would recommend silhouette....(though i'm using ted wu)...these 2 were my "finalists" ;-D

hi flowee!
me just kpo-ing...

might be nice to have a combination of both embroidery n crystals?
crystals by itself looks really classy but a word of caution... crystals look great only under really bright lighting. need light to pass thru before its beauty can be fully appreciated... just like diamonds!!!
embroidery by itself is outstanding but the 3d effect can be really enhanced with the addition of crystals to give that "sparkly" feel...
was really undecided what detailing to get but in the end i very the greedy... want best of both worlds!!!

just my 2 cents worth...

hi cherry,

ya lor, coz i wanted nite shoots and since itz once in a lifetime thing, hubby and i "tong" until end lor.

today, no on leave coz need to clear my work b4 gog on 2 weeks' leave to prepare my exams lor. :p

botanical gardens wld be nice coz my coordinator showed us fotos taken there and itz nice and natural.
What do you mean by not enuf time?
btw, why only 2 outfits hah?

my fotos wld probably be ready for selection in 3 to 10 days' time, will let u all know.
share share mah!

flowee,

ya lah, hazy but ok lah
me oso waiting to see the fotos effect
just know that the whole place feels dreamy yesterday. :p
can just pray hard that the fotos wld look nice coz i not photogenic lah!

btw, my WG is in crystals and i like it alot!
me not into embrodiery gowns though.
better decide soon if not max wld start complaining again! :p