(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Yi,

hehe not enuf time cos i also want to go and take pics at the expo mrt mah...i have 2 outfits only bcos i'm not having studios and my hubby say don't waste time changing, then can take more shots...haha

Hi Yi Jie,

glad to hear that u enjoy your ps! So when are u selecting ur photos? Kekekee.. guess u will have a really hard time selecting them :P

Never mind if u are not photogenic. That's where the photographer comes in! hahaa.. they can make u look like anything they want.. hahaa... dun worry

Going to start on exam revision soon. Finished term paper and case studies liao. So happy..yippie!

Flowee jie,

I really love embroidery gowns from ted wu. I always take a second look at their gowns featured in magazines.. hahaa... I think crystals are pretty common, but to do a good embroidery is not easy. Well, i dunno whether my bridal shop is good in that or not, if not i will end up with crystals which i dun mind afterall

Hi Elaine,

Like Yi jie, i also bought my shoes from OG. OG and CK are the 2 shops i frequent for my shoes pretty often. Affordable and pretty nice

I bought my rom shoes from there at $19.90. happen to have a sale. Anyway, they seem to have whole year sale nowadays.

Hmm..i definitely won't go for custom made shoes as i feel that it is not necessary. And most likely can't wear those custom made shoes to work rite? kekee.. so next year i will get my shoes from those few again

bom

appreciate tks 4 ur advise...
i share the same sentiments hv the intention of combinin both...

but aint sure which bridal can do nice combination ones...
onli seen tat @ silhouette b4...
mayb can check with amanda if she can do it or nt...
btw which bridal u sign up with???

yi

max nt complainin muz juz tat i keep askin him which bridal 2 get lor...
he has been a sweetie coz he din grumble muz when we go bridal shoppin 7 shops a daz...

anyway will decide among those i shortlisted lor...

kk mei

u r an embroidery lover 2???
i like ted wu embroidery 2 but their prices pretti steep...
n their embroidery comes in diff various colors eg: the leaves in green n the flowers in pink...
but heard comments on the embroidery might make a bride look older than her age...
perhaps u can remind ur bridal nt 2 give u any embroidery 2 'drown' u dn...
juz my thots...

hi bride2003,

welcome welcome !

my customary is on 4 Oct 03, home at jurong west and completed reno & some wedding preps. No photo shoot for me, just actual day coverage. Booked bridal studio and photographers already.

Why wait till next Feb to look for gowns? can start looking now mah ...

Yah, i'm also trying to lose weight. Haven't been disciplined enough to exercise 3times per week yet, but been v careful w my diet eg soupy noodles for lunch, and no carbo for dinner.
Not very successful yet, but some colleagues said they can see a difference. Hmm ...

What's your diet regime?

hi kk mei,

yap, njoy my photoshoot although the weather very hazy though
selecting my fotos in 3 to 10 days' time
real xcited to c how they wld turn out. hehehe
hopefully, all turn out well
ya lor, 200+ to choose from leh and i oso dun
want to spend too much on fotos.
my pkg comes with 25 pcs 15R so wun want to exceed too much.

my projects oso over and soon exam time and if i pass, it wld be enjoyment time liao.
can really plan my wedding happily liao! hehehe

hi flowee,

yap, you brought out the point abt embrodiery making pple look older, think i agree with that.

glad that max not complaining
last time, me went to 4 only coz we
looking at one-stop bridal shop to makes
things easier and convenient mah!

guess the weather down the road wld be just as hazy liao coz today the same thing.

hi cherry,

oic! wow, u taking photos at mrt too?
me kind of shy when pple look lah
so thatz y choose pulau ubin, nobody ard except
photographer and his assistant. hehehe
so probably wld be more natural.
we took photos with lalang, attap houses, seafront, on the bum boat etc.

o, u not having studio photos?
initially, me oso want more outdoor shoots but
my colleagues caution me that you wun know
whether u look nicer in studio or outdoor
shoots so it is safer to have a combination.
which after some thoughts i agree coz maybe we
tends to look nicer in either.
just my advice too!

hi flowee!
we got same taste!

amanda should be able to do that cause when i went to see her i tried on a gorgeous embroidery + crystals gown. sides she produces the combi gowns that silh's famous for... afterall, she was from silh!!!
as for me, i was deliberating btw amanda n silh but in the end went for silh cause we totally fell in love with our designer... heath!!!

haloooo..

izit compulsory to take the jabs? I can't even remember if I've taken any at all!!

me veri sad abt the Bali Bombing... it's a place whr I love and wen i see the familiar things in the tv, heart reali ache..

so scary rite... all these bombing and attacks..

hope there'll be no more casualties...

Hi Yi & Cherry,

I went to this really old hse at Grange heights-then proceeded to Alexandra side where there are many colonial houses with open fields-followed by this tunnel walkway behind Hewlett Packard Alexandra-Labrador Park Beach-Fullerton Hotel (bridge in front).

Now can understand why I ended up choosing 70 shots

Hi veil,

let me check my files then email you the actual day photography quote.

hi joy2003,

do we just walk in to Raffles Medical or make an appt for the Hep A & B jap ?

nofuss

yi

no lah doodbug one of the sb bride she reminded mi on tat part...
m thinkin of combinin embroidery/lace n beadin/ crystals 2 give my WG more shine...

also check out kai...
tried this full lace WG with crystals...
veri nice but veri ex...
3.5k 2 make tat...

bom

i went dn 2 silh also...
miah was my designer...
saw heath there...
strike silh off my list coz miah din give mi any suggestion when it comes 2 the type of WG n EG suitable 4 mi...
i wana 2 koe how the designer thinks b4 commitin myself...

had a great time @ amanda lee...
she did ask abt my preference n also give mi input on which type of gown looks better on mi...
juz a bit worried abt the workmanship...
afterall she is 'new' in this mkt ( coz she juz set up her shop )

flowee,

that time which designer did u meet up with at human space? i also find their quotation extremely high. we're still considering. u mean even before we sign up, we can request to go see their work at their client's place?

amanda,

me n hubby chose the date ourselves. then my MIL went to check that it's not an auspicious day. personally we feel that we dun need an auspicious day so long as it's convenient for us both, and we're happy, that's good enough.

unlike some pple that i know of find an auspicious date and it's a weekday and they have to go ahead with it even though they preferred their dinner to be during weekend. why do something that's opposing to what ur heart really wanted?

Hi Vin,
Do u mind if I use yr email to fwd to the gals & see if they prob receiving it? Since I've not problem getting yr email. They must be waiting until neck long long for yr photos.

Hi Nufoss,

You can just walk in to any Raffles Medical Clinic, appt is not necessary. The doctor will ask if you have taken Hep B jap before. If you haven't, then they will most likely do a blood test on you. To test if you are free from Hep A and B. To do the blood test, you have to go before lunch time, cos' the delivery man will come before lunch to bring the blood to their lab for testing. You don't have to fast or stop eating the night before in order to take the blood test.

Hi Shir,

Yes, it is important for you to go for Rubella, Hep A & B jap. For those born after 1968, will have taken the rubella jap during pri. six. But, you still need to do a blood test, to check if you still have the antibodies for rubella.

Rubella is important because it will prevent you from contacting measles during pregnancy. Measles will cause the baby to be a down-sydrome child which doc will usually advice couples to abopt the baby. Hence, it's very impt to go for rubella checkup. Hep A and B jap are good to go for it. A health protection for yourself and your future children.

aa

vera is my designer then...
of coz u can request 2 check out others done up 'projects'...
their quotes r pretti high i do agree on tat...
tats the reason y i din get them...

hows ur weddin preparations comin along???

AA,

Actually, my bf and I are not concerned over auspicious dates but it is more to satisfy my parents who are non-Christians.

BTW, I am a Malaysian and will be holding my wedding in KL. I really envy you all because the quality of the wedding services (i.e. photography, gowns, etc) is much better over in Singapore.

Shook, did you manage to receive the picts?

Vin, *sigh* think I'm not fated to receive your photos...

Sue, thanks!

Hi Yi Jie,

oh, ur exams coming soon too? I am having papers on 11 Nov and 16 Nov. Yes! 16 Nov! Saturday! *SIGH* Luckily it is morning paper. After that, i would be free also. Then can prepare for my thailand trip liao
Me going with my mum, her friends and my girl friend. My hubby not going

Hi Flowee jie,

Yah lor. I kind of love embroidery. Look more formal. Yes, i do agree with u that it might make us look older. I knew ted wu would be expensive. hahaa..u can see that the worksmanship is really impressive.

Hi 1027,

Oh, so u must have saved a lot without the photoshoot. Why u dun want the photoshoot? Me just curious.. kekee..

I scared i already very kiasu to plan to try on gowns in feb and photoshoot in june while my customary is only in Oct. kekekee... wow, so u asking me to try the gowns now? I still have not succeeded in my slimming program leh.. kekee..

I have been doing statics everyday, like pushups, situps, crunches, etc etc. I am a more indoor person. So this will suit me. Then i would skip whenever i am at my new home @ sengkang coz there is space here. That is around 4 times a week. Other than this, no more liao lor. I can't really cut down on food leh. Love food too much. hahahaa.. but has given up fast food and tidbits

hi flowee!
agree with you that it's impt to get a feel of the designer's opinions before committing... that's why we didn't go for BV!!!
as for us, heath was really great n my FH n i felt so assured by his recommendations when trying on the suits and gowns... that's why silhouette was top choice for us!

but i did have a great time with amanda as well! she drew up a few designs which made me feel really confident in her ability!!! dun worry about her workmanship... have seen her works n i think you'll be in good hands if you go for her! her versatility in detailing is great!!!

I am back... been down with flu for the last 2 days...

Hi Flowee,

Yup, i am the one who took the 23 June..
wow.. you are earlier than me. so, you can tell me about your photoshoot. Travis is quite thoughtful to suggest Mon. It didn't even occur to me, I was still thinking of having on fri or something..

Me still haven't sign up.. have you spoken to BV? I am not sure if i will click well so didn't bother to visit at all. Still waiting for my fiance to finish his exams then i will have my final round of bridal shops visits...

The makeup artist is included but they tied up with a few, so i guess can choose...

So, which gym do you go to? I used to go 2x/wk till i realize i kinda got bigger and stop.

HI Sue,

Ya.. just fwd to Jazz lor...Thnx

Is shook received?? I did not receive any return mail ler... what happen???

HI gals

I wld like to share my experience on the blood test.

I dragged my partner to take the blood test too. We tested for an extra item - a blood disorder - medical term i forgot liao. In Mandarin, it's called "Di Zong Hai Ping Xue Zhen". This disease affects 3-4% of women in Singapore. If you are a carrier (which you will look perfectly normal), there's a 50% chance that your baby will be infected. The consequence is that the baby will have a short lifespan (7-8 years), and have to undergo blood transfusion for life. If you AND your partner are carriers, it's almost 100% that your baby will be infected.

So you may wish to include this item in your blood test (which includes Rubella and Hep A/B). We spent about $150 for two person's blood test, plus consulation with my gynae. The result was out in a weeks time. (Both of us are normal.)

gd mornin gers

kk mei

wow goin holidaz ah...
poor kkk all alone @ home... :P

ur exams r ard the corner 2...
do work hard n gd luck...

yet ted wu's embroidery is veri impressive same goes 4 the price...
anyway oredi decide 2 sign up with amanda lee oredi...
finali my bridal selection is over...
onli left with actual daz photographer...

bom

besides myself, i hv a gf who is interested 2 sign up with amanda 2...
will try 2 get some 'extra' stuff if possible coz its 2 person signin up 2gether mah... :P

can kpo a bit wat makes u sign up with heath instead of amanda???

bijou

oh poor thin dn with flu ah...
muz take care hor...
drink plenty of water...

'bingo' rite guess worh!!!
travis wana 2 give mi 16th june but i chose 1 wk b4...
the photo shot will b done 3mths n 1daz b4 my weddin date...

i agree travis is considerate 2 advise us 2 take a mon instead...
perhaps coz we signed up with him directli???

yah been 2 bv 2x...
din get the chance 2 chat with michelle...
colin was there explainin the package...
din get the chance 2 try out their gowns...
think they dun allow potential customer 2 try out their gowns unless u oredi sign up with them...
oredi drop them out of my list...
will b signin up with amanda lee...
u might wana 2 pay her a visit...

hi flowee
congrats! your bridal hunt's over!!!

good choice going with amanda lee!!! her detailing is really superb! and her play with colours is amazing!!! you'll look so gorgeous!!!

good idea to go as a "tag team"!!! can load up on the bargaining skills!!!

as for me it all boiled down to my FH... he prefers to work with a male designer. we could really click with heath who was so accomodating n really listened to our needs...

hi lyne,

o, so you went so many places huh?
now, i can understand why u choose so many
btw, do you feel that you just look great in all
photos?
or is the scenery very nice hah?

Hi bombom

Ya loh I also think that this thread too quiet liao compare to other maybe there are still long way to go before our marriage to no much to discuss now loh. Think everybody should just come in and chit chat loh.

Hi meow

I saw your posting in the free emcee thread so re you using daniel as your emcee?

Yi - the reason why we don't take studio is that my hubby don't like to pose and that our photographer, Andrew Tay, is simply fantastic with his outdoor. And we want to go expo mrt to take with the station, we'll be too shy to go into the trains lah...

Lyne - wow, you go to so many places hah?? so you got 2 albums for 70 pcs?? any pics to show us??

hi flowee,
congrats, finally decided huh!
tatz good!
another load off your mind.
your new place ready soon?

hi kk mei,
ya lor, exam from 24 oct to 01 nov
3 papers and after that, ENJOY!
looking forward to relaxing after that.
me oso initially wanted to go bangkok after exam
but cos wedding ard the corner, decided to save
up instead. hehehe

hi cherry,

oic
me and hubby oso very shy so when
we took nite shoots at the esplanade,
therez pply ard so i think we aren't
very natural. hehehe

saw shots taken in mrt station and inside
trains, shd be nice.

hubby oso dun like to pose but i discover
that studio photos, normally gals pose
more and guys just be "props" i.e just
stand there and look cool. hahaha
so when u taking urs?

hi lyne,

ya huh, any photos to show us?

Hi Yi,

my photoshoot will be on Nov 18...one more month to go but seems very long....actually i'm quite tired of all the preps and felt that i'd really neglected my work...haha hope my boss understand...

is the esplanade shots nice?? i'm thinking of going there for the morning shots with my EG....

bom

yah veri glad my bridal shoppin is over n done with...
dazs back still hvin headache over bridal...
nw finali hv tat load off my mind liao...

i like the way amanda plays with her color...
durin my visit she suggested usin red n orange organza 4 my eg...
which i m game 4 it...

as 4 wg, she had chosen a d satin ballgown with grey lace detailin...
i m happi with wat she proposed...
but wld like 2 explore more options...

well the bottom line is tat u gonna b comfortable with ur designer lor...
glad i din force myself 2 sign up with some bridal who i aint comfortable with... :P

yi

yah more or less confirmed with amanda oredi...
another load off my mind...

my love nest almost done up oredi...
left with some stuff 2 b completed...

hi cherry,

o, how come ur photoshoot so late huh?
ya lor, wait wait wait sian hor. :p
as my exams is end of this mth, i told my coordinator
that i want to get my ps completed by mid oct so
that i can concentrate on my revision
now excited over how my photos look like leh! hehe

my exams will end on 01 nov so after that another
abt 3 mths to my wedding
got to arrange food tasting, printing of cards,
guest list, making my ah yee's wrist corsage etc
all preparations shd start then

somemore, gotta shift my stuff to my love nest
think time after exam wld fly past faster. :p

so what other preps are u busy with that u neglected ur work?
btw, i dun kow if the shots at esplanade is nice
or not until photos are out. will let u koe once i
see them.

flowee,

i didnt know that even before we sign up with them, they'll be free to "entertain" us and bring us to their clients' place for viewing :P

ok, i'll try asking him the next time.

i've booked the banquet. now checking out ID and photography package. end of the year then look into bridal package.

amanda,

oic. i do understand your disposition. actually for me i'm a bit rebellious. i feel that this's my wedding, why shld i please someone else. i mean if the auspicious date they got for me is fine with my schedule, then i dun mind. but i want ourselves to hv the last say rather than the parents.

i heard divine has a branch in kL, why dun u get them?

Hi Yi,

ya, wait wait wait quite sian also. my ps so late 'cos my photographer no more early slot for me when i booked him, so no choice lor.

i have already send my cards for printing, hopefully will get them by food tasting which is after my photoshoot. I think after my photoshoot, i will then take care of the banquet stuff.

neglect work bcos always log in here to chat mah... ;p

Wow!! i didnt know so many of us are on the same date (6 sept 03).

I had booked mine at Merchant Court. fall in love with the ballroom at first sight.

Me got a bridal package in Malaysia..hav not decide yet...

Sep03 : no lobang yet.... we are looking for sport car if possible or else.. maybe something else...

aa

its the clients rite 2 koe how the workmanship is b4 signin up...
dun b pai seh 2 ask...

tat nice u oredi settled ur banquet venue...

Sunnyling,

Sorry, i'm asking him to be my emcee.Huh? Did my name appear there? I email him directly.

I also agree its quiet here. No idea why. Any updates from everyone?

Me bought a big heart shape box from thai jus to put my ang bao and tea light cups too. Jus some stuffs for the dinner.

Hi Yi

Me just came back from my leave..clearing leave lor..Wow u must have an enjoyable time for your photoshooting. Dun worry sure to turn out well for you. Study hard hor..for your exams..

As for me most of the things have been settled liao..so now is to wait after CNY to discuss my gown design with the designer and photoshooting has also been set in June 03. So kind of looking forward to it too..

Hi Flowee

Me have confirm my actual day photographer with Hilarion Goh and videographer with Eric.

Sunnyling,

Sorry about that. I hope you'll manage to find your friend to help. Sorry again. Cathy is also my name but regisetered.