(2003) Brides of year 2003

I am lost too!! Postings are so fast!!

Hi Veil, I am not sure how many outfits will my FH wear, cos' have yet to discuss with my co-ordinator. I will going for my 1st fitting next week. Will check it out then.

Hi Nufoss,

Which day do you usu. go to Amore at Orchard Cineleisure? We can arrange to meet.
Motivate each other.. Paddingtonbear, do you want to join us? I also need to lose 10 kgs if possible..

Thanks for the info on Fenn Ho's charges. Most prob will get my friend to do the videography..budget constraint..

Oh ya, gals have you done your blood test for Rubella and Hep A / B? It's important to go for these tests. I just had the first jab for Hep A & B.

Hi Tiara,

yar, christmas is quite popluar, jus tat its a weekday,

Tintin,
agreed that it sounds nice.

El,
I went to suntec exhibiton but not very pleased with GHA(my personal view)..din go down to shop..

sunshine,

tats good to know that we have the same date, no prob, if can, i sure join u!

I jus went down to a few bridal and Silhouette gowns are lovely and I think I will sign up with them.

hi joy2003,

i haven't decided which day to go yet as I work past 7 most days. So if you also work late, then we can catch the 8pm sessions at Amore Cineleisure together. But if you knock off at abt 6pm, I am also ok to catch the earlier classes. Must sacrifice work to exercise, work is never ending anyway.

Me not fussy abt classes, except cannot do hi-lo aerobics, not enough stamina to jump. But step aerobics & other toning or cardio is fine.

Let me know lah. Intend to go at least 2 times a week. The NB on thursday at 7pm or SW on tuesday at Cineleisure seems like a good timing, only thing is must book in advance.

I also dun mind bugis Amore too bcos I stay in tampines, on the way home too.

If everything is ok, then we can exchange contact nos & start burning our excess fats together !!

paddingtonbear... you interested ?

nofuss

Hi jbride

Mine is end Dec and I intend to go for an OTR with Kai, so won't be going down so early. But Kat was telling us the price would be different and all. In fact she told me to go down in Dec this year to pick the gown I want. How much deposit did you have to pay?

Hi cutiechar

I love Christmas too but many of our friends will not be able to make that day so we changed it. In fact we just look at all the dates in Dec and pick few that we like. We didn;t even tell our parents about the date until we've booked the banquet ;)

Hi Yi , twiiti and all gals

I am back again! Glad to see tat the thread is moving so actively...

How are u all doing?

Me busy sourcing for actual day photgrapher/videographer past few weeks lor...so tiring.
yawn.gif

Hey Tiara,

Same here..in fact..I was dropping off christmas day as well coz its a weekday leh..keke

we oso picked any day that we like then tell parents..but mayb I am looking in a earlier month..have u booked ur bridal?

cheeers

hi flowee,

yap, hubby and i saw some real nice photos taken at pulau ubin so thinking of going there instead of sentosa lor.
will oso take photos at merchant court that day.
think mon will be a real tiring day! :p
will update you abt that day on tuesday!

hi feb,

welcome back!
me having my photoshoot on mon at pulau ubin,
kind of excited over it! hehehe
dun koe how it wld turn out, hopefully everything
goes on smoothly!

after that, will have to concentrate on my coming exams
and in nov will really start planning for my big day in jan. :p
what abt u?

hi fluffy,

thank you.
will sure get plenty of rest b4 mon
gog quite alot of places like pulau ubin,
merchant court, shenton way etc for outdoor shots.
so think will sure be very tired then. :p

like you, i'm not thinking of choosing too
many photos coz of the cost and oso many frens
advise me coz itz gog to be a waste as nobody
looks at it after the wedding again. :p
i have asked my hubby to control me liao. hehehe

i shall update u gals on tues abt my ps, ok.

Hi sunshine..

Are u there at BV bridal show??? I was there yesterday nite...wow..so crowded...I couldn't get a seat..so was standing thru out the nite...so tired especially after a day's work..still have to stand for 2 hrs...

The gowns are overwhelming...I think 100over gowns plus suits are fashion showed...For those who were there...juz share my opinion..I like the soft series of evening gowns very much..the ones in pastel blue, purple, yellow, pink and green..it's so romantic and comfortable feeling...Do uall know wat am i refering to??? I wonder.. ha ha

Hi ling,

Yah, i am looking at TG Goh if i take up jawn's package. but dunno how much to top up. If too ex, not worth it...
Wah, your weekend sounds so wonderful... me not doing anything. Just stay at home and catch up some sleep...zzz...

Hi flowee,
Wedding in a church sounds nice but then since my fiance is a catholic, i have to take the marriage prep course.... me very stressed about it.. dunno what type of questions they will ask...

How was the BV show last nite?

hi mio,

was at the BV show last night too...but couldnt last thru the whole show...my legs were "breaking" with the standing and my bf was not feeling v. well...so left at around 8.30 or so...

but saw the EG series you were toking..yup, the colors are very dreamy and sweet...the lilac one is very nice...hmmm...but somehow not my idea of the EG i want lor...the later series of gowns were better, dun you think?....the first few were urhmmm ....

but overall think BV gowns like not really my kind lor...feel that doesnt really suit small size gals like myself...

Hi all..

Wow.. lots of stuff.. going a bit blur too..

Hey, what do you gals do at Amore? I use to go there to go powerypga and pilates, need to trim tummy and love handles.. very sad hor.. but with my new job, the hours are so mad, i stop already..

Gwen, yes cheongsam is one of the MTM option, but a lot of pl doing it these days too.. dunno what to do to make the cheongsam stand out.. and i know some of my guests will come in cheongsam too.. so aye..

Joy2003, i thght we have the rubella done in schol last time liao? you thinkin gof having kid issit, so take first? me always want for the Hep A and B one, but really scared of the pain..

I v. keen to go learn dancing leh.. any one interetsed? I think that shld be a gpd way to trim too.. like jazz or salsa? let me know ok?

April, your electrical seems like a lot hor.. i dunno whether 2.1 is a lot.. mine about 18 downlights and the standard points, about 1 k plus..

Keep the good news rolling.. me still scratching my head about EG.. geee...

Dear All

I'm new to this thread. We just got our wedding date settled on 24 Mar (MONDAY!) and we have not done anything yet!
Will you be able to help me on the following?

1) Banquet
His dad prefers to cater from outside (his own lobang) and we are now sourcing for a centralised venue that allows us to bring outside food. We are looking for somewhere that can accomodate at least 60 tables. Do you know of any? (Expo and IMM are out.)

My banquet date is flexible, not 24 Mar definitely. But would prefer to hold it close to this date.

2) Mandarin Hotel / Marriott Hotel
anyone here taking the above hotels?
i've arranged for an appt with them on Mon/Tues, with Zainal / Angela.

Any other recommendations?

If we are getting hotels, it will be a weekday banquet.

3) Bridal
anyone here with graceful Image? I'm quite impressed with their gowns which I saw in many bridal mags. I'm quite ba ba (fleshy) and noticed they have gowns with nice sleeves for my camouflage...

any other recommendations?

4) Photography
I am interested to take up a studio package with Milan in JB (abt RM$2,000). Have met with them to see their portfolios (non-models) and v impressed. But their gowns are certainly not as trendy as in s'pore.

As for actual day photography, really no idea at the moment. any recommendations within $800?

Sorry folks, for asking so much and not able to contribute anything here, yet. I seek your understanding....

Hi Fluffy,
I just got went to the card printers two saturdays ago. I went to T-Dragon and they have a showroom at Excelsior Shopping Centre #03-13 (if i didn't get the unit wrong). U can look for Connie Koh.

Dolphie, How much does Choon Huat charge? I read on another thread about a CH Lim. Does anyone have any idea about him? What about Yew Kwang?

feb

which actual daz photographer had u check out???
so far i onli met kc from greymatter...
waitin 4 monica from vividshot 2 b back in sg...

yi

tats gd since u had seen some pixs taken @ pulau ubin n like the scenery by all means go 4 it...

juz signed up with utopia on my studio photography...
after all the consideration, decided 2 take up their promotional package...
finali photography settled...
next will b which bridal 2 get...
max he is buz with his projects n papers also comin...
wont wana 2 bother him durin this period of time...
will onli sign up 4 my bridal after his papers...
meanwhile oredi shortlisted some...
will chose within them coz max mentioned he is tired over checkin out bridal oredi...

bijou

i had joined u as a 'utopia' bride 2 b...
signed up juz hrs back with travis...
he oredi booked a slot 4 my studio photography...
wonder if u r the one who had taken the 23th june slot???
he told mi onli 2, 9 n 16 which r all mon available...
i took the 9th june slot...

its 3mth n 1 daz b4 my actual weddin daz...
he advised its better 2 get a mon slot coz can hv enough rest on sat n sun...
veri nice n considerate of him...

btw u confirmed with jawn oredi???
do they tie up with leon lim???
a sb bride mentioned leon he is gd u might wana 2 check him out...

mi shortlisted a few bridal hvin a hard time decidin which one 2 engage...
they r ted wu, amanda lee, silhouette n bridal veil...
the show last nite was fine but as i m seated @ the last row aint able 2 catch sight of the gowns tat well...
juz visited bv...
their bridal package without photography is @ $3880...
they throw in a tea dress n a otr suit ( 1 time rental )which most bridal dun throw in...
if u r interested can drop by...

Hi Vin,
My friend who is getting married next mth also used Julia. She is very tom-boy & Julia has transformed her into a lady.

Yes, the red one makes u look very sexy. I like the pink one more, u look really nice in that. How abt wearing the pink one but let yr hair down? U look good in those soft curls.

For wedding gown, I like u to bun up yr hair like the one with the tiara. Which one do u prefer?

Hmm....yr bf looks really young in his white suits. Is he going to wear another colour on yr actual day?

Sorry had to MIA for so long...too busy wif work and studies. Anybody stay in the west cause I am putting up here. We also thought of going NZ at first and do F&E but also love to be able to go Europe...so at a loss and of course that budget thing is also very dampening to our moods...

Anyway if we go F&E, is there an iternary to refer to???

Rgds

taddess,
I don't know if there is or not, but if you tell me how long you have, and what sort of holiday you'd like to have - outdoorsy, scenery, adventure etc, I could give you some suggestions for NZ.

HI veil,

actually when I last went to Amore, they didn't have yoga or pilates, just the usual Step workout & aerobics.

Now that they have more classes & more variety, I will certainly try as much as I can. The main thing is to lose weight & increase my metabolism level. I have been dieting for 1 1/2 mths but only lost 3 kgs, seems the weight loss is stagnant. Thats why I want to workout to lose more weight. I got to lose tummy, love handles, upper arms & more . . .

Hoping to do it regularly as my working hours are mad too. But for the sake of looking good during our wedding, I must sacrifice these few months lor.

my actual day photography costs $950, if you interested, can give you the contact.

As for the venue - Mandarin or Marriot, cannot give you much advice except that Mandarin's food seems better and their chair covers are different from the usual kind.

Never attended any weddings at Marriot before, but I know that the ballroom has no pillars, what I remember from a company D&D I attended 2 yrs ago.

Hope the little info above will help.

nofuss

Hi Fluffy,

We didn't intend to choose so many initially. However, those selected were well taken

The lady suggested I took all 70 shots for the big album. That wld have costs me abt 3K. I definitely wldn't have spent that amount.

Just added 10 more to the big album on top of the 22 15Rs from the package.

As for the remaining ones, I took them in their original state (4R & glossy surface with white borders)which costs $12 each. They wld be placed in a long album ( abt half the size of the 15R album). My package included 3 albums. One 15R, another 5R and another 2R. Same photos. The photos in the long album are different shots.

Hi Yi,

Hope the weather is fine on Monday. Have a really good rest on Sunday. It's no joke. I was worn out by then during the evening shots. It's the walking and posing and smiling
I had red eyes by the time night shots were taken. Rejected those :P

Hi Gals!

Nufoss,

I signed up the Power package, hence sometimes, I will just go for gym exercise instead of aerobics. I had only tried step aerobics once, but not good with it. Instead, I like hi-lo aerobics.

I used to go for NB on Monday 6.30pm at Cineleisure. But, hardly goes now due to work.
Hey, let's exchange handphone no. and we can arrange to meet. My email is "[email protected]"

Hi JuzMe,

Welcome to the thread!

You can try Suntec for banquet, but they don't allow outside catering. In fact, it's not easy to find a location that can takes up 60 tables plus allows outside caterers.. Anyway to negotiate with your FIL?

As for hotels, what Nufoss mentioned is right. Mandarin's food is better. As for Marriott, never attend any dinner there. Can't comment.

Graceful Image? Yes, I like their gowns as advertised in the magazines..but there has been some unfavorable comments about them under their thread. You can check it out. Well, I did check out on them, but I did not have a pleasant experience. In addition, their package is not as attractive plus expensive. Heard comments that there are also alot of hidden cost. Well, it's better for you to pay them a visit to experience yourself. Probably, it may turn out well for you.

Have you visit other bridal boutiques?
You may like to try Jazreel Low's Collections, Le Galleria, Lezen Creations. Btw, I have signed up with Jazreel Low.

Photography wise, Choon Huat from Fast Soup is good. His charges are $850 for 8 rolls of film.

Hi Veil,

Yes, all babies born after 1968 will have the rubella jab done. However, we do need to check if we still have the antibodies. Haha..no, am not thinking of having baby first. Just that it's better to do the needful checkup before marriage.

Don't worry about the Hep A & B jab. It's not that painful at all. Oh ya, you may like to check out Raffles medical. They are having a promotion till Dec 02. Hep A & B Jab cost $82. Usually, Hep B cost $34 and Hep A cost $80. I took my first jab, 2 more to go.

hi feb/yi/flowee,

i'm back too...
not too much shopping around but went to white link to look at their gowns. not too bad.

tomorrow will try to c if i can drop some more of the boutiques and hotels.

wah this is tough!!

Hi cutiechar

No I haven't booked my bridal yet but I have decided on Kai. Yourself? And you have decided on where to have your banquet yet?

Harrow..

everytime i read the thread, ilearn something new...

Nofuss, your photo package sounds good.. can share? my email is [email protected] I am looking for actual day also and looking for varous options..

HI Juzme.. WELCOME.. I attended a good friend's wedding at Marriot.. it is one of the nicer weddings I ve been, the food is OK, not like awful or anything.. but i also heard Mandarn is good as well, so you want to meet them and decide which is a more economical deal..

Photography, I am still looking too.. do share if you have any good deals.. BTW, anyone knows what's 'normal' for actual day photography..

As for bridal boutiques, I ve no experience with those mentioned.. you may want to set a budget, then source within the range.. and find your dream gown.. but always be careful of hidden costs OK?

Venue for 60 tables is really tough.. The Art Museum can't hold this much, how about fort canning, or some ctry club ball room, like raffles marina? dunno can or not... but it's a try ...

Hey Joy2003, me the coward and super low pain tolerance.. always cry when 'accidents' happen kind, like fall down and scratch leg, draw blood etc... me v. scared, but i know its best to get the jab,my mum has been nagging me about it, esp since i travel quite a bit and in some places, like parts of china, indonesia, even thailand, the utensils ma notbe all clean etc.. so me at risk, esp Hep A i think..

I heard raffles also got some female health check thinggi package, anyone tried? me determine to go before wedding.. feel better.. heehee..

take care.. me taking doggie out for a walk now.. and later going to look at gowns.. let you know my search..

VeiL

twii

beside whitelink which other bridal hv u check out???

u hv ur date oredi???
its best 2 hv a date 2 check out hotels...
without a date they aint able 2 advise u coz sometime the daz u wana is oredi taken up by some couple...
they also dun wana 2 waste ur time mah...

hi tiara,

oh...that's pretty early to select the gowns? maybe its becoz she'll have more brides returning their gowns at the end of the year...

maybe u can ask her to keep the gown u've selected in dec & go down again early next year to see if there's any new ones that u like

i've paid $500 when i signed up during the show...

Hey thanks Priviledged

The maximum number of days I could go for my honeymoon is fourteen days and it would be after my wedding so it would be June. Just remembered one factor putting us off NZ is the thought of going there in winter...How cold is it and what can we do there?

We like scenery stuff, farm stays and shopping...so what would you suggest

Ming, the response for the Bridal Veil show was really good. They showcased abt 100 gowns and suits. However, they should have more seats... it's really very tiring for those who have to stand throughout the show. I was only of the lucky ones.. i got a seat at the back. But didn't have a good view.

Also, there wasn't any promotions going on. No discounts, extra pics. etc. In fact, they didn't even sell their package there.

Hey, seems like christmas really isn't very popular huh. Anyone think it is a bad choice???

Enjoy the rest of your sunday!

Hi Sue,

Me like the pink one most as well.. for the hair do, will think abt it coz me still don't know which one I should choose for my actual day. Actually I hv a curly hair.

Actaully I prefer all my make-up and hair-do, coz they gv me different feel when I took photos but there's only one actually wedding day.. so must really think of it. Will see all the comments first.

My bf looks very young is white suite. The actual day suite will be in different colours. Actually there's a dark grey colour suite that match my evening gown but don't hv the polaroids. Well in fact he's young, just 26 yrs old.

So when you took ur photos???

Hi Vin,
I will be taking my photos in March. I have really straight hair which I don't really like. I tried perming it but it straightened in just a few mths. Will go for my trial make-up in end Nov & see what can the make up artist can do to my hair.

I am a Sep 2003 bride too. Nice to meet you here

Mine is on 4 Sep. Just curious, anyone shares the same date as mine?

Hi all! Was just reading the papers today about the awful experience of the couple who held their wedding dinner at Carlton hotel.

I just want to say that I really hope that none of us kenna that kind of service! I think it's really atrocious that the hotel dared prevent their guests from leaving even though they've paid for their hotels rooms. I'd definitely have taken legal action.

Good luck to all... *cross fingers*

Hi JuzMe,

I attented 2 weddings at Mariott this year. Find their Food & service good. They got a big reception area & it's pillarless
As for Mandarin, only attended D&D & company functions there so can't comment ... But the best is u go & take a look yourself & compare the packages they offered.

Hi joy2003,

I did my blood tests (Hap A+Hap B+Rubella) & annual checkup at Raffles too. So coincidence...
I had completed 2 jabs for Hap A + Hap B. 3rd jab coming 1 mth before wedding. Heng so far so good...
Just to be on the safe side...

Hi Neko,

My wedding will also be on 4 sept 2003. So how's your preparation? So far i have booked banquet dinner, bridal, and currently waiting for my flat to be ready early next year. I am yet to cfm actual day photographer.

if you are a sept 20 bride and wanted to book with pohnnie, let me know, cos i got her package for actual day, night and trial for sep 20 at 500. paid 50 deposit.(the package now is 550) but now i'm hv book with another make up artist. if you are interested, pls let me know.

bjiou,

i thought the make up artist is included for the actual day make up??

ended up never go to sentosa on sunday cos the fish tank leaking water. flooded the living room when we came back from breakfast. but anyway, we only fixed it in the evening.

now i whole body aching cos yesterday go to gym after so many mths of not exercising.

anyone of you start exercising already?? me going for the first session of personal training this wednesday. got 11kg of fats in me

flowee,
how's the bv show. so you left wiht the bridal package only izzit??

hi flowee, neko, jl.

you girls wanted to drive yourself ah. very tiring one you know. at first i also have the idea of driving ourselves but thinking of waking up early and all having so many ppl discouraging us, we discard the idea.

Jazz: thanks, got the contacts. will discuss with fiance and see how.

Vin: protest! i cannot see the photos. i downloaded it but still cannot see. my pc keep saying cannot recognise files! all 12 of them i also cannot see. any idea how to solve the problem?

Shook: how come so early for studio shoot? my studio haven't tell me when. hope not soon becos i haven't even start to lose weight! panic.

HI Jan2003,

Me will try to send again... shue don't hv such problem ler??? Let me know if you still can't see, ok?

Hi! as usual, me quite lost in the threads...

Jesz: my 3rd jab oso 1 mth b'4 wedding, same as u...but mine is at polyclinic.
Veil:dun worry. try not to think abt it and all wil be over in seconds...actually it does depends on the nurse giving the jab. my 2nd jab was > painful than the 1st. but it's still considered very mild, jus like an ant bite...
Juzme: i've attended wedding dinner at Marriot. The food is gd but svc is slow. we had to wait quite a while b'4 next dish is served...

I'm busy with reno now. Jus went shopping for furnitures over the wkend...