(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Gals!!

A big welcome to Paddingtonbear, Veil and Jean!

Wow..the thread is going so fast till I am LOST!! Haven't log in for a few days and my eyes are now ROLLING away!!

Hi Gwen,
My 1st fitting will be next week, so will see how's my WG and EG designs before I decide on my flowers. Now, flipping through bridal magazines to get ideas for my gowns. Went down to Couture Wedding Show last Sunday by Female Brides..but sad to say, most of the WGs were so revealing and sexy..except for Graceful Image and Le Galleria.

Hi Veil,

Have you confirmed your design for EG? I am also planning to wear Kwa. I think your hubby can wear the normal suit to go along with your Kwa. I had just attended my gf's wedding, she wore Kwa and her hubby wear suit with the Chinese style cutting on the neck. Hope this helps.

Hi Jean,

Mandarin's food is good better. Don't go for Traders. I attended a wedding dinner at Traders last year, the standard of the food was not so good. I didn't try the food at Pan Pac, so can't comment.

Hi March,

Oo..I thought you are the March bride whom I saw on the other thread...seem that there are more than one bride with March as the name. Hey, Merchant Ct is a nice hotel with good food! Good choice!

Hi Nufoss,

How much is Fenn Ho's charges?? Saw her name in a few threads, wondering how much is her charges.

I am still waiting for the confirmation of the church venue. You see, my church is using the premise of a school hall, hence I need to book another church premise to hold the wedding. Will let you know once I confirm the venue.

Sure, we can go for aerobic classes together! I usually frequent the branch at Bugis Junction, sometimes I will drop by the branch at Orchard Cineleisure.

Yes, I am also trying to find out more about "dowry". My mom's a Cantonese, so roast pig is likelihood an item she would request for. Oh ya, have you bought your bridal tulle/ribbons and tea set? Where did you get it at Arab Street? I need to get them too...

How's much is your resale in Tamp? I was surprised to find out from HDB that the Punggol flats for Chinese applicants have all been taken up!! So, have to wait for the next BTO for Punggol to be announced in year end.

kk,
yup, I also heard from my friend sis saying not bad lor..do the rest have pilars?big or not?sorrie ar, cause i be going down there to rookie on this sun...
actually, pple have really different taste so sometimes so confusing, i find noble house food not bad also...

blury

i totali agree its reali up 2 individual how u feel abt the venue or bridal...
juz let ur heart rule u...

yi

congrates all ur assignments r over...
nw hv 2 concentrate on ur papers...

so u will get white gold jewelleries lor...
gd 4 u i dun think mine will b of white gold but anyway can hv 1 set of each also gd...
max commented gold matches better with kua...
did i mentioned 2 u tat i tried kua @ the hse of ettiquette last sat???
max commented veri nice n the sale lady also commented i can carried kua veri well...

kk mei

yah lor i totali agree with u...
frankli speakin i had my dinner @ noble hse b4...
aint impressed by their food...
booked them coz many ppl had gd comments on their weddin dinner...
i felt tat the food @ the chinese swimmin club tunglok is veri nice...
i like their tim sum...

hi joyful

yes, it was thru' one of the recent furnishing exihibitions. in fact, all things went well until my ID told me they made a mistake in their quote & i hv to fork out an add'l $1K for one of the reno item.

now arranging to meet my ID & mgr face-2-face to try to come to a compromise. at worst case, i'll pull out the plugs & look for another ID. hope u hv better luck in yr selection.

twii

u can sign up 4 bridal fair 2...
attend those u r interested in as in bridal n banquet venue...

blury

u can check out orchard parade club chinos...
heard tat they hv pretti gd food 4 weddin...
they r under the tunglok grp n u can chose 2 use the hotel ballrm or restaurant 2 hold ur dinner...

Hi gwen, paddingtonbear, veil, nofuss and joy2003,

Happy to receive feedback from u all.
By the way, did anyone of u went for slimming/facial/toning for the wedding? I was told to trim down on my stomach. Wanted to know which beauty salon is gd?

Actually wanted to choose 23/03/03 bec my rom is on 23/02/02 but the hotels are fully booked, thus went to the next date which is 30/03/03. My dates are told by a geomancer. By the way, which fish are u all using for the dinner. I was told that Groupa is better than Soon Hock. Is this true? Now in the process of choosing the dishes. Most probably will be choosing Mandarin S'pore as the feedback from u all is quite gd. Although i have a colleague who wanted to choose the same hotel as me. She is 4 mths b4 me. Any gd suggestion of venue for 22 -25 tables not > $800.

Are u all wearing a kua or a teadress? I can choose either one of this but could't decide.
How abt flowers, what are u all using?

Lastly, what songs are u all using during the dinner?

Hope I will not bored u all .

Hi EL, if you are kiasu then so are all of us!! We all have to start early in order to get the place we want etc rite? and u r right, at least we can take our time with the preparations.... Have u booked your hotel yet? where are u thinking of booking?

flowee,

yap, wld concentrate on my papers then after that
we can go shopping together.

hopefully, MIL will get white gold for me lor coz
my gowns all not match with yellow gold.
and if i'm expected to wear them after the wedding
then it must be white gold coz i'm too fair to
look nice in yellow gold lah! :p

o, so you taking kwa?
me not taking kwa as teadress anymore coz think it
too heavy, took a OTR dress from the bridal studio
instead.

kind of excited over ps next monday leh. :p

yi

gd afternn after my yong tou hu lunch...

lookin 4ward 2 meetin u again after papers...
i 'window shoppin' u 'shoppin' ok... :P

anyway i hv 2 sets of jewellery so i wont mind gettin yellow gold lor...
of coz pretti my parent's set coz they bought mi a veri pair of diamond ear ring in the shape of a flower...
dad custom makin my ring n heard from my mum my grandma givin mi a necklace n braclet durin the tea ceremony...
since mil wana 2 get 4 mi yellow gold b it lor...
juz worried the design might nt b wat i wana...

shd b gettin kua but aint sure 4 foto shot or actual daz...
will hv a WG, EG, my rom outfit n a kua...
wonder hv time 2 change 2 x durin the dinner or nt...
thot of usin the kua 4 the 'shake hand say gd bye time'...
c how lor 2 earli 2 decide...

muz share with mi ur foto shot pixs hor...

enjoy n keep mi updated...

flowee,
I got the dates liao!!!! its in sept..finally...
I am also thinking of wearing kua but see howlor.. My mil asks me to go find n let her know n they go with me to buy the si dian qing...
Yup, I asked my friend to accompany me to the show liao.so will check the mag n made bookings to go there...

Hi Ming,

I have not confirmed yet. Most probably will be Holiday Inn. Do you have any opinions on it? Personally I find that the hotel looks quite old but the ballroom is quite beautiful. I have another choice which is Concorde Hotel. Please share your views with me.

blury

congrates which daz in sept???

u mean ur mil ask u 2 check ard then she will get ur ideal one 4 u???
tats veri nice of her...
remember 2 check her budget hor...

ur gf goin 4 the bridal show with u???
u r gettin hotel or restaurant after discussin with ur hub???
u can book ur venue oredi since u oredi hv ur date...

Hi Jean,

I need to slim down overall too. My colleague tried Expressions, she said can check them out. Are you interested?

As for facial, you can try Daphne Wong at Tress located at Raffles City Shopping Centre, 3rd floor. Tel: 6333 1289. I am currently doing my facial with her. She is using Sothys products.

Actually it depends very much on how the fish is being cook. Why not you do a food tasting on both items and then decide on the one that's better?
As for 22-25 tables > $800, you can try Orchard Parade Hotel. The food is by Tung Lok Group, and it's good! I had attended 3 weddings in OP.

Given a choice, I would go for Kua. You don't get to wear Kua apart from wedding. So, it's more memorable.
As for flowers and songs...haven't chosen it myself.

hi EL,
if u want Holiday Inn, better be fast!

cos i chk with Holiday Inn in Sept for my wedding date,7th of Dec, the grand ballroom is booked!

so u better hurry!

flowee,
ya now will look at club chinos,noble house,pearl river palace, novotel,le meridian before making a decision, cause a lot of hotels cannot make it for the min tables.I think my MIL intially wants to go together shopping with me but I dun really like the idea lor,cause my fh wont be going...so a bit weird weird.
Yup she agreed to go with me...I havent really discussed with my hubby regarding the dinner but as u see on my list most is rest cause hotel dun have much choice lei..intially wants to include amara but heard negative comments.

<FONT COLOR="orange">Cherubies</FONT> - My photoshoot is on the 8th of next month. why leh?

<FONT COLOR="red">Flowee</FONT> &amp; <FONT COLOR="purple">Yi</FONT> - Glad you gals getting excited over your own wedding. So luckly even know wat you having for '4 dot gold'

Me
seems like my mil is more concern about my sil wedding than ours. I think my 4 dot gold will only be bought maybe 1 or 2 weeks before my wedding.

Hi happygal,

Thanks for your reminder. I had placed a tentative booking with them to secure the place first. Hee hee.... another proof of my kiasu-ness.

Hi yi,

wow, finally you taking photos... any particular place you hv in mind. have lotsa fun ok..

blurydoey, when is your date? sept also . there are a lot of sep brides here.

the shi dian jin must get so early ah?? i will also be going shopping for the 4 piece set with my Parent's in law and my bf cos they want us to chose ourselves ( guess this makes their job easier cos they dun have to chose).

flowee,
think you can wear your rom for the reception, wedding gown for the walk in, evening for the second walk in and kua for the sending off. you remind me. my kua have not send for washing yet. i dunno whether i should send it now or send it when the date is nearer.???

for the 4 piece gold. must it be in gold????
think my bf's sil got silver or platinum diamond set .and a gold diamond braclet during tea ceremony.

blurdoey, how many tables do you need? if you just wnat say 14 tables. Oriental offer this cos' my bf brother will be having his wedding their. you can try raffles as well.

hi elaine,

how are you? you also having photoshoot soon. so fun.. you dress is completed already? i mean final fitting??

your sil also getting married ah? this mth is it or ???

dun worry about the 4 dot gold cos for me, will be going to be few weeks before wedding then get. cos' the parents always last minute one.

Hi Veil, the reason why I wanted 20th March was coz I wanted to have the date as 20032003, coz my ROM was 020202. Initially wanted it to be 030303, but realised it's a monday, so gave up the idea. I'm ok with Thursday coz my bro had his on a thursday as well and the turn out was pretty good, so I think it should be ok la. At least it's towards the end of the week orady..Also coz it's a weekday, people can't sabo that much coz next day gotta work...
) But anyway, coz my 20032003 got released by the hotel, I had to change the date and so went for 328 (28th March-Friday)instead.
) (Cantonese la...always want so nice numbers)

Hi Nofuss, my hubby stays in Tampines too and I stay around Simei area myself, so we had wanted to get resale in Tampines. Had view a number of flats but just couldn't come to a consensus b/w ourselves and our parents...either one party likes and the other won't like...sigh...so gave up and took SK instead...at least everything is new, so can't complain anymore. :op Otherwise, we could have become neighbours too!

Hi Joy2003, my hubby and I are both cantonese, but we are trying to make things as simple as possible for the customary...I'm planning to do away without the roast pig...coz I'm kinda chubby and I feel as if I'm "given" away in exchange for a fat roast pig! :op Haven't really gone to the stage of "negotiation" among both families...tot it's still early, so will talk abt it only at a much later date... :o)

Hi Jean, though I'm on the chubby side, I hadn't really been trying any slimming "activities" except keeping on a low carbo diet...coz haven't had my fitting yet, so still not worried. But after my fitting in Nov, I'm sure I'll start panicking and do something abt it. :op I'll be wearing a kua for the daytime when returning home, and might wear it also at the end of the wedding dinner to see all the guests out...if time permits...and if the kua looks nice...otherwise I'll drop the idea!

As for flowers...haven't really decided yet...but I like calla lillies...so will probably seek the florists' advice on the colours and the accompanying flowers...for march-in song...utterly no clue at all...

Hi EL...

How many tables do u have??? I have heard that Holiday Inn ballrm has a few pillars..if u have too many tables..they might block ur view...Wanna ask u again..have u booked ur bridal package? Me very absent-minded. hee hee

Hi mio,

I have around 25 tables. I think the tables can be positioned such that there is no blockage. I've booked my bridal package with Golden Horse. You are not the only absent minded one here. Me too. I also can't remember who's with which bridal and who's with which hotel. :P

Hi ling,

Me veri busy now...no time to sleep too
got 11 projects on-hand now...trying to earn more money 4 the flat, but got a price to pay...pimples &amp; hair loss

My final fit supposing to be last fri but I changed to this fri which is 2molo.

Have to see if my pimples go down...now trying to clear some projects &amp; take a break...if not postpone the photoshoot...

My sil is getting married next month...she's also chasing me for her wedding website, coz she wan to give out the cards liao...stress

btw, how r u? got go back to doc or not?

Hi EL,

So now u have tentatively booked Holiday Inn?...I know they are quite good in terms of their package price ...they give free flow of beer throughout the nite..which I think it's quite worth the price..

Hi Jazz, Thanks a lot for the printer infor. I'll need it.

Hi Vin, in fact I dun really know what wedding favours I want. Perhaps you can email me &amp; I'll check with them directly. Can include the link for your photos as well? Thanks!

Hi joy2003,

Fenn Ho's charges are very reasonable. I think ranges from $650 to $900. As mine is only 9 hrs coverage, she charged me $650.

I bought my resale in tamp last june for $351k, now the price should have dropped due to depressed pty market.

I bought my organza at no. 41 Arab st, and the ribbons just across no. 41, I think its no.38. But its really very cheap, the organza costs only $3 per metre versus elsewhere at $6 &amp; above per metre.

Tea set haven't found one I like, will go to chinatown to look for it next week.

I am on the plump side too, put on 10 kgs since 2000. So now must be extra disciplined to lose weight,tats why signed up for Amore. But for the moment I lost 3 kgs, so another 7 more to go... dunno whether can succeed or not.

Hi paddingtonbear,

I bought st 33 tamp, the flat is abt 5 1/2 years old when we bought it last June. We only saw 4 flats before deciding on the present one, bcos we didn't one that was renovated, we wanted one in original condition so that we can do it up ourselves.

Since i am also on the plump side too, why don't we all exercise together ? I signed with Amore already, will go to the one at Cineleisure bcos its near my office. Want to go together ?

your wedding day is on 28, mine on 29, one day after.

Hi Jean,

I attended a wedding at Mandarin recently, food is quite good and they renovated the ballroom. The seat covers are special too, it is like a chair stocking, instead of the usual fabric cover.

Can consider seriously since it is so centralised too.

Nofuss

blurydoey,

I can't remember already whether pearl river got pillars or not. I dun see anywhere in magazine that pearl river is a pillar-free restaurant?? So it might not be. Anyway u are popping by to take a look ya?

Yi/Flowee jie,

Hubby keep asking me to wear kua for tea ceremony. But so far i dun really buy the idea coz i think i am too short to be in a kua. Then it seems like i will wrap myself up like a rice dumpling. haha... So far i still prefer to wear maybe a long dress for tea ceremony...so see how lor. U get kua from same bridal shop or from other outside shops?

Hi mio,

I think it's a good deal too. will probably take up this package. heard lots of good comments on it.

Hi Flowee and Sue (and all other brides)!!!

I'm also going for to BV's show tomorrow.. heh.. we're all probably gonna bump into one another..
High chance that I'm signing up with BV so this is really a look-see to have more ideas for gown design..

Come to think of it, except for banquet, I haven't settled anything yet for our wedding next July.. also got church ceremony to plan as well..wah so many things to do.. very stressed sometimes..

One question: Do u gals think it's advisable to buy electrical equipment this year, for next year's delivery - prob around Jan/Feb?? I just got keys from HDB so am hoping to finish reno by next Feb.. now trying to avoid paying the extra 2% GST.. but a bit "sim tia" leh.. so early have to pay for these big items..

sleepy already... *YAWN* Good nite!

elaine,

wow, 11 projects ah??? and some more got to do website for your sil .. poor girl.. dun tired yourself ok..

oh. i went to do laser the other time for my leg , upper lips and armpit. now leg and lip hair gone. only armpit very thin. dunno want to do or not.

p.s. remember to rest ok.

Hi all..

Wow.. all the responses..me excited... just notice like a lot of cantones here leh.. Hands up cantonese.. heehee.. me also..

Jean, I ahree with joy2003 that kwa will be good.. I am going with kwa for sure.. in fact my hubby want me to wear it for the banquet and skip the EG, me dun think a good idea.. Joy2003, thks for the tip.. i thk hubby will wear suit then.. but his is not the chinese style one.. ut maybe ok lah, wear red shirt inside lor =P

Just one quesiton, how many suits your FH has for the wedding day huh? Is the suit that he came in to fetch bride the same as the one for nite? Will be stinko? not sure how this goes... though we are really close to bursting our budget for the wedding already.. still thk betta check to see what's the norm first..
Jean, i start going for facial recently.. and feel good.. i ve been to various but cuz i travel quite a bit and my skin v, senstive and can like immediate break out kind.. the BT i am going to is good.. too.. she is located at CHIJMES, PH5.5..you want i can pass the contact.. and the good thing is it is near my work place.. she does extraction but so good that after that, me go back office to work, no one belive me have gone for facial hahaha!!!

As for song, we have song in mind, Canon, but we want to find the accapella version or get live performance if can afford.. that remains to be seen..

You ppl book the actual day photographer yet? me dunno how much is reasonable.. though me trying to convince hubby to go with Nick Goh.

Flowers, tea set, ribbons etc, me no think yet.. when closer time.. you sure see me panic again.. now more worried abt evening. I finally found the pic i want to show hubby, want show you all first, but dunno how to paste here.. heeheehee.. so happy to finally find the pic...

can i ask, are you all done with the house? very tiring process right? me just finish and relieved, but the feeliing of seeing the house come into shape is so nice.. esp if it is with hubby.. right?

Nofuss, what is Fenn ho? sorry, me dunno..the shop you buy rganza from sell many fabrics? feel like choosing own fabric to make EG..

okiee.. so far here for the moment.. talk again soon.. take care!
'
Veil

Few questions for ask about shoes:
----------------------------------
1) 4 shoes to buy or just 3 enough?
(1WG, 2EGs, 1 kua or 2EGs, wear same shoe)
2) To custom-make WG shoe or not to?
coz my WG got colored prints, if have same prints on the shoe would be nice (price of course more)
3) To buy nice red chinese shoes or just normal red shoes?
(for the kua)

I've got the SB card so got discount if I custom-made shoes. Understand tat it's up to me...but just like to view your tots, if you're in this sitution.

10s!

============

<FONT COLOR="orange">Ling</FONT> - How much did doc charge u for the whole thing? especially the legs &amp; under-arm. ya...will remember to rest...super zombie liao

Hi! Gays,I am also a Jan 2003 and my actual wedding is on 11 Jan 2003. I have taken my wedding photo and it will be ready in mid
Dec 2002.

How about you all?

Evon Un

Hi! Gays,

Lyne:
Which bride studio you go to?

How is your preparation?

Yi:
TTC stands for Trinity Theological College which is a bible college. I will hold my wedding at Trinity Theological College (chapel). How about you?

Which bride studio you go to?

Evon Un

Jazz: my email add is [email protected]
will contact him and keep you all updated.

Vin: excited to see your pics. see if can send link to my email account?

Shook: how's life? me very busy lately. at work sometimes no time to come into this forum at all. explains my out of action mode. what's next on your list? renovation? me looking at that and furniture.

elaine, think 4 shoes look better cos

1. wedding gown-gotta be white shoe
2. evening gown different color- so got to be separate shoes
3. kua in red- got to get another shoe, it will be nice if everything look in one set.

hi evon, that's very soon also. so you have prepare the all the things already?

gd mornin gers

blury

ur hub so buz ah???
its best 2 drop by ur shortlisted venue with ur hub 2 hv a feel of the place n ambience...

elaine

no lah juz chat over si dian jin...
ur sil weddin ard the corner mayb ur mil wana 2 do 1 thin @ a time dun worri u will get ur si dian jin b4 ur weddin lah...

u were askin abt ur shoes...
u hv a budget???
tailor makin shoes nt cheap furthermore onli use once wasted lah...
thot u hv a rom shoe???
u aint usin it again???
mi reusin my rom shoes since its silver can match WG n EG...
as 4 kua, u can use back the same shoe if u wana 2 save some cost...
if nt u can check out @ lucky plaza those shoe shop they sell those shoes 4 kua...
yi bought 1 u can find out more from her...

ling

tks 4 ur suggestion...
wonder if i hv the time 2 change in2 so many outfits durin my dinner??? :P
think u shd dry clean b4 ur weddin...
no pt dry cleanin it nw...

kk mei

ur bridal shop hv kua 2 let u try on...
mayb u can try on hv a feel of it then decide if u wana 2 use it 4 ur tea ceremony...

nite gal

i supposed u will sign up after bv show lor...
gd 4 u...

i m gettin all my appliances b4 2003 though wont b stayin in till sept 2003...
can save a bit here n there lor...
oredi bought some n left it @ my parents place...
the dinin hall nw looks like a store rm...
lol... :P

evon

welcome 2 the threat...
seems like u r the 1st one among us 2 get wedded in 2003...

Hey Flowee,

Are you meeting up with Susan from Jawn tomorrow? If you are, could you do me favour? Can find out how much to top up for TG Goh's makeup? I dun have time to pop into her shop till Nov.

Hi EL,

Sorry i can't be of help in this aspect, I haven't been to see Holiday Inn so can't give you an opinion but it sure sounds like a good deal

HI Sue adn Jan2003,

I've send out my polaroids wedding photos to you both, take a lotz and do gv your comments. Thanks

Hey gals!

I am a 2003 bride as well..

I wanted Christmas but its a weekday isnt' it..and I am headache for another date now..any suggestions?

Wow..seems like everyone here has been preparing..I have not done anything except attending the exihibition at Suntec and seen Golden horse award bridal so far...guess I am abit slow leh..die liao
How is the bridal shops at Tanjong pagar ar? I be goin there today wif hubby..

update me gals!

Evon - welcome! another jan bride
, my wedding's on 17th Jan, photoshoot only next month.

Yi - where do you intend to go for your photoshoot? any place in mind?

Lyne - how's your photos?? How many have you selected?? any pics to show us??

i'm going for my 3rd fitting tomolo, really cross my fingers that they can fits, if not loose... ;p

Hi Ming,

It's ok. You're already helping me by counting down with me to Dec 2003.

Hi cutiechar,

You've seen Golden Horse Award as in you went down to the shop to view the gowns? Frankly speaking, I've not been to the shop yet, just looked at the magazines photos. So how's the gowns in the shops? I hope they are nice!

hi evon,

my wedding will be at swissotel merchant court and my bridal pkg is wif j&amp;C bridal collections.
u?

hi cherry,

my outdoor shoot will be at pulau ubin, a pub, merchant court hotel
nite shoot at shenton way area or maybe fullerton
ps on monday, kind of excited leh.