(2003) Brides of year 2003

yi

if i din add in the amt i need 2 get back all the pixs it will b ard 4k plus...
1.5k is required 2 get back all the neg n prints which is ard 22 odd extra pixs...
its more worth it 2 pay 1.5k 2 get extra pixs, neg n prints back than 2 pay $800 2 buy back the neg...
after calculatin i dun think i can afford amanda anymore coz her ala carte ( without photography ) oredi $3970 add another $10 can take silh oredi...
oredi koe which photographer i wana nw is 2 look @ bridal shop...

all items onli cost 2k plus coz there's a 20% discount 4 the 1st 3 dazs @ the fair...
on top of tat with any 1k purchase, can get a free table lamp...
the sale person veri nice uncle...
he secretli throw in 2 pillows 4 my daz bed which the other sales refused 2 give us free...
1 pillow cost $69... :P

Seems like wedding here is a fortune
even furnitures + renvo are soo ex, not to mention the banquet + bridal. I think me a little depress these few days...abit sian.

I wan to visit your homes leh...when can?

I'm online now til 6pm, wan to chat with me?

hi Nofuss,
thanks for compiling the list of dates.

hi joy2003,
ablbert chua charges 1.5k for actual day photography. feel that his charges are pretty reasonable as he's very generous with his shoots. glad to know that ur fren's pics turn out great. who have you engaged as ur actual day photographer?

Hi April & Shir,

My wedding used to be on the 9th too, but due to some reasons, I've to change it to 30th
Seems like 9th is a hot date

Marchie - I'm the opposite from you, one end to the other
Let's see who is 31th then she'll the opposite from you

Hi tiara,

Haven't book venue but already shortlisted a few hotels. really don't know how to choose. i like all of them. any tips in choosing venue that you would like to share?

Hi Nufoss & all march brides

Wow..the thread is moving so fast, having a tough time trying to catch up..esp. with the topic on house renovations, etc. I am lost
Don't quite understand the lightings that you gals are refering... Probably because I am not looking into housing at the moment..

Hey, Nufoss, welcome to the thread!!
And thanks alot for summarizing the wedding dates! Given us a clearer picture

Gals, how did you choose your flowers? Does anyone has a list of flowers and their meanings and colours to share?

popples

tats y i din spent on dream weddin venue...
hvin dinner in hotel veri scary coz economy nt gd ppl might nt give enough 4 u 2 tie over...
some ppl hv the mentality tat its the couple biz 2 top up the amt since they r the ones who had chosen a hotel as their dinner venue...

my place nt done up yet...
will b holdin hse warmin in dec...
do drop by if u r free ok...

flowee,

itz really upto individual lah
come to think of it, y u need all the negatives for? itz gog to be useless over time and you actually spend additional 1.5k on it.
y not spend it on honeymoon instead rite?

me already told hubby to control me when i choose fotos liao coz i koe i rather sentimental but heard and see so many friends pay so much yet hide in wardrobe, i koe itz not worth it lah!

tat good hor!
me and hubby never go to such fairs anymore liao coz love nest done up liao mah!

so your love nest completing soon huh?

me getting my water feature probably in dec or jan too.

hi elaine,

ya lor, wedding and reno is 2 big expenditures
actually not thinking of wedding banquet one but hubby's parents insist leh!
hopefully, after dinner still got $ for my london/paris honeymoon! :p

my love nest fully renovated liao.
let me know when you all wanna drop by lah!
maybe after my exams lor!

Nofuss, u very good, so now can really count down to march & see the brides get more & more 'kan cheong'!

gwen & march, furniture, i went to melandas and OM to get. depending what you like,can go n see see.

joy2003, haven't choose flowers yet, my bridal shop says some flowers seasonal so u may wanna to check out whether its available in march. me will just choose flowers i like.

jesz, can let me have the address of the lighting shop in geylang? thankz!

yi

the fotos in the bridal package is veri pathetic onli 20pcs...
sure top up 4 more pixs one rite...
1 pcs is $68...
20 pcs oredi $1360 might as well top up till 1.5k can get back everythin...
n there's no table top, wall hang nor 3r pixs in the package...
juz 20pcs of 15r pixs...
do u think 20pcs is enough???
btw the above package is from bv...

other bridal who tie up with utopia their's pix r of 8r size...
15r gonna top up $600...
the addition items will b 24pcs 3r pix n 1 table top...

do u c a cleared pix nw???

mayb u shd drop by the furniture fair coz garden asia hvin promotion price 4 some of their water feature...
if i hv the money nw i wld hv bought the water feature 2...
its nw @ $830 normal daz its @ 1k plus...
the fair ends this wkend...

Hi Nofuss,

Fully agree with you. Keep dreaming about the dress. Can't wait for my first fitting!

Krabi is in the south of thailand, very near to Phuket. Mostly backpackers there but that might be changing. I heard from my friend that there is not many big hotels there. It's famous for the worldclass rock climbing there. Alot of limestone structures. Saw pictures of it and it looks very beautiful.

April: No pb
Let u know tomolo.

Gwen: ok lor...
maybe I'll just ask them to give me a newer car instead. So envy IslandPub, she got a jaguar FOC. *envy her* I'm meeting Junhong this coming sunday
Hope we can click...

flowee,

i totally agree wiht you. the photos given are pathetic...

elaine,

having a wedding in singaopre really damn expensive. yesterday just did some calculations with my bf. anther $100 will be S$20k.This is only photos,makeup, and bed. so siong man. but what to do. it is once in a lifetime only.

just be happy with it and everything will be ok.

flowee,

they are 5180 with photo. all mtm. but hoh, when iwas there, i find that their design ok only and the couple there right(the guy suit is very ugly)

so i dun think it is worth it. but again, the service is not bad.

hi Jesz, read tat u hav ur curtains done...can i know how much it cost? me hav no idea at all abt curtains...need to find out the market price, otherwise kanna con oso dunno :p
u having at wedding dinner at Imperium! i've attended a wedding there last mth. food was gd n the ambience nice! jus 1 flaw. the co-ordination a bit poor. wat i mean is tat when the couple march in, the lights din shine on them. it only came on halfway thru', so u might wan to take note of tis...

joy2003, agree tat u shld get the flowers u lik, but oso bear in mind things like ur gown colours, ur frame eg. if u r petite, dun get flowers tat r too big, might b too overwhelming...

april: wat's the price range like for OM?

Yes, Krabi is very nice...

Nice water and simple resorts...thta's why my frens say.

Hi gals, so glad that all of us are here now...
This week also dunno why - suddenly overwhelmed with work. But I am looking fwd to my first overseas assignment end of the month.

Thanks for listing out all our wedding dates, No Fuss. Really appreciate that. Can see each other's dates better.

I wanna go Krabi Too!
The first time I saw pics of it was when I was Phuket a few years back. It looked so beautiful. Think I also came across in a mag that there's a really nice (pricey) resort there under the Dusit chain of hotels. the pics they gave were breathtaking.

Recently, my colleague sent me an email with pics of Bora Bora. Now I wanna go there!!!

then we should try to get the thread going..coz the thread is meant for june brides. can't expect other mth brides to come in and chat.

pucca75, if you don't have church wedding or attend any marriage prep course , then I guess not much to be done already..actually after so much prep in the end still will have plenty of hiccups on actual day. I've seen too many such cases. just got to keep ur fingers crossed!

hi taddess !

wow .. finally .. found someone same wedding date as moi ... hee ..
mine will be @ IMM .. hee .. urs ??
read tt u got ur date from a geomancer ... same here... he said tt its the best date for us ..

Hello !

Hi Naturally, our date is 13th Dec. However, we didn't book the Sir Stamford ballroom, as not enough numbers. I agree, the rooms look great! Have fun at Tanjong Pagar, so many dresses to choose from

Hi Cherry, you are most welcome

Hi Jbride, just a word of caution with packages offered at the show. Compare it carefully to the package that is offered to you at the boutique. The reason I say this is, I visited a particular bridal boutique prior to their fashion show, and the package offered at the show was only slightly different to the one offered at the studio in terms of pricing and items. I did not feel that the offer was enough for me to commit so far in advance of the wedding.

glad that you all have a clearer picture of each other's wedding dates. I didn't do much really, just feeling bored today so decided to summarise the wedding dates lor. '

Next time I am bored at work again, I will try to compile the wedding banquet locations of all the March brides.

Hi Gwen,

I am quite free now as I settled the flowers, the gown, the venue, the photography, videography, the make-up and the guest list. Left only with the printers for the invitations.

My house also ready.

But the biggest headache not settled yet ....... my weight !!! Must lose some weight & tone up my arms before the wedding. hehehe...

Nofuss

Hi Cherry & Yi,

I kinda of got into the kwa mode during my photoshoot... felt dat wearing a kwa has got a very "wedding" feel. Anyway, I am still considering whether to wear my WG or a kwa. I wld also be wearing my WG in Sydney for my church wedding so thot of hving something different for actual day in S'pore.

Yi- aiyah...my figure so so only but my tailor is v good....so she knows how to hide my flaws (esp my big butt...

How come u got so many fittings? I only had 3 fittings... one when the gown was ready, then one after alterations and the third just b4 photoshoot to make sure everthing's alright.

Cherry, Yi - which bridal shops did you all sign up with??

Hope everything is fine with all of u. Have been so busy that I hv to time to 'drop by'. My friend is also interested in X-zen & supposed to go with her on Tues but they were closed.

Hi SLK,
I received 2 invites from BV leh, think they overlooked & mailed another one...dun know whether can pass to my friend or not. Will call Mian to check. Do u know if BV has a $7000 package?

Just to share that I've more or less decided on my bridal - should be BV lah.. like Michelle's designs.. Will be going down for their show next week.. Got complimentary tics...

Anyone going as well?

hi babydoll,
thanks for your advice, i have the idea that packages offered during the shows r more attractive...& i always find it hard to resist such offers :p

i'll check out the package price with the bridal boutique tml ;)

btw, my wedding date is on 7th dec 03

I m also a Nov 15th bride!!
Also have booked banquet but still looking around for bridal....

I'm also a nov 03. My dinner is a day earlier. That's Nov 14th. Settle my bridal, now going to confirm my banquet soon.

Yup, good idea by Nufoss, we could list down our banquet venue.

Oh ya, March - is your wedding venue at Sheraton Towers? Read at another thread, thought the bride might be you. Mine is at Sheraton Towers.

Wow Nufoss!! You are so fast!! Even the guest list is done!
Who's the videography are you engaging? I hope to engage one too..but quite costly. Where did you do your outdoor shoot? Losing weight? Me too, I need to cut down many kgs!! Currently doing aerobics at Amore. Hopefully, I can really lost those extra kgs...

April, Sunbeam & March, thanks for your views on choosing the flowers. Guess, yes, I should choose flowers that I like...but problem is, I don't have a specific flower that I really like :-) Will check it out then.

Oh ya, Sunbeam, I have yet to engage an actual day photography. Will be meeting up with Choon Huat from Fast Soup this weekend. Yes, Albert's work is good, but it's over my budget.

How's everything? How's the preparation? I'm going for my PS on Monday... abit scare...emmm stresss.

HI Jazz, Lynnie, Sue,
The lady that do massage for me goes to Italy for her honeymoon. Will be back by end of this week. Will follow up with her and pass you all the contact. What else you all need. She can get some of the contact for us. e.g printing, favor, and some decor idea.. etc..

Hihi Jan
Dun worry yourself too much. Read up bridal magazines n websites dat shows bridal gown to get a rough idea of wat u want. U may like to view the pictures of those brides who posted their pictures in the forum. B hopeful. Dun stress yourself otherwise u get pop pop on ur face, no mei mei lao. Choi....... touch wood.
White Link actually offered to keep that gown for me n won't use it for their bridal show if I sign up on the spot. I din wanna sign up then coz I wanna c more of their gown. Dat is oso y I m going to their bridal show this sun. I v greedy nai.

Hihi Vin
Wow, feel excited for ur studio shooting on Mon.

Me ROM on Tue, v excited 2

Have u settled ur wedding banquet?

Seems like our wedding very close to one another..

Edde,
think u shd settle on your banquet and solemnization buffet dinner first..hotels these days are very hot..me another KS Singaporean

ShooK: Congrats! Such news deserves triple bounces!

so happy for you! must be excited. wish i am in your shoes. mine still a long way to go. so, all the things ready? flowers, dress, shoes, handbag and of cos IC, the most important item. must tell us about it when you are done with it. thanks for advice on gown design. will visit borders to have a look at the magazines this weekend.

Vin, good luck for your PS. don't worry, try to sleep early and have fun!

Sue, may be good idea to ask your friend to bring the design she wants and check if need to top up. like what the rest say, simple ones to us may require top up by x-zen. think that's why SLK didn't use them in the end too. and that rapport thing is something else too.

Hey Shook, Congrads!!! And so coincidentally, that's my birthday too!
Was hestitant whether to take leave or not. Then decided hack care, just take leave and rest at home... :p

Vin, thanks! Do keep us updated.

Gals, pls pardon me but what is a PS???

March: I did Roman Blinds for whole hse. Paid $1400 for 3 bedrms (3 + 4 + 4 = 11 window panels) & Living hall (3 big window panels). I got 3 quotes ($1400, $1500 & $1900). I confirmed with the lowest quote of cse ($20pmr). Out of courtesy, I informed the other shops to cancel my next appt with them. U know wat? The $1500 shop counter offer me $1300 based on the normal materials ($20pmr) & $1400 for the silk material I saw at their shop ($29pmr). Y dun they just offer me the best price initially???
Hope u got my point... Beside the fabric, the price also include installation, the mechanism & workmanship.

My fren paid $2k for 3 sets of full length Day/Night curtains for her living hall & 2 bedrms & 2 separate Roman Blinds for her master bedrm. Hers is a EC. She's the one who recommend me this shop. My neighbour paid $1550 for whole hse Roman Blinds. They're taking silk materials. Installing this coming sat (tomolo).

Actually, I prefer Day&Night curtains... It will really looks much better if the living hall is with the Day&Night curtains... Roman Blinds is easier to maintain & give a simple & clean looks
There is also another type of curtain called roller blind. But because I find the gap between the 2 joining sets is quite big so didn't consider it. Actually it's up to individual preferences.

The above jus for your ref. Hope its help. Sorry write too much...=P

Finally found someone who had attended a wedding at Imperium
Thanks for the feedbacks
I'll take note of it.

April: Sorry, I only managed to find their contact at the Balestier outlet. U might like to call them & check. Chan Huat Light Hse Tel:62551033. They open quite late, around 10-11am if I didn't remember wrongly. If u want, I can also forward the price they quoted me so that u can take it as a ref.

hi!

I'm a Nov '03 bride too...mine is on the 2nd Nov...Have booked banquet...waiting for my fiance to come back from outstation early next year to book bridal but have been to The Wedding Present, is impressed by their service & comprehensive package.

yes, i agree with clyne, shd book banquet 1st cos good hotels are snapped up real fast...I couldn't get one of my choice hotels last mth for my wedding date cos it's been booked! Thought i was KS already!

HI Jazz, PS is photoshoot.

HI Shook, ya, quite excited laa.. but busy now ler... still got two more gown for PS haven't do the fitting yet.

So many things to do these few days.. facial on Saturday afternoon, then morning go to Ponggol Marina for exercise. Evening time need to go for a friend birthday..

Hey, Sun my MIL-to-be going to my house in Malaysia "ti qing".. a bit odd hor... the feeling weird.

HI Jan2003, I'm worry that me can't sleep on Sunday nite. My PS start early in the morning. I need to reach the bridal shop at 8.30a.m...

Hi Sue, congrads!! Happy for you. Hope you enjoy your happy day on tue. Excited?? Is everything well prepare???

I've sign up with Sheraton Towers Singapore. My bf like the food there, and of coz I like it as well laa...

Edde,
I agree with the rest. Either u jus go down and ask them to reserve the date for a week. I think they will be able to do this for you but if you decided to have your banquet at another location, just let them know. Hope this helps.

hi clyne and furlin, yap yap !! i agree with the both of u !! thats why i have blocked my dates in the hotels!!! kiasu mah!!!

fellow nov brides, mind sharing which bridal boutique and hotels u chose or considering? den we can exchange some pointers!!