(2003) Brides of year 2003

yo 1027 & Dew....hee
I also ate ice cream 2x over the weekend...saw this new Godiva icecream so HAD to try .....its very good and chocolately..also have one in vanilla with caramel pecan nuts....will try that after finito with this one....

Dew ah..so you only need gowns ? That should not be too difficult right ? You must be very talented man...to undertake the car deco...I told FH no need spend money on car rental lar..I can drive myself there ...haha
...he also buay tahan....

Got spanish dress thread meh ? i want to go read also....!!!

Anyone thinks our date is SOOOO far away ? Wait until a bit sian liao..told FH hen bu de its this Oct lor.....hehe

Yi jie,

Yup. This is the same as the saying "feng shui lun liu zhuan" mah. So cannot just see fengshui once and that's it for life!

U dun like green too? I hate green so much!!!! Too bad my 4 yrs sec school uniform was green *grinzz*

flowee jie,

we dun plan to move out and would like to stay there forever if we can.. hahaa.. we predict sengkang will become a very good town with great facilities and transportation.. kekeee...

Hello SLK and May2003,

Ok lah, no big secret. I shortlisted just x-zen, flamingo and lezen. Hope you can give me comments. Don't think i am going to look out for more. Lazy lah. Plus at the end of the day, all the bridal shops provide about the same thing, the only difference may be the service.

May, i thought you wanted a weekend wedding? saw your posting at the start of this thread. So now it's a thursday right? where's jawn? are they good. how come after going to so many, you shortlisted just these 2? can share? agree with you amara look very zen now. even on the outside, the building look good. my fren booked there. have attended wedding dinner there a few years back. the food was good. so good value for you.

Hi May,

Yup, Amara looks very zen and classy now
I'm sure you'll have no regrets

Hi Shine,

What type of shoes are you looking for? Colour? Style? etc.

Hi Jan2003,

Of the 3, I only hear very good comments on X-Zen. Not that the other 2 are lousy but none of my friends picked the other 2. You see, I have many friends getting married this and next year, so lotsa comparisions

One of my friends gave up her bridal package's deposit and picked X-Zen. Her hubby and her have been very impressed by X-Zen's services so far

Anyway, I shall help you ask around for comments on the other 2

Omigod! Godiva ice-cream? Kill me!!! It better not come to Singapore .... lately hagen daaz was on offer at $7.75 per tub (instead of the usual $10.30) ... bought a million of them. If not for my dad's nagging and constant lack of fridge space, i would have gotten the whole truck load!

Sweets, there's a thread on spanish dress but not very many replies ....

yah yah! me too!!! i also very xian of the long wait till Oct next year. argh ....

Eh Dew ... if you're very good with handicraft, you can save a lot of money !! My sis is v good with her hands, so she'll be helping me with the flowers and ribbons etc.
Flowers are already a big expense, so if you're doing that yourself, you're saving a great deal!

Sweets, driving yourself there is ok what ... alot of couples are doing that now ie they use their own car as bridal car and the groom drives it himself. Save money also ... car rental so bloody expensive in S'pore.
Perhaps get your FH to do the driving instead lor!

flowee

really?!? granite can cut the leg ah...oh no...

we choose granite cos the groove finer than homo. or ceramic tiles...anyway we dun like ceramic...and no budget for marble

sherine

if the workmanship is gd then there wont b any prob...
i think granite pretti dif 2 lay so muz remind eddie 2 do it niceli 4 u guys...
my IL's place usin granite nt niceli done lor...
juz my thots...

btw which r the places u r lookin in 2 4 ur weddin dinner???

Oh We miss U 1027 !!

Really, i didn't know there's a thread on Spanish thread. must go see see look look ...

Arrgghhh , i better stop reading this thread for a while !!! there's ICE CREAM !!

I've just started to much on veggies in the afternoon! cannot tahan leh ... stomach cold cold one =( no choice lah, had to do something, the sleeves of some of the blouses are getting tighter
so no ice cream for me =P

Yup, i hope i can save some $$ ... as i'll be spending the bulk on my shoot. Juz'talk with my photographer, he might not be able to make it in April for the shoot .. his only low peak period would be in August. that's quite near my wedding and that might mean there's not enough time for the photos to be ready and my finances would be quite tight, esp after the trip ...

btw, any one of u been to Europe? if yes, care to share with me some of the nice spots?

kk

u dun hv any intention of upgradin???
we hv tat plan so its better 4 us 2 get a pte hps...
the plus pt is tat there's cash value 2 the pte hps @ the end of the hsin loan able 2 get some cash out in 30yrs time...
can go & enjoy myself then supposingli my kids r grown up oredi... :P

sherine

how abt urself???
gettin hps from cpf board or pte???

Jan: I am not the same person as the one that started this thread altho we have the same nick. oops...

I also visited Flamingo but not Lezen. I was told that the designer from Lezen is now with Jawn. Jawn is located at Meridian Orchard Hotel. Why i only shortlisted 2. The rest i have seen like Divine Couture, Inspiration, Milan...i felt that their price too high. The 2 that i have shortlisted the price i feel are reasonable. I agree too after a while they more or less look the same so i am going for service and rapport with the designers. X-zens gowns are nice if you like the handpainted details, it is something unique and different. I do like the idea that they have everything under one roof. On the other hand, i also like Jawn coz they tied up with diff photographers and make-up artist. u can choose the one you like and it forms the package price. Such a package does mean that you choose the best and who you like to work with...

SLK: I also heard that they are many good reviews on xzen...

Shine: Zxen is having 2 shows in July and August. YOu might be interested to go. I intend to go to the one in August and if i make up my mind, will sign up at he show to get more perks.

SLK and Jan, u want to go too?

i've got a friend who also drive their own wedding car ... but it's the bridegroom who drives, definitely not the bride .. with all the can-can, frills ...

i was in the same car then, as one of the bridesmaid, and a lot of other drivers are all looking at us ... not sure what they are looking at though ... the front seat being the bride & bridegroom? the wedding car (one of the single-dorr Merz)? or ?? the bridesmaid ?? *haha*

Harloooo Dew and 1027....

Surpringly hor, the Godiva icecream same price as the H.Daz ice cream..was so surprised when I took it to the checkout !!!! heee..but 1 pint is = 4 servings and each serving = 30% of daily fats intake.....so its horribly guilty leh...heee

Dew....me been to Europe before..u thinking of going for HM ? Personally, I liked UK (studied there for a while), Spain, Italy, France and I so much want to go to Greece....heee....

Yah..I also think spend money on car rental really not my style...hee
I not car fanatic...clothes...ahh...different story..hehehe...

Cannot find the spanish thread..better go look carefully again....

1027....when time nearer, must learn from u about the flowers etc...I also think in the end must do myself....hee
....bride do self-decor....ultimate hor ?]

Dew ah..I also dun like salad....eat already like never eat like that hor..cos so cold ..no warmth...cham..what to do....ai mei so must suffer a bit lor....sigh...

JYL dissappear ...never see her around hor ...

Dew, you make me so shy lah! Only absent for 1 day mah ...

Wah, Europe!!! I'm so envious!!!
Me got no money to go for lavish honeymoon, so it'll probably be to somewhere near by like Perth or Bali.
Rather spend the money on the wedding first, and less on the honeymoon. If got spare, then will consider New Zealand.
Actually i'd LOVE to go to States and Canada, but owww, it costs soo much it hurts.

Anyway, my sis just came back from Eastern Europe (Prague, etc) ... the place looks v beautiful. It's more scenic than anything else. The quality of life is high, but the cost is also equally high. Her trip costs a bomb, also cos she chose to follow INSIGHT for her package tour.

Have you signed up yet?
Heard that for package tours, INSIGHT is the best. Followed by TRAFALGAR and then KONTIK.
My sisters are all Europe-crazy, so they've tried both local tour groups and those from Europe itself. In the end, they're thumbs up for INSIGHT.

These European tour operators work in such a way that the package prices are all US$. You got to fly there to meet them before the tour package officially starts. The mix of tourists is mainly international (rather than all singaporeans). You can choose to stay in the either 3* or 4* hotels, price varies accordingly of course.

Me? Never been to Europe yet. Probably leave it for my retirement when pace of life is slower and i'm alot richer.

sherine,

marble flooring need to be maintained and polished. So no regrets not having one

flowee jie,

we dun see ourselves getting so much richer 5 yrs later.. hahahaa... and we dun see any point getting a resale 5 yrs later coz resale flats by that time also of equal size as ours. 10 yrs later...well, too long to tell...so we not think that far yet

Sweets:

No lah! I'm no pro at handicraft. I'm merely the organiser. Hubby leaves everything to me, what to do?

Nothing wrong with the bride doing the decor herself mah .... no one else will have the same decor as you at least! Just need to get some friends to help you out.

Golly woks! i hate salad! My food must be warm. Cold food puts me off ... typical pampered singaporean kid. Bread, sandwiches, salads and cold pasta are no-no for me. Dun understand why everyone throngs to the sandwich outlets for lunch at Raffles Place / Shenton way. Wanton mee is best for me!

Har??? One pint is 4 servings? Oh no ... each time i scoop ice-cream, my 1 pint only serves 3.
Too little also not shiok, end up going back for 2nd round. Jia lat .... i've been consuming more fats that i thot i was!

With the introduction of yummy hagen daaz in singapore, i no longer eat Magnolia / Kings anymore. The taste just isn't the same. Die lah ... cost of life up again!

flowee,

dun know whether guys will get sick of such things or not hor?
Presume, do too many times, they will sianz or not. kekeke

my advice for wall colour is not to be too adventurous on the colours coz colours you see on paper might not look nice on your wall.
Most imptly, the wall colour must be able to blend with your furniture etc!
I explore with pastel blue and green once, oh my goodness, itz horrible!!!!!!

kk mei,

Is your entire house wall in pink?

my secondary school uniform oso dark green leh! Yuks! :p

flowee

yah if he doesn't do properly i will knock him on his head

i haven't even think about the venue yet leh...
hps will prob get from cpf board...easier lor...

kk

my mum's hse is using marble now...6 years oredi and never polish...very dull and ugly...and some more every week must use hot water and cloth to wipe it...very siong...cannot use mop cos scared will scratch it...not suitable for pple like mi who is lazy to do hse work

Sweets

Thanks for remembering me. So nice of u. Me still around reading all the postings.

Me too, will be saving on car rental. nen shen zhe shen mah. rite?

1027 & Dew

May I know who is the photographer you 2 ve in mind? I ve been looking around but can't find one that i like. Pls recommend. Thks.

Me too, considering Europe for my HM. Now saving very hard for wedding,HM & reno. Very siong!!

Hi All.....

1027....guo jiang..no lar..not high flyer...haha...parents kick me out of home lor...sob sob...haha
...wah..your sisters travel eastern europe...always wanted to do that ....is INSIGHT another tour group operator as well...hmm...should go check out ...hee
sounds interesting....

JYL...good to see u back...hee..dun hide in the back lar...see like me..eat icecream also tell..haha..very bo liao hor...

Dew ah...yah lor..save $$ very difficult...sigh..dunno where all the $$ go....I was also very shocked with the fat content....heee...but dun care lar....cannot tahan nice icecream..its my new food fad for the moment .....the only cold food I like is ice cream !!! and cold water ??? haha ...

JYL ah..what kind of photographer u looking for and budget ????

Wow, now this thread is so fast. cannot follow already.

All of you are bz wiht your love nest huh

The feng shui got to be reviewed every year. Not that the furniture must shift here and there or change the colors of the house. it is just like maybe this year, you got to hang the wind chimes at which corner of the house or a carpet to be place somewhere in the house. Anyway, it is quite simple to follow. According to the fengshui master, the house is the most important factor as ppl are staying in it.

I should say taht it is better to believe than not. But of course there are lotsa bogus feng shui master out there. so keep a look out.

Flowee,
Went to the hdb to ask and they say that the balloting will be out this mth but got to keep a look out for the papers.

yi jie,

if scared that they will get sick, then just fix one week not more than 2 times.. hahahahaa...

Nope..of course not whole house pink. We wanted the living room to be bright.. so definitely we choose towards white tone. The 3 bedrooms are pink. i have one colleague who painted multiple colours on each side of the wall in his master bedroom.. kekeke.. one of the colours is violet.

sherine,

really? i did not know that marble has to use hot water to wash.. kekekee... i only know about polishing. But good quality marble really very nice and shiny if one knows how to maintain it lor

Anyway, i am using homo tiles.

ling,

balloting really in punggol?

saw long queues liao.. haha..

JYL, i booked Choon Huat (Fast Soup Photography) for my actual day. There's a very good and long thread about him here in this forum.
Met up with him also, his portfolio looks ok, and we're comfortable with him, so book lor.
Like my bridal boutique, Choon Huat was the one and only photographer that i met, and that was IT !

(maybe that's why u girls think i'm very fast ... not really lah, i'm just super chop-chop with the decision!)

Welcome back JYL. Come talk more often leh ....

SLK: the show is on the 25 Aug from 3-6 pm at Imperium in Ngee Ann City. S$ 10 per couple inclusive of high tea.

Cant join you this Sunday, going for Graceful Image show at Oriental Hotel.

Dew, JYL:

Are you also setting up your new home in time for the wedding?
Do you mind telling me where?

I feel quite deprived at my place. My 3 other neighbours on my floor are all anti-social. All of them are established families with kids and grannies. I'm the only couple on my floor, tho there are quite a number of couples in other blocks and floors.

Halo Sweets, 1027 & JYL,

Yup ... tot of going EU for HM & shoot ... 2 in 1,
thinking of Italy, yes Greece too, Sweden &/or Switzerland, definitely Holland if i can make it by Spring time, ohhh and Venice ...hmmmm
*fingers-crossed* hope my dreams will come true zzzzZZZ

ya, the cost of living at EU quite high hor ... go there can, but will hv to eat bread, perhaps bring own maggie mee .. else i dunno how the $$ i bring over can lasts me man!

1027, if i can go by next spring, then i might be still able to save more $$ for my wedding & house.
as i've mentioned earlier, my photographer's low peak period is in Aug ... that might mean my dream HM cum shoots will not come true

U saying INSIGHT is a tour operator at EU right? not local hor ... so how to get in contact? any representative here?

did yr sister go on a Free N Easy or tour trip? which tour agency?

NZ is fabulous !! must go! I went there for 13 days last March .. had a real good time. Introduce you to chk out GBC Travel (at SMS bldg, very near the Guan Yin Temple at Si Mah Road) they are the wholesaler for NZ tours so you can get cheaper rates! Imagine i spend abt S$2800 for 13 days to NZ + airfare + accomodation + car rental + petrol + food + souvenirs !!! .. for a 5 pax grp.

Intend to go back again in the next few years. People there very nice, trust each other .. not like us so kiasee =P

Hey watch out for U Channel, i think its 8pm on Wed (tomorrow) .. they've got a show on NZ ...

NZ is good, u want scenery, they hv, u want adventure, they hv, you want nature, they hv !!

wow, i shld get commission from saying so much =)

Hee ... tell u all a secret ..

the salad i make this morning is still in the fridge ! i end up eating sushi this afternoon, too tempting to resist liao !

cham lah ... saving $$ is as tough as losing weight! *hahaha*

kk mei,

kekeke, thought you like pink so much sure whole house in pink! So your 3 rooms all in same pink? My entire love nest is in magnolia with a piece of wall in the study area in a darker earth shade!

multiple colours on the wall? Nice or not? Quite difficult to match furniture hor?

when your lesson starting? Mine started last nite and i was real tired when i reach love nest!

Glad to know that your love nest will be ready by next week. Wow, alot of cleaning after that!!!!

hi flowee,

envy you leh, can go watch movies yesterday nite whereas i got lesson! Hiazzzzz!

real tired after lesson liao!!!!!

Dew, Insight is a tour operator in Europe, but some of the agencies here eg Diners Travel can sign you up for Insight / Kontiki or Trafalgar. Gotta ask your agent.

Insight is a land-package tour. You gotta fly there yourself.

Oooh ... NZ. Shall save $$ for it.
Yah, saving $$$$ is just as tough as losing weight.

Dew, does it mean you have to pay for your photographer's expenses and air fare as well ???

Dew..
notti hor...buy salad keep in fridge for what ??..like me ..haha

yah..save money very hard....must stop shopping and enjoying makan out...sigh

1027..you are really decisive leh..meet 1 designer book bridal boutique...meet once photographer book already....wah..admire your decisiveness....me must do 1-2 rounds research than happy....hee ...

Dew..tonite no icecream cos sleepy...if u want u go to the fridge and get ok ? but maybe a bit gross for u cos I eat from the tub directly hahhaha

Hi JYL....how are u today ? worse thing about this whole wedding, reno and HM setup is all need cash !! argghh

yi jie,

yah lor. i think the id very happy when we only chose 2 colours for the paint.easier for them and cheaper for them :P

hmm..i dun know lor. u still remember got one episode on open sesame that one couple actually painted their whole house red or something like that? I think his is sama sama like tat, with very bright colours, but only for bedrooms though.

we are going this saturday to do a bit of cleaning up.. kekekee.. anxious! we need to clean up the floor so that next saturday we can arrange for our furniture to be delivered

today the vanity tops will be up

i still need to buy bamboo pole. dun know sengkang got sell or not. need to get one pole so that the id can shift the pole hanging metal part for us.

why ur lesson so late wan? frightening u know. my lessons start from 6 to 9. whenever it stretch to 9.15, my hubby will complain and say the lecturer mad to release us so late. so dangerous for us girls to go home so late. especially those taking public transport alone.

hi kk mei,

we chnage our colours twice, luckily my ID nice enuf to change for us at no extra cost!!!

oic, the colourful theme! dun really fancy that theme!

o, starting to clean up this weekend liao! sure very tiring wan! but my ID helps us to clean up the house quite thoroughly so we dun really have much to do. They watch the floor, clean the windows, mop the floor, shift the furniture etc. if not, only my hubby and myself think will die!!!!

my lesson is from 7pm to 10pm and yesterday australia lecturer came, so slang, catch no ball!!! And he really on, talk until 10.10pm. luckily, hubby always tries to pick me up after class if not wow, the crowd at the bus-stop, my goodness!!!!! :p

Yup, agreed wif Sweets, 1027, u r so decisive. I also have to do some research before deciding. My FH finds me ma fan.

1027, our lovenest is at P21 and the expected completion date is Dec 2003. Usually, it will be 6mths earlier so we expect collection of keys in Jun 2003. Hopefully, we can set up our new home in time for the wedding.

True true true, save $$$$ is hard!!!

yi jie,

kekekekee...that's why we only have one theme - pink instead of many :P

haha..we already plan what to buy to clean up the place. went to do research at ntuc during lunchtime just now *grinzz*

ohh..at least ur hubby drive u back..*sigh* me have to take train back home.. kekee.. sometimes too tired i will take cab

hi kk mei,

wow, you all really free hor, still can do research at ntuc during lunch time!!!!!!

hubby picks me up whenever he can, tatz y now lazy liao, hubby never come, i take cab then hubby reimburse!!!! hubby says i lazy bum!!!
but i always make it a point to attend all lessons regardless whether hubby picking me up or not! last semester, i never miss any lesson leh.

so when all your furniture coming in?
my advice is to reconfirm the delivery time a day b4 delivery if not these companies always late wan!!!!

Oooh P21 is a nice place!
I went to look at th HDB showflats and was v impressed!
Only thing is that it's too far for me. Both hubby and my families live in the West, so the North seems very very far away.
My nest is in Jurong West.

Have fun doing up your house!

Hi May & SLK,

May, not sure if i am going for x-zen show. terrible lah. don't know what will be the service if i sign up for at the show. that is my hubby's worry. i am actually ok about it. so you quite set on x-zen it seems? me not yet. my hubby like x-zen even though he has not seen their gown in actual. he saw their pics and like them. i like flamingo because i tried on a few gowns and all very beautiful. have not come together to discuss so no decision made yet. actually wanted to go to the graceful image show. but heard alot of negative comments about the shop. you heard anything about it?

SLK, i thought you already settled your bridal package? if yes, then maybe don't go to any more shows lah. sometimes make us feel that bad lah becos xing yang yang. i have vistied the GH thread. renovation! my future father in law who went with us to GH specifically ask Lynn if there will be any renovation done in the coming year and she said no. oh dear, now i will have to let them know. they don't like the idea. maybe supertitious lah. not sure. will be done by CNY it seems? ours in May 03,should be ok you think?

1027 ...
I'm really not sure ... will hv to chk with my photographer abt the $$$

Sweets,
I agree with you too, 1027 seemed to know what she wants, or satisfied with... i doubt i can be like that leh

JYL,
we'll be neighbours you know! mine is at C29.

1027, both our families live in the West & Central too ... but we still choose P21 =P

my turn to "disappear" for a while ... may cya next week ...

don't stop the gossip !! =P

yi jie,

well, coz we ate at bukit merah hawker centre, just a walking distance away. And after eating, we still have half hour left mah, so can shop around :P

good idea also. to get hubby to reimburse cab fares.. hahaha..so smart of u :P...me also dun like to miss lessons.. miss already next lesson chiam coz cannot catch up! If lecture notes good never mind. But most of the time, lecture notes not sufficient!

We only bought tv console and dining table. So coming in next saturday. We planned it to be this date so far. Yah lor, will remind the shop again and again. I know wan, these neighbourhood shops very chiam wan! They dun understand what is customer service!

Jan: i think you and your hubby should make an appt to go try xzen gown and check out their package bf the show. i did that. I also agree that one should not sign up any package at the show without doing any homework first.

Graceful image show is free, thot i go steal some idea for the gowns design..hee..hee

unless they offer a very good package to tempt me...

I went to the shop before and i thot it was so..so...

kk mei,

wow, you all very good hor, can meet each other everyday! can meet at work, lunch etc.

hubby always reimburse me if he can't pick me up but at times when i'm extra hardworking, i would take bus back lah!

ya lor, i agree, lecture notes always very brief and not enuf info wan!!!

o ya hor, you say most of your furniture sponsor by family members so nothing much to spend on hor! So fortunate! we bought everything from scrap!!!!

good morning!
eh, dun be like that leh ... i'm actually quite an indecisive person, but when i get very xian with all the planning, i just "chop chop" decide on something to get the load off my shoulders.

before i met up with xristos / choon huat ... i had alot of worries ... is it too early? are they good? etc etc. relied solely on the threads here in this forum...

whoa! you two lucky girls! got each other as neighbours ... since you're both at P21, do you think SengKang doesn't look as nice as P21? Just my personal opinion ... tho the living room of the sengkang showflat seemed alot bigger.

dew, where you going?
holiday ah?
i'm so envious .... still stuck here in this prison.
this year got to save my leave to do the house, one day here another day there ... very fast finito, know what i mean?

neber mind ... now looking forward to weekend. Yay!

Hey Sweets ... did you participate in the July 4th celebrations? Always wanted to experience the festivities at least once in my life ... still waiting to do so.

hi jan,

yup, settled on the package but like what may said, can steal ideas for my MTM gowns mah

the reno for GH is not a major one. just the interior of the rooms only. so the exterior won't be affected. and also, since our weddings are in may, not affected at all (will definitely be completed by then). i know cos my bro-in-law works there. he was the one who told me abt the renovations

hi <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">nite gal</FONT>,
welcome...

hope u find your bridal boutique shopping fun!!!

how have u all been?
it's exactly abt 1 year to our wedding...

yi jie,

kekekekeke... sometimes seeing too much is no good. Sometimes very embarrassing in front of colleagues wan :P

But to go from bukit timah to ur place should be pretty near
... u and ur hubby stay at ur new place after it was renovated?

kekekee...if we were to buy from scrap, we also dun know wat to get.. sometimes we indecisive, so very difficult to settle things :P
Luckily got sofa and coffee table sponsored.. we only bought tv console and dining table. Already cost a bomb!

KK,

really ah, balloting in punggol?

I dun want punggol leh. Newspaper also dun have.

As for marble, my house is marble, dun need to use hot water. six years already still very shiny leh. But my mum restrict us not to eat fruits in the living room. Can only eat in the kitchen.

If I have a house, i will definately not use marble. it is too troublesome. It is very high maintenance. Granite will be good cos can be very rough with it. eat whatever also no problem. can also drag things here and there.

Wah , you all so hardworking, still have the patience to study. I am too lazy to study.

kk mei,

actually itz true lah, the more often u meet, the more opportunities to argue/conflicts kekekekeke

actually, bukit timah is quite ok for both my love nest and my mum's place lah but lazy to squeeze in the bus especially after a long day lah!

yap, we confirm stay at love nest during weekends and phs and also once during the weekdays!

buying from scrap got pros and cons lah. Cons is very expensive, got to spend alot! Pros are you really get the feeling of preparing for your love nest and you can choose things that you like and blend into your theme/style!!!! So as all the things you purchased are delivered, you see the house developed into your Dream Home!

hi ling,

study coz i wan to upgrade myself.

but really tiring and stressful!