(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Cherry,

Better to have lead time to the wedding. Safer and able to prepare with ample time instead of rushing around later on

For me, everything fell in place. Got the flat in May and had to bring fwd the wedding to Jan 2003. House reno was mid-Jul to 1st wk Sep.

Now that the house is furnished, I can stop shopping and concentrate on the wedding preps.

Hi vin

Can't remember the ceiling
but the ballroom is renovated before so it looks new. Ya lor...alot of people told me as long as food is good, other things doesn't matter.

I am considering whether to give favour or not. Last time my friend gave coins and I heard that most people don't even remember much about it, they usually just dump it somewhere in the drawers...I am thinking of giving something useful...I saw in this imported bridal magazine and there were some ideas on wedding favours. E.g. a coloured pebble with the guest name on it. It can be used as a paperweight.

Hi Lyne,

Good for you! yup enough lead time is better, my photographer will only be free in Nov to do mine, so no choice also. I'm going to try medi and pedi next month (never done b4)....so many beauty treatments for the wedding...ha ha ha....

what else have you prepare?? i only intend to touch on the guo da li and banquet stuff after my photoshoot in Nov, hope it's still not too late. I'm concentrating fully on my photoshoot now.

come to think of it, we have only another 3/4 months to prepare....geee.....really excited whenever i think of i

thanks thanks :D
hahaa cause I already saw your other posting and the house cleaning thing...kekeke...
Ok I self intro here, I am 27 and rom on april fool day this year. Going to move in my resale flat house at BP with my in-laws next week. After clearing the house thing I will go n look for my wedding banquet and boutiques. Can u gals intro also??
This thread is very active..

blurydoey

clever ger...
i saw ur postin in the threat on learnin 2 sing...
l love ktv 2 but aint willin 2 pay the extra 2 pick up the real techniques...

my self intro
26 yr old female
romed 28th mar 2002 ( juz few dazs b4 urs... )
renovatin goin on till end of this mth...
currentli dn with chicken pox ( i din post this in large bride forum )
nothin muz 2 do @ home nw...
surfin net, eatin, sleepin, etc... :P

yes this threat is active with brides gettin hitched in diff mths of 2003...
we do hang out 4 dinner n high tea from time 2 time...
u can join us when there's the next gatherin goin on...

hi flowee,

o, reno completing soon huh?
poor gal, cannot go out and inspect your love nest hor. must be anxious to see how it looks like huh?

maybe we can meet up after you recover lor coz i have a short break b4 my exam preparation mah!
looking forward to the end of my course leh!

hi blurydoey,

welcome to this thread!

i shall introduce myself too:-
I'm 26 years old this year
Romed on 19 May 2001
Big Day on 24 Jan 2003
Love nest fully renovated and furnished liao n itz in jurong west
Banquet at Swissotel Merchant Court
Bridal Pkg wif J&C Bridal Collections.

hi lyne,

reno completed liao and moving in soon?
me busy with studies so only got time to got for my fittings and trial makeup. gog for another fitting next friday and my fotoshoot in early oct.

only intend to concentrate on wedding stuff after my exam in nov!
right now, concentrate on my projects and coming exams in oct lor!

hi cherry,

me oso gog for mani and pedi b4 fotoshoot.
gog for a haircut, colour and treatment oso b4 that!

love gog to salon coz itz a form of relaxation for me!

oso gog for a wedding dinner end of this month, another one early next month and another one in dec!

this year lotsa of wedding dinners to attend! hehehe. somemore got hubby's D&D in oct too.
wow, gonna spend a lot in dolling myself up!

hi yi

yah lah
according 2 id shd b done veri soon...

poor max hv 2 do the payment on his own...
mayb i can go out with him 2 my love nest 2 take a peep then go back home oredi...
no one will c the ugly mi... :P

ok set ah...
this time u cant say u somethin on again hor...

flowee how long u dun with chicken pox liao, but u so full of energy...but I think rather sian at hm..Last time I kanna chicken pox during new year so many goodies n none I can eat....
so Yi, u living in the west area ar...

what are u studying?(kpoing)
So u must be all ready for your wedding liao...
Have u taken pics yet?can I see???

wah flowee, u got so much girl power..keekke....
so when u can go out??better take care...
Hi yi,nice to find someone at west area...
what are u studying ?
so have u done your pics yet?? Can I see??(kpo)

Hi Yi,

Which nail boutique do you go to?? Oh ya, i also must remember to dye my hair next month 'cos i've got white hair. You got so many weddings to attend this year hah, good, you can learn from those weddings hor.

yah me too, goto spend a lot in dolling myself up too! but we've got to be mei mei mah.....

blurydoey

i dun look sick...
juz hv chicken pox over mi... :P
been dn with chicken pox since last sat...
mc till end of next wk...

Haha gals,

Think we all have the same ideas

Will go the medi and pedi too just before the photoshoot.

Will be finalising the guests lists soon and then can do the inserts for my invitation cards. I need to do up Mass books cos getting married in Church. Intend to finish a month before my wedding day. Then,I can relax an entire month and have a nice Christmas gathering at my new house

My guo da li will be 2 weeks before the wedding day. Not much to do. Will be having a gathering at my parents' place. Hubby will bring over the jewellery/cakes/oranges/angpows as a formality. After that, will be bringing the stuff that my mum bought for me to marry me off to my new place. These things will be tied with a red ribbon each and brought over.

Won't be moving in to the new house. Probably stay over off and on. Need to jaga the place cos the unit nexy to mine has not started reno. Maybe starting soon. Need to show that my house has occupants
Then workers won't have funny ideas.

What are your plans?

wha rest so long, wait go back sure busy..take care..take care..my collegue eating chicken wings in front of me..the smell makes me so hungry....
I also too heaty have to refrain....

heehee..no choice lah..she still eat it as though it is the best food on her hands...I am trying to lose weight but after I recover from my heatiness..been heaty since last two weeks...

blurydoey

muz ren ok...
heaty muz drink coolin tea...
go chinese med hall 2 drink a cup lor... :P
i get 2 drink it all daz coz my mum brew it...

heehee, my FH works in chinese med shop so he will bring over the cooling tea for me to drink..but sometimes lazy to drink lor...thanks for the concern
wah your mum brew so nice.....
U go around to chit chat ar..must be bored at hm esp no shows in the afternoon...

Hi Lyne,

I have not got my guest lists from both set of parents who have most of the tables. Looks like i'm quite behind. Even guo da li also have not discuss anything yet. Looks like you are very fast!

My plans are to do them only in Nov/Dec, so now this two months doing beauty treatments and going for fittings and trials....where will you be having your medi/pedi??

blurydoey

wow u can ask him 2 get bird nest 4 u also mah??? :P
she brews coz mi hvin chicken poxs...

i m chattin with gf thru icq...

flowee too bad its not his shop he still have to pay for the bird nests lor..only cooling tea is foc..only I got to know that time get to eat a lot of bird nest now ar...never liao only sometimes those instant ones which cannot be sold due to quality...
I can go hm after half an hour very sian at work..everyone at office also not working all no mood....

Vin: not possible for me to eat lesser dinner. if i get hungry in middle of night, i have to wake up and eat. terrible if not i just cannot continue sleeping. from young already like that. used to eating supper to make sure i don't get hungry. will have to see how to cut down on other meals after the mooncake festival.
will take your idea on ballgown when i sign up for my package. think you have to settle banquet fast. jan is only 3 months away? me not trying any aerobic. i hate jumping about and no creams for me too. i get rashes easily. so worried take wrong cream. just have to cut down as you said on food lah.

Shook: nope nope, mermaid is a sure no no for me. i most likely end up like a dumpling instead of mermaid. hahaha!
will see what they can do for me to bring out the best in me. all jobs stress so cannot complain. for our bread and butter, just have to grit our teeth and go on i guess. i don't want to balloon after stopping excercise which is why i don't want to excercise. terrible of me.

Fiona/Vin: i attending dinner at Mandarin court next sat. will update you guys later on. but mandarin food not as great as sheraton's Li Bai. general comments from people i know and myself.

SLk: If they say ok, then you just relax and get ready to be bride. i am sure they can deliver. you busy? me too. super tired everyday. May must be on her trip already.

Hi Koala,
its a bit strange that your bridal shop is only going to measure & start the sewing only 1 month before the wedding. Which bridal shop did you sign up with ? I got my measurements when I placed my deposit, & my first fitting is in Dec 02, 3 months away from my wedding day. In fact there will be 3 fittings in all, so that nearing the wedding day, they will measure me again to alter the dresses to fit me exactly. I personally think 1 month away is a bit too rushed. Maybe you check with them again.
My evening gown is dark lilac for the dress with a plum organza overlay to soften the look. My wedding gown is very light pink with white & light pink organza for the skirt & train. Your cost for Capers Rest is quite expensive at $888 nett for 10. Mine at Conrad is $65 nett per head - they include flower centrepiece for all tables, chair covers for all, 1 night stay at the centennial suite, 1 anniversary dinner at the chinese restaurant, 70% invitation cards of confirmed guests, 70% carparks coupons for confirmed guests, wedding guest book, waiver for duty paid liqour/wine, pre-lunch cocktail reception, chocolates/cake for the wedding favours & choice of table setting. The banquet sales manager is also going to arrange for me to use one small function room for my tea ceremony after the lunch. We drove quite a hard bargain. But your menu at Capers should be quite sumptous since it is pretty expensive.

Hi Kelsey,
I will check out Far East Flora & Eflora for their wedding services. I have been to Far East Flora as we buy the wholesale flowers by the bunch from time to time as they are really quite cheap compared to other retail florists, esp the more exotic flowers but its usually to be placed in a vase at home, no fancy flower arrangements.

Nofuss

yi jie,

yup, more or less decided. It should be Happy Restaurant or Yan Palance. Most likely it is happy Restaurant. The only bad point is that there is a psosibility of sharing the place with another couple. So far we are the only couple that book for that day. But the manager say the possibility of having another couple joining in is very high coz normally their business very hot on sat and sun..

I am also a January bride.... i think i join this thread a bit late hor...

I am very excited abt my wedding preparations too. Just want to knoe if any of u gals have done ur photoshoot yet?

Hi Fluffy,

glad to know another bride in Jan!

Nope i've not done my photoshoot yet? What abt you? what's your exact date? Which venue have you chosen and which's your bridal shop?

gers

i finali had the date i had been waitin 4...
its on 8th mth of the lunar calender on the 14th daz...
converted to ang moh its on the 10th sept 2003, a wed...

the next daz will b the lantern festival n also the 911 incident...

Hi gals, me also super super busy that I've not time to come in here yesterday.

Hi Fiona, dun worry abt Mandarin Hotel. My FH attended his friend's wedding there last yr & he said the food & service were good. I've also attended my cousin's wedding @ Sheraton & food was good as well. Of course Mandarin Hotel will be more convenient for guests who r not driving.

Hi Vin, I tot a ball gown will make you look rounder unless u r tall. For me, I definitely can't go for ball gown though I like it very much. I will look like a walking balloon. Hahaha...

Hi Jan, if you hate jumping. Why not try walking instead? I go to the gym so I usually do fast walking on the tread mill and also x-trainer (something like skiing), follow by weights to tone up the arms (this is tough, can never get rid of the stupid flabby arms). Slowly cut down on yr food intake. I will bring sandwich to work, one is to save $ another is to reduce on food intake.

Sorry for the long absence! I've been really busy with work! Anyway, I've finally booked my banquet venue!! What a relief!!

Now i'm wondering what's a good time to do the photoshoot! I don't want to leave it to the last minute... is it too early to do it in Dec??

<FONT COLOR="blue">Blurydoey</FONT> - Welcome, welcome!! Nice to know you here...we're all veri friendly people.

<FONT COLOR="red">Flowee</FONT> - Congrats!! finally got your date
It's a good month. Have you told your banquet people already? Better do so if you haven't. Sep is a hot month.

I'm watching part 8 liao...part 2 long time ago
I'm not wearing my own WG &amp; EG for outdoor coz I dun wan to have repeated gowns...my bridal got provide me with 1 wedding gown OTR for outdoor shoot.

<FONT COLOR="green">Yi</FONT> - ya, I agree with you. Mine also duchess satin but I think it is heavier coz of the 4 more layers over &amp; under it.

Hihi Fiona
Dun have to b bothered by the pillars. It only block the view of some of your guests during your march-in. Anyway, the guests stand up during your march-in. They can shift to the angle which they can see u.

Hihi Vin
I can't agree more with Jan. Book hotel banquet asap since it is 3 months away. A pointer, ask the banquet manager to let u look at the ballroom when they have wedding dinner. Take note of the color of the curtain, backdrop and carpet and the waiters' attire. Ensure your evening gown r not the same color or similar tone as the curtain, backrop and carpet; your hubby's attire not the same or similar to the waiters' attire.
I oso think of giving out favours, but no idea of wat to give. Gotta see how much budget we have after we settle everything.

Hihi Jan
It is difficult to kick off your supper habit outta sudden. Perhaps u try taking something light n non-oily -- hmm... a cup of soya bean drink, tao hua, fruits, salad...
Exercise wise can try brisk walking. Alight one MRT station or bus-stop earlier. Walk up the stairs instead of using lift. Dat's wat I do. Do it slowly n increase as time goes. Jia u jia u

Hihi Michele
Photoshoot in Dec is ok. No problem to be early. I arrange my photoshoot in Nov so can choose photos in Dec to avoid 5% GST
. Only thing is the gowns might b a bit old or rather out-dated comes May. I asked my bridal boutique if I can choose another set of gowns for my wedding day come closer to May. They said no problem but I can't have my gowns altered to my measurement for photoshoot since I dun wanna confirm them for wedding day. They use pin to tighten it. So I can only choose looser gowns not those smaller than my size.
. Well well all depends on wat I want.

Sue: Yes, will try fast walking. no gym for me, cut cost. have to look for place to walk. you sound all geared up in gym with all those machine names. will have to cut food too i guess. such a pity.

Vin/Fiona: Sue is right about Sheraton's location. Not convinient for guest without own transport. altho not very far from MRT, but if bad weather, there is no shelter. Mandarin more accessible.

michele: welcome back. want to update us on your banquet venue? also, have to see which bridal shop you sign up with. some of these shops only need like less than 2 months before the wedding to do the PS, others need as long as 6 months because they sent their album overseas to bind, cheaper that way. who did you sign up with? also, when is your big day?

Hi Nofuss,

Yes, I also thought that is a bit weird as well abt the fittings. I am actually hving two weddings - one in Singapore on 15 Feb, 2003 and one in Australia on 23 Nov, 2002...since I grew up in Australia &amp; my families are all bk there. Til now it's only 2.5mths away and still I hvn't gone for any measurements or fittings. Maybe I'll give the girl a call later. My boutique is Inspirations at the Delphi Orchard. I'm get a bit nervous now that they hvn't called up regarding a fitting!

Anyway, as the for the dinner banquet I think I miscalculated. I think it's abt $828 nett per table but do remember it's a dinner and not a lunch like you. I think the price is OK since most hotels were chg at this rate or higher. For a dinner banquet at Conrad it costs abt $1200 per table on the w/ends but that's for a table of 12.
Our package with the Regent is the same as your in terms of perks as well. But only thing was annoyed abt was the $15+++ corkage charge which Nicole wouldn't waive at all so maybe buying wine directly fm the Regent instead.

OK, got to hop. See ya later

elaine

yah a long wait 4 my weddin date...
finali i hv a date oredi...

will contact the banquet ppl later gonna find out if the date is still available???

whitelink allows u 2 brin ur own WG n EG out???
coz most 1 stop bridal dun lor...
coz afraid u might dirty it on ur way out...

after my chicken pox, i can look ard @ bridal shops oredi... :P

hi flowee,

glad tat your new place gog to be ready soon!
happy for you that you have got your wedding date liao too!

u r rite, if you go at nite nobody will see you!

must take good care hor!

no prob, after my last project, I 'll rest awhile b4 studying for my exam mah! let u koe again hor!

hi kk mei,

wow, today rest at home liao hor?
glad tat you have more or less settle your banquet destination!

Hi blurydoey,

yeap, my love nest is in jurong but me currently staying in central.
i'm pursuing my bachelor degree now.
o, taking my fotos only in early oct.
what abt u?

hi cherry,

me never gone to do mani or pedi b4 so will probably go to one recommended by a fren i koe throu this forum lor!

me not intending to do any facials, spa etc coz me never gone for facial b4 so dun want to gets started then next time cannot dun go!

hi lyne,

my guo da li date and an chuan date all settled, itz wif my mil so i dun bother much coz i no time to bother.

hubby is taking care of guest list and song list so i can concentrate on my studies. hubby also arranging for trial dates for me while i'm busy. hez a real nice and sweet guy! hehehe

nothing much has been done on my side except trial makeup and fittings.

looks like you have quite a bit done hor?

yi

gd mornin

yah mi glad my love nest progessin well...

u koe max likes the date veri muz...
though its on a wed, he like the chinese date 8th mth 14 daz...
the followin daz will b lantern festival... ( mentioned by my mum )
theres a sayin "yue yuan ren tuan yuan"
furthermore 911 falls on the same daz as lantern festival 4 next yr...

plannin 2 check out the bridal shops after my chicken pox...
had shortlisted some oredi...

as 4 the banquet its more or less confirmed dinner will b held @ noble hse...
will call them up 2 find out if the date is available or taken???
like wat elaine mrntioned chinese "ba yue" is a gd mth 4 marriage...
muz book soon...

u gonna take care of urself 2...

Ohaiyo!!!
Flowee,
u got your date, Congrats!!!

So u going to go Noble house for the big day..Good luck in getting your date..
Yi,
I am now also doing up my new house and will be moving in next week on the 18th..I havent settle anything for my big day. My FH wants to be on Sept so might be the same mth with flowee

I rom on april fool day this year. Everything went so fast...when are u getting married?
Sorry if I repeat..cause I really have a bad memory

I tried on a ballgown at Kai before. FH thinks it doesn't suit me coz it makes me look very mature. I also agree, coz when I saw myself in the mirror, I am like Eeeeks!

Aiyah, I am not the "little girl" looking type...so I think the huge can can is a no no for me! Hehe.

HI Gals,

Jan : Since you cannot take lesser dinner, maybe you can try to take something light and non-oily food. Or maybe you could try to take your dinner at ard 8pm, so that you would not feel hungry when you about to sleep.

Maybe you can try walk from downstair of your flat up to your house. Everyday, I walk to office, ard 2 bus stop, and walk 4 storey up to my house (2 set of it coz I go back home for lunch as well)(I stay with my aunty in a shop-house block.) You will never believe with my size if you see the way I eat. So you can try to do so as well. Walk more yaa.. be a beautiful and sexy bride..

I will try to confirm my banquet ASAP, I know that is very very late already, not much time for me.

Ya, agree that Sheraton is not easy to access if compare to Mandarin Singapore.

Actually Mandarin Singapore's food is not bad as well. But of course Li Bai is better. Mandarin banquet chief is not their in-house well known Chinese Restaurant Chief. But so far what I heard is their food is not bad and service is good. As long as everything is average or above average is okay laa... don't expect so much. The chief need to cook for a few hundred of people, of course the quality will be a slightly different. If you just have a small wedding dinner, should not worry about all this..

Sue : Maybe you can choose small "can can" is stead of medieum or large size. Try not to choose satin for the bottom part of the gown, coz it look more heavy than natin or organsa. Organsa will look more fairy. What is your height?? What type of material you choose? Your bridal shop co-ordinator should be experience to help you to bring our your excellent look for that day.

Shook : Hahah, thanks for to remind me to consider so many factor. I never think of my gown colour will "match" with the carper or curtain" and my bf suite will same as the waiter or waitress. Brilliant of remind me to consider all this factor.

For the favour, I will try to look ard for something not too expensive. Will let you know then. Coz there's a company offer to print card and helo to source for this type of favour within our budget. Will inform you if she can offer a cheaper of printing cost (but with good quality and good services) and can sources the favour for me.

Michele : When is your wedding? Ya, should take your photo b4 end of year, and your photo review must be b4 January 2003, so that you can avoid the 5% GST, not worth to pay. Unless your bridal shop offer a net price for you.

ohayo blurydoey

yah juz got it last nite...
still consider "hot hot hot"... :P
yah most prob will b with noble hse though i wana veri muz imperium...

Flowee,
Noble house not bad, heard a lot of good critics over the forums, n I think the price is better than imperium.Dun worry it will turn out nice...
I also like noble house, maybe if no hotel choice I also consider there also..

Hello gals!!

floweeeeeeeeeeeee!! how are you?? hope u are fine! must enjoy the good rest ok?
just read that you got your date! yippeee! wa! 10 days before me leh! we can countdown together!

elaine! how are u? i know i little backdated... :p

hazel

hugz...

yah my date is 'hot hot hot' from the oven... :P
hvin a veri gd rest @ home...
nothin muz 2 do so readin the postin here...
keke correct hor mine is 10dazs b4 urs n ling's...
sure can count dn n share our experiences...

btw when r u collectin ur keys???
when ur rom???
i know been askin u the same qns but u koe mi old oredi muz keep remindin myself over things...
mind 2 refresh my memory???

My big day is May 10 and I booked The Fullerton for my banquet! Consider myself very lucky because the date was taken for many hotels, including Ritz (my FIL picked that initially!) - *sigh of relief*!

I'm using White Link and not very sure whether I should go ahead with making the gown because I also scared will go out of fashion! For me, both EG and WG is MTM so I want to make sure its what I like and will fit me 100%.

I don't think I need to pay the additional 2% GST because when I booked the package, the total price of the package was calculated with 3% GST. Am I right to say that? I have paid about 40% to the bridal shop already.

I am also trying desperately to lose weight, started cutting down on the food intake but can't find time to work out because of my busy schedule.

Hi Gal,

Michele : As what I understand from the bridal shop, the package price is last for 5 yrs. So the total package no matter when you take the PS etc will stick to the price that both you agree. What you need to check is the extra photos charges..

flowee...u hor, really leh, keep asking me the same questions! hahha...forgive u lah

me collecting keys next week. ROM not fixed yet..hehhe..no time to care lah..anyway, ROM very fast one..so take keys 1st than decide date lor..heheheh

your house reno ok? when done? me wanna go hor..

haz

keke but u still reply my qns mah... :P

wow as if dun care abt ur rom like tat...
say until like its like nothin impt... ;P

next wk collect key doin up ur hse yet???
rom date shd b ard the corner coz hv 2 produce cert nt long after u collect ur keys mah...
think the most 6mths rite???

my reno still goin on...
next wk kitchen cabinets goin in oredi...
shd b all done up by end sept...

will b holdin hse warmin end of this yr...
u muz drop by hor...