(2003) Brides of year 2003

hi daffy,

just open the file and found some boxes before the words, dun koe why?

yap, MIL is buying me the si dian jin and i asked for white gold as i hate yellow gold. so now hubby and i looking ard first and check the price lor.

actually, i'm also curious who shd be paying leh? the dowry leh? but PILs indicated to hubby that they would help out abit lor.

Hi vodka,

how much is your si dian jin in total?
me going down to aspial, lee hwa, tianpo etc again with hubby today to check out the designs and pricing.

o, S$6k+ is b4 discount.

hi cherry,

ya lor, feel so happy that MIL is willing to buy for me and let me choose too.

but would not want to but too expensive ones too lah! hehehe
ya lor, jan approaching but like i never got anything to do leh, my mum just scold me this morning why i haven't print my cards.

Vin: OK will try to walk as much as i can. My new flat is on the 20th floor. Will do climbing after i move in. Ha...

Hi Daffy,

The wedding dinner will be paid by my hubby and myself cos in-laws do not have much savings.....

Wow, you gals so fast leh shopping for dowry liao. I still haven't leh..

I do not know what my in-laws are buying for me but heard from my hubby that they have bought 2 bangles and are intending to buy si dian ji as well.

As for my parents, they asked me to choose myself. Planned to get one diamond bracelet and a pendant :P. Do you have any ideal any sales going on?

hi sunnyling, welcome back!! i quite second sunnyling's suggestion on fridays too, cos that's also a better day for me.

i guess we shd meet end nov or early dec, cos everyone will be busi near x'mas season, rite?
can i suggest nov 29 or dec 13? i've got 2 places to suggest, burke's cafe in bishan, or lips cafe in cinneleisure. both these places are quite cosy and will also be able to accomodate our big grp.

objections? seconders?

Hi Cherry,

Yes you are right, we can have the budgy for the 2nd march in... I will be having it in the Grand ballroom... very excited for the day to arrive

Hi Shir,

Yeap!
Something different.. we are planning to have maybe a video show of the actual day wedding. So, guest will still see our pixs.

Btw, do you initiate for the 2nd fitting or Patrick called you up?

Gwen, which part of Punggol did you exact go to? Is it the place where it overlooks the sea? Oopss..maybe that's where you describe as rocky beach. I went there one in the night, hence can't tell if it's a beach.. ;pp

Hi Daffy,

forgot to answer your question....

We are paying for everything ourselves and my in-laws are not buying anything for me... ;(
everything will includes Banquet, GDL, bridal stuff, actual day buffets, actual day ang pows (we have to give both set of parents money to "bao" ang pows), actually day tradition things....and all other things that need $$.....and i don't think i'm having dowry also cos my parents don't have savings.....

Hi Putise Baby,
My id is Ciseern. I have not chosen aircon yet. Thinking of National system 3. Any comments?
Is your ROM in year 2002 or 2003? I very blur with your dates leh...

I will be having exams on this tuesday... and a fyp presentation on 25... err... so can i meet you gals after that?

okie... both dates are ok with me... and for are.. if we meet up on 13 dec u will be MRS liao.. hehee..

if meeting up on friday think somewhere central would be nice... else all need to rush from work esp those working in east/west?... need to make reservation?... scare friday alot pple?

I am back.

Wow, ther are so many messages that I couldn't even managed to read. I was away for a while.

Welcome to all new members. Finally, I have settled my Bridal boutique to be Jawn Happy ever after after visiting numerous boutiques, still find them the best and different. After much discussion, I think my dinner may have to be help on a weekend
at orchid country club.

You all girls could try visiting Jawn happy ever after and take a look at their work for they are really good and out of the blue.

Hi bobomagic

you may like to try Jazreel Low collections. Superb friendly service and nice gowns. Good budget too. They are not the hard-selling type.

hi flowee,

how to sell?
bought it last year at S$129, haven't wear b4!
ya lor, would be taking the teadress given by my bridal studio liao.

yap, went si dian jin shopping yesterday.
haven't bought anything, just look ard for designs and work out budget. hehehe
dun koe how much is MIL's budget leh.

ya lor ya lor, 0.5 and 0.3 seems too big for me liao.

May, prob is that place A have this this this that's cheap but not for that that that which may be cheaper in place B and C. Then you gotta decide shld I buy all (at least majority) from 1 place or split my purchases? Buy from same place maybe can push for higher discount. If split, then got this prob where some place only deliver if you spend more that $x (Hoe Kee is $500 above). I also looking for sink, 1 big and 1 small, stainless steel. HK had one on sale for $169, eyeing that.....
Fatigue makes me want to go dun care lah, buy from this place lah, I'm so tired from walkng ard (me no car some more). Been carrying a notebk with me now and marking down all the prices so can compare but getting blur liao.
Lights, we saw in Bt Merah, Jlb Besar. I think you shld save it for Balestier where more shops (prices shld be competitive) and more variety. Kitchen accessories, I think HK offer the best prices. Jln Besar area also ok but we found some things cheaper in HK.

hi blurzzzsg,

goldheart having 20% storewide discount till this sunday.

happy dowry shopping!

me only looking ard only, not yet getting.
haven't even print my invites.

hi cherry,

wedding is lotsa lotsa of $ involved, tatz why hubby and i dun dareto plan for honeymoon yet coz scare no $ after banquet.

both dates are fine with me. I will prefer centralise area so at least those working far can make it.

Will someone be compliling the poll for us? Else confirm a date then ask for response.

hi gwen
thks!u in the sk thread rite? me too...

hi joy
i have an appt card which all the dates are stated. if i need to change i'll call patrick. normally they dun call one. u must initiate!

i attended a weddinf dner at Sheraton Towers yesterday.. ballroom is grand n food is good!

Hi Yi,

Thanks for the info.

Agreed with you wedding really needs alot of $.. Me too have not planned for my honeymoon. Our trip will depend on how much we have left after the dinner

hi sweetie...

sorry... i think all the talk abt my postponement of ROM caused confusion...

me not going to ROM, going to do everything on one day ... church wedding/sign cert of marriage/wedding dinner all on 22 Nov 03

i prefer meeting on fri unless it's this mth which i can't 'coz i'm having catholic classes... sat needs to go round singapore for house stuff...

yi

can try postin it in sb???

1st round of ur si dian jin shoppin???
gonna 2 find out wat r the items she wana 2 get 4 u n also her budget 2...

nt pinin high hopes on my si dian jin...

meow... i will start tracking, but if i mia too long (sure coz of work), then someone help take over k?

amore... you are right... either we are meeting on the last few days of my singlehood, or the first few days of me being 'mrs'!

Hi Yi,

yup agree that wedding involves lots of money but we'd already plan for honeymoon since we are paying by the int-free installment coz i reckon i won't be able to take so many days of leave after this period.....my boss bin hor hor already when i take leaves next week for photoshoot and leave for my fren ROM next week too..

So we think that unless we lugi from the dinner, then we really suay and need to loan and on top of that we'd just cash out our NSS....have you all cash out already??

hi shir,

Yeap, we're both in the sk thread. =P
Nice to see familiar names...hee hee

So when are you having your photoshoot?

hi joy2003,

Yeap, the mini "beach" is beside the Punggol jetty.
And the lalang field is some distance away from the beach and jetty. Its at Punggol Marina. Have you been there before?

i guess most of them are avaliable on 29th. Can fix on that day loh.

Welcome back sunnyling
. Glad to see my kay kee back.

Hi shir,

Thanks for sharing your experiences at Sheraton Towers. Btw, how's the decor? I heard they are working with a new deco company.. Hopefully, deco is not plain..

Okie, I will have to initate and check with my boutique when's my 2nd appointment. Just wondering, because my photoshoot is only after my wedding, so when would it be a good time for me to do my trial makeup? Any suggestion?

so many to reply to.

Shook: My package includes car, 5 outfits for the ps. I got another friend signed up with WL. I think same package price and she got her car, 5 outfits, one MTM WG but she change it to EG. may be she didnt take it for her ROm cos she signed up after her ROM.

Maya: i spent more than $500 in HK co si am getting a fridge so they give me free delivery. I got all my bathroom & kitchen accessories from HK but i carried them home cos it wasnt too heavy and i got them at diff timing. I also got my cooker hob at HK, tecnogas brand cos i like the glasstop which have lifetime warrenty. mine have two cooking ring, they also have three and stainless steel version. I got mine at about $350 see if u can get it cheaper. Last heard from my friend that Elba is bought over by another coy and may not be manufacturing the cooker hob anymore. so u may want to find out more. Toilet bowl for $130 is very cheap. i got mine at $240 excl GST but not at HK lah. ur FH same like mine, he like to go many places to see and compared price. once i start getting tired i wld just feel like getting the stuffs at one place. I got all my lighting at geylang.
Let me go and get a website to post some of the items i got. give me a day to do it ok and some interior of my new house.

Jan: it is hard to do all the things alone. I hope i can help much it this way. actually they are not much cheaper even if u go down to their warehouse but i heard OM is worth buying if they really have warehouse sale. So always have to look up for Classified on SAT straits time.

My wedding is on 03/05/02 and i have another wedding dinner on 18 May. so two dinners
cos most of my mum relatives at in malaysia and it is more cost effective to go it and have one then asking them to come over. I will be going down to the resturant for food tasting this friday.

Vin: like some of the rest. i simply cant slim down and not matter wat i did and my photoshot is at Jan. the wgt never go up but is like down for 2 kg then up one. still stay at the same range. under BMI index i am consider overweight!

I hope i answer all of ur qns. if not ask me again ok!
My email: [email protected]

Hihi Jan
Cheer up. Dun let ur mood b affected by other ppl. Like wat May said think +ve n look @ the +ve side.

Hihi Jazz
Thx 4 compiling the list. Some info to share
Michele 10 May @ Fullerton / White Link
Jazz 18th May @ Intercon / Flamingo
SLK 29th May @ Grand Hyatt / Bridal Veil
Jan 2003 10th May @ Grand Hyatt / Xzen
May 15th May @ Amara / Jawn Happy Ever After
Sue 25th May @ Conrad / Bridal Veil
Pausini 3rd May @ ?/?
Maya 21st May @ ? / Christian Creation
Vin 12 Jan @ ? / JWN
Shook 11th May @ Carlton /White Link

Hihi May
My dad said I fat fat round round kateh kateh like Japanese.

Hihi Vin
Wat is the photography charges 4 Choon Huat? U using Choon Huat on ur actual day?
Still waiting 4 ur story on how ur bf won ur heart

All
Bcoz of the 5% GST now all of us busy shopping 4 hsehold stuff.
I got my lights, electrical appliances almost there. Now looking 4 furnitures, dunno where to start. Any gd recommendation of where to go n where to avoid (other than Novena, Barang Barang)?

hello

29/11 no problem for me but 13/12 I cant cos got best friend coming back from USA got to go airport and fetch her.

Meow
Can you email the compiling list to me at

"_" between eunice and poh

then I will send all my information for you

Hi Gwen,

Nope, haven't been to Punggol Marina. It is very far away from the jetty?

Both dates are ok for me also. I agreed, ideal place is central area. If friday, then we will have dinner together. Any objection?

novlkf,
You ROM is in 2001, rite? The list state 2002 lei.

sunnyling

Putise,
You still haven't fix the ROM date?

Antz,
You confirmed the wedding package with Bridal Zone already? I was thinking of signing up with them. Will decide after I visit their shop in Dec. One of the B.Zone bride send me her photos to let me see, quite plain lei.

I am new here.... getting married on 06 Dec 03, Sat @ The Oriental Hotel. Booked Graceful Image for my bridal boutique...

Hope that we can share-share more info with each other.. btw, anyone has limousine lobang??

Hihi Pausini
Ur friend's package @ White Link is the same price as ur package or my package? ROM dress is not in my package, I asked 4 it.
U like to shop in HK huh. Muz b v familiar wif the place. Is the px really dat cheap in HK even after u add in freight charges?
Ur wedding is on 3 May 2003 rite, why go 4 food tasting so early?

hi joy2003

i thought is good to take it b4 the actual day so tt the guests can see n the mood is still there... thought after the wedding day, already husband n wife.. the feeling might be different?

so which videograher did u engage for yr wedding? think u got to pay extra for them to 'rush' out the morning guo dali for presentation before the banquet right?

for the box spring divan, it look n work like a normal divan. just tt the interior is made of box spring for added cushion.

hi shir, bear n gwen

when's yr ps? maybe we can share some tips for the ps? i got a few now -
1. bring some packets of milo/biscuits in case hungry cos no time to eat ( shoot fm day to night..)
2. bring comfortable shoes for walking..
3. don't wear bra to sleep in case can see the 'mark' if wearing low back
4. don't drink too much water before sleep the night before in case got eyebag in the morning. etc...
anything else to share? thanks!

Pausini, tks. now got to find out more abt Elba 1st b4 confirming. Aiyah! almost confirm getting that already but now your news make me want to delay getting my cooker.
Shook, furniture you can try Picket& Rail. Good stuff, and they are having sale now. If their orginal prices as stated is genuine, then it's very good deal and their delivery and svc quite ok, at least not so many brickbats I heard. I got their 6-piece bedroom set for $999 (orginal abt more than $3K). Eyeing their new fabric sofa 3+2 set at $999 (orginal abt more than $2K). If FH didn't stop me, will prob'ly book that too.
Other places I went was vhive - they got nice study room furniture and wardrobes but not sure abt quality bec some say so-so only. Aero furnishings also got some nice stuff, bookcases, tv unit. Other big ones I will visit is Silver Stream, Raw Instint - they seem quite large so I hope got more choices. BTW, I go more for wood stuff so the places I mentioned above are for wood furniture. If your pocket big, Scanteak is good, and Pennsylvania hse.

Cityhall/Orchard area shd be fine. More convinient for all of us here.
I'm fine wif any food, so long not mighty costly.

twink|ets ~

Who else is ok with 6 Dec for brunch besides me and Jady?

Hi kk,
Yalor..air in DSTA not good..me always sick...hehe...one of my colleague also down with 2days MC...think must complain to Corp Admin to ask them to do sometin abt it.

Hi kk& Fishball,
Wow...so good...I go to MIL hse at least once a week cos Hubby said must build up relationship with MIL, I will also buy her some clothes, shoes if I go shopping with her lor...she treats me quite well...and she is a GREAT cook..loves to drink her soup...

Hi Lorraine,
I got my date through an old auntie at Temmple (think she is one of those err...dunno what you call her) hehee..paiseh..she came up with a few dates for her to choose (taking into account the sheng xiao of us and both parents)

hi flowee,

oh, ya hor, but must first take pics of it and scan it in. me lazy lah!

yap, looking ard to see whatz available and cost.
think should be necklace, ring, earrings and bracelet lor.
goldheart actually dun have much designs, so tonight trying aspial, lee hwa, soo kee, tianpo lor.

actually white gold rather ex and platinum worse!

never mind lah, look ard and c how 1st lor!

dun be so disheartened lah, max only son also wat!

hi blur,

u r welcome!
same here, dun dare to plan honeymoon coz scare lugi for dinner then no $ to go! hehehe

hi cherry,

where u gog for honeymoon?
o, for me, lotsa of off-days and annual leave so itzeasier for me to clear lor.

yap, cash out my NSS liao. hehehe

Hihi Maya
Thx 4 sharing. I m not in 4 country style, Picket & Rail is not suitable 4 me. I will shop @ the others dat u mentioned.

okie... guess no need to track liao, we shall juz fix 29 Nov as the more 'popular date'?

hey.. i know of this great place for dinner... the rice table. me and hubby love to bring frens there! they have a branch in international building, and another in cuppage. its ala carte buffet indonesian food, but not very spicy. (my standard, cos i dun take spicy at all!) interested? but muz book a few days in advance, esp since our grp so big.

any other suggestions?

btw gals, i think we all forgot to check with our FHs also hor??

Hi tintin,

Who is your photographer in the jawn package? Hope it's one of the 3 stated in their pamphlet, then no problem... cos they quoted me the price for another photographer, but when i checked with that particular photographer, they say they don't work with Jawn?!? I wasn't quite happy with that, so i decided against them eventually, even though like u, i also felt their gowns were very pretty! Wat a pity....

HI Shook,

Choon Huat Charge is reasonable and he won't no ask for deposit. I'm not manage to get him as my photographer, he is book on my day. He is introduce by my friends and some others photographer (Hilarian and Triston)

Are,
I been there before. Yah, the food is nice and
not too ex. Can eat until you very full.

I think we will more comfortable(Can said whatever we want even complaint on our HB and FH )if only gals,just my comment don't take it so hard. Anyway I got no objection if others is comfortable with.