(2002) Brides of year 2002

Starfruit,

ic, your wedding is earlier, that's y u need to send them out earlier

U dun over stress hor, must remember to be mei mei on your actual day ah!!

Im very excited & kan jiong leh, still feel got alot of things haven done yet!

Jowie, my bridal shop haven confirm collection date with me yet but i did told them to give it to me in Oct!
U double check with your bridal shop again lah, see if they can give u earlier or not

Aiya, u oso din watch ah? Who else can update har?? I have been missing since last mth leh
My stupid boss lah, dun want to employ another staff now have to do 2person work, somemore no pay increase, very lugi one!!!

I will be leaving seats for my photographer, videographer & emcee

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">something to share...</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="119911">
<FONT SIZE="+1"><FONT COLOR="ff0000">His online flings lead to bitter divorce</FONT></FONT>
<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">
BY DAWN CHIA
Sept 27, 2002
The New Paper</FONT>

ONLINE chatrooms and messaging services can bring people together.

But they can also break up marriages and relationships.

For one woman, the mere mention of ICQ (an online messaging system) is enough to make her shudder in fear.

Madam Lim (we are withholding her real name because of legal complications) got a divorce from her husband recently after she could no longer bear his online flings.

Said the 30-year-old: "I happened to look at his computer screen one night as I was passing by, and was shocked by what I saw.

"He was chatting up some women, and claimed to be a single man."

<FONT SIZE="+1"><FONT COLOR="ff0000">SHOCKED BY HIS ATTITUDE</FONT></FONT>

This was more than two years ago.

But it was not the first time she had caught him cheating.

And he didn't seem to care when she confronted him. She was shocked by his devil-may-care attitude.

Recalled Madam Lim: "He said that he was bored and was just having a casual conversation with someone.

"He never showed any sense of remorse."

According to Madam Lim, her husband had a habit of working on his computer late into the night.

She thought he was working on his projects each time he was on the Internet.

Realising she had been duped, she had a blazing row with her husband.

And he grudgingly promised not to chat up women online again.

She decided to give the marriage another go.

However, soon after the marriage, they had their first serious rift.

She discovered that her husband was having an affair with a colleague.

He agreed to end the affair, but his infidelity left a scar in the marriage.

And things didn't get better.

Some time later, Madam Lim discovered that her husband had been engaging in cybersex with a woman.

She came across the torrid sex transcripts and love messages when she stumbled upon an e-mail in her husband's laptop.

Madam Lim said: "I was devastated, and demanded an explanation.

"He would only say that they loved each other and that he wanted a divorce."

But then she made up with him and continued to live together.

Still there were frequent quarrels.

The only thing stopping the couple from getting a divorce was their daughter.

Even then, Madam Lim said her husband was not interested in the child.

She said: "He was never there when our child was sick."

Last year, things took a turn for the worse.

There was a sudden surge of nuisance calls made to her husband's handphone, especially at night, said Madam Lim.

Then came the lovey-dovey SMS-es, proclaiming love and sweet nothings.

It was more than she could bear.

She confronted her husband once again, and, finally, learnt the bitter truth.

Her husband admitted to having an affair with "a close female friend", and that their marriage was over.

Then he walked out.

Madam Lim was crushed.

She filed for divorce, and was awarded full custody of their daughter.

After the divorce was finalised, Madam Lim is determined to go on.

She cautioned: "There's nothing new in online networking, but there's a certain lure in chatting with someone on the Internet.

"You can be anyone and anything you want to be, and that's the danger.

"Be careful you don't get caught in its tangled web."

<FONT SIZE="+1"><FONT COLOR="ff0000">HE LOST HIS GIRLFRIEND TO NET RIVAL</FONT></FONT>

THEY were engaged to be married, but an innocent visit to an Internet Relay Chat (IRC) room dashed all their hopes.

Mr K W Yap, 23, had made plans to marry his 20-year-old girlfriend in two years.

The young Malaysian couple had come to Singapore together to further their studies and work.

All was going well until April, when his girlfriend sprained her back and had to spend two months recuperating at home.

To occupy herself, Mr Yap said, she often surfed the Net and chatted online.

Recalled Mr Yap: "I assumed that she was bored and just chatting casually with others.

"I never suspected that something had gone wrong until she began receiving lovey-dovey SMS-es on her handphone.

"It was from a man I didn't know."

When he confronted his girlfriend, Mr Yap said, she did not deny she had a new male friend - a Singaporean working in Australia.

He was devastated at the thought of losing his three-year relationship to someone whom his girlfriend had known for only a week.

And the more he questioned her about her new friend, the more they drifted apart.

Finally, in July, his girlfriend suggested that they break up.

Said Mr Yap: "What puzzles me is the fact that they have not even met up in person.

"They've only seen pictures of each other, and spoken only on the phone.

"How do they know that the other party is telling the truth or lying?"

<FONT SIZE="+1"><FONT COLOR="ff0000">PANDORA'S BOX?</FONT></FONT>

PROCEED with caution when it comes to chatting online.

Two out of three counsellors told The New Paper they were aware of marriages strained by online chatting.

Said Mr David Kan, executive director of the Family Life Centre: "A married person going into a chatroom is like opening a Pandora's box."

So far, he has seen three cases where online chatting has caused a rift in marriages.

According to Tampines Family Service Centre counsellor Harry Low, couples in their late 20s and early 30s are more likely to be caught up with online chatting.

Said Mr Low: "Spouses who go online to chat up people of the opposite sex can be likened to having extramarital affairs.

"In the one case that I've seen, the husband said that his reason for doing so was one of 'helplessness'.

"He said he was addicted to the idea of chatting online and did it partially because he had difficulty confiding in his wife."</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jen,</FONT>
aiya, nothing to do so go TNP website to read, then saw this article.. &amp; remembered some time ago there's a thread on this issue...

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">irony, me &amp; hubby met on the web.. though not thru ICQ or IRC lah..
</FONT>

Seems like everyone is getting busier. Heehee I am too. Actually, I don't fancy Marche coz there's nothing much that I like. Anyway, if majority goes for Marche, I am fine with it too.

JenJen, glad you are okay too.

Mine is not so much on money issue but rather his work. Anyway, both of us are sharing the majority of the wedding cost. Other than our own savings, we have both set aside a fixed amount about a year ago for the wedding as well. We have to watch over the expenses as the savings is tight.

Hence, we go for restaurant instead which is cheaper, do my own church invitation card printing and signature book. For the cakes, we use Bengawan Solo voucher (10% discount), and traditional 10pcs cakes ($5.50). For the florist decoration at the church, we go for the average package but presentable since is only few hours, cost about $350. The catering we ask for normal package instead of the wedding, however, able to negotiate to $10 per pax using their $11 menu. By mixing and dividing some dishes, we have about 11 main courses and 5 deserts/snacks.

I will not be able to come into this forum for next 2 weeks as I will be busy preparing for the wedding. Probably only able to catch things up with you gals in the Oct'02 gathering. However, I will not longer need to have such close watch on my diet as my wedding is over lao. Heehee....

Most likely, we will not have seat for the photographer.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">cherly</FONT>:
have resent the caterer list to ur new email. let me know if u received it.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">angeline</FONT>:
ya i also want to be mei mei on my actual day but now stress lor, not enuff sleep so dark eye ring damn bad man.. hope will improve as the date draws nearer

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Angelia</FONT>:
wha ur article very insightful.. interesting to learn that going to chat room to chat guys up is considered a form of extramarital affair.. lucky we all here only chat with girls hor..hehe :P

angelia, my hubby and me oso leh... on our school internal chat last time...
i know he sometimes still chatting with gals online... but it's ok lah... cos I trust him mah...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">starfruit,</FONT>
i think the key is "not to be too obsessed or involved with strangers in IRC".

<FONT COLOR="119911">u forgot we hv a guy among us?!
</FONT>

Hi doggylover
I had forward the wedding schedule and helper list to you. please check.

Will u gals be having your own emcee? do you need a copy of the speech? i had just received mine from the restaurant..

my FH dun like irc or icq, he tot it's a waste of time, he rather play PC games but he dun mind me chatting online...he even allow me to go on dates wif irc chatters last last times

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">jowie</FONT>:
haha, ur Fh so funnie..allow u to go on dates with them. actually i think he did the right thing, if he hold on to u too tight, u will wanna break away. so by letting u have ur freedom, ur chances of straying not so high hor. good to knwo that he has complete trust in u.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">angelia</FONT>:
hahaha, email not outdated lah..u also funny.

hi girls

paiseh i MIA for a long time..

my wedding is over liao! *phew*
everything went smoothly..
Thanks to all my helpers..
n i had a great emcee (Epsilon from Free Emcee thread)..the guests were well entertained.

i'm taking the 8pm flight tonite to NZ..will try n send u girls my photos after my trip.

Chemson/Blossom
hey, me looking fwd to my nz trip after reading ur postings!
i'm going South Island only for 10 days..took the F&amp;E pkg from GBC Pte Ltd.

hiya, still duno whether to try the glacier hike..like very scary n dangerous leh..
hubby also wanted to try the water rafting..
i want to try both but then...i'm also scared..like very dangerous.

Cowie
i'm glad i chose MM..well, at least to me, i think their food n service is good.
glad tat all went smoothly.

brides whose wedding is approaching, it'll be good to get a close fren to b ur overall i/c.
brief him/her the details, get him/her to attend the briefing by the banquet manager prior to dinner w ur hubby,...leave everything to them/helpers n enjoy ur nite. Good Luck n all the best!

Oct is round the corner...

Guest list is really a headache. Despite all the preventive actions (such as informing them WAY WAY in advance, reminding them whenever there's a chance, calling them before sending the card), there are still people who cancel at last minute. Same as catzball, i had a couple frens who just told me they are not going without giving any reason. Today a good fren (who was going to bring his gf) told me they can't make it cos his cousin is getting married too. Arrgghhhh... guest list kept shuffling.

Feel real bad to extend invitations only now.

Hey Crayon, i do need a speech. Can send to me please? my emcee asked me if can get for him..... thanks

Emmie and all,.... hey look at it this way, at least ur frens are telling u now, BEFORE the dinner, not after the dinner. :-)

Yup, I'm really glad I chose MM too.
No regrets
I have several favourable comments about their food and setting.
Happy to know that you are also happily married now.
Have a safe trip!

<FONT FACE="courier new"><FONT COLOR="0000ff">
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">4th Gathering (fotos viewing session) </FONT>

Date: 09 Oct, Wed
Venue: Marche @ Suntec (if no objections)
Time: 6.30pm - 7pm

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Nick --------------- Coming? </FONT>
angph38 ------------ Yes
aprmin ------------- Yes
bluechin ----------- Yes
Chin Leng &amp; wife --- Yes
dance40 ------------ Yes
nikki -------------- Yes
jas03 -------------- Yes
jaslyn ------------- Yes
jastan ------------- Yes
jenjen ------------- Yes
jo jo -------------- Yes
jowie -------------- Yes
ohno --------------- Yes
pk ----------------- Yes
starfruit ---------- Yes
<FONT COLOR="119911">
angeline ----------- kiv
berlinelee --------- kiv
canfused ----------- kiv
cherly ------------- kiv
</FONT><FONT COLOR="ff0000">
mint --------------- No (exam)
vincent &amp; wife ----- No (in-camp reservist)
</FONT></FONT></FONT>

Starfruit,

Over the weekend, u better have enough sleep ah, if not gonna become "padi xiong" liao
Try applying eye cream, hope it helps

hi yvonne,
im sure u will have a wonderful time at nz. it doesn't matter what the trip is long or short. the most impt thing is u and hubby are together!
9338.gif

hi cowie,
saw that u have shared ur pics to ppl in the forum and im happy for you that you received so many compliments. i tell u already wat, u really look good.

have u shifted to sengkang already? i have shifted to punggol. tell u ahh, i took so long to reach office that i felt really sian.

hey, remember we agreed to visit each other? if u have developed ur actual day pics, we can share photos too.
but hor, i only sent the negatives for development today...

<FONT COLOR="119911">1 more hr to knock off time, &amp; i hv to rush home, take dinner, shower, pack up &amp; rush to textile centre to catch the coach to Seremban... hiaz...</FONT>

50 mins more to Happy Week-end!!!

About durian stuff:

Hans (Novena Square, Food Junction)
Durian eclair ($1 each)

Emicakes (Toa Payoh Lorong 1, Block 111)
Silk Cream Durian puff ($4.50 for a box of 6)
D24 Durian puff ($10.80 for a box of 12)

Angie the Choice (Novena Square, Level 1)
Durian puff ($2.50 each)

Donut Confectionery (Hougang Street 21, Block 204)
Durian puff ($2.50 for a box of 5)

Polar Puffs &amp; Cakes (C.K. Tang, Basement 1)
Durian puff ($2 for 2)

Deatils at http://www.thingsasian.com/goto_article/article.1210.html

starfruit...me FH dun control me AT ALL, he's happy dat i dun stay at home disturb him while he messing wif his mistress ie. his PC...hehee i also like he dun control me, but i like to hold on to him tight tight, i dun care woman is like dat mah

jenjen...online PC games sometimes not fun wan, coz the other party can anytime logg out in the middle of the game, sometimes beri frustrating...i used to play mahjong online

angelia...enjoy yr trip to seremban, hope u get mani mani jewellery!

So busie today….. finally can log in…..

Angelia,
U better rush the restaurant regarding yr invites…..time flies
real fast. If your card’s light pink in colour, is it thick enough
to prevent the ink from being seen on the overleaf of the card?
Wat do u think? Basically I find it ok unless it’s quite thin.

I can’t go during CNY period unless it’s after the first
few days of CNY as my mil already say cannot leave the country
as it’s the first year I’m issuing ang baos.

Yah, I’m also crazy about puteri mas’ durian puffs….. so nice hor!

Mee want to reserve seats for my emcee, videographer and photographer! But
Daniel keep telling dun have to. Like that how?

I read those articles before. Very scary hor.

My hubby found me on ICQ……. Can’t believe it either but he did…. Never
Expect got such a good man online and also turn out to stay near my place and
Also met my family earlier than I knew him.

Angeline,
Really pass very fast….. end of the day at work already.

Starfruit,
Welcome

Jowie,
I also never watch this week….. must watch tonight…..

angelia,
enjoy your trip ok...

Jowie,
i also called my hubby's PC his mistress and his LUo Han Yus his children.....

vincent,
Thanks for the info!

Angelia,

Enjoy your trip &amp; "shopping" hor

Bluechin, time files very fast hor?? Everyonegoing to knoeck off soon but i have to stay back to clear some of the work first
Remember tomolo meeting hor

tomolo drive wife to work. then take b/f at bedok resv mkt. then go home watch a vcd movie. then time to fetch wife from office. then go printer company at peninsula to see sample printing and check out prices. then ... yahoooooooooo, 25 mins to week-end!!!

BlueChin: u're welcome.

Ya, times pass fast. I will have busy weekend too, go for facial, buy my Guo Da Li stuff, work out my itinerary and also need to look for toilet tile.

Hi Blossom,
Yup, I have moved in already
Yah, I know.... luckily my hubby drives, but I still take quite long to get to work cos of longer route to avoid ERP
Based on our normal route, we can easily go under 3 gantries!!

Sure, do remember about our house visit deal
Let me know when your photos are ready
We can arrange a time so long as work-wise we are not so tied up

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">starfruit,</FONT>
me going to source for my 4-pc gold lah.. cos MIL give $$ in ringgit mah.. then will see got cheap, nice &amp; good diamond accessories anot.. kekeeke...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cherly,</FONT>
coming back on Monday, so i'll only be logging in on Tue..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin, angeline, jowie,</FONT>
i oso hope can buy mani jewellery.. but better dun hv high expectations!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
dun understand ur "Also met my family earlier than I knew him" leh..

btw, i asked <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Nick</FONT>, he oso say no need to reserve seat for photographer/videographer unless got solemnization b4 the dinner, e.g 6pm-7pm, then it'll be courtesy to allocate them a seat.

hmm.. oso dunno think enuff anot.. will hv to wait lor.. prob can't rush the banquet mgr, unless i get hubby to call him later. but he prob will say 10 days lor..

i think shld be okie lah, cos i got my guestlist ready liao.. only left a few of them hvn't confirm, said confirm end Oct.. the rest all okie liao, &amp; i oso got their address oready..
KS hor?! but better do these first cos later i'll be bz with cleaning hse, place the god, move hse, buy stuff, guo-da-li, etc....

hope i dun freak out!!!

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">how many days before ur wedding date u gals going on leave?? me can't decide 2 or 3 days leh...</FONT>

angph38,
My wife has many leaves to clear by end of the year, so she take 4 to 5 days.
I taking onli 2 days.

How many days leaves does yr hubby(ies) take b4 wedding dinner?

Zai Si Wu Fen Zhong Jiu Sia Ban Le (15 mins to week-end)!!!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">vincent,</FONT>
hubby dun even hv enuff leave for honeymoon (so we gotta plan to "coincide" with his plant shutdown), so prob he'll not be taking any leave prior to wedding.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
me not going 1st few days of CNY, gotta go back Seremban (i very ku-ming, CNY gotta rush here rush there). tentative plan to fly on 04 Feb, then back on 17 Feb or 19 Feb.. so u can?

if u can, we maybe can get those "travel by 4 pax" air tix, cheaper.. then can share car rental.. kekeke.... then both hubby drives, both of us at the back yak... yak... yak...

<FONT COLOR="119911">okie, gotta rush off liao.. still hvn't finish packing.. so sad, i gonna miss zhen qing tonight.. that's why yesterday i went to buy i-weekly.. kekeke...
</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">bye gals... hv a nice wkend</FONT>

My wedding is on 8 Nov and I think I will be only start to on leave from 6 Nov afternoon, need more leave for my honeymoon, anyway, can't do many thing during that morning. My company got 3 days marriage leave lei.

hi cowie,
my hubby is considering getting a car but im very worried that it will be very costly to maintain. how much do u think it will cost per month?

angph38,
i see.

I have 5 days marriage leh....but taking 3 days unpaid leaves since 5 days not enough for honeymoon. No paid leave approved already leh. Yahooooooo!

angelia....why solemnisation before dinner then muz allocate seat for photographer? i tot the photographer also need to take photos during the process and anyway the process onli less than 10 mins rite??

me not taking leave before the wedding, no more leave liao
my FH gotto take 9 days unpaid for the whole wedding