(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi Dozo,

I had the same concern last time, but realise that there's no point worrying. Perhaps you can over-invite by 1-2 tables, so even if there are guests that can't turn up, you'll still be able to fill your tables, thus avoiding the situation of sending out last minute invitations to others which you didn't include in the 1st place due to space constraint. Like what the rest said, the most important is the RSVP.

Hi Pinky,

Me also thinking of going to NATAS fair to check out doubt they will be cheap though). Anyway it's a good place to collect information and brochures. Where you planning to go?

hi loreal

yes, it was our first time, not very complicated lah the maps, mainly highways one, so quite easy. must drive around the South Island lakes, very beautiful! not that u spend less time travelling while self drive, the same cos the same distance, but it is quality time cos u can stop wherever u want to and dont have to wait for others when u dont want to or are not interested in the stop, and the best part is that if u guys find a damn nice place to stay, can extend happily for one or two more nights. recommend u pick up Lonely Planet first and read on plane then u can have rough idea where to go. can rent car from Christchurch. We didnt really stay there cos we didnt like cities and wanted to relax in country side. but for honeymoon, must must go Akaroa, very romantic. i didnt use GBC, regretted not using it cos the travel agent i went with was VERY LECEH!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jen,</FONT>
remember to bring ur rejects hor!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
aiya, near knockoff time, so "boh liao" a bit lor.. not quarrel lah.. dun worry..

when did i mention i "do nothing but eat and sleep plus also hours sitting in front of the PC" leh?? i very bz leh.. last Sun used 4 hrs to walk the whole of Balestier Road - in search of lightings for hse!!

last evening went another shop (recommended) by our contractor to take a look.. but too bad, they dun hv the lightings we want.. today got dinner appt (hubby's fren bday), tmr go 2nd round filter of album photos, Fri meet contractor, Sat/Sun gotta go get the lightings else too late liao....
7418.gif

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cherly,</FONT>
1 2nd ur suggestion!! but then hor, the girls here all saying "cannot eat too much, later go fat".. then how to go leh?!
7419.gif

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jaslyn,</FONT>
aiyo, we so nice pple, where will bully u?! u treat us drinks, we'll be even nicer to u.. kekeke..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">aprmin,</FONT>
wah, ur very convenient hor.. go out after work, everywhere oso accessible.. think <FONT COLOR="ff6000">starfruit</FONT> oso working in that building..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">nikki</FONT>
oops.. where u hving ur class? maybe need to indicate in the list that u not free on Tue, then next time we dun pick a Tue for gathering... else the rest will never get to see u leh...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">irene,</FONT>
ur proposal oso not bad leh... hmmm.. but where shall we go leh?!

gals...how do you all do the guests list to be put on the recept table? the one to strike out who has arrive and to refer the table numbers?

anyone getting ROM on same day as dinner?? i almost forgot about the whole ROM ting until my frend reminded me yesterday! we can book the dates now! heheee

<FONT COLOR="0000ff"><FONT FACE="courier new">
Date: 27 August, Tuesday
Venue: City Hall
Time: 6.30pm - 7.00pm

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Nickname</FONT> --------- <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Coming?</FONT>
===========================
Angelia ---------- Yes
Angeline --------- (confirm when date nearer)
Aprmin ----------- (hv class, will join ard 9+)
Berlinelee ------- Maybe
Bluechin --------- Yes
Canfused --------- (try to meet up later)
Cherly ----------- Yes
Dance40 ---------- Yes
Jas03 ------------ Yes (will confirm again, mth end, might be bz)
Jaslyn ----------- Yes
JenJen ----------- Yes
Jowie ------------ Yes
Miko ------------- Yes (will confirm again, mth end, might be bz)
Ohno ------------- Yes
Starfruit -------- Yes
Nikki ------------ No (hv class)
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">
9 <= Confirm
4 <= Tentatively Yes, confirm when date nearer
2 <= Join later
</FONT>
</FONT></FONT>

angelia...teahouse at china sq, ala carte buffet for chinese food and tim sum for around $26+++, and they have something like private room for big groups...actually i quite like dat place coz the food is nice and wide variety, but after their weekend tim sum hi tea which they screw up due to overwhelming response, i din go anymore
7439.gif

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Jowie,</FONT>
actually i suggested Teahouse to my hubby's fren oso.. but $26+++ per pax is too ex lah.. hubby's fren treating a few of us to dinner.. so i looking for cheaper place.. since that bday guy likes tim sum..

angelia...muz it be tim sum?
there's a nice little thai restaurant which mani people overlook, it's attached to summerview hotel, beside sim lim sq...there have ala carte buffet on wkends and the food is nice but not much variety, price onli i tink $15+++(should be below $20 after tax), the name is "D' Lemon Tree"

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Jowie,</FONT>
that bday boy can't take spicy food!!! even a bit of chilli oso cannot tahan... hiaz.. looks like going Fatty at Bugis AGAIN!!! i go there till i sianz liao..

9 out of 10 times, their dinner gathering is there!!!

fatty at bugis? where exactly is dat? wat kind of food? expensive?
i like spicy food, especially the "ma la hot pot" at suntec
me hobby is eat hehee tok about food me non stop liao

now looking for cheese prata, hvn't eat before

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jowie,</FONT>
cheese prata can go to the one near kent ridge/pasir panjang.. always a lot of pple during late nite.. they hv variety oso, got tomatoe one.. kekeke..

it's actually at the Burlington Sq, behind Sim Lim sq.. chinese food, not expensive, that's why always eat there!!

eh.. u shld go The Magic of Chongqing Hot Pot at Tanglin SC.. very spicy.. lots of variety of dishes to choose from too..

angelia...i went to dat fatty once, mani ang mos eat there...the bday boy like chinese food? can try places like billy bombers or fish &amp; co, their prices quite cheap also

any cheese prata near east area??

the chonqing at tanglin same branch as suntec, i prefer suntec coz more convenient and better service lor, but they have a practice whereby they always dun serve all you have ordered. mani times i find dat they will miss out 2-3 plates
and their steamboat can add more chilli leh, we always tell them "add hot" and they will come wif a small pail of dried chilli...shiok!!! heheeee

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jowie,</FONT>
oh, izzit? i din noe they're the same company.. then next time dun hv to go Tanglin, gotta walk so far..

how abt jln kayu, they got cheese prata anot?!

guess they prefer chinese food.. those guys can't go without rice type!! actually i dun feel like going.. nothing new.. always order the same dishes somemore.. but my mummy not cooking tonite leh..
7444.gif

angelia...lucky plaza also got a similar steamboat but different company, heard the boss last time work in the suntec shop but now set up own shop, i haven't been there yet, but they are cheaper, by $1 heheee

jalan kayu i heard have leh, but a bit far...i hope i can go tonite, after so much tok abt prata....

yalor some guys usually no rice cannot...or u can try tim sum at geylang, i tink is lorong 12, facing the main road, quite nice, i usually go there for supper, they got fried beef kway tiao also, beri nice...i like their tim sum coz can really eat the prawns inside lor

hi gals.. can tell me how much roughly the Chongqing HOt Pot cost? where exactly in Suntec is it located? never eat b4 leh.. since u all say until so nice.. i wan try out...

hi gemi,

actually me undecided where to go. initially thot of maritius but heard that in jan is their summer season so may not be that gd cos there will be rainy seasons during summer.

then thot of New Zealand, also summer season but the charges are abit high, costs aro $2788/pax for 11 days trip.

then my hubby wants to go china cos winter season.. hai.. dunno know where to go leh. thot of accomodating hubby's wishes but then i dont really like the idea of packing winter clothes to go for tour cos heavy and also i scare of cold.

wat abt u? any ideas where to go?

<FONT COLOR="119911">gals, thx for ur response.. think i dun wanna help them crack my head liao lah.. later then i decide want to go anot.. always dun pay to be kind..</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">something to share...</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="119911">
The Indian Women's Beauty Secret
If you are one to try traditional beauty treatments you should definitely pay attention to this.

Indian herbal beauty treatments are becoming more and more accepted in today’s world. It all started for me when I woke up one morning and found a horrid army of red men invading my face. I panicked and like most teenagers slathered my face with creams and masks of all kinds. Fortunately my mother came to my rescue with an array of traditional Indian products. I took Indian beauty treatments all the more seriously after that. I also felt a bond of sorts with my family and culture as these prized recommendations were passed down from my granny to my mother and then to me. I am certain that I will pass them to my kids as well, for now I am content with enlightening you.

Goat’s Milk soap is ideal as a cleanser. It is gentle and takes care of everything from pimples to blackheads. Try Nanny Brand Goat’s Milk Soap.

Sandalwood soap is wonderful as a body bar with it entrancing fragrance.

Turmeric is a miracle worker that treats almost everything from dry skin to pimples. It can be purchased in the form of a cream that is easily absorbed by the skin and non-greasy. Try Vicco Turmeric Cream, it comes packaged in a handy tube.

Rosewater is a wonderfully fragrant ingredient that can be used as a toner for the face.

Tulsi comes from a plant and is even used to heal coughs and colds. This is done by boiling the leaves in water then drinking the mixture. Tulsi is also an antiseptic. Look out for it in shampoos and even toothpastes.

Shiyakai is yet another ingredient that is used in shampoos. It is great for dry hair. Try Vatika shampoo with shiyakai and green almonds.

Lemon is good for ridding the scalp of dandruff. Look for Vatika Herbal Lemon Shampoo.

Coconut Oil is used on the hair to strengthen and help it grow. It also thickens the hair. Get Clinic Brand Hair Oil. However, I must warn that it leaves hair feeling heavy and greasy, so apply liberally over hair before bed, once or twice a week and rinse off with shampoo in the morning.

Gingelly Oil is used to treat chapped lips, blisters and can also be used as hair oil. I suggest MahaLingham Brand, if not just ask for Nallanai.

Henna is recently being used as a form of body art but traditionally Indian women use this special blend of herbs to dye hair. Try Eagle Brand Henna, it comes nicely packed in sachets.

The Indian Woman’s most striking feature is her eyes. An alternative to plucking eyebrows is \b{threading This is done by using a taut string to pull out the stray hairs. You can get this done at Rupini’s Bridal Beauty Parlor for just $5.

Beautify your eyes as well by lining them with ma-ee, which is a blend of herbs that is so gentle it will not cause any irritation at all.

Now that you are equipped with the secrets of the Indian Woman, go ahead and discover them yourself!

Rupini’s Bridal Beauty Parlor
24 Buffalo Rd
Tel : 6291 6789
</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">if anyone going for the threading, can jio me.. i v. interested to try leh.. heard it'll help the makeup last longer</FONT>

Hi Angelia,

I interested but where is buffalo road?
Is it pain?
How they do it?

I a bit scared. Got once I go for a trial facial but i have sensitive skin. I told the girl. After that, they put a lotion on my face which becomes itchy. I ask them to wipe it off but they did not until i kick a big fuss.. There after never go for facial anymore.

Irene

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">angie.. i veri interested to go threading.. i've got another place... oso done by Indian woman.. it's at Orchard Plaza... oso $5 for threading of upper lip... actually my colleague oso wan go.. u wan go not?

btw, wat time does the buffalo shop close? u have good comments for this Rupini’s Bridal Beauty Parlor?</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">angie.. and if u do threading for both eyebrows and upper lip at Orchard Plaza.. they charge $10 only.. veri cheap hor... so how u wanna go together? me wanna try out to see if it's really good...</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">irene,</FONT>
wah, so u dun go facial after that or dun go facial at that shop after that?? but ur face in good condition leh...

Buffalo Rd is near KK.. got that from www.streetdirectory.com... exact location i oso not so sure leh.. but think can walk from <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Bugis MRT</FONT> izzit?

<FONT COLOR="119911">Threading - This is done by using a taut string to pull out the stray hairs.</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jaslyn,</FONT>
u got try the Orchard Plaza one anot? is it <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Rathi Beauty Palour</FONT> as recommended by some brides in the forum?! the $5 is for upper lip only ah?

hv not tried <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Rupini's</FONT>, i got the above article off some bridal forum oso.. dunno the $5 mentioned is only certain portion of face or whole face leh...

<FONT COLOR="119911">we can fix a date then go together lah..</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">angie.. ya.. it's Rathis Beauty Parlour.. recommended by FBO brides.. heard it's veri good leh.. ya <FONT COLOR="ff6000">$5 for upper lip only... and $10 for both eyebrow and upper lip...</FONT>

when u free to go? which one u wanna try?? the one at Orchard Plaza closes at 7pm... maybe can go saturday morning lor...</FONT>

Hi, i heard threading very pain leh.. and my colleague say after threading your face will be very red.. but the results are good lah.. is it true? She recommended to do threading at Bioskin.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">hi gals.. i heard from some brides that threading not very pain.. smthg like ants bite leh... and the process veri fast.. <FONT COLOR="ff6000">5mins for threading of the upper lip...</FONT>

ya.. the face will turn red... but will go off after a while... <FONT COLOR="ff0000">but be sure... DO NOT MOVE when threading is done on your face.. if not will a bit of the skin will come out.. if the skin really comes out.. juz need to apply a little aloe vera gel.. and it'll be ok liao..</FONT>

hope i didn't scare u gals off...</FONT>

Bluechin, me resting at home now. Okie feeling much better. Thx! U leh? Your throat fully recovered? Got stay far far away from fried stuff or not?

Jowie, u were looking out for cheese prata. There is tis prata plc along beach rd, opposite concourse, got all types of prata there! i tink they got branch in jln kayu one.

Me like to eat oso!! but very scared of putting on weight!

Jaslyn, tat part tat the skin may come off sounds REAL SCARY!!!

Will the face hair grow more after we start to thread? like shaving like that?

Jaslyn...the hot pot is at suntec basement, near to the footcourt...the normal steamboat is not beri spicey, if u like it hotter, ask them to add hot

angelia...wats the use of threading as compared to plucking or shaving? does it take longer for the hair to regrown?

Hi Pinky,

I actually would love to go Scandinavia or New Zealand, but the former is too expensive and the latter (would be summer season).

So now thinking of going to Europe. Can visit my brother who is studying there also. But the final decision will depend on the budget. Been trying to save for the wedding, but so far not having much success. Somemore now got to spend on wisdom teeth surgery...been procrastinating for 3 years. Now really must go, cause got some inflammation. Hope I'll recover in time for my photoshoot.

Mauritius would be nice!!!

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">gals.. no... after threading, your hair will not grow like after shaving... and it won't grow out of course too... that's what i heard from other brides... me haven't try b4 yet...</FONT>

My friends done once on the upper lips portion in the salon using our grandmother method, she said a bit painful. After the treatment, the upper lips got a bit red and will be a bit itchy. The hair will still grown and slightly longer than b4. So now she dare not go again.

How's everyone? Seems like not much activities this week?

Hi Jas
Can i ask u somethin abt the tour u booked? Does it include city tour? or just hotel stay, airport transfer and breakfast only?
I saw a promo now..$899 for 3N Sydney and free $200 voucher for day tour...with Dynasty travel

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">orange{irene</FONT>
i oso dunno leh.. never try b4.. but many ppl say it's good leh..

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">cherly</FONT>
wat is the grandmother method that ur friend tried? was it threading? and which salon she went?

threading is not permanent and the hair will still grow.. just that it's better than shaving lor..}

The grandmother method is using 2 thread and roll from the face. Don know how to describe, usually will do it when the ladies is getting married.

Not sure this method is it same as what u all have mentioned?

share my experience for threading...

me went bioskin to do threading bt not for my wedding lah of cos...just for fun cos after doing it, yr make up actually stays longer...
they will oso clean up those baby hair on yr forehead n neck(damn pain bt i tahan) bo bian wan to pretty pretty lor...

first timer they charge cheaper - $18
subsequently think is $22

face hair will still grw after first time threading have to do a few more times then wont grow...bt i only did once...kekeke...

Hi! i am a Sept Bride, usually on the Sept Bride forum but since the July Brides have actually gone thru the wedding already, I was wondering whether you guys have any feedback on the caterers u used, I havent signed up with my caterer yet, may need a halal certified one. Thanks for any comments.

hi angelia, u only walked 4 hours in balestier?? I took abt 2 weeks and comb balestier and geylang twice...

anyway, i confirm can go, but also bracket last min may have work commitments... sollie...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jen,</FONT>
u comb twice is how long each session?! me 4 hrs in a stretch leh.. somemore so hot that day!!! still need to go again this wkend !!

okie, noted.

hi gemi,

u dont like summer season is it? i think europe is a nice choice too but must go only to a few countries else very tiring.

actually somehow my hubby dont quite like to go to those 'ang moh' countries cos he feels that the people there wont be so nice to us, but anyway we also saving very hard for wedding, so the honeymoon really depends alot on our budget.

i heard that some travel agents has interest free installments for their travel packages, might be useful lor.

i ever went for wisdom tooth surgery before, got 5 days MC, the most thing i like abt.. haha but then it was real painful... i think u can use medieshield to pay for this sugery mah. that time i also use.

Hi Pinky,

I don't think I can get away with 5 days, cos got a lot of work. Think will go for surgery on Fri, rest over the weekend, then work on Mon/Tue.

If I can really go Europe, think will visit at most 3 countries. Maybe Germany, Austria and France...not sure if this choice is ideal as I've yet to do homework. But really wish to go Austria. Heard it's a lovely place.

Yah..think SA got those interest free installment. Dunno why, but me and hubby are not really comfortable going for such schemes. Like owe people money like tat. So maybe try to save as much as we can, if not, delay the trip lor.

Aiyo..I injured my back doing sit-ups &amp; crunches yesterday. Now still in pain. Got difficulty getting rid of the flabs on tummy and arms.

Hi Aileen,
I've used Select catering for the buffect during the Tea Ceremony. I've good comments from my guests!

Cheers:
Carol