(2002) Brides of year 2002

angelia, wun lose u one lah... started at 1pm till 6pm... went into EVERY shop... no joke!! Even brought our own water bottle...

when I went to balestier a 2nd time, first shop we saw a light we liked oredi... but still went all the way to the end of the road... at the end of the day, went all the way back to first shop to get the light... hahaha... of coz take bus lah... by that time... :p

Hi Loreal/Blossom,

Finally I booked my package tour from chan brothers, it will be a 12days tour(NZ)and will be leaving on 17th sept.
Loreal, have you decide to self drive or book package?
By the way, have you gals bought any accessories to match the WG and EG. Where did you get it from coz me still searching!!!

All the best and congrats to you gals.

Hi,..... I've been busy,... PS on Sat!!! Feeling abit stressed now..... don't know how i'd look, and some pimples have popped up :-( they always do that, at the most inappropriate moments :-( now trying to drink lots of water to clear them off.... it usu works .... keeping fingers crossed...
Hey gals, how do u go toilet during PS? i mean u are all dressed up and on top of that u hv to go to the public toilet? and what if outdooor? hmmm.... i know need to take lots of water bcos sure perspire alot esp during outdoor, but just can't help wondering.......

hi liz,
i intend to borrow the accessories from cc. i dun have the time to search for them and i dun really know how to match too.

Hi Octbride,

Ya, thanks for the note about the platform shoes. I've seen some brides in platforms too and it does look very "sala". Think I'll stick to my 4 inch heels.

I've been wondering why it's been very quite here for awhile. Been logging in everyday to see what's happening. Anyone getting nervous about what's wedding day? I AM!!! Just wondering if there is anything I've overlooked. Can I ask a question: what aspects of the wedding preparations did your FHs help organise or help out with?

Hi, yah threading sounds painful and scary. i tink i will give it a miss! Thx princessjen, for sharing your experience!

Jenjen, Angelia, i walked the whole stretch of balestier oso, in the end so tired, i got my lightings for my whole hse from one single shop..

If i din rem wrongly, its Light+Form, and the sales person is Joshua. he very helpful in advising us on choosing the lights, and the delivery svs is prompt. Say 3pm deliver really 3pm on dot deliver. So we din hv to wait at our new hse for the delivery very long.

yah can dun want buffet or not? want to watch the calories

Hi Jas03,

Is the light very nice in that shop?
How's the price?

Soon, I'll be getting the lights too coz my last appointment is in sep 25.
And then renovation got to start promptly so that it could end fast and at the time before my 'AN CHUAN'.

Irene

Hi Irene, the price is ok lor.. they hv got both the cheap range as well as the very expensive ones. (like $400 over for one)

The lights i chose were normal ones, esp for kitchen, bathrm, bomb shelter, and the bedrooms. Not too ex, but i spent more on the down lights, spot lights and the dining table light.

Muz bargain, but they will not less it by alot, mayb the most 10% disc. Try to ask who is the boss, and bargain w the boss. Cos Joshua just a staff there.

Hi obride

Try not to drink too much water the night before your shoot to avoid puffy eyes.

I'm also been logging in everyday also. Thought everyone must be busy with their preparation.

Hi Athena

My FH as usual only do things when told. Never know what to do next. So what I did is to arrange things and ask him to fetch me around & do it together. That's where he also can get involved.

Sanchai

Have you collected your invitation cards. Did you mentioned that you did it with T Dragon. Like to know how's the quality?

Jas3,

'An Chuan' is the traditional things for the bed lor...

Regarding the lights,

I think I not getting a lot. I'm not having a false ceiling so no need those hidden spot lights.
Only need ceiling lights for living room, bedroom and kitchen.Bathroom, we thinking of using sidelight.
Other than that, I think altogether we needs, 7 normal lights (nice one for living and rooms, normal for kitchen) and 2 sidelights.
But hoping not so expensive becoz we going broke liao

Irene

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">so ta jie ta... whr we meeting? i guess all of us dun wan buffet... else we have to arrange for another outing to workout liao...</FONT>

so sorrie that I was MIA for soo..long, always hv problems in accessing my internet..sian

Just came to know abt the gathering, I really wish to join all of u but I'm not able to go cos I'm gg on a star cruise trip during that time. Hope you gals will enjoy yourselves that evening. Guess all of u will be getting more excited as our big day is getting nearer and we r all looking forward to this special day.

Bluechin,
can email me your wedding photos, really wish to see leh!! can also check with you did you do a montage instead of the 20x24" portrait with Paris?? At first i upgrade to montage style (3-in-1) but later think that i still need to pay additional of few hundreds, feel it's rather exp..so intend to change back to normal portrait.

Irene,

Yalor, I am also going broke liao
. Wedding really cost lots of money. Some months back me &amp; my FH went thru what u all having now, looking for lights. We are doing whole house false ceiling, that why only look for down light and down light also got few type. Beside looking at the design, also the price, end up we still spend abt $1K on the lighting, heart pain lei
yawn.gif

We have gone to Balestier, Jalan Besar, Parkway Parade and Geylang and most of the lighting shops are selling abt the same lighting and price range different at few dollors. End up, we settled all lights at Geylang, their downlight is cheaper than others abt $3 - $4. Forget the shop name but its start from P something one, quite big shop along the road.

After the lighting, we need to settle furnitures and now is wedding dinner. So how can don broke? Also, maybe due to we didn't apply for renovation loan

y'day watched this show on U-channel where they featured NZ. think it's really nice.

but my bf say if we go, we don't have such leisure time to walk walk...

he's not the kind who'd go for free n easy if it's a place he's not familar w.

me too is wondering y is our site so quiet nowsasdays. Well, for my FH oso, will oni do tinks if i instructed him to, as for most of the tinks, i m the one who usually handle. He is quite buzi wif his work &amp; i m more free than him. So i can do the rest of the tinks during office hrs oso. Aniway, i tink most couples have the same situation as me too, as i believe tat girls are more attentive than guys. So we could do a better job than them &amp; i tink they simply "bo-chap" oso!!!

Me beri excited oso. Oni abt 1.5 mths to go, have settled most of the major tinks, juz waiting to distribute my cards in Sept &amp; then GUODALI, &amp; then my wedding, and then HONEYMOON!!! Can't wait for my big break!!!

<FONT COLOR="0000ff"><FONT FACE="courier new">
Date: 27 August, Tuesday
Venue: City Hall
Time: 6.30pm - 7.00pm

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Nickname</FONT> --------- <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Coming?</FONT>
===========================
Angelia ---------- Yes
Angeline --------- (confirm when date nearer)
Aprmin ----------- (hv class, will join ard 9+)
Berlinelee ------- Maybe
Bluechin --------- Yes
Canfused --------- (try to meet up later)
Cherly ----------- Yes
Dance40 ---------- Yes
Jas03 ------------ Yes (will confirm again, mth end, might be bz)
Jaslyn ----------- Yes
JenJen ----------- Yes
Jowie ------------ Yes (will confirm again, mth end, might be bz)
Miko ------------- Yes (will confirm again, mth end, might be bz)
Ohno ------------- Yes
Starfruit -------- Yes
Mandie ----------- No (star cruise)
Nikki ------------ No (hv class)
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">
8 <= Confirm
5 <= Tentatively Yes, confirm when date nearer
2 <= Join later </FONT>
</FONT></FONT>

Hi cherly,

initially we did not think of applying renovation loan too.
But after getting the house (got to pay cash to owner due to resale flat), we think maybe we need to get the loan liao.

I was thinking maybe don't do so much reno esp kitchen, perhaps just do bathroom but he say, nevermind lah, do once and for all. So now got to start worry liao, unless i strike lottery....

too bad i did not buy that day the 1121.

Irene

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jen,</FONT>
wah.. peifu.. peifu... u really outdo us!! i dun think i want to do it "again"!! since we've oready decided on which lightings, prob we'll juz go straight back to that shop this wkend and juz "finish it off"

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">irene,</FONT>
hehehe.. we oso dun hv false ceilings.. but still need to get quite a no. of lights leh (3 bdrms=4 lights; living=2 lights, dining=2 lights; store=1, toilets=2; kitchen=2), we calculated, roughly abt $700-$800.

btw, what u mean by "sidelights"??

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jas03,</FONT>
think we oso went Light+Form to see, but din see what we like..

we saw what we want in only 2 shops.. Balestier Lightings &amp; Lumiere (think tis the spelling).. as we were leaving, the sales lady at Lumiere told us they've got 2 other branch under same mgmt - Balestier Lightings &amp; Eurostar... then hubby &amp; i was like "ooooooh, no wonder we only saw that design in Balestier".. but we dun rem a shop named Eurostar leh..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cherly,</FONT>
we oso din get reno loan.. dun want to get into debt..

guess few of us here sama sama... reno, furnishings &amp; wedding very close.. so will be very shacked!! one event after the other, like no "break time"..

last nite last min. contractor ask to meet (so din go for dinner appt), to discuss the carpentry works (kitchen cabinet, feature wall, mbr wardrobe, etc) met for 3 hrs.. left new flat at 10:30pm.. so tired!! lucky he kind enuff to send us home.. so last nite parted with $10K.. my hubby say so heartpain..

this Sun meeting again to confirm colors &amp; pay another 40% of reno cost..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">mandie,</FONT>
what size is the 3-in-1 montage portrait?? my bridal give me option to change the 20x24 portrait to 3-in-1 8R portrait.. at no cost..

i was wondering, the big portrait is those with canvas finishing rite? then those 3-in-1 montage kind leh? it looks like normal photos in frame to me..

just a suggestion, shall we change to meet at bugis? i tink there's more eatery and cheaper ones at bugis as compared to cityhall, eg fish &amp; co, billy bombers, sketches or sake sushi(dunno open or not)...after dinner we can proceed to intercontinental hotel lounge(a bit expensive) or coffee bean

Hi Angelia,

Wah your bridal shop very nice, can upgrade to 3-in-1 without extra costs. My montage is actually consist of 3 10R photos together make up to 10x36" for the whole frame. The finishing is just like the normal portrait with canvas, just 2 more photos to see instead of only 1 big one. If I want to change the frame to those Acrylic type (see-through frame/frameless type), then additional costs somemore leh.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jowie,</FONT>
think the coffee bean pretty small rite?!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">those on diet,</FONT>
what'll u like to hv?! give us some ideas so at least we can suggest...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">starfruit,</FONT>
me hvn't.. will sent in mid Sept.. in fact, we hvn't meet hotelier to get the invites yet!!

When do you think is the best time to distribute our cards? My mum wants the GUODALI two weeks before our wedding. Is it only after GUODALI than give out the cards or can give before. Can someone advise me on this. Very confuse with the rules.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">mandie,</FONT>
oh, so it's upgrade (or downgrade) to diff types. maybe that's where the cost came in.. cos a fren of mine said if it's those canvas finishing one, better, cos color will not run in long run.. but those normal one, prob will lor..

actually i think mine prob not the same "montage" style as urs, not too sure.. it's actually 3 pix side by side.. &amp; it's upgrade to 8R only.. din check what frame it's used, prob the same as 20x24". i asked if they got sample to show, they say dun hv.. then i very hard to visualise...

think i better dbl, triple check with them tonight.

that day i passed by White Link at Marina Sq, and saw a 3(4)-in-1 type, but it's 2 big pix (i think it's 10R) at both sides &amp; 2 small ones(4R) in the middle (1 up &amp; 1 down).. looks pretty nice too..

angelia...i dunno leh hehee usually i went to the hotel coz not so noisy

starfruit...me DIY the cards, but haven't start yet
7499.gif

I think is difficult to suit everyone for the dinner place as we all come from differenct background and different personality. The place where A like B may not like it, where A &amp; B like it, C may not like it, so its very difficult to accomodate all of us, especially we got such a big group/

May I suggest we go to Ponderosa at city hall 2nd level, western food, whoever don like fish, can take chicken, don like both fish and chicken, can take steak. They serve salad buffet, whoever don like to take main course, just pay for to have salad. Price range from I think is $12++ to $22++. I think this is just next to the japanese restaurant we went last outing.

Any better suggestions are welcome.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">gals... me have already gone thru the <FONT COLOR="ff0000">BIG HEADACHE</FONT> with renovation... i oso spent 1K plus for the lightings... and we are oso veri broke after spending so much for the reno...

after november, will be even more broke cos of the wedding... luckily no more big events after that if not will sure go bankrupt one...</FONT>

Hi Octbride,

Sorry can't offer any advise on Guodali. I'm not even having the Guodali as my family is not very traditional. For me, I'm giving out the card to overseas guest by next week adn my wedding is on 12 Oct. For local guests, I'm making it a point to give everyone personally so I'm meeting up with all my groups of friends. On relatives side, I'm leaving to my mum to give out.

Obride, don't worry to much about the pimples. It never shows up on photos because make up and lighting changes everything. But if you want them gone quick, try putting pimple cream to whack them out fast. Or usually I use aloe vera if my pimples are from sunburn.

I guess it's normal that girls do more stuff than the guys when it comes to wedding preps coz guys just don't know these stuff. Like what color flowers, where to get wedding cake etc. But I believe there are some things the FH can do like organize car, or like what my friend and her FH did, she organized the whole wedding and he the honeymoon. For me I did both and every single thing, such that it gets a bit frustrating sometimes. Never mind lah, almost all done anyways.

Just wondering, are all you gals going for your honeymoon in Oct?
I only get to go in Dec coz partly coz of work. Sigh, four more months to honeymooooon.........

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">
hiazzz... now i got BIG PROBLEM liao..

the hood that we bought cannot fit into our kitchen!!! now dunno what to do!! already paid for the hood.. initially tot "cut" will do, but now was told due to the exhaust, only can cut max a certain amt, but with that, still can't fit beam.. unless we hv the hood real low, very near the kitchen cabinet top, or we do the cabinet top real low... hiaz.. guess both are not good alternatives!!
</FONT>

Hi Octbride,

Overall quite satisfied with the quality.
U can feel free to drop by @ their outlet @ excelsior hotel shopping acrade, is on the 3rd flr.

Athena,
dun be disappointed, me wil not b goin honeymoon at all til next yr so u're better than me!!!

octbride,
4 distribution of wedding cards, aft the 7th mth can start to give.

Hi Sanchai

You mean T Dragon now @ excelsior Hotel. The last time I went to their office @ Lavender. By the way, how long did it take to print?

Angelia,

I think u make a wrong move liao. For me, I bought the hood and get them to deliver to my house when the carpenter is there doing the measurement. I told the contractor all the physical items are there, I will not pay any extra for any amendment and they have to make good for me, otherwise, sorry no payment for them.

Angelia, are u able to get the carpenters to amend the kitchen cabinet to fit the hood?

i dun mind ponderosa, great idea. got salad oso, for those who dun wan to eat too much.

yeah, the hse payment, then the reno, then now all settle, the wedding coming up.. very siong.. tat's why very 'qiong' now.

for me, will be posting our all my invitation card straight after the lunar 7th mth. But will be distributing to colleagues/friends on the 2nd wk of Sept. Me will be giving abt 3 wks in advance, as my wedding is on the 05th October. My GUODALI will b on the 21Sept (abt 2 wks), so will be distributing cards to relatives oni on tat day. Tis is how i plan for my cards distribution. Definitely, can oni distribute after 7th mth.
Feel so sleepy now after lunc
yawn.gif
!!! Well, at least for now, can juz relax a while before our big day arrived!!!

Do you all have this song for me to download?

ARTIST: Journey
TITLE: Faithfully

Highway run into the midnight sun
Wheels go round and round, your're on my mind
Restless hearts sleep alone tonight
Sending all my love along the wire

They say that the road ain't no place to start a family
But right down the line it's been you and me
And lovin' a music man ain't always what it's supposed to be
Oh, girl, you stand by me
I'm forever yours faithfully

Circus life under the big top world
We all need the clowns to make us smile
Through space and time always another show
Wondering where I am, lost without you

And being apart ain't easy on this love affair
Two strangers learn to fall in love again
I get the joy of rediscovering you
Oh, girl, you stand by me
I'm forever yours faithfully

Oh, oh, oh, oh
Faithfully, I'm still yours
I'm forever yours
Ever yours faithfully

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Cherly,</FONT>

really wrong move.. but not on the payment part.. instead shld hv delayed buying the hood until we confirmed the dimension with the carpenter.. but cos hubby flying next Mon to Japan, so we scared no time.. that's why go order last wk..

btw, i think for Mayer, u hv to pay first lor..

Angelia, I bought mine from Mayer too, I remembered can pay by UOB credit card with interest free right. I mean u shd get them deliver to your house for the carpenter to do the measurement. Now I also don know how to help you liao, maybe u talk to your contractor is there any other ways out?

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">angie</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">wat i did was to get the exact measurements for the hood that i'm buying and give it to the carpenter... we took the dimensions from the brochure.. more accurate then we measure ourselves lor... then we bought the hood at the Tecnogas Warehouse Sale...

try consulting ur contractor and see wat they say.. if they can amend then veri good.. if cannot then i think u have to exchange for something else with Meyer...</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cherly,</FONT>
what u meant is u get the contractor to amend or mayer to amend? i lost liao..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jaslyn,</FONT>
yup, we showed the dimension (that mayer gave) to our carpenter last nite.. then he &amp; our contractor measure here, measure here (on the wall) &amp; say need to cut how much how much.. then we call mayer &amp; check, then mayer said cannot cut so much cos there's the exhaust...

<FONT COLOR="119911">think the ponderosa is beside the Grand City Restaurant</FONT>

I'm ok with ponderosa.

Angelia,

If the cabinet was not done, perhaps the carpenter can do some adjustment.

if not, you could check with mayer and see if you can change it.

Or perhaps the carpenter could cut out the part of the cabinet and redesign it to fix but of coz, extra money might be needed.

Irene