(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi Mit,

I'm going for Silhouette.

after reading abt the bridal shops here, I'm down to 2 bridals: Silhouette n Kevin Seah. according to the girls, these are the ones that give the "personal touch". May sound a bit shallow makking my decisions based on hearsay but kinda getting tired visiting bridal shops. esp. having to deal with those pushy ones.

I went down to Silhouette b4 even joining this forum n found Minda really nice n thoughtful... unless this other designer from one of those Taiwanese bridal that I signed up with 2 years ago. so I decided to forfeit my $688 deposit with them n go for Silh.

halo Gerry,

wow, ur indeed incredibly slim n petite. so envious!
. well, personally i think u'll look good in a spaghetti strapped gown which is slim fitting. a ball gown skirt will prolly overwhelm u. an a-line skirt will do as well
. depending on the mood u wan to achieve, if u like the romantic look, maybe u can look for something with lace or crystals. otherwise, for a simple n elegant look, u can try embroidery. as for neckline, wear something tat is a bit scooped or v-shaped so tat ur neck will look longer.

as for my eg, im deciding on a colour tat is between olive n bronze. heard from my fren tat the designer oredi had my material ready n tat i can go down to take a look to see if im happy with it before proceeding on to tailor

halo nicole,

ehh... wat material ar? i think it's duchess satin if i dun remember wrongly. say, u found ur dream wg yet?

hi angeline,

i've settled my venue and bridal shop... the 2 most impt... reno will start after CNY, so can relax a bit... and I collecting info on actual day photographers & videographers... just do a bit of homework first...

Hi pinkapple,

Nicole and myself are both having our weddings on the 7th Dec too
Looks like it's quite a popular date...

You're having a church wedding?
I'll be having my service at the hotel just before dinner as my church is currently under renovation.

Hope to share more as the day draws nearer

btw, i think i will be coming alone... but if i call my hubby along, he sure come oso lah... but if we just want a gals outing, it's fine with me...

Hi, gals
wah,today really busy man...only manage to log in now
hmm...seems like everyone else is busy too huh? so quiet today

chemson - dun worry...i am sure new designs will be coming out soon

LMF - hey, must tell us how ur first fitting at Fame goes!!

Septembergal - no choice lah..me light sleeper n fh snores...so hope to get a comfy bed so that i can sleep right through the night...Hey, does ur fh snores? my fh is quite loud n me really dunno how i can survive man....me so used to sleeping in very quiet environment...any tips??? can u believe i hv to resort to cotton buds when we travel together!!

great to hear that u hv sign up with Feline...any design on mind so far???

Hello Eunice,

Thanks for your advice. Think I will most probably go for a spaghetti strap gown...Heehee...I actually love to wear spaghetti strap clothings anyway. Do you think A-cut will look good on me? Think there are a lot of different A-cut too.

As for the EG, I am totally lost and have no idea at all. Probably will leave to Shirley to design for me.

Hey Kat22,

Yep... I have decided to stop looking around for a pair of shoes and settle for a custom-made one. Both my feet are just too sensitive and besides I have done one pair before and I roughly know what I want and what needs to be ratify to make my feet less tiring and sore. And guess what.. I went last evening and made one pair with Leap'g Lizards ...
It's silver satin with 2 rows of crystals... and it matches my off-white WG as well as the EG...
I figure if I can a good pair outside... the pricing comes out to be around the same, right?

As for snoring.. my hubby snores when he is very tired... so.. I have gotten used to it and the remedy is that I will just put a small pillow over my ears to drown away the sound ! hahahaaha !

Hi Kat22 and Chemson,
I'm a light sleeper and my hubby snores too! We try not to fall asleep at the same time. He'll try to stay awake until I'm asleep. At least when he starts to snore, I'm already drowsy enough to ignore. Of course, there are nights when he falls alseep before me. Then I'll roll to the far end of the bed, cover my ears with bolster and TRY very hard to sleep. I'm thinking of getting ear-plugs. Do you think it'll help? Any idea where I can get a pair? It won't be easy having to sleep together every night after the wedding...

Hi pinkapple,

wow, you start your day early

Not from Trinity, my parents are though... Are you from there?

Booked hotel and bridal middle of last year. Now pretty much relaxing, will only start getting wg/eg made after chinese new year.

Have you decided on your package yet?

my hubby snores too!
v. loudly as well n he falls asleep v. fast. but i'm usually v. tired @ the end of the day, so can sleep soundly despite the noise. i'm more sensitive to light, less to noise.

hey chemson, so u custom-made ur shoes! i'm still undecided.

u gals going to natas this weekend? i saw a lot of offers, but most r only valid till jun/aug. i'm still going though, to see if there r any unpublished deals.

Hey sheep and och,

I am a light sleeper too ! So need to get a mattress like the simmons one as well...

Hey Chemson,
I am so relieved...at last...settle the shoes !

Me.. not going to natas this weekend.. busy with meeting up wth a couple of contractors tomorrow and Sunday.

I think I am one of luckiest among you bcos my FH does not snore.
Neither do I!

Och, I'll be going to natas this Sunday. Where did you intend to go? Me intend to go to Europe. Most of them recommend "Insight Vacations". Heard of it??

hi lmf,

yep heard of insight, but i think it's v. ex. i'm going f n e, going there to check if there r deals. moi going to london n tunisia, so i thot i'll check out if there r any cheap airfares around.
which countries in europe do u want to visit?

Hi och,
Free n Easy... Is it those provide 2 way air tickets and accomodation. Then the rest by your own. It's interesting! But don't you afraid that you might be lost or missed out those "must see" places of interest and alot of co-ordination and work to do for f n e? I'm very "kia si"
so might be going for land tour instead of a full tour.

I'm going to Europe places like England, France, Switzerland, Vatican City, Italy, Germany, Holland, Belgium, Austria. Hope to get something cheaper during the fair.

Hi Kittycat:
Sorry fo the late reply.

My photogarphy will be done by my bridal shop in house photographer.

So when would you be going for your 1st appt with Ted Wu?

Carol

My dinner will be on July 1st, and tea ceremony 1 day before on June 30th. So I was wondering whether I should post under the June brides or July brides? If no one else is also getting married on the 1st, then I will be the 1st one! Uh oh...nervous...

Anyway, I am also a Ted Wu bride...and today's my 2nd appointment with him. Finally I can get to see my evening gown. Can I check with you gals whether your designer allows you to try out different styles/colours of gowns before deciding on the final design? Because mine doesn't, and how then can I be sure if I am suited to wear the colour or design which he recommends? Because I am more of a "visual" kind of person, and thus will have to see myself in a similar type of gown before I can imagine how I will look in the actual gown. Hmm...... just wondering if you gals also face the same problem, or is it just me??

hi lmf,

hee hee. the way u describe it.
free n easy is like what u describe lor, except that there r no direct flights to tunisia. we r flying to london for transit, probably buying a f&e package to london. tunisia is not a popular place to go, few tour agents advertise for it. we hv to look for accomodations ourselves.

u r going a lot of places! how long will ur trip be? i went to france, switzerland, germany, holland, belgium, austria n prague 3 yrs back.
what's the diff between full n land tour?

wun get lost in europe one. some parts of tunisia, i cannot say, but europe definitely no problem. some insight tours give u lots of times to wander around the cities n their attractions. but no worries, locals r v. used to tourists n most r willing to help. guidebooks to europe r v. comprehensive, so their directions r quite accurate. the conceirge or front desk will give u all the information u need b4 setting off. all the must-see places r easily accessible by trains n there r plenty of local tours to bring u to less well-known sights.

i dun do much work to go f&e, just read guide book, shortlist a few towns/cities, get air tix/train passes, book hotel for first 2 stops then go liao.
reading the guidebook is my habit b4 i go travelling, not a must. my hubby is sets off with even less preps. he thinks the planning is complete once the air tix r booked n he has enuf money to buy a guidebook @ the airport. clipart{crazy}

but we dun mind dilly dallying, cos on holiday mah, want to take it slow.
walk on local st, eat local food n wander ard local mkt. if we like the attractions, we stay longer; places we dun like, we leave earlier.
but there r certain advantages to taking packaged tours, u dun hv to walk as much: e.g. train to versailles, train station to hotels. if the hotel is fully booked, we hv to walk even longer. it's much faster by when there's bus waiting for u. not to mention that tours r usually a lot cheaper than f&e.

Hi carol...sorry i've MIA-ed for a while from this thread. I'm back...hehe

Woa...I notice there are quite a number of July brides on the same day as me, 6th July 02.
1. delany
2. kittycat
3. myself...Mo
Let's see if this list continues...haha

I guess by now, we have only about 5 more months to go...but it seems that I still have not gotten down to doing much for the wedding at the moment. Somehow still don't feel the urgency yet...quite scary huh. Anyway, seems like some of u have already gone for photoshoot...mine will be in April. Will be going for another fitting after CNY. Well...hope to hear more from you gals, take care and have fun in your preparations

Hi Elaine:
Welcome to the July brides thread.

Hey, when I went to my bridal shop for the 1st fitting, which is to choose the gown for my photogarphy, I'm allow to try on different types of gown, just to let me see how I look like in different design & cutting, although I've told my consultant the design I have in mind.

Hi Mo:
Welcome back...
Yah, 5 more months to go, still a bit relax on the prepartions, maybe when the date get near. but afraid that everything will be pushed to the last minute.
My outdoor photography will be in March.

Hope to chat with you more often.

Carol

Hi carol,

Good to see that the July brides are back again...*grin*. I'll be gng for my 1st appt in the 1st week of March.

Elaine,

I understand that Ted Wu will allow potential customers to try out gowns before signing up with them. Coz way before I signed up, I juz popped by the shop to try on a gown and subsequently, I visited them several more times before making my decision and they asked if I wanted to try on more gowns. Did they specifically say that you can't try on different gowns for colour and style?

Don't worry, he's got a good eye for colour and style - I'm sure you'll look great in what he has recommended to you. That's part of his expertise.
Thinking positively, it is part of the excitement too... you'll hv a nice surprise tonite. Let us know how your evening gown turns out!

I signed up with Ted Wu coz I simply love the colours for his evening gowns and the beading/embroidery work. How's your wedding gown like? And which photographer did you sign up with? Really liked Ray Ong's portfolio.

Hi Girl,

happen that I needed something on the net b4 I go off for work this mrn...

I was from Trinity. now change liao.

I haven't decide on my package...hee....slacker huh?

but will try to get that settled b4 CNY. getting a bit gan-cheong now. but some things just gotta wait for others...

o, girl. which hotel u using huh>? my friend's from Trinity n looking for a venue for her church wedding too.

Hello all June brides,

Finally, another major decision off my load. We have booked our honeymoon package at NATAS Travel Fair yesterday. Will be self-driving in Scotland... yeah!!

There are quite good deals out there, but the travel agents are not that forth-coming with distributing the itinerary details, unless they are quite sure that you are really interested (i.e. going this year lah...)

Were told that while special package prices may be extended till after the Travel Fair, the special air fares will not. The special fares from airlines are only applicable to those who booked at the Travel Fair. So, be quick if you already have in mind when and where you are going. btw, those special airfares comes with a number of restrictions, like only applicable on one flight or fly within certain hours only. For mine, we are flying to London at 5.45am.

3374.gif
cynthia

Hi, gals!

Hehehe...so i am not alone
I too hv tried all sorts of methods...cover with pillow, sleep b4 him, cotton balls...sigh...wonder if i will ever get my good night's rest after wedding :P

Sheep - me thinking of getting ear plugs too! wonder if those ear plugs used by swimmers can do? but me hv to wake up earlier than him to go to work...dunno can hear the alarm or not
hmmm...nebermind, get him to wake me up hahaha

LMF - Yeeeeee.....u so LUCKY!!! Quite hard to find a man who doesn't snore it seems

och - yaloh..all the natas travel offers i hv seen are mainly until Jun...but i will go down too
read in the papers today that Kenair is going to close shop...wah...such a big company oso closing...dunno if we book too early risky or not???

Ok gals, hv a lovely weekend!

Hello Girls..

howz yr wedding prep coming up? My wedding is gonna be on the 15 June, and i'm already getting very excited as the day passes.

my studio n outdoor shots (by Studio O) will fall in the month of March. Will definitely post a pic or 2 for all of you to see.

as for my honeymoon, we will not book anything until June arrives, the next holiday fair. Europe will be our destination but we're only going in Sept.

Sorry for the late reply... Have been busy with my work....

Ok, my wedding will be on the last day of June, wedding package with Everbliss and banquet at MM.
having my photo taking in Mar...will it be too late....btw, where should i go for my outdoor shoot???? any suggestion?????

hi kat,

yah lor, i was shocked to see the news too. u know kenair also has a booth @ natas?
natas actually hv deals until oct! but only some airlines n companies hv that. i'm booking my tix @ natas i think, still cannot decide on which airline to fly with though.

Cynthia, glad to know u've confirmed ur honeymoon.... gd for u... me went to the NATAS fair on Friday too... managed to get more info on the diff. tours... but will not book yet.. cos' still haven't hinted to bosses dat we'll b going on long leave...

gracious, it's gd to noe dat u'll b going to europe in Sept... I think i've kinda decided to go in Sept as well after much considerations... think we'll hv a leisure trip... dun wanna go during the peak periods.... read dat end-sept to Oct is quite a gd time to travel to Europe cos' the weather is gd and there's not much crowd... btw, where're u intending to go? At the moment, I'm thinking of DIY in Switzerland... and wanna visit Italy if possible...

passion, my photoshoot is in March too, juz went for my 1st fitting yesterday.... now i'm getting more excited as the day goes by... and after trying my WG, I can really 'feel' like a bride... guess we'll all b more busy after the CNY... having to finalize guestlist and all the nitty gritty stuff like buying bedside lamps etc...

To all june brides... let's keep this thread active and hopefully we can support one another throughout this wedding preps period...

Hello

Hazel & Gracious, will you girls be going for a short trip after your wedding, since your honeymoon will be around Sept? Pple says that it's good to have some private times together (read: minus the in-laws) immediately after the wedding. Anyway, we need a break after preparing so hard for the wedding too...

Hi Hwee, which part of Japan will you be visiting? Japan is a very beautiful place... if not for the World Cup, it would be one of our destinations too... FH is worried that prices will be inflated during that period of time leh... same thing with Korea... and that the souveneirs one can buy is only those from the World Cup... *chuckle*

Hazel, how's your wedding gown like? Can describe? Mine's A-line. EG is ballgown. Passion, how about yours?

3388.gif
cynthia

Hi everybody,

It's been a long time since I login. Just to tell you gals that I miss u and this thread!

I will be going for my first appointment on 8 Mar. It will be more than a month away but I am getting anxious already.

Just would like to seek you brides an opinion. Some of my girlfriends who recently got married has do away with the Portrait Frame and exchange for something else. They said that they no longer hang it on their bedroom wall and has chuck away in their wardrobe. What do you brides think about this? I thought it would be nice to have one though I have never considered putting it away in such a short period of time!

Lollipop - My package includes a 3r photo album (same photos with the 15R pictures). I think it is no point taking another album exactly the same pictures and may consider something else! How about you? Do you have the same like me?

Is there a way to post pictures on this forum? Thought it would be nice to post some pictures such as bouquets that I like and would like to share!

m2m

Hi Kat22,
I forgot I've got to wake up earlier than my hubby too! So ear plug is out cos we won't be able to hear the alarm ring!

Hey Gals!
4 more working days and I'm off! Company closed on New Year's eve but half day leave will be deducted. I'm taking next Thurs and Fri off so 9 days off!!!
You gals working on the eve?

I'm back from my course and I miss you gals!

Just like you to know that we have already gotten our flat! We went for the selection exercise last Friday. We were lucky because our selection date was on the 1st day at 10:30am. After several moments of fidgeting and anxious waiting, we got our 1st choice flat! It will be located near the LRT station and there won't be any afternoon sun. That place is also very windy, and there isn't any direct blockage. Because we will be staying on the 15th storey, we will also be able to see the sea! ECD April 2003.

Sorry if I got too carried away... just feel very elated because we have waited for so long...

Hi m2m,
So glad to see you here! How's things? G;ad you have made an appt with GHA already. I will be going down this Thursday to try on my actual WG! Photo-wise, erm, this is what my pkg includes:

wedding album 12'x15' (20pc)
canvas portrait with frame 20'x24'
FOC 3R (24pcs, 4 poses)
mini album (choose from 3R/4R/5R)
table top with frame (1pc)

I think the pictures will be different from the wedding album right? perhaps you like to check with them and clarify doubts. If you want to do away with the portrait, I guess you can try to exchange for something else... does you pkg include a car? what model?

If you want to post pictures, you can save your pictures in the website (yahoo! eg) then save the link... m not sure how it goes exactly, most of the time Fh does it, I dun care how it's done, I just care about viewing them!

yar... got to work on CNY'e eve... but me taking leave on V-day... come back to work on Friday.. and I have the entire weekend off...

wow, how come ur companies so good one? i only hv 2 days of cny off.
i'm going for my 1st fitting this thurs! cannot wait for thurs to come.

Hi Cynthia,

we dun hv firm plans yet as to where to go for a short holiday... if anything, it'll b somewhere near, or perhaps a weekend getaway at some nice hotel...niway, i'm not staying wif in-laws... so not much problem lor... will u b staying wif ur in-laws?

hmmm.. my WG is a ball gown wif some embroideries and beadings, hard to describe the details on the gown itself... haven't seen the end-prdt of my EG yet, from the sketch, it looks like a long dress... will hv to wait for 2nd fitting... btw, wat color is ur EG?

Hi hi.

Yup, we will be staying with his parents for the time being. Have not yet applied for a flat yet, but chances are likely that we will buy a resale. Settle the wedding first, then look around for the flat. Not so siong mah...

Is your WG and EG MTM? For me, both are OTR. my WG is ivory in colour and EG is maroon. Am going for my trial makeup this Wed, photoshoot another 2 weeks more...

Went to my beautician yesterday. She told me specifically not to touch those new year goodies... *sob sob* can only look... but never mind, at least still can collect red packets.

3398.gif
cynthia

Hey och,

Why dun you take Thurs leave and get to enjoy V-day as well as your fitting as well... so lucky... and I am envious... my first fitting only in mid March...

i am also an Oct bride but still haven't choose my bridal yet. i was thinking of going to Dang bridal. anyone with any experience with dang? please enlighten me.... thank you so much...

hey chemson,

my fitting is this thurs, not next thurs.
anyway, i cannot take leave these 2 weeks cos i'm needed @ work. i'm surprised that margaret could get the gown out so fast. she took my measurements only on sat!

i booked a f&e package to london!
cos tunisia is so unknown, the agent din bring the pricelist to natas. another item down. i always feel this sense of achievement when i strike another item off the to-do list.

Hey och,

OOps.... this Thurs..sorry...got the dates mixed up
U must be looking forward to your fitting, huh ? Usually the first fitting is just the lining of the dress..
But it is up to us to visualise though...
Congrats... for my honeymoon... not thinking till at least July or August... then at least our schedules are more concrete by then.

Hi all Dec Brides,

Have been reading a lot of threads on SB before deciding to join in the fun... I will be a Dec bride too and like Gemi and CKHOO, will be having my wedding dnr at Sheraton. Think we all chose there because of the promotion?

Have more or less decided on Julia Wedding for the bridal package as I simply love the photography.... now just need to sign on the dotted line.

Sheraton brides - heard some mention abt the waterfall, does anyone know if we can have our solemnization there? Has anyone tried "hiring" a Justice of Peace to hold the solemnization outside of ROM? Just thought of having settling all in a day (but yet relunctant to rush to ROM and queue in my wedding gown).

Hope to share more as the months go by...

Pooh

Hi Och,
We are not lucky... we are taking our own leave. I'm off for the whole of next week cos I'm going Bintan and back on Thurs. You're going for 1st fitting already? My 1st fitting is don't-know-when. Seems like Tan Yoong is so confident that I may only get to see my designs 2 months before the shoot, and 1st fitting 1 week before the shoot. Sigh... that's a long wait...

hi ladies...
is S$600 ex for an actual day's makeup artist? And has anyone tried Jasmine Tiong??

Hey sheep,

Have you confirmed and communicated your designs to him ? Do you have sufficient time to decide the designs before he goes into the making ?

hi chemson,

do u know what i need to bring for 1st fitting? i'm quite glad she scheduled the appt so early, cos i'm v. curious if the neckline i wanted will work out. i hope i dun look too fat in my big, big, long, long skirt.

hey sheep,

ur fh going to bintan with u? so lucky! my hubby is a workaholic who refuses to take leave. we were @ natas n we were discussing whether to take a holiday between now n the wedding. he said "ok" n immediately showed me the 2d/1n malacca tour.
when's ur shoot? i'm sure tan yoong will hv the designs ready for u earlier. nowadays shops like to give pple a worse-case estimate, in case something crops up n they cannot deliver in time.

hi sheep,

forgot to add.... if u r still worried, ask them to hv the designs for u earlier.
dun fidget in silence.