(2002) Brides of year 2002

Thank Jul for ur advices. Do u have more information on Image Garden and $2000 for Andrew Choi / Chris Ling photograph package?

Hi kas, eunicetan, gemi
my wedding also on 26 Dec Boxing Day Hee Hee

Hi Kat22,
I think you are mistaken.....Chemson is having her banquet at Four Seasons....

From what I know, nobody here is at Raffles Hotel.....eih, but I only relied on the list Chemson compiled for us lah..... if there are any updates then, I'm sorry...

Ladies, need help!!

Sheep, does Envista have any websites that I can go to? Who is CR by the way?

Julia/Sheep, can I ask how much you pay for Andrew Choi and what are you getting from your pacakge?

Does your bridal shop provide your veil and hair accessories for free? Or are hair accessories provided by makeup artist/hairstylist? Or bring own??

For those who have confirmed your makeup artist, do you have to pay for trial makeup and hairstyle and how much? What if you don't like it during trial?

Cowie: It's okie.... what kat meant was my facial...
Not banquet lah...
I had my facial done at this place called Le Esthique Genesis.. at the 3rd level of the hotel.

Kat22: I signed up a 6-course facial. Guess I will be top up again when I complete it.. cos i find it useful when my beautician helps me to remove my oil clogs and i have heaps of it. I paif $474 for 6 sessions.

Hey LMF: Your facial is quite reasonable.. what do they do for you other than the cleansing (ie. squeezing of the blackheads and pimples)... I am also looking for treatment of my dary eye rings as well.. :P

Mush9: My trial make-up is included in my package... I guess for the trial.. it's the look that she will create for you at the photoshoot and the actual day itself.

Hi, gals!

LMF - hey, thanks for the contact and invitation!
I wont be able to make it this Sat but will check out Beauty21...is the $55 per session? Is there any package we can sign up??

Cowie - hehehe..i was referring to her facial at Raffles Hotel lah
U have any recommendations for facials?

Mush9 - I think most of the bridal packages here include free rental of veil, gloves and accessories (including hair)...as for make-up, usually bridal packages also include trial, photoshoot n actual day make-up (morning & evening)...erm...when u say u dont like it..r u referring to the style or the make-up artist? If the former...guess we will ask them to come up with something until we are satisfied, rite??...erm...not very sure oso...but if it's the make-up artist...i think pay abit more for another trial by another make-up artist...hope the info helps
Are u looking for make-up artist n accessories in Singapore? Guess it will be a little tough for u since u dont take any packages...maybe u can sign up for a bridal package here but w/o WG?

Hi LMF,
I've decided not to have any video show during the dinner. Shangrila doesn't have a projector so I'll have to rent one. The rental of projector and the express editing will costs me $600+. Not very worth for a 10mins show which not every guests would be interested. I'll be getting a friend to go around with a video cam for personal consumption only.

Hi Kat22,
I was on half day leave yesterday, went for facial. Mine is at Mid-point Orchard. She uses Lancome products and charges $50 per session. The reason why I keep going back to her is becos she doesn't hard-sell. I've been with her for more than a year already.

Hi Mush9,
You can try envista.com. I think CR is a staff from Envista. Andrew Choi is tied-up with TY, I'm paying $2000 for his services. I forgot what I'll be getting already, one big album (don't know how many pics) and the CD. Maybe Julia can help?
As for the trial makeup and hairdo, Kat22 has said all I want to say.
It's included in my makeup package and veil is provided. The flowers on my hair will be from my floris.

Kat22: Try Apex Cosmeceutical... I always go to the Wheelock Place's branch. $35 for refining facial. I always pay for the $80+ coz it includes facial for the face + neck + eye treatment also.

Hi Sparks,
Welcome to the July brides family....
Hey your wedding date is so close to mine.
My wedding's on 21st July.
I've finished my photography & just selected the photos for the albums, which would only be ready in Jun...

If your bridal shop is able to produce the album in time, I guess everything should be alright.

So what other preparations have you done so far?

Cheers:
carol

Chemson, They also did the cold mask for me. Not very sure about the details. Sorry, don't know much about cosmetic and facial. Maybe you can call them to ask for more details.

Kat22, not too sure whether they have package or not. Very sorry. I give you gals the contacts for my facial saloon.

Beauty 21 (Look for Ms Eleen)
96 Somerset Road #03-01 UOL Building
Tel: 67326732 / 68341618

Mush9, my bridal shop caters for all the items you mentioned. As for the trial, I'm using it for my ROM day, so might not look the same with the actual day. For accessories and veils are all FOC.

Sheep, i can't believe it. Why are we always thinking or using the same thing? My facial saloon is also using Lancome products only. Did yours sell their products? I think mine is off 25% the usual price if I'm not wrong. How about yours?

Hi Chemson

U could try my facial place it is call SUVINS. Is located at Midpoint Orchard. Normal facial which include cleansing, stimming, extract blackhead, face massage, cold mask will cost u $45/-. I've been with this place for 5 years already. Contact no is 67332901.

Hi mush9,

My package with Andrew Choi is tie up with Dang Bridal. I paid S$2000. Package includes 20 pg 8R photos, 1 table top (8x10") 1CD proof of all pictures taken- about 180 exposure. But I think sheep & me sign up during promotion. If I'm not wrong, his current price for the package I have is around $2600.

Hi LMF!
HAHAHA!!!
I can't believe it! We are so alike! Mine sells Lancome products too... hmmm... that reminds me, why didn't I buy from her??!!? Aiyah! I just bought my makeup remover over the counter!

Hi, gals!

Many thanks for the info...I will check out all these places...
...maybe i will try one session at each location and see which one is gd?!

Sheep...is your beauty salon the same as Julia?...hers oso at Mid-pt Orchard
If the same..u lugi abit leh...Julia paying only $45...u must ask for discount!!!

LMF, Sheep - aiyoh..u two really think alike man!

Hi Fantasy, maybe you can do the "who to do what" list first. Write down all your helper's names and their duties. I did that liao and it ease off my worries for a while.

Hi Clover, I dun think I am going to have rehearsal beforehand. But I am going to have little children run in b4 us during the 1st march-in. But I dun need to them to walk straight lor.....just run in anyhow can liao....cute mah!
And the staff WILL know...just let the banquet manager know....

And gals,
when are you going to sent out your wedding invites?

Hi Sheep,
Aiyoyo! Why so blur!
Give you previledge to buy cheaper and yet you forget! Me also want to buy facial cleanser and moisturiser. It's time to top up!

Kat22, next time we can keep track how many things we are alike. Tentatively, 4 things similiar. Let's start counting....

Hi Kat22,
No, my beauty salon is different from Julia's. My beautician is Cynthia. You may want to try her, very friendly lady. You can call her at 96194112. Mention my name, you may get a cheaper rate, but not $45 lah... hehehe...

Hi LMF,
Hehehe... me damn blur hor. Thanks for the reminder. I'll make sure I buy from her the next time I have to top-up!

Hi Kat22

If u need to make appointment, mentioned u r my friend, the price should remain constant.

I hardly use skincare & the last thing I know, all my skin care "wan liao".... didn't know my hubby used them all up!!Didn't know he so vain!
He is now planning his part of grooming. DOne is tux and talking 2 hair stylist. Guest what.... he is going for rebonding end of tis month!
He got curly hair. Let's see what's next for him. Probably highlighting his hair... hope not

Hi Sparks,

Congrats on your coming wedding! & thanks for giving your opinion to my query.

Mine is on 28 July & I've done my photoshoot & selected the photos....a bit 'kia su' here to try to get most of the things done quickly.

But, think your time line is still quite comfortable...know a friend who took her photos less than 2 months before the wedding.

Good luck to your preparation & enjoy every bit of it...!

cheers,
hippo

Hu Julia,
Is your hubby a "Hakka"? I heard from the elders that Hakka are very vain, meow and do things very slow. Somehow i think it's true bcos my FH and my brother in law are "Hakkas". So know their patterns already.

Hi LMF

Nope..........he is hokkien. Apparrently not a typical one! but probably my MIL genes, she is a hakka.

Hello.... I second el !! Hakkas are not vain, okie My hubby is a hakka, okie... but I do agree that they are quite stingy... but as for doing things slowly... I completely disagree with you..

Looks like most of you think that Hakka are more on the "meow" side. Of course not all lah.

Gals, Just received a call from Aspial. Me wedding band is ready. Will collect it on weekend. Hopefully, my FH do propose to me after we collect the rings. Am i suppose to keep the rings or my FH? Sorry for my ignorance.

Hi Kat22 and Chemson,
So sorry for my boo-boo
Only come in here when I have the time, and sometimes have difficulties catching up with all the msg!!

Kat22, I do my facial at this place called Yours Beauty and Health at Eunos by Eileen. Her shop was previously known as Bridal Care Centre. I think someone in the forum mentioned about her before. My facial session usually includes steaming, extraction, upper body massage, mask and ampoule. Eileen will choose which ampoule and mask at each session based on what she thinks we need at that time....be it anti-stress or uplifting, etc. Each session (+ the ampoule) is $75. But you can also take up her package for oxgen treatment. In that package, she alternate oxygen treatment with collagen or seaweed mask. One thing I like about this place is very personalised service and she hasn't tried hard-selling me anything

I think i will have rehearsal, esp for my church ceremony. at least will feel more 'safe'hee hee ..

I'm going to send my invites out 3 weeks before my wedding.

I just came back from my friend's wedding at Marina Mandarin and here's some feedback:

Food: Overall is quite alright. Some dishes like the Smoked Duck, Garlic Prawns and the Mango Dessert were nice.

Only disappointment was the Sharksfin soup with mushroom and chicken. It was too watery and I could count the pathetic thin strands of sharksfin with my 5 fingers... my hubby's bowl had none, mine had 3 strands and the other of my friends also commented that its more like chicken & mushroom thick soup. No sharksfin at all, meaning you can't feel anything in your mouth! I know we are all trying to save the sharks but if its on the menu, it should be presented properly, rite?

Service: Quite okay but could be more attentive at times. But quite messy as when the waiter scooped the noodles, there were many strands lying on the table. Looks really messy. Even when they were scooping the soup also. Rather messy and some bowls had more and some had less....

Incident: As MM changes the plates after every dish, we were served the smoked duck after the abalone w broccoli. This means our plate would have some gravy, rite? The Smoked duck was served and we were all waiting for the waiter to change the plates since we had to put the pancake on our plate to eat with the duck. Guess what? The waiter placed 10 clean plates stacked together on the table and we had to change them ourselves! So we did the change and we just stacked our dirty plates on the table. After a while, the waiter cleared the table, stacking all the soiled plates on his hand, and not the polite way of using a tray....

We also found the interval in serving the food too long. The dinner started at 9pm and ended only at 11pm. Guests started leaving at abt 10:30pm and many did not bother to wait for the dessert. After every dish, there was like a 15-20 mins interval before the next dish was served. We felt it was too long as most tables finish their food in about 10mins.

Some of the seat covers provided were also stained and looks dirty. We weren't very particular but it won't be nice asking guests to sit on a seat cover that has ugly stains on it...

Overall, we found that the ambience at MM was okay but it can be improved. Just wanted to share this with all who are having their weddings at MM... COWIE!!!!!

Hope you all dun mind.

Hi, gals!

Really thank you for all the recommendations! Will really check them out

Cowie - no problem la...our thread is really quite active...abit hard to follow if u dont come in everyday!

Jolene - tks for sharing...will keep these in mind when briefing the banquet manager...u know, my wed coord said that i might not be able to get 1 to 1 waiter to table ratio as our wedding is in sep and it is near exam time...so quite difficult to get part-timers unlike June and Dec....he did promise me no less than 2 waiters to 3 tables though...do u think it will affect the service? think i will ask him again nearer the date...

hi carol and hippo...thanks for the welcome and advise.

i'm not sure what else to do!!! i just book the banquet..at pan pacific.. guess there ain't much to do except go for food tasting and send out the invitation cards....

did you gals go for pedicure and manicure b4 the photo shoots? i thinking of french manicure, but not sure if pedicure is needed cuz not going to take my feet...

btw, did you gals heard that our date is lunar 6 mth and supposed to be not very good for wedding..we heard abt it after we decided the date, so we not changing but pp around me keep on giving me negative comments abt the date, so me a bit sad....

have been working till late nite recently, the only chance to catch up with the threads is during the 'wee hrs'... but dunno whats wrong, cant get into this website for the past few days...

i juz went to my aunt's shop last mon for my facial. my tears flow as though "free flow" when my aunt squeeze my blackheads... after that she apply a cream & actually after few days my skin will peel & now i can c my pores & not so obvious as b4 with my "blackheadful" face. might drop by again next mth b4 my photoshooting during mid may.

for actual photoshoot my FH called both envistar & 99photo.com @ Suntec but he decided to meet up with 99photo.com on monday instead... cos according to 99photo.com, they r using digital cam & will load to a disc for us. can also do the printout for the photos we choose for.

& 1 very impt issue: i attended a wedding banquet last sat & on my table only had 4 ppl turned up! i was shocked & we also eat until very 'pai seh', even the staff suggest we 'ta bao' the noodle... so any suggestions on how we shld avoid this kind of senario?

Hi Linda,

Hahaa, so cute!!! Many little children running ard.

For me, I can gather many little boys but to find a gal is really difficult. I have decided to forgo the flowergirl and pageboy thing. The flowergirl is rather clingy, afraid she might cry and cling on to her mother when the crowd is unfamiliar.

CLoVeR

hi Irene & Jastan,

How's your 2nd appointment? Have u gals chosen your design? I have chosen my P-S WG. As for P-S WG, i have tentatively choose one tube purplish/pinkish gown. For tradition costume, i have chosen Victorian & China ( xiao feng xian ) gowns.
My 3rd appointment will be on 06 Apr while my P-S will be on 12 July by Delon. My make-up artist will be Ann & designer will be Jennifer.

Hi Cheer & Charlene,

I went for my photo selection on Sat
At first I was quite worried that the photos will not turn out nice coz we seemed to be posing a lot but I was pleasantly surprised that most of the photos were very natural. Only my tea-dress and kwa din turn out so good, maybe coz in the beginning we were quite stiff =P I love the sequence shots most
Anyway, I'm on budget so I only top up another 6 pics on top of the 20 pics in the package. My only regret is that my hairstyles for all my gowns looked the same. But overall still very satisfied.

Know what, I just realised it's only two months to our wedding!

HI Clover,
I already half expected my niece to start crying once the door is open for march in.....but I guess that's what makes it cuter....a display of true emotions....hahahahahah....thinking of luring her with food.....cos she LOVEs to eat...

And oh yah gals! I have done my chinese invites liao finally....Spent the Sun doing it....Now thinking of adding a poem to it...any that you gals can recommend to me???

Hi Angeline,

I have gone down for my appointment yesterday.
Jennifer is my designer, and she let me try alot of gown before deciding what to design.
And she let me try one very sweet and unique gown which I really like and she agreed to reproduce that for me.
And I chose the colour as Ivory coz I did not suit white colour gown.

Then she design the evening gown for me.
Which is quite nice and different.
Coz normally when we go for wedding dinner,
we get to see friends wearing both wedding and evening gown which is more or less the same cutting, with either 'A' Line or ball gown.
Mine will be a mermaid... and I like it.

Just hope that she got the fabric and get it done nicely.

My make-up is Ann too.
But my photoshoot is quite early, on 20 June. Hope the gown could be done by then.

Anyway, I'll be calling Jennifer this evening to check on the fabric and May for the next appointment.
Got to cross my finger.

What do you think? Have you chosen the design for the actual wedding day?

I have yet to choose my outdoor photoshoot gown
coz yesterday takes me about 2 hours already and May is busy with another couple.

Irene

Hi bluebell, good for you !

Yes, I realised it's EXACTLY 2 mths to our weddings, and I've a lot of stuff not done yet...:P my mom wants to go through the traditional wedding rites, so we have to buy si dian jin, bedsheets, oil lamps etc etc...wonder if I can cope with all these things ?!?!

At last, we completed our purchased of furniture over the weekend...however, we still have not bought the fridge. I'm beginning to feel stressed, luckily I've a husband who is willing to share the decision-making process...

how about other May brides ? how are the preparations ? btw, when do all of you think that we should send out the invitations ?

hi bluebell and charlene,

hey bluebell, u muz b on cloud 9 ya ;) so lucky!
so how much do u have to top up?

me have less than 2 months now ...
charlene, no worries, juz take a day off, i think u shd b able to settle all the things reqd for the traditional wedding.. thats what i did
but i am lucky to have help from my sis n BIL ... they took me to a traditional wedding specialist shop at Jurong West and we settled the oil lamps, red cloth, tea ceremony teaset, bride price red cloth angpow, basket, double happiness stickers, orange tray.... wow u name it, they have it and the lady owner knows all the rites and what we have to prepare, so we have this free lesson hahaha...

i think its alrite to send out ur invites one month b4 the date so ladies, don't stress ya
u still have time.

Hi Sparks,
You're most welcome...
I did went for a manicure/pedicure before the photo shoots. I did the pedicure as well, 'cos I went bare foot on the beach.

Wwll, We are not very concerned about what other people said, most important, we feel that July is a special month for us.
Well according to the Tong Shu 2002, there are still quite a number of auspicious date in July.

Cheers:
carol

hi Irene,

i was there on Sat from 1.00pm till 4.30pm to choose my P-S gowns. May let me try on alot of gowns till cant remember the figure liao. I will be choosing white cos i suit white more than ivory

My 3rd appointment will be on 06 Apr with Jennifer to discuss my design.
I did tried on a WG, the bottom got a few layers & abit fluffy, i quite like it, thinking of copying that design. I dun really suit A-line coz im too skinny liao!
As for EG, will have those transparent material with crystals for my back, most likely will be ballroom gown too.

Hi Sparks,

Hmmm....I'm not aware that lunar 6th month is not auspicious, I thought only lunar 7th month is not......but, we're not concerned too much about that, & our friends & relatives didn't comment about it also (not that we care.....). Guess if you're happy with it & doesn't hurt anyone, nothing else matters.....

I went for manicure/pedicure before my photoshoot so as to feel good. I wore open-toe sandals & sometimes, photographer asked me to lift my gown slightly to show the shoes....

oh, since I'm here now, would like to ask ALL of you your opinion (also posted a same question on Doreen Chee's advice corner) :

My tea dress is a knee-length light bluish/lavendar coloured A-line dress. Would like my hand bouquet to be yellow cala lilies & white freesias, and my hairpiece will consist of yellow rose buds & white freesias (to go with the hand bouquet). I'll be changing into my tea dress without changing my hairdo, so do you think the light bluish/lavendar tea dress will contrast with the colour of my hairpiece too much? THANKS!

cheers,
hippo

Hi Angeline,

Not bad. I'm also skinny just that it happens that i put on a little bit more weight recently.
A-line suits me though. Which design is that?
Although I cannot change design already, but I want to look look see see too.
I'll be going down on 28 Apr to choose photoshooting gown. Not sure what to choose yet.

Did you bring friends along to choose the design?
I did. Coz what I like might not be what suits me.
I like spagetti strap but end up a bustier designs coz all say i suit bustier more than spagetti strap.
What you think? Have you see my pix before?
Maybe you'll find me skinnier than you.
:P

http://photos.yahoo.com/dance40

Irene

hi Irene,

Wa, i really envy u leh, can put on weight! Me ah, no matter how hard i try, i still so skinny!

I dunno how to describe the gown to you, it's a spagetti strap with layers on the bottom, white in colour.
U gonna take a long time to choose your P-S gowns coz too many gowns for u to choose liao, headache.....
Try as many gowns as possible before u decide. I oso like one champagne gold spagetti strap EG, still considering whether to choose this or the purplish/pinkish EG for P-S.

Beside my FH, i bought along my mum & one of my GF, they gave me alot of comments on which gowns suit me better, that's y i took 4 & 1/2 hours to choose my gowns ( hehehe )

U look fatter than me, me really bery thin & i tink u r taller than me too!

hi angeline,

not need to envy me. I used to think i cannot put on weight too.
But I guess I eat too much recently thus put on a bit of weight. I only 1.56 not very tall.

4 and 1/2 hour just to choose photoshoot gown. wow.
Are your actual day gown m.t.m?

I hope I won't need so much time. I've already got 3 in line. My W.G, E.G and kua. My FH wanted casual so that is consider one. Maybe got to choose 1 or 2 more.

Irene

Irene,

u looked quite tall in your pics

i oso eat alot leh, but still no progress!!!

The reason why i took 4 & 1/2 hour is partly becoz of my Fh lor, las minute he received breakdown call, need to rectify the problem before he can leave, thats y i dilly-dally at the bridal shop to wait for him

Yup, both my WG & EG are mtm. Did u notice a light grennish/blue EG, quite like the colour. Im choosing between this colour & champagne gold? Btw, what is the colour of your WG?

Wa, u so fast got 3 in line liao!
That's good too, u can concentrate on other gowns.

I'm also a Dec bride :-) So eager to join in after reading through the earlier postings :-)

My wedding will be on 1 Dec but yet to book the banquet and bridal package ... *gan jiong*

Thinking of having the banquet at Regent Hotel but have some problem with the new coordinator.
As for bridal package, I'm keen on taking Wedding Present, but my FH find it too expensive :-(

Btw, how's the photography skills for "The Edge"? Thinking of signing up "The Edge" if taking Wedding Present package ... coz it's the cheapest :-P

hi maybride,

the shop is called "Zhuo Qiu"
address: Blk 506 Jurong West St. 52
301-180
Tel: 6566-0311 / 65660333
(better call n check their operating hours, coz not sure whether they are opened on Sunday)

Hello ladies, thanks for your suggestion about getting a package with a bridal shop w/o WG.

Jolene, thanks for the feedback. It's a good reminder and I am sure all of us want to keep these in mind and speak with our Banquet Manager closer to the time.

Oh yes, Jolene, do you know the website address of American WEdding Treasures?