(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi Charlene,

We have just upgraded the server... accessing the forum should be faster not slower.

Is anyone finding the forum slower instead of faster?

Sheep, yes, it's the ice pink one!! I love that dress, but would modify some parts of it if I really go to TY. By the way, can I ask how much you are paying and what will you get from TY's package?

I think I am just real picky. So far, I only like 2 dresses over here and both are > $900! I am still hesitant, not sure if I want to pay so much.

I think you should keep both brooches as they are the key selling point. Why not get those dangling earrings, keep it simple and gold for plain silver. How's the neckline like? If it is high, then there is no need to worry about covering your neck. If it is fairly low, then I suggest wearing long earrings, maybe only 1 earring (on the other side of the shoulder where there is no brooch). It will be more classic that way.

hi ladies!

really i'm really touched by the comments & suggestions which all of u gave! thanks for all of your comments & suggestions!

this afternoon my MIL called saying they willing to compromise, dun increase the charges but they will have to exclude certain things like: 1 bottle of champagne instead of 2, no wedding gifts for guests & no hotel stay & they actually faxed the details & agreement to my MIL immediately.

i will still try to look for other available rstnt / hotels. if still cant find. i've got to bear with this UNORGANISED club. anyway i find the exclusion doesnt worth more than 4k+ (sounds like not even 1k). plus my FH told me he rather use that 4k+ to let me stay in the hotel for 1 week!

so i've got to think abt the wedding gifts again cos i always have the tot of doing it myself

btw, i'm really envy that you ladies already have in mind of how u want your WG & EG to be like... my fitting date always seems so far to me...

Hi Cynthia,

Do you know what the best man and "ah yees" are suppose to do? I only know "ah yees" is to help carry the gowns and help you to dress. What are the rest? I thought having too many "ah yees" would cause me ended up with less helpers with Church and dinner. Any advice?

Hee hee, glad that there is someone who has the same number of "ah yees" in mind as me. I have always seen many "ah yees" around, so really ponder and growing white hairs b'cos of this.

Hi, gals!

I am back from my first fitting!

i was pretty worried that i wont carry off the bustier but thank God it look quite gd The lining was quite fitting except for the hip area...abit tight....I hv put on weight! :P Can u imagine the tailor actually said that she has already made it slightly bigger!!! Gee...i must really control what i eat now!!! Not much changes to the overall gown design except that I find the A-line abit small so ask shirley to make it slightly more flare. As for the embroideries, in the end, me still choose off-white colour...

i must say i was still very indecisive....at the shop, i was still trying on her gowns to have a better feel on how my gown will be like...Thankfully my designer was really patient with me Me so paiseh :P

For my EG, she suggested an orangy gold crystal organza for the overcoat to match the bustier...i love it!

LMF - cant remember if they have a Rockport shop...i think Suntec has one??? In any case, Rockport shoes can oso be found in Everbest (Suntec), Royal Sporting House, etc. If not Rockport, how abt Timberland or Clarks?? Everbest has quite nice designs too but may not be as comfortable.

Van - glad to hear that they are willing to compromise
I suppose those freebies dont worth a few thousand dollars so at least u wont really lugi...

Hi Kat22,

Glad that it went well for you...
Dun worry about being indecisive.. me too.. was still wondering abt the embroideries and its effect...
Hey... same here...For me... my gown felt tight initially and then I told Shirley. She said that it is due to the corset I was wearing.. and in addition, cos instead of buttoning one row... the tailor said to button onto the next row... and it did look better and my arms cannot swing too much cos the sleeves were made slightly tighter... and Shirley said I have to be lady-like on my wedding day and not chor lor.... hahahaha !! Oh yes.. Shirley did take up the Princess V-slightly higher... overall it was ok. Kat.. bet you can't wait for the next one, huh ?

Hi Kat22,
I've been to Suntec but not the others you've mentioned. Will inform my FH about the comfortability.

Van, it's ok. I also have not go for my 1st fitting yet. So now they are willing to compromise, how about you? Do you think it's worth by cutting all your freebies? Remember to sign on their agreement only after you have considered using them again. Be careful! Seems like now they are more "kan cheong" than you. Play along with them and search for other places.

hi Charlene and all,

i will call them soon, went to Bras Basah yesterday, the cheapest i can get for 200 cards is $100 (not inclusive of typesetting, they charge another $30 for any artwork)....

we just selected my photos, i think i am lucky to find some good shoots
with me n my hubby looking good (better than usual ;p) ... cannot blame Travis really coz we r not born good looking ...
But well, the only thing we kinda regret is we did not plan our shoots well hence it doesnt look very special... and felt Travis did not put in much effort too... well, we did chose quite an extra few out of the package and spent $845 !!!! felt so sinful...

how much more did u all spend on photos?

Hi mush9,
Hey! We tried the same piece of EG! TY doesn't really offer a package. It's more ala carte. I'm paying $2800 for the 2 gowns, $860 for makeup, $250 for car-deco and bouquet, $2000 for studio and outdoor photography, $1000+ for groom's suit.

On one hand, I like the brooches, on the other hand, I want to wear a necklace to coverup my long neck. He suggested a half bun for my hair so a dangling earring won't be suitable. Neckline is not too low but definitely shows a lot of my neck. Hey, guess what? I've asked him to do more sketches! Haha! I told him I'll need to put on a necklace cos my neck is too long! I may choose some other designs after all. Will keep you updated!

Hi Kat22,
Good to know you love both gowns! You must be thrilled! I love orangy colours but I don't think I'll look nice in them.

A lot of us feeling confused over gowns at this stage. Let's hope we'll get out of this stage soon! Cheers!

Hi Van

No worries about wedding gift..... there are lots of provider. I got mine done through Chris @98169906. I've got myself the incense holder. Saw something nice like the "shot glass-frosted" which cost about $2.00. It is also personalise. Why not u give her a call.

Hi Cheer,

yup, have booked my Mauritius trip
What abt you? Where will you be going?

I am hoping to see my photos this weekend. Will tell you gals more then

hi bluebell,

so u will b meeting the rest?
then u all can go for sea sports together then...
we are going backpack in Prague, Budapest and Vienna.
let me know how ur selection went

hi chin leng,

sorry for not makeing myself clear enough. the access was slow when I tried to access "Newest Postings" via direct URL link. but performance after that is great...
However, today's performance has greatly improved. Being in the IT industry myself, I know that server migration is hard work! SO you do deserve a great pat on the back *PAT* *PAT*

Hi cheer, I think $845 is not too bad...I've got a friend who spent $3000 on more photos! for my hubby and myself, I did not choose more photos cos the photos did not turn out very nice...either he not nice or I not nice...
anyway I feel that their pool of photographers do not put in much effort(we changed once oredi), so we did not even request for a re-take...

*sigh* anyway, as long as the portrait photo is nice is enough, becos I think the studio photos will be chucked aside after the wedding. Actual day photos can bring back more memories than the studio photos...

yep, bluebell, tell us more then...

good morning !

wow .. 3 getting married on the same day hee hee how conincidental.

Hi Choco, i called up Hitech to ask but their price ard the same leh with T-dragon. So I think i'll just print w TD as they will be able to collect my cards for me so i no need to troublesome hee hee ...

ya lor, if know WD so troublesome i will make it simpler ... just "liu xing jie huen"(married in church then go honeymoon) ! like that still can got nice nice place for honeymoon hee hee ...

Sweet, no worries, i also very slow. everything not done. the only accomplishment is selecting my photos last weekend :P hee hee ....
like you, intend to just take it as it comes ...

for me, i think i having only 4 ah yees and bros. not too many if not got to give many ang bao ! hee hee ... :P

Hi piggycola, can u share ur experience with me on X-Zen?

Anybody have got the standard package price for wedding present, Silhouette, divine & bridal veil???

So far I have seen only X-zen standard package( $3900 & 4500). I will be going 4 their bridal show end of the month. Hopefully by then I have got time to view the rest (wedding present, Silhouette, divine & bridal veil).

Apprceiate if anyone can provide me advices before I sign up any package on impulse. U may chose to e-mail directly. Thank u

Hi Kae,

No worries cos I'm like u. Actually I'm freaking out. The only thing i've done is booked the banquet. Period. I've not been to any bridal studios yet. My hubby and I are really busy cos we're studying part-time. But the onlly thing I can do is to shortlist a few base on what I read here. Will probably do it in May. Pray that things turn out well eventually...

am new here. I am a Dec bride too. My wedding is on 26 Dec. Well, have only booked my banquet place but yet settled on the bridal boutique. Most likely booking Allure Charix. Like X-zen too but not really impressed with the photos. Am i too late in my preparation? Cos see some of you gals have already settled alot of stuff including actual day photographer.

Was wondering if any of you are having any rehearsals beforehand? Or are u all having rehearsals on that day? Just to rehearse the two march-ins?

Are u all having flowergirl/s and pageboy/s for march-in during the dinner?

I would like to have but looks like I need a good rehearsal beforehand so that the little ones know what to do. If it's on the actual day not sure if it's too rushed? Or issit too "kua zhang" to get them to come down before the wedding day just to rehearse for the march-in?

Would the staff know when to fade off the music?

How huh? Any ideas?

CLoVeR

thks for all the well wishes!

i am still trying to settle down. it's quite hard but i expected it since i have never done real accounting. i will continue to "jia you".

Hi, gals!

Sheep - yup, u r rite..we are all finalising our gown designs at this stage
Soon..we will be worrying over our photoshoot!! hehehe..btw, hope u hv managed to book ur actual day photographer?

Jolene - i plan to go down to American Wedding Treasures for the cards...do we need to inform sheraton first b4 we go? How did AWT know if we are Sheraton brides? Do we need to bring our contract??

LMF - happy shoe hunting! Me gonna get FH to buy new shoes too..he actually wanted to wear his old pair!! My goodness!!

Blossom - jia you,jia you!

Good news............I finally managed to loose 3 kg!!!! another 7kg to go !!! yeh yeh yeh

Julia: Keep it up !! How did you do it?? Must share your secret with us...
Me... also need to lose another 2-3 kilos more... jia you jia you !

Blossom: Dun worry... think positive and jia you jia you !

cowie: Have replied your email...
Do check, okie?

Hi Kas,

Welcome to the forum. Me also on 26th Dec. Don't worry lah. We still have a lot of time. I have also booked with Allure. Went down twice to take a look at their gowns, but couldn't really find anything suitable. I chose the OTR package initially, but may have to switch to MTM instead. Basically, after I booked my hotel and studio, I did nothing. Just concentrate on my dieting. My photoshoot will only be in Oct, so currently I still have plenty of time. Where are you having your banquet?

Hi Kat22,
It's fun to share our wedding preparations here, isn't it! I'll be the last to have my photoshoot so you gals must share secret tips, yah?
Oh yes, I've finally booked my actual day photographer! I'm using Envista.

Hi LMF,
Envista's actual day photography is similar to Alan Dai's. They've got a border at the four sides of the pics. I hope he can do as well as Alan.

Hi Julia,
That's really GOOD news!
Keep on going, ok? You have my support!

Hi Chemson,
2-3kg shouldn't be a big problem to you, rite? Keep on working, you'll achieve your target very soon!

hi sheep,

when r u going to have your studio & outdoor photoshooting? i'm also thinking to use Envista for my actual day. any idea if the charges they indicated in their website is still valid? so how much did u pay for their service?

Hi Van,
My studio & outdoor photoshooting is in early July. I'm the last, right?

When I booked with Envista for actual day photography last week, they were still charging what was indicated in their website. I'm not very sure how much is it cos hubby did all the work. I think they charge $200 service charge, $45 per roll. I've seen their work, not too bad. Let me know if you need more info, I'll check with my hubby.

julia andrew: So have u decided on where to take your wedding package? Here or JB? Milan seems good...

Hi Kat22,

What I did was to go AWT to see the cards and then you just inform them you will be having your banquet at Sheraton. They will show you an album and you just choose the cards. Sheraton will actually inform AWT about your wedding info. No need to bring your contract!

For me, my parents will be giving the cards to my overseas relatives when they visit them in May so I will be collecting my cards in April. I know its a bit kiasu since its 6mths away. I have called my coordinator to check and she said no problem. Main reason to go down AWT early is to ensure that the invite card you choose is available.

Have Fun!

Hi kerropi,
The Wedding Present showed me a pacakge for $3288, not including photography. It includes MTM WG, MTM EG, MTM Men's suit, a pair of shoes from Leaping Lizards, the standard flowers and makeup/ hairdo thinggie.... fairly comprehensive. I think it's a good deal cos u don't have to pay for the shoes and the guy can borrow anything off the rack which he likes at no extra charge. No drycleaning charges either. It costs $1500 for photography by Image Garden and $2000 for Andrew Choi / Chris Ling. Hope this info helps!

kat22, Yah lor! My FH also thinking of wearing the old pair. Any particular brand in mind?

Julia, wow, how did you do it? Share with us,can?

Sheep, I also been to Envistar before i confirmed with Alan. I did seen their photos samples with border too. It's very nice but i think they charges slightly higher for having borders, right? You might not be the last. My indoor & outdoor shooting is around July 02 too. Is there any reason why your date is so late? For me it's bcos i want it to be after my ROM.

Hi el

still hv no time to go to JB yet. But no hurry. I tot of doing it only after my photofraphy with Andrew Choi. If I think that I still need one, then I will probably shop for it then.

Anyway. Thanks.

Change my mind..... instead of to New Zealand, I'm planning to go to Europe for Honeymoon. Looks like expenses will increase.

Anyone know is there a "market rate" for "pink Jin"?

Hi LMF,
You've been to Envista too? I went there becos Alan Dai has been booked by you!
They do not charge extra for the white border. It comes in all their pics. Hey, my photoshoot is also on the 2 July! We may bump into each other during the outdoor shoots! Our photoshoot is in July cos June is fully taken up already. When's your ROM?

Hi Julia,
When are you taking your pics? Do share with me your experience with Andrew cos I'm using him too!

Hi Sheep,
Previously, the sales from Envistar did told me that border will be slightly exp. Uwah...! Kanna cheated! Uwah...!
My ROM is on 22 June 02. So will choose early July 02 for indoor/outdoor shooting. So need not to worry that you're the last one. Me also don't want to drag near to Ghost festival. But still not confirm which date yet? You're choosing Sunday for your shooting. I think i will prefer weekday bcos lesser people walking around. Of course this also depends where the location you're going. How many locations are you allowed to go?

Hi Sheep

My photo taking date is 3 June, will share with u if mine is faster. When is yours?

Any suggestion on any good location for photoshoot. Was thinking about going home to Malacca for photoshoot. Gotta check with Andrew Choi on the additional charges.

Ladies, heard Nick Goh is also a good photographer. He also offers pre-wedding photography package..can think about this also

Hi el, Nick Goh's skills may be kinda good but I hate his hard-sales tactics.. I spam my emails without my knowledge and I hate his self-prom tactics !!!! Urghhhh !!!

Hi, gals!

Sheep - great to hear that u hv booked ur actual day photographer...wah..u n LMF think alike leh...same wedding date, shortlist same photographers and now same photoshoot date some more!
hehehe

Jolene - Tks for the info! Think i will check out AWT this weekend
Yup...me oso want to ensure the design i want is still available
Hv u decided which printer to go to?

LMF - hehehe...Rockport lor! Only problem is that he already has two pairs and the current designs are similar to his...so dunno if he wants to consider other brands
My FH is very particular abt comfort for his shoes 'cos he's slightly flat footed so if the shoes are not comfy...he will hv foot pain

Hi LMF,

you may have heard wrongly. white borders are charged higher outside when you develop yourselves but comes free in envistar's package. this is what the sales side have been told to present. the sales would also specific the exact amount of any extra charge should there be any.

my fren actually develop some of their wedding day photos themselves with the white border at kodak. kodak charges her extra 5cents per pc.

envistar's accounting <- tatz why side envistar...ha....but believe me...

Hi LMF,
Orr... kena cheated liao. It's a blessing in disguise cos you got Alan which is cheaper!

My photoshoot is on the 2 July which is a Tuesday. I haven't discuss with Andrew with regards to location yet. I think I'll leave that to him since I don't have any places in mind. He asked if I would prefer architectural or greenery. He'll suggest places and we can decide.

Hi Julia,
You'll be having your photoshoot one month before me. Mine is on the 2 July. Andrew does bring couples overseas for shooting at a special rate. Do check with him.

Hi Kat22,
Yeah... LMF thinks like me!
Well, you've got the same date as us too!

el, like what Chemson say, I also don't like his hard-sell tactics. Just an opinion of mine.

Kat22, if you don't mention, i still don't know that me and sheep has a lot of things same same ...
Seems like a lot of people recommend Rockport. I think should get my FH to try on too. I do agree that comfortable is the most important factor for shoe even if your FH is not flat footed. We ladies should be more careful in choosing shoes as we're on HIGH HEELS!

CR, maybe i really hear or remember wrongly. I did not engage Envistar's service. Since you've clarified and as long as your company did not charge the other brides extra, it's totally ok for me. So sorry, didn't mean to offence Envistar.

Hi Sheep,sorry that i mislead you too!
But I'm happy for you too as you've already engaged Envistar for the same pattern photo as mine.
Have you take up and video montage from Envistar? It might be cheaper if you take their whole video and photo package. Just a suggestion.

hi gemi, yunise,
glad to know that we are on the same day. My banquet will be at Concord &amp; it's a small one with less than 20 tables. As my future brother-in-law is the main chef there, so don't have to worry abt the food.

i might not choose Allure in the end cos went back last nite &amp; the gowns not very impressive leh. have you gals check out Emanuel &amp; Silver Cloak? Wonder if they are good? I will be going to xzen bridal show too. I still like their designs best.

Hi, gals!

Hmm..kinda quiet today...busy at work??

I am thinking of going for facials but dunno where's gd...any recommendations?? I heard Sothys @ raffles city is gd..anyone has been there? I hope it is not too late to start! I need to get rid of my blackheads!!!

Chemson - urs is at Raffles Hotel rite? How much are they charging and for how many sessions? Erm...did i ask u this b4? hehehe..cant remember...dun mind can tell me again

halo kas,

ive oredi signed up with everbliss n chose my WG n EG liao
me oso chose century roxy for my banquet. only thing not settled is the actual day photographer. reason being my uncle used to own a developing photo studio n worked as freelance photographer. i dunno if im obliged to ask him to be my photographer n dunno if he would be offended if i dun get him
wat do u gals tink??? but i really dunno if he can deliver the type of photos i wan ie. journalistic cos he's the traditional type

hi fellow july brides...i'm one of the late planners....my date is 22/7 (monday)...and i'm taking my wedding photos on the 26/4/02....so everything will be very rush...

have all the july brides taken their photos??? me start to feel a bit bit stressed, thought that 3 mths in advance preparation more than enough...think i may be wrong...

and to hippo, i think choker will be nicer, not too cluttered ...does not steal the lime light from your gown.

Hi Kat22,
I just started my facial end of last year. I did once a month. Have you heard of Beauty 21 at Somerset Road (UOL Building). Not bad at all. They provide services like facial, body treatment, foot reflexology, waxing, medicure and pedicure, etc. It cost me about $55. They are using solely on Lancome brand for facial and they are selling Lancome products at special rates if you are one of their customer. The ambience is very nice, very relaxing with the soothing music. This Saturday i will be going for my facial. You want to join me? But must call them up to see any time slots. Mine is at 3pm.