(2002) Brides of year 2002

6 weeks b4 the wedding to send out the invitation cards is too early.

For 1 month in advance , I think should be ok.

Lotus4

What is the best nos. of "Ah Yees" on the actual wedding day to call....so as it will not be so many or so little of them at my house??

Should give how much for Ang Bao to them har??

Any advise ??

Lotus4

If you like the blue and it looks good on you, why not? Warm and sweet colours is safe cos you won't go wrong. It's your big day, no harm trying something different! Actually, my designer also suggested bright colours for me. He mentioned bright red! I was stunned cos I don't usually wear bright colours, let alone bright RED! I may go ahead with it if it suits me.
Will be seeing the sketches tomorrow, very excited!!!

Hi Chemson,
You'll be going for your fitting tomorrow, right? I bet you're equally excited!

Hi Blossom,
Wow, found a job! That's good news. All the best in your new job!

hi charlene,

no lah, where got bully u? hehehehe.....

hi gim,

no leh, i havent move into my new place yet.. but every now n then i will go over lor.... ve u moved in to ur new place already?

I have the same thinking as Chemson. Striking colours really make you outstanding. Is like a dove among the crows....
Frankly speaking, every brides want to have this kind of effect, something special about yourself. Bring it out if you are suitable for striking colours. In fact, some brides are not suitable for striking colours like me.
Since you're gifted, why not? As for your sis and colleagues comments, it's just that they are looking at the striking colours in a "normal" or "usual" way, they did not consider that this is the only time when you can put on striking clothings. I guess you usually don't put on striking clothes as casual wear, right? So go with your feel. Well, do try another time for assurance. Update us on your confirmation of the colours for gowns, ok?

Hi Vee Kee,

Yup, see you there.
Oh it just occurred to me, did Christina tell you the taxi fare is $100-150 per day coz the last time she quoted me I think some of the fares cost more than $150 depending on where we are going. In fact, I was supposed to go with another bride so that we can split costs =P but she cannot make it...

Hi Gim,

Mine is at MM
eh, actual day outdoor shoot....I also dunno where to go leh...One Fullerton? ....East Coast?...or maybe where you had your first date?

my banquet will be at river view hotel..

hi bluebell, we cannot go the where we had our first date, because that will be at a kelong in M'sia waters !

Hi islandpub,
Actually dat's my in laws place. As they hv juz moved in for less than 5 yrs, we're not intending to get a place of our own yet.
Are u done with reno alrdy?

Bluebell, oh u booked MM. We were actually planning to hold ours there but when we called MM, they said the date's been taken.
Ar my first date is in town. Too many passer bys liao v pai seh one hee...
Wah charlene, ur 1st date v romantic.

Hi, gals

Chemson - yup, i can share ur excitement too
hmm..apart from shoes, are there any other stuff we need to bring for the fiting? enjoy ur session tomorrow ok? Tell us all abt it !!

Yvonne - if you like it, go for it! LMF is rite, as a bride, u shld be striking mah
Yes, try it out again! See if u still like it
I am paranoid too (very i wld say)...i am not very confident of wearing a bustier and till now, i keep thinking n imagining how i will look! I am praying hard that i wont regret choosing a bustier :P
guess, we all wanna look our best on our Big day so...it's normal to be sum xi xi i guess :P
Will definitely let u know how my fitting goes

Sheep - enjoy your session tomorrow too!! I am sure TY will design something unique n nice for u
Tell us ok?

Hi Lotus4

I think there is no specific no. of Ah yees and angpows amount lah. I got 6 ah yees (4 are closer to me) and my hubby has got abt 13 Ah gus on the last count.....
Ang pow we have not decided. Probably about $24 per pax or $12....cost too much liao.....
cos we are buying them gifts too....

Hi Choco,
Where did you go to print just your Chinese Inserts? Maybe I shld do that.....I still haven't got around doing it....and hubby still bor chap....

Hi Charlene,

Wah, your first date is very romantic eh ;)

Hi Gim,

hehehe...we were very kiasu. We actually wanted to book MM for last year Dec but the date we wanted was taken. When we change to May this year, we decided to be kiasu and book early. I think we booked in March last year. :P

Kat22: For me.. gotta bring my corset along as well...
Yep... me getting excited...
will tell you abt it...

sheep: Enjoy your session with TY tomorrow and dun forget to share the designs with us, ok ?

I think the rest have said it for me already
Go for it if you like it. The reaction from your colleagues cannot be taken so seriously at the moment cos they have not seen you in the striking blue yet! For myself, I actually asked to try on something red...... this is a colour which I usually will not touch. But why not for photoshoot?!
I was thinking for creating something vibrant and colourful for the shoot. May stick to lighter colour that is more me for the actual day
Like myself, you can still choose something else for your actual day EG rite?

Hey Sheep and Chemson,
Enjoy your session okay?

yvonne: Y bother about what others said abt striking blue? you reminded me of myself when i was so paranoid of collecting my ROM dress which is also a pretty striking blue. After the whole affair, when i look into my own photos..i felt great...not that i look pretty or what...but it's just the feeling is "lucky i choose this colour for my dress".... you get what i mean?

Ladies, actually what is an ideal time to go for 1st fitting if i plan my photo-shooting in late June? I've yet even plan for this since my mind is now fully occupied by the flat's renovation...i'm glad it's finally settled..at least, next wk, the flat is gonna start work...

Yvonne: regarding the polaroid camera, it's available in all photos develop places..the concern is not abt the camera..more of the film of all these polaroid camera..quite ex...

Hi Charlene!

Thanks for the contact!

Hi Bluebell!

mmm...no leh, she din tell me...she juz say we can "bao" the taxi for the entire day for that price. But if thinking of taking taxi as your everyday travel tool, then damn jia lat man! Quite ex leh!

My Mum and MIL will give out the invitation cards on the day of 'GUO DA LI' itself which will be 1 month b4 the wedding and i think i will give my colleagues and friends the invites 2 weeks b4 wedding after confirming attendance cos got limited invites(70% confirmed attendance). As for ah yees, i will buy them gifts and thank you cards at the same time give them a treat to a nice dinner. But i won't be giving them angpao cos on the day itself,my mum and mil will give them angpao liao
But i will be giving my bridesmaids gifts+dinner+angpao cos their responsibility bigger,got more task to do

Hi linda,
I went to HITECH for my cards. Its really very cheap to print over there and can really save u alot of time since they only take 1 week to confirm sample+make mould+printing. Might as well pay abit more to let them do the cards since this is a once in a lifetime thing,dun stress and overburden yrself too much over such things ;) As for yr bor chap hubby,i suggest you walk over to him and twist his ear so as to knock some sense out of him......hahaha (juz kidding,no offense)

hi gim,

ya, my reno all done liao lor.. in fact everything all ready liao except that we havent move in yet only.... that's y we go there quite often lor... so u staying with ur hubby at ur in laws' place already?

hi bluebell,

paiseh leh talk abt mauritius.... heehheh.... perhaps u can arrange with vee kee then u all can go sight seeing together in mauritius lor.. then still can save on the taxi fares... hehheheh....
i really wish we can go together leh but too bad lah... hehheheheh.......

Hi islandpub,

oic.
ya me staying there alrdy. hee... my ILs very kai1 fang4 one. But i tink gotta move back home b4 na4 cai3. coz after they do the anchuan i cant zzz on the new bed.

wah so fun u all can meet each other on ur wedding day n honeymoon
me envious leh...
so most of u going to Mauritius? booked already?

charlene, leslie's b/w is nice, she has a color shooter working side by side with her but i find the color shooter style so-so only, but their package price is really attractive i muz say. as for nick, i think u have to meet him to find out more, feel his stds not v consistant, sometimes v good, sometimes a lil gordy... and only if u don't mind digital touchups...
btw, can't access the hi-tech website, do u mind posting the url again?

i am getting my studio photos on Monday, hope they turn out good... v worried indeed...

Had my first fitting today..
Went there slightly early as I had to collect my shoes. Shirley and Shuping were serving two other customers.. so we waited for awhile.. but soon it was my turn.. Anyway, yep.. tried my lining with some organza lining. Shirley and the tailor made the adjustments and it looked even better. I saw the sample embroideries and chose a light shade of silver. I chose light silver. I also confirmed my EG design. My 2nd fitting is on April 6th. Can't wait for my 2nd fitting when I will get to see the details of the WG more and of course my EG lining.... Ahhh.. so happy !!! Was so busy today.. had to go to buy lighting, kitchen hob and hood and the bathroom accessories. Enjoy your weekend..

Hi Chemson,
Just completed your 1st fitting and now already cannot "tahan" to wait until the 2nd fitting.
Soon it will be my turn to think like u.
The light shade of silver: is it for your WG? What's the colour of your EG and can share with us your details for EG? You really are a busy person. Enjoy buying during the weekend too!

wow! looks like we are all really excited abt our preparations! i also look forward to my 1st fitting... 17 april... seems to be far away yet its near!

i'm really busy for the past few days cos been attending wedding banquets... at least to gain some experience...

juz received a bad news abt my banquet. The Executives' Club which i've paid deposit informed us that they have changed their management & will be changing their menu & price list... they are going to increase my package by another 200+ bucks!
goodness, now i got to think twice if i want to continue with this club... any suggestions?

Hi, gals!

Van - how can they do this to u! They shld honor the contract even though they change management...
Wonder if u want to bring this up to Case? But not really nice lor...'cos they might spoil ur big day afterwards...r u getting better stuff for the extra $200? I guess it will be quite difficult for you to get another venue given the short time...how many tables are u hving? If it's not many, there's still a chance that the function rooms of some hotels are still available

chemson, alright! glad to hear that ur 1st fitting went well.
hv fun shopping for ur home.

van, isn't the price listed in ur contract? even if the management changed, they still hv to honour the items in the contract!
that's so dishonest! i think u should contact the executive club again to clarify. this may be a false alarm, one of those cases where the lower working levels misinterpreted the intentions of the management. is the additional charge $200+ more per table or $200+ more total? if it's $200+ more per table, i think u should just bring ur story to case n change the venue.

I'm back from seeing me designs from TY! I'm quite confirmed on my bustier WG. It's shaped like a corset with a layer of beaded tulle ruching over it. It's a poufy ballgown. As for the EG, I'll be having a spaghetti-strapped gown with asymmetrical drapes stretching from just below the left spaghetti strap all the way to the left waist. The drapes will go round the body and end at the left waist level. It'll be a asymmetrical bare-back. The drapes will end at the waist forming a bow. The bottom part is an A-line. There'll be a brooch at the starting of the drape and one at the end of the drape. Can picture it? It'll be in bright purple Thai silk. TY advise not to wear any accessories on my neck cos of the brooch in front. I only need to put on earrings and bracelet. What do you gals think? Would it be a little plain? Comments appreciated!

Hi Chemson,
Envy, envy! Your gown is almost done already! My next appt is end April, and that's only to take measurements. Can't wait to see the completed gown.

Hi Van,
Goodness! How can they? Were you given a choice? Try telling them that you're on a tight budget and cannot afford any extra expenses at the moment.

hi kat22, och & sheep,

i'm really in a lost now cos i dun think they issue any black & white... all the banquet arrangements are made by my MIL. if there isnt any black & white i dun think i'm able to bring this to the CASE.

och, yar its going to be extra 200+ per table. not much of changes except the menu... the serve better food... they allow us to take back our deposit cos they havent bank in the cheque. but i really tired to start planning all over again...

i've booked ard 25 tables, have checked with lots of restaurant & hotels but they are not available on my wedding date... *sigh* those which are available cant accommodate that much of tables - max 22.

perhaps what i will do now is to get them compromise, i pay extra 200 bucks per table, they give me 2 nites hotel stay instead of 1, provide the printing of the cards, free flow of beer... (see what i can think off by then)...

Van: Sorry to hear the bad news. I agree with the rest that the new mgt should honour your contract and not charged you an extra $200. But agree that you should compromise with them over getting additional free items like free flow of beer and printing of cards. If you do manage to bargain for them.. remember to get them state down in Black and White !!!

LMF: My embroideries for the WG will be in light silver. My EG will be gold organza over purple satin.

sheep: Your gowns sound so divine esp the EG... the design is very unique.. can't wait to see the actual work...

I'm back!!

Blossom

Congrats.... looks like the econ is starting to show sign of recovery.

Anyone interested in flowergirl dresses. Just came back from Robinson, they hv some new stock, quite nice. I finally got my flowergirl dress & head accessories. By the way, it is $99. If u r Robinson member, 15% discount.

Chemson

Wow.... can't wait to c my gown. Seems to be repeating this again & again everytime after u gals hv yr first fitting.

Van

Probably if u hv time, why not shop for another place that charges about the same price (with the $200 extra, u would probably b able to afford a nicer ambience!! Can't imagine they did that!
& at this time if the hotel is still left with the date u want, u will b quite sure that they can lower their expectation & more willing to compromise.)If u don't hv time, just play along lor..... what 2 do. Try not to make matter worse ....coz u gotta consider the consequences. They "ARE" organising ur weddding & u do not want ur wedding to be ended up as really really a "Charming" experience!!

Hey Sheep, your EG sounds just like the one that I have tried on at TY before. TY used a rectangular multi colour brooch at the beginning of the strap (on the shoulder) and a butterfly diamante brooch at the end of the drapes on the gown that I tried on. I think the one that I have tried on is not silk though, it's satin. Your gowns must be very lovely since TY is so talented!!

Chemson, I can understand how excited you must be. Lucky!!

Hi mush9,
Is the one you tried on pink in colour? I tried a pink one which is similar with drapes and asymmetrical but the drapes on the pink one and my EG are different kind of drapes, don't know how to describe. The pink one is in satin crepe.

Van, it's not right for them to do such a thing. To add another $200+ per table, it's ridiculous. It seems like there are only 2 solutions that you can resolve this matter:
1) Compromise with them to get more freebies so as to make your additional $200 seems more worthy.
2) Take the deposit back and find another venue.

Which one to choose? I will choose solution 2. The reason is: This time i can compromise with them, nut i cannot guarantee that next time round, they will not find other excuses to "daylight robbery" me again. The trust and confidence i have towards them is gone. With 25 nos of tables, i think it's not that difficult to find another venue. I will not want my happy memorable wedding to turn into a "DRASTIC" wedding. But of course, all these are only my opinions. You must decide yourself finally! Good luck to you!

Chemson, purple satin in gold organza for your EG. Something new to me! I'm having a dark blue satin to match with a lighter blue organza for my EG. Which i don't really like the oragnza colour: light blue colour. Do you think it will match well with gold organza instead? Pls advise.

Sheep, the design for your EG sounds extraordinary. May i know how big is your brooch? If it is too eye-catching, better don't put on necklace as it may complicate your beautiful neck. If you think it's too plain, you may want to try to put on dangling earrings to add some "spice" to it.

Hi Van,
If you are going to compromise based on freebies in exchange......will the extra things that you ask for be worth ($200 x 25tables)?...... Just wondering..... cos like what the others said, with $200 more you can really find a even better place.

Hi Sheep,
Wow, your EG does sound special!
You must be so excited at the design

Wow, really can learn many things in this websites. Guess I'm among the slowest. Haven't had first fitting yet, but I told myself not to be too stress up, otherwise not mei-mei liao. BTW, is there anything I can do in advance?

fantasy

Hi, gals!

Van - Since the available venues are smaller, perhaps u might wanna trim ur guest list abit? $200 per table is really alot! I agree with Cowie that those freebies might not be worth that much. Gee...this is really a headache! Sorry that i cant help much...

Sheep - your EG is so unique! sound so sexy
Agree with LMF...if the brooch is very eye catching, then u need not wear any necklace so as not to look too cluttered...

Hi Kat22,
Today you will be going for your 1st fitting, right? You must be very excited!!!

Now i'm busying looking for shoes for my FH. We intend to buy his shoes first, then my turn to buy. This is to prevent me from buying too high heels and he look shorter than me. Without shoes, I'm at his forehead level. So quite risky! Anyway, hope that i can get both of shoes before our 1st fitting.

Please take note that the present forum has changed to a new server. The new website is http://www.singaporebrides.com/. With this new website, you can post your message successfully.

Chin Leng, thanks for your effort. It is indeed better and faster.

Hi Cynthia,

I have found the link!

Do you think 2 "ah yees" is too little? I have been thinking of the number of "ah yees" needed. My FH is saying that he needs only one best man. Any advice on how many "ah yees" you think I should get?

Hi LMF,

I guess.... the use of the light blue organza will give the dark blue satin a different effect. In fact I wanted to use the same combi for my EG but went for the gold organza again. Oh yes... you might want to contemplate fusia pink satin with the blue organza overlay.. the effect is even better... err.. as for gold organza over blue... not too sure abt the effect though..
U might want to check with your designer.

Hi LMF & Kat22,
The brooch will be quite big and eye-catching and I agree that a necklace will make the neck area rather cluttered. Sigh... I'm feeling like what you gals feel already - sum si si! I may ask him to do without the brooch cos I want to wear a necklace to cover up my long neck. Besides, I'm not a very earring person. But the brooch idea is quite good... oh no... lost and confuse...

Hi Van,
I agree with LMF, Cowie and Kat22. The amount of freebies you get is not worth the extra $200 per table. Bargain for as much freebies as you can but do keep a lookout for other restaurants. It may not be easy to get one now so don't cancel the present one first.

Hi Chemson,
I've already consult my designer. Her advise is not to match blue with gold organza. In fact she is looking for a different shade of blue to match my dark blue satin. Keep my fingers crossed and pray that she managed to find one.

Hi Sheep, brooch will look unique on your gown. If you really don't want, i think it's a pity! You don't prefer dangling earrings, maybe you can try to put on a simple choker since you have long neck. Consult your designers and see if the effect goes well with a choker.

sheep, ur gowns sounds so lovely! wow! i luv the idea of hving broaches n drapes.

van, $200+ per table is too much!
i think u should check the contract asap. most contracts will hv the price n package details spelt out in the contract.

if u do decide to compromise, then pls ask for more. the freebies u r asking for is too little. even when banquet coordinators agree to give free flow of beer, they usually budget only abt 2-3 barrels. that works out to $1400-$2100, whereas ur price hike alone is $5k! off the top of my head, i can think of 2 things that may justify the price hike r 1) major upgrade of dish(es) e.g. whole roast pig or 2) upgrading the decor to a themed dinner. n i dun mean the cheap colour themes, but something more elaborate, like candle theme, garden theme, balloon theme etc.

Hi Sheep,
If you really like to have both the brooch and necklace, what about having just one brooch at the waist part for decoration and leave the one at the neckline out? This way, you can have the best of both world....
....Eih, have not seen your actual gown so I think you will be able to visualise better then me
.... But just a suggestion

Hi Herimone, nice to see you here too!

I will only be getting 2 girlfriends to be my Ah Yees in the morning. More people will be helping out during the dinner itself.

cynthia

Hi, ladies

LMF - yeh yeh yeh me going for my first fitting today!! Cant wait!! Hope my gown turn out well
For man's shoes, i would strongly recommend Rockport..my Fh swears by it...he says it's really comfortable!

Chemson - yup, confirming my EG today too...Shirley is suppose to select the organza colour for the overcoat to match my orangy red EG...urs is gold and LMF is blue..hmmm...wonder what colour mine will be
ohhh...few more hours to go!!

och - Hey, since u are in US...u can buy the latest The Knot magazine! Envy u

Hi Kat22,
I seen some designs from Rockport but very limited designs. Is there a branch whereby they only sell this brand? It may be more over there. My FH is considering two pairs from Everbest. Want to shop for others. Any other recommendations for guys shoes?

Hi Kat22,

Yeah !!! Few more hours to go !!! I am getting excited as well.. my next one is April 6th.. Yours should be around then, right?
Wow.. the fittings are coming real fast...
Anyway, must remember to visualise, ok ? Enjoy ! Dun forget to share with us...

accessing the forum is very slooooww today....

wow Mauritius is a great place to sit there and do nothing ! my brother went to maldives for honeymoon and the pictures are fabulous !
umm...me haven't decide where to go yet, anyway our honeymoon will most probably be in july, cos we are both having part-time studies...

hi cheer, better to call up and ask. Dun worry, mei yen is very friendly, she is willing to give advice. E.g. my hotel only gives 260 cards, so I requested for 260 inserts, but mei yen advised me to get more in case we make mistakes. She even told me that the price is the same for 260 and 300 inserts...so in the end I printed 300 inserts.

Hmm...seems that they have removed the website...

dun worry about photoshoots, you can always re-take if not nice, anyway, most of the time is that they are too nice and you want to choose more..

thanks for advice on the actual day photographer !