(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi Angeline,

The greenish/purple or greenish/blue?
I do like a blue colour one, the top is like a shell. And a sexy gown (by FH quite like it) so maybe when i go down, i might choose that.

Any way, I think Jennifer has gotten the fabric I want and book it.

I'm going down on wed to show her a design i like.

Irene

hi hippo,

it does sound a bit odd, but if the yellow calo lilies is more to the light colour, the whole colour combination shd goes quite well...... if not, you just take off the hairpiece........can????

and thanks carol, i choose the auspicious date in july according to the tong shu........i didn't have quite a choice abt the mth cuz my hubby will not be in s'pore for abt 5 mths for the rest of the year, that will be may, june, sept, oct, nov......so aug is out, cuz lunar seven mth...unless i take dec, but he will not be around for the whole of nov...so very siong, one person must do everything...so no choice...left july!!!

who amg the july brides will go first? i wanted 7/7/02 (my ROM date) but cuz it's a sunday, the banquet costs $100/- more...so no choice...need to change date...sob, sob!!!! did anyone choose that date???

Hi Sparks, I chose that date! Will be having both ROM & customary

BTW, i didn't go for pedicure for my photoshoot even though i wear open-toes and there are shots where i lift up my dress. Can't see my toes clearly on the photos (maybe depends on angle?!). I think only actual day journalistic photographers will take closeup shots of your feet (e.g. wearing shoes) :P What do u think?

Irene,

There is 2 gowns, 1 gown is grennish/blue & another is purplish/pink. Dun tink the blue one is the same coz its a spagetti strap EG.

Glad that Jennifer got the fabric

what kind of design u like?

Hi mush9,

Sorry I can't remember but what I usually do is to type in "American Wedding Treasures" under the Search button and it will show the link.

I've collected my wedding rings. So Happy!
The engraved words are "Promise (my name) (date & month of ROM), Forever (his name) (year of ROM)". When you read both the rings, it means that both of us promise each other forever on the day and year of ROM. Is it ok for the wordings?

Haven't got any shoes yet. Sigh...
Going for shoe hunting with my FH again tonight. Probably "eat snake" a bit, watch a movie after the hunting. Heee....

ladies:have your been facing or faced any difficulties in handling your FH's mum?? I'm not even traditionally married to FH yet, i'm already having problems in handling her...

Hi el,
Can you be more specific on your problems so that we can "tui zheng xia yao". For me, i know that MY FH's mom is not easy handled person, so called not easy going and stubborn person, but just keep quiet. Tell you a joke. On the day we went to the fortune teller to get our wedding date, his mom is with us. So the fortune teller said that me and his mom cannot click. All of us got quiet and suddenly, his mom reluctantly said that " It's ok, she's not the one I'm going to married. Most important is that my FH and I can live happily forever." What she say is true but of course i have to respect her.

My mom told me that to avoid any problems with his mom, the best way is don't talk too much when i'm in my FH's house. If you really think that his mom and you cannot click, don't talk too much in her presence.

hi carol,

hope u enjoyed your photoshoot...mine is in April...really excited and looking forward to it too

hi kittycat,
don't worry...just take it one step at a time. I understand wedding prep can be really stressful, but think of it as something meaningful between u and your FH. Initially, I really wanted to do away with the dinner too...but my FH is the eldest and only son, so his parents wanted the dinner. Eventually, I learned to accept it. As a friend once said to me:"The marriage is yours, the wedding is your parents'" This statement really hit me, and after some thot, i realize that it's indeed true. So, just do what u can, and don't be too worried abt the rest, if parents want the dinner, so be it, think of it as fun too...that u get to walk into a grand hotel ballroom and all that. It's because parents are proud of their children that they want this dinner...otherwise, why would they want all the hassle, would rather keep it a secret rite? Honestly, it took me a few months to come to terms with this too. I'm also paying everything with my FH, our parents are not footing any bill, but we are getting back all the red packets, so it's ok. Just try to come to terms with it and make the best out of the whole situation...u deserve to be happy at this point in time...especially if u know u are marrying the man of your dreams/choice. So, just take it easy on the rest. Most importantly, you and your FH share a special relationship...the rest are just like accessories. So do enjoy the process...it's quite fun
Take care.

hi all july brides,
wah...seems like everyone has gone for photoshoot except me...mine is in April, sounds late huh? hope everything will turn out well. Still deciding where to go for photoshoot...any ideas?
really excited abt it...meeting my photographer tonite to discuss the details, hope he can suggest somewhere too.

Hi el

I am currently staying with my FH. My MIL & FIL. Not only that, my SIL brings her kids over everyday for my MIL to look after. She will bring them everyday at 6am & pick them up only at about 9.30 pm. Initially, I went through lots of ups & down with my hubby. Didn't like the idea of the SIL bringing her kids over everyday & mess up my house. After a while, I know nothing can be done, I just gotta live with it. I've learn to be patient & give in more.

Some how, it is not worth it to jeopardise the relationship with our hubby due to others. Worst if it is due to the ppl that we dislike. Although I am still unagreeable to the arrangement, me & my hubby r constantly communicating for ways to resolve this. As he know that I am unhappy. We can't afford another instalment coz this apartment was quite expensive when we bought it so we both have to be patient with each other & try to compromise.

El, look at the bright side. They are old ppl, how long can they be with you. Just b more patient & try to make them happy. When others r happy, I am sure u will b happy too.

Hi hippo,
The colour combination seems ok, but if you want a simple look, you can op to take off your hairpiece.

Hi Sparks,
hahaha... since yours is a good date, so don't worry lor...

Hi Mo,
Yap, we really enjoy the photoshoot very much,it was fun & very memorable too.
There are quite a few choices for photoshot locations, it really depends on the mood that you want to capture.
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">1. Pasir Ris Park</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">2. East Coast Park</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">3. Marina south</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">4. Club street</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">5. Mohamad Sultan</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">6. Sentosa</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">7. Fullerton hotel</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">8. Clake quay</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">9. Botanical Garden</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">10.chimes</FONT>

Cheers:
Carol

LMF: my story is like this...tell me whether u think i'm being sensitive or not..

I know my FH for 5yrs...only recently got a resale flat @ Clementi. Prior to this purchase, we were told by his mum to wait for new flats (meant to be replacement flats for owners whose place got enbloc-ed) at his neighbourhood (Kallang) to be released to public. We waited 3yrs..got sick and tired of waiting...so got this place at clementi.

Before we committed on this place, we asked our parents to go take a look. My parents respected our choice as long as we r happy. His dad din wan to go, so his mum went w us for the viewing of the flat b4 signing. When we were done w the viewing, we asked her opinion, she said she's alright, as long as we r happy about it...

Aft we bought this place, not too long later, HDB released some new flats in matured estates, 1 of them is his neighbourhood, to public. So, MIL remarked that we so kan cheong....

However, thing cant be undo right? So we went ahead with sourcing of contractors etc etc... We found 1 finally, settled and work would be starting this wk. B4 start reno, MIL said must go to our place pray pray 1st. Fine, i;m ok with this tho i'm a free-thinker. The problem comes now... first, she prepared the fu (yellowish paper burned in water) shui.... then she ask FH to paste the yellow thingy at my main gate....

then while waiting for FH to come back fm downstairs, she came up to me telling me if we could've waited somemore, we'd have been able to get a new flat at Kallang...i diverted the subject by asking how big is the new place at Kallang, she said abt 100+...i told her the one we bought is also 100. U know what she said??!! She said different... urs is old flat leh..that one is new...

Then i changed subject again..i told her clementi quite convenient also...She rebuked saying it's so inconvenient bla blah... lemme tell you....my face can only turn black.

While on our way to the MRT, she complained so far...when we we reached MRT, she said what...u know?? She was saying : "next time no need to exercise liao, from ur place walk to MRT also legs cramp liao" What e fish..i was thinking....

Then she brought us to FH's auntie's recently bought resale flat @Bedok....was saying how convenient lah..blah blah... in the end i realised it's hell worse than our place.... u need to take feeder bus..if u try to walk from mrt to the auntie's place, ur legs would break!!
But she still insisted it's much more convenient than ours... My god....u know how much i wanna stranggle or shut her up....

tell me...do u think she'd be a strain to my relationship w FH??

Angeline,

I like A line, fairy type, mermaid etc.
I like spagetti strap gown but they say i look better in bustier.
I like to be sweet in the day and stunning in the evening.

Maybe one day, we might get to meet in Paris Brides and you'll get to see my gown and i'll get to see yours.

I also like a bit of sexy (maybe)for photoshooting.

what about you?

Irene

Hi el,

Dun be 'pek chek' by your MIL. Sometimes they tend to like to say the opposite of things. The fact is that as long as both of you are happy with your choice.. so be it.... imagine this.. if you had balloted for the flats... you could not be paying more for including renovation. Clementi is a great location. Dun worry ! U made the right choice.. in any case.. you are marrying her son and not her, right? Cheer up, okie?

Irene,

i like ballroom princess type, my colleagues say i look fatter when i took photographs so they advise me to wear spagetti strap during photo-shooting

i want something sweet &amp; elegant!

ya lor, we might meet one of these days

Hi Blubell!

6 pix on top of the 20 isn't too bad lah...I spent quite a bomb on the extras...:P

So where will you be staying in Mauritious? Me dun mind if want to share cab with you leh...

Just sent my cards for printing yesterday to Hi-Tech..think they offer the best deal... Now sourcing for wines...any brides to be have any good lobang?

And yes! It is 2 months to our wedding!!! Time flies huh??

Hi LMF,
The engravings on your rings are very romantic! Good luck to your shoe hunting. Do let us know if you find any interesting places selling wedding shoes, ok?

Hi el,
Sometimes, it's a little difficult for us DILs to forgive our MILs. We tend to argue with our own moms but not in-laws, thus feeling very frustrated. Try not to take her words too seriously. I disagree with my MIL sometimes but I choose to ignore it. MILs are generally nice people, they are naggy at times cos most of them feels that their son is still a little boy and they need guidance. For the sake of your hubby, try to ignore her comments. Life would be much happier that way. Feel free to share with us your sad experiences. We may not be able to help much but we'll always be around to listen! Most important thing is, you're getting married soon!!! Cheer up, ok?

Hi el,
So the story is like that. My advice is don't create or leave any opportunity for your MIL and yourself to be alone together without your FH. Since your MIL likes to complain to you when your FH is not around, don't let her have the chance. I really no choice, as what sheep says, just ignore her. When she nags or complain, just ignore her. Or else just say "Yar lor, yah lor"! As time goes by, she will stop complaining to you as you have not give her much feedback, so she complain also complain until "no kick"! Inother words, she got sick of complaining to someone who is log-headed. Cheer up and be the best of you on your big day!

Sheep, thanks for your compliments. I'm sure to share with you gals but seem likes most of you have already got your wedding shoes. Me gotta hurry up!

Ladies: I jus adopt a simply-bo-chup attitude. The only strong reaction from me is no yellow paper on my main door or above gate.... FH said MIL was referring that the yellow fu would prevent spirits entering the house...i was jokingly telling FH, would the ghosts so silly, only walk thru the door..cant they fly in from the window...

Hi, gals!

LMF - the wordings on ur rings very meaningful leh
So sweet!! Hey, i plan to buy another pair of shoes to match my EG and kwa...let me know if u see any nice gold or champagne gold sandals!!

el - like the other gals said..try not to take her words too seriously lor
...dun worry lah... they are all like dat one...like to complain complain...just one ear in one ear out lor...my ILs although din say but i know they are not very happy that we are moving to P21 which is quite far from where they are staying now...they oso hope that we had gone for the balloting for the mature estate flats..but we selected the flat last aug and the balloting only this year..how we know!! so heck lah...how to make everyone happy rite!
as long as u n ur hubby are happy n like the place....singapore not bery big wat!!
hey at least u not staying with your ILs...unlike me...no choice as hse not ready
So cheer up!!

Hi Kat22,
Like you, I'll be staying with ILs cos house not ready. Now toying with the idea of not staying together until we get our house. Sigh... looking forward to the BIG day but that means have to stay with ILs... How long do you have to stay with your ILs?

LMF: told FH pointless to put that yellow fu..since we r not doing any praying in the house...jus like invite the door-god (men shen) to guard your door but never give him salary (pray to him) ...which god so goo-goo...do all these 4u??!! He after listen to my nonsense also dunno to laugh or to be pissed with me... hehehe

a colleague is so lucky..MIL is like a maid..treat her like queen..cook her fav dishes...take good care of her...let her choose her own jewellery... so envious

Hi vee kee,

yup, 6 pics are still within my budget
Anyway, we din plan to top up coz we get to take back all the 3Rs which is good enuf for me. We topped up another 6 pics to make the album thicker and also coz we wanted to take back the negatives

hee...paiseh, I still have not checked with Christina from Air Mauritius on w/r it's ok to change my hotel...still have not decided =P Will let you know when it's firm but tentatively we will be at Radisson. It wld be good to share a cab and save the money for....shopping!!! =P hehe...more fun too

Guess staying or getting along with ILs is a matter of give and take. Just have to treat them like friends lor. My mum was like telling... DIL and being a daughter are two whole different things. U can scold your own daughter for wrongdoings and everything will be ok after that.. however, telling off DIL is a whole new different ball game... she said to treat them cordially. I guess... sheep was right.. dun give her any opportunity to grumble to you.. if she did.. just one ear in and one ear out.

Looks like u gals r much luckier than me. At least u could look forward 2 having ur "er ren shi jie". Me........stuck with the ILs! latest news.....my SIL wanted 1 more child. She already got 3! Yah.......not my business but they r all dump at my house the whole day!

julia andrew: my sympathies...but like all of them had jus mentioned...take it easy lor...

Hello Bluebell...

hehe...yah! can save the money for shopping...me will be at Radisson on on the 2nd leg of the tour...

Hi Carol,

You mention about Fullerton Hotel for photoshooting but if we didn't book their hotel for banquet, can we still take photos in there?

Hi gals... good to hear that the Paris brides are happy with the progress... I'll be having a photoshoot with Paris... when are u gals planning to have ur photoshoot?? I will need to make appointment to go and choose some gowns with them... please advise...

I'll be having my first appointment with my bridal shop this weekend coz it's a MTM pkg... will be asking quite a few pple down... dunno if it will be too crowded...

Angelia, if u want to come, please drop me a mail... I no time to check forum regularly... but I suggest u just come and look see look see lor... think the shop will not appreciate me having 10 pple giving me suggestions!!!

don't worry mo, i having the photo shoot late in april, maybe need to postphone to may....so don't worry, you will not be the last one!

i'm also thinking abt the outdoor shoot, can't decide...

Hi Sparks,

Welcome to July brides.

I've just finished with my photoshoot in March. I didn't go for manicure or pedicure as my nails are very short. Anyway, the photos are out now, and my nails can't be seen. But if u have long nails and really take pride in them (unlike me
), u may want to go for the manicure.

btw, I will be the 1st bride in July as my banquet is on 1/7/02.
<nervous>

Hippo,
I think your combination sounds alright, as white and yellow are light colours which can match with almost any other colour. Anyhow, your hair piece will still match your hand bouquet, right?

Mo,
So how was your meeting with the photographer? I'm sure u will enjoy your photoshoot. We did tremendously, although the outdoor shoot was quite tiring... esp when carrying the big ballgown with huge can-can everywhere). So which outdoor location did u select? For us, we went to Labrador park and Fullerton hotel.

Oh yes, Lazy Piggy, if we didn't book with fullerton, we will not be allowed to take photos inside the hotel. However, we can still do so at the cafes outside the hotel. The effect is quite nice 'cos u can capture the sea as well.

Hi, gals!

Sheep - i think i may hv to stay with them for 1 yr as my flat's ECD is Dec '03!!...think shld be able to get the keys in Jun 03...hw, i am afraid that his parents might not want us to move out after that...hope not...i really hope to stay together on our own b4 we hv kids first...how abt u? really wonder why some ILs dun let their kids stay on their own...i mean..dun they understand how we feel...i mean they were young once too what......

julia - poor thing...ur SIL really not "automatic" one hor...dun be angry lor...at least u wont see them when u are working
why she cant pick them up earlier huh? doesnt she want to be with her kids? based on the timings, she will hardly get to interact with them leh...she so strange one! thot most moms cant wait to pick their kids up so that they can spend some quality time with them..dont the kids miss her too? wah..like dat she better not hv another kid...so irresponsible! Anyway, just take it easy lor...

Sorry !p missing in action for so long.... Computer spoilt...
no choice but to use my brother computer at my mum's place. Seemed like everyone is getting real excited abt the wedding and were well prepared.... I start to panick now...still have so many things to do...i must redo my guest list again cos I only have soft copy in my computer. my advise to u gals (always save your important files in a disc or have a hard copy). just collected my cards from the hotel today....now must start sourcing for printer... need to repaint and renovate the house before wedding day, not a single thing done yet....have not even fixed a date to gou da li....sorry for all the complaining....pls bear with me....just to check...is there anything that I have missed out? din want to leave everything to the very last minute. Thanks in advance. In the meantime, just wish all the June02 brides a good time in preparing for your big day.

hi JenJen,

What do u mean by u haveing a P-S with Paris? u not taking the whole package with them meh??

So far my 2 encounter with Paris was fine, May is my co-ordinator, she's very nice
My P-S will be in July, have chosen a WG for outdoor shooting. As for EG, have tentatively chosen one too, haven really decide yet :p
im going down again on 06 Apr to meet my designer.

Not advisable to bring too many pple there coz the the shop is not really big, las sat when i went there, alot of pple were there too, very crowded. Bring along 2-3 friends, wait too many pple have differnt views, u may find hard to decide what u want to wear

Btw, who's your co-ordinator?

Hi Jen Jen,

My encounter with paris was fine.
My coordinator is May and designer is Jennifer.
Photographer for studio and outdoor is Delon.
Look for him for photoshoot. It is not bad.
My photoshooting is in 20 June. So by next month, I would have to finish choosing my P-S gowns.

Actually, my appointment with May in Feb, I bring a lot of people. (I ask only 3 person but end up got 5 came). So got quite a lot of opinion on what suits me and what colour suits me etc.
Yap, many people got many opinion and you'll get confused. But you could consolidate and see whether there is any opinion which lies in line.

Irene

Seems like I'm quite lucky. No need to stay with ILs. If i don't have a place to stay during the waiting for my new house, i sure "kanna" too. "Heng..." still have a spare house to stay.

For you gals who are staying with ILs: As we are not spending too much time with them, so don't bother too much.

julia: as for the kids, if too noisy, the best is use ear plugs.

My FH managed to get a pair of shoes last night. It's from Alaine Delon and cost him $125.00 after the 10% discount. Bought it in Takashimaya. There is a wide variety in Taka for men's shoes but not ladies. I couldn't find any for myself. In fact, i liked a pair where i saw it in OG in Waterloo Street but it is too high (3 1/2 inch). I cannot wear more than 3 inch heels as i will be taller than my FH. So i believe i be having a hard time in selecting my shoes.

Hi Kat22,
I may have to stay with ILs for a minimum of 1.5yrs, maximum of 2yrs - depending on how fast my house can be built. Developers have been telling us it'll be ready in end 2004. Really hope it'll be ready earlier so that hubby and I can spend more time together, just the 2 of us. Plan to have kids in 2005. The later the house completes, the lesser time we'll have. Plus the renovation!!! Arrgh!!! No time already!!! Of course, compared to Julia, we're much more fortunate.

Julia,
Looks like there's nothing much you can do. How about having some kids of your own after marriage, ask your MIL to take care of them. She'll be too busy to take care of the other kids. Give excuses like the kids are too noisy, your little baby can't sleep. I'm sure your MIL would do something about it since she's staying with you. Meanwhile, try to bear with it.

hi carol,
thanks for all your suggestions
really appreciate it.

hi sparks,
thanks for your encouragement...not too worried as the photographer assured us that he will be able to finish everything before the wedding

hi elaine,
the meeting with the photographer was good. he suggested Labrador park too...and showed us some pictures that he took recently of couples at that area...oopppsss...could it be you? hehe
who's your photographer? mine is Andrew Tay from The Edge. Anyway, we're still deciding...tentatively decided on Nicole highway, Ponggol and Raffles Place. Not sure if i really wanna go into Raffles Place coz I used to work around there and have a lot of customers there walking around, and my photoshoot is on a Monday afternoon...haha
so still deciding...have u selected your photos?

I guess... other than the generation gap.... it is not that bad leaving with in-laws.. cos sometimes they also take care of your.. by taking care of your three meals. But then having them around has the positive sides such as their experiences and if your MIL is not working.. if the baby comes.. she can help you to look after..
Just a few plus points to consider...
a gal fren commented to me.. how she misses her parents when she was living with them for 6 mths before her EC was ready.. and now she is on her own.. she has to take care of the household chores and it does take up a lot of their time and energy.

sob sob
thanks for all yr concern but me &amp; my hubby still trying to work things out. Me complain &amp; complain everyday.... he is also getting impatient with me. He also think that we must do something coz he is also very tired of hearing my complain &amp; he don't want me to be sooooooo unhappy but he said getting my SIL &amp; the kids out of sight is definately a NO NO.

I guess I gotta really really practice the "ren". As for hving children earlier, yes, I don't plan 2 wait as me &amp; my hubby not very young. but whether things goes as plan we will never know.

BTW, my hubby plan to wear a tux during our wedding day.........he is comtemplating whether to wear the waist band or not? I realise most wear suit. Any advise?

Hv any of u gals start to visit a gynae for at least a pepsmear? I think it is a good time to start seeing one if u r planning for any children immediately after ur wedding. It is extactly 6 month down the road.... good luck ladies.

Hey Pegsfur,
My wedding is ok lah, got smooth things and got 'happening' things also. R u on the CTE in the afternoon? We saw a silver merc on the road driving quite fast wif the rear no. plate cover up wif flowers. Was wondering whether is you.

So how's yours? Yr hubby must hav gone thru a lot in order to get you huh? Share share leh.....

Joker

Hi LMF,
One more similarity between us! I can't wear heels that are too high too! Firstly, I personally prefer something not too high cos I want to be able to walk comfortably. Secondly, I'm thin so heels that are too high make me appear very tall next to my hubby, eventhough I'm shorter. The difference in our height should be significant enough so that I won't appear skinny and he won't appear short. Saw your posting in another thread. You mentioned about the shoes from Substance. Do you think the shoes come in off-white colour? What do you think about the height? Hubby wasn't with me when I was there so didn't try out the shoes. If I ever find a shoe that's not too high, I'll inform you!

HI passion

How about your helplist? The list that states who to help what, this list will also help you to list down the things you might need - I did mine by doing DAY part and NIGHT part. and the itinerary.

joker,

Hahaha.... no lah, we didn't go thru CTE, my hubby's place at bedok mah

Anyway, same as u lor ... also got 'happening things' but mine is the dinner part where the seqence of the march-in songs &amp; VCD presentation all gone haywired ... so malu leh ...

The day event went more smoothly &amp; yes! My hubby got tekan by my Ah Yees &amp; they had alot of fun
They prepared bittergourd juice, lime juice, wasabi sandwich &amp; orange syrup for him to answer 4 questions. They drew my feet on the paper &amp; let him guess which one is mine ... surprisingly he was very certain &amp; answered correctly
The rest he answered wrongly &amp; had to consume those 'goodies'

Then he thot can 'pass' liao but no .... my bedroom door was locked &amp; he had to choose 1 of the 2 keys to open it. He 'heng heng' &amp; chose the correct one ... but b4 he can unveil me, he had to read out the 'pledge of love', sign &amp; thumb-print on it b4 he can unveil me
My ah yees had a hell of a good time

Now it's yr turn ... how did your ah yees tekan yr hubby?
How abt yr photos? Are u scanning &amp; uploading them in this forum?

Btw, read from yr other postings in another thread that u went to KL rite? Can 'gai siao' me which place to go or not? We have a complimentary stay at KL from the hotel so was thinking might be going there 1 of these holidays