(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi irene, acherly 1 session of facial is $85... I am actually paying for 7 facials... the pkg gives eye treatment ($38) FOC everytime u go for the facial plus 1 extra session of facial & eye FOC... so I think it's quite ok lor... dun make me regret leh...

hallo gals,
juz a quick one, LMF, i heard from my fren who juz had his ROM in dec that furama buffet is cheap and good! adn every 5th or 4th person eats free for the lunch buffet. think he had a good expedreince there.

Hi mushroom,
Actually there are pros and cons to church wedding. The pros are its super romantic to walk down the aisle and exchange yr vows together with the man u love,the cons are probably more things to handle for the wedding. Actually i have always thought of church wedding as something real romantic,but too bad i am not a christian. We got our love nest in the East 2 years ago,and we have been staying together for 1 year ++ already (we ROM 2.5 years ago
The wedding dinner is more towards satisfying the elderly ;)

Hi septembergal,
Are you saying that Furama hotel or Furama's restaurant is serving buffet lunch? Can you please find out more about the price and the kind of food they are serving. Appreciate that.

Hi Chin Leng,
I've sent you an email regarding the location I've been searching for. Any news so far?

Hi el,
So sorry, didn't have the time to log in so didn't see your discussion regarding Sandy's make-up. I have quite a lot of good comments about the hair-do she gave me. Perhaps you want to give me your e-mail address so that I can send you my link?

Went for my second fitting today
Finally see the embellishments on my gown
Really love it. Have also selected all the gowns for photo shoot. All in all, 3 WGs - my own MTM gown which is double spaghetti strap, one halter neck for outdoor, one bustier (not straight across type, but scallop cut). 3 EGs - one bright red, one striking blue and one sweet purplish pink

Hi LMF,

Still trying to confirm the place. I'll need to check with some friends. I'll try my best to get back to you asap.

Sorry for the delay.

Hi Choco

You are so efficient!!! Almost everything done liao.... Me still doing bit by bit..hubby not helping...
And since i am printing my wedding card inserts myself, I now have a problem with the Chinese version of it. Dunno how to use my chinese word program and can't seemed to find anything in the market which is more user friendly. Anyone can help???

dance40, my email address is [email protected]

Sorry gals, can't talk much today, still at office. By the way, will not be coming in for a while as will be again on overseas trip for next week.

Take care and have fun....

Hi Cowie,

That's a lot of gowns...
wow ! 6 gowns....
Which of the three EG will be your EG for the actual day ??? Are you taking photos with the kwa? The sweet purplish pink sounds very nice....
U must be so excited...

hi charlene,

hheheeh... didnt know u staying in sembawang leh... very near my place ah... my new house will be in admiralty so we are juz one mrt stn away... next time we can meet up often hah?

i already collected my photos liao last friday... got 4 albums of different size but my main 15R album still havent collected coz they need to redo some part of the album which was not done properly in the first place n the 24R portrait also havent collected coz too heavy liao if collect with the rest of the albums...

heheh... my wedding date same as u leh... mine on 27 may 2002... so cant recommend u my actual day photographer.... btw, wats ur budget hah? maybe u can try some that are listed in SB lor... have u contacted anyone of them already?

hey, so how's ur photos? scan some to show us leh... too bad i got no pc at home coz spoilt liao else i can scan some n show u also lah... hehhehehe...

Hi linda,
No lah......i still got many things haven do such as guo da li stuff and so on :P Actually the fun in marriage preparation is for both husband and wife to be involved in it,like that more romantic mah( thats my opinion lah
Try to get yr HTB to do something like task list on excel that kind of stuff,i'm sure guys are more technically inclined

Are u getting a printer to print the inserts? If so,the printer should have standard format for chinese version as well. If u are printing it yrself then maybe u can drop in at a printer and pretend that u are their potential customer and request to view their samples. They will show u both chinese and english standard format then u juz sit there and pretend to examine the samples but at the same time try to memorise the format loh ;)

jocelyn,

Didn't know wld 'meet' u in this thread

Yeah ... feeling a little excited & nervous ... was even thinking of going to punggol end for outdoor shots but don't know which part is good leh ... see how lah... maybe we'll go pasir ris after all

U'll be at parkway area? Think we'll leave from my house at 3, probably reach hotel at abt 3+. U call me or sms me if u r around, maybe we can meet at the bridal suite?

Morning Pegsfur,
How's yr gown colection yesterday? Got think of me when tired of the journey?

So you might be going to Punggol end for foto-shooting, is it? The one near Punggol Marina? Have you been there?

Joker

Morning joker

Hahaha... got lah .. I thot of u only once cos my hubby drove me there
If not, I think I'll keep thinking of u for the whole journey

Aiyoh, I changed my wedding gown again
Changed the initial simple bustier to a more elaborate bustier .... & has a longer train too ... don't know how am i going to walk on the actual day.

How abt yours? Made any changes like me?

I've actually been to punggol end a couple of times but still don't know which part wld be gd for photo taking. U got any recommendations or not?

Hi Cowie,
So tried all the gowns you've selected. Finally, you can smile all the way til your big day.
Are these 6 gowns for your indoor studio & outdoor photo shooting? How about kwa? Aren't you going to take photo with kwa?

Hi Kat22,

I went down to American Wedding Treasures last evening to take a look at their cards. All very pretty and had a hard time choosing what I want. When we finally decided, the lady told us: NO STOCK!!! Luckily our wedding is in Sept, so there is sufficient time for for her to order the new stock. You might like to visit the shop to take a look. Opening hours is from 11:30-7pm, Mon-Fri. Sat, I am not too sure.

The lady there is named Ginger. Very friendly and polite but their printing costs is on the high side. Better to get your own printer.

Pegsfur,
Wow, you so power, can still change gown during collection. I don think I can if I wan becos they need time for preparation.

I actually lose 2kg while I was sick but still the gown too tight for me. Sa sad......

Lucky thing is that I look slim with the gown

I actually went Punggol end to recce becos that was my initial site for foto-shoot. But hor, I realise a few pros whih you may consider.

I find the place too windy and I mess up my hair
. It is also too sandy. The lalang part si the thing I like but got to walk quite a distance becos it was fence up. So in the end I drop the idea.

In fact I prefer Pasir Ris Park

Joker

Hi pegsfur,

kekeke ... know u r one of the march brides mah, so drop in to see how's ur prep lor.

okie, if i'm there ard that time, i'll sms u

seeya! another 2 more days to ur big day!

have plenty of rest & relax urself! sleep early(if u can
), otherwise, u'll get eye bags like mine. ;P

Best wishes!!!

HAhahah...Thanks Choco...I am the one doing all the Excel format thingy now....kekekekke.....He is basically doing nothing...
But better lah, then I just do everything according to what I want! KEkekkekeke.....

I am printing them myself. The format I have but it is the software programe that I don't have.

Hi Vee Kee,

Yup, me going Mauritius on 1st June

Hi Charlene,

hey, $90 is also cheap! I decided to print my inserts myself.
Oh, my wedding date is on 26 May too
so I cannot recommend my photographer to you

Hi Chemson and LMF,
I will not be wearing a kua. But the bright read EG which I chose is pretty representative of something chinese though it is more mermaid cut
These gowns are for photoshoot. The halter neck WG will be for outdoor shoot. Other then my MTM WG, I have not confirmed which EG to take for my actual day. My bridal told me that I can either select from these gowns or to wait til closer to my wedding date to see if there are new EGs which I like

Mind if i join in? My wedding day is also the same with charlene & bluebell-May 26th. Seems like this is a v popular date.
Maybe we'll be able to meet each other on the road dat day? hee...
But the thing is i've not even collected my invites yet & I juz had my photoshoot this week. Oh dear i tink i'm rather slow n progress.

Islandpub, u staying in admiralty? Me too!!!
Which block are u staying? Mine's 679 beside the mrt stn.

Charlene, like wat islandpub says maybe u can chk out SB actual day photographers. & if they are not able to make it, they can also give u some contacts.

Hi Jolene

Can I check how much did you spend to get the cards. Thinking of getting other cards rather than from Hyatt.

long time no see activity here

i am doing(planning to print) my invites now, can u all share with me your experiences? and the contacts of printers too?

hey gim don't worry i juz did my photoshoot early this month too ;p and my actual date is 18... guess i am slow too hehee

seems 26 is really popular

Charlene, from what i know, those SB photogs who arnt available on ur date is Monica and Choon Huat, mayb u can try Hilarion? If u don't mind spending a lil more, Ming from colonjay is good for photos with a diff touch, Leslie is good too

Hi Julia,

My cards were included in my package with Sheraton. 70% of attendance. Their designs are very nice and classic. Price range is from $1-$2, I think. No printing included. I was quoted $1.70 per extra card. AWT also caters for couples from Ritz Carlton and Raffles Hotel. There were 30 designs which I can choose from.

Their shop is at Palais Renaissance, Level 3. They also have gowns and tiaras. Do visit them to take a look, ya?

Hi, gals!

I am back
Got to really catch up

Jolene - Tks! Will try to go down
Gee...u r right... i better choose early too in case there's no stock!!
Yup, understand from my wed coord that their printing charges are on the high side...hv checked other threads...seems that T Dragon and Hi Tech are gd...i might consider them
How abt u?

Chemson - Din really do much shopping this time
but i heard i may hv to go up again...this time must really find time to shop
i bought this bridal mag from HK..not as gd as ours but now i know some places where they sell the cute red packets
So, u must be very excited abt ur first fitting this sat??? hehehe...i cant wait for mine to come too

Hi Kat22,

Welcome back ! I wanted to buy bridal mags from Hk too..but like you... ours are better !
Anyway, yah ! Me.. so excited...
Shuping has done my sample embroidery, I just checked with her...
Can't wait to see it on Saturday...

Hi Jolene & Kat22,
I don't really understand. Isn't the invitation cards comes as included in your banquet or hotel package? Why do you gals need to look for cards and print by yourself? A bit Blur.

Kat22, did you enjoy your trip? HK has a lot of wedding stuffs. My sister bought kua and accessories and even the kua shoe from HK. Next time round when you go, do shop around. When is your first fitting?

Hi LMF,

Although our invite cards are included, we have to choose them from American Wedding Treasures. Sheraton gives us the choice of choosing from 30 designs.

Quite fun also cos' AWT gives us this whole big album to choose and we just flip page by page to see the designs.

I will say: Nice? Hubby will say: Not Nice, Boring, Next.... At the end of all the flipping, you may just get a "all not nice" kind of comment and you find that you have to make the choice on your own...

Most hotels only cover the cost of the cards, not the printing. We usually have to source for them on our own.

Hi Choco,

Yes church wedding is romantic. I hope my will turn out to be also cos i guess u only feel romantic when u r the audience. Don't know how it feels when u r the subjects themselves hee hee..

oic.. how nice. my love nest is in the north. just got it last yr end and completed reno a few mths back. now bascially just need to prepare for wedding...
as the date come nearer, really feel that the dinner is just for satisfying e elderly. I would be so contented to have a nice church wedding and then reception and be pronounced man n wife, full stop ! hee hee ...

Hi Jolene,
Oh I See! But i didn't know that printing cost is excluded in hotel package. So these are so called "Hidden Cost". Oops! I think i better check with my banquet if they do provide cards with printing. Just in case.... Thanks for highlighting.

if you have seen my previously postings, you might know that i quit without a job. i have been idling for exactly one month but now.... i found a job!!!! starting next monday.

thanks for all the consolation and concern from u gals when i was upset over my previous job!

btw, my internet connection at home is down. now using my fren's computer. i will try to log on when i start work.

very busy today....writing a long overdue report and just came back from meeting !
now taking a short break..hehe...

wow, 26 May is really really really popular !
I've only found 1 possible photographer and will be viewing his works next week...how do u gals find nick goh ?
cheer, heard leslie is good, but she specialises in b&w right, I prefer the traditional ones, so dunno whether should call her or not ?
regretting not doing my homework earlier...

I just selected my photos yesterday !!
excited to see the actual 15R will turn out...
islandpub, u are really fast ! Can they do touchup on the 15R photos? I tot after they develop into 15R then that is it...?
I got PC but no scanner, why don't we combine resources ? ...hehe, since we live so near each other....

where are all of u going to take outdoor photos on the actual day ? maybe we can all go to the same place...mass wedding...interesting !

Blossom, this piece of news is great! Where is your new working place? You must be over surfing the internet too much last month, that's why your internet connection is down.
Do hope you join us back as soon as possible.

Hi gim,

Not to worry
I also just had my phtoshoot last Fri and then Sunday I asked my sis to print out my invites for me but still no news from her yet. I'm gonna go for DIY

So how come your invites not ready yet? Have you sent for printing or you have not collected from the hotel/restaurant?

Wah, 3 of us on the same dates! So where are you and Charlene having your reception?

hi charlene,

i saw some of the pics which nick goh posted in this forum... seems not bad leh.... think u can consider lor... anyway u meet him first n see how lah.. coz initially i think quite a lot of ppl here were pissed by his attitude but i think he realised his "mistakes" and has since changed for the better so no worry lah.. hehehe...

i think they got do the touch-up lah but dun expect much lor... i mean things like extra fats at the arms dun expect them to be able to touch up n "remove" it lah... which was wat happen to me lor.. blame it on myself for not doing exercise lor... heehheh..... so for those of u who havent taken ur pics, if u ve the same prob as me, do take note of this n maybe highlight to the photographer during ur photoshoot so that they dun take pics that show ur fats if u ve any... hehhehehe.... me discover too late.. sigh...

charlene, ur suggestion not bad leh.. y dun u bring ur pc to my hse then... hehheheheeheheheh.....

aiya, for me i wont be able to meet u all on the road or for actual day outdoor lah since mine is on 27 may, n u all on 26 may... hehhehe... but i try to picture u all end up at same place taking outdoor pics.. hmm... really interesting... hehehheh....

Hi Charlene,

My wedding is also on the 26th of May! maybe you can try Triston Yeo? I dunno if he is booked but he was one guy that I find is quite good. His no. can be found on the SB contact list. Hilarion is taken for that date (I tink half of the day, forgot which part) when I asked him back in Nov last year.

Nick Goh's works look quite good too. Can consider...

BTW, I think your $90 for cards printing is a good deal! the $80 is not on inserts and no gold strings! I may go to Hi-Tech instead!!! Got any number for me to call??

Hi Bluebell!

Wow! we have the same wedding day as well!
So see you in Mauritious then!!!

Hi, gals

Chemson, LMF - i hv just changed my first fitting date to 18 Mar..was supposed to be 19 Mar but Fh cannot make it...hehehe..better for me 'cos that means i get to see my gown earlier

Blossom - Really happy for you
Congrats! Congrats! It's always gd to hv a long break...bet u r recharged n ready for your new job!

Jolene - r u taking 2 designs?

Wow, Choco,

U really have done a lot of stuff.

BTW, Mushroom and Fantasy, my WD also on 22.06.02. I'm just taking my photos next week. I am printing my own cards also, not putting any chinese words, don't know how to lah. I Haven't buy the papers yet, just got the inserts, my hubby also not doing anything, so good life hor!

I am having a church WD, just starting to go for class, have not finalise my dinner. Aiyah, anyway a lot of things not done. So don't worry gals, you are all alot better than me.

I am taking things at my own stride.

Chemson/My Melodys/LMF/SSL n all..

i went to the bridal shop n chose 4 gowns..but then..i'm getting indecisive n called them up to say tat i'll like to take a look at the gown tat i chose n to try somemore...the story goes like tat :

i chose 2 WGs -1 spagetti strap with flowery 'designs' at the bust area n circumference of train. the other is a "halter" its not a real halter just tat there r 2 straps tat gives the halter effect.

2 EGs
1 maroon red spagetti with ruffles at the bust area..the other is a striking blue with criss-cross back (the problem lies here)
actually i like the blue EG very much..1stly coz of the colour (striking) n then also..its fits me n doesnt show my big hips!
but then...after i went home..my mind starts to fickle..i keep thinking whether the blue EG is too striking..
told my sis n colleagues the next day n their reaction was like "huh striking blue ah!"

i started to get paranoid n my mind was all on the colour of the gown..how the effect would b..will it b too striking ( i intend to wear it 4 outdoor shots also)
i called my co-ordinator..she then managed to get a date where their schedule is not so tight so tat i can try the gowns (n other gowns) again.
me feel so paiseh..but i noe if i dun go n c again..i wont have a peace of mind! tot of changing it to something more warm or sweet.

i can choose 2 other gowns (1 WG n 1 EG) for the actual day...think i better choose carefully....so tat i wont regret after tat!

Cowie
hey..i read thru this thread n found out tat u also chose striking red n blue EG!! at least i'm more "comforted"
u noe...i emailed some pioneer brides from my bridal n told them the story..n asked for assurance..
*sigh* me getting paranoid liao..(is this the word to use? ie like "sum xi xi" if u noe wat it means in cantonese

Kat22
enjoy ur fitting k..n let us noe later..

el
abt the guestbook alternative..the idea on poloroid is good..then paste the stickers..in fact i know tat Sweetiee (in other threads) did tat ...quite cute actually..something diff from the normal book..but where to get poloroid camera??

septembergal
a lot having same date as mine? well...mayb they chose the dates also..my MIL chose a few 'auspicious' dates..but weekend the hotel all taken..so settled on a tues instead.

julia andrew
hey..u are not alone man...it seems like still quite sometime b4 sept but i'm getting a little 'stir-up' over the wedding prep..just the photoshoot thing can get me excited for the whole nite...*sigh* my hubby say cannot imagine the actual day!

but then...other than the photoshoot thing..wat r things tat have to be done for the moment?
the rest like no need to be done so soon rite..ie guestlist..invitation cards...etc

Last but not least..sorry for this long posting! hehehe

Hi islandpub,

yar, going to call nick goh soon. actually left a message on his voic mail, but he neber reply leh...so going to call him again...
I dun expect them to touch up the fats, but should touch up the pimples !

Wah, bully me, want me to bring the PC to ur house...:P think ur scanner is lighter right...dun like that lar...

Hi vee kee, thanks for the info, have asked for Triston's quotes...he is one of Zoe tay's photographer leh...but zoe tay so pretty, even an amatuer photographer can take nice pictures of her

Contact of Hi-Tech :
Person : MeiYen
Tel : 64589455
Fax : 64537558
Email : [email protected]
Address : Blk 4010 AMK Ave 10 #03-01/02 Tech Place 1 S(569626)

courtesy from Raymond from another thread...but he gave the wrong floor, so my poor hubby went to 2nd floor and found a "fine precision engineering" company

Kat22: wow... you keep bringing your fitting date forward, huh ? Great to hear that! 2 more days to go.... Ahhh... getting excited..

Blossom: Congrats for getting a new job !

Yvonne: I guess all of us feel 'sum xi xi' when it comes to picking out designs esp the colour !! Dun worry.... go and try on the gowns again and have a better feel. I guess striking colours are good as it stands out in the photo ! I have seen one of the JWN brides photo and her EG is striking red and it really stands out in the pic.. so dun worry too much, ok ? Think better get your hubby or your gal fren to follow you down to get another perspective ! Good luck, ok ?

Hi linda,
Oh i cccc,i thought u wanted the chinese format,i "biao chuo qing liao" haha but regarding the software,i only used 1 type b4,but that type is not bad loh,i think the software's name is "chinese star" soemthing like that, not quite sure also.Actually if u only print english version on yr inserts it would be worthwhile to print yrself but if got chinese version,i think going to a professional but cheaper printer would be better leh cos i think chinese software sure very difficult to use one and not too sure about their space function and so on......then by the time u finish the whole thing half dead liao then might as well pay slightly more at the printer(juz my point of view lah,no offense yah :P ) I paid juz slightly more than 100 dollars nett for 250 cards(hot-stamping) and they did it within 1 week,fast and fuss-free ;)

Hi mushroom,
I agree with u totally man!Initially i thought marriage is about the two of us and we will have a wedding of our dreams with things done in our way,our likings. Now as the days come nearer,i realised that this wedding dinner is juz abt the elderly,things got to be done in their way or else face black black :P If i know that this is going to happen,i sure juz go for honeymoon wedding and full-stop :P

Hi sweet,
wow..........so nice ..the three of u all getting married on the same day,i until now
still never see anyone who gets married on the same day as me. Guess maybe my date not so auspicious but its okie lah cos i not "bandang"

Thanks for the consolation. Anyway, i juz went to to collect my invites in the evening. Going to call Hi-Tech for qoutation tomorrow. Thanks for the contact Charlene.

Bluebell. i din collect fr hotel coz was bz with work & preparing for photoshoot. My banquet will be held in hotel new otani. Wat abt urs?

Hv not decided where to go for phototaking dat day. Any suggestions? I think we are going to see lots of bridal cars on the road dat day.

Islandpub, hv u moved into ur new place alrdy?