(2002) Brides of year 2002

I agree with sheep.... your band for the white gold must be thick. I guess it's up to the individual preference whether you want it in platinum or white gold.... and it also depends on your budget as well. actually.. have not really 'choop' my jiemeis... yet... did tell a few oredi.. am sure they will make the day available for me...

joker,

Oh yes ... must get helpers to bring those stuff u mentioned .... I never thot of it leh ...

And I just decided to get the mini cakes from sweet secrets for my colleagues instead of the normal ones

Aiyoh, think I 'tao tiah' already .....

Hi Pooh,

My wedding banquet is booked with Pine Tree Club. And I have a MTM package with JWN. Err..as for things to bargain for, I can't remember too much of what we bargain for when we took the package. I guess not too many stuffs cos' I have a few friends who actually took up JWN package before and from their recommemdations, I am very confortable and confident that JWN will do a good job for us. But, we did ask them whether we can exchange few more pics for stuffs included in the package that we do not need it. For example table top photo frame and a wall hung frame. Oh yeah, our original package is $4899 but in the end, they let us have the same package but with the price of $4388 instead. My photo shoot is in July, 5 months before my wedding in Dec. I was thinking of August instead. Anyway, where is your wedding banquet going to be at?

Hi Jolene,
Thanks for sharing your photos. You look really sweet and pretty!

When choosing either platinium or white gold ring, one more thing to note. Some people are not suited to wear white gold.....their perspiration etc tend to corrode the white gold, causing it to change colour. I was afraid my hubby was one of those people, so we chose a pair of platinum bands from Aspial. Very nice overall design (from the Kizoku range), no regrets so far

Kat22: Wow... 5 days after my first fitting... we will have lots to discuss then... so excited !! Actually.. the rings these days are always rounded... it would be unique to get a curvy one....
Yep... good luck with the hunt....
Am sure you will find your ideal ring!

sheep: U must be so delighted and happy when your hubby proposed to you in the signature blue box from Tiffany.... how many carat is your proposal ring (if U dun mind me asking...:P)

angelia,

Ya lor.......
for the 20% not so bad coz using CPF and grant.
But for the cash that the owners want is a big headache.........
So we're looking for one slowly lor.... what to do........

but new flat in non-mature estate are cheap but tooooo far from town........inconvenience etc.........

By the way, regarding the wedding gown.
What do you think if I had a simple spagetti strap one for the day and a tube for the evening?

Irene

Pegsfur, why 'tao tiah' leh? I tot you are the earliest one who are the most prepared?
Don worry, 'chuan dao qiao tou zi ran zhi'. We still have time to remind one other so not so bad loh.

Joker

Sheep, i really envy you. You can have a solitaire proposal ring, a platinum wedding band and now a new pair for your whole wedding events. I can only have this pair of band for my whole entire wedding event. No rings for proposal and not even flowers...!
Thanks for your advice. I've chosen the platinum ones since it's just about $300 difference compared to white gold.

Kat22, you're welcome. Luckily my FH does not mind about the design. He leave it to me and just be there to pay. Let me know if you need my card no. for the discount.

As for jiemeis, I already asked 4 friends and 2 rejected me.
One is having her wedding in Dec, so afraid that might clash. The other is some personal reason. Might need to look for 1 or 2 more.

jolene, wow, u mean that the rom gown will in the end become ur wg? that's so cool. pple can see how the gown has "matured" by comparing ur rom n wedding day pics.

chemson, sure, will tell u if i cannot find any makeup artiste i like at margaret.

kat, i'm flying to us. i'm scheduled to visit southern us n maybe east coast.

sheep, wah, a proposal ring fr tiffany!

Hi Cowie,
The platinum ring that I'm wearing now is also from Aspial (the Kizoku range). I've been wearing it for 2 years and that was my birthday gift from my FH.

Do you know that Aspial does diamond items trade-in? If you happens to have Aspial/Lee Hwa diamond items, (not wedding band of course), you can trade-in your old design to have new things or design. But on one condition: it must be of Aspial/Lee Hwa (in-house) range; Meaning if it is Furrer-Jacot or Kizoku range, they will not allow trade-in. Just to share with everyone.

Hi Kat22 & Chemson,
I wasn't expecting any proposal actually. He hid the blue box with the intention of letting me find it 'accidentally'. I was moved to tears when he proposed. The discovery of the ring was a memorable moment. My ring is 0.3carat. The size is just nice for my skinny fingers.

Kat22,
Have you tried searching at Gold Heart? Heard from friends that they've got really nice simple rings. Sigh, you're also going for your fitting... envy leh... I'll let you know my designs once it's confirmed.

Hi LMF,
I remember reading a magazine about wedding bands engraving. One very interesting and unique way is to engrave, 'Taken - (date)'. I think it's cool. Maybe add on your initials somewhere...

Hi Och,

Whoa, go US for early honeymoon issit?
Ya, the ROM gown will be enhanced to be my wedding gown. I like the design so I am quite happy.

Hi Cowie,
Thanks for your compliments.

Hi Kat,
Do you know what type of invite card designs Sheraton offers?

Sheep, do you know the meaning "Taken - (date)"? Taken as in the wedding date or the day we bought the ring? What do you gals think about engraving words with colours so that it's easily be seen?

hihi!
i got my platinum wedding bands from aspial too. I have been wearing it since rom last july. guess what, after wearing for abt 2 mths, my fh suggest bringing the rings for cleaning. the gal there commented that my ring a bit out of shape but my fh's perfect when usually it's the other way round! my fh turns to me and gave me that yaya look, so angry!

ok la, i admit i drop it once. i am quite clumsy sometimes. but aspial told me that if you take good care of the rings, they will not go out of shape so easily. anyway, my ring was adjusted back.

sheep, so romantic! ur hubby really takes care to make the whole thing a surprise.

jolene, nope, i'm going to us for work, not for honeymoon.

joker,

Yah lah, maybe I've already done those major stuff but those little details one ... I'm cracking my head to think what else is left undone.

Hahaha.... yah lor.... at least we still have one another to remind each other ...

So what time wld yr hubby come & fetch u on the actual day? See if we can meet each other on the roads or not?

I must admit to keep the wedding bands' longevity, I usually take it off when I reach home. My hubby has the habit to wear it continously... I also try to clean my bands by putting in in warm water overnite and then cleaning them the following day with a used toothbrush. Not too sure abt engraving the words in colour.... wonder if the jewellers can do it or not?

Hi LMF,
'Taken' means you're booked by your hubby, not available anymore. The date would be either your ROM date or actual wedding date. It simply means the day you consider yourself not available anymore. Interesting, right?

Hi Blossom,
You're so cute!
Why so 'chor lor'?

Hi Och,
This is the most romantic thing my hubby has done so far. I'm not expecting any more surprises for a long while.

Hi Chemson,
You really take good care of your ring! I only remove it and place it on my dressing table. Err... never clean before leh... since last August...

Hi Chemson,
Wow, I'm impressed. Like Sheep, I also just remove in when I reach home and just place it on my dressing table..... it will be there until the next morning when I wear it

Hey, actually I think it is a good idea to engrave the "Taken" thingy..... but well, we opted for the plain old name plus date thing.... but instead of initials like the norm, we put our names in the way we address each other in our cards for each other or "love letter" ....

Cowie, thanks for the pictures! Wow! You are really sweet-looking. I love your dress - it suits you so well. Do you know how it will be modified into your WG yet?

Jolene, I will be sending you email soon.

Bearbear: Welcome!! We are getting married on same day - and guess what! We are considering giving mini mooncakes or lanterns as wedding favours too.
But also considering other things, so have not decided yet. Where will your reception be?

Och, Chemson, Sheep: Think I will be sending out my first group of invites in late June (for overseas guests), and in mid July for Singaporean guests. Backup list will be sent 3 weeks before wedding. Realistic?

I have seen some v.good comments about Monica and Hilarion from other threads. Think Hilarion is booked for my wedding day. Hmm... I can't remember for who though? Is it for you, Kat22?

I am overseas, so how do you girls suggest I book my actual day photographer? We are not taking any pre-wedding shoot, just actual day, in line with the western traditions. Our personal opinion is that wedding photos should be just about the wedding day. How much have you girls budgeted for actual wedding day photography? How much deposit did you pay to book your photographer?

Gals, about the wedding rings, I think what was discussed here was so cool! Another place to check out is BPde Silver at Raffles City! Nice selection and really good prices too.

Hmm... think I have found my WG here!! But I wonder if it will be hot wearing it in Singapore though. I have not paid any deposit yet, but may go back in 2 weeks to do that.
There is a massive wedding show here in London this weekend. I might go and check out for ideas. Will come back and share with you all if I really go.

Gals, some of you are planning to make your own invites and programmes,right? Will it end up cheaper? I am not having church wedding, so I wonder if I even need to make programme sheets for guests.

Sheep, what your FH did to propose was really sweet. AWw... you were moved to tears... that must be quite memorable.

I am keen to hear more proposal stories... come on gals.... share leh....

Och, bon voyage! won't forget you lah!

On Si dian jin, anyone knows the significance? I am Hokkien too, but I don't wear much gold jewellery, so when my mum said she will buy me bangles etc, I have not said ok yet. I thought it's quite a waste if I just keep them in drawers later. My FH is Teochew, does this mean I get the Si Dian Jin? But his whole family is also Peranakan and they don't seem to know anything about this. Sigh! Looks like I won't get any of this from them. Oh well, never mind....

Hi May-Brides,

Yah..the date is drawing near, and I getting a bit panicky coz too nua liao!

Juz bot a King Koil Bed from Robinsons...$1k+ *sigh* Wanted to buy Simmons but it would cost me another $800 more. So settle for soemthing just as comfy for less...

Will be doing my food tasting this Sun and will be collecting cards for printing as well... The printers I am thiking of going is charging $80 for 300 pcs or less, any of you have lower quotes than this?

Highlight hair? I was also toying with the idea but decided against it. Coz there are spray on colours so better to play wif. Scully dun like the colour that I coloour my hair then jia lat liao...:P

Hi, ladies

Hey, thanks for sharing all ur experiences n thots abt wedding bands..sure is useful! Hmm...I hope I will be as discipline as Chemson in taking care of my rings
Looks like many of u hv gotten ur rings from Aspial. We came across a nice pair from Furrer-Jacot but so ex!

LMF - tks so much for offering! U are so kind
Will let u know if I am buying my rings from Aspial

Sheep - wah...ur hubby so romantic!!! I will be moved to tears too!!!
how can u not say yes after that rite? hehehe....did check out Goldheart...in fact i quite like some of their designs but we are still looking around
Hvnt seen The One yet :P

Cowie - oh, I never thot abt that! My FH perspire quite alot! Maybe we shld get the platinum ones...

oh, anyway, he said that he wanted to wear it around his neck like Jackie Cheung! ...I was hoping he will wear it on his finger leh! But he said very weird to wear ring...sigh....Do ur hubbies wear their rings? Wonder if i am being too fussy??!

Chemson - yup, just 5 days apart! Cant wait
Hope it turn out well...abit nervous...wah, u sure take gd care of ur rings! Gd work!!

och - wow, going to US! Is ur hubby going wiz u? hehehe...can be pre-wedding honeymoon trip

Jolene - We get to choose from 30 designs for our invitation cards...Sheraton is tied with American Wedding Treasures and the cards are from there
I hv seen them and some are really nice
My wedding coordinator said that I can choose 2 different designs too...Check with ur coordinator..I am sure u can choose 2 designs too

mushroom - nope, my wedding is 1 day after urs (on 22 Sep) n my photographer is Benny Ang. Yup, Hilarion n Monica are very gd! Seen their works on their website...impressive! U might wanna oso check out Andrew Tay from The Edge Photography and Ray Ong of Photo Language too....it is actually better if u can meet the photographers in person so that u can view their works n oso see if u can click with them. H/w, if u are not coming back anytime soon, perhaps u might wanna check out their websites and correspond via email? Wonder if they can email u some pics of their recent work as well?

Hi Gals:

mushroom: I guess if you really want to book the actual day photographers... you can do so via their email addresses. It costs from $600 to $800 for the normal photo shots.. but if you want journalistic and black and white shots, the cost will be higher. For the case of Choon Huat, he does not take deposit, it is based on trust. Personally.. I like both Choon Huat of Fast Soup Photography and Monica. I chose Monica because I can click with her. However, I am sure they will make provisions for you since you are overseas, right? Both och and Aileen are using Hilarion. Och's wedding day is the same as mine.. 14/9. think Aileen's wedding is 28/9... I am not having a church wedding and I won't be having a programme. Since oyu FH is a teochew, he may want to do the 'si dian jin' thingy.. do check with him, ok ?? I am not doing the programme thingy as I have got no church wedding...
When will you be back to prepare for your wedding stuff?

Kat22: Yep... 5 days ! Can't wait !! Oh yes... my hubby initially wanted to be like Jacky Cheung and wear his ring around his neck... he somehow changed his mind.. and started to wear it on his finger after our ROM and it has never left his finger unless I took it out for cleaning...

Hi Kat22,
My hubby wears the ring on his finger. He was not used to it initially and he always forgets. I forget once in a while too. We decided that the party who forgets to wear the ring will be punished. The one who forgets the ring will have a 'flower ring' drawn on the finger. Now, he wears it everyday.

Hi Gals of the September 2002 Thread,

There are in total 720 messages past and not including the present list... some of us may have 'disappeared' long ago and of course we have new additions...plus the active list of gals (including me..:P), I guess to refresh and keep each other updated... let's update ourselves again..by providing our wedding day, bridal shop, banquet venue, actual day photographer (if you have booked) and studio photographer. I will try my best to compile again...
Thanks....

I will start the ball rolling...

Chemson: 14 Sept 2002
Bridal Shop: Flamingo Bridal
Wedding Banquet: Four Seasons Hotel
Photoshoot: Montage
Actual Day Photographer: Monica Eng

Hi Chemson,
Thanks for offering to compile the list. Actually, I'm a little lost and confused already. This family is too HUGE! Anyway, my details are as follow,

Sheep: 22 Sept 2002
Bridal Shop: Tan Yoong
Wedding Banquet: Shangrila
Photoshoot: Andrew Choi
Actual Day Photographer: Hehehe... still trying to find one

Morning Pegsfur,
My mom said we got to leave our hse before 9am. Where you staying? Maybe we can meet each other leh. Me staying in Sengkang and our love nest is in Hougang.

Joker

cowie... did I hear something about pics?? care to share with me ur pics pleaseee...
Think you know my email address...

Hi, Chemson

Knew can always count on u to make life easy for us

Kat22: 22 Sep 2002
Bridal Shop: Flamingo Bridal
Wedding Banquet: Sheraton Towers
Photoshoot: The Edge Photography
Actual Day Photographer: Benny Ang

Hi Waves,

So did your hairstylist provide the colours or did you have to buy your own? Will the colours go off if it rains?

Sorry for the qns coz i never use colour spray before

Hi Vee Kee,

$80 is cheap if you have 300 pcs. Is it gold-stamping? I checked with T-dragon. Each pc is $0.40 + the plate is $80.

Hi Kat22 and Sheep,

My pleasure ! I dun mind the compiling cos I myself am confused... cos there are so many people getting married in Sept and I am sure the list will grow...
I will wait for the rest to respond by this weekend and will compile next week, ok ?

Hi Chemson,

Here's my info:

Jolene: 15 Sept 2002
Bridal Shop: Jazreel Low Collections
Banquet: Sheraton Towers (same as Kat!!)
Photoshoot: Inhouse
Actual Day: My photographer friend.

Thanks Kat, for the invite card info. Will check with my coordinator.

Hi Bluebell,

No it is normal printing. For hot stamping, it costs $50 for the plate and $0.50 cents per piece. So if you have a lot probably T-dragon is cheaper...

Hi Nana,

I lack enthusiasim probably becoz I wasn't too keen to hv this chinese dinner but under the Bo-Pian Act, I have to do it. It hasn't really sunk in yet that it's only 4 months away.

I'm having my 1st appt quite late coz I'm not doing any photoshoots so there's no hurry. And give me more time to slim down! Not that I've lost much...*sigh*

Where're you holding your dinner?

Hi Gals of the September 2002 Thread,

Guess I will bold my message to make it more obvious for all to respond faster..
There are in total 720 messages past and not including the present list... some of us may have 'disappeared' long ago and of course we have new additions...plus the active list of gals (including me..:P), I guess to refresh and keep each other updated... <FONT COLOR="0000ff">let us do another updated by stating your wedding day, wedding bamquet, bridal studio, your studio photographer and your actual day photographer (if you have not found one.. it's ok) </FONT>so as to keep us updated and less confused...
No worries I will do the compilation....

hello

here's my info too!!!

jk : 21st Sept 2002
Bridal Shop : Julia Wedding News
Banquet : Orient Ocean Resturant
Photoshoot : Inhouse
Actual Day : Yet to confirm

hi sheep,
i also dunno why i am so clumsy. my fh is much more careful than me. sometimes, i feel he is more like a mother than a hubby to me.

hi jolene,
i have seen ur photos. wow! u are so tall and slim. r u a model? ur dress is very nice. the photos are very well-taken too.

hi chemson,
so nice of u to suggest that. actually, i am getting rather confused too. maybe we can start a sept 02 brides' club and have outings like the other months' brides in SB.

ok, here are my info...
Blossom: 9 Sept 2002
Bridal Shop: Christian Creation
Wedding Banquet: Hotel Intercontinental
Photoshoot: Inhouse
Actual Day Photographer: Inhouse

Hi! Me ever post mssg in Sept bride but once a while due to busi workload.paiseh hor.
But i wanto join in the 'compilation' as well.

Loreal: 28 Sept 2002
Bridal Shop: Christian Creation
Wedding Banquet: Hotel New Otani
Photoshoot: wat u mean by photoshoot???
Actual Day Photographer: Provided in Package

Chemson, Me too! I also want to participate in this...

LMF: 22 Sept 2002
Bridal Shop: Fame Bridal Collection
Wedding Banquet: IMM Convention Hall
Photoshoot: Fame Bridal Collection
Actual Day Photographer: Alan Dai
Actual Day Videographer: Eric Tan from Mirage

Hi Sheep,
Thanks for your explanation. Such a simple word can means something so significant. Might consider engraving this meaningful word.

Oops! 4got one thing

Actual day Videographer: Eric Tan from Mirage
Photoshoot: Christian Creation

Hey! LMF, me and u same same using Eric leh...
U take a full package with montage or only videography? Me still considering leh.

Hi Mushroom,
Thanks for your compliments!
But I think you are mistaken......that is my ROM dress, my WG will be something entirely different.......
It is Jolene who will have her ROM gown modified into her WG.....

Hi Chemson,
Thanks for offering once again
Here's my details:
Cowie:15 Sept 2002
Bridal Shop: Yvonne Creative
Wedding Banquet: Marina Mandarin
Photoshoot: In-house
Actual day photographer: Choon Huat

Hi Loreal,
Ya! What a coincidence! I'm taking his videography only bcos my dinner venue hall is long in shape, spacious, high ceiling. I think it's a waste to place a projector if my guest seating at the back can't see it, right? It depends on your ballroom size and shape to see whether it's suitable for video presentation. Well the choice is yours!

Hi Blossom &amp; Loreal,

Do make sure they give you a reputable one.... cos that incident which the photographer molested the bride freelanced for Christian Creation. Pls be careful and take caution, ok ?

Hi gals: Will compile the list by early next week.. waiting for the rest to respond...

Hi LMF!
I personally think the "Taken..." engraving is very meaningful. I may consider engraving that if I buy a new pair of bands.

So you booked Alan Dai!!! I was trying to get him but he told me he's booked. He recommended his partner but I'm not sure how good his partner is.

Hi! Chemson,

Thks for reminding!

Yah... after getting a shock from the molesting news...I guess blossom &amp; me are keeping our fingers cross ... This CC damn suay to have fallen pray due to the wrongdoings of the free lancer.

Sheep, you mean you looked for him too! Have you viewed his work before? He is recommended by another photographer which i first approach, Mark Teo. Heard of him? Too bad, he is being booked on my big day so he asked me to look for Alan. He said there's no need to view Alan's work bcos every one knows his work is very good.

At that time, i still prefer to take a look so i called him for an apptmt but he's always too busy to meet. Then i came to know from my videographer that he could recommend a professional photgrapher to me. Guess What! It's Alan again. So Coincidence! From that point onwards, i told myself that i can forget about viewing his work and just confirmed with him.

At the time i called him for a confirmation, he said that he will come to my house for my viewing before i commit myself to him. I think it's very kind and thoughtful of him. Anyway, so sorry and pai seh about that!
Why don't you view his partner's works first before you decide anything. Just count myself lucky!

joker!!!

My hse in Hougang leh
... &amp; I'll be staying at my hubby's hse temporarily at Bedok ... Is yr hse those new blocks near Ang Mo kio sec sch?

But u leave so early ah ... my hubby will come at 8.30, then he'll go thru the tekan session by my ah yees b4 heading to his home ... think we can leave by 9+ ... wonder if we can meet each other?

Hi Chemson,
Just a suggestion: What do you think about sending us a soft copy of what you compiled as well? Cos, if you post it here, when our msg start coming in...... we will find it very hard to keep track again. Very hard to keep scrolling up to find lah
Just a suggestion lah, if it is too troublesome, then please don't bother....