(2002) Brides of year 2002

Pegsfur, we bought a resale flat at Hougang Ave 5. It is an old flat liao. Hmm..... looking at the timing, we might not meet each other base ont the timing. After we left Sengkang, we will go take fotos. Most probably will reach Hougang about 11+. Maybe by the time you 'hui2 niang2 jia1' and I 'hui2 niang2 jia1' thenwe might meet loh. Which part of Hougang you staying huh?

Joker

Hi Mist,

I was also thinking of Aug for photoshoot! July is really way too soon and I am worried that they dun have enuff time to make my gown.

BTW, have sent you a email with some queries : )

rgds,
Pooh

Hi Cowie,

I dun mind... giving everyone a softcopy....great idea ! Not too troublesome at all ! Yep.... I will email everyone when it's ready..

heehee.... where's hougang point huh? Ave 5 is quite near Florida condo. There's a big canal in front of my hse. About 10 mins walk to Hougang Plaza.

Joker

Hi LMF,
Consider yourself blessed for having Alan Dai for your actual day photography! My colleague had her actual day done by him and I've seen his work. Nice! I like the white border on his pictures. Makes the picture look like a postcard. Very nice! Don't worry, he is capable of producing beautiful pictures! Hey, if you still don't feel safe hor, let me have him lor...
Hahaha... just kidding! Sigh... you've taken away Alan Dai...
I'll be viewing his partner's work sometime in March, hopefully, he's as good as Alan.

Hi Cowie,
That's a good suggestion! We don't have to scroll up and down anymore!
Maybe we should include our email address so that Chemson can send it to us?

Oh ..... I know where it is liao

Huh? U don't know where is hougang pt? Hey, that's the most 'happening' place at hougang leh ... It's a meeting place for the ah sohs ...
& it has the biggest NTUC in S'pore (i think). Next time u must buy yr grocery there ..... very happening one ...

hi! me back!

wah! looks like i really muz buck up! u guys are really way ahead of me, and i was thinking of early dec too! sigh...pls pray for me that i can get a hotel for a weekday dinner. i kinda like the idea, so i dun have to worry abt going around for photo shoot on actual day ;0

i've narrowed down to divine and wedding present--can't decide between them yet...any comments, anyone? i'm completely lost, coz my friends are either happily married with kids, or they are happy with their single status...so there isn't any one who can offer really CONSTRUCTIVE suggestions now lor!

hey, if say i dun want any studio photo or car, etc, how to negotiate with the bridal studios for better price or alternatives? is it possible to begin with?

btw, any one know abt benny ang? got pictures to show? PLEASE?

sorry lah, to bombard with queries...appreciate any reply! thanks!

Hey, where is it huh? Is it the on near Yio Chu Kang Rd? eh.... but I tot tat one Hougang Green? Ah yo Hougang still got happening place meh. Don wan lah me don wan to join the ah sohs 'ju4 le4 bu4' leh

My di4 pan2 is in AMK.

Hey did you change money during CNY huh? for the ang paos. We 4got to change, now bank no more changing new notes liao. Me like ah soh now, asking my nearby ah soh whether got new notes to change. Heehee....

Joker

Hi Sheep

Did u try Choon Huat, Ray Ong, etc? I heard this Ken Tay from Black Box Photography is very gd too...my fren is hving him as his actual day photographer. His is the journalistic style as well. Think u can contact him at 3272443. Wish u luck!!

I'm new here. I'm a Sep bride too. My wedding date is 28 Sep and I've signed up with Moments in Life @ The Riverwalk. I wonder anyone heard of Chor Hui from Photojoy for actual day photo?

Hi Chemson!

Here are my details to add to the list
! Thanks for compiling!

AiLeen : 28 Sept 2002 (church) 29 Sept 2002 (dinner)

Bridal Shop : Debbie Lim (BluMesh)

Dinner Venue : Goodwood Park Hotel

Photoshoot : D-I-Y, FH taking with a little help from friends and his tripod!

Actual Day photographer : Hilarion Goh

Hiyo Loreal and Happy98! we all getting hitched on the same day! yay! got kaki!

more on the quest for tracing paper...today went down to Popular at Orchard and saw them selling for $9.50 for 40 A4 sheets...this is becoming obssessive!
I'm just being very stingy but I wanna get it absolutely cheap!

think I will get my wedding bands from Larry lah, they have very good service, just got a string of pearls restrung there cos they were very old (from my mom) and we bot my engagement ring there too!

anyway, Feb ends TODAY..that means 7 more months to go (6 plus if u r getting married earlier in September)...scary..time is running pretty quickly!

hi chemson,
thks for the reminder. i was shocked when i knew abt that. i was quite worried but i cannot afford to forfeit my deposit so just keeping my fingers crossed. i will be extra careful.

Hello all, been quite a while since I last came into this forum. Was very busy with work.

Yeah, Angelia, congrats to you on your profile upgrade to the level of 'Mrs'. Heeheee...

Miko, JenJen, Starfruit, Angelia
it was a good time talking to you. I support Angelia to have bi-monthly kind of gathering if monthly is too frequent.

This year's Chinese New Year is special for me as it is my last time receiving Hong Bao. Next year is my turn to distribute. I spend my New year as what I used to for past years, but this year had some hiccups.... don't want to mention about it anymore.

Anyway, it over now. Let's look forward to the coming holiday in March.....
but before that,
looking forward to my first fitting....

chemson, u r such a gem, always so willing to help. i was getting v. confused abt the wedding details for everyone n i dun know where in the archive was ur last summary.

och: 14 sept 02
banquet: grand hyatt, grand ballrm (hv to specify cos julia's wedding is on the same day n same hotel)

bridal: margaret brides
photoshoot: serangoon broadway
actual day: hilarion goh

my email addr is [email protected].

kat: nope, hubby not coming along. we seldom accompany each other on working trips, dun want to be bored to death while the other is attending to work.

hi aileen

So, you are the one who 'snatched' Hilarion from me!!! (just joking.) when did u confirm with him that u're getting his svc for your actual day? i'm one of them who got his $650 package and i called him up b4 cny but oni last week then i decided to meet up with him to view his portfolio. so, we arrranged to meet up on Tue (26 Sep). it was on that day, just b4 we met up, then he realized that he has been taken up on my wedding day!
So, he referred Chor Hui from Photojoy to me. I hope she can produce what i want.

Hi Chemson

as i'm new here, i think ur idea of compiling the detail is great!

wedding day: 28 sept 02
banquet: Teochew City @ Centrepoint
bridal: Moments in Life @ The Riverwalk
photoshoot: Inhouse
actual day: Chor Hui from Photojoy

btw, i'm going to choose the material for my EG tomorrow and probably my first fitting 2 weeks later. Getting quite exceited.

Hi i'm new here, would also like to join in the chat

Van (wedding + rom): 21 Sept '02
Banquet: OCBC Centre, The Executive Club
Bridal: Bridal Arts
Photoshoot: inhouse
Actual day: still planning...

btw, would also like to get advise on how are the preparations going on for sept brides. cos i've yet to do any preparations! :p

Hi! Happy98 & Aileen

Me thot 28th sept is a bad day cos' no one seem to get marry on that day...Finally got kakis marrying on the same date as me....

Happy98, U havn't compile your info. So where wld u b holding your wedding dinner?

Aileen, why did u buy tracing papers? is it for invitation cards? by the way, when do u intend to print your invitation cards? 7 more mths to go....ehhhh...U dun scar me leh...i really dunno wat to do next. seems so free after booking bridal package. BTW, have u book your wedding car? Me havn't decide any yet. u got lobang?

Hi i'm new here, would also like to join in the chat

Van (wedding + rom): 21 Sept '02
Banquet: OCBC Centre, The Executive Club
Bridal: Bridal Arts
Photoshoot: inhouse
Actual day: still planning...

btw, would also like to get advise on how are the preparat

Hi LMF,

I am looking for an actual day photographer, could you pass me Alan Dai's contact number and his charges.

hi chemson,

actually i follow this tread very close but i'm very lazy to write but i see you so helpful, i'm a bit shameful leh...so let me give you my details:

Liz : 12th sept 02
Bridal shop: christian creation
Banquet : Grand Plaza Hotel
Photoshoot : inhouse
Actual Day Photographer: Yet to confirm

Hi Loreal & Blossom,

just to check with you gals, how much is your wedding package coz mine do not come with actual day photographer, my package is $3388. Do you need to pay extra for the actual day photographer?
Have you gone for your fitting of gown?

Kat22, Chemson, I will check out the websites of those photographers you mentioned. Thanks.

As for the update, here it is!

Mushroom: 21 Sept 2002
Bridal Shop: none. Picking dresses from London
Wedding Banquet: not confirmed yet.
Photoshoot: not taking any.
Actual Day Photographer: not confirmed yet.

Oh oh!! Now, my update really looks bad.

Chemson, I think it is great idea to email everyone this update list once you get it compiled. Here is my email address: [email protected]. Thanks so much for taking this initiative!

Cowie, sorrie! but well, your ROM dress is still very pretty. Is it for rental or did you buy it?
How much to rent?

Anyone knows where to get cheap veils in Singapore? I read from another thread that said to go to Arab St, but where in Arab St? Do you know how much to rent from bridal shops?

Blossom, it's great idea to start a Sept brides club and have regular gatherings. If only I am back in Singapore and can go too.

LMF/Loreal, I am considering videography too. Can you share with me the details of your package?

Hi Chemson,

It's a terrific idea to compile the list again due to the growing family getting married in Sept. Thanks again for the effort. BTW, do you know if FS is going to have any new cards for selection in the next few months? The card that they gave last year seemed a little plain.

Hi Loreal, Happy98 & Aileen

Seems like quite a few of us share the same date -28th Sept. Did all of you choose the date yourself or did you consult a professional? Anyway, since there are quite a few of us, maybe we might bump into each other when we are going round in our wedding cars?! Hehehe..

Wedding date : 28th Sept '02
Bridal shop : Bridal Veil
Banquet : Four Seasons Hotel (same as Chemson)
Photoshoot : Kim, Studio D'fia
Actual Day : Choon Huat of Fast Soup Photography

Rgds, jellybeans

Hey Jolene, thanks for your ROM pix. Wow! you looked great, especially in Pic 7. Somehow I thought I find you quite familiar, but just cannot be sure if I know you. Your good friend looks familiar to me too.

Thanks for all the contributions ! I am so touched that everyone is taking the initiative to make this family grow and share the experience of planning for our most joyous occasion... thanks again... for those.. who have dropped me the emails.. I can be reached at [email protected]....
Thanks !

jellybeans: No idea on the invitation cards... due to see Danny in June... for now... I will be BZ with my reno and bridal stuff... I will worry later abt the banquet stuff in June... :PP

Morning, gals!

Today is Friday!!! Aren't we all glad

so I see we hv a few new additions to the family...Happy98, Van, Liz (Hope i din leave out anyone) WELCOME!

Aileen - thanks for the info! Keep them coming!!! Me buying these translucent papers for the inserts for my invites so the info will really be useful
Are u looking at plain colourless ones or wiz colour/pattern?

Mushroom - guess u may hv to book ur venue fast 'cos knowing the kiasu singaporeans, most of the gd locations are already snapped up long ago!!

Hi Jolene,
You are pretty! The gown looked lovely on you. I wonder what you're going to do to transform it into your wedding gown...

Hi Kat22,
Choon Huat is booked on my wedding day. Thanks for the contact, I'll give him a call.

Hi Chemson,
Here's my email address, [email protected]. Thanks for your effort!

HI Bluebell,

The hair colours are the spray on types. will go off after washing. so they usu spray after ur hairdo is doe so that the colours stay for the day / night. Its colours only for the event.

$80 bucks seems rather value for money for printing 300 pieces. can ask if its on a insert or directly on the card? me got a contact who quoted me $100 for 300 pieces.my hotel quoted me 60cents per piece for printing and 80 to a dollar for hot stamp.

Me finally done with my photo shoots. will view them in late march (wonder why they said will take so long) Hope that by then,will stll have time for the album before the wedding.

let's keep each other updated of our progress in the preps.

Hi Dawn,

Nice chatting w u last nite at e Chat session. Remember me? My nickname is DS.

Hope i can make it again nx week.

Hi! Jolene,
Can i have the pleasure to look at your wedding pics? Pls email to me at [email protected] THks alot!

Chemson, once your soft copy is ready can u email to me at the above address? Thks so much for your great support to Sept bride!!!

Hi! Liz,
My package oso cost the same as yours. if i didn't recall wrongly we forgo certain items to exchange for the photography service. Thus, cannot consider FOC lah. My 1st fitting is next week leh...jia lat man...havn't slim down yet. After CNY put on weight instead. So how u fix a day for fitting?

Jellybeans,
U oso same date har?...gd...Yah mayb we would bump onto one another while on the road. So fun man! Remember to say hi to each other k.

hi! Chemson & jolene,

Just to highlight my email address got an underscoll in betw. beautiful_bride cos' from the posting the underscoll cldn't be seen.

An alternative way is to have a registered account whereby the same information can be entered into your profile. All the other Sept brides can just click on your user name and they would be able to see the info. You can also choose to hide your e-mail address by editing your profile.

Let me know if you need any help.

joker,

Yap, it's near yio chu kang rd
Hey, check it out man .... the ntuc is so big ... they've got everything under 1 roof - & the place is big & spacious too
Hahaha... I sounded like the ah soh recommending the place leh ...

U want to change money for the ang pow? Is there any 'rules' that say ang pow money must be new one? Cos I asked my hubby yesterday & he said 'change for what?' I also don't know where to get new notes but our case, maybe we can get new ones cos my MIL works in POSB as the office lady.
How abt going to the place (dun know the name) where they print notes (???) Is it monetary authority or something like that .... but a bit extreme rite?

hi liz,
i think we have spoken b4 in the forum. my package is also the same price as urs. same as loreal, i forego certain items to get the actual day photography. my first fitting is still a long long way to go, but i have been to cc a lot of times. going for final measurement end of this month, so must slim down very fast.

Pegsfur,
I think I agar agar noe where is it liao. So you are currently staying near there. The flats there also quite new right? Heehee...... scarly you are the chairwoman there , don play play.....

No lah, there is no rule lah. Just feel that it's better to have new notes loh. Becos we are the 'xin1 ren2' mah.

Hey when's yr guo da li huh? Mine is this Sunday leh. Fast hor. 2day 1 Mar liao, another 15 days to go. Excited? The more I think of it the more scary I feel leh..... how ah?

Joker

Seems like the sister group is growing again. Welcome all new members like Van, Happy98, Jaz... (sorry if i missed out any)

Chemson, i think your workload is increasing! Stress...!!!
Btw, my email address is [email protected]

Sheep, hope you can find one as good as Alan.

Jaz, Alan's hp no is 97591469 and he charges 8 rolls for $500. Cheap, right! When is you big day? Got to get hold of him fast.

Mushroom, my videographer is Eric. H/p 97615104. I'm getting the basic package: 1M, 1D & VCD. Thsy do include some of the photo presentation at the beginning of the event. Or you can opt for photo montage video presentation at your banquet. Forgotten how much, Sorry!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jastan</FONT>
thank you.
still not used to being called "Mrs Kuek" or "Mdm Ng" leh.

agree we had a really good time. u'r the only one to respond to my "monthly gathering" idea leh.

i think most of us here R busy collecting "last yr" ang pows!! me too, taks "as many as possible" since next yr gotta give. (but still, can opt not to give rite, for 1st yr after marriage?) my cousins already asking and aunties &amp; uncles (with kids) all told me "haha, next yr can claim back from u liao!!" *pengz*

put all unhappy things behind us.. we've got to keep ourselves happy so that we are "happy &amp; beautiful" brides mah..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jastan, jenjen</FONT>
wah, so early go for fitting already ah? u gals' pkg is MTM or OTR huh?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jenjen</FONT>, can i tag along when u go for fitting? me very KPO leh, hehehe

think i better go settle my banquet thingy this weekend. dragged too long liao...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">dance40</FONT>
think it's good to hv gowns of different style, at least give people a different image mah. u going for 1st fitting soon?

i also thinking of getting diff styled gowns, but of cos, must avoid those that'll "highlight" my flaws lah.
however, me still hv no idea wat i want...

Thanks for your emails and I would like to welcome happy98 and van... where are the rest like Septembergal? jellybeans.. welcome back ! I will try my best to compile the list...

Please help to give comments why the features of the registered account may not be helpful in this case. We hope to look for comments so that we can improve the function more. Thanks in advance.

hope i'm not too late

Wedding date : 7th Sept '02
Bridal shop : Irene's Creation
Banquet : Rasa Sentosa
Photoshoot : Not decided
Actual Day : Not decided

Thanks Chemson for compiling the list. My email is: [email protected]

chinleng, i think the list serves a v. different purpose fr the profile. the profile provides details of the pple when they post, whereas the list will give a quick summary of the profiles of all the pple in this thread. sometimes, we may hv a question to ask brides who, for example, hv their weddings on a certain day. if they dun post any msg, we will never recall their nicks n details.

that said, i think cl's suggestion is gd. gals, shall we make an effort to update our profiles n use our passwds when we post?
cl.... i forgot my passwd again liao. can u reset it for me?

happy, van, liz, jellybeans n all the brides whom i hvn't said hi to: welcome! hope to hear more fr u gals!

Hi, Chin Leng

I share the same views as och. It is easier in this case to have the list in front of us as reference than to click on their nicks one by one.

Having said that, I will oso take up your suggestion
I just created an account and am now in the midst of updating my profile!!

Thank you for creating this nice place for us to share information and make friends

Hi Daisy,

Of course I remember you.

BTW, I am usually in the chatroom most of the nights throughout the week so if you want someone to chat with..I should be there.

Well, usually the chatroom has at least some brides/members in there though it isn't the usual Thurs chat day.

Cya soon!

Hi Chin Leng,

Thanks for your advise. Below are my personal opinion.

I guess it's more convenient for us to have our own list so that we can have everybody's detail at a glance. Well, of course we can all have a registered account and information will be displayed when we click on the person's nick. The problem here is we'll have to search for the person's nick in order to see her details. Instead of clicking on all the nicks and recording down her details individually, I personally think that having one person, in our case, OUR WONDERFUL CHEMSON, compiling the list is more efficient. In other words, we are just too lazy to scroll up and down for details. Thanks again, Chemson!

I think privacy is another factor. I, for example, don't like the idea of people knowing all me details at a click. I don't mind sharing them with friends who are in this thread cos I've been chating with them long enough. I'm not really keen in having passersby clicking on my nick and seeing all my details. Shy mah...

Threads like September brides will have brides following the thread for at least a year or more. If we can have an exclusive registered account, available only for the brides in this thread, I wouldn't mind. In other words, exclusive registered account for potentially long-lasting thread. Hahaha... see lah... give you more work already. Don't stress, just my personal opinion.

Hi Chin Leng,
I guess what i want to say, it's already done so by Och, Kat22 &amp; Sheep. I agree with Sheep's suggestion. It's better and easier to search through the registered account in each particular tread rather than the whole registered account. Btw, I'm quite lazy, that's why....

Hi Chin Leng,

I agree with Och, Kat22 and sheep. I believe in privacy and by creating our profiles... it will mean scrolling up and down for details. I would prefer to create a list and update as I go along... and by identifying so and so... it is easier for us to direct questions. I prefer privacy and that's why I choose not to create my profiles...
sheep... my pleasure... I dun mind the work of compiling.. it's fun..