(2002) Brides of year 2002

HI Sept 02 brides,

Guess I am one of those who chanced upon this tread discussion by "fate"... have confirmed by ceremony date in SEpt but have yet made plans for my bridal package... Anyone of you a JWN bride?? Any advice?? Am very impressed with their photography ... costs is one concern... Any one with recommendations of other bridal studios with comparison photography skills as JWN?? AM looking at OTR packages...

Am looking forward to your advises..

Hi m2m,

Glad you read my msg!

Umh, I'm not having my final fitting three months later. I will be trying on my actual EG instead. My mum didn't get to see the WG the other time, I'd be trying it on again (also I asked for some alterations) so that at least she knows how I look like. My guess is, the final fitting will be closer to the wedding date. Your first appt is Mar 08th right? Feeling excited? came up with designs which you like?

Are you going to use Ben as well? He's really good you know?

Must maintain current weight.... lost two kg already! must maintain weight.... must maintain weight..

saw the picture of the daisies. u intend to use daisies on that day? they are rather cheerful! and bright!

JIC I do not have the chance to do so later, like to wish you Oct brides a Happy and Healthy Lunar New Year! May this be a better year for us all.

starfruit,
oh, he board the train at clementi (staying over my place) so Jen got to see lor. actually april also saw cos he's with me when we met arrived at O'Brien.

JenJen,
aiyo, dun say that leh. later everyone has their expectation so high, then if get the chance to meet, they will be so disappointed.

hey, u gals working today or logged in from home?
3519.gif
me today very sad.. this AM dropped my x'mas pendant (from FH). didn't realise (even though FH beside me) until a lady told me my necklace dropping. walked thru route thrice, still can't find. wat a bad way to end the year!!!

Hi Och,

Yup, going for lunch after ROM. Mine's at 12:30pm. So timing quite okay lah... But I heard 22 Feb is fully booked for the day cos' its quite "HOT" also... But I haven't decided where to go yet also. Any suggestions?

finally managed to get in...my PC down the whole morning...prob telling me to stop working...hahaha

Chemson - thanks! I am sure you will look fabulous in ur EG too
well, me still can't decide leh...both seems gd
...if only i can hv both!
...as for colour, shirley oso suggested burgundy for me
dunno leh...will drag FH n best pal down to see the fabric samples..hehehe...hmm..think I better indicate some dates too as i will be out of the country for a few days in March...

Blossom - guess u can call a bustier "tube" too

yep, me absolutely no clue abt my EG too
only manage to get 2 designs from my designer....The gals are rite...start with colours that u like

Jolene - did u try Li Bai at Sheraton for your ROM lunch? Maybe they can give u discount since u book the dinner there

Symphony - welcome welcome
hehehe...our family sure is growing
so, when's ur big day???

Okay, here's wishing all of you a very Happy n Prosperous New Year!! For some of us who hvnt ROM, this will be the last year to get hongbaos!!! ;)

Hi Jolene,
Yah, me quite worried about how will the ROM turn out to be like too......mine is this friday.....*cold feet*

Hi Kat22,
You're rite! This is the last year I will be receiving ang paos...... But some friends were trying to blackmail me, saying that after my ROM it is still during the CNY period

To everyone,
Have a Happy Chinese New Year

Hi Passion,

My photoshoot is oni 2 days earlier than urs, so juz as late.. and like u ... i haven't gotten my shoes... worst still... my shoes size is 3... veri difficult to find...

Cynthia, can i see your EG too? I'll send u an email..

Hi Chemson, Och, Kat22, Sheep and all!!

Wow! I just didn't checked in for a few days and surprised to find so many new postings! Uggh... now I am scared and v.worried. Besides choosing the date, I have not picked anything yet! Also, I am not in Singapore and will not be back till few months' time, I really need to get moving. Guess I need to book my venue and photographer first.

Can someone tell me how the weather is usually like in mid Sept? Approximate temperature??

I have some venues in mind and received their quotations and wedding packages, but have not decided.

I will be buying my WG here in London. Have seen some great designs here, but will be MTO instead of MTM, which is fine by me. But I don't know what I am going to do with my EG or if I am getting one at all.

Kat22: Wow.... you might have the same colour as me, huh? Burgundy... cool.... but mine is the darker shade... may contemplate to go for a slightly lighter shade.. will see how...
So, when is your next apptm with Shirley ? By the way, even though you have ROMed... you are still eligible for ang baos but it will be the final year though...

mushroom: The weather is not too hot and not too wet.. it's an ok weather...
Yep.. the WGs in UK are very nice... my cousin had hers done there...
Do you have any venues in mind that you are inclined to take as your first choice?

Cowie: Enjoy your ROM, ok ? Dun forget to tell us abt it..

hallo gals,
happy CNY!! juz realised that our thread is the most active thread amongst all the other mths!!
hallo newgals ! (i think theres jolene and mushroom, which i think i hvnt said hi to u two yet, rite?)
mushroom, DUNpanic!! dun stress!!! i am the sloweest in this group!! i ppicked my date, and my wedding venue and my bridal package very late too!! i hvnt even thot of any design yet! i hvnt gotten any shoes etc to!! it sounds so cool that u are getting ur gown in london!!!
symphony, welcome, welcome!! i think there is someone here who is JWN. i fell in love with their OTR gowns but felt tt the price is too expensive also...out of my budget...my only adivce is, to take the postings praising JWN (there is a JWN thread somewhere) with a pinch of salt as ihv heard not so nice things abt them...

if u are doing OTR, u must make sure that u find that exact gown taht u are determined to waer for ur wedding day before signing up with the shop. u wont want a case where u sign up thinking u will find one that fits ur requirements exactly and then end up having to top up $$$ to have something MTM later on.

kat, i am doing a corti too..hehehehe....but otherwise, hvnt decided on anything else yet!

gotta go out now...take care gals.!

Chemson, thanks for the weather info. Good to know that the weather will be good. We want to have our wedding outdoors actually, and we are probably going to have guests from Europe, so don't want them to die of heat!

Septembergal... think we are getting married on same day.
Where is your venue and who do you get your bridal package from? Sorry, you prob had mentioned this earlier in this thread, but I just can't find it.

Hmmm... the WG here are really nice. I am getting very excited now. Am going to try on some gowns next week. But I will have to buy my WG instead of renting it since they don't do rental. But the designs for EG here are really plain and boring, unless I MTM which then will cost too much!!

What is average cost of a MTM EG in Singapore without bridal package? Anyone knows?

BTW, what is JWN?

Hi, gals!

How's ur day yesterday? I was so tired from all the visiting n the heat!

Cowie - dun worry...what i heard is that u only need to give hongbao one year later...like Chemson said, u r still eligibe for hongbaos
Hv a great time on Friday!!

mushroom - wow, u r going for outdoor...how abt Beaufort at Sentosa? Lovely place
Alkaff Mansion is lovely too...but singapore is abit humid so dunno whether ur guests can take to the weather
I really envy u...u can take all those lovely wedding photos in UK!!! i think a MTM EG prob cost abt S$350 n above...JWN stands for Julia Wedding News
so, r u celebrating CNY in London??

Chemson - hv been looking around for nice EG designs but still no concrete ideas...prob try to meet Shirley in end Feb...hopefully can decide on some details like colour or design by then :P...sigh...headache man...me hvnt ROM yet
....plan to do so on my actual day b4 my dinner starts

septembergal - u r hving a corti too!! yipee
will u be hving it for ur WG or EG??? actually, me hving confirm if i am going for the corti cheongsam or the halterneck...really hving headache over my EG design...

Hope everyone had a nice time visiting yesterday. Everybody was telling me: "This will be the last year you receive Ang Pow hor, next year no more already ah!!" Made me so stressed out but luckily some people know its the last year and gave a bit more..... hee hee....

Kat22- Thanks for your suggestion to go Li Bai but with a big group of 20, probably not or my Ang Pow $$ cannot cover also.... Got budget also lah.... Probably go to a TungLok restaurant, haven't decided where yet..

Cowie- Remember to tell us how your ROM went, okie? I am sure you will be fine and receive lots of blessings from everyone here! Its only 3 days away...... Must relax...

Septembergal- Hallo! Hows your preparation? When is your wedding? Booked and planned everything already?

Lastly, Gong Xi Gong Xi to everyone!!!

Wow.. what a day today... after all the warm weather on the first day... we were greeted with the rain...
Yep.. final year collecting ang paos... mixed feelings...
Anyway, did some visiting but spent the afternoon catching the movie.. Marry a Rich Man.. nice movie...

mushroom: Gotta decide on your WG real fast cos my cousin had her WG booked 6 mths in advance when she had hers MTM in London. A MTM EG will cost around $350 and above and it will take up to a mth or over to make.

Kat22: Wow... it's so romantic to have both solemnisation and dinner done on the same evening ! Great idea !! Yep.. like I say..start with your favourite colour first..
My gal fren had a cheongsam corti.. she chose pink satin with a white organza overlay... she looked great !

Happy Valentine's Day to you as well..

Hi all..

I am quite an oddy here cuz I am not a July bride.. btu this is one of the few threads that ppl mention ted wu.. so can i side track a little and check with you gals?

Elaine and Kittycat, how is ted as a designer? Wll he be angry if I tell him that I dun want too much embroidery in front and want a boat neck etc.. or do you leave it up to him?

I am a bit curious.. if he does not get you to try gowns, esp since he did not see you in the gowns, how can he be sure you know what you want... I am also a visual person.. and i was told that in other bridal salons, we try on at least a few gowns for the designer to determine what cut fits us best.. so I am really not sure..

any thoughts? I am really torn as there are 2 designers whomI am torn in between, I just do not know how to choose.. and ted is one of them.. and I am about to sign up already.. just need to eb doubly sure though.. I was told he is not strong in design, only good in embroidery, so i am also not sure if that is true..

Would really appreciate it if i hear from you gals..thanks!!!!

cynthia - think we decided not to make use of the free stopover to go paris after italy already lah. really not enough money ..& if we were to cut a day off florence, a day off venice etc to go paris, then it's not doing justice to italy as well. Now trying to see if otehr carriers can bring us to italy also without that stopover so we dun have to drool at the airport! emirates?? is emirates better than air france actually?

linda & Passion - i think, like linda, i may not hire an actual day photographer already lah. see my msg above... think will spend a lot for honeymoon alreayd so better not overspend. sigh .. get frens to help & hopefully there will be some quality ones man!

btw, anybody any good catering besides Kriston to recomm for church? anyne heard of smiling orchid befor

Hi CK,
U mean u r looking for direct flight to Italy? Hmmm... me not sure too. if I come across, then I let u know lah...

sorry, cannot help you much regarding the catering :P

Hi Linda,
We will be picking up our wedding cards from the hotel soon. However, will only be sending them only sometimes in early May. Why did your hotel ask you to sent out invites so early??

Anyway, have you finalised your dinner invite list yet??

3532.gif
cynthia

Hi all,Happy New year.
Sorry for disappearing for quite some time.
Gotten sick and a couple days of MC and there busy with work and then new year.

How's the gathering?
Was it fun?

dance40

hallo gals,
kat - i think it sounds v. romantic to ROM and wedding on same evening too!!
jolene!!! hallo!! mine is 21 church wedding, 24 dinner...!
besides that, nothing else is done. gown not even confirmed design yet!

kat, my corti - thinking of hving it for evening gown! but i am going to do something crazy - have a pure white evening gown. seems that i dun fit most of the EG type of colours...

mushroom - Merchant court and feline... :-) i am the poorest in the thread...hahahah
and i think u mite hv to come back sometime soon to do ur EG if u intend to MTM in singapore!
so hv u decided on venue yet? i think it's so cool to be based in london! so glam!! :-)

but if u intend to hold it at a hotel and the date is a saturdya nite, u mite wanna book fast! i had to go for wkday wedding dinner cuz all fully booked for the few hotels i was considering...turned out 2b a blessing in disguise as we dun need to stress like siao for one full day (tea ceremony + church on saturday)

wonder if LMF is back...och, how's things! i am enjoying ur mags!! thanks so much for them, i can't appreciate u enuff!

how was ur new yr? this is the last yr we r eligible to receive red packets.
n happy valentine's day! r u gals doing anything special?

jolene, cowie, my home modem broke down, so i couldn't get online except fr work.
guess u gals will be too busy to read this forum 1 day b4 ur rom, but still, i wanted to wish u both a happy, happy rom day.

jolene, i went to the chinese restaurant (
cannot remember the name) on 2nd flr of crown prince hotel during my rom. we had ala carte lunch buffet. they had a large table that could sit 12.

septembergal, dun mention it. glad the magazines r of some use. i'll pass ur thanks to the many pple who handed the magazines to me.
hv u decided on the designs for ur gowns?

Hi Veil,

I've not gone to see Ted Wu yet - my 1st appointment is in March so I can't really tell you his style of working.

But 3 of my frens who used him had excellent feedback with respect to cut, look and embroidery. They seemed to have thoroughly enjoyed their experience with Ted. I think there was a lot of trust in his designs coz I dun think they got a chance to try gowns like what you and Elaine hoped to do. I'm quite confident that he'll have something really good for me! I've been to quite a few well-known bridal shops, and I personally feel that Ted Wu has got very good cut. His clothes always seem to fit the bride like a second skin.

Juz my two-cents worth. *Grin*... hope you make up your mind soon!

Hi Chemson, Kat22, Jolene, Och,
Thanks! Hope that everything will go well for my ROM tomorrow....really starting to feel the jitters already
Will let you girls know how it went after tomorrow

Meanwhile, have fun with your gown designs!!

Hi, ladies!

Jolene - Tunglok's food is gd! yup, Crown Prince has pretty gd food too!! I think it's Long Jiang Szechuan Restaurant
Hv u decided where to go?

Chemson, Septembergal - Tks
Hv to try to get the guests to be on time lor...am oso toying with the idea of hving the solemnisation ceremony near the hotel's waterfall garden
it has a little pavilion just perfect for the occasion....very nice but quite noisy b'cos of the waterfall...see first

Chemson - wow...pink satin with white organza...so sweet!
I will prob go for somehing richer...i found a website that has pretty nice EG designs...www.watters.com...check it out
I hv oso watch Marry A Rich Man! Really like Sammi Cheng

septembergal - not crazy lah...just unusual
if u really cant find a suitable EG colour then why not?? but ur EG design must be quite different from ur WG lor or else can't tell the two apart

hv a great day today, especially Cowie...weekend is just round the corner!!!

Gone missing for many many days.....well, I'm back. Was busy arranging both side parents to meet to discuss the "requirement". Very "ma fan", can't imagine my mother ask for "sugarcane" coz we r Hokkien. Wonder how is it going 2 fit into the cars.

Looks like u gals r really having fun. I'll be having my first measurement next week with Dang. Still not very sure of the design for EG but hope 2 decide by next week. I realise that more focus is on my WG.

Still can't find my shoes, any idea where can I really really find something suitable but within the budget of S$100? Tailor made will be the last choice.

Hv u gals arrange for the flower girls dresses? I saw some nice one at OG which cost not more than S$70 so if u r looking for 1 u could lookout for it.

My banquet will be at Hyatt still waiting for the co-ord to confirm the wedding invitation design. According 2 her, they will b changing the design soon. Hyatt don't really give a lot of freebies even after bargaining!

och

any news from Hyatt on the invitation design?

Now having headache to convince FH to prepare his list of guest, he simply bochup.

Will b joining the group again, c u gals.

Kat22: I love the shoes in that movie.. it's really lovely.. so romantic...

Cowie: How did it go? Must be so exciting.. how's Sandy's make-up?

julia: I just saw an invitation card by Hyatt. It's nice cos they also included the couple's wedding pic in it as well...
As for shoes... Taka has got a good selection. Robinsons and Tangs as well... try both places. I tailored mine for $119. Have fun with Dang, ok ?

kat, hving the solemisation just b4 banquet is a gd idea! the banquet will definitely start on time n all the guests will be in the "rite" mood for a wedding banquet. sheraton's waterfalls will be a v. beautiful backdrop for the solemisation.

julia, i'm hokkien too. can share what u know abt the guo da li? i din know hyatt is hving new invitations! it's abt time, theirs was getting quite outdated liao.
i wanted to make my own cards, n i already hv my own design in mind. r u looking for close-toe or open toe shoes? tangs has nice close-toe shoes. taka has a lot of selection, so does metro paragon, my new find.

hi julia andrew,

jus want to know which photographer did you choose from dang? i was very attracted to those with O studio. i am still sourcing around for bridal.

chemson

the invitation card was it recently? Just checked with Hyatt in Jan, they said not sure yet.

OCH

well, it is a rather complicated process for me as I am from Malaysia & my family is there. Logistically, it might be diff.

I think the usual that the guys side would need to sent representatives to bring the "pinc jin" - traditionally done by the "mei buo" to the girl family and the girl family gotta return part of it with lots of "yuan" on top of the return gift such as the head & tail of the suckling pig. The yuan actually signify "yuan fen".

My mom ask for 2 hard liqour, suckling pig, cakes, dragon & phoenix candle, 12 oranges, 2 gold bangles.......as colourful as possible & she will return the head & tail of the pig, 2 oranges, a "tam pui",a baby bathtub, a sewing machine(I hope not!!), a sewing kit, and return part of the "pinc kim" with some writing like the money is for the groom to buy clothes etc etc.

I think there are lots more. I think u should let both parents meet to talk about what both of them wants so if there is any complains, u could always says that this was what it was agreed.

I very kiasu.........I even videocam the discussion as a proof.... not actually, I'm actually safe keeping all this precious moments for memory sake but well, it does also serve another purposes. haha!

Thanks, will be heading to Tangs & Taka, as it was quite flush with the Chinese New Year stuff when I was there.

hi julia,

wow, that's a lot of things to decide on! i guess i still need to drag the two sides for more discussions b4 this can be settled. so far, we hv only decided on the groom's side appointing a mei puo to give us a pair of bangles, pin jin, an ang bao for my mum, 10 boxes of cake, 2 bottles of xo n perhaps a suckling pig. my parents will return part of the pin jin, 2 bottles of orange juice n a tam pui with a piece of charcoal inside. apparently that piece of charcoal inside is of great significance.
but negotiations r not done yet. both sides r hinting that i should be doing more to speed things up.
when is ur guo da li? our wedding is just 1 wk after the 7th mth, quite difficult to choose a suitable date.

Undecided

I'm using Andrew Choi, this is also part of the reason why I went 2 Dang. She tie up with Andrew.

OCH

my gou da li will probably b in June....coz my wedding in Malaysia is in 3 Aug. I hv 2 split my wedding ceremony into 2 otherwise I've gotta foot all the accommodation cost for all relatives that I invite to Singapore.

Actually not so mush problem for that but more for the invitation. I was thinking of sending 3 weeks b4 the wedding date but it happen to fall on chinese 7 month. My friend to me that the wedding planning process gotta be shelved for 1 months during the 7 months. Which means, I've gotta sent out during end of July which I think is a bit early. Then comes the RSVP........can't do during the 7th month also. Wah.......really headache, gotta work something out.

Just a tip from my friend, we should hv another backup list of invitee for our wedding. In case those that we invite decide not to come and we need to fill those sits to meet the minimum, we need to use our 2nd list of invitees but also cannot do it during 7th month. I hope I can bochup. What say U?

Do u plan 2 call Hyatt about the invitation card? I'm a bit paiseh to call already. Call too many times to check on the cards.

julia: The card is for a wedding on March 9th.
And that's a lot for guo da li. I thot it's just cakes, the candles and the 'pinjin' plus a meipo... the suckling pig will be given on the wedding day itself... hmm.. hope I am not wrong !

julia: The card is for a wedding on March 9th.
And that's a lot for guo da li. I thot it's just cakes, the candles and the 'pinjin' plus a meipo... the suckling pig will be given on the wedding day itself... hmm.. hope I am not wrong !

Hi Chemson,
Yes! Was really excited this morning the ROM.....but it passed really quickly.....now hoping that the photos will turn out well
Sandy managed to highlight my eyes really well
But somehow my dad commented that my face appeared a little too fair initially..... I guess it is because I am on the darker side, hence the foundation looked a bit light on me
But overall quite satisfied. Really like the hairdo she gave me

Hi Septembergal,

Eih, other then the new ring on the finger.....there is nothing much lah......
grin.gif
Cos, we are still not staying together yet, so life is pretty much the same as before
But must say that the feeling of knowing that we are now husband and wife is.....well, special

Hi Cowie,

Congrats to you !! How does it feel to be married... Mrs something and it does feel weird.. having a ring on your right finger for life, right? I felt the same way as you as well...
Yep.. the feeling of being husband and wife is indeed special and happy !

Hi Chemson,
Well, still trying to get used to the idea........
But no problem adapting to wearing the ring though, cos have been wearing my engagement one on that finger for the past year

hi cowie,

congrats, congrats.
after u rom'ed, u cannot refer to urself as miss when filling in forms, hv to put down ms.

Och... you mean Mrs, right?
Also... people call you madam as well.. esp the Govt bodies.... and you have to re-nominate your CPF nominees as well after marriage... wow.. your status does change after marriage...

hi chemson,

i thot there is another category of ms, for pple who may be either mrs or miss but do not indicate which they r? i recall putting down ms for some non-govt forms. but govt forms dun hv that option.
i agree with u, govt bodies alw refer to me as madam. another thing, iras sent my tax bills to my hubby's registered addr, even tho i din indicate to them that my address has changed n hvn't changed the addr on my ic!

Hi Chemson

Congrats...r u staying with yr husband now. If yes, things r going 2 b a lot diff from when u r staying apart. Whatever, hang in there....the fruit is worth it.

well...I think I will leave most of the details of gou da li to the old folks.

Just got my measurement done with Dang yesterday. Decided the design on my WG, EGs & teadress. Spend almost 2 hours with her. I must say she is really very patient with all my silly question. Looking forward 2 my first fitting in April.

Thanks, will check with Hyatt again.

Hi julia,

Err... I did not ROM last Friday... Cowie did. I had my ROM last October. However, we are about to commence renovating our flat.. wish us luck..
What's your design for the WG, EG and tea dress like? Care to share with us all...

Hi Cowie,

Congrats on being officially married!!! But the feeling special, rite? Anyway, enjoy your new status of a Mrs!!!

Hi Och,

Yah, I know what you mean about the Ms thingy. I will definitely prefer to be known as Ms than Mdm!!!
...... Mdm sounds sooooo old leh.....

Hi Chemson,

The terms Miss and Ms have been used very loosely nowadays. But actually Miss means single, whereas Ms means still using own surname but married already
Hope this is clearer

Hi Cowie,

Oh dear... sometimes.. I called myself Ms... oops... when all along I should be Miss when I was single.. thanks for clarifying with me though...
Yar lor... I refused to use Madam.. dun want to sound old !

chemson, gd luck on ur renovations.
seeing the flat rejuvenated bit by bit is fun.

julia, how do ur gowns look like? share leh.

cowie, i agree. ms is used v. loosely nowadays. i've seen some receptionist tick ms if it's a woman that's approaching the them. it's used almost like mr is used. when u get ur rom pix, can share with us?