(2002) Brides of year 2002

hi septembergal,

will email u. i'm staying v. close to u.

oh, it was cysts. those do affect fertility. 2 of my close friends got them too. but theirs had absolutely no symptoms. one found out cos she visited a gp for indigestion n hers was 10cm! another cos she was planning to hv kids.
i'm visiting a gynae too, to hv a check up just to be sure.

Hi everybody,

I've not been around the forum for just a week and so much have been going on here. it's quite amazing.
I'm so glad to hear tat there are a number of you having your wedding dinner at Sheraton. Cos I realised that not many brides on this forum talk about Sheraton. I like tat hotel, very cosy, only thing I dont like is the shape of the ballroom. But it's ok, we can overlook tat slight flaw.
I just ended my search for my actual day photographer today...."phew"..........I went to see 4 different photographers (Studio D'fia, Vividshots, Choon Huat & PhotoLanguage) I finally decided on Studio D'fia for my outdoor photography and PhotoLanguage for my actual day. Love their photos, especially Kim's from Studio D'fia. But unfortunately his actual day photography fees is way too high for me. PhotoLanguage style is also very nice, journalistic style. I like talking to Choon Huat, agree tat he's a very nice guy. But unfortunately PhotoLanguage charged the same price as Choon Huat ($1200) but gave me 2 big albums, while Choon Huat give only 1 big album. Further more, we get 10 rolls fr PhotoLanguage while Choon Huat gve us 8.

Hi Girl,

my designer is Helan too......I'm going down this Sat to pay my deposit. She told me must finalise design for the WG & EG by March and fittings start in June. So exciting. Love their dresses so much.

hi mint & bumblebee,

no worries. just make sure u gals join us for the subsequent gatherings

bumblebee : what ur ROM date?

Hi Angelia,
no ROM date lah.
Having a church wedding, so planning to do all in one day (on 23 Nov).
Only thing now is that I have to apply to HDB for permission to delay showing them my wedding cert (just received the keys to my flat; according to the HDB officer, I have until April to show the cert).
Don't think it will be a problem - they are quite flexible about this now.

think they're flexible in a sense that they allow u to show latest by april. dun think they'll extend anymore rite?

so where's ur new home?

Angelia, my email address is [email protected]

Dance40, which resturant have you booked? Regarding which type of design should you pick, I don't think I can suggest any to you now. Coz I don't know how you look like and which design looks better on you. It will definately be good if you email me your makeover pix. How big is the file? Suggest that you email to [email protected] instead because the one I gave Angelia is limited in storage size.

Hi Jen Jen,

It is just a personal makeover I took.
Can I have your email address?

Hi Jastan,

I've book the Grand City Restaurant.
Don't want to have hotel coz I don't want to invite a lot of people.
The food is not bad.
And I've got friends mother who has been there for wedding dinner. Says that it is not bad except the shark fin so I'm asking ther restaurant to be extremely cautious in preparing the food..
The file is about 1.5 k (2 pics).
I've got about 10 but I think I'll just email 1 lah in case ur mailbox explode.

Hi Septembergal,
Thanks for sharing.... maybe we should all go and have a check-up with a gynae prior to our weddings, huh? But scare-scare leh...

Hey Kat22,
For the designs, once you have confirmed.. I dun think we can change it unless the change is very minimal and will not affect the whole design.. it should be ok. Yep.... it wasn't easy getting hold of her.. so usually I will write the questions I want to ask her and then she will address my concerns.. I am very kancheong over my gowns... I am eager to see my WG esp Shirley will be doing a sample of the embroideries for me to see before it is 'implanted' onto my gowns.. cos the thread is silver.. and my embroidery design (esp for the bodice) is quite detailed.. so I need to visualise how it will look on the entire gown and on my A-line skirting.

Hey Och,
Sure, no prob.... will take photos to show you.. and you must show me as well, ok ? When is your first fitting ? Mine is around 2nd week of March...
Can't wait !

hey chemson,

sure, sure, no problem. will show u the pix. i'm just as excited abt my gowns.
my 1st fitting is not set yet.
probably late mar or apr.

Hi gemi, ya lor, wedding dinner is already such a huge cost, somemore got honeymoon, bridal shop, etc, and etc. still have to pay so much for photography and videography.

i'm trying to cut costs and save as much as possible lor, cos i scared later dont have money to pay those things. i not getting videography but get close friend to take for us video instead. maybe card printing i also may do myself. so there's ways to cut costs if u want, then no need to burn such big hole lor :P but if u can afford it, then by all means spend lor cos wedding is once in a lifetime mah... hoho

hi chkoo, did u book with Divine? their gowns are very nice and sexy. i went to their show once, was very impressed but then their packages are way out for me, so cant take them

Hi Septembergal,
Thanks for sharing your experience. Sounds scary... Have you recovered completely? I've heard of ovarian cysts but I thought it'll only happen to women in their 30s or 40s. The most frightening ones are those without symptoms. Scary...

Hiya,

I'm new to this forum and I'm a 6 Jul 02 bride. This is really a good place to get tips and ideas. I've already gotten contacts for actual day photographer and musicians juz by reading this forum.

How's everyone's preparation since the last posting?

Hi Kittycat:
I'm a 21st July 02 bride... Nice to chat with you here. So how's your preparation going on.
I'll be going for my outdoor shooting next month, what about you?

Carol

hi, gals!

Septembergal - lucky u insist on doing further tests! dun really trust the GPs nowadays...dun seem very gd
but glad u r ok

och - wah, ur trips r all so spontaneous! fun fun
yup, FH & i like BA's work as well...hope mine will turn out well too...

Chemson - what do u mean u write the questions n she will address ur concerns? U email her? me oso got lots of qns to ask her leh...me bery kancheong abt my gowns too :P think i will oso ask her to show me a sample of the embroidery b4 she stitch on the gown :P do u know which other make-up artists are under her? she can't do my make-up n hair 'cos she is oredi booked by 2 other brides..

Hi Kat,

No... I write down my questions on a piece of paper to ask her... sometimes it can be difficult to get hold of her... :P Yep.. ask for the sample and I also asked her for a sample for the beadings for my EG as well... I am not sure who are her other make-up artists... but she has one.. and you can check with her.. they are equally good.. but if you want.. I can recommend you Sandy Ho.. she charges $350 for both day and nite... and if you want to engage your own make-up.. can ask Shirley to deduct from your package price.

JasTan : glad u logged in & thx for the update
will email u after i'm done here.

jenjen : aiyo, why u so "gan-cheong"?! i oready said next wed, latest next fri mah. u got too many threads to follow till u forgot izzit?
hehehe..

if u wan, i can email u lah. but only abt 80% done cos not everyone emailed me, & a couple of addresses i'm not too sure cos i never get reply from them (must rem i *dig* fr all over, so not sure same nick == same person?)

dance40 : maybe u try upload to photos.yahoo.com/dance40 (ur own a/c. i derive from ur yahoo mail id), then sure won't jam our mailbox

Hi Carol,

I'm not doing any outdoor shoots... so the next thing on the agenda is to go for my first session with the bridal shop to design the gowns sometime in March. Trying to exercise regularly so as to tone up and lose weight now.... this is extremely painful. *sigh*

Also trying to decide on whether to hv musicians for the dinner.. and the type of wedding car. Wanted a BMW but realised that these rental companies don't offer Beemers for a one-day affair. Probably use a London cab which is apparently quite affordable and cute!

Hv you decided on the outdoor locations for your photoshoot? You must be looking forward to it, yeah?

Been busy, no time to log in
Glad to see more and more Dec brides.

Piggycola

My WG will be a tube, the design is half way thru' now
As for EG, still no idea. The designer designed 2 pcs for me already, but I do not like it so still no idea how it's going to be like.

Have u decided on your dinner venue??

Hi Ping,

So are u also in the process of designing ur gowns since ur photo shooting is on June
My hubby is working in an educational institution so also more available in June and Dec.

hi angelia... i where got gan cheong lah... just asking oni mah... heheh... but yah... i got a few threads to follow this week... hehehe... coz they all want to go for gathering... *pengz*... then the gatherings clash and change, change and clash... *sigh*...

JasTan : oreadi sent u a mail, pls check & reply. thx.

jenjen : u bery busy leh. too bad i can't join 2day at jessica's place. maybe next time. oh u sw my latest mail (rdg photo)? do get back to me ok.

dance40,

goto photos.yahoo.com/dance40
then click on sign in (if u dun see "welcome, dance40" on top of the yellow yahoo bar)

after that, select "Create New Album", and fill in album name, blah.. blah.. blah.. then click "Create Album" button

then u'll c the album. click on the link and u can start adding ur photos.....

anymore queries, juz email me ok. [email protected]

Hi Kittycat:
I guess you must be looking forward to your 1st appointment with your bridal shop for your MTM gown.
Hey, a london cab is cute.

I've decided to for to Marina South & East Coast Park for my outdoor shooting. Very excited about it.

hi jasmine,

actually i havnt even stepped into my bridal shop yet, so dont know how it's like. cos i booked my package during a wedding fair. still dont know if it's a right choice but i hope everything turns out well. my first appt with them is in 3rd mar. i hope i can find a suitable gown there so that i dont have to MTM, cos i only have 1 gown can MTM, either WG or EG.

btw, what's ur bridal shop? u're so fast, already doing the designs already. how's ur wedding gown like, have u already seen your real WG? erm, dont know if i can have my gowns ready by june anot but i hope so

Hi Novbride,
We must try to keep this thread active...

If I am not wrong, I think Crayon's having her first appointment tomorrow, so she won't be able to furnish us on anything as yet.

BTW, I will be going for my selection next Friday. I have applied for Punggol 21 about 2 years back, so I'm feeling quite elated to be able to select my house-to-be on the first day....

Novbride, have you watched any movies recently?

hi, Chemson

yeh, heard of sandy ho in other threads...seems very gd...but i think i will go for my trial first n see if i like what i see

hey, i went to the weddingfair forum n "saw" u, sheep n blossom!! hehehe seems that the wf forum is not as active as SB

ok, hv a gd weekend gals!

hi lollipop,

oh..yah hor...think she said she's having her appt on Sat...blur me...

Which day are u in the queue??? Last time i was in the 3rd day and I still got alot of choices loh...Have your started your planning? Remember to have constituency planning hor...Flat selection is very exciting, I recalled I was so excited when it's almost our turn to choose our flat cos we're so scared that someone will take the unit we're aiming loh...heehee..like stock market..

hmm..I didn't get to see any movies recently..I've redeem a pair of movies tixs using my credit card perks but no chance to utilise it...so u got any movie to recommend me?

Novbride,

Will be selecting my flat on Day 1. And yes, I do agree that it'll be quite exciting, not to mention, chaotic as well! There will be so many pple around all aiming the same batch of flats and here we are, worried that our ideal unit's being taken.. anyways, I dun want to care so much right now because there's nothing we can do, at this point of time... but i will fill you in how it goes.

Good movies? I can think of two right now. If you are into fairytales and elves, you have to watch Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring. It's really good! Got handsome guy inside somemore!
Or have you already watched that?

Another good show is Black Hawk Down.. it's a gory show but it is very gripping... those who have read the book said Ridley Scott did a good job. The movie's storyline's really close to the actual event.

If you are into horror pictures, perhaps you can watch The Devil's Backbone, however in Spanish but with English subtitles.... that will send your spine tingling with fear...

;)

Going off now, you take care and I hear from you on Monday?

Hey Kat22,
Yep.. we migrated here...

Anyway, go for the trial and see how.. you may to get a recommendation from Shirley from her list of make-up artists.
Have a great weekend too !

Hi carol,

If I was doing outdoor photography, I'll choose Marina South too. I like the backdrop with the CBD buildings, esp. at night.

Btw, who's your photographer?

Yep, I'm looking forward to my 1st appointment with the bridal shop. My package is with Ted Wu, and I'm quite curious to see what kind of designs he will suggest for me.

hi och,
i went into the chatroom at abt 10.30pm last nite. u went off already. i am still very busy. although i have quitted, i still have to finish up my project. i think i am too responsible.

i really feel very happy. can start thinking abt my flat, wedding gown and wedding dinner already. wow, it's only less than 8 mths away. i am so excited.

my fh has been nagging me to find job but i am still very busy. sigh! i think the job market is quite bad with many people competing with me. but i will try my best.

hi kat22,
haha... i think we really "migrated" here. the forum at wf is so quiet now.

Angelia, I have your email. I have already gave my reply to you.

Dance40, will go into the site to view. No need to send me the file then.

hi blossom,

acherly.... i went in v. late, abt 11:15pm in fact.
had to visit a friend who went for emergency op
, so came back only then.

hi, blosson
hv u tried www.michaelpage.com.sg? they hv lots of finance-related jobs...maybe u might find one dat u like

hi,everyone
me went around trying different mattresses yesterday.wah...simmons' westbury n felicity models r so comfy! u can hardly feel the movement of ur partner when he moves!! U all must go n try! but hor, very x loh...$2399 for westbury n $1999 for felicity. we tried sealy n king koil too...not bad too...can't find slumberland...anyone knows where?
For now, still eyeing the felicity model...now waiting for post CNY year sale

hi, Chemson

oops, forgot to mention...the prices are for queen size
what size r u looking for? how's ur reno coming up? got ur contractor? read the news paper abt hdbay, a sub of HDB, who will monitor the work progress of the contractors in their list...maybe u can take a look at their website n see what they offer??

Hi Kat22,

Me... King size...
Our renovation..well... have left an renovation enquiry with HDBay as well as faxing them our floor plan. Now, we are waiting for them to revert back. In addition, my hubby has to travel again.. therefore,we have to shortlist at least 3 contractors for quotes and perhaps confirm one before he travels again.

i'll be doing my studio/outdoor photoshoot soon... care to share wif me some tips as to wat to prepare b4hand... would veri much appreciate if u can share wif me your checklist of the items to bring/prepare etc... i'm very concerned as I am pretty late in my preparations, haven't gotten shoes for myself and hubby yet...

wif regards to honeymoon, i'm oso thinking of going to europe, particularly Italy and Switzerland, any advice/tips for me? btw, I might wanna postpone my honeymoon till after the World Cup, quite scared dat the world cup fever ard might create a lot of chaos, esp. in countries like Italy (though the event is actually happening in Japan/South Korea)...

Hi Kat22,

I've pop by this thread to share wif u my views on Simmons mattress..I've been using the Westbury for abt. 2 mths, and so far, i'm veri satisfied... in case u're not aware, u may need 'special' bedsheets for both felicity/westbury mattress due to the extra thickness of the mattress, as most fitted sheets are for 9"-10" mattress if i'm not wrong.

i think u may b able to find slumberland at furniture mall, near the plaza hotel... i remember i got to try a few diff. brands of mattress at furniture mall the last time, think slumberland is one of them ...

hi, hazel
Thanks for sharing! wah..u got a westbury! yup, must say it's very comfy! my fh was lying there n i thot he's gonna lay there forever! hehehe

nevertheless, we prefer the felicity model 'cos it's softer n cheaper :P

oic....so what brands of bedsheets can go with the felicity/westbury models? gee...does it mean i can't buy those cheap n gd bedsheets from brands like friven, etc??

By the way, when r u getting married or r u oredi married?

Hi lollipop
The first appt was great! The staff there are friendly and nice..i tried a few gowns OTR..though the size are either too small or too big! I would be going in Early march to decide wat gown to design...and have the designer around to assist me...
I met the photographer too..nice guy..tall and thin. He even offered some advice to me..I was quite eyeing on a tube gown..but ended up looking big size..he suggested that i can have the veil to cover up..since tube gown is quite in.
Think the next appt, i will go wif my parents instead..coz they can offer quite good advice unlike my hubby..(no comments from him..except the usual alrite lah)..
I felt rather pai seh..when trying out the gown..in the fitting room..the assistant was wif me..felt abit awarkward..changing into gown. Is it common for them to do that?

hi lollipop & all,

I've confirmed my bridal pkg liao!!! I've signup with Bridal Veil after much much consideration!
No turning back liao cos I've already pay $2000+ for deposit! Actually, I've attended a BV bridal show held at their boutique last weekend and somehow, I'm dazzled by the gowns with crystals, very very glam!
I must say this show has helped me made my decision...now feeling very happy cos one big task down ;)

ya Crayon, wanna know how's your 1st appt?

Oops...crayon you jus responded...;) glad that u enjoyed your first appt!

hey, i dun think it's usual for the assistant to be in the changing room leh, neber had that experience before, unless you personally ask for their help loh...else they'll usually wait outside...

i'm also very paiseh when i tried on a gown the first time, especially when i come out i saw other couples looking at me, cos i dun have a good figure loh so i feel very conscious loh