(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi och,

No lah....I think that the gals are too thin and incidentally.. that's why I feel very despondent every time I go shopping for clothes in Singapore...
My hubby always tells me.. he loves me for who I am and not what I am... my hubby is also big size as well... so.. it's ok with me.. I guess...

As for honeymoon... need to see how many days we can spare... 2 weeks will be OK I guess...

hi Hazel,

i shld have noe your nick long ago
will tell you why some other time ya...
Good luck to your 1st fitting!

lollipop,

i haven't decide on my bridal pkg yet
hope to settle it by end of the week. Will definitely update u gals!

halo piggycola,

since ur game for something untraditional, how abt a halter neck gown like the one below? tat should show off ur broad shoulders nicely
u might wan to take a look at The Knot. they hav lots of WG n u can get more ideas on EG by taking a look at their bridesmaids section.

3155.jpg

Novbride,
No worries, just remember not to stress yourself too much. Preparing for your wedding should be exciting, not to mention, fun as well. Take your time to judge what is best for you.

Chin up! ;)

hi Gemi,

Thanks for yr reply, well, I shld be going off to either Maldives or Mauritius for my honeymoon. U?

Hi Eunice,

I'm a Christian so the "auspicious" date thingy doesn't affect me. However it mattered to my parents so thankfully the date that i wanted was auspicious and they agreed to it. I think as long as yr parents and in laws don't mind whether the date is auspicious or not, u shld just go ahead with the weekend date. Anyway according to list of dates somewhere else in the forum, 28th Dec is not a date that is not auspicious for weddings. However weekend packages cost more! :P

What abt going for an auspicious weekend? Will that solve yr dilemma? :P Like 7th, 8th or 14th Dec 2002, according the list its all auspicious dates. Or else what abt Jan 2003?

And the halter neck gown pic is quite lovely.

Hi piggycola,

U can go to www.davidsbridal.com to look for gowns designs and as Eunice suggested, The Knot.

Nicole

Hi Eunice

I also considering this one leh, I saw this at The Knot too, but my arms are a bit flabby. I was thinking of some turtleneck cum halterneck type.

Hi Nicole

Thanks for the web, I go see now....

Hi Nicole,
Me still undecided about where to go for honeymoon. Maldives did cross my mind, besides we are both divers (hee hee we actually met through diving). I was oso thinking of Tahiti. Both Maldives and Mauritius are lovely places, so romantic and relaxing. You will enjoy yourselves there.

Hi Eunice,
Mine is on 26th Dec. Frankly speaking, I was worried at first about the attendance. But I decided to go ahead with it, since weekday weddings are pretty common now. If you are looking for auspicious date, you might have to decide faster as banquet venues for these dates tend to be booked really fast.

hi chemson,

dun be despondent. it's health that's more impt, n weight is just one of the measures for health.
u seemed to hv completed most of ur preps. what else is coming up for u?

hey r u girls going to the chatroom 2morrow? blossom, will u be there again?

hi och,

Could not hold of my designer.. she's busy. I will call her again tomorrow afternoon... dun worry.. will update you...
Yep... my preps.. well... gotta settle shoes.. hubby's suit for the evening and most impt thing... Renovation of my Flat !!! Nothing has been done as yet! Yep.. no worries.. not worried abt my weight.. used to it oredi..

I am not a regular in the chatroom.. it's ok....

halo nicole n gemi,

i would like to hold on an auspicious weekend date but the hotel tat im keen on has oredi 8, 14 n 21 dec booked, although i read somewhere tat 21 st isnt a good date. so im left with 7. for the 7th, im worried tat some ppl might wan to go for trips with their families during the school hols n attendance for my wedding would be poor. so i was thinkin abt holding it on my birthday cos most of them should be back from hols as sch would be starting soon. our parents would wan to hav auspicious dates, so im really left with no choice except 26. think i'll get 26 dec juz like gemi

thanks nicole n gemi for the help

hey chemson, if u need anything for the renovations, magazines, contacts etc, just tell me yah. i completed my renovations last yr n i hv a lot of decor magazines lying around my place. home n decor, squarerms, home concepts....

btw, what kind of bridal car r u using? what abt the rest of sept brides? anyone know any lobangs for the new volkswagon beetle?

Hi och,

Thanks for your offer. Sure... got anything... will ask you on renovations...
Where are you staying ? Sengkang, right? For me.. I am nearby... Buangkok.

And as for bridal car.. we are not taking from the bridal shop... probably will use a BMW.

thanx angelia for being so efficient, i've got ur mail and replied to u leow... btw, i might be out of office next week, so may not be able to login to the forum actively... I will still check my mail... pls sms me the time, place and venue nearer the date when everyone has confirmed... looking forward to see u gals!!

JenJen, has got ur email (& wiz, rachelle, janfyp)

aiya, i not so efficient lah
maybe too used to it. most of the time i'm the 1 organising (chalet, bbq, dinner etc..) so as to get my frenz out!!

will wait till next wed, latest fri b4 i send off the Nov Brides' list and attendence list ok?

meanwhile, pls keep the replies coming in....

You lucky girls! I don't think we can afford a honeymoon. Need to save up for house renovation...
We're not willing to compromise our house deco for the honeymoon...

Hi Kat22, Chemson, Och and all other gals,
No matter what shape and size we are, big arms, skinny arms, big waist, small waist, big chest, flat chest, the fact that we are here is because someone out there appreciates us for who we are!
I may be skinny but I've found someone who wants to spend the rest of his life with me! hehehe... mushy or not?!!

Hey Chemson,
You've got so much done already! I'm still relaxing leh... you're making me worried with your fast progress. Besides confirming venue and package, I've not done anything. Not looking for shoes, not looking for groom's suit, not confirm photographers... am I slow?

Hi Och,
We'll be using my hubby's 2-door TypeR. He'll be driving the car himself. It has always been his dream to fetch his bride on his own. I think this is the part he'll be enjoying most on the actual day.
You may want to try surfing the net for car rental companies. The beetle is getting popular among wedding couples. It shouldn't be difficult to get one. Good Luck!

hi Och,
wah, Tunisia is such an unique destination for honeymoon!! u joining a tour or free-n-easy?

for bridal car, me got fh's fren to lend us his bmw520 to save $$$. hw, he is not driving so gonna look for driver. i like the new beetle too but 2-door leh...thot it might be quite inconvenient for the bride to get into the backseat of the car...unless ur hubby driving and u sit in front!!
how abt the 4-door baby benz? hw, i notice most car rental shops dun hv such cute cars...mainly merc or family cars...

chemson - what design do u hv in mind for ur new house? will u be engaging any interior design firm? by the way, any suggestion for comfy n affordable mattress? saw in other threads abt simmons westbury mattress but cost abt $2K!

hi, sheep!
yup, u r right! no matter what size we r, we finally found someone who loves us just the way we r.

so, where's ur new place?

really envy u gals leh...can move in n stay in ur new house after wedding...me gonna stay with FILs first..
hope won't kenna bully by MIL!!

Hi och, sheep and Kat,

Och,
Borrowing the BMW.. it's a 7-series. May toy with the idea of using our own car.. see how.

sheep,
I agree with you... our hubbies married us for who we are and not what we are...

Shoes can wait.. but photographers for the actual day itself.. Sept is a hot month.. might want to start sourcing and booking your actual day photographers. For me... I am leaving the renovation to my hubby to do.

Kat,
The baby merc is cute... lots of leg space.. but of course nothing compares to the E200 Merc the recent models.. for me.. we have to start sourcing for our renovation contractors and nope we are not getting any interior designers.. we have the concept oredi. For mattresses... simmons is still the best.. for $2K... wow abit high.. wat abt Slumberland?

Oh yes Kat..

Frantically.. looking for Shirley but she is always busy leh... gonna get hold of her later in the afternoon... me.... toying with the idea of designing a corti for my EG... see how...

hi sheep, kat22, chemson,

thanks girls for ur help.

sheep: agree with chemson, actual day photographers need to be booked soon, unless u r getting friends to do it.

kat: we r going free n easy cos we r big fans of diy tours.
tour packages dun allow me to take a saharan camel ride or stay overnight in underground houses (just like star wars?).
if simmons is abv ur budget, try the king koil mattresses with pillowtop. the additional pillowtop is v. comfy. my friend got it for abt $1.3k (king size).

chemson, me also thinking of using our car. save $$ n quite meaningful. but our car is a bit small for my big skirt with long train...

Hi Kat22,
You're not the only one who have to stay with MIL. Me too! My lovenest would be in Hillview. It won't be ready till end 2004. I'm worried about having conflicts with MIL too, but no choice. Where's your new place? Any other brides who have to stay with MILs after wedding?

Hi Chemson,
I'm slacking already. Can't seem to get back into the mood. Suppose to confirm photographers this month, still haven't done anything. I'm trying hard to get into the mood again... sigh... getting lazy... Anybody having the same problems?

hi gals!

chemson,och, think i will didscuss with my bridal shop whetehr to hv the embroidery outside or inside leh...och, ur point is noted.. i will remmebr when i do my design!:-)

my idea is more to hv the buttons behind so the front is one continuous piece....

chemson, lezen's photographer is pretty good but felt it's way out of our budget. for the same price or lower, feline can provide MTM (lezen OTR) and photography which is quite comparable to lezen, in my opinoin. also, i think feline's makeup is really not too bad! (i'm not v. pretty so need all these makeover stuff to be pretty good)

kat, u are loaded ! i cld only dream of those places u want to go! hehehe...hehehe...so hard to find someone else who is flat and sallow! heheh...i think pure white might be better for us, or else a v. white shade of off-white.okie, i will go try out the bustier thing.

och, chemson, abt my thinness - i look really gaunt, ever since i started working 4 yrs back, i hv lost a lot of weight and my family / frens who knew me then complain i look haggard and u know, gaunt...so, it may not be such a good thing to be so thin! worse, i get hungry easily and keep eating but nothing seems to be getting into my body....and its embarrasssing when ur stomach keeps growling during meetings! it is better to be healthy...!! :-)

and after my operation in june last yr, i also dindt eat a lot and ended up thinner than ever!! stress on job also made it worse!!

chemson, u can also ask me abt my reno, i also did it last yr...och, wish i had known u then! och, can't rem which block u in, somewhere near me rite?

sheep, my uncle can lend us his 2 door merc, but hubby keeps complaining that we cannot both sit in the back or smthing.!! i wanted a crazy idea like juz the 2 of us drive that car...i dun like to follow the crowd but he prefers not to 'break rules'...any prblems getting in w ur gown?

take care gals!
btw, any one got old bridal mags can lend me ? i dun hv that many magaziens.

Hi Kat22,
You're not the only one who have to stay with MIL. Me too! My lovenest would be in Hillview. It won't be ready till end 2004. I'm worried about having conflicts with MIL too, but no choice. Where's your new place? Any other brides who have to stay with MILs after wedding?

Hi Chemson,
I'm slacking already. Can't seem to get back into the mood. Suppose to confirm photographers this month, still haven't done anything. I'm trying hard to get into the mood again... sigh... getting lazy... Anybody having the same problems?

Hi och & sheep,

Hey Och,
Using our own car would be an unique idea... but it would be rather tiring if hubby is driving...
See how though..
Have you engaged your actual day photographer? Benny Ang, right? For me.. I am using Monica.

Hey Sheep,
I dun think MILs are that terrible these days...
Just bear with them for the time being though... In any case... must get down to book for your actual day photographers, ok ? Dun slack... :P

hi septembergal, a lot of cortis hv buttons behind, so ur idea will work well.
i hv a lot of bridal magazines too. can pass to u if u want. i hv her world's brides (most issues except those on loan), some wedding n travel, some female brides, some us bridal magazines, some recent martha stewarts weddings. take ur pick. but i need the martha stewarts magazines in april. we r staying close by i think.... i'm near the bt batok swimming pool.

dun mind my kaypohing.... what operation did u hv? it sounds v. serious. it's ok if u feel uncomfortable answering.

chemson, benny ang too expensive liao.
i engaged hilarion goh.
yah, i agree it's tiring for hubby to drive. doesn't help that he's perpetually getting lost.
i cannot decide between borrowing mercs/bmw or renting a cuter car, like beetle, or even a silver london cab. will hv to see....

Hi gals, me also getting married on 30 Dec 02, same as Piggy. Piggy u finally decided on 30 Dec, is it? cos u mentioned that it's not an auspicious date?

i've booked both banquet and bridal. my bridal is from Yvonne creative and planning to take my photos in Jun/Jul also, same as Jasminetea, cos hubby got to study and june is his holidays

hi Gemi, may i know how much does ur actual day photography charges? erm, i also wonder is it too early to book actual day photographer? will they forget abt it cos it's still so many months.

Sorry, sorry... the blur me forget that I've sent the mail already... was interrupted, then came back and re-send the same thing! Hahaha...

Hi Och,
Don't slack hor... Buck up! It's no good to slack, ok? Haha... the pot calling the kettle black!

Hi Septembergal,
I can forsee some problems getting into the 2-door. My hubby loves breaking rules, that's why he want to drive his own 2-door. Because it's a sports car, the seat tend to be lower than ordinary cars. It'll look a little ungraceful getting in and out of the car, but I think that's fine cos nobody will notice.

Hi Chemson,
Actually, I think there shouldn't be any problems between me and MIL. But after hearing all the MIL stories, getting a bit scared. Yeah... I better wake up my idea and book a photographer...

Hi Ping,

I thot 30th Dec is also an auspicious date, according to the Tongshu. As for my actual day photographer, it is $700 for 8 rolls (but I think he just increased his price by another $50), and $800 (for 2-3 black and white rolls out of the 8 rolls). His packages are not exactly the cheapest, but if you are looking at a bit of journalistic style, his prices are quite reasonable I think.

I dun think it is too early to book. The popular ones like Andrew Tay tend to be taken up real quick. Besides, I think yours is quite a popular day also.

So which hotel are you taking?

Hey Septembergal,

For me.. I am a big embroidery fan ! Would be having them outside on my organza.. at least it is more obvious and it will stand out even more. Och is right.. try sourcing for the recent ones.. for me.. I prefer Herworld and Femalebrides.. the rest lacks in content and they dun feature a lot of designers and photographers. Martha Stewart is fantastic and if you can get hold.. Instyle Weddings.. the Spring 2002 issue.. it is fantastic ! Sure.. will ask you for advice on reno... if I have one...

Hey sheep and och... for me.. 2-door car too space restricting for our gowns esp if there is train...
Och.. oh... you got Hilarion Goh as your actual day.... sheep... remember to step on your brakes... and book yours soon.. any one in mind ?

Hi Gemi, wow $700 is quite expensive for me. actually my bridal is offering me $250 for actual day but does not have any free rolls of films and each additional rolls costs $35 for 4R, so if for 8 rolls, the total costs will be $280 + $250 = $530. but i havent seen the portfolio, so dont know the skills. and i only meeting my bridal shop in mar, so can only confirm by then.

my hotel is at traders. how abt urs?

Hi Chemson,
Yeah... the 2-door car is going to be restricting. My hubby's car has got a spacious front, it's the bucket seats that I'm worried about. And I've got a big ballroom gown...

Hehehe... no one in mind... completely switch off... beyond hope..
I think I'll just use anyone I can get hold off. I've already got a contact from a colleague but haven't meet up with them yet.

hi, ladies!

Och - wow, free-n-easy! quite stressful rite? 'cos must plan...but i guess that's the fun part too
me bery lazy so most likely join tour hahaha
for london cab, i think citicab has london cab in colours other than white...maybe u can call them to check

Chemson - yup, Shirley is always bery busy..guess it's b'cos she's designer cum make-up artist cum hair stylist!!

slumberland n king koil are both on my list...which model is gd? wow, bmw 700 series is very very nice! go for it

Sheep - so we r in the same boat! I think u luckier than me. My MIL is abit bossy kind so dunno can stand her or not leh...she very nice to me now but dunno after wedding....guess like what Chemson says - bear wiz it lor

my new place at P21. sigh..still counting the days b4 i can get my keys! n yes, do book an actual day photographer soon...my photographer nearly got booked on my wedding day..lucky we book him first!

septembergal - no lah, where got loaded...not rich dat's why keep changing location hehehe
oso, me working in airline so got free tickets for FH & me n dat sorta save us quite abit of money lor...
r u attending wedding present n Le Galleria Bridal Atelier bridal shows this weekend? maybe u can get quite gd deals there!

Hi Ping

I had confirmed it is an auspicious date on 30/12/01. In case you gals need a list of auspicious date, check out one of the posted thread "Auspicious Wedding Date Lists".

Hey Sheep,
A good actual day photographer is very important. You can try Choon Huat of Fast Soup Photography, Monica Eng just to name a few. Andrew Tay is good as well.

Hey Kat22, no lah... Shirley actually comes in the late afternoon.. so you gotta pick the right timing to get hold of her...
Who have you booked as your actual day photographer? As HDB is scaling down on the development of new HDB flats, I am sure you will get your flat very soon. Wow you are lucky.. can work for an airline...

Hi Ping,

Yah..there are a couple of studios that offer $500 plus photography packages. I think these are normally for traditional photography only and consist of only colour photos.

I might be upgrading to the $800 package, as I like some B/W photos as well. You should take a look at the photographer's portfolios and decide if you like them. Who knows, you may actually get a good deal.

Actually, initially I never expected to spend so much on photography, but after looking at his photos, I decided to go ahead. Aiyo..plus the videography which I may also take, I'm going to burn a big hole in my pocket.

BTW, my hotel is at Sheraton.

Hi, Chemson

OIC, no wonder it's so hard to catch hold of her
I got Benny Ang as our actual day photographer...actually hor, although foc tickets but not firm ones...if flight is full, me n fh will be bumped off!!! so we can only travel during off-peak periods....actually better to buy firm tickets...at least got peace of mind!

Hi, Sheep

Yup, I would recommend Andrew Tay as well...we r getting him for our outdoor shots. We saw his actual day photos n thot they were very nice...journalistic style

Since we r getting married on the same day, guess Benny Ang is out for you...think LMF oso mention that Monica Eng is oredi booked on our wedding day...better be quick if u wanna gd actual photographer!!

Hi Kat22,

How much is BA charging you for actual day ? Must be quite a lot, right? I guess Sept is not really that peak a period... so.. better book fast though.

Hi, Chemson

I m paying $2000 for the actual day photography...quite x rite? i abit heartpain...

i m oso into embroidery!! what colour is ur embroidery? I m having champagne gold floral embroidery

i think my idea of having cheongsam corti may not be feasible if i wanna halter-neck EG...think a bustier is more suitable but my WG oredi bustier so dun wan another bustier...sigh...think i better discuss wiz shirley when i see her on the 7th....

Hi Kat22,
Wow... $2K... abit ex.. how many ro11s are there? Is it a combi of coloured and B & W?
My embroidery.. well.. initally.. wanted cream embroideries and then for my flora bit.. it will be something like yours but more on the peachy colour... but when Hubby saw Shirley's silver embroidery work.. he wanted that on my WG as it will bring out the detailing more... also... I actually used this design from this US designer Alfred Sung for my embroidery work.. so.. Shirley will be following the design. Will call Shirley (if I can get hold of her) on corti design...:P

Hi och and Kat22

Managed to get hold of Shirley.. well.. my EG is an empire-cut with a layer of organza over my satin and she said I looked better in it than the corti.. cos it won't make me look as if there are too many details on me... she did suggest an organza overcoat (similar to corti) over a sphagetti-strapped dress... but it will look complicated for me... so.. I am still sticking to the original design... but I won't have to confirm my EG design until my first fitting or there after...
Oh yes... corti does suit our size frames...

have been really busy recently (just came back from US on biz trip).
Unfortunately, won't be able to make it for the outing, but have fun, you gals!
Thanks Angelia for putting in the effort to organise this!

Oh, and just to update the list, I will be having my dinner at Four Seasons.
Bridal boutique is The Wedding Present.

Will be attending their wedding show this Sat.
Anyone else going for it?

hi, chemson!
can't remember how many rolls but i think it's 10-12 rolls?? yup, it will be a combi of colour n B&W
U see...BA is my FH's fren
we told him to charge us the norm rate but there will be little x-tras for us

Glad u got hold of shirley...oh, does it mean we can still change our design after confirming? me abit fickle-minded kind :P

och, may i hv ur contact no.? i really wld like to borrow the mags from u. i stay @ 115, one of the older point blocks next to the community centre.
can eml to me @ [email protected]
no worries abt kaypohing, in fact i'd want to share this w as many gals as possible so that they dont play play! my mense were getting heavier and more and more painful over 1 yr before my op. then, the GP i visited kept saying that nothing wrong, i will be OK after giving birth, juz keep taking painkillers, etc etc.
then, after 6 mths of excruciating pain, i insisted that i go for further tests. turned out i had 2 large cysts (4cm) in my ovaries. frightening huh? had to take them out immediately
if u know anyone w such symptoms, get them to go for further tests!!

Hi Angelia and all Nov brides,

Thanks for organising this outing but I will not be able to make it. Hopefully next time. Enjoy!!

hi sheep, kat, chemson,

sheep, u also dun slack hor.
ur description of getting off the car is v. funny.

kat, we r quite shui bian one, so we will just book the air tix n list the locations we want to go, then we go liao.
stuff like internal transport, hotels etc can find when we reach there. so far, all our diy tours r like that. most countries hv such well developed tourism industry that it's never a problem getting around.

wah, u engaged ba?! good choice, he takes v. nice photos.

chemson, margaret said the same abt hving to keep my design simple.
when u hv pictures of ur gown, must show us hor.