(2002) Brides of year 2002

Oh.. Kat22,

There's more to add... after the solemnisation... you can have your speeches, cut the cake and start your dinner....consequently.. for the 2nd march-in, you can pop the champagne and have your yam sheng then... cos... for some weddings.. the 2nd march ins will include the speeches as well as the yam sheng.. can be quite long. Oso... if you are having your solemnisation before dinner... when you march in... you gotta decide to whether to have you veil up or down. My colleague left it up.

Hi och,

Guess it is up to you whether to have a 2nd march-in cos you will have one song to play less. For my cousin's wedding.. she did not have a 2nd march.. she merely went to change into her evening gown and then the MC just asked the immediate side to approach the stage for yam sheng when she came back with her change.

Yah..I will try to think of the good side. One more good thing, during Dec, there will be x'mas decor in the hotel, so it will look extra pretty.

As for my gowns, I have made a tentative reservation for one of them. The skirt is chiffon, so hopefully it won't turn yellow by Dec. But anyway, I will be looking out for others, and if there is a better one, I can always change. (BTW I took OTR).

Main thing now is to lose weight. I'm not a very disciplined person. One day I will fast, next day I will eat hamburgers. My parents and hubby always shake their heads when they see me.

BTW, when is a good time to start facials?

Hi Septembergal,
So you going Korea to ski? Great! At least you get to ski...
Since you can't assess the bustier gown yourself, why don't you bring someone along to try it for a second time? I can't assess it myself too, I thought it's nice but wasn't too sure. I brought my FH and my mom. Altogether, I tried 3 times! I don't have a great figure. I'm quite bony too, especially at my hips. I'll be wearing a puffy gown to cover up my skinny hips. My upper body is bony but still acceptable. Try the gown for a 2nd time, I guarantee you'll make a decision.
Who says skinny people don't look nice in shawls? Try it and you'll know if you look good. What you hear from others is definitely not a clear indication of how you'll look. If you want to look pretty on your BIG day, what you need to do now is to try, try, try and try!

Hi, gals!

Chemson - OIC
I like ur program...think i will follow something similar. spoke to FH yesterday n he like ur fren's sequence. He oso wanted to hv a speech after the ceremony then start dinner.

och - yup, me wanted to cut cake after solemnisation.

So, that's it!....we will march in together, hv the ceremony, pronounce mr & mrsXXX, cut the cake, give speech then start dinner.

Many tks, Chemson n och!! looks like i hv settled my program for the dinner!

och - hey, ur gown design gave me an idea! since i wanted a cheongsam, maybe i will get shirley to make a cheongsam corti over my EG!
save $$ hehehe...me will be hving second march-in...wanna show off my EG mah n oso to march in officially as mr & mrs XXX
hw, instead of usual yum seng, will say cheers instead...must get my MC to prompt the guests to say cheers! hehe

septembergal - i still prefer MC to amara. i heard they refurbish the outside n lobby but ballroom still the same. dunno how true. guess u better check it out. u can oso go to the amara thread.
since u r small built, maybe u can look for 1 dat's not too long n big so u won't be overwhelm by the shawl. my fren (she quite pettite) wore one dat's too big for her n it sorta cover up half her EG...

Hi Kat22,

U R most welcome... you learnt by attending and helping out at your friends and relatives wedding... I think I have helped out 5 weddings...
So.. I am seasoned... :P I like having all done in one short during the first march-in, cut cake and have the speeches done before dinner commencement.. at least you get the speech over and done with and the guests can view your WG more...

I'm agreeable of the dinner on the 1st... at the moment, coz my job sometimes last min do OT...

I live in the west area, so places like Tampines, Simei, are out... preferably in the central or tending to the west side of the island...

acherly, today i got craving for sushi... so i'm going to suggest going to sakae sushi for the dinner... hahah... but on the date dunno if i still want to eat sushi... hehehe...

i'm kinda afraid that when we meet, dunno wat to say leh... can suggest wat topics are we going to chat abt?? like exchanging information on lobangs or wat...

hi kat, chemson,

kat, u r welcome. tho i din do much. it was basically chemson giving all the ideas.
but i agree with her, there's nothing like helping out at weddings to get seasoned.

as for the gown, the reason why i chose the corti design is also to save $$
great minds think alike.
but i'm not going to hv a 2nd march-in. we may also do away with the 1st dish presentation.

btw gals, where r u going for the honeymoon? given any thots to it yet?

Sorry to interrupt your conversation? Does anyone know where's the Labrador Park? Seems like a lot of people commented that it's a good place for outdoor shooting. Any other good places to share?

Hello Chemson,
Thanks for your info. Have you been there? Is it a nice place? What are the common scenes over there, eg trees, bridges, ponds, etc...? Have you chosen any places for your outdoor shooting?

Hi LMF,

I heard from this fren that they have got this really really nice bridge down there and it is excellent for photo-taking. I am not doing outdoor photography but indoor only. Therefore, I dun have to wreck my head for locations... Phew ! But I intend to take some outdoor locations on my wedding day though... see how.

other locations you can consider:
1. Marina South
2. Botanical Gardens
3. East Coast
4. Labrador Park
5. Changi
6. The Tanjong Pagar Conservation Area
7. The Tanjong Pagar Railway Station
8. Sentosa

some places you can consider... look at the outdoor threads.. the gals did give some wonderful suggestions.

Hello Chemson,
Thanks for your precious information. I think it will help me to lessen the times I wreck my brains. Must jote down first... Anyway, Thanks!

hi lmf, chemson,

labrador park has a small beach with coarse sand n lots of large boulders, a rather large park with well-kept trees n a foresty part uphill. it's very scenic but beware of mosquitoes.

regarding tanjong pagar railway station... my colleagues tried to take his wedding shots there but was turned away bcos he doesn't have a train ticket. in the end, he had to use a disused part of the railway tracks a distance away.

another 2 suggestions:
fullerton hotel n the bridge outside the hotel (overlooking the marina bay).
millenia walk

aiya.. sorry angelia, didn't see ur posting.. me blur already forget 11th is new year's eve.

I am unable to make it on the 1st feb.. will be out of the country that few days. u gals wanna go ahead withthe 1st outing first? i can join u for the 2nd one. or the 8th? hehe

what do u think?

starfruit

jenjen and janfyp,

dun have to be shy one, just share with us all ur wedding preperations and we can exchange ideas and gossipe about bridal boutiques, photographers etc etc. ia ms ure it will be fun.

i juz like to chk if u hv ur wedding on 09.09.02 then when is ur guo ta li cos usally pple do it few wks b4 but it seems that that month is 7th mth.

Pls adv

thks for showing ur support for my decision. all my colleagues support me too and they admire me for my courage.

if u all have any lobangs on any companies (located in the east/central zone) looking for accountants, please inform me at [email protected].

thks so much for helping me out!

gathering!!!

seems like it's only the few of us (3-4)
anyway, guess it's pretty difficult to set a date that suits everyone. so prob we'll hv more outings and eventually all will get to see each other

okie, for this very FIRST outing, how abt :

DATE : 01 Feb (Fri, not too close to CNY)
TIME : 7:00 pm
VENUE : Obrien Sandwich Bar (City Link)

starfruit : hope to c u the next time.

others : will send an email (based on what i have after "running" all over the forum to "gather" the emails

hope will hv better response after i "mass-mail" all Nov brides

Lets make it on the 8th then since starfruit can make it on the 8th. BTW what happen to
jimny, Irene, Jowie, Nikki, Wiz Lim, diff k, Karen, JasTan, dreamy, kelling, dee, berlinelee, wutsy, Bumblebee, wutsy? Didn't see any them for a really long time?

Janice

Been rather with work and also having a hard time finding this thread. Didn't know it has moved...
Finally able to find today...

Janice, thanks for enquiry. Anyway I am back...
I believe those of us that are considered 'new' didn't know the moving of the thread. So that is one reason why you didn't 'see' us....

Dance40, based on first encounter, I find Andrew is okay. He is not fierce, but he explains to us in details our queries. My FH and me went prepared in the sense that we look serious.. So he 'treat' us better, knowing that he cannot 'play-play'...

You don't need to worry too much. As what he
explains, communication is important. If there is any issues, just raise it to them. This is what we think is logical and true. From such, we will be able to see how good is their services then.

Yes, my gown (wd & ed) are MTM. I agree with you that MTM series are much better. Initally, I saw their OTR, was so disappointed. After seeing the MTM, feels better...
At least is to my expectation.

Angelia, Have brought my ROM and customary foward. We are doing both on the same day. Although I have 1 mth less, but to me still have enough time. Actually I don't have much to settle after confirming the bridal & dinner venue. I can 'shake my leg' at least for next 2 months.

Oh no, that's not very good news, I have about 50 tables. Anything, both side parents are pretty happy with the food they serve after the food tasting previous Sunday, except for a few comments on their shark fins, lotus rice and dessert. Have already told them and 1 mth before the actual, will taste again. Food wise I am not so worried as both parents are experts and will definately talk to them if not up to standard. Maybe 'complain' even.....

As for the gathering, I prefer 8/Feb/2002. But a bit scare leh, never met any of you. How can I identify you gals?

hi all : was a bit concern 8 Feb too near CNY & many will be busy. but well, seems dat i worry too much

so are we settling on 8 Feb? time and venue remains??

JasTan : ya, me also waiting for my ROM to be over so that i can "shake leg" for a couple of mths b4 the actual day
getting a bit tired over the ROM preparations. btw, can post ur email? compiling the Nov Bride list for easy ref & contact.

will email all Nov Bride (whom i managed to dig out the email addy) maybe end of the day or tomorrow.

kelling, jimny and rascal : didn't manage to find ur email addy, even after rummaging the whole forum.
hopefully u manage to check these posts in time and join at the outing

for contacting & compilation purpose (if u dun mind disclosing ur mobile/pager no), do drop me a mail at : [email protected]

pls include ur nick, real name and mobile/pager no. thanks

really looking forward to meeting u gals

hallo gals!
chemson, if my complexion is fair but sallow (ie not the rosy sort - more of yellow / sallow tone), means i cannot take ivory rite? 1 boutigque told me pure white or at most off white suits me better, i'm not sure!

this shawl thing interests me...i will do it!

och, i think ur idea is really fantastic, in fact before u told me abt ur corti, i was having some idea about this in my mind (but i hv it in mind for the wedding gown, not the EG)...i juz didnt know it was called a corti! one qn, must the embroidery, etc be on the corti? can it be on the gown underneath ? (and so the corti is juz plain organza?) thanks for the zanndenn! v. useful! btw, thanks for the marketplace thing abt feline. i think i shall be able to better that deal...so... :-)

seems that amara thread dun hv a lot of fantastic comments abt the hotel.

sheep, FH is trying hard to get us to austria,....so i still hope to go austria..but if really cannot, ii guess korea will be juz as nice....afterall...it's FH bneing around with me that's impt, rite?

yeah, i think i'll get my sis etc to go with me when i try on again. the only prob. w feline is that their display gowns are all so big sized. at lezen, their display gowns were all very small sized, so FH got very fascinated by all the gowns fitting me so well (as compared to our expereince at feline)...and thats why we got swayed twds lezen. in fact, we even thot that feline was lousy until we saw those pics of feline designs in the magazines!

(gals, i hope we are not mistaken in this, if u hv heard anything nasty abt feline, pls lemme know fast!)

too bad that at the end of the day, lezen's photography is really too expensive and they cannot match feline's.

sheep, i am also flat-chested! think i am hopeless!

kat, thanks for the tip abt the shawl! i will remmeber! and perhaps we will think 2x abt the amara thing!

och, kat, i wanted that corti cuz i thot it'll be more versatile when u do photoshoot!

Hi septembergal & all,

Love the idea on the corti.... you will look exquisite with embroideries sewn onto the gown...
And I agree... Corti gives a versatile look...

As for the skin tone.. you need to try a few pieces ranging from off white, white and ivory.. see which suit you best.

Lezen actually has a good range of photographers.. cos ultimately.. even if the gowns are great... it needs to compliment with the photos as well..

mia for a while....and the disappearance of the thread didn't help either...

yes, let's meet up....just settle on a date and place and i'll try to be there....

just had a real tough week with the banquet location....tell you guys when i see you...

in the meantime, take care...

oopppsss I must apologized for the thread's disappearance... coz i was the one who suggested to chinleng to put these threads in chronological order for easy ref... seems like not very easy hor...

Morning ladies!

och - there r so many places that we wanna go! first it was Europe, then it was Japan, latest is maldives...still can't confirm
maybe end up in south africa...hahaha
how abt u? where do u plan to go?

LMF - i like millenia walk n 1 fullerton too
think u will get very nic pics there
think the expo mrt station is quite nice too...

septembergal - hey, we r in the same boat leh...me oso flat-chested with fair but sallow skin! my designer oso say i look better in pure white 'cos it sorta brighten me up
so try different shades of white to find the shade that suits u best! flatchested? nevermind one...got padding mah
me oso quite flat-chested n i m wearing bustier leh...i m sure u look great in bustier...like what sheep says, try, try, try!

blossom - so happy to see u so cheerful lately
i guess not everyone is brave enough to just quit
i m sure u will get a gd job soon...every co needs accountants ....

unique - sorry, can't really help u 'cos me got no idea on guo da li as well. wonder if u can do it 1 mth in advance...er..no harm rite?

hi crayon,

my bro forgot the photographer's name..paiseh...but he did describe to me that he's a chinese, tall but not thin..last time he used to grow his hair real long but now cut short liao...maybe u can desc this to the shop pple if u'r really keen to find out who is this guy

Was wondering when u gals will start to book yr honeymoon air tickets and accomodation? As u know, Dec is a very popular holidaying month, how many months in advance will u book?

Hi gemi,

me know nothing abt facials. can't help u there. :P

Nicole

Hi Janice

Sorry i have not logged on for a while cos busy looking for jobs and meeting up with the designer for my gown. BTW i have been without a job since i resigned from my job several months ago so me free to meet anytime. So are we meeting on the 8th or 1st? Time and venue no change?

Hi Angelia,
my email address is at [email protected] btw i have emailed my contact no. to you. thanks for doing the compilation work. See you at the gathering.

Hi janfyp,

I change my nick to dance40 as I think there is another Irene in here.
I'm with the Paris bride.

Hi Angelia,

I'm sorry, I don't think I could make it for the gathering coz I've got class on friday night.
Maybe some other times.

Hi Jastan,

Yap I agree with them and you that communication is very important.
Maybe their attitude changes if the lady boss happen to read the forum comments.

And I've also book my restaurant.

Just hope that the food are nice (i think so).

By the way, what type of gown do you think I should wear?

I'm in a fix now coz I like a couple of designs and I don't really know how.........

I can email u my makeover pix but it's a big file.

hi Nicole,

I may postpone my honeymoon till next year. Have you decided where you are going? Perhaps it will be better to book early since it is a holiday peak season. I will be informing my overseas guests to book early too, in case they can't get any flights here.

Are you taking a package? I think airlines take tentative bookings right? But I dun know by when you have to pay up. If you have decided where you are going, why dun you make a tentative booking first, just to secure a seat on the flight. But then again, for Dec period, they may be a bit stricter on such bookings.

dance40 : well, i'm sure we'll hv more gatherings in future, n will ry to avoid fridays so u can attend.

meanwhile, i'll also like to take a look at ur pics.

jimny : got ur mail. will wait till this evening then i "mass-mail" u gals.
hope to get more replies.

as for how to recognise each other, maybe we can post, on the meeting day, what are we wearing then. wanted to suggest compiling e-photos, but not sure if most of us have a copy.

comments, pls.

Hi lollipop,

i'm actually a june bride... join this thread to say hello to my dear fren, novbride... hope u dun mind

hello everyone!

wah, i really admire u: septembergal n sheep. while i'm trying to hide obvious defects like protruding tummies n big arms/hips, here u gals r puzzling over what to wear to cover up ur bones??!!

septembergal, agree with chemson. try the different colours first n see which suits u best. ivory usually looks good on asian skins, but u may want something whiter n brighter. when i wear pure white, i look absolutely haggard n sallow.
try on some bustiers too with other cuts n see what looks good on u. my super thin friend (taller than u but same weight) wore a bustier too n she looked good.

normally embroideries n crystals r on the corti cos they will be most obvious. u can sew them on the gown underneath, but it will mute the impact somewhat. if crystals r covered by organza, then they cannot shine very well rite?
hm... maybe ur designer can come up with a corti design such that it doesn't cover the details.

chemson, i visited riccino. their custom made shoes r very expensive!!!

kat, for my honeymoon, i was also oscillating between many different countries: israel, eastern europe, scandinavia... so many places i wanted to visit. a lot of places had to be struck off bcos of turmoil. finally decided on a 2-weeks trip to tunisia, plus a short 4 days stay in london where we r transiting.
we could transit in france, but i'm not particularly fond of paris, so...
i'm very fond of travelling. cannot wait to go for honeymoon.

Hey och,

I am in the same boat as you.. tummy and big arms.. I like the idea of the corti... hmmm.. tempted to ask my designer whether my frame can take it or not... :P (U know I have a bigger frame..:P) Agree with you that riccino is ex... considering leaping lizards??

As for honeymoon.. not thought of it yet... NZ is one choice.. dun mind Korea as well... cos US is out.. cos the 911 thingy... Hubby dun want to jeopardise... and we have travelled almost the whole of Australia.. for me... my destination must encompass scenery and shopping!!

yo chemson,

ask ur designer leh. i'm also big frame, but i'm still going with my corti design.
r ur gowns made yet?

i'll check out the big stores like taka etc first to see if i can get one cheap ready-made shoes. if i dun see anything i like, i will visit leapin lizards. it seems to be quite good value for money. popped by riccino only cos i went to jl lingerie to look for corsets. speaking of which, i bought a corset finally. found my size in robinsons.

so sad usa is out, cos it has really good scenery in its national parks, clean environment n excellent shopping.
i'm also a scenery person, but my hubby is a history kind of person. so we decided on tunisia, where there's plenty of ruins (for him) n plenty to see n do in sahara desert (for me).

korea n nz r good choices for scenery n shopping. hv u considered switzerland? shopping is expensive but the sceneries r good. or japan?

Would love to join u guys for the gathering. But can't confirm now, can i confirm later..by friday?

Angelia,
Thanks for organising and doing the compilation job. And really looking forward to meet u again if I can make it, that is). So is Irene coming too, must ask her to come too, ok?
My email addr is [email protected]

Hi och,

Sure I will ask her. By the way.... what's your frame size? I am 166 cm tall and weigh about 63 kilos... considered plump and big sized in S'pore gals context...

Will update you later... My WG is being made now... EG not yet.. so.. I still have time to change to a corti design if I Want..

Japan is out.. too ex.... NZ, Korea will be considered.> I dun even mind Europe.. but the cost will be high tho.

hey chemson,

what a coincidence!! for a moment, i thot there's a direct correlation between september brides n super thin girls.
i'm abt 164cm, n my weight is hovering ard 60kg. 60kg is a big barrier for me. sigh.... singapore girls r all v. thin... but think positive, i always tell my hubby that with my size, there's a lot of me for him to love.

heard that japan is quite affordable after their currency fell. how long r u going to spend on honeymoon? mine will be 3 weeks.

to all dec brides,

im plannin to hav my wedding in dec this yr but dunno which date i should choose. im undecided between 26 n 28 december. according to the lunar calendar, 26 is apparently an auspicious date to get married but it's a weekday. wouldnt it mean tat my relatives would hav to take leave for my tea ceremony? oso would less ppl turn up for the banquet as they still hav to work the next day? 28 is my birthday but i think it isnt an auspicious day. besides everywhere would be too crowded for some outdoor actual day photography.

should i juz heck care abt this auspicious business?

Hi Girl

I would like to have something untraditional. Although I more or less decided how the back of the EG and WG should look like, but not the front. I got broad shoulders,so not sure what to take, spaghetti strap may make me look "baba". Off shoulders worst still!

Anyone got any lobang on the web to see WG and EG designs? Whc church you gals from hah?