(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hello Chemson, Kat22, och,
Hope that all of you are very satisfied with your gowns. I'm still waiting for my turn. Anyone of you thinking of having shawl for your gowns? I find it is nice and elegant. But it's a bit troublesome as it may falls or slides down from your shoulder. Actually I want to have shawls to cover up my arms. Any comments?

Septembergal, seems like you're having a hard time. Whatever it is, when you feel stressed, just pop in this forum and complain to us. I believe all of us will try to relieve your stress. What happens to your email? We've missed out a lot of conversation. Previously, I thought you said you have already confirmed your bridal shop. Now you're saying that you're still hunting for one???? Do you have another email address whereby I can email to you? Have you received my 3rd email to you?

Hi sheep,
Me too! I love ivory gowns. But my designer commented that I will look better in white bcos I'm fair. So got to really try on gowns before I decide the colour. Most of you gals chosen a bustier gown. Seems very attractive! Must try on it too!

Hi LMF,
Since you're blessed with fair complexion, you should go for white. A lot of brides can't take white cos their skin colour doesn't allow them to. But also because you're fair, you are given a choice to white or ivory, you'll look good in both.

Hi LMF,

I am using a shawl with my evening gown... my arms are just too big...
Need to cover them...FYI.. my WG has a 3/4 sleeves... wanna look different this time round...

Sheep, thanks for your compliments. Chemson, 3/4 sleeves is not a bad idea. Gotta talk to my designer about ways to cover up.

Yah...I'm also wondering why this thread had cooled off? Is everyone busy with work and wedding preparations?
Hey, need advice and suggestions on my wedding day from you gals out there. I'll be having my solemnization ceremony before the dinner starts. Since I'll be having it in another location of the hotel, on a different floor from where the banquet will be held, how should I address it in my invitations? I'm not expecting a lot of ppl to attend the solemnization because it's on a Fri and ppl still need to work (btw, it's around 6pm in the evening), but I guess, as a gesture of courtesy, it will be good to indicate in the invitation. How shld I go abt it?
Another thing, do u all think it's kinda funny to do cake cutting after the solemnization ceremony? Cos I thought since the rental of that pl is rather ex, so might as well make the most out of it. I'm thinking of getting a real cake. And I will only be doing the champagne pouring during the banquet, no cake cutting(dun wan to repeat, heehee). What do u think?
Thanks a lot!!

It's me! How have you all been?
Anything to update me?

Crayon, when will you be going for your first fitting? Understand your bridal studio is very near mine. Do you stay in Tampines?

Hi lollipop,
Good to see u here! Seems like this forum is quiet these few days..

I wil be going next Sat. Mine bridal shop is in Yishun..I stay in the West Zone..Bukit Batok.
Where is your Studio? GHA?

Hey ladies
Just wondering if u gals are getting any liquor or wine for banquets? Read from other forum tat there is a place where they sell cheaper non-duty free liquor. If u gals interested, we can share and buy them in bulk. Think can save some $$

I'm a Dec bride too.

Hi Girl,
My wedding is on the same date as yrs!!
7th Dec 2002. Which church are you from?

My church service is at Chijmes and my dinner at Fullerton. I've signed up with Bridal Veil.

Just want to check with the rest of u, have u booked yr actual day photographer yet? Any reccomendations? When are you going to take yr studio shots?

Nicole

Hi Nicole,

Wow..Fullerton is nice. I've signed up with Allure Charix (merger between the Allure and Charis). Just signed up with Choon Huat from Fast soup yesterday as my actual day photographer. Now looking for a videographer.

Yes, Crayon, my bridal studio is GHA... and I stay in Hougang. My, you stay very far away leh.

Where is this forum? Can share? I haven't decided on wines and liquor yet... thought that can wait.

Hi Nicole,

Such a coincidence

I'm from Barker Road Methodist, what about you?

Chijmes is a very nice place for a church service. A friend of mine had his there and the atmosphere was really wonderful

I'll be having photoshoot in Sept, I think it should be in good time for our wedding.

I've booked Robin as my actual day and studio photographer. He's tied up with Divine.
Actually a little kiasu of me, but we settled it early as my FH is doing his postgrad overseas and was back for hols.

Have you decided on your photographer? I hear Dec is always a busy period, so it may be wise to book ahead of time

hi septembergal,

dun stress! i know it's easier said than done, but take things in ur stride. dun know abt u, but if i feel rushed n tired, i get mad at everyone. so if possible, do take a weekend off to talk to ur husband without the stress of looming appts. tell him how impt the ski trip to europe is, how badly u want to visit the austrian alps, n ask that both of u work out a compromise. good luck with it.
we'll be here to help in whatever way we can.

finally agreed on the honeymoon locations with my hubby.
it's usually an uphill tasks cos we like to see very different things. anyway... i'm transiting in london, n i'm going free n easy. so we can trade info when we get them.
i've been to austria, but not to the alps.

hv u been skiing b4? i always thot a week of skiing is very siong. after 1 day, i'm aching all over oredi. after 3 days, i buay tahan liao. but then hor, i'm just a beginner lah, so maybe i'm shacked bcos i hv to eat snow n climb out of snow heaps ever so often.
think more advanced skiers hv a less shack time. i know my hubby definitely looks like he's on a high after every trip.

hi lmf, sheep, chemson,

hiakz hiakz, ur gowns sound v. good.

lmf, take ur time to choose gowns hor.
happy gowns selection. u r selecting ur gowns the same time i'm getting measured.

chemson, i may be making my shoes too. i'm going to check out this shop called riccino that margaret recommended. after u go to leapin lizard, share, share ur experiences ok?

Hi och,

I have actually been to Riccino.... ok lah... they have 2 outlets at Orchard Plaza (beside Orchard point) and it is ok.. but the $$ is on the high side... there is also another place called Ram's Shoes... it is located at a very small corner (in fact beside a shop selling 4D) and it is recommended by Chin leng in this forum. But I have had my ROM shoes made by leaping lizards before.. so I know what to expect from them... :P (besides it's right beside Flamingo..

Hi Lollipop,
We both stayed so far away..i only go to Hougang once..

Actually the wines topics is in this website but under Banquets --> Hard Liquor --> Recommended by Chin leng.I am not sure how many bottles i need..may get some red wines and hard liquor. Not sure if my restaurant can smuggle any duty-free in or not..coz i got some at home

Crayon,
Perhaps you can check with your rest. and see if they allow duty-free liquor...if they allow, then you dun need to buy any already... can save!

For my case, even though corkage charge is being waived off, i cannot bring duty free liquor.

Hi Gemi,

Sheraton is a great place for yr dinner too. My cousin had his wedding dinner there last year and I really liked the waterfall. When is yr wedding exactly?
Why did u decide on Choon Huat as yr photographer?

Hi Girl,

Whats yr actual day program like? Is yr service just before dinner so yr guests arrive early at the hotel then proceed to have dinner at the same place?

I think u're right that Dec is a popular month so its wise to look for photographers now. U're not very kiasu lah, I started my wedding preps very early too. :P

Nicole

Hi all... I had disappeared for a while coz I was not in the office and so never check for the past 2 weeks or so...

so how's everyone?? gathering when har?? angelia, u not organizing meh?? hehehe *trying to play tai chi to push responsibility of organizing to others* hahaha...

hi och,
nice speaking to u last nite.

i didn't quit although my mom and fh encourage me. i need the money to service my housing loan etc. i cannot bear to throw everything onto my fh. he is very poor thing already.

so i will endure... but my dark circles are getting bad. will be a very tired and haggard bride. it's just bad timing but my fh is so sweet, really hope to be with him soon.

hi septembergal,
dun be stress ok. i am also like u, very kan cheong to get things done. in fact, i am even more kiasu, wanted to settle everything in december bcos i am on a busy assignment from jan-apr. now i am so busy that i dun have time to prepare anything. can't be helped... earning a living is more impt.

i just got a paycut and my company might be retrenching people. very worried that i am on the list but i think i am still of use, so they won't get rid of me so fast. thought of quitting without a job but it's hard to get a job now. so having less money in is better than no money at all. but the sacrifice is my sleeping time and all the work stress i have but what to do? it's employer market now.

just remember that blossom is worse off then u will feel better la. i have so many things to do especially my flat is coming soon. but take things easy. i am very stressed but i know i must stay calm. take deep breathing, talk to ur fh. im sure he is always willing to listen to u.

ok gals, dozing off soon.
yawn.gif
do take care!

Girl-I more or less decided on my wedding gown, but the evening gown, I wanted something sexy and curvy, low back. I dun wan the front to be too simple for both, but also not Cheena lah. I see many gowns in magazine all like nothing to fascinating.

How much did you gals pay for the actu

Hi all May Brides!

Seems like nowadays our thread over here quiet
down. No one has posted any updates so far!!
Where's everyone? Brides in Oct,Nov..even Dec thread r so active compare to us leh!!

As for me, wow....time flies. It's going 2 b another 1 wk to my photo-taking!!
So excited!!

Dear ladies, I need help.

I am trying to compile a list of helpers and their assigned tasks. Gotten some examples from other thread, but still like to listen to your comments.

1) Personal helpers - 2 cousins (they are in secondary school) they will just help me carry things
2) Ah Yees - 2~4 friends (to test the groom's sincerity and to carry gifts and red packets)
3) Auntie - 1 to help with tea ceremony over at my side
4) Chauffeur - his younger brother
5) Brother gang - dunno how many he wants, but i leave it up to him to decide.
6) Emcee - may get my brother and his gf.

My Ah Yees can doubled up as receptionists and urshers. what do you gals think? Anyone else i need?

Noted that others mentioned a main co-ordinator. what's that for? could get my elder sis to be that. but i am worried that she may be making decisions against my liking. Coz i have my own ideas that doesn't flow with main-stream thinking. so, am asking your opinions, if I should skip that role?

Do i also need someone to tend to the music? dun the hotel provide their own sound technician? anyone can advise?

another question...
when my FH comes and pick me from my house, are we to have the tea ceremony for my family and relatives then? Or...
are we supposed to go to his house for tea ceremony for his side, and then come back to my side for tea ceremony?

I always thought that we have to go over to his house first. My sister did that. But when his sister got married last year, they had the tea ceremony at the bride's house first...
I am so confused. My FIL always zuo4 luan4 traditions.

can anyone and everyone please advise apoor confused soul??

My wedding in dec too!! same like some of u, i booked sheraton. glad to note the good comments on Sheraton

still indecisive on my bridal boutique leh..but shd be more or less silhouette..

Hi Jan

Hehe, i guess why the May thread is so quiet bcos most of the brides shld be quite busy preparing for their wedding by now. It's another 4 mths!

How's ur preps so far? I've already taken my photos last wk and i'm currently scouting ard for a videographer. Then it's arranging the guest list and all the nitty gritty stuffs to prepare along the way.

So, which bridal boutique r u with? Share more leh.

Hi och,

Thinking of using satin and diamontes and open toes to allow breathing space for my feet but for more shoe designs.. you might like to look at www.theknot.com... they have some really good shoes over there.

Hope it helps.

Hi artic_hare,

A main co-ordinator is good because on that day there will be some problems and you may not have time to oversee. So your coordinator will tend to them. It could be things like people can't find their names on the list and your receptionists need someone to turn to, last minute arrangements not just on the day itself but to make sure that that everyone does their respective job well!

As for tea ceremony, My sis had to go her hubby's house first then come back to the bride's house. Most people I know are practising it this way.

Lollipop,

Hard Liquor is scotch whiskey, rum, bacardi, vodka, gin etc.

Wines fall under the spirits category of liquor.

Have you got that?

hi blossom,

it was nice talking to u too, n i'm not saying this out of politeness.

u know, ur fh cares abt u v. v. much. no matter how tired n haggard u look on ur wedding day, i think u can be assured that u will always be the prettiest bride he has ever seen. n he appreciates all ur efforts to stay on a stressful job for financial reasons.
what's a pair of eyebags n dark rings compared to that kind of assurance?

i'm not going to pretend that ur work problems r trivial. times r bad, but u still hv a project to work on, which is a lot more fortunate than many others out there. n u hv a supportive fh n lots of gals here to listen to ur grouses.
so remember to smile everyday ok?

hi chemson,

u r always so well informed.
do u hv a quote for ur shoes oredi? how high r ur heels?

My wedding is on 14 December. And I already know 2 other people who are getting married on the same day! I'm still deciding between Wedding Present, Margaret Brides and Ivory Aisle. Anyone has any comments?

hi och,
i have decided to quit. my fh has assured me that money is not an issue. he wants me to be happy. since i am so stressed and upset, that's no point in staying. even my dad encourages me to do it. my mom was saying that she got no "income" liao, must start looking for job too.

i think the most impt thing is to be happy. i had a major operation 3-4 yrs ago and i remembered the feeling of death. i told myself after the operation that since i can only live once, i shld make full use of every moment to be happy. but i slowly forgot. after graduation, i focused so much on my job that i neglected my family and friends. it's too much of a sacrifice. luckily my fh is always by my side. some of my colleagues broke up with their bf or husband bcos of their heavy work commitment. come to think about it, it's really not worth it.

so i will be coming to this forum more often after i officially leave the company. haha... i have never been so happy since i join the company. i think i have made the right decision.

gals, if you have any lobang, must tell me ok.

Hi jul
My wedding is on 28 Dec & I'm probably choosing either Wedding Present or Sihouette...I can't comment on Ivory Aisle cos it was not on my 'list of boutiques'!! I went to Margaret..gowns are pretty but I was really disappointed wif the location & size of her shop. As i'm working in Changi & staying in Pasir Ris, it's realllly far to travel to West Coast...just imagine,frm east to west of S'pore! I was quite uncomfortable in her shop also...the fact tat i had to remove my shoes before going into the tiny shop wasn't pleasant. But to be fair, the gowns are simple & elegant. If only it was in a better location,then I'd consider Margaret Brides.

As for Sihouette, I hav nothing but praises for them. The wedding gowns I tried in their beautiful shop were really lovely but the evening gowns I saw was just satisfactory. I would love to take up their package but my hubby is hesistant bcos they're more pricy than other boutiques.

The Wedding Present's gowns, both wedding & evening that I tried was so far closest to wat I had in mind & their super-cosy shophouse unit really makes u feel warm & personal. My hubby likes Wedding Present bcos Club St is where he hangs out nowadays & he said for once as a groom in a bridal shop,he didn't felt left out cos when I was busy trying out gowns, Patrick was showing him the various fabrics & designs of the suit. My hubby commented he felt the 'excitement' of being a groom for the first time, thks to the personal touch of all the staff in Wedding Present!

Looks like my hubby prefers W.Present but I'm still indecisive. I'm looking forward to the Bridal Show by Wedding Present this coming weekend & hopefully by then I'll be able to make up my mind!

I had a 'sneak preview' of some gowns that's gonna be featured in the show & they're really lovely! Who knows...I might end up taking their off-rack fashion show gowns after all the hassle!

Will you be attending the show this Sat?

Hi Sue,
My fiance will be in reservist this Saturday so we're not going to attend the bridal show at Le Meridien. I heard that the $200 discount from Wedding Present will be stopped after this event, so it's a pity we'll have to miss the discount too. I will try to talk to Jordan and see if he can help us by making an excception cos I'm almost certain it'll be my last stop. Which package are you looking at?

I am new to this website...recommended by one of my gd friend...anyone kind to advise where the bridal show of Wedding Present be at?

Btw,,I have scheduled my wedding date to be on 14 December this year but I have yet to decide on the banquet,bridal and many many things....

I am getting so stress up..

Hello Blossom,
Good to hear that you're "out of job"! No! No! No! Should be "out of stress". HiHi! As long as you are happy, I believe everyone in this forum supports your decision. Make sure you come into this forum more often. What is your nature of work so that we can keep a lookout for you.

Good morning everyone!
Sigh...start of a new week again

Chemson - oh, leapin lizards hv really nice shoes! thot of making my shoes there as well but i heard from shirley quite X...hv u decided on the design n colour yet? me bought a pair of silver strappy heels...hope can match WG n EG hehehe
do u know how much is shirley charging for a tea dress? me thot of hving a cheongsam instead of a kua. dunno when's my 1st fitting yet. in march most prob. heard from shirley she plans to renovate her shop....dunno when

septembergal - dun feel stressed! take everything in ur stride n i am sure things will turn out well
did u managed to settle ur bridal pack? dun worry, it's still not too late...
unless u wanna show ur wedding photos during ur reception, it is actually not necessary to hv ur photoshoot at least 3 mths before the wedding

instead of skiing in EUR, how abt skiing in korea? cheaper lor. anyway, there shld be some travel fairs n promotion coming up soon, so look out for it n u might find a steal to EUR!

LMF - hi! i think wearing a shawl is quite elegant. u wearing it wiz ur WG or EG? me thot of wearing a shawl wiz my EG. apart from wanting to look elegant, me afraid of cold so need a shawl to keep me warm :P

brideToBe - will be sending the planner to u shortly. U getting married in Sep02 as well? tell us more!

och - wah, ur gowns sound so lovely!

Blossom - gd for u! yup, no pt staying in a job that makes u miserable. life is so short so must enjoy every moment fully!! what kind of job r u looking 4?

Hi Arctic Hare,
Dun get tensed up!
Looks like you have done almost everything liao.
Here's some more I thought of:-
1) More girls to act as receptionist or ursherers - cos when abt 7pm+ when the guests starts coming in at one go, 4 can't cope with finding table numbers and showing them the tables.
2) Chauffeur - For yourself? If your bridal shop provides you with one, then how abt cars and drivers for the Ah yees and brothers? Your parents? His parents? Who are driving them to dinner venue?
3) Liquor person - Someone whom the banquet manager/ captain will have to ask before opening another barrel or bott of hard liquor. Have all your hard liquor with him.....
4) Dinner ang pow person - have to be the person you trust. He/She should be someone who sits at his/her place all the time. Some advise to leave in hotel's safe. Some don't. Depends on you.
5) Music coordinator - Someone who knows your preference of music.....Just in case your fave CD can't play, she should have some extras of your fave songs ready.....
6) Main co-ordinators - 2 needed, one from your side and another from brothers side. They are to coordinate and promote communication btw ah yees and brothers. Represent the bridal entourage and are the ones whom the rest should ask for advise if problems occur...They will be the ONLY ones asking you for stuff....(cos if everyone ask you everything, then you very furstrated.....)

That's abt it for now....

hi crayon2512,

care to share which bridal shop you sign up? you sound as if you've regreted your choice?

ya..I went Korea with my hubby. It's freezing cold man...abt -12 degrees in the Southern part of Korea...It was a great trip, I really enjoy skiing and shopping in Korea!!
Did you visit Cheju?

I'm shortlisted some bridal boutiques and they are bridal veil, silhoutte and margaret brides but still can't make up my mind which one to choose. It's so tough to decide...I'm getting tired...

anyone got any good/bad comments on these 3 shops?? would really appreciate any comments...thkz!!

Hi och,
Not yet... but I made a pair of shoes with them with a row of crystals.. was charged $110 for it... Riccino's charges are much higher than that..oh yes... my inch height... not more than 2 inch.... can't take beyond that height...

Hi Kat22,
Huh ? Shirley plans to renovate her shop ? Wow? Where did you get your strappy heels from ? Of couse if I can find a nice and comfy one.. I can forego making it... :P Shirley asked me to look for one that is strappy with diamontes... but I fell in love with this pair of satin ones from Kenneth Cole.. but it was way beyond me budget...She charges I think $300-350 for a teadress... as for cheongsam.. Doreen Chee makes really good cheongsam.. but you must be prepared to pay beyong $350... and the price tag depends on the materials and design you chose.

Hi Blossom,
A load of your mind.... go for it !! U did the right thing... and be a happy bride, ok ? I understand how you feel....

Hi Inki, thanks for your advice.

Hi Linda, thanks for yours too.
1) more girls as urshers. shouldn't be a problem
actually I was thinking of writing the table numbers on the wedding card itself, so people to find their own ways... hee hee... very bad of me hor, no customer service...

2)Yup, the chauffeur is for us. We are using our own cefiro. My sister/brother will drive my parents, his sister will drive his parents. His brother gangs will drive the ah yees. will make sure find only those whocan drive and own cars ones... 8P

The only bugging thing is that my mum or his mum will not request to be chauffeured around in the bridal car. My mum insisted on that on my sis's wedding. I was so stunned then. What for?? i still dun understand the rationale.

3) Liquor person... thanks. this never cross my mind.

4)dinner ang pow person. what is the role of this? i do not quite understand. Isn't the ang pows supposed to be placed inside a box or something like that at the reception? so this person is in charge of safekeeping the $$$ during dinner, izit?

5)Music coordinator? we are thinking of recording the songs we want on CDs. (March in piece will be live, one CD on second march in song and another CD for the rest of the dinner music) then we just pass the CDs to the sound technician. Should be alright, right? My second march in song is rather long, will be using it to cover the cake cutting and champagne pouring.

Wah... so many things to think of. very hard not to get tensed leh...

Hi Novbride
I signed up with Fame Bridal (Yishun). Haven't really seen or have apt with them yet. Just tat regretted signing up so fast wif them...i sign wif them during the exhibition. : (
Think i made up my mind too quick..and the place is quite far from mine. out of the way.
I should have neg. more photos wif them.

Nope. I didnt go to Cheju..but the tourguide say must go in Spring..then nicer!

Heard from my friend that margaret brides is quite good..

Novbride,

Seems the other time you have also shortlisted these few boutiques...are their prices comparable? have you weighed their pros and cons? like which boutique offers more photos, mtm to keep, accessibility etc...

have you tried their gowns? i believe these boutiques offer different types of gowns and one of them might just suit you... of the three, which one have you got more rapport with?

yes, I heard margaret brides' quite good. their gowns are flowy and light... if that's what you want, go for it. I think BV's gowns are quite "princessy", not much comments about silhoutte though. dun stress youself, i know how hard it is, but try to enjoy it, ok?

cryon, u should have paid the deposit already right? if you back out now, you have to forfeit your deposit... for me, i signed up during an exhibition too, and prior to that, i did scout around a few shops... i must admit i had some reservations about the rush, but was reassured after my first appt. does fame have another branch? why dun u make an appt first? try their gowns and perhaps you will feel better? also make it a point to tell them about the distance and that it is inconvenient. see if you can nego for more photos or extra gown...

good luck to you both

Hi Kat22,
I'm thinking of having the shawl for my EG too. But afraid that I might not be suitable with it. I always feel that small built people will look good on shawl but not the big built people, so..... I'm one of the big built. "Uwah... Uwah...!""

update time

finally managed to decide on my ROM dress after 2 evenings (last thur & fri). another load off the chest. now gotta shop for shoes to match the dress. btw, what shld my FH wear to match my grey shiny dress? and what color tie?

meet up ROM photographer, Leslie. she revised her charges and is much more expensive now. luckily still managed to get her to charge me at old rate cos that's what she quoted me then!!

JenJen : not me leh. i tot starfruit was the one who volunteered!! anyway, guess it shld not be too much of a problem to oganise.

let's see, how abt :
TIME : 01 Feb 6:30pm
VENUE : open to suggestion
interested party, pls email [email protected]